W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Mindestalter

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Gäste mindestens 21 Jahre alt sein müssen.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 421 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by First impressions do make a difference We were in the city to attend a wedding. We chose W Chicago City Center as this was a suggested hotel for wedding guests, and the bridal party was also staying here. Although the property is trendy and beautiful, we found the service to be lacking. For example, we pulled up the curb and interacted with the valet. While we were taking our bags, backpacks, etc. out of our car (family of 4), at no time were we offered help. Same thing as we fumbled to get through the front door while carrying our bags. No one offered to assist us or even opened the door for us. This pretty much set the tone for our stay. While we fumbled through the lobby to find the check in kiosks, we passed several people who were obviously employees, but not one greeted us or offered to get us assistance with our bags. Room was nice enough, but missing the alarm clock and iPod docking station which is touted on your website. When I called the Whatever, Whenever line to inquire about one, I was offered a wake up call?! It took 2 calls for someone to offer bringing one up to our room, but by the time it was installed, we had to leave for our event, so totally missed out on playing music while we were getting ready. Disappointed as a Starwood's Member, and wouldn't recommend this property. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel was simply fan-tas-tic! Stayed at the W Hotel City Center in Chicago for my ma's birthday...great choice! The staff went above and beyond by bringing up the luggage to the room, supplying a table for the birthday cake & bringing another refrigerator for our beverages. Room service was also very good; there was a little screw-up with our side dishes and the room service attendant promptly corrected the issue within minutes. The only little thing about the stay was that we couldn't figure out how to keep the room temperature at a nice comfortable temp...very minor in the scheme of things. Overall, the hotel was all that I imagined it would be...simply fantastic! January 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Based on previous reviews... ...I was nervous to stay at this hotel. I was in Chicago for a work trip, and at the W for three nights and three days. My travel partner took the offer for a 'Cozy' room, but having read about it, I was not interested. The check-in staff was very gracious about accommodating me; I accepted two double beds in exchange for a 'Marvelous' room on a quiet floor. The room was spacious, lovely, and clean, and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. Obviously there are little hotel noises that can never be escaped, and I could pickup on the sound of the L in the distance, but I was not bothered by this and actually found it quite comforting #I did use earplugs when sleeping, though#. The staff went absolutely out of their way to help me a couple of times -- they brought a scissors up immedately when I needed to borrow one; but the biggest thing is that they sent a runner out to buy a iPhone/TV connector for me: I paid for the item and the cab trip but was able to take a shower and order room service while they picked it up. Room service was lovely -- the menu is not the most exciting ever, but I found the quality good and the little extras delightful: who would ever be upset about getting gummy bears on their tray? The decor is a little 'hip' for a suburban midwest girl, but the point is they treated me like a valued guest and I enjoyed all interactions with staff, and my stay in general. August 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valet Sleeping in my car The hotel itself was a standard lower budget W hotel. It was fine for one night. Upon my arrival they upgraded me to a Fab Room, which was the size of a standard hotel room. I ordered room service and it was upstairs in no time, which was excellent. Now for the bad: There was no one standing at the front counter when i tried to check out around 5am. I had to call for them "hello- anyone here" type of call - they were in the back, but again not standing at their post. Then i went to retrieve my car from valet which i requested 15 minutes earlier. Still no car, no valet driver. I went outside and waited 5 more minutes. Then went back tot he front desk - she had to call down to valet, who never received my message to pull the car out (read below for the reason!!) - i then stood at the front of the building for 4 minutes and waited for a 1/2 sleeping valet guy to come to the front to get the key. 10 more minutes later still no car. I called from the valet phone to the front desk. she had to call down again!!!! The valet guy was SLEEPING IN MY CAR! Needless to say i almost missed my flight-- was completely aggravated and felt assaulted. The guy never even unreclined the seat. It was all the way reclined back when i got in. Needless to say i will NEVER be staying at this hotel again. The hotel did comp the $55 a night valet fee, Had i missed the flight they would have been paying a lot more. RM 1916- had a musty smell but was acceptable. July 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charged for minibar The hotel charged me for minibar items I did not use. Disappointing that after paying over $600 for one night they do something like this. September 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Probably not the best SPG option in the Chicago area Not a terrible experience, but I doubt I'll stay at the W Chicago City Center again any time soon. Certainly not again if I ever have a car with me. Vallet parking was ridiculously expensive! The hotel lobby was very dark each time I went through it. (I think this must simply be part of the overall "W atmosphere", but I don't enjoy it.) Service at the house restaurant was very slow and portions (though tasty) were very small. