W New York - Times Square

  • 1567 Broadway
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10036
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 644 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay W Hotel was excellent. Will definitely stay there again. Great doorman. January 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Welcome Home!!! It may sound crazy to call a hotel in the middle of the craziness of Time Square as my "home away from home," but that is the feeling that I get everytime I come back l. Having stayed here many times before, I appreciate the warm welcome as a returning guest and the recognition as an SPG Platinum member. I am specially impressed that many of the staff members remember me by name from previous stays - an amazing feat given the number of guests that stay at the hotel. The minor problems I encountered were addressed in a timely manner and managers were quick to follow up to ensure they were resolved to my satisfaction. Nonetheless, guests should know what to expect when they stay at the hotel. In my opinion, the "cool, hip" ambiance of the lobby is one of the trademarks of the W hotel chain in general. Music is constantly playing in the lobby/bar area #called the Living Room# starting with mellow lounge music in the early morning to pulsating club beats at night, which could be a little off-putting to some who are no longer twenty something, thirty something or even forty something. Most nights, the lobby bar is filled with a fashionable youngish crowd and there is a DJ on weekends. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and well-lit, with plenty of natural lighting, but standard rooms #called "wonderful rooms" or "fabulous rooms"# are on the small side - typical of rooms in NYC in general. There is, however, ample room for a business traveller to work and there is a settee by the window with a small table. The roomier corner rooms are my preference as they have two big windows - some with views of the Hudson. The biggest challenge that I've had with the rooms at the hotel is that most have only one drawer - a problem for me as I normally stay for at least two weeks. The bathroom is also on the small side but I feel that the wonderful Bliss toiletries provided compensate for that. The suites are amazing. There is a separate living area, some with a wet bar and a half bath. The bedroom has a King bed and full bath. The hotel has a fitness facility that is better than most hotels I've stayed in. There is only one restaurant at the hotel - Blue Fin. They have a good breakfast menu and also good sushi for lunch or dinner. As with other restaurants in the area, it is open late. Service could be spotty; it seems that there is a revolving staff as many times I've been served by someone who is in training. The hotel is ideally located in the Times Square area. It is literally steps away from many theatres - heaven to a musical theatre geek like me. Across the street is the TKTS booth where one can purchase tickets to Broadway shows for 30%-50% off. It is also close to many restaurants in the Hells Kitchen area. Dining options range from food carts, pizza by the slice, fast food, delis, ethnic restaurants and of course the fining dining restaurants that NY is known for. The hotel is also within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, shops on 5th Avenue, Central Park, MOMA, Columbus Circle. There are several subway lines close by: N, R, 1, E. Regardless of the many ameniteis the hotel offers and its close proximity to many attractions, I think what keeps me coming back is the staff. Upon arrival, a member of the ever cheerful valet staff is alway on hand to greet me and assist with luggage. The front desk personnel are welcoming and efficient and to the extent they can, accommodate room preferences or requests at check in. I would also like to recognize the prompt and courteous service provided by the bell staff. The housekeeping staff that took care of my room #5406# was very consderate of my schedule and accommodated early cleaning requests on weekends. The quality of the staff and great service is a commendable reflection of hotel management's performance. In particular, I would like to thank managers Leo Rossini #Whatever/Whenever Talent Coach# for periodically checking in to make sure everything is fine with my stay, and Anna Lloyd for assistance with my reservations. I would also like to recognize Frankie #valet staff# whose friendly demeanor and helpful attitude is always appreciated. He is truly a good ambassador for the brand. Thank you again for a wonderful stay. I am looking forward to coming back in a few months. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 day visitor Enjoyed stay - Hotel served as oasis amongst the hustle bustle of the city. June 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Special Day We were in NYC for our Wedding. The Hotel was very helpful and very respectful to our requests. The construction noise was a bit much at night. If you need a dark room to sleep in, this may not be the hotel for you. Every member of the staff we dealt with was confident and helpful and very friendly. The bar lobby / bar area is very loud in the evening. It is in the heart of Times Square and within walking distance to all that is Times Square. Overall we had a great experience !!! September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel for girls week ends in NYC Always fun and exciting at w. and staffnis amazing February 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bar I particularly enjoyed the dancing in the bar. I met a few fine, professional gentlemen, and even had a chance to dance with them. The informative character of the front desk staffs helped me accumulate points into my account and not forfeit those points. I look forward to making Starwood my hotel of vacation for future travel stays, especially in Broadway Times Square where world attractions are unparalleled and unmatched. Finally, I would like to herald the arrival of 2015 back in Times Square, so please reserve me a room. Maybe, a TV show with my sugar daddy, you! Irene August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W off wonderfull The best location and view ever January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Staff but Dirty and Dated I booked a room with 2 queen size beds at this hotel for a girls night out for a friends birthday. I had expectations for a hotel of this price range and reputation. Our first room was an upgrade upon check in, but when we got in I wondered what the original room must have been like! The room was filthy including scratches and tears on the furniture and smeared handprints in something that looked crusty and white on the inside of the bathroom door. We called customer service and they immediately relocated us. The new room seemed a little better at first, but the bathroom had what looked to be shampoo spilled all over. We were in a rush and decided to get ready here anyway. On our way out we noticed that the view through on the door was not there and there was just a circular hole in the door! I felt violated. We talked to the manager at the desk and they were very helpful and apologetic, upgrading us to a suite and having our things moved. The suite was very nice and had a good view. Unfortunately there was what appeared to be a cigarette burn and hole in the duvet cover. Upon checkout I mentioned this and the hotel comped us our room service bill from breakfast. Overall I can't say enough nice things about costumer service, but I can't see myself staying in another W anytime soon. Three dirty rooms is just too many! January 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel is poorly set up the furnishing is extremely non-functional, Not one drawer in the room. Underwear has to be displayed in the open if taken out of suitcase.Only a chaise in the room. Visitors has no place to sit. Room is done with metal/plastics shelves. Looked cheap. Service was spotty, not expected of a hotel of this level. Many things wrong in the room. Desk light not working, safe not working. Not a pencil/pen or writing paper or phone table in room. No literature to tell guests that some items are supplied on request. Nothing about TV and channels and networks correspondence. Minimum of amenities in bathroom barely fitting the 3 star hotel category. May 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wish we hadn't stay at the W The only thing going for this hotel is the location. The rest is 2 star, absolutely awful. I used the Starwood Hotels site to choose this hotel, I wish I hadn't because the disappointment has put the whole Starwood reference system under a cloud of doubt for me, which is such a shame as I have loved using this site & have never been so bitterly let down. The rooms are tiny by New York standards & the staff are pleasant enough. These things you can overlook based on being in New York, its all the other things that should be at a minimum standard that make this review so harsh. The room was dirty, some days we didn't have towels replaced, the furniture was chipped & torn. I would recommend a better training system be set in place for the house keeping staff. I would not recommend any one stay at this hotel, it is a terrible let down. January 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location The W was a great location to walk to theaters, restaurants, and bars. The staff was helpful and welcoming. The layout of the hotel lobby and check in is not the most welcoming, however. You are required to take an elevator to the 7th floor to check in to get to the lobby, lights appear to be dimmed most of the time, and the registration desk is tucked away a bit. Don't expect to find a place to purchase water, (though the room provides 2 bottles daily), snacks, magazines or mints. Those would be for purchase in your room. No hotel guest store to provide those items. The hotel store only has clothing, jewelry, etc. (It is open 24 hours a day). THere is no coffiee pot in the room, nor is there a refrigerator to store your leftovers from dinner or your water. The room has a refrigerator but it is stocked with items for purchase. So, not very convenient for families or for the senior population. The contemporary feel to the hotel has a very clean look, however, the glass in the rooms that seperate the bedroom/bath/living area are see-through, so getting dressed in the bathroom while the in-room dining person is delivering your morning coffee is not a good idea, or using the toilet off the living area while someone is visiting your room is embarrassing. So odd. Overall it was a wonderful place to be and we were pleased with our stay, but would not choose this hotel for a return visit. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ladies in the city 3 of my girlfriends & I went to NY this past weekend just to hangout & we did just that! Although we never had to leave the hotel due to the party that went on in the lobby bar on Friday & Saturday! The DJ was hot & people were dancing! But back to the room... We stayed in a deluxe room & it was great! The room was clean & big (which was important when you have 4 women in the same space). We were on the 42nd. floor right by the elevator, which I thought might be a noise problem but not at all! The staff was great, the view was awesome, the bed hugged me to sleep & the location was perfect! We loved everything about The W, even down to the doormen!!! June 17, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Deceiving Bisiness Practice - BEWARE!!! My problem with this hotel is related to an item charged without my authorization. There was a $14.95 charge for "Telephone/Internet Dept". When I spoke to the accounting dept, I was told that the charge was related to me plugging my USB charger with standard Apple connecter to their outlet which is conveniently situated next to the bed. I did not request for wifi during my stay nor did I use the hotel's internet service. I don't need the hotel's internet service, as I already have data plan on my iPhone and iPad. I was told that when I plugged in my USB charging cable (even just to charge the battery) into that specific outlet it automatically triggers the telephone bill of $14.95. There was no signage anywhere in the hotel nor the room that disclose the usage of that specific outlet would cost $14.95. This is such a deceiving business practice. December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience I was a recent guest at the W New York Times Square for two nights and three days. This was my first W experience and will not be my last. I arrived from out of town at 6am and was pleasantly amazed that my Cool Corner Room with spectacular views of Times Square was ready and awaiting my arrival. Upon entering the room I was stunned by the fabulous city lights of Times Square that lit the room – no need to turn on the lighting in the room. The room was very clean and modern (just my style). There was a handwritten note from Kristin Collura who welcomed me to New York City and wished me a “happy birthday.” A tasty cake accompanied the note. This was a lovely greeting and surprise given that I did not disclose to the front desk staff or the reservations agent that it was my birthday. (Thank you Kristin!) The common areas of the hotel were well-kept; the Living Room (i.e. hotel lobby) had an inviting NYC vibe with great music, the main entrance had a wonderful waterfall and the doormen were friendly and helpful. The furnishings throughout the hotel and in the room were modern. I was initially taken aback by the transparent bathroom door/wall. The staff was warm and accommodating; check-in and check-out was seamless. If anything could be done to make my experience better would be the check-out time; since I was traveling out of town I requested a late check out and was only granted an additional hour which was slightly disappointing as a Starwood guest member. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the W Times Square to family, friends and colleagues. I was so pleased with the service/experience that I completed a survey provided by the hotel. (I rarely complete surveys). As a born and raised New Yorker this hotel gets two-thumbs up. I plan to return this summer! March 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W for Winner!! I just returned from a most fabulous quick weekend trip with my husband and some friends where we stayed at the W Times Square. If I tried to list every feature about this hotel that we loved, I would run out of room! The location was PERFECT, the staff was AMAZING, and the room on the 47th floor was UNBELIEVABLE! I travel a couple of times a year and have stayed at another property (not associated with this property) the previous 2 times we were in NYC and have never had such a positive experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone out there searching for a great place to stay in NYC and can not wait to visit again! January 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by First bad experience out of five stays I would like to begin by saying that all of the employees that I came into contact with were great. They all had a great demeanor, and were very able and willing to assist me any time I came in contact with them. While I am impressed with the level of service that I received, I am sadly quite disappointed in my room. The room that was assigned to me definitely falls way below W standards, and most certainly below the five past visits I have had to this specific property. The carpeting in the room was tattered and fraying at the edges, the living room closet was off it track, the sink in the main bathroom is cracked, and well as the tiles on the floor, the shower door did not securely fit and