W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 361 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Small for price The bathroom smelled mildly of urine. The air conditioner made a continuous, loud CLUNK sound. The bathroom outlet did not work. The room was the size of my freshman dorm room. Internet was $15 per day to use in room, a ridiculous price. RIDICULOUS for how expensive the room rate is. No room refrigerator. No ice bucket. Annoying. Otherwise, good location next to the subway. Stylish atmosphere. Very kind and friendly staff. I was impressed with that. Super comfy bed and pillows. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Concierge, great service and WOW upgrade We booked one Friday night to meet relatives for an important birthday dinner. The restaurant we wanted to take them to was booked full weeks in advance. I called TK, the wonderful concierge, who was able to get us in and even booked the "Acura service" to drive us to restaurant. Upon check- in, "Irwin" at the front desk, got us an AMAZING upgrade!! Just what a very loyal Starwood member hopes for! THANK YOU STARWOOD and thank you TK and Irwin for a great stopover in Chicago!!!! September 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceptional W, Amazing Property This truly is an exceptional W. It screams all the things that a W should scream: style, innovation, comfort, sexiness and charm. The lobby itself is ethereal, and even if you're not staying here, drop in and check it out. The lobby, however, does turn into a cluster. The property must've been full during my stay because there was barely room to move and walking to the elevators required some Gladiator moves. The Fabulous Room is, in fact, fabulous. Incredibly spacious, comfy, sexy and chic. Really impressive decor and equally impressive functionality: bed, work desk, etc. Staff is helpful, halls are quiet, didn't hear a sound in my room the entire time even though I know they were sold out. Lastly, close to lots of stuff - ideal location in Chicago, in my opinion. I hope to be able to stay here again. July 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, Cool vibe but could be cleaner Really liked this place, great modern feel and unique furniture. Location was just about perfect for us - very convenient to just about everything. Only complaint we had is that the room was not as clean as I am used to with Starwood Hotels. There was hair in our shower, a piece of a broken perfume bottle on the bathroom floor and a piece of leftover pizza in the minibar fridge (gross). Overall I'm sure this is a clean hotel, guessing the maid was just a little lazy on this room July 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trying too hard to be cool Lobby is too small to hold partys in or get-togethers. A fire hazzard waiting to happen..you can not get into the hotel or out when they have these functions. Nearly impossible to hear the converstaion with the front desk or the concierge, can not get to the elevators. The rooms are dated and they dont have normal amenities, like a cofee maker. All-in-all I would recomend another hotel..this place is trying to hard to be cool to all of the wrong groups. December 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Very nice property. Not great for any type of casual dining i. e. a sandwich or burger. Rooms were clean and comfotable. March 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trendy and cool design but small rooms I know hotel rates in Chicago are high, but sorry, $260 for a tiny small room in an old building. Close to the L train which runs frequently and causes a noise which is unbearable. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! We thought the staff went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. Great attitudes by everyone and very helpful - above and beyond! Will definitely stay here again when in Chicago. July 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Missed the mark I am a SPG member and stayed at other W's in the country with fairly good brand experience. This one in Chicago just fell flat for me: 1) Staff was not as attentive and had to wait for help at different times in day. 2) Staff was not clear that I opted for Green program. Found out after my room was not refreshed and asked to have room service and did not happen. 3) Bar staff was noticeably not friendly and seemed stressed. Went somewhere else for drinks. 4) W's have a signature scent in their hotels and my room for some reason had a mildew smell. 5) Front staff 'upgraded' me away from my original booking to a "larger room" that had 2 beds and offered "courtyard side of building due to privacy and quiet atmosphere." My room looked directly at the office building next door with open windows and I was put just outside elevators and was very noisy. How was this an upgrade for a SPG member? January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sceneless W Experience This is the second time I have stayed at this property and it does not disappoint. The lobby is interesting and intimate, the staff very friendly, and the rooms well designed. The Restaurant has innovative cuisine that may sound odd, but was delicious. I think I was upgraded to a larger room, but even if I wasn't it was "suite size" and much appreciated. You do hear the L in the background, but it's Chicago! You are supposed to hear it. Thank you for a lovely stay. February 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not cool enough for this hotel I don't think that I am the target audience for this hotel. We chose the W because it was close