W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 295 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconsistent Service I stay at this hotel frequently. Many times I rave, but my stays are becoming more and more inconsistent. On this last stay, I did not receive my Gold upgrade. I was not even asked which Gold reward I wanted from the new choices as of March 1. And I was stuck in a room so small that I could barely pass between the bed and the desk without scraping my shin on the bed frame. If this had been my only stay, I wouldn't do it again. March 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but not best for handicap travelers I stayed four days on business, and had a handicap room. The shower has easy access for handicap as well as a removable shower head and seating...however, the way the drains are set up, the floor flooded with every shower. I tried laying towels down and even rolling several towels to create a barrier. The rolled towels worked best, however, the slippery wet floor would be dangerous if not completely stabilized. August 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice W Property in Heart of Chicago OVERALL IMPRESSION: Nice W hotel property located in the heart of downtown Chicago. I recommend this property for anyone who wants to be within walking distance to all of Chicago’s main sites. The hotel is located near the “L” train which can be somewhat noisy if you’re on one particular side of the hotel, so request a room on the opposite side if you’re a light sleeper. SPG RECOGNITION: Excellent THE ROOM: I was upgraded to a large, spacious room. Decore was fresh and consistent with the W brand. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Room layout and size. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: No line at check in. However, took probably 5 minutes to complete the process. Thought that was a little out of the usual. Other than that, all was great. Also, was given a room with one window and it was obstructed by a fire escape ladder--so I just requested a different room and was good to go! February 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smaller than my dorm room If you like small hotel rooms and even smaller bathrooms then stay at this hotel. For the $300+ per night I would have expect more from a hotel. Bed was amazing and trust me that made up a little bit for the tiny, tiny room. Also if you are light sleeper stay away, as the "L" goes right past the hotel. The staff comp'd us breakfast for some check in issues and all of it was cold. Pancakes and sausage, not very good cold. August 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mediocre Customer Service - Research All Policies Before Booking This visit was a follow-up to another trip in May 2012. I had some minor issues and hotel management contacted me and invited me to come back. I booked my room via the SPG website and this time I received an email from the concierge a week or so before my arrival, which was a nice change from last time. I didn't specifically tell them I was coming because I wanted to experience the hotel without thinking that they were treating me special because I complained once. Well, this time they gave me a lot more to complain about (and the issues were much more substantial than last time). It started when I had to wait 2 hours for my room despite requesting an earlier check-in. I totally understand that it's really them doing me a favor based on availability and clearly they were full this weekend. While I was waiting I had my luggage stored and then asked the concierge for help booking the Acura Experience. By the time my room was ready the Acura Experience was already full. I found out there was still some availability at the time I reached out to the concierge (and for about an hour afterward). Clearly she neglected to reach out on my behalf and I missed out. My room was finally ready and I gave the luggage guy my ticket to have it brought to my room. But for the fact that I was standing in line waiting to follow-up with the concierge, he would have given my suitcase to another guest. I saw him bring it to them and I purposely waited to intervene to see how he handled himself. When I finally said it was my bag the guest apologized, even though it wasn't his fault and he had nothing to do with the error. The luggage guy didn't say anything and I brought my bag upstairs myself. I really wanted to settle in quickly so I could get my trip started and start coordinating meeting friends. The employees continually reminded me that check-ins aren't guaranteed until 3:00 PM. I realize that, but it was disappointing especially since they knew about my request at least a week prior to my arrival. There were many other issues that came up and I'll save those specific details for management to address before adding them to a review. This hotel is no longer my first choice when coming to Chicago. August 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very sad. I wanted it to be good Checking staff member pleasant. Started positive then Asked for maid service never came Asked for clean glasses never came Over billed by 110 for valet parking Mini bar food items stall, asked for billing correction didn't happen Accidentally, left some clothing called same day, told lost and found voicemail not working would have security (?) call me why I don't know...never heard from them. Car valets polite, June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff - Wonderful Hotel Like many W Hotels, City Center in Chicago looks cool, its decor, music, and general vibe are geared toward a young demographic. The building itself is beautiful and historic as made known by the extraordinary lobby. Several times before I had visited W City Center, but this last time everyone went out of their way to make me feel welcome, even special. The managers and staff are to be commended, the enthusiasm and attention of everyone from the doormen, to front desk, bell staff, (everyone) was simply amazing. So great was this last stay that I can't wait to go back. The hotel's location is fantastic - blocks from Willis Tower, Greek Town, a very short cab to the Art Institue, as well as most any Downtown Chicago attraction. My only mild criticism is that the bar and restaurant are good, which is good enough, but not super. W City Center is well worth your while. August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice but very small... I enjoyed my stay at the W.Chicago City Center. It was a bit pricey and the room are very small. If there is 2 or more in a King Standard room, it could be impossible to move around. The rooms are clean and nice. The only thing that bothered me is that the room smelled as if someone smoked in there for days. It could be the carpet and that is why I didn't give it a full 5 stars! Other than that, it was nice. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing We had two rooms, same price, one was half the size of the other. The small one had barely enough room to walk around in. We had drinks in the "living room". It was not overly busy, I had to search for a waitress and then it took 20 minutes to get 1 of the two glasses of wine we ordered, the second one took another ten minutes! The rooms are okay, bot could use some attention. Not my favorite Starwood property. April 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible room, excellent bar tender No upgrade, noisy room, had to change rooms twice - -was offerred a cool room on 3rd floor next to the train. Bar tender was african american and was superb November 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not sure if the hip vibe works or not. My wife and I recently stayed four nights at this hotel. Overall it was good to very good. The intended style of staff is a hip and casual approach. A first name basis to know each staff was mandatory. This was fine but something we had not been used to before. As such it made the experience strange. The lighting throughout a lot of public areas was low adding again an unexpected ambience. June 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ambience This is a beautiful hotel, in a great location with interesting/fun decorating. It is easily accessible by train, just steps away from the Sears Tower, and a short walk to the Art Institute and Millennium Park. The living room lounge is gorgeous with compiimentary WiFi and coffee in the AM. The only drawback was being able to hear the train, but I guess that goes with the accessible location . December 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location and Features Had a great time; a bit noisy because of the train, but overall, I had a blast. Super comfortable, spacious room. Great drinks and atmosphere in the lobby bar as well. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice with a few missteps.. Very comfy and great location. We had requested a coffee pot, fridge and microwave for our room...they were not in the room at check-in but the staff did immediately fix the issue. A family member sent us a cheese tray and a fruit tray, in addition our husbands also requested a gift be sent to our room. The cards were mixed up and the gift was not what was ordered. The staff was very nice. April 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay February 20-21 2013 The room reeked of cigarette smoke. Ruins it for me as I have allergies. Shower stall didn't drain and water up past my ankles as I showered. Not pleasant. Restaurant temperature at breakfast seating was so hot many guests were rolling up sleeves and taking off layers of clothing. I had to tell three people and no one acknowledged anything being done. I was told it was cold outside. Duh. February 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff was insincere and unappreciative of my loyalty to Starwood. Concierge was way off and trivialized our request. This hotel is all about the bar Hotel was all about the bar and did not care as much about the loyal SPG members. Concierge had his own agenda and was not helpful. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel Great hotel for a short weekend vacation. Always have been a fan of the W Hotels and this one met my expectations as well. Debated between this and the W Lakeshore in Chicago. Ended up staying here and was easily in walking distance to many area amenities. Will be trying the Lakeshore on my next visit! October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by We had a wonderful stay!!! The doorman and valet representative were very friendly!!! The person who checked us in, Fatima, was excelent! She made us feel welcome and she is a great asset to your company. The gentleman who checked us out was excelent as well!!! This hotel location was great for us!!! My husband and I had a wonderful time!!! October 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Labor Day Weekend Stay I recently stayed at this hotel, I had a pleasant stay overall. I