W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Porto Rico
  • 00765
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer
  • Pour des séjours de plus de 90 jours, veuillez appeler le +(1) 866 539 3446.
  • Vous pouvez réserver un séjour uniquement jusqu'à 550 jours à l'avance.
  • Veuillez vérifier les dates.
1 chambre 1 chambres , 1 adulte 1 adultes , 1 enfant 0 enfants
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 341 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by An overall great experience Overall, a great experience. A few items to improve. Yoga mats in exercise room need to be replaced. Equipment like paddles and snorkels are unavailable - that's what you pay the resort fee for. The adult beach is great, but you can't get umbrellas or chairs there. Food is very good. We wanted to watch the NCAA basketball games on a lobby TV, but the staff was unable to get their projection TV to work. The staff in general is very nice and helpful; Iris (sales) and Luis (security) deserve special mention. Our daughter received a bad sunburn and all were quite helpful. We will be back. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Check this place out Amazing quiet resort with great views, pools, spa, beach, etc. loved the atmosphere of the lobby and rooms. Resort not too big where you get lost. Great designed rooms. 4 nights was plenty as there was not too much to do at night on this small island. Biolumescent bay a must. Pools were nice and warm. Check out the plunge pool. Mojitos were tasty. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by day after nye this hotel is absolutely amazing! its design and location are stunning. the food is wonderful (and an excellent value compared to the quality and price i found elsewhere in pr). the staff was helpful and very attentive. the day after new years eve the rest, relaxation and pampering was everything i wanted and more. if i go back to pr i will spend as much time as possible at the w vieques. March 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I'd expect from a W... Where do I start? How about with checkin. We arrived early - 1130a - and understandably the rooms were not ready. So we waited patiently by the pool. 4pm was checkin and we didn't get our room until 545p. Not a great way to start our vacation. I have to say, the resort itself is quite nice. Horses run free on the property and in the early morning hours you can see them laying in the grass or grazing. The pool area was nice as well. Lots of seating around both pools. The service from the pool bar was attentive and quick. All the servers we had were great. Our rooms were a nice size and exactly what you'd expect from the W, spacious and well decorated. The bed was really comfortable. Now reality sets in. We're early risers and were down by the pool by 7a. Every morning the pool area was littered with trash, empty cups and bottles from the day/night before. There were no towels in the morning so you had to go to the front desk to get them. Towels didn't come out until close to 10a. How's that possible? Same with water. Bone dry until 10a. They also have 6 cabanas they charge $250 a day for. Not one person paid for any of them for the 6 days we were there. They just sat empty. Why wouldn't they just have them open? $250 a day? Unbelievable. They charge a $60 a day resort fee (actually $65.40 with tax) which includes Internet and non-motorized water sports, etc. The problem is with such a large property, you have to walk 1/2 to the other side to get paddles for kayaking, snorkel & mask for swimming in the ocean. You have to be there right when they open to ensure you get them or you'll miss out for the day because they don't have nearly enough to accommodate the number of people staying. The Internet is also included in the resort fee and its worse than a third world country. Seriously, dial up would be faster. This is unacceptable to me considering you don't have an option to use it because you're forced to pay for it. The hotspot on my iPhone worked 10 times faster. Ridiculous. Then there are the nature sounds at night they pipe in around the property. They're so loud you can hear them as if they're in your room. Frogs and crickets - two of the most annoying sounds anyone would want to hear at night. If we could have only found the plug, it would have been silent!! All in all I wouldn't return. This hotel is not what I'd expect from a W, especially for what they charge. We did have a great time only because there were 14 of us and it was the company that made the trip awesome. Proceed with caution. March 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous staff., Poorly designed rooms, Before I moved to the Financial Industry I spend 17 years in the travel industry. I truly feel the design of the rooms at the W totally ignored years of research into what make guests comfortable. I am comfortable and even applaud minimalism. However, shelving/counter space in the bathroom are a number 1 issue with woman travelers. this was sorely lacking and ergonomically uncomfortable. There was also a lack of drawer storage. Easily remedied. The lightening was inadequate and switches were in odd places. Enough complaints! The staff was tremendous. from Leo at the front desk (who was so gracious to find me a room with a better view, but to ne avail, Yaritza - what a patient lovely Concierge. I changed my