W Chicago - City Center

  • 172 West Adams Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60603-3604
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Please note that guests must be 21 years or older to be registered as an overnight guest.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 432 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service and Over Priced for the Value - Room was not cleaned - The cleaning service processed my dress incorrectly - Hotel has nothing special for given price and service was nothing special given the price - poor value October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Hotel in City Center This W Hotel is in a great location for walking to City Center as well as for sightseeing. I came here for work and this hotel was close to the downtown offices and just a few blocks from Milennium Park and Michigan Avenue. The hotel staff were all cheerful during my stay! The room was clean and nicely decorated and the bed comfy. Also, the food from room service and at the IPO restaurant was always fresh, delicious and healthy. Thank you! October 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Location is very good but rooms are really not good at all This Hotel is well located with a great stuff but rooms need a lot of improvement. Not satisfactory at all. They have a very good service and staff. October 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location I enjoyed my 1-night stay at the W. Would have appreciated a coffee maker in the room. I realize the dim lighting serves a purpose in terms of ambiance, but it was a bit problematic for me. October 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Older Hotel, very tight room even tighter bathroom As a frequent W guest, this hotel is not up to the traditional standard I've come to know and love from other W's. September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by quiet and comfortable! very comfy room, everyone was very nice and helpful, I would stay there again, September 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didntfeelspecial Stayed here for a wedding, but did not get any perks for being SPG. For all the times I stay with Starwood for business, I was hoping for a little special treatment for my personal travel. No such luck. :-( The room had a terrible view. Our requests for simple things like a box of tissue were not responded to. I had to find the maid in the hallway and ask for tissue and toilet paper. We did however have good service from the concierge, George, who recommended a fantastic babysitting service. Also, the doormen were great. Always greeted us with a smile and a fun comment to my son, which made him feel special.Restaurant was ok, small portions and extremely expensive. Not worth the money. Overall, it was a little disappointing from what I usually expect from Starwood. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Concierge, great service and WOW upgrade We booked one Friday night to meet relatives for an important birthday dinner. The restaurant we wanted to take them to was booked full weeks in advance. I called TK, the wonderful concierge, who was able to get us in and even booked the "Acura service" to drive us to restaurant. Upon check- in, "Irwin" at the front desk, got us an AMAZING upgrade!! Just what a very loyal Starwood member hopes for! THANK YOU STARWOOD and thank you TK and Irwin for a great stopover in Chicago!!!! September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel in a great area The W Chicago city center is centrally located to explore the city and upon arrival we were met with a friendly greeting. Check in was quick and our room had more than enough room for the three nights we were there. The bar and overall atmosphere of the hotel is chilled and relaxed. Another great stay at a W hotel. September 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not cool enough for this hotel I don't think that I am the target audience for this hotel. We chose the W because it was close to the Bank of America theater and had heard good things about W hotels. The pictures of the rooms on the Starwood site don't really show exactly how small these rooms are, although they were very stylish rooms. The lobby and elevators are set up like a night club which some people might find attractive but I don't think that they are trying to get me to stay here. September 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by First impressions do make a difference We were in the city to attend a wedding. We chose W Chicago City Center as this was a suggested hotel for wedding guests, and the bridal party was also staying here. Although the property is trendy and beautiful, we found the service to be lacking. For example, we pulled up the curb and interacted with the valet. While we were taking our bags, backpacks, etc. out of our car (family of 4), at no time were we offered help. Same thing as we fumbled to get through the front door while carrying our bags. No one offered to assist us or even opened the door for us. This pretty much set the tone for our stay. While we fumbled through the lobby to find the check in kiosks, we passed several people who were obviously employees, but not one greeted us or offered to get us assistance with our bags. Room was nice enough, but missing the alarm clock and iPod docking station which is touted on your website. When I called the Whatever, Whenever line to inquire about one, I was offered a wake up call?! It took 2 calls for someone to offer bringing one up to our room, but by the time it was installed, we had to leave for our event, so totally missed out on playing music while we were getting ready. Disappointed as a Starwood's Member, and wouldn't recommend this property. September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected more from a W I have stayed in W's in the Middle East and Europe and had expectations when I booked the W in Chicago. The rooms were okay but the service was blow average. The reception was extremely short on staff. At night there was no one at the concierge or anyone to help out with my bags. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by That "WOW" experience for all the wrong reasons We stayed the previous night (Friday) at another 4 star hotel for a wedding. That next morning (Saturday) we decided to stay in the city another night, and despite the great room and great rate from our current 4 star hotel, we decided to be adventurous and try another hotel in the area just for fun. I've always had great experiences at Starwood properties and had never had the chance to stay at a W before. So we grabbed a room at the W City Center that morning, for a 1 night stay. I realize due to the last minute nature in our booking, we probably would not be allotted one of the best rooms, but I really did not expect to be stuck in an updated version of a hobbit hole. With a bathroom that was probably 2 and half by 4 feet. Yes, we'd fallen victim to the "cozy room" booking. Yes, I realize "due to the original 1920s architecture" blah blah blah and that's fine. That is fine for literally any other non-premium hotel brand. Sorry, W. You cannot charge premium prices, tout yourselves as a cool, hip luxury brand and then not expect the kind of backlash you get for these rooms when people are sorely disappointed for expecting that WOW experience you are so careful to construct, then just try to explain it away with "that is how the building was built. Here is free Wifi. Deal with it." Oh and the "free" wireless? Might be nice if it was not slow as a turtle. And if you would want to spend any time in your room in the first place for anything other than sleeping. Oh, and I lifted up the bedding for cleanliness as I do for any hotel stay, and there were tons of hairs underneath the mattress pads. Super gross. Bright side: the towels are super. Really great. We should have stuck with our original hotel. And now we know. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, lousy service My wife I chose the W because of excellent location for our labor day trip to chicago. While the hotel was nice (which is what should be expected for over $250 a night) it felt that it was way more focused on being a club than an actual hotel. Our room was very small and the bathroom door was a bit of a joke. As my wife put it, it was a shadow bathroom, as you could bascially see and hear everything that was going on inside. Which I think is a perfect example of what you could expect from this place, everything looks good but isn't all that functional. Also we were treated very rudely by the front desk staff over a mix up in paperwork that they lost. Not worth sharing the details. The only plus was that the concierage was very helpful. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Labor Day getaway My girlfriend and I chose Chicago as our Labor Day anniversary getaway and what better way to pamper than staying with W. We had a lovely time despite some initial snags. Check in was easy and we were booked in a Cozy room on the 7th floor. Tho it was facing the street, it was at the end of a quiet hallway and we were up just high enough not to encounter much street noise. We had some issues with room keys not working at first and our bathroom sink plunger not rising. These were quickly fixed by the staff with apologies. The bed was intensely comfortable. Some of the best non-medicated sleep I've had in a while! The shower was nice, tho could have had some more water pressure. We loved the Bliss products in the room. After our arrival, we had reserved the Acura to take us to W Lakeshore for spa appointments. Tho I had confirmation from the W Insider, there was no reservation for us at the Acura desk. They quickly dismissed it as no problem and within minutes we were in an Acura with Mike who gave us great insider tips on restaurants and pointed out cool sites on our drive to Lakeshore. W City Center's proximity to the "L", the Willis Tower, and the Chicago river made it great for us tourists. Because it's in Chicago's financial district tho, it's a bit dead on the weekends as far as restaurants and nightlife go. Thankfully, we did get great recs from the concierge on where to eat. We plan to look up W City Center whenever we decide to visit again! Thanks! September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Labor Day Weekend Stay I recently stayed at this hotel, I had a pleasant stay overall. I got upgraded to a suite, which was AMAZING, and chocolate truffles were delivered to my room as an amenity. Although, I needed to use the business center to print some tickets to one of the Chicago attractions, and I was shocked when I learned the fee to use internet. Come on, seriously? September 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware the change penalty i booked a room for 13 nights, told the front desk when I arrived I might leave earlier. Okay, just tell us, was the answer. Notified the front desk at 9 am the 12th day that I would be checking out one day only, was told I would have to pay one night room and tax as a penalty. What hotel in the world operates like that? Do not stay here. August 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by too hip for me the staff were friendly. the mish-mash of the modern, hip décor crammed down onto the art deco bones of the building didn't work for me. the acura car staff treated the cars like they owned the cars themselves and we less than accommodating. I didn't like the fact that you gave the concierge a "deposit" (cash only) for them to arrange tickets for events. August 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I had a great time at the W City Center I have no complaint. From the time I walked through the door check-in. Great experience very helpful during my stay. The room was small and could have been bigger but I made it work out for my stay. August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Upscale Trashy for an SPG category 5 hotel you would expect a minimum level of service. upon arrival, concierge just asked me if i was checking in. with 2 suitcases, he didn't event consider holding the door open and another guest had to hold the door so i can haul my luggage inside (there are no automatic doors at the main entrance) then i had to find my way to check in, with no one around and waiting i had to find an employee somewhere to find the receptionist. Then when i checked in i had to deal with the most unhappy receptionist who instead of checking me in, gave me the most attitude possible and then they charge $6.95 to use the business center computer for 15 minutes. finally the layout is awkward and strange giving it an upscale et trashy feel August 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tiny room, internet didn't work, TV froze every 30 seconds! I have stayed at several W Hotels. This one lacked the engaging staff, the comfortable rooms and some of the basics that a business traveler needs/expects. August 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location for Lolla, mediocre service Stayed here for Lollapalooza weekend on points (which was a great value for this weekend) In general, everything was fine and what you'd expect at a W, however: - Concierge was not up to par at all (1/3 people were good). 