W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 421 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great staff!!! I am not a big fan of this hotel unless I get put in a Spectacular room or above because the bathrooms are so tiny, among other issues I've had at this hotel with rooms. However, the staff at this hotel truly make a difference! Tyler Smith is the most pleasant front desk person you will meet. He almost instantly remembered me and on my next visit anticipated my needs. He always gave me extra bottled water, remembered my name and did it all with a smile! Tyler is an asset to SPG. It is rare to find such pleasant hospitality employees that can recognize and anticipate a guests needs. Good job, Tyler! October 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel does not meet what I have come to expect from Starwood I was excited to experience this property, however, I was disappointed with my stay. Check-in was smooth and very pleasant as was the valet's extra effort to assist. I was "upgraded" to a larger room (I have no comparison so I cannot speak that the room was larger than others). The room was spacious, but not what I expected. The room/lighting is dark and there are no drawers for clothing - very odd. Maybe it is just me, but I did expect more from a downtown Chicago Hotel in the Starwood portfolio - I am sorry I used so many points! July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mostly great - Restaurant SLOW Loved the hotel, especially the Alice In Wonderland feel in the living room. Desk staff was great but Acura Experience lady was a bit rude. Also, one car with such limited hours not worth having. Turned out to be a non-Experience. Waited more than 10 minutes to see a hostess or anyone in the restaurant for dinner. Finally went and found someone who went to find someone. Dinner was good and service was good after a bumpy start. Also don't understand how a cup of tea is $5. Too many great dinner options in the city for you to have a sub-par restaurant experience. Breakfast was great, but also understaffed. Even front desk - never more than two agents, always a line. Need more staff, it seems. June 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best night's sleep EVER!! This hotel is beautiful. The lobby is so swanky and beautifully decorated. The food at IPO was delish! Service was quick and expeditious...everyone was super friendly. Concierge and staff were indispensable.. as a visitor to Chicago, they were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The best part of my visit, however, was the room, specifically the bed. Not sure of the magic they have harnessed for their beds but it was the BEST night's sleep I've ever had. Would stay there again and again! July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could have been better... I was there for a few days for ASCO. An area next to my room was under some type of construction. The first morning, I left very early for meetings. The second morning, I was woken by a lot of noise of the construction starting at 7am. Then, right at 9am, hammering and banging began. I needed to work from the room and it was difficult. During the day, paint fumes started. The next day, the work started early again but I was leaving to return home. The room cost was too high to put up with this. I did not mention it until I checked out and suggested that they not give out the room. The person said that they were booked and needed to use it. They then need to limit the construction, I would think. June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent stay It's a nice hotel, not outstanding by W standards elsewhere, but the staff was very helpful and friendly on all things. I was upgraded to a larger room on check in which was really nice as well. The lobby area is stunning with beautiful domed ceiling and historic features. The bar area was minimal but good enough to have a drink and bite to eat. The building is a little older, so the sound of the radiant heating did keep me up at times and the L train is quite close as well. it's not a place for a relaxing stay as the area can be quite busy with cabs whistles and cars whizzing by. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay at the W Absolutely had a wonderful experience at the W from the second I placed a phone call the day of my arrival. I spoke with Erica who was so kind and accomodating. We had a great spacious room, clean and inviting. After coming back from a full day of doing touristy things, we had a lovely note from Erica and a few treats. It was so nice to see. Thank you Erica! Also, the concierge, Eden was very kind and also got us priority seating at Yolk. Very Very pleasant experience. Thank you July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location, but tiny room & no SPG recognition Arrived to hotel at closer to midnight due to a late arriving flight from SFO. Check-in agent was grumpy, no SPG Platinum recognition at all, was given possibly the smallest room in the hotel (nice for my Platinum status), and did not even coded my breakfast amenity correctly. However, the staff at the bar was super nice (served me a late night soup), and in the morning, the staff at the front desk made up for the evening staff with their friendly and positive attitude (she recoded my breakfast amenity correctly). Great location, but sometime the staff will spoil things. December 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Physical plant needs help but.... The hotel feels a bit shopworn-- paint and new carpet would help a lot! Having said this- your management deserves an A - you have a super group of people working here with a great attitude. I had a few encounters from check in to losing my key to an early check out to beat the snow out of town.... Each time I was very impressed with a different person owning the interaction- and exceeding expectations. I had 22 of my employees at the hotel for the IHA show- and you presented a great example of confident competent associates executing strategy! Thank you & see you again! March 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great vacation away from the suburbs I needed a night away from the suburbs and this was perfect! I received an pgrade on the room, accommodations with a late check out, and the special offer gave me daily parking and two cocktails. This was a perfect vacation away from the suburbs! August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Chic! Very clean, courteours staff, excellent location, nice restauarant and a nice bar on premises August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Chicago Home I like this W property- a lot. My loyalty is recognized here and I am treated very special by the friendly staff. The concierge sent me a very nice email the morning of my visit stating that he had pre-checked me into an upgraded room. This was a very nice touch. The room was spacious and was away from most of the noise of the L (which quite frankly I don't mind anyway...) I had an awesome dinner in their restaurant: IPO. It was delicious. Don't be put off by the non-traditional food combinations. I had the beef tenderloin and the sauce was incredible. Thank you! March 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful, semi-functional space As usual this W (like most of them) is beautiful, chic, and cool. I love the look and feel of this place. However, it's still a hotel and when you are crammed into a tiny, badly designed area for over 20 minutes at check in AND check out, it detracts from the overall positive experience of being in this hotel. Great design is both beautiful and functional - as I've seen at other W hotels - so I am hoping on my next visit to this loc, the check in/out process will have been improved. July 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable stay I enjoyed my stay at the W City Center hotel. The room was very nice, and I was very comfortable. The only negatives are: 1. The power outlets in the desk are right in the way of where a laptop might be placed. This makes it awkward to use the desk. 2. I don't like to have to call room service to get a beverage or snack. It would be nice to have some kind of concessions in the hotel. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Stay at W Chicago City Center Staff was amazing. From the doormen, to the front desk, to the room service team! All went above and beyond the call of duty. June 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location to take advantage of Chicago Always have a great time at this hotel as it is situated close to a number of things to do in Chicago. This time we went to Lalapalooza and it worked out great August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Hotel! I've been staying at this W since 2005; it's the only place I stay, given my choice, when visiting Chicago. The staff is great, the location's fantastic and the prices are reasonable for the area. I also enjoy the Living Room & bar, as well as the room service menu. My only issue is that the hotel's infrastructure seems to be older. During my last stay, I kept waking up to the TV next door and what sounded like water rushing through pipes that were groaning under pressure. Other than that, I've had nothing but good experiences here. Keep up the good work. October 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great hotel / very small standar rooms the hotel is great but the room I had (number 504) was too small, the bathroom was really tiny August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W the staff does whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable Management gets five stars for staffing this hotel with great people. July 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would never stay at the W Chicago City Center Room was small, facilities overall not up to Starwood standards... September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome guest relations! From check in to check out this property gave 100%! July 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weekend getaway I went to Chicago for my friend's dad's retirement party (not held at W). I'd had a stay there in Dec 2012 that was subpar. This stay was better but I think I've captured my sentiments in the star ratings better this time. I did get an upgraded room but suspect the word fantastic suite is an overstatement. More like nice suite. The tub seemed old/worn out and I was not tempted to take a bath. When I entered the room the usual W room music was not playing in the TV - this is usually a warm welcome telling you you've walked into a room at a W and evoking fond memories of past trips. Room service was good. Eden the concierge is among the best I've encountered - the star of the place. Front desk staff were much friendlier on this visit. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent stay The hotel was clean, spacious, and modern. The beds were plush. August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A true stand out in the Windy City I've stayed at this hotel off and on for the past 8 years. And I think it is better now then it has ever been. Service provided by the employees is top notch - from handling requests prior to my arrival through the entire stay. The renovations have really added to this property. It's a great location in the Loop. Although it may have lost some of its original edginess over the years, it still is a great place to lay your head while in Chicago. Yes, some rooms may be small, but there are also some huge rooms as well. The old phrase you get what you pay for is true - if you want a bigger room either reserve a larger room or be a SPG elite - this hotel always takes care of SPG elite. You can't go wrong staying here - get to it people - stat! December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was great! The hotel was great. Perfect location within walking distance to Millennium Park, Willis Tower, and bar/restaurants in the area. The room was a little small, even though we were warned beforehand. Unfortunately, we had an amenity sent to us but was never delivered. Both Front Desk and Manager both couldn't find it, even though it was already purchased which we didn't know about until after we left, which was frustrating. Besides that mishap everything was great! June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Does not live up to W standards The staff was great as was the restaurant. However, don't stay here if you don't want to hear the El trains all night. I've been here twice in the last few months and even the 2nd time when I asked for a room without the noise of the train, the staff couldn't get me into a quiet room (and I have Platinum status). Also, do not take room 301. The staff made it sound like it was an extra special room but it wasn't. It overlooked the front entrance so there was a lot of noise, the a/c did not work and the shower is too small to turn around in. March 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could be a lot better Staff excellent, particualrly house keeping and front desk. Concierge service was average. Rooms are typically small but as matter of amusement the bathroom so small you can't close lid on the toilet. I also, usually like hot water in the morning but there was none. TV basically did not work which as a stock holder is peevish as no money is mmade from remtals. The room in general felt dirty and well used, the sort of palce you are afraid to let your feet touch the floor. The food is average and not consistent with the W image. In general the people are the best thing about the hotel but is clear management and Starwood are not providing any measure of investment to keep up with base line quality of service typically associated with the W brand. December 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 Horrific attitude from service Long day, no room service menu in my room. Went down 20 floors and hostess hands a lunch menu but boss said hes not serving it now. Got another menu. She knew next to nothing about the menu, got her boss gave him my order but he said union rules say he cant take my order.Ii had to go back to my room & call it in. I then was told my order couldnt be served in my room, union rule,, but he'd call me to come down to carry it to my room myself. Really? Im back in my room at 9 pm with no menu, starving, and away from home on my birthday no less. August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not as nice as I would expect for a W... I stayed here because it was very close to my Company's Chicago office and I was in town for business. I have stayed in W's before (Times Square and Scottsdale) and this entire hotel did not live up to my W expectations. There was nothing wrong with it, I just expected more from a W. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nicely Updated Hotel The hotel has been nicely updated. Like other W's I have been in, a lot of the rooms are small, and the feel is sometimes a little more "hipster" than an older fellow like myself needs, but the people were great and the business facilities worked. July 30, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15 next>>