leaked every time the bathroom was used, the sink in the spare bathroom looked as if it was about to fall off the wall, the drawers in the living area were bent and missing pieces of the finishing as well as had metal sticking off of them, when we opened up the sofa to use the sleeper bed there was a used condom in the couch. Finally one day the shower backed up leaving my guest unable to shower, We left the hotel when the repair man was leaving, and when we arrived two hours later the house keepers were just beginning to clean the mess. Finally when I arrived back at the hotel Friday night around 2am, the lobby was packed with what appeared to be some sort of event / club. On my way to the back bank of elevators a girl threw up on the back of me as I was walking ahead of her. At that point I had enough and decided to leave the hotel on Saturday, a day early, and find accommodations elsewhere for the night. I have been to this hotel many times, and I unfortunately have a non cancelable reservation coming back for May 10, but this was not what I would consider to be a good hotel experience. March 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service was excellent; Quality was ok Pros: We arrived much earlier than our check-in time and the front desk staff were more than willing to ensure we got into our room as soon as one was made available. We were able to check-in at 10:30am instead of 3:00pm which was marvelous since we were exhausted from our long flight. The room itself was beautiful, we got a corner room so we were able to have a view of Times Square. The Bliss products were also very nice. I couldn't stop using the lotion and ended up buying a full-size product in The W's shop. There is always someone in front of the entrance to greet you and call a cab for you. They are exceptionally kind and always have a smile on their face. The room service was fantastic, the women were so friendly and speedy. The check-out was quick and painless as well. It's close to everything and 5 blocks for a subway station which was so nice! Cons: They charge you for wi-fi which is unfortunate considering the cost of the hotel. I've stayed in cheap motels that include free wi-fi. You'd think free wi-fi would be included in such a nice hotel like this, right? The wi-fi is also charged on a daily rate per device. So, if you want wi-fi on your phone, iPad and laptop you're paying for 3 devices each day. The nice thing is that if you sign up for their membership (free) your wi-fi charge is complimentary the first time you stay in a starwood hotel. There is no fridge in the room! This was incredibly disappointing since I so badly wanted to take a slice of NY pizza home. I called the front desk to see if they could refrigerate it for me since they have a restaurant and offer room service but they said they couldn't. They did, however, offer to bring us a fridge for $50.00. Room service is incredibly expensive and they charge you tax plus a fee for using it. In conclusion, I probably would not re-visit since the high cost of the hotel does not include basic necessities. April 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by terrible experience The first room we were put into smelled really bad. The second one was not as bad smell wise. There was a lot of noise from construction with a lot of drilling and hammering over night, we barely slept one hour. It was terrible. September 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too noisy I spent two days at W hotel at Timesquare. There was heavy construction just beside hotel, I could not sleep at all. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding I was a bit reluctant to stay in Times Square, but it turned out to be a great idea. The W Hotel Tomes Square is centrally located to all broadway shows and walking distance to everything. The cleanliness and service was impeccable. When you first walk into the downstairs lobby the air freshener is a nice change compared to the outside. The lobby, elevators, and rooms have a nice, modern design. The staff was always helpful. Joe, the front desk agent was very kind and addressed our requests. The doormen downstairs almost always opened the door for us. Finally the live DJ in the lobby at night was a nice plus for a pre party vibe. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy and Chic This hotel is in the epicenter of the action in Times Square. Modern chic decor. Street noise kept us awake even on the 19th floor. The people in the room next to us partied all night and kept us awake. The room is large for NYC and very modern but the bathroom had no counters at all?? It looked great but was impractical. The lobby is more like a night club than a hotel lobby and was very dark. The elevators and hallways are dark. Couldnt even see the buttons to push on the elevator, Nevertheless if you want to be in Times Square this is it. Reasonable price and comfortable bed despite the noise. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location, very modern furnishings Hotel was very clean, but noisy due to construction outside. I thought being on the 30th floor would cut most of this noise, but it did not. Going to the off broadway side of the hotel worked somewhat. The lobby and elevators were dark, and better lighting would of helped. September 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! For my annual business & pleasure trip to the USA I usually book the same hotel chain in NYC. This time I decided this time to try the W Hotel Times Square for something different. Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by smiling bell boys who directed my to the 7th floor lobby. The initial entrance is quaint, dimmed lighting, fresh flowers and water flowing on the roof and down the walls. Check in at 4pm was extremely efficient and friendly. Around and inside the elevators is quite dark which I found a bit UN-nerving and difficult to navigate. I'd like to see this improved. I booked a "wonderful room" which I found to be very clean, bright, ample room for myself and 5 big bags (not common in NYC), incredibly comfortable bed & pillows, adequate lighting for both work and rest, soft towels, nice body products, large selection of reading materials, multiple power outlets, easy to use & quiet Air conditioning. The sofa chair was ideal to relax on after a long day of walking around the city. There is music that plays throughout the foyer, reception area and elevators which gives the hotel "life" in oppose to hotels that are completely silent. The lounge bar does become a sort of nightclub with loud music after around 10pm however you only encounter this for a brief time upon leaving or entering the hotel late at night. There was a minor leaky pipe in my bathroom which was fixed within 15 minutes of reporting it to reception. Very quick by other hotel standards. The location of the hotel is right on Times Square which is ideal for those wanting to explore by foot, the tourist bus (which I did not take) has a pick up spot the next block over along with the subway. Starbucks is across the road and there is a large convenience store virtually next door. Very Convenient. I cannot commend the friendliness of the staff enough, the bellboys were kind to offer directions, the hotel security were watchful at 2-4am while I was outside jetlagged making me feel very safe, concierge gave clear instructions and maps to locate my destinations and the "whatever whenever" staff really live up to their name! In summary, this hotel exceeded all of my expectations and really made my trip to NYC. For those who do not want to hear the street noise of Times Square, my advise is don't stay on times square. If you want a dead silent hotel then stay elsewhere. If you do want a hotel that is 'alive', clean, comfortable, attentive & friendly staff who go above and beyond to make your stay perfect and a location right in the heart of times square then you cannot go wrong with W Hotel Times Square. My new hotel of choice in NYC is the W and I will be returning in 2013. Well done, your GM should be proud! Special thanks to: Jenna (reception), Patrick (Whatever Whenever), Dominick (security) and Ricardo (Talent Coach). June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Place is Outstanding! I knew I couldn't go wrong when I booked 5 nights at the W. From the moment we arrived, we were in love with our hotel choice. The doormen at the street were all extremely friendly & welcoming, ready to assist as needed. We made our way up to the 7th floor Living Room lobby for check-in. The staff member who checked us in was great! The excitement in her voice when she was telling us about our room & our view got me SUPER excited to get upstairs. We stayed in room 4912. It's a "Cool Corner" room with an awesome view! (We stayed here over NYE, so we were able to see & hear the performances on Times Square directly below our room.) The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The modern feel is exactly what we prefer when traveling. It was such a neat room to hang out in. And I loved that the windows open!! We were able to let in the cool New York air & hear the sounds of the city below. So even while we were upstairs, we still felt like we were part of the action. The cool thing, though, is that when you close the windows, it actually blocks out a LOT of the city noise! Yes, you can still hear it, but it's so muffled that it's ok. And with all the lights flashing around you in Times Square, the pull-down shades do a GREAT job of blacking out the room! A very well thought out design, for sure! The bathroom is awesome! The walls are frosted glass - you can see silhouettes, but you can't actually see through it so there is still privacy. The vanity has a cool waterfall faucet, and the shower has a rain-shower head which was very relaxing. The shower was a good size. We utilized room service for 2 meals - both were breakfast And the food was AMAZING! I sort of expected the food to be mediocre at best, but we were both pleasantly surprised with the presentation & flavor! We had a waffle, side of bacon, NYC sandwich, OJ & Coffee. Room service is obviously more expensive than eating at a restaurant, but we had early morning commitments, and preferred to pay for the convenience rather than having to make time to stop somewhere else to get food. Plus, after the first meal we ordered, we didn't mind paying for it again because we knew it would be fabulous! We met with the Concierge staff a couple of times during our stay. They were all great, but