W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Registered hotel guests must be 21 years of age or older.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 471 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A bit disappointed! Cleanliness was the concern. Outside windows of room were very dirty and streaked so having views of the bridge were not all that spectacular! We found M&M candies on the floor from previous guests. The bathroom sink had long women's hair in it. The remote control for the TV was inconsistent in its functioning. We had to resort to manual controls at times. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING EXPERIENCE My favorite W Hotel, hands down. Fantastic experience in everyway. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by NEEDS BETTER TOWELS when i stay at a four star hotel i expect better towels than when i stay at a two and three star hotel we have stayed at this hotel before and I thought there was a microwave in the room, however there was no microwave in the room this time. Mike Jerkovich February 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel room 2502 needs improvement To whom it may concern, I am writing this to bring to your attention of my recent experience at the San Francisco W. I stayed five nights at room 2502, thanks to an upgrade offered to me. However, there's constantly some unidentifiable noise inside the bathroom. It wasn't bothering me in the beginning of my stay, but it was progressively worsened. I was too exhausted after work to bring this matter to management and ask for a different room. Another thing that needs improvement is the card reader inside the elevator. My co-workers who stayed at W and I also experienced difficulties having our hotel cards scanned on a few occasions. I did notice other hotel guests were experiencing similar problem. Besides the two issues as aforementioned, the hotel facilities and staffs were excellent. Kevin, the associate who assisted my check-in and check-out was friendly and helpful. He was very patient and offered his sincere apologies to me as I explained my room situation during check-out. Being a SPG platinum member, I want the best experience for other travelers. But most importantly, I am hoping these issues will be addressed immediately. Regards, Tsunghin Ho February 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Living up up to the expectations We just spent last Friday evening at the hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. She enjoyed the spa. Her pedicure was excellent and the massage was great. We reserved a corner room and loved the view and room overall. The bed was very comfortable. Shower was not special and water pressure was not great though. The bar downstairs had good drinks and IPA beer selection. It still has a nice vibe to it and is at a great location. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel staff is great The hotel staff is friendly. February 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and Fun The hotel is very convenient to the conference center and walking distance from BART. Good location to restaurants and fun as well. Great bar with good drinks and good service February 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing room, poor quality I was celeberating me and my wife's 5-year wedding anniversary. I wanted to make it perfect, so i booked one night at the W (sf). I used my points to get the Fabulous Suite. The day-of, i was told i would upgraded to the Extreme Wow Suite, which i was highly excited for. Once i walked in the view was breathtaking. As i was setting-up the room for my wife's arrival i noticed a few of the lights weren't working. I contacted engineering and after two failed attempts of replacing mis-matched bulbs, they determined the fixtures were broken. A few of the lamps were unplugged from the walls because the switches on the lamps were broken themselves. The touch display was also broken on the radio in the main bedroom. Also when moving around a few of the chiars, i noticed several crumbs and debris that was either "swept under" or not seen to guests. There was also an espresso machine, but no capsules to use it with. Regardless, my wife and i had an amazing time enjoying the room. It was just a few details that set's the W apart from the rest that were not addressed. February 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Valentines My wife and i traveled to San Francisco for an early Valentines day celebration. The staff, and our ambassador worked extremely hard to help me surprise her with a heart felt welcome to start our weekend. They brought local flowers, her favorite wine, printed out pictures of us put them on the bed, and had our favorite song playing. The staff was always there to help, and the best experience was how quickly they were able to accommodate and always making sure if there was anything else they could do. I would highly recommend this hotel and starwood., i'm a loyal ambassador guest and my loyalty to the Starwood brands grow due to experiences such as this one. February 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Group stay from PDX I booked 8 rooms at the W for a conference being held in San Francisco. The hotel was the perfect location, just blocks from the conference center, shopping, and nightlife. We were disappointed that the hotel advertises having a pool and fitness center. In reality the pool and hottub are closed and are being removed, the gym is really a few cardio machines located on a outdoor terrace covered by tents. I was offered a guest pass to swim at a neighbor hotel but I wish these details were disclosed before check in. Great staff and very helpful service! February 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Great location, clean. However, lobby bar and restaurant way too loud. Tried it once and didn't go back for four days. Also, we were put in a handicap room without being told. Bathroom and closet were handicap friendly but not friendly to us as a couple. The staff was very nice and accommodating. February 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not What I Expected 1. Water pressure in room was not good. 2. Room was very small. 3. Gym was under renovation. 4. Pool is being removed. On the bright side, the light up Buddha in the room was super cool. February 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is centrally located The hotel is in a great location, the bar is fun. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. I did not enjoy the noise coming from the construction next door. In addition, the gym amenities were awful, situation in a tent on the side roof. I also did not enjoy the bathroom (poor water pressure). Over all satisfied but not top tier. February 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff needs help No baggage help, poor recognition of SPG and upgrade amenities, front desk should not be trained while a customer is trying to check in February 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Less than expected was looking forward to using the facilities which were under renovation, no one had mentioned anything during booking or check in, which was strange The ipod/iphone dock near bed is completely useless and unintuitive Phone charger station did not work, woke up with dead phone AC system does not stop blowing air - it's either heat or AC, have to turn it off manually when tired or noise and back on when needing heat - epic fail. January 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Did not meet my expectations. When I arrived in my first room, it had not been fully made up. Which is gross and then gives you a sense of discomfort from that point forward. While the manager gave me a couple drink tickets, he insulted me by saying that the only thing wrong with the room was a pillow out of place. This isn't true. the bed was completely disheveled. The carpet was very dirty. The hotel is pretty loud. I could hear toilets flushing and showers running all around me. My closet door wouldn't stay closed so the light was on constantly. I had to wedge a shoe under the door so I could get darkness to sleep. AND this survey is way too long. I don't want to spend this time. figure out a way to shorten it. January 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anuar Amerbekov Due to my other experience of staying with my family in W hotels in Guangzhou and Koh Samui, it's not that excellent. Good spa, but always occupied, no chance to make reservation for any treatments even in one-two days in advance. Very poor fitness. Other things was as it should be, stylish design, good food and drinks in lobby bar, welcome front desk. January 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Was disappointed For an average traveler, this hotel is very nice. I travel frequently and usually stay at the St Regis, but that hotel was sold out so I reserved a block of 10 rooms and a suite for several nights which was fully paid for upfront. The manager on duty said that all rooms were only doubles and that she could not accommodate a king size room for me. After spending over $40k, I would think that the manager would have been more of service. January 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is centrally located The W San Francisco is still a nice hotel, but it does need to a decor update. Staff is very friendly and inviting. That's one reason I keep coming back. And if you live a contemporary hotel, the W is the place to stay. Moreover, the hotel is centrally located if you're interested in shopping, visiting museums, and exploring the city. It also has a Bliss Spa, which never disappoints. Lastly, although, getting to the freeway can be a pain in San Francisco. The freeway is easy to access from the W. Just head, west on 4th Street. For this trip, freeway access was a driving factor. My husband and I stayed in the city to celebrate his birthday, but needed easy access the next morning to get to work at a decent hour. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay.. Pool is gone The W San Francisco is as a great as always. In terms of service, room, quality and the excellent staff. We were treated very well and enjoyed our stay. A very important part of our stay at the W san Francisco is the incredible indoor pool. We were surprised and saddened to hear that the hotel decided to dismantle and remove the pool. This decreases the quality of the facilities at the W san francisco. The presence of the pool was a very important part of the experience at the W san Francisco. I highly recommend that the management reconsider the installation of a pool at the hotel. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good~ Good Service, Nice hotel! January 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by many thanks to housekeeping I had many special requests due to health issues, and once again the housekeeping staff at the W San Francisco met my needs. Special thanks as well to Ricardo, the night manager, for making this happen. January 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff & Service First Class!! There were several times that I had to contact Wherever / Whatever and they always took care of my request quickly and efficiently, also with a follow up to make sure everything was OK. The front desk was great too trying to help me find a solution in case my flight was cancelled due to a snowstorm at home. EVERYONE at the W San Francisco was awesome and I thank them for their help!! Well Done!! January 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This W puts the W in Wow I selected this W property last Fall for a January show at the convention center across the street. When I made the reservation I did not know that I would be a SPG Platinum by year's end. I was really surprised and excited to be upgraded to a Cool Corner room which is very suite like in its size and amenities. I work hard at earning and maintaining elite status in the SPG loyalty program and it is a great feeling to be rewarded for my effort. Thank you W San Francisco! January 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing Experience Room was not ready at checkin time. Front desk offered me to leave my luggage and come in 1 hr. When I asked for manager I got a room on the spot!!!! Are the serious?... Room was not cleaned for 3 days - I never signed up for green stay. And altogether what's the green about not emptying the trash cans in the room or making the bed? Heather in the room was not working. Service in the restaurant was horrible. January 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Small, dirty, and unkempt rooms The main areas of the hotel were fine; modern, clean, although a bit malodorous. The rooms on the otherhand, were a wreck. The first room we were put in was dirty, very dirty. There was mascara on the pillow cases, food particles on the door hanger for room service, and a bug, a BUG, on the bed. The floor didn't appear to be vacuumed either. Besides that, the room was in disrepair. Pain chipping off walls, chunks out of the wooden fixtures in the room, and stains on the bench and chairs. It was so bad we asked to change rooms, which they did for us, although it was barely better. Not worth the money. January 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Attention to detail staff knew what I wanted.. before I asked..nice location..1st floor restaurant (Trace) was good.. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good staff and service Booked New Year Eve and am satisfied about the hotel and service. The room is very clean and huge TV impressed me. Decoration of room is special and you will like it. The only con is that there was a party and the music in lobby was extremely loudly that you cannot even hear what the Frontdesk staff saying. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite SPG in San Francisco The staff has always been amazing from check-in to Whatever/Whenever requests. The rooms are spacious and always clean. Every time I come to the area I try to stay at this hotel. It's modern and classy and the bathrooms are huge. The only drawback is the gym is small and in the morning before work it is really crowded. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The service is outstanding From the valet service to the bar to the housekeeping staff, the service was outstanding! All our questions were answered, a fabulous recommendation for dinner was provided (Alexander's Steakhouse) and when we checked out but left something in our room, it was not a hassle to get a key card to go back up and retrieve it. The room was cozy and quiet and the view was incredible. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful "date night". January 6, 2014
  • 2015-04-17T18:16:42.618-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_471, tr_471
  • loc_en_US, sid_1153, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 17 next>>