plans every two days and she was always pleasant and got me exactly what I wanted.. George showed us around the island and he was able to read us and gave us exactly what we wanted with the usual Tour Guide nonsense. Javier was just so worm and friendly.. Joseph was such a charming waiter and last but not least - Ricky. he made us feel like he was a gregarious cousin with a great sense of humor. LOVED THE STAFF. Lovely location. ADD STORAGE to the rooms and get rid of that ridiculous macramé lamp the I always het my head on going to the bathroom! I will be back. Breakfast was great Lunch was dreadfully bland. March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel facilities were great. Company events were not! Overall, was a great resort. However during our trip there were 2 large corporate events on the property. The W closed the pool early one day for a company event and on another day they reserved over half of the pool area for another company....not good. The hotel management was very non-responsive to the guests when asked to accommodate everyone else. That was very disappointing given everyone has to pay the $60 per day resort fee. The restaurant was also out of dinner items (e.g. Pork) because they used all of their pork for the company buffet dinner. When I questioned the manager about it he lied. If the property is going to give special treatment to companies and ignore other guests, they should be more transparent. March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Vieques Overall a nice property if you are looking for relaxation and want to be off the grid. March 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement to be a top destination Pool area too limited with chairs No hot tub Severely understaffed Turn down service often missed Had to call for them to restock minibar Spa lacks facilities to enjoy pre massage like steam room plus lacks showers post massage Beaches on other parts of island much better Music playing late into night around pool even though no one out there so you can't sleep with your door open to listen to ocean Food is good compared to rest of island Close to everything since island is smal, Nice room Generally clean grounds Safe island Fitness center modern March 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by visually beautiful The grounds beautiful, the rooms are a little caverness and echoie...Felt the rooms we're more about looks than function....Air vents blew directly on the bed...Showers we're "cool" but not functionable:ie rain like showerheads that trickeled an wern't useful to get sand of, also no face/hand clothes to shower with. Shower walls had long hairs and soap scum on them(obvciously not ours, we both have crewcuts)...tv unusable/ unseeable from bed.. March 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service needs improvement The rooms are very nice , but the service leaves a lot to be desired. We had to call 3 days to get our room services. The concierge services made multiple mistakes and were away from their desk many times for long periods of time. Service overall was not as expected. Truly felt like a bother with every request. Our room was upgraded free but this was after we requested a move and had to wait multiple days due to front desk error. Food was okay, nothing to brag about. March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent Stay Although I wasn't thrilled with the food (save breakfast - top notch there), everything else was absolutely stellar. Rooms were great, the staff went above and beyond all expectations and I couldn't recommend staying here more. March 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice the hotel is very nice with alot of pleasures , but no coffee pots in room , no clock, no refridge , nothing that allows you to hold up in your room. the eary riser must wait for coffee March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Resort- Could be even better The hotel is beautiful and relaxing with a wonderful staff. The airport lounge and transport to the resort is a nice touch. Within 10 minutes of getting there, we wished we had booked more than one night. But, I am in the travel business and there are definitely a few things that would have made the resort outstanding, especially for a longer stay. l, Orientation: Our ambassador did not explain all of the features of the resort to us so we did not know that the snorkel and kayak equipment could be used for free or that there were tennis courts. I saw this on line when I was writing this review. 2. Resort fee: too high: $65.40 per day with tax and not much benefit that we could see. Rooms at this price should include any services that we received during our stay. Since the hotel is isolated and the Island is small, it would be nice for the resort to offer shuttle service a few set times a day to another beach (?Blue) or into Esperanza, perhaps at dinner. Sorce was good as a dinner choice, but it would not be interesting to have every meal at the same place. Paying a taxi $40 a day to go to the beach or eat is steep. 3. The Biobay adventure with Vieques ECO tour (Eric) was fantastic. It offers a less "touristy" experience (smaller group, no wasted time with drinks etc, and use of the parachute if needed on moonlit nites). This opportunity should be presented to all clients rather than referring them all to Blackbeard tours. 