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, and I always appreciate bathrooms that include bath wash and not just bar soap. However, I didn't appreciate the lack of bedside power outlets. Decent workout facility. January 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by That "WOW" experience for all the wrong reasons We stayed the previous night (Friday) at another 4 star hotel for a wedding. That next morning (Saturday) we decided to stay in the city another night, and despite the great room and great rate from our current 4 star hotel, we decided to be adventurous and try another hotel in the area just for fun. I've always had great experiences at Starwood properties and had never had the chance to stay at a W before. So we grabbed a room at the W City Center that morning, for a 1 night stay. I realize due to the last minute nature in our booking, we probably would not be allotted one of the best rooms, but I really did not expect to be stuck in an updated version of a hobbit hole. With a bathroom that was probably 2 and half by 4 feet. Yes, we'd fallen victim to the "cozy room" booking. Yes, I realize "due to the original 1920s architecture" blah blah blah and that's fine. That is fine for literally any other non-premium hotel brand. Sorry, W. You cannot charge premium prices, tout yourselves as a cool, hip luxury brand and then not expect the kind of backlash you get for these rooms when people are sorely disappointed for expecting that WOW experience you are so careful to construct, then just try to explain it away with "that is how the building was built. Here is free Wifi. Deal with it." Oh and the "free" wireless? Might be nice if it was not slow as a turtle. And if you would want to spend any time in your room in the first place for anything other than sleeping. Oh, and I lifted up the bedding for cleanliness as I do for any hotel stay, and there were tons of hairs underneath the mattress pads. Super gross. Bright side: the towels are super. Really great. We should have stuck with our original hotel. And now we know. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The staff at this hotel did not make this trip relaxing! I called this hotel at least 5 times prior to arriving to ensure a smooth trip however it was anything but! Prior to arriving I requested an early check in, connecting rooms, a pack n play, and to be on the same floor as the bride (since I was in the wedding and was traveling with a 1 year old). Multiple phone calls I was told that everything was all set but when I arrived to the hotel this was not the case. I waited in the lobby with my one year old for almost 3 hours waiting for my room to be ready. I had an argument with the front desk person trying to get connecting rooms and was told because these rooms were on a higher floor it would be an additional $50 a night per room. They were out of pack n plays. When I entered my room one room was very very small and the fridge was in the opposite room as the crib. I called the front desk and was told it would be switched right away however it was never done throughout the stay. I guess as a gester for my trouble a small bottle of wine was sent up to the room with a card. The staff couldn't even take the time to spell our name correctly. Then to top it all off we requested a late checkout and went for breakfast. When we returned one room was cleaned and the maid threw out my goody bag from the wedding. I called the front desk and they found it but really do I want to eat the food in it after it was in the trash and more importantly is that room considered clean for the next guest when I still have access to it?????? The hotel price and parking was very expensive for a weekend and I was very very disappointed in my experience at the W. I actually hand never written a review but the hotel portion of my trip really set the tome for the whole weekend. I would never stay at the W again. June 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointing Last year, I booked the W City Center for my wedding, and I stayed there with many of my friends and family. I had a great experience, a wonderful room, and decided to book the hotel for my first anniversary. When my husband and I went to the front desk to check in, we were informed our room was not ready, even though it was 4:30 PM and the check-in time was 3 PM. He indicated that he would put a rush on cleaning our room, and it would only be about 20 minutes. He would call us when the room was ready. I would assume that common courtesy at this point would to apologize for the room not being ready-- instead, the front desk clerk was curt, rude, and ill mannered. We had dinner reservations that night, so we waited in the lobby for the room to be ready. As we're waiting, we see several (probably 15 groups of people) get room keys and head up to their rooms. We were confused, as we didn't book a special room, but waited for them to call us. 35 minutes later, we return to the front desk to the same front desk clerk. He doesn't recognize us, despite us sitting as close as possible to the front desk to wait for our room. After rudely greeting us again, he gives us the key to a "Cozy" room. I quickly realize how "cozy" this room is. Think smaller than a cruise ship cabin. What was most disappointing, however, was the quality of the room. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the entire room looked worn and old, despite being updated to a more "modern" look. The bathroom door refused to close properly, leaving several inches open to people walking by. My husband and I were claustrophobic, so we went back downstairs to the front desk clerk who (again!) did not recognize us from our previous two visits. We tell him about the room, he again did not apologize, and put us in a different room. Much bigger? Yes. Cleaner? Definitely not. There was long black hairs on the vanity and dirt on the floor. After this almost 2 hour ordeal of checking in and out of rooms, and missing our dinner reservation, we finally just decide to stay in the dirty room. The most unsettling and disturbing feeling, though, was knowing that our wedding guests may have experienced the same treatment that we did. August 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Memorable Night's Stay I had to go to Chicago for the National Restaurant Association's annual tradeshow, but I could only stay one night, a Saturday night, for I had to be home on Friday and Monday for business. I booked the W because it was convenient to places in The Loop and McCormick convention center, to these degrees, it worked very well. When I arrived at the hotel after attending the show on Saturday I was greeted by the bellman who handled my bags with a smile and directed me inside. The lobby took me back, I could see it was an older, elegant structure redone anew with a whimsical, edgy sense of style that respected the original architecture, I was delighted by the space. I checked in and sent my bags up to my room and went to the bar for some refreshments. The interior music set a perfect mood for the late afternoon moment and the beer was cold, I enjoyed 2 rounds and went to me room to freshen up. I chose a Spectacular room and found it to be just as described, spacious, open and well appointed; the tech hook-ups were excellent and the iPod interface on the bedside radio was of outstanding quality and audio clarity. The bathroom was very nice and modern, the hot water got hot quickly and the lavatory flushed without laziness, 2 things not always found in older buildings in Chicago. The TV looked nice and modern, but admittedly, I never used it. The bed, yes, the bad, it was awesome! I had a very comfortable king with what appeared to be feather pillows (if they were't feather, I couldn't tell) and the sheets and bedding were of high quality. The step-in closet was illuminated and had just the right amount of room for 2 people's clothing and bags, the safe was a nice tough as well as the hanging organizer. Lighting in the room was well thought out, I was especially fancied by the low-level illumination under the bed and left it on all night as a nightlight. There was a desk, a desk chair and a side chair, both chairs were leather clad. Overall, I was very pleased by the room's layout, appointments and style. I went out to dinner that night with some clients and upon returning to the hotel the atmosphere had changed. Two disco balls were sparking the lobby and the music was bumpin'. There was a party going on in the ballroom that had spilled out into the lobby area. It was a fun moment and I settled at the bar to take it in, one drink later I adjourned to my room for a restful sleep. The next morning I went down to the lobby for some coffee and sat in the comfortable lobby area and gathered my thoughts for the day ahead. Checkout was a snap and I left The W satisfied with my stay and knowing that I shall return! May 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Complete lack of response from staff The hotel's facilities are good although, as others have noted, the rooms are quite small. The hotel staff and in particular the concierge desk completely failed to fulfill their service promise. There were numerous instances where I called or emailed the concierge desk and got ZERO response. In one particular case, I had an urgent need, called the concierge desk and was routed to voicemail but the call was never acknowledged. I have followed up directly with the hotel manager and she, too, has been a black hole -- a complete lack of response or acknowledgement. The physical hotel facilities are up to the usual W standards but the service was a total fail. June 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel has small rooms, feels like a bar everywhere and could improve client service I was surprised by how small the room was when I arrived. There was hair in the shower. I am not a large person but sitting on the toilet the toilet paper was bumping up against my arm. The overall effect of the hotel is dark which may be a preference for others but I personally do not care for that or for the fact that you basically have to walk through the bar to get to your room. Also, it was raining heavily one day and although every person I encountered at the hotel affirmatively mentioned that umbrellas were available, when it actually did rain and I requested an umbrella, the front desk said they would check. Another person walked up and said she needed two more umbrellas. The front desk person came out with the two umbrellas for the person who arrived after me and then said to me that they were out of umbrellas, she explained the other person was with a group who had paid for the umbrellas. I