Kelly stood out to us! He was very personable & great to work with! I had already done research on the sight-seeing portion of our trip, so we didn't really book anything with them. However, we had NO idea where to find good places to eat in the area. They made recommendations & booked reservations for us at a few different restaurants and they were ALL outstanding! I'm so glad we reached out to them in the beginning! We absolutely loved the location of this hotel! This was our first time to New York, and we wanted to make sure we were right in the center of it all! And we were! If you're planning to visit NYC on New Year's, I would recommend this hotel! We stayed here over NYE, and I don't think we could have made a better choice! First of all, to get anywhere near Times Square on NYE, you have to prove that your hotel is there. Our room key with the "W" on it allowed us to pass through barricades that others only wished they could pass through. It felt like total VIP! Like I mentioned earlier, we had a view of Times Square overlooking the NYE performance stages. We made our way downstairs a little before midnight just to see if we could get in on the action on the street level. And we were! Totally wasn't expecting to be IN Times Square, in the middle of the excitement, at midnight, but thanks to the amazing location of the hotel, we were right there!! But even if you're not here on NYE, the W New York Times Square is a great place to be! We were able to walk to so many great places - Central Park, Columbus Circle, 5th Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Plaza, NBC Studios, Grand Central Station, Bryant Park, and of course, you're in the heart of Times Square. We had an amazing time here!! Definitely a 5 star experience all the way around! Can't wait to come back!! January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trendy and Great Location, but Lacking in Value for Price The W Times Square is aptly named. It's at the corner of Broadway and 47th Street and one couldn't ask for a more convenient location for theater-going. The hotel is stylish to a fault, with a design concept that often places more importance on form than function. The relatively new W Leicester Square in London subscribes to the same philosophy, so I assume this is characteristic of the chain. The place feels more like a nightclub than a hotel, and while this makes for a chic and edgy atmosphere, it's not always optimal if you place a high value on comfort and convenience. The street entrance feels (literally) cool, as you step into a foyer comprising a glass cube with water pouring over it from above and a bank of elevators at the rear. While there are bellmen outside at the street, there are no staff members inside the actual entrance, which might seem more "cold" than "cool" to some. The elevator ride from the ground level takes you up to the seventh floor, which is referred to as "the lounge" (in any other hotel, this would be called the lobby). Once again, there's that air of cool detachment, as there are no staff members in view when one exits the elevator; it feels more like you've walked into a trendy nightspot (hence the "lounge" moniker), albeit one that is curiously devoid of patrons. To check in, you must go to the far left side of the space, through a colonnade of sorts, where the front desk is somewhat tucked away. The right side of the lobby is largely occupied by an actual bar. The entire space is dimly lit, which works in the evening but feels depressing during daylight hours. The front desk staff was adequate, i.e., they were reasonably friendly and professional, but I wouldn't go so far as to say that I felt valued. After checking in, you must go around the back of the first bank of elevators and take a second bank of elevators to the guest rooms. Lounge-type music plays in all elevators at all times. Once again, this works in the evening but can be off-puttting in the morning. The interior hallways are dark and very chilly. We had booked two non-smoking rooms for four nights and requested that they connect or adjoin. We also had a total of four reservations because the first three nights were booked with an offer code that required the final night to be booked separately. We were advised at check in that there would be no need to check out and back in for the final night, but the room keys were nonetheless invalidated on the third morning and we had to go down to the front desk and have new ones made. Our rooms did connect, which we very much appreciated, but only one of them proved to be non-smoking room. This was disappointing, but we didn't ask to be moved because we suspected that doing so might cost us the proximity we'd requested. The rooms are not large, but they're not small by New York standards. Continuing the overall design aesthetic, they are furnished and decorated with trendy touches which again call to mind a chic nightclub. The beds and pillows are quite comfortable and the fairly large television is well-placed. Overall, the rooms were clean but beginning to show signs of wear (e.g., small stains and scuffs). The exterior surfaces of the windows were filthy, but I suppose it must be difficult to keep the windows of a skyscraper clean with so much renovation and construction