1st lady at night was unbelievably snippy/rude when we asked her how to get a cab a night. 2nd day we waited half an hour at lunch for the concierge to get back from her "break" before giving up and leaving. 3rd lady our day of departure was quite good, however it felt like she was handholding the person in the back office who took half an hour to properly print emailed boarding tickets... - Hotel charged me $25 for scissors without notifying me at the time of requset, which was annoying and had to reverse it at check-out - Front desk / reservation staff were fine August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and room The staff was extremely friendly from the car valets to my room service waiter. Bill at the Front Desk (I think that was his name) was great: very efficient with the check-in and very willing to answer my questions. My room was great, and the bed was extremely comfy. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff We were very pleased with the property! I can't say enough for the exceptional service we received at the check-in desk. Staff is very warm and welcoming. Location is a definite added plus! August 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Based on previous reviews... ...I was nervous to stay at this hotel. I was in Chicago for a work trip, and at the W for three nights and three days. My travel partner took the offer for a 'Cozy' room, but having read about it, I was not interested. The check-in staff was very gracious about accommodating me; I accepted two double beds in exchange for a 'Marvelous' room on a quiet floor. The room was spacious, lovely, and clean, and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. Obviously there are little hotel noises that can never be escaped, and I could pickup on the sound of the L in the distance, but I was not bothered by this and actually found it quite comforting #I did use earplugs when sleeping, though#. The staff went absolutely out of their way to help me a couple of times -- they brought a scissors up immedately when I needed to borrow one; but the biggest thing is that they sent a runner out to buy a iPhone/TV connector for me: I paid for the item and the cab trip but was able to take a shower and order room service while they picked it up. Room service was lovely -- the menu is not the most exciting ever, but I found the quality good and the little extras delightful: who would ever be upset about getting gummy bears on their tray? The decor is a little 'hip' for a suburban midwest girl, but the point is they treated me like a valued guest and I enjoyed all interactions with staff, and my stay in general. August 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but not best for handicap travelers I stayed four days on business, and had a handicap room. The shower has easy access for handicap as well as a removable shower head and seating...however, the way the drains are set up, the floor flooded with every shower. I tried laying towels down and even rolling several towels to create a barrier. The rolled towels worked best, however, the slippery wet floor would be dangerous if not completely stabilized. August 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Professional, courteous staff Stayed four nights at the W City Center for Lolla weekend. Fantastic location for hitting the sites. Extremely impressed by the staff and their friendly & professional manner. The concierge gave us an excellent recommendation for a late dinner and booked us immediately so we were able to walk right in to our table with zero wait (not the case for the twenty people in line outside the door). The manager on staff Sunday (H.) helped to adjust an issue with our reservation promptly and was superbly professional - special thanks to her. August 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smallest room I have been in for years - felt like Hong Kong Small room, not very clean, tiny bathroom, dripping taps, loud outside - I asked for a quiet room. Asked for late check out until 2PM was told 1PM latest, or pay $50 extra.....small, unclean room and will not give me an extra hour. Very poor, and not coming back August 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Designed for Weddings I stayed at the W City Center Chicago before and after my Wedding. The room block was closed early and guests could get cheaper rates online. The guest manifest I received did not include all of our wedding guests so I had no idea who, from our wedding, was staying at the hotel. Often, guests were told there was no room block for our wedding party at all. There was difficulty coordinating check-in with my dress and baggage. When we checked-out, we were given another wedding party's wedding cake so we had to drive all the way back to the hotel - thankfully, our wedding cake was still there. The best part of our experience at the W Hotel City Center was room service - it was timely and the Room Service staff was wonderful. July 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just alright I had been travelling for the last 5 weeks, with this being the last stop of my trip. For the highest price (granted it was during a holiday weekend - but also already with a special wedding rate), this was the smallest, tightest room i had stayed at all 35 days. Everything was neat and clean, but also almost difficult to move around - bathroom felt like it could've been an airplane's one. I have no complaints about the staff and ambiance, everything was nice enough, but there was nothing special about it for the name or price tag. July 29, 2013
  • 2015-04-23T19:42:18.606-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_432, tr_432
  • loc_en_US, sid_97509, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16 next>>