got upgraded to a suite, which was AMAZING, and chocolate truffles were delivered to my room as an amenity. Although, I needed to use the business center to print some tickets to one of the Chicago attractions, and I was shocked when I learned the fee to use internet. Come on, seriously? September 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by city center, with all that entails Very cool lobby (even for a W), excellent restaurant (IPO), I had a grilled octopus small plate that was the best dish I’ve eaten in a while. Only potential downside is the noise of the elevated train line that goes by, depending on where you are in the hotel this could be an issue, but you’re in the middle of downtown Chicago, so what are you going to do. Very central location. November 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still a great SPG property It had been four years since I last visited the W City Center, but it remains a great Starwood/W property. The staff was excellent, and provided me with a generous upgrade for my Gold status. They still offer a number of touches I would like to see extended to other W's, including the in-room coffee service. Overall, a very strong recommend for their service, style, and value. April 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by too hip for me the staff were friendly. the mish-mash of the modern, hip décor crammed down onto the art deco bones of the building didn't work for me. the acura car staff treated the cars like they owned the cars themselves and we less than accommodating. I didn't like the fact that you gave the concierge a "deposit" (cash only) for them to arrange tickets for events. August 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Mixed Bag I am a fair easy going person, but found some staff down right rude and unhelpful. Other staff members were exceptional. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room too small Not sure who thought of the little comfy room or whatever they call it, but a room where you cannot pass between the desk chair and the bed? and where the shower door opens in and you have to try and stretch your hand around the shower door to turn on the water (cold!)? does not make any sense i stay at this hotel a few times a month, but will never stay in this room again! July 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bar needs help The cocktail menu in the Bar is so bad it's comical. My friend and I laughed for a good 15mins. There is absolutely no need for a cocktail description to be more than one sentence. I even took a chance and ordered one to see if maybe it was just the write-ups that were bad, but no, the drink was awful. Luckily the waitress was excellent and I switched to a regular drink. January 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor ancillary staff I stayed for a wedding. Ironically I left my wedding ring on the counter when I left. After calling security twice they were able to tell me the cleaning service hadn't turned a ring in but were unwilling/able to actually follow up with the team the day after I checked out. They do the bare minimum when it comes to follow up service. I was disappointed to say the least. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement The check-in & check-out personnel need to be better trained. There was a lot of confusion during these stages of the stay. Also, these persons don't make you feel welcomed, but it seems like they frustrated with the registration system, which shows in their interactions with customers. October 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff & Location, Rooms Are on the Smaller Side I stayed here for the past three weeks due to the convenient location and great staff. It's located in the middle of the loop, which is very convenient to many corporate offices nearby. Furthermore, the staffs deliver fast service and are very attentive. On the other hand, the hotel itself is just average. The basic room (Wonderful) size is rather small and the interior design makes it look cramped. Out of the past three week stays, I was upgraded to Spectacular room (which is a larger version of the basic room, but not a suite). However, during my check in yesterday, I was only "upgraded" to a higher floor Wonderful (basic) room, which was very disappointing since all type of rooms were available. In addition, some of the rooms face the railways and are very noisy on the evening. Overall, it is a decent hotel for business / corporate travelers but for family or vacation, I would try to find another hotel in the area. July 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel in a great area The W Chicago city center is centrally located to explore the city and upon arrival we were met with a friendly greeting. Check in was quick and our room had more than enough room for the three nights we were there. The bar and overall atmosphere of the hotel is chilled and relaxed. Another great stay at a W hotel. September 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel; great location The W City Center is a great hotel located in the loop. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Lobby / bar contemporary and dimly lit. Our double bed room was spacious, Bliss products very nice. However, My allergies acted up in the room---- Not sure what caused this? Cleaning supplies? Dust? I'm very sensitive so this was a concern of mine. Overall nice hotel. April 27, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 next>>