4. You should offer towel service by the pool instead of just at the beach. We will return, and with the above caveats, will recommend this resort to clients. March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable experience My overall expirence of the hotel was a good. There were plenty of positives to mention especially some of the staff (Rickie - greater/bell hop) and (Dan was his name I believe but I called him Philly as that is where he is from) It is guys like that that make the stay completely enjoyable and make you feel right at home. My largest complaint is around the number of staff or lack there of at the concierge desk. The Whenever whatever is a great idea but when they transfer you to the Conciege and no one pick up it becomes extremly frustrating. This did not happen just once but almost everlytime they transfered me. I would then get kicked back to the Whatever whenbver team. Also there was very rarely ever anyone at the desk when I walked through the lobby. This is the type of thing where 2 ppl need to be staffd there at all times and the desk should never be left unattended. Another issue was the lack of umbrellas abailable for the beach. There were about 5 and when I pay a 65 a day resport fee there should be no issue with obtaining an upbrella at the beach. I could see if there were 25 of them and all being used but I think its time to buy quite a few more. (I know I was not the only guest with this thought). Lastly was the leak that began in Villa 3 on the day I arrived and flooded the path to villa 1 and 2. The water got worse until the day we left 4 days later and I finally saw a couple of guys placing some dirt on the water. I understand that leaks happen but we had to walk through the mud daily. Someone should have been placing dirt on it daily.until it was fixed. Other than those issues it was a greate expirence. Thanks February 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unable to properly make reservations for guests. My boyfriend and I booked a 3-night trip to Vieques solely based on the fact that we were staying at a W. Being well-traveled and having stayed at numerous W properties all over the world, I have become accustomed to - and expect - a certain level of hospitality and service at any W. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, there were issues. First, our room wasn't ready until after 4PM (which is an incredibly late check-in) - and when they brought us to our room (booked as a Spectacular ocean-front room with a balcony), we had a poolside first-floor room with no view (unless you count the barbeque station as a view, which I don't). After complaining about this, we were told there were no other available rooms until Sunday. Begrudgingly, we stayed put, but had to close our curtains at all times, sacrificing any natural light and the sparse view of the blue sky. Then, we went to scheduled dinner reservation for the evening (which we booked weeks in advance) - only to find that we, in fact, had no reservation. At that point, we decided to doublecheck every other reservation we had made to see if they had actually made the reservation. Unsurprisingly, they had not booked our couples massage. In fact, the spa was so busy they couldn't fit us in at any requested time, so we had to rearrange our schedule in order to fit into their schedule. We took a trip to the Bio Bay kayaking tour - shuttled by the hotel. However, when we were finished with the tour, we had no transportation back to the hotel. We were basically stranded in a random town in downtown Vieques. And if you know Vieques, you know there are no cabs readily available. While the manager (?) did try to make up for the hotel's mistakes (a room upgrade to an unnecessarily large suite for one night that was STILL on the groundfloor; a complimentary dinner at the hotel that was way below par in terms of quality; a free massage that ended up taking double the time due to inadequate staffing), I cannot overlook the fact that were significant missteps (on seemingly easy requests) every step of the way. The inadequacies of the hotel to properly accommodate their guests the way I expected to be accommodated was way below par - and way below what I have grown to expect from W hotels. All that being said, the hotel property is gorgeous. February 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff! This was one of the best vacations ever, great staff, food, and what a spot! would do it again in a minute! February 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Positives: - aesthetics of the hotel are great - all food and beverage staff (Arrelis and Isa in particular) were fantastic. Negatives: - Wake up call requested and never received. - Spa appointments were made, we went to check in they said they had no record of the appointment (after confirming the day before. - Rooms were not cleaned fully or timely. Manager said they were short-staffed for the amount of guests. - Concierge staff contradicted each other.. one said they would book bio bay tour for us, the next day a different concierge said they don't do that. - February 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could Use Some Organization I had a pleasant experience at the W, yet I definitely expected more sharpness from a hotel with so much prestige. The facilities were lovely and the room was nice, yet around the grounds things seemed un-organized. Upon arrival at 4 