think you should not tout having something available if you do not. The one positive is the room service people were very pleasant and on time. I would not stay at this hotel again. September 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location for business Very updated, eclectic decor (as expected for a Starwood W hotel). Staff was very pleasant and the atmosphere was very upbeat. Close to financial district. September 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BIRTHDAY GETAWAY!!!! DOWNTOWN CHICAGO AT THE W CHICAGO ON ADAMS STREET I ENTERED IN GREETED BY THE DOORMAN WITH A SMILE!!!! ... BEAUTIFUL HOTEL!!!! ... ALL OF MY NEEDS WERE MEET AT THIS FANTASTIC HOTEL!!! ... LAURELLIN HAD EMAILED MY A WEEK BEFORE MY TRAVEL DATES TO COMFIRM MY ARRANGEMENT AND ASSIST ME WITH ALL MY TRAVEL AND HOTEL NEEDS!!! ... SHE WAS MY ANGEL!!! ... MY MEDICAL NEEDS WERE MET ... MY LOCATION NEEDS WERE MEET ... I SO BELIEVE IN COMMUNICATION AND SHE BLESSED ME WITH ALL HER MIGHT!! ... LOL FRONT DESK WAS AWESOME!!! VERY QUICK CHECKIN ... I HAD A HANDICAP ROOM VERY SPACIOUS THE BEDS ARE HEAVENLY!!!! ... I SOOO ENJOYED MY BIRTHDAY GETAWAY!!!!! KEEP IT UP W CHICAGO HOTEL!!!! November 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another solid stay! This was my second time staying at the hotel, and it was another solid stay. The hotel is well situated in the business district, and well-positioned for a 2 hour walk to see some stunning architecture in the loop! It's also close to the metro and the L train. My room was big, and had a comfortable desk to work on. Bed was super comfortable and there was a walk-in closet (awesome!). Internet connection was really good. All-in-all the room was perfect. I'd like to give a special thank you to Erwyn who checked me in. He also found me a "normal" hairdryer so that I could do my hair properly. Thank you! Happy travels! December 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but noisy elevators This hotel is great. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Room service was superb. There are only 2 reasons why I can't give this hotel a full 5 stars. The first is that the exercise facility is small and 2 of the 3 treadmills were broken. I went to workout in the morning and the small room was so busy I just left, and had to come back later in the evening. The second reason is I was on the 9th floor near the elevator bank and the elevators were so noisy that they would wake me up every morning when everyone started leaving for the morning around 6:30. I would also stay up later due to the noisy elevators. February 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clean and well located but gimmicky and service lacking We chose this hotel largely for the location and name brand (expecting great things from a W hotel). While it was very clean and the staff were all friendly, there were a few issues that didn't work and could use improvement. We were told to text the valet when we wanted our car, but this method didn't work so we waited twice as long. We called down to the desk to have a porter come up for luggage and no one ever came. The bathroom had some issues (tub drain, shower fan not working, toilet flush didn't work all the time). Noise level was acceptable. I couldn't figure out how to get the TV on, but maybe that was my confusion. Also, whenI booked the hotel I was given a different impression about parking than when i called when we were about to arrive, which was frustrating as we ended up paying for valet parking after expecting to be able to self park but no one was available to assist us with this. August 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed We stayed at the W Hotel last summer, and tho the bathroom area was a bit cramped, its price and location were good. This time, we couldn't open the closet to dress without pinning the other in the bathroom. No coffee pot in room: problematic; no coffee service ready in the lobby: frustrating. Not well maintained. Our keys, and several other patrons' keys, often didn't work in the elevator. No matter how many times the front desk "fixed" our keys. VERY frustrating. Then I belated saw the $63/day to park, a considerable hike over last year's high rate. We aren't staying there again. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Chicago Property Apart from the occasional noise from the close by "L" train, the W City Center is a good property. The rooms are bright and airy, and they provide plenty of space to work and relax. The elevators are fairly quick. Front desk staff and room service are quite helpful, and great to see a property with 24 hour "hot food" service. Only downside is tough to do a suite upgrade given how popular the property is over a weekend. August 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Corner Rooms Make sure you ask if you're getting a corner room. The bathroom door slams the entry door and does not open all the way. If I was any bigger, I might not fit through it. Also, the bathroom is the tiniest bathroom I have had in a hotel. So small that the glass shower door has to open into the shower. When you get in, it dumps water onto the floor. Not good for the socks. It's adequate but nothing to write home about. Oh yeah and no drawers in the room. I literally lived out of my suitcase. November 3, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Atmosphere and Great Location The outside of the hotel looks spectacular if you arrive at night. We arrived at around 10pm at night and the site of the hotel lit up in purple gave an incredible first impression. Right away we were excited