W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 294 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Corner Rooms Make sure you ask if you're getting a corner room. The bathroom door slams the entry door and does not open all the way. If I was any bigger, I might not fit through it. Also, the bathroom is the tiniest bathroom I have had in a hotel. So small that the glass shower door has to open into the shower. When you get in, it dumps water onto the floor. Not good for the socks. It's adequate but nothing to write home about. Oh yeah and no drawers in the room. I literally lived out of my suitcase. November 3, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff!!! I am not a big fan of this hotel unless I get put in a Spectacular room or above because the bathrooms are so tiny, among other issues I've had at this hotel with rooms. However, the staff at this hotel truly make a difference! Tyler Smith is the most pleasant front desk person you will meet. He almost instantly remembered me and on my next visit anticipated my needs. He always gave me extra bottled water, remembered my name and did it all with a smile! Tyler is an asset to SPG. It is rare to find such pleasant hospitality employees that can recognize and anticipate a guests needs. Good job, Tyler! October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W City Center Chicago The staff was extremely helpful -- particularly John (maestro of the lobby), and George at the concierge desk. The front desk upgraded our room without our asking, and put us on a higher floor. Bottled water was plentiful, the gym -- while not huge -- was larger than those at many similar hotels. I appreciated the hotel package that included valet parking and drink coupons. All in all, I was very satisfied. January 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed. The W Hotel in Chicago is disappointing. The elevated train outside makes it hard to sleep. The bathrooms are tiny, and the staff has covered the vanity in hotel items, so there is no room for a guest's own toiletries. You have to call and request a coffee maker. The HVAC system for the large conference room is dismal, so the meeting room is either below 60 degrees or it is stuffy and warm - there's no comfort level at all. At the price I paid for the room, and at the price the conference organizer paid, I expected everything to be perfect. This place needs a lot of work to rate the prices they charge. October 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pleasant staff, pleasant visit The very dramatic foyer of the hotel set the tone of the hotel decor. The staff were eager to please, courteous and willing to accommodate our requests and addressed the minor queries which we had on arrival and departure.. Our room was spacious and had all the facilities we expected from a 4 star hotel. We loved the original and relaxing decor of our room which along with the double glazing shielded us somewhat from the road works below. The beds were spacious and very comfortable and the under bed lighting was a cool touch. The only gripe was the noisy toilet which sounded like a rocket when you flushed it - minor detail. I'd happily stay there again and would recommend it to others May 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay We had booked a one-night stay at W City Center for an in-town wedding in July. We arrived at 2:30pm and were told that we'd have to wait until 3pm since that is the official check-in time. However, even at 4pm, they kept informing us that they didnt have any rooms available (this is despite receiving 4 confirmation emails from the hotel the week before). Finally, after speaking to them for the third time and emphasizing that we had a reception to attend, we got a room at 4:15pm (and barely made it to the 5pm reception across town). The next day when I reviewed the bill, I noticed that they had overcharged us by $500. I had to spend 10mins trying to sort this out. My husband and I have stayed at the W City Center several times before (and at other Starwood properties in the US and overseas) and this has by far been the most disappointing stay to-date! August 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by stay at the W This hotel is near the opera that we attended and also the train station. Cab service is not needed when we tay at the W. We like the hotel for its location especially in Winter. The hotel maintains a high standard and comfort. the staff is always friendly and helpful. Check in and checkout is very efficient. January 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly great - Restaurant SLOW Loved the hotel, especially the Alice In Wonderland feel in the living room. Desk staff was great but Acura Experience lady was a bit rude. Also, one car with such limited hours not worth having. Turned out to be a non-Experience. Waited more than 10 minutes to see a hostess or anyone in the restaurant for dinner. Finally went and found someone who went to find someone. Dinner was good and service was good after a bumpy start. Also don't understand how a cup of tea is $5. Too many great dinner options in the city for you to have a sub-par restaurant experience. Breakfast was great, but also understaffed. Even front desk - never more than two agents, always a line. Need more staff, it seems. June 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Clean, but small The employees were excellent. The room was very clean, but small. January 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could have been better... I was there for a few days for ASCO. An area next to my room was under some type of construction. The first morning, I left very early for meetings. The second morning, I was woken by a lot of noise of the construction starting at 7am. Then, right at 9am, hammering and banging began. I needed to work from the room and it was difficult. During the day, paint fumes started. The next day, the work started early again but I was leaving to return home. The room cost was too high to put up with this. I did not mention it until I checked out and suggested that they not give out the room. The person said that they were booked and needed to use it. They then need to limit the construction, I would think. June 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Property, Outstanding Service I was in Chicago for two nights and the W was the most convenient SPG property for my meetings. From the moment I arrived and through my departure, the hotel staff provided exceptional service. Of particular note was the staff at the front desk and restaurant (including room service). My only issue is that I still have trouble with the limited surface area of the bathroom countertop. Convenient or not, I have decided to make the W Chicago - City Center my hotel of choice whenever I am