to the Bank of America theater and had heard good things about W hotels. The pictures of the rooms on the Starwood site don't really show exactly how small these rooms are, although they were very stylish rooms. The lobby and elevators are set up like a night club which some people might find attractive but I don't think that they are trying to get me to stay here. September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful service! The staff at the W were so kind and helpful! The first night we had to wait a while for the concierge to finish with the person ahead of us. Once it was our turn he apologized for the wait and then answered our question. We went on in to the hotel restaurant and a few minutes later the concierge walked up to our table and gave us free drink coupons! This level of consideration was shown time and again while I was there. I could certainly consider staying again. July 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by An ok stay The room was fine, the bathroom small but the hallways were not so nice an a little dirty. The room garbage can was not emptied and the carpeting could have used a good vacuuming. The gym was very disappointing - small, not enough equipment for the number of guests using it. I got to the gym every morning at 5:30 just to beat the crowd. The staff was friendly but it didn't feel like what a W should feel like. January 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W City Center Chicago The staff was extremely helpful -- particularly John (maestro of the lobby), and George at the concierge desk. The front desk upgraded our room without our asking, and put us on a higher floor. Bottled water was plentiful, the gym -- while not huge -- was larger than those at many similar hotels. I appreciated the hotel package that included valet parking and drink coupons. All in all, I was very satisfied. January 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Some sleeping troubles, but otherwise a great hotel. I had a conjoined room and on my second of two nights the person next to me was snoring so loud it woke me up and kept me up. They were also very loud the night before and I had difficulty getting to sleep. The price of the mini bar was overly exorbant compared to most hotels, but I've come to expect that from SPG. Really appreicated the Acura car service. Used it both nights and was completely satisfied both times. Reception was top notch as well. April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Title This hotel is very trendy and in the heart of Chicago's business district. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Hotel in City Center This W Hotel is in a great location for walking to City Center as well as for sightseeing. I came here for work and this hotel was close to the downtown offices and just a few blocks from Milennium Park and Michigan Avenue. The hotel staff were all cheerful during my stay! The room was clean and nicely decorated and the bed comfy. Also, the food from room service and at the IPO restaurant was always fresh, delicious and healthy. Thank you! October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very nice stay It was a very nice experience staying at W Chicago. The staff was very courteous and friendly. My room was great and very inviting. I would recommend your hotel.Thank you. March 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff was not nice Extremely curt behavior of staff to the point of being rude. Extremely disappointed with staff. March 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inconsistent Service I stay at this hotel frequently. Many times I rave, but my stays are becoming more and more inconsistent. On this last stay, I did not receive my Gold upgrade. I was not even asked which Gold reward I wanted from the new choices as of March 1. And I was stuck in a room so small that I could barely pass between the bed and the desk without scraping my shin on the bed frame. If this had been my only stay, I wouldn't do it again. March 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel Excellent weekend experience - only 2 complaints. (1) I'm sure I forgot my phone charger in my guest room. I called the W for several days following my stay and the charger never made it to their Lost and Found, which was rather disappointing. (2) Our party booked on of the suites to use as a hospitality area. We requested the room be cleaned between certain hours, but the Staff was a no-show and we had to clean it ourselvees. October 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice W Property in Heart of Chicago OVERALL IMPRESSION: Nice W hotel property located in the heart of downtown Chicago. I recommend this property for anyone who wants to be within walking distance to all of Chicago’s main sites. The hotel is located near the “L” train which can be somewhat noisy if you’re on one particular side of the hotel, so request a room on the opposite side if you’re a light sleeper. SPG RECOGNITION: Excellent THE ROOM: I was upgraded to a large, spacious room. Decore was fresh and consistent with the W brand. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS: Room layout and size. DID NOT MEET EXPECTATIONS: No line at check in. However, took probably 5 minutes to complete the process. Thought that was a little out of the usual. Other than that, all was great. Also, was given a room with one window and it was obstructed by a fire escape ladder--so I just requested a different room and was good to go! February 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smaller than my dorm room If you like small hotel rooms and even smaller bathrooms then stay at this hotel. For the $300+ per night I would have expect more from a hotel. Bed was amazing and trust me that made up a little bit for the tiny, tiny room. Also if you are light sleeper stay away, as the "L" goes right past the hotel. The staff comp'd us breakfast for some check in issues and all of it was cold. Pancakes and sausage, not very good cold. August 10, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mediocre Customer Service - Research All Policies Before Booking This visit was a follow-up to another trip in May 2012. I had some minor issues and hotel management contacted me and invited me to come back. I booked my room via the SPG website and this time I received an email from the concierge a week or so before my arrival, which was a nice change from last time. I didn't specifically tell them I was coming because I wanted to experience the hotel without thinking that they were treating me special because I complained once. Well, this time they gave me a lot more to complain about (and the issues were much more substantial than last time). It started when I had to wait 2 hours for my room despite requesting an earlier check-in. I totally understand that it's really them doing me a favor based on availability and clearly they were full this weekend. While I was waiting I had my luggage stored and then asked the concierge for help booking the Acura Experience. By the time my room was ready the Acura Experience was already full. I found out there was still some availability at the time I reached out to the concierge (and for about an hour afterward). Clearly she neglected to reach out on my behalf and I missed out. My room was finally ready and I gave the luggage guy my ticket to have it brought to my room. But for the fact that I was standing in line waiting to follow-up with the concierge, he would have given my suitcase to another guest. I saw him bring it to them and I purposely waited to intervene to see how he handled himself. When I finally said it was my bag the guest apologized, even though it wasn't his fault and he had nothing to do with the error. The luggage guy didn't say anything and I brought my bag upstairs myself. I really wanted to settle in quickly so I could get my trip started and start coordinating meeting friends. The employees continually reminded me that check-ins aren't guaranteed until 3:00 PM. I realize that, but it was disappointing especially since they knew about my request at least a week prior to my arrival. There were many other issues that came up and I'll save those specific details for management to address before adding them to a review. This hotel is no longer my first choice when coming to Chicago. August 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel; needs better gym The hotel is cool and the staff are great. My only real complaint is that the gym is tiny and I'd say inadequate for a hotel of this size. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff - Wonderful Hotel Like many W Hotels, City Center in Chicago looks cool, its decor, music, and general vibe are geared toward a young demographic. The building itself is beautiful and historic as made known by the extraordinary lobby. Several times before I had visited W City Center, but this last time everyone went out of their way to make me feel welcome, even special. The managers and staff are to be commended, the enthusiasm and attention of everyone from the doormen, to front desk, bell staff, (everyone) was simply amazing. So great was this last stay that I can't wait to go back. The hotel's location is fantastic - blocks from Willis Tower, Greek Town, a very short cab to the Art Institue, as well as most any Downtown Chicago attraction. My only mild criticism is that the bar and restaurant are good, which is good enough, but not super. W City Center is well worth your while. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am Lovin it My stay was pleasant. I would come back again. I really the quote displayed in my room. March 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but not best for handicap travelers I stayed four days on business, and had a handicap room. The shower has easy access for handicap as well as a removable shower head and seating...however, the way the drains are set up, the floor flooded with every shower. I tried laying towels down and even rolling several towels to create a barrier. The rolled towels worked best, however, the slippery wet floor would be dangerous if not completely stabilized. August 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Very sad. I wanted it to be good Checking staff member pleasant. Started positive then Asked for maid service never came Asked for clean glasses never came Over billed by 110 for valet parking Mini bar food items stall, asked for billing correction didn't happen Accidentally, left some clothing called same day, told lost and found voicemail not working would have security (?) call me why I don't know...never heard from them. Car valets polite, June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing We had two rooms, same price, one was half the size of the other. The small one had barely enough room to walk around in. We had drinks in the "living room". It was not overly busy, I had to search for a waitress and then it took 20 minutes to get 1 of the two glasses of wine we ordered, the second one took another ten minutes! The rooms are okay, bot could use some attention. Not my favorite Starwood property. April 24, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13 next>>