W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 682 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good food, but the hotel needs improvements The food was very good. But the hotel room is too small & dark. Bathroom needs a mirror with enlargement. The luggage storage staff is not good. I waited for 15 minutes to get somebody to get my luggage and store it. Then when I came back to get it, I waited another 10 minutes and the lady was very rude. And it was only 7:30 PM. Not acceptable. The concierge did not help. She was nice and polite, but was not able to find me a mani pedi place on Sunday at 7 PM! She said all the mani pedi places were closed. When I said it's not possible, and directed me to the W salon. There, the receptionist was rude. I had to walk just two blocks to find 2 mani pedi places open. That was bad. February 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Checking In & Out is Time Consuming The W New York Hotel is in a great location, and rooms are clean and contemporary. The process for checking in and out is abysmally high touch - requiring at least 30 minutes on both ends - and technology deficient with no differentiating assistance/preference for gold/platinum guests. Given that this is the most fundamental service a hotel provides, you would be well served to consider another location in the area unless you enjoy waiting in line. And, the W New York would be well served to reconsider this entire portion of the guest experience. It's severely lacking, bordering on unbelievably unacceptable. March 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by snobby attitude from the lead staff at the desk The staff were all friendly but the director at the desk, David, had a snobby attitude during each interaction and there was a sense of unnecesary hostility. Our room was not even prepared by 3pm and he was in no way going to try to be accomadating regarding an upgrade. My friends and I were sent to the spa with all of our luggage to get ready for our lunch. Also, 90% of the equipment in the gym was broken and that was pretty dissapointing given the amount my friends and I were paying. This was my first expereince at any starwood hotel where I did not feel valued as a loyal gold member. Later a bottle of champagne was sent to my room but it hardly made up for the cold welcome. October 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Never Would Have Believed it Before This Stay... I witnessed something staying in suite 534 Nov. 24-26 that still befuddles me. I had brought a plastic to-go container with 1/2 of an excellent sandwich. After enjoying that and some W room service with my wife, I put the tray with empty hotel dishes and the rest of it (including that plastic container) out into the hall as instructed for pick-up. The next morning, outside our door, the tray had been removed but that plastic container and bag of chips I had brought with me was still there. What's that?? A generally stressful experience with old, crusty Euro furniture and a very comfortable bed...go figure. December 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I will never stay anywhere else! So happy with this hotel! From a beautiful clean room, attentive and helpful cleaning staff and fantastic reccomendations from concierge..I travel alone for the most part I'm never fully comfortable sleeping in hotel rooms for safety reasons and bed comfort. I wanted to take this bed home! I melted into it each night and slept like a baby!! Safety is not a concern because one of the staff stands by the elevators in the evening to make sure everyone has a room key who is entering. The concierge was sp friendly and gave a fantastic recomendation for an awesome local restaurant. Thank you! Will be back soon!! October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never fails to disappoint - I'm loyal for life! The service, hotel, and staff at the W NY never fails to exceed my expectations. I've stayed here every year for the past 3 years and can't think of an occasion where I'll stay anywhere else when visiting NYC for biz or pleasure. Even the smaller rooms are roomier than most NYC hotels I've stayed in, with plenty of space in the bathroom where you don't have to contort yourself in weird ways to ahem...use the facilities... it's just the right amount of getaway space and peace when you're traveling for work or play. The midtown location ensures that it's never hard to get a taxi to anywhere you need to go. October 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty and small Paid for upgrade from cozy to spectacular.......found the room to hardly be spectacular by any means....stains on wall between window like drip marks......, built up dust and grime on bathroom door pocket doors at base.......(apparently cleaning is done with pocket door open), toothpaste on bathroom walls, tiny bathroom, tiny shower........nothing spectacular, not even the view....glad I did not waste my points on this place.....hardly meets standards of other W hotels I have visited. Should be category 3, not 6. I would not recommend this hotel except that it was cheap due to major reconstruction January 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A few things went wrong Love the W and have stayed here several times. Just a few inconvenient moments. My safe did not work in the room and I waited over 30 minutes for security to get to my room. They couldn't fix the problem so I had to put my items in a friends room. I was late to my trade show. They ended up replacing the safe that day. Also, could not warm up the room above 67 degrees. Pretty chiilly. I was gone all days to a convention and came home late at night. They offered to move me to another room, but at 10:00 pm and ready to go to bed, it was too late. Scent in the room from housekeeping was overpowering as well. February 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointing I felt disappointed as the room was small, windows facing a wall and the corridor windows from the other side, no privacy other than closing the shades ..... Breakfast was horribly expensive. In other words for an average hotel a very high price and no real incentive to come back at my next trip. May 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs to be renovated Hotel staff was very helpful and the hotel bars are always great to grab a drink after work (I lived in NY for many years and Whiskey Blue is a staple). The room feels dated and needs some work - I.e., new paint job and carpeting. The air condition unit was very loud but the room was too