W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 246 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Up to Standard The staff at the front desk was great. The service at the upstairs bar were rude and complete jerks. The waitress and bartenders looked miserable, like they wanted to be anywhere else on the planet besides work. The pool was small and dirty, the fitness center was small and limited. The room was not clean. The carpet had tons of strains and the furniture was beat up. July 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty and unorganized Where to start... came in with a large bachelorette party and none of our rooms were available. Had to wait a couple hours. Every other room in my party received some form of comp, but not me. Once there, the hotel was filthy. Every floor I was on, every room I was in was stained and disgusting. My room was clean, but again I would never go barefoot in that place. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice experience Everything at this hotel was great except the odd parking situation. The pool really needs to be remodeled, the mirrors are really tacky and it really doesn't suit the hotel. We got a great upgrade to a suite for our anniversary and that was a lovely touch. Probably wouldn't stay here again but it was a nice hotel. To much of a club vibe going on in the evenings. September 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good, but..... room was fairly priced, but felt like I was on an airline, every amenity an extra charge, at excessive rates... carpet in hallway stained throughout, really undermined otherwise elegant presence.... food and liquor waaaaay overpriced. Felt like a bait and switch. Reasonable room rate but we will get it back everywhere else January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our trip We really enjoyed staying at the W in San Diego Our son lives in the Gas Light District and so the proximity was terrific Staff was amazing We look forward to coming back..... March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was very clean and quiet This hotel was ok. The pics of the hotel are not what we really saw. I thought it would be very elegant and it was nice but not elegant. I was disappointed because it had NO coffee maker and no fridge in the room.There was a fridge filled with snacks that were offered by the hotel but we tend to bring our own drinks and we ad that we did bring our coolers. August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by below expectations for W hotels so, overall this is still a good hotel with a great downstairs bar, luxurious bed, and gym as expected. the cleaning staff was very friendly and the room service delivery person was also very nice. however, other than my original greeting by front desk (she was VERY nice and recognized my status) i more often than not was not acknowledged by front door staff, and not once beyond check in was i acknowledged by the desk. just a simple "hello" or "good morning" would have sufficed-the same greeting i and other guests would exchange with each other every day were not done by the staff. secondly and maybe more important is that the carpet in the room was almost to the point of being filthy and the shower flooded the floor every time i used it. i guess it's bc it was a handicapped room the shower was different. so i had to sop up the floor twice a day and was not able to green the towels bc they had been used to soak up all the water. May 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff, Facility Lacking, Great Overall As a former employee of Starwood and the Hilton Brands I know what makes great service. The staff was awesome, especially David, Sophie, and Natalia at the front desk, James and {tallish lt brown/blonde haired girl with green eyes} of Concierge, and Matt G. and Jarrett in valet/door. I feel like the room could certainly use some sort of creative place to store more clothing. Maybe not having such a long table/desk and making a wall-mounted flat screen would provide room for more storage options instead of having to use the window bench as a suit-case/dresser. My only other real criticism would be to have some sort of multi-function weight/cable stack in the gym. Its an okay facility for what it is, but if the boxing stuff was taken out there would be plenty of room for more equipment to work the back muscles (ie lat pull-down, cable row, etc). Refrigerators w/ freezer would be nice along with free wifi but I totally get why those items are the way they are. As a whole, it was a great property in a great location and the above mentioned staff made the difference in my stay. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Service, Clean, Okay Location I was really impressed by the service - the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean from the public areas to the rooms. It felt very new. The location is the only downside - there's not much in the immediate blocks surrounding the hotel particularly on the weekends since it is downtown. I would totally recommend staying here. July 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Room is great The design of the room and furniture in the room is wonderful, clean, comfortable and well maintained. The atmosphere in the lobby and facility is great. Concierge service is great and very welcoming to us. The only thing we would call out is the overall SPG recognition can be improved and do not feel as welcome every time when we return to hotel. February 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by New Year's Eve stay My daughter stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve night. There were 3 problems with their stay. 1. The door to the room kept rattling about every 5 minutes. It was so loud and annoying that she had to stuff a towel underneath the door to make it stop rattling. 2. The hot water in the shower trickled out of the spout. I believe that the pipes need replacing. The water pressure was fine with the cold water, but the hot water pressure was very poor. It took 25 minutes to fill the tub for a bath. 3. My daughter was brought a complimentary dessert upon arrival, the person that delivered it forgot to bring a fork. She said she would be right back with a fork, but never returned. My daughter didn't call anyone to fix any of these issues because they were there for only one night, and figured it would take longer to get someone over to the room versus just trying to live with the situation. She was very dissappointed in the quality of the hotel. January 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Daddy and Daughter trip to SD!! Excellent hotel...my daughter's first trip to San Diego and she enjoyed every minute of it. Loved the room although sharing a room with a 15 year old becomes pretty cramped quickly with all her stuff everywhere. The hotel is located within walking distance to great foods and a mall. Totally would recommend this place. August 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unique hotel in good location Hotel was quiet and the room was lovely. The shower was a bit strange with only a half door, but I loved the rainfall shower head. We enjoyed our stay. The room was clean. The carpet needed some updating, but other than that the room was modern. All staff we encountered were friendly and provided excellent service. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Director of Front Office was the best I stayed on new years eve, it was a great experience, and as an SPG member - I know that the W hotels are great. I had a minor issue and the Director and I spoke on the phone briefly and he rectified the issue. I will definitely be staying again and again. Thank you W SD! January 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No Complaints As I told the nice lady at the front desk when I checked out,"I studied the reviews on the W and contrary to what some people said, I was most satisfied with all aspects of my stay at the W recently." I'd recommend this hotel. Met my every need and I have nothing but great things to say about the property. April 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The staff was great. As a W hotel I feel it missed the mark. The lobby was nice but everything else was average. Amanda at the desk checked us in and was wonderful. She recognized us each time as we walked by and asked us how we were doing. james at the bar was friendly and had some great insight of things to do around town. May 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to w standards This was horrible. Staff was rude. At check in was told room was not ready but another one was and tried to tell me it was the same room, no it wasn't it was two levels below what we booked and she kept arguing me. Rooms were Tiny! Love the W hotels but not this one at all December 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Had to work for the wknd, thank goodness for the W I had to come into town for a tradeshow this past weekend and needless to say, I wasn't too happy about working on the weekend, but the W offered an amazing compromise to that. It was so nice to stay in a fun, trendy hotel, with great service while being at work. Thanks so much! I will stay again! June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by W San Diego The hotel was under construction. The room and pool were very small. The check-in process took 20+ minutes and there was only one person in front of me. I supposed to stay 4 nights and changed to a different hotel after the first night. I was disappointed and will not stay at that property again. June 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Spent two night. Typical trendy W hotel. Staff were very friendly room was clean. Overall very happy. As a Gold member they did not upgrade my room. Other W hotels have. Ate room service. As expected food was very expensive and average at best, Organic chicken was dry. Nice location to Zoo/Park. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for San Diego Federal Court The location was perfect for a short walk to the Court. The facility was exceptional. More important, the food was excellent and I ate all of my meals at the hotel restaurant and bar. I invited a local attorney and businessman who had not been to the W before and the lunch was perfect. Thanks. April 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Walls Too Thin This was an absolutely lovely hotel, right up until I tried to go to sleep. The people in the room next to me were watching a movie, laughing, and then went to "bed". . . It was as if they were in my room instead of theirs. I heard eveyrthing they said and did. NOT COOL. I will not return. July 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst shower ever Stay here if you don't mind experiencing the worst shower/bathroom design ever and don't mind **inches** of water on the bathroom/entry way carpeted room floor **everytime** you shower. What were they thinking designing their showers? A 7-inch hole in the glass side? A single-option showerhead that soaks the whole room? Water running into the hotel room entryway? I stayed for 4 nights with 5 co-workers on different floors and we ALL complained of the shower design disaster. I told one of the staff and she thanked me and begged me to tell the manager (as I was running to catch a cab to the airport), saying every other guest she's talked to has complained of the same thing! So fix it. You're probably going to have a horrible mold problem and/or a slip and fall lawsuit on your hands very soon. I wouldn't stay here again because it wasn't comfortable to come home to a still sopping wet floor every day after work. (And I feel bad for the housekeeping staff who probably know/have seen the worst of it.) April 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by More Aloft than W Just a poor first visit, second stay was better but still felt like poor value for money. First stay was awful but them management did listen to my complaint and they did make it good. Room are small but comfortable, good coffee maker. Breakfast is good but no bufet so can be expensive. September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Graet hotel with a ... small swimming pool Overall this is a very good hotel. WE wished they had a larger pool! February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tanktop on a Rooftop The renovations to my favorite W Hotel are amazing. The staff is friendly and attentive. They are what customer service is about. I highly recommend anyone that is a W Hotel fanatic or who wants to visit San Diego stay at this hotel. We also enjoyed the exclusive Acura Experience. August 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overcharge I booked for a supposedly fabulous king size room with a bay view. I ended up with having neither. The rate was 538 USD + Tax per night !!! That was possibly three times of the actual price. Therefore it was a very bad experience. I have never been overcharged to such a degree. May 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what we had hoped Room was fine, but a bit dingy. Pool was tiny. Guests were partying late and we heard a very loud and profane argument outside our door at 2:00am. Had to wait several minutes at the front desk to check out. Actually had to knock on the office door. Valet was excellent, though. July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Stay We stayed at The W over the long MLK weekend and had a great time. Excellent location, rooms were super clean, and the staff was fantastic. A huge THANK YOU to Kyle with the 'Whatever, Whenever' service, he was crazy helpful and his service definitely made our weekend better! January 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great one day trip to San Diego the cleanliness and friendly staff were wonderful. There is a spacious gym and quality cardio machines. The Pool was a jr. pool, very small but served its purpose of lounging in the water. This W has the same quality as other W's I have stayed at but feels and is smaller. August 22, 2012
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>