to 4:15 (check-in time), we were sent to the pool to wait for our room for another hour. Check-in time is at 4, and that is unacceptable. There were never any towels available the two times we relaxed by the pool, and even at breakfast they scrambled and took quite some time to finally come over and sit us down (they didn't seem to bothered about it, either). Drinks by the pool felt like they were cranked out in a production line; they tasted like pure, bottled sour mix (for a hotel with as much quirk and flare, the house drinks should be representative of their corporate image). On the other hand, one of the hotel's employees was amazingly helpful, friendly, and sharp with us. He recommended the best beach that has now become my favorite, he sent us to a lovely restaurant, and was always willing to have a chat with us to help us out. We wanted to recognize him for his excellence. Thank you for considering our concerns. February 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Escape Spent a beautiful long weekend at the W in Vieques, which is located on a gorgeous stretch of beach. However, the level of service did no live up to the W brand - while good, it was not very attentive, as one would have come to expect from the W and the SPG brand. For example, the house keeping left a lot to be desired, and the staff didn't show a very strong commitment. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by MOST RELAXING W EXPERIENCE We traveled to the W Vieques for a last minute girl getaway with my daughter (she's 15) during her winter break (Feb). It took pretty much the whole day (though travel time from JFK was south of 4 hours, including a 24-minute flight on a 9-seater CapeAir plane), but it was so worth it. Unlike most W properties, the W Vieques has a "no shoes, nor shirt, no problem" attitude which, along with being far enough away from the maddening crowd, handily coaxes the zen back to weary city folks in need of a break. It's a beautiful place with a surfer chic vibe and a staff that's helpful and friendly. Typical of W properties that are generous with shared spaces, the W Vieques has plenty of room to hang out and play, plus two beaches to choose from. The food was surprisingly great-- steaks, burgers and salads done just right, but had a little local flavor to them, and I had to go back for the chef's version of eggs Benedict and maple banana French toast. It's great for if you don't want to drive the 10-15 minutes to the towns of Esperanza or Isabela. Among our favorite hotel features: (1) the outdoor fire pit on somewhat chilly nights, (2) stylish "beanbag' chairs around the lobby for napping, (3) a gorgeous pool area that was large enough to accommodate a winter break crowd without feeling like we were on top of each other, and (4) surprise/random visits from the island's "wild" horses right outside our room. Special thanks to Ricky in Reception and Jesus at the pool who were helpful, knowledgable and eager to help out. Our only suggestions for the property would be (1) please, more heat in the pool in February, (2) add more light to room (a couple of uplights would be great), (3) more hooks to hang towels and personal paraphernalia in the bathroom, and (4) more thorough sand removal from the couch by maid service. All in, a fun and relaxing experience we wouldn't mind coming back to. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good place to relax the hotel is a no children place... its good to relax, food needs to improve a little specially on the menu, the waiters needs training rush!!! but overall i a had a nice time!!! and alos needs a jacuzii... rush!!! February 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Hotel has unsatisfactory service There was no chest of drawers to atore clothes . The pool was not heated. There were no floats. We had to request shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer and towels several times during our stay. The service was not up to Starwood's standards. February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing trip Overall the W in Vieques met my expectations. We were upgraded upon arrival and the Living Room/Great House views were exceptional. The room was well-appointed and comfortable. Service at the pool was prompt and friendly, as was the service at the other dining options. Cocktails at the Living Room were excellent. The Spa and Fitness Center were good, but not the best I have used. Black Beard's sporting store (that provides snorkeling gear and kayaks), as well as the Island Car Rental location, are a perfect complement to the resort. Having them on the same compound makes anything you could want to do on Vieques convenient. I highly recommend bio-bay and snorkeling tours with them, as well as renting a car to check out all the beaches Vieques has to offer. An excellent stay that kept me occupied just enough to leave the rest of the world behind. February 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Millie We enjoyed our stay at the W Vieques. It was beautiful and our every request was met. The service could not have been better. Our only complaints were that the room was very cold and when we turned off the AC for some reason it kept kicking back on and we also needed a bit more light.in the evening. When we called we got an immediate response. There was a wedding the first evening we were there and a wonderful Steele Band was