downtown. December 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trying too hard to be cool Lobby is too small to hold partys in or get-togethers. A fire hazzard waiting to happen..you can not get into the hotel or out when they have these functions. Nearly impossible to hear the converstaion with the front desk or the concierge, can not get to the elevators. The rooms are dated and they dont have normal amenities, like a cofee maker. All-in-all I would recomend another hotel..this place is trying to hard to be cool to all of the wrong groups. December 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location, but tiny room & no SPG recognition Arrived to hotel at closer to midnight due to a late arriving flight from SFO. Check-in agent was grumpy, no SPG Platinum recognition at all, was given possibly the smallest room in the hotel (nice for my Platinum status), and did not even coded my breakfast amenity correctly. However, the staff at the bar was super nice (served me a late night soup), and in the morning, the staff at the front desk made up for the evening staff with their friendly and positive attitude (she recoded my breakfast amenity correctly). Great location, but sometime the staff will spoil things. December 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Physical plant needs help but.... The hotel feels a bit shopworn-- paint and new carpet would help a lot! Having said this- your management deserves an A - you have a super group of people working here with a great attitude. I had a few encounters from check in to losing my key to an early check out to beat the snow out of town.... Each time I was very impressed with a different person owning the interaction- and exceeding expectations. I had 22 of my employees at the hotel for the IHA show- and you presented a great example of confident competent associates executing strategy! Thank you & see you again! March 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Problems I have stayed at this W before and not had similar issues, but there were a number of problems with my stay this time: First, the clerk at the desk offered me a "quieter" room overlooking the interior courtyard, or a room with a nice view of the city but where I might here the El. I chose the latter. To my surprise, the room had no view (it actually overlooked the interior, but I also heard the El. Second, the heating controls did not work properly. You could reset the temperature and it would go on for a few minutes, but then it would not stop and would not re-engage to maintain the correct room termperature. Third, the bed comfort was just ok. I have stayed at many Westins where they have been great. This one was not, and the bottom sheet kept coming out. November 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed in Chicago (City Center) location!!!! I was expecting a top-notch experience and was deeply disappointed. The staff was friendly and attentive, but the facility was far from stellar. The thermostat was installed directly next to the window, so never had an accurate room temp reading. Being in Chicago, this caused the heat to be blowing, non-stop, even when the thermostat was switched to OFF. After getting out of the shower, I had to crack the window open to get the room to cool off. This just caused the thermostat to blow more hot air since the thermostat thought it was only 44* in my room, but it was likely near 70*, which is too hot when getting ready (especially when using the blow dryer). Engineering came and switched out the thermostat after the first night of getting little sleep (had to open the window in the night to get the room to cool off, but had to listen to the howling wind all night...which is quite loud in Chicago). Even with a new thermostat, the system continued to blow hot air and I had to continually have the window cracked open to cool the room below ~ 75*. The room was extremely small and two people could not stay there comfortably. The bathroom counter was so small that you were forced to use the toilet as additional counter space, which is extremely disgusting! The counter was so close to the toilet that the toilet seat would rub against the toilet paper roll hanging on the side of the vanity. There was a shelf under the sink, but it was completely used up by the towels and blow dryer storage. There was a dressing mirror, but no other options for putting on makeup or doing my hair outside of the matchbox size bathroom since there were NO electrical outlets near the dressing mirror. The TV would not come on the first morning that I was there. I placed a call to ask them to look at it while I was at work. I don't know if they ever did, but the TV did come on that night. Much to my dismay, the TV would not come on the 2nd morning, though. The engineer ended up having to change out the TV. After the engineer changed out the TV, the light installed inside the wall unit (built in with an inspirational saying) would not turn off, so I attempted to sleep with the light on all night as I was already in my PJs and did not feel like being bothered to call a THIRD time to engineering. All three nights were anything but restful and relaxing. January 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Chicago Home I like this W property- a lot. My loyalty is recognized here and I am treated very special by the friendly staff. The concierge sent me a very nice email the morning of my visit stating that he had pre-checked me into an upgraded room. This was a very nice touch. The room was spacious and was away from most of the noise of the L (which quite frankly I don't mind anyway...) I had an awesome dinner in their restaurant: IPO. It was delicious. Don't be put off by the non-traditional food combinations. I had the beef tenderloin and the sauce was incredible. Thank you! March 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to expectations I am taking the time to write this review because it was clearly the worst hotel experience I have had in years and certainly below expectations for a Starwood property. When I checked in, I was given a very small room. The commode was located about 3 inches from the tub, with lots of room on the other side—an inexplicable discomfort. The water pressure in the sink was horribly low, and the best I could obtain was lukewarm water about 2 minutes after first turning the hot water on. There were no drawers in the room for clothes—only the small ones in the desk and the nightstands. The channel guide on the TV did not work. There was an intermittent, loud noise that seemed to be coming from the plumbing that awakened me (a sound sleeper) repeatedly during the night. Not only will I not return to the W city center, I will have trouble ever returning to a Starwood property. I travel internationally about once every 6 weeks