going on all around. The closet is fairly small but lighted on the inside, and it contains an electronic safe. The bathroom is beautiful, but form trumps function as the walls are made of frosted glass panes that allow anyone in the bedroom to see the bathroom occupant in silhouette (this may be discomfiting to some). The walls of the rooms could use a bit more insulation, as a shower running in the adjoining room sounds like its in your room. The climate control system insists on maintaining a very specific temperature, so if you set it to 72 degrees and the temperature drops to 71 during the night, the heater comes on. We found this maddening, and the only way to get around it was to turn the A/C off completely. All guest rooms contain a snack bar which I recommend you don't go anywhere near if you'd prefer to avoid a shock at check out, but that's typical of hotel room snack bars and not altogther surprising. The real surprise is the in-room WiFi - there is a per-use charge! We found this shocking in a property of this caliber and price point. Complimentary in-room WiFi is virtually standard in most upscale hotels today, and there are other Starwood properties within a couple of blocks of this location that offer this service. To add insult to injury, the front desk will not even print airline boarding passes for you; you must go to the business center on the fifth floor, where you will be charged for this service as well! We were appalled. The W Times Square is an attractive property in a prime location, but it doesn't quite offer sufficient value for the price. When I hear "Whenever/Wherever", I don't expect a printout of my boarding pass to be too much to ask. May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Anniversary In New York to celebrate my Anniversary with my husband since this is our first time we have been able to celebrate one because he was deployed. Staff was very pleasant. Acknowledge of our anniversary upon check in and an upgraded room was offered. Hotel is centrally located in the middle of everything. We had a room with a view of the Hudson. After having a very nice dinner and returning to our room, to our surprise there was champagne and chocolate coverd strawberries in the room from the Hotel (Brianna) Wishing us a Happy Anniversary. I wanted to personally thank her for helping to make this a very memorable anniversary. June 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some Bad with the Good The hotel has an excellent location if you want the lights and sounds of Time Square. If this isn't your cup of tea you might want to find a quieter location. Construction in the Square added to the noise level. The hotel rooms are innovative in design but lack functionality. Example - there were only 2 drawers for clothes and the closet was unnecessarily small. The bathroom walls were frosted glass which lacked privacy. Our room also had worn furniture (chaise lounge) and a large prominent stain on the carpet. The hotel staff however were excellent and friendly. The lobby and entrance had a very cool hip look. June 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unless you are a voyeur, the bathrooms are not for you I was surprised to find that our hotel room had a few significant flaws: the room was as tiny as a college dorm room; the sounds that came out of the bathroom were clearly audible; but worst of all, the bathroom was completely enclosed in glass for all to see what you were doing while on the commode, in the shower or while changing for the evening. This may be fine if you are alone on your trip, but NOT GOOD when you are not, unless of course you and your room mate are into voyeurism. NOT COOL AT ALL and no one bothered to mention this when we checked in with our 16 year old child. NOT COOL AT ALL. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid NYC Hotel I have stayed at this hotel multiple times over the past few years. The service has always been excellent. The staff is attentive especially considering the high traffic surroundings of the times square location. The gym is good and Blue Fin was excellent as room service. SPG recognition is good but upgrades are tough. In all the times I have stayed there I have only received a suite upgrade once.The hotel itself is in good condition although the wear and tear of nyc hotels can be seen. Overall I would say this is one of the better hotels I have stayed at and would recommend it again, especially for business travelers. July 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good room but lacking a quiet area The hotel was in an excellent location, next to Times Square, and a short walk from the subway. A good size room with excellent, clean en-suite, but 'chaise longue' was worn out. Reception area was adjacent to the bar which was often noisey with loud music. This made checking in difficult. After a hard day sight seeing it would have been nice to relax in a quiet lounge, but we had to go out of the hotel to find this. Beware: only the first bottle of water is free. We were not made aware that subsequent bottles would be charged at over $9 each. Staff were helpful and did at least negotiate a reduction in the water bill. February 24, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 23 next>>