W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirment Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older for room reservations.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 457 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great atmosphere but filthy room. I love the decor and vibe and the staff were great. But my room was nasty. I assume kids stayed there before me and housekeeping just didn't notice the slime left behind. The clock radio knob had what I hope is chocolate all over the dial. Next to the bed was sticky residue from a drink. I put my iPhone in that before I noticed it. Near the light switch in the bathroom, the door frame is really sticky. Found that while feeling for the switch in the dark. And there's something on the toilet seat. I got a washcloth and tried to remove it - but it wouldn't come off after 5 minutes effort. March 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little less than I expected from The W On the whole the experience was average. Staff was friendly but seemed a little inexperienced. I called down for a pot of hot water and a tea cup. 30 minutes later I was sent an electric tea kettle that didn't work. I called down again and was transferred to in room dining. 30 minutes later I had to call again. Finally after 75 minutes I received a pot of hot water and a tea cup. And this is not specific to this particular W, but all of your hotels have *terrible* ironing board pads. They are hard and wrinkled making it virtually impossible to iron anything. When I travel I usually need to touch up a couple of items and it's incredibly frustrating to not be able to accomplish this quickly and easily. May 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Three night stay, four ladies in a two-bedroom room in San Francisco. Loved the location, could not have been much better! Staff recommended a great sushi restaurant (Sanraku) at the Metreon. In-room mini-bar, room service, and restaurant prices severely overpriced...find food elsewhere. Lobby located next to busy/loud night club, felt like a goof coming downstairs to use WiFi while the club raged on right beside me. Chose this hotel because of large discount, couldn't imagine paying what that hotel was asking as full price, although probably similar all around the Convention Centre. September 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by construction The construction next door is an eye sore, should better accommodate patrons to higher floors until construction makes some headway. Could not leave my windows open since I was within very close range with the workers (e.g., cranes). Also construction started early in the day. Noise level quite evident. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Service This is a cool hotel with a lot of great features (e.g.. car service), but what makes this hotel stand out is the care and attention they take with their customers. I had a couple of special requests with my booking that I emailed to Kristi (the executive assistant to the general manager). Those requests did not have to be honoured...but they were. In fact, I even received a very thoughtful and generous surprise in my room...to make things even more special. Thanks, Kristi...you really made the stay at W San Francisco one of the best experiences I have had with SPG hotels. Cheers! June 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My stay at the W. I had a wonderful experience at your hotel. My accommodations were exceptional. I would recommend your hotel to anyone. I hope to make this my new hotel when visiting San Francisco and will inquire as to getting my firm to use your hotel exclusively. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway A *huge* room by San Fran standards and absolutely everything you'd need right there in the room. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay The staff werre very friendly and helpful making the stay extremely enjoyable. I would definetely visit again next time I am in town. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W is for Wicked, Wild, Wow and Wonderful! Way to go .... We absolutely loved our stay here. We had a corner suite on the 12th floor with a great view of the city. The room was so spacious - you could throw a party in it. The staff were incredibly helpful. We requested a late check out and our request was acceded to without any ado. The hotel also has a great chauffeur service free of charge where they take you to designated areas within the Bay Area. So whether you want to go shopping or out to dinner, you can be picked up and taken there in style and comfort. The hotel is busy and happening and there's an all round good feeling about it, not to mention its close proximity to the shopping area and the Museum of Modern Art bang next door. We can't wait to return. . September 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent business stay Air conditioning didn't work very well. I left a small red and gold jewelry pouch with costume jewelry with sentimental value (two necklaces from my deceased parents) in my room when I checked out but it apparently wasn't turned in. July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is centrally located The W San Francisco is still a nice hotel, but it does need to a decor update. Staff is very friendly and inviting. That's one reason I keep coming back. And if you live a contemporary hotel, the W is the place to stay. Moreover, the hotel is centrally located if you're interested in shopping, visiting museums, and exploring the city. It also has a Bliss Spa, which never disappoints. Lastly, although, getting to the freeway can be a pain in San Francisco. The freeway is easy to access from the W. Just head, west on 4th Street. For this trip, freeway access was a driving factor. My husband and I stayed in the city to celebrate his birthday, but needed easy access the next morning to get to work at a decent hour. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special Birthday My daughter, girlfriend and I flew to San Francisco for a weekend to celebrate a birthday. The staff at the W helped to make this an unforgettable occasion by: 1) facilitating an upgrade to an Extreme Wow Suite -- amazing room, with amazing views (my daughter chose to sleep on the window sill to be close to the city lights)...we were extremely wowed) 2) obtaining a gift for my girlfriend from the local Paul Smith store 3) decorating the rrom with my girlfriend's favorite flowers (which aren't that common) Thanks to everyone at the W for this, especially Gordon and Cora. May 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good place in San Francisco Near Bart, center of town and reasonable rate for a great place to stay July 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of construction next door! I had a very unpleasant stay at the W recently. They are apparently doing some construction right next door. There was a note on the bed apologizing for the closed pool and gym. It was a little bit of a bummer, but fine. But no where did it say pardon the noise and not once did a staff person mention there may be noise in the morning. I had a 10:00 AM work meeting and was looking forward to sleeping in a bit since the hotel was so close to my work. But no - I was awoken to the sound of construction at 6:50 AM! It was beyond ridiculous! I was so upset and spoke with the staff at check out and they did nothing to make up for it. I would never stay there again just for that reason. I don't appreciate that kind of non-responsive customer service. What ever happened to the guest coming first?! June 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Sleep Strobing smoke alarm and a malfunctioning lamp detracted from sleep. I reported the problems to the front desk and engineering. They did not repair the problems and both continued the second night. This is unlike what I expected and my assumption is that it was an aberration. I would still recommend the W. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trendy yet comfortable! Great hotel. Trendier looking foyer and reception than most others but did not loose sight of making us comforable. The rooms are smallish but not unusal in San Francisco but they use the space really well. Absolutely loved the window seat! July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by October San Francisco Stay We recently utilized this facility for a 3 day Business Workshop. The hotel room, the conference rooms and service were of the high standard that I have experienced from the SPG group before. I was however very disappointed in the service in the Lobby Bar. On more than one occassion the service was slow, the staff was sluggish in movement and I didn't see the same energy and focus to customer service that I witnessed everywhere else in the facility. I am not one to complain - but felt it should be noted. I am a dedicated SPG member and look forward to my next stay. October 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hospitality I was completely won over by the staff and standards. From arrival to checkout, we were met by friendly and efficient service. Valet parking, bell hop, front desk, housekeeping, w/w line, bar, spa, restaurant: every single person was personable and professional. My room was impeccably clean and well appointed. The food in the restaurant was incredible, and in SF the standard is high. And even though my SPG account had lapsed, I was greeted like a regular. Loved my snack tray. I had avoided W hotels for the last several years as being too cold and snooty. I am back. December 3, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Up to W Hotel Standard. Over the past 5 years, I stayed at many (> 10) W Hotels over Asia and US. Sadly, W San Francisco ranked last in my book... As ambassador level SPG member, I had not been disapponited often. The entire stay experience in W San Francisco had a feel and quality of a category 3 SPG hotel. The room was very small, air in the room was stale, lobby has no character of typical W Hotel. Breakfast was uninspired... One thing is helping W is its staff: from reception to parking, most of them are excellent and helpful employees. Just the hotel itself is below average. March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Treat Loyalty Members Like Gold Beautiful hotel however did not have rooms ready for me or another gold member. Regular guests were being checked in and we were told to wait because our room was being cleaned. Left hotel for a couple of hours and came back and our room was still not ready! After waiting longer I insisted on seeing a manager who checked my family and I into a room immediatley. As a gold member I expect to get better service from a hotel, certainly not worse! I was told by another gold member that if booked on points it it Starwood's policy to only allow members on their lower floors!!?? Why not give the best to people who routinley spend money with Starwood? Very disapointed in Starwood's attitude towards guests in their loyalty program. August 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but not an A+ A nice funky hotel but there were a few items that detracted from our stay: - the W was the only hotel of the very many in which we stayed which actually charged for wireless access. A stranger can walk off the street and use the wireless in the living room for free, but paying customers cannot even get free wireless in their rooms. This is amazing. This type of "tight" penny-pinching behavior is the very reason many people change providers. - the shower/bath valve in the room (2604) did not work properly - the fitness centre was smelly and very poorly ventilated - the pool temperature is too low, and given the limited alternatives (e.g. no saunas and one hot tub which was always full) this area was of little/no use to us January 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Experience @ W San Fran Beware of the 'complimentary' bike rentals. Bikes are not maintained and a flat tire left me stranded 4 miles from the hotel. Hotel staff did not appropriately or effectively respond to this issue. Also there is extremely noisy construction going on next to the hotel - even on Saturday and Sunday starting around 8am. Hotel will claim that they have 'no control' over the noise. While this may be true, when one is seeking a weekend relaxation getaway, being awoken my jackhammers and drills at 8am on a Saturday and Sunday is not my idea of serenity. Daily room rates should be adjusted for the inconvenience. I will not stay at the W San Francisco ever again, in fact I checked out early from what should've been a 7 night stay. October 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by W Hotel San Francisco I have stayed at the W Hotel in various cities and always had a great experience. Sadly The W hotel in San Francisco really needs to be refurbished - the throw pillows in my room had clearly never been cleaned, there were stains on the carpet and the decor was very dated. Dinner at Trace was extremely disappointing - there was a lamb dish served that was shredded and pretty tasteless and the service was sub par to say the least. The saving grace was the service at the bar which was super but I will not be staying at this property again..... April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WSF We'd Stay Forever Thanks the Vic the hotel manager my messed up reservation was handled perfectly and efficiently. Thanks to everyone who helped make our stay perfect. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is very accommodating Great location for my business meetings. Staff from front desk to room attendants were attentive and responsive. Food/Breakfast was excellent too. Jim Weaver July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel, fabulous service I've stayed at the W SF several times now, and each time has been spectacular. The facilities are modern and clean, the staff is incredibly helpful, and the food is terrific. This last time, Vik (the manager on call) was especially great and gave me a complimentary upgrade to an Extreme Wow Suite. July 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Group stay from PDX I booked 8 rooms at the W for a conference being held in San Francisco. The hotel was the perfect location, just blocks from the conference center, shopping, and nightlife. We were disappointed that the hotel advertises having a pool and fitness center. In reality the pool and hottub are closed and are being removed, the gym is really a few cardio machines located on a outdoor terrace covered by tents. I was offered a guest pass to swim at a neighbor hotel but I wish these details were disclosed before check in. Great staff and very helpful service! February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greathotel Great rooms, great location! June 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome staff - Clean but oldish rooms Love the vibe here. Rooms - are spacious with good views and very clean. The rooms are a little run down with chipped paint, older furniture, loose wallpaper, but still okay. Bathrooms are large and amenities rule People here are great. Awesome customer service. Special shout out to Marlene at the front desk. Professional, super kind, and really made me like this place. The pool was closed and the gym was temporary. Wished management told me this when we booked. Disappointed there. But all else would recommend. May 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok This hotel is in a good location, but I expected more based on stays at other W Hotels. We were there for 3 days and our room was never cleaned- had to call and request clean towels. Other than that, the staff was nice. July 7, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 16 next>>