and domestically more frequently than that. I finally decided to pretend that I was staying in an eastern european hotel, and somehow that made it possible for me to smile when I checked out of room 614 after 4 days. November 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Stay at W Chicago City Center Staff was amazing. From the doormen, to the front desk, to the room service team! All went above and beyond the call of duty. June 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Hotel! I've been staying at this W since 2005; it's the only place I stay, given my choice, when visiting Chicago. The staff is great, the location's fantastic and the prices are reasonable for the area. I also enjoy the Living Room & bar, as well as the room service menu. My only issue is that the hotel's infrastructure seems to be older. During my last stay, I kept waking up to the TV next door and what sounded like water rushing through pipes that were groaning under pressure. Other than that, I've had nothing but good experiences here. Keep up the good work. October 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W the staff does whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable Management gets five stars for staffing this hotel with great people. July 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would never stay at the W Chicago City Center Room was small, facilities overall not up to Starwood standards... September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome guest relations! From check in to check out this property gave 100%! July 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weekend getaway I went to Chicago for my friend's dad's retirement party (not held at W). I'd had a stay there in Dec 2012 that was subpar. This stay was better but I think I've captured my sentiments in the star ratings better this time. I did get an upgraded room but suspect the word fantastic suite is an overstatement. More like nice suite. The tub seemed old/worn out and I was not tempted to take a bath. When I entered the room the usual W room music was not playing in the TV - this is usually a warm welcome telling you you've walked into a room at a W and evoking fond memories of past trips. Room service was good. Eden the concierge is among the best I've encountered - the star of the place. Front desk staff were much friendlier on this visit. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A true stand out in the Windy City I've stayed at this hotel off and on for the past 8 years. And I think it is better now then it has ever been. Service provided by the employees is top notch - from handling requests prior to my arrival through the entire stay. The renovations have really added to this property. It's a great location in the Loop. Although it may have lost some of its original edginess over the years, it still is a great place to lay your head while in Chicago. Yes, some rooms may be small, but there are also some huge rooms as well. The old phrase you get what you pay for is true - if you want a bigger room either reserve a larger room or be a SPG elite - this hotel always takes care of SPG elite. You can't go wrong staying here - get to it people - stat! December 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could be a lot better Staff excellent, particualrly house keeping and front desk. Concierge service was average. Rooms are typically small but as matter of amusement the bathroom so small you can't close lid on the toilet. I also, usually like hot water in the morning but there was none. TV basically did not work which as a stock holder is peevish as no money is mmade from remtals. The room in general felt dirty and well used, the sort of palce you are afraid to let your feet touch the floor. The food is average and not consistent with the W image. In general the people are the best thing about the hotel but is clear management and Starwood are not providing any measure of investment to keep up with base line quality of service typically associated with the W brand. December 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does not live up to W standards The staff was great as was the restaurant. However, don't stay here if you don't want to hear the El trains all night. I've been here twice in the last few months and even the 2nd time when I asked for a room without the noise of the train, the staff couldn't get me into a quiet room (and I have Platinum status). Also, do not take room 301. The staff made it sound like it was an extra special room but it wasn't. It overlooked the front entrance so there was a lot of noise, the a/c did not work and the shower is too small to turn around in. March 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 Horrific attitude from service Long day, no room service menu in my room. Went down 20 floors and hostess hands a lunch menu but boss said hes not serving it now. Got another menu. She knew next to nothing about the menu, got her boss gave him my order but he said union rules say he cant take my order.Ii had to go back to my room & call it in. I then was told my order couldnt be served in my room, union rule,, but he'd call me to come down to carry it to my room myself. Really? Im back in my room at 9 pm with no menu, starving, and away from home on my birthday no less. August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Professional, courteous staff Stayed four nights at the W City Center for Lolla weekend. Fantastic location for hitting the sites. Extremely impressed by the staff and their friendly & professional manner. The concierge gave us an excellent recommendation for a late dinner and booked us immediately so we were able to walk right in to our table with zero wait (not the case for the twenty people in line outside the door). The manager on staff Sunday (H.) helped to adjust an issue with our reservation promptly and was superbly professional - special thanks to her. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing staff! I travel a lot for business and opt for Ws because the minute you walk through the door you can see the consistency with the brand. This property, however, has everything a W is supposed to have...and much more! The staff are simply amazing. From Eden & Vanessa at the concierge, to Molly & Miguel in F&B (or b&f rather) they are incredibly attentive, friendly and truly hospitable. Every little request was accommodated with a genuine and cheerful gesture. My only point for improvement would be for them to make a little more of an effort to remember guest names and use them. It's a great little touch to make us who are traveling all the time feel more welcomed. All in all a great property to stay at, especially if you're already familiar with the brand. January 14, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>