playing in the living room where we just chilled and enjoyed the lovely surroundings.along with a delicious dinner. As my son coined "Chillaxing in the Caribbean." The Vibe was young and hip yet there were plenty of opportunities and places for quiet contemplation...lots of fun activities, do not miss the bio bay or the horseback riding with Elizabeth. Wonderful stay Thank you!! February 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spectacular views; resort shortcomings The public areas of the retreat are lovely. For the high price, the guest rooms are poorly lit, not warm, and not well designed. The concrete like grey floors were not very clean. Generally, the service was mediocre, but as more guests came, the pool service became horrible. We noted a bit of an uprising by several different guests the day of departure - complaints about poor service. The place could be fantastic if you want to be in an isolated, chill spot, but SPG needs to train staff better. Even though not many guests, the Spa did not have anyone available to do a manicure. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First trip to Vieques My girlfriend and I chose Vieques and the W as our first getaway together as neither of us had ever been. We are both well traveled so expectations were very high… From our arrival at the small island airport and its W lounge, we were greeted and treated exceptionally well by the W staff. Ricky, our Ambassador, was friendly, courteous & helpful and ultimately assisted with a room change that we desired (wasn’t needed – just our choice). Blaine at Wet was tremendous with his service but was truly friendly and a great help with suggestions, explaining some of the idiosyncrasies of Vieques and much more. W, you’ve got some great people in these two. The W is certainly nice as you approach but it’s only after you walk through the lobby and step outside that you really can appreciate how beautiful the setting is, fully appreciate the property and get the whole vibe of the place. The first night we shared chicken soft tacos and shrimp quesadillas at Sorce – both were great but we highly recommend the quesadillas as a great light dinner or lunch. We had them 4 times during our stay! Our advice is not to go to Vieques without renting a Jeep (Island Car Rental at the W was convenient). Most of the beaches are in undeveloped, protected areas and they are some of the most pristine beaches I’ve seen anywhere. Getting out and seeing the island, visiting Esparanza, Isabel II and the all the “wildlife” areas, seeing the roaming horses and getting a feel for the whole place shouldn’t be missed. This is a VERY laid back place with very nice people, a good bit of poverty but a wonderful culture to it. Black Beard Sports on property will lend you snorkel gear for “free” (part of your $60/day resort fee) and we recommend renting a chairs for the beaches from them as well. Don’t get me wrong, the beaches at the W are great but can’t compete with others on the island… Try Sol’s food truck for an amazing lunch near some of the best beaches (yes, a truck!), El Quenepo and, best of all, Next Course where we ate twice for really great meals. I’d call the last two for reservations to be safe. The W Spa did a wonderful job with a couples massage in a room overlooking the ocean which has a wall of doors that we requested be opened during. There’s nothing like a great massage while listening to the ocean! Also, do the Bio Bay tour if you haven’t seen one before. Choose a kayak tour if possible and, if you have a Jeep, you can meet the tour operator near the bay. Otherwise, you’ll spend too much time on the back & forth, etc. It’s truly amazing but you only need an hour on the water and another hour to put in and wind up – more than that is unnecessary. There are only a handful of these in the world and it is amazing to see. February 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A new meaning to OMG! The property was gorgeous. Was treated like royalty. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Relaxing We had a great time at this resort. We loved that you could rent a car on site to explore. Everything was great with the exception of 2 things. We worked with the concierge to book some dinner reservations and for the bio bay tours. It took forever. There was a line of people and only one staff member. We waited about 45 mins in order to make sure we could get things booked. They need two people there or at least someone from check-out that can come help when there are so many people waiting. The other thing was that you can't get food after 10pm on the island. We did the bio bay tour and thought we would be able to order from the hotel bar when we got back at 1030 but they said they could only do room service. The room service late night menu only had about 6 things on it and they were out of 3. These are small complaints. We loved everything else about the place. January 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is excellent Location Excellent Location because is near PR and is far from violence and stress where I can go and relax. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rooms Illumination in rooms was too poor. January 25, 2013
  • 2015-07-04T13:51:03.626-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_341, tr_341
  • loc_en_US, sid_3170, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13 next>>