to stay here. The lobby was like a night club with great music, lots of seating, and a good bar. Upon checking in we were upgraded from the Wonderful room to the Spectacular room. The room was huge with lots of space, big bed, big washroom and a big screen tv. Staff were incredibly friendly as well. The location was great too. 5 min walk from the Willis Tower (Sears Tower) , minutes from the river and the River Walk and not far from Millennium Park. Also being right in the Loop it's to get anywhere when staying at this hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenience We traveled with Amtrak so this hotel was quite convenient... even if the rooms are on the smaller side, it's warm and cozy enough for 2 or a couple to enjoy. We were able to get last minute massages which was a nice treat - and def eat the food at the hotel - it's TO DIE FOR!!... seriously everything on the menu is awesome!... We preferred eating at the bar versus ordering in... plus their specialty cocktails were awesome! We will be back! I&A August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed. The W Hotel in Chicago is disappointing. The elevated train outside makes it hard to sleep. The bathrooms are tiny, and the staff has covered the vanity in hotel items, so there is no room for a guest's own toiletries. You have to call and request a coffee maker. The HVAC system for the large conference room is dismal, so the meeting room is either below 60 degrees or it is stuffy and warm - there's no comfort level at all. At the price I paid for the room, and at the price the conference organizer paid, I expected everything to be perfect. This place needs a lot of work to rate the prices they charge. October 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pleasant staff, pleasant visit The very dramatic foyer of the hotel set the tone of the hotel decor. The staff were eager to please, courteous and willing to accommodate our requests and addressed the minor queries which we had on arrival and departure.. Our room was spacious and had all the facilities we expected from a 4 star hotel. We loved the original and relaxing decor of our room which along with the double glazing shielded us somewhat from the road works below. The beds were spacious and very comfortable and the under bed lighting was a cool touch. The only gripe was the noisy toilet which sounded like a rocket when you flushed it - minor detail. I'd happily stay there again and would recommend it to others May 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay We had booked a one-night stay at W City Center for an in-town wedding in July. We arrived at 2:30pm and were told that we'd have to wait until 3pm since that is the official check-in time. However, even at 4pm, they kept informing us that they didnt have any rooms available (this is despite receiving 4 confirmation emails from the hotel the week before). Finally, after speaking to them for the third time and emphasizing that we had a reception to attend, we got a room at 4:15pm (and barely made it to the 5pm reception across town). The next day when I reviewed the bill, I noticed that they had overcharged us by $500. I had to spend 10mins trying to sort this out. My husband and I have stayed at the W City Center several times before (and at other Starwood properties in the US and overseas) and this has by far been the most disappointing stay to-date! August 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Alright We were in town for a wedding. We had to wait almost 40 minutes for our rooms. The size of the same priced rooms varied greatly. Groom's parents room -- sit in the chair at the desk and it touched the bed. Bride/groom also had the small room. Another room for the bridal party was a bit bigger. Ours was the largest. All were "wonderful" rooms costing the same. High price still did not include free internet. August 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff!!! I am not a big fan of this hotel unless I get put in a Spectacular room or above because the bathrooms are so tiny, among other issues I've had at this hotel with rooms. However, the staff at this hotel truly make a difference! Tyler Smith is the most pleasant front desk person you will meet. He almost instantly remembered me and on my next visit anticipated my needs. He always gave me extra bottled water, remembered my name and did it all with a smile! Tyler is an asset to SPG. It is rare to find such pleasant hospitality employees that can recognize and anticipate a guests needs. Good job, Tyler! October 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is clean and pleasant The response of the staff to our request for a larger, more comfortable room was very quick, caring and pleasant. It changed our experience tremendously. Thank you for your hospitality and of course the delicious apples. We would have liked to have a kettle for some tea at night, we are use to having this amenity in the room. Thank you. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is conveniently located The room was ready for our early check in. The room clean and spacious. The staff was good and courtious. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has every amenity you could ever hope for We were here for my sons wedding and the hotel could not have been more wonderful. Anything you wanted---------they were there. We've never stayed in a hotel that has been more ON SPOT in every aspect. Thank you so much for a great experience. We will FOR SURE highly recommend you to everyone. August 27, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 15 next>>