hot to keep off, so did not allow for good sleep. April 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sleepless in NYC Do not stay here. I have not slept in 48 hours due to the malfunctioning heat/AC at the hotel. The first night it was 74 degrees in the room, and I was told (at midnight) that it would take nearly an hour to try to fix it. They onstensibly fixed it the next day, but I woke up every 20 minutes the second night when the heat/AC would variously turn on. After complaining at 5 AM the second night, the manager told me that the AC/heat is a problem at the hotel, and they will change it sometime soon. Fair enough, but they must warn you ahead of time if they recognize the problem. Until this problem is fixed, you can only do better elsewhere. While the staff is nice, this hotel is a dump. February 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but Paper thin walls/disorganized front desk Clear pros and cons w this hotel. On the negative side, the walls are not soundproofed. I could hear the phone ringing and tv from the neighboring room. Also, at check in, the front desk seemed disorganized. There was a large crowd waiting to check in with no organized lines and no attempt by the staff to either help organize the line or speed things up. They could use better training. On the plus side, the rooms, while small, were very efficiently and attractively designed and the beds were very comfortable. Also, the windows were very well soundproofed, so no noise from Lex Ave (just my neighbors). October 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service subpar The overall service was subpar at best. When i checked in it was as if I was at a run of the mill hotel. I was originally booked for 2 nights and wanted to extend for another night. The women at the front desk told me the rate for the following night would be the same as my existing nights ($349) although the rates published online were $199. I had to argue with her to get the $199 rate which i thought was absurd. I stay exclusively at Starwood hotels and travel a lot for business. This was my worst experience in 3 years staying at Starwood. I was also given a handicap room and i'm not handicapped. February 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by In progress renovations clearly needed One of the worst nights I have spent in a hotel. Arrived at my room and the door was open because of In-progress HVAC upgrades. System not working but maintenance was able to restart. Unfortunately once it was turned on it would not turn off as neither the auto or manual switches worked. I alternated between the hold and cold to self regulate which made for a sleepless night. Left shoes for overnight shine but they were not returned so had to inquire to locate. Scaffolding in front of window blocked all light and view. Could hear leaky faucet dripping and water was all over the countertop as a result. Friendly staff not enough to make up for all the operational and physical limitations. March 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT I recently attended the APA annual convention in NYC. I registered for the meeting in January and decided to book my hotel at the same time. I went through the list of hotels and visited different websites. W hotel caught my eye and the place looked impressive (online). The rate was 399 a night for a single person .Not cheap but I had heard about this boutique hotel and how people were raving about it. I decided to splurge and treat myself to this hotel. I checked in on May 5, Monday. Kevin at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. I asked about using the business center to check email. He said there would be a charge to use the facility. I asked if the charges could be waived for me, a hotel guest. I mentioned I had stayed at many hotel chains around the world and business centers were free for hotel guests. He said he would talk to a manager and get back to me. I waited for a few minutes and he came back with a manager. She said that a third party was operating the business center and the charges were separate. She could not or would not do anything about it. (I think my request was not unreasonable. I made it clear to both of them that I was only going to be checking email sporadically.) Even if the billing is done by a third party, she could have easily said- Don't worry, we'll take care of it. I didn't press the issue. I went up to my room and was very disappointed. The corridors were narrow and so dimly lit. The carpeting inside the room was grungy and dirty. The room had a musty odor. I told myself- well, this is it. That evening, I returned to the hotel and took a shower. The shower enclosure is OPEN- there is no barrier to prevent the water from spilling over to the rest of the bathroom. I was tired and ready for bed. Next thing I encounter is a hotel guest next door (536, I think...I was in 537) who was screaming at somebody in some foreign language at the top of her lungs. I thought she would eventually quiet down. But this went on for some time that I had to call the front desk and was told security would look into the matter. The next evening was just as bad. On Wednesday morning, I complained to the front desk, asking them to talk to that woman to keep her voice down. It wasn't so bad that evening. I checked out on Thursday and felt I had been ripped off. I spent over $400 a night and this is the type of room and service I got???? For the money I paid, I certainly deserved much better!!! May 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by The Housekeeping and Front Desk staff needs improvement My stay was from Friday, April 25 thru Tuesday, April 29. I had to request everyday more towels, bathmats, sheets to be changed and bathroom areas recleaned. I had to speak with the front desk to ensure the messaging was passed on to the housekeeping staff. April 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed I've stayed at this location many times and have always been completely satisfied, but not this time. The bathroom was unacceptable - the shower curtain was moldy as was the bathroom ceiling which I didn't notice until the following morning or I would have asked for another room. Similarly, the dust in the cabinet holding the mini bar was 2" thick and I was showered with dust when I opened the door. However, the staff was extremely responsive and the bathroom and minibar area were totally cleaned after I pointed this out. Facilities should thoroughly check each room periodically to ensure that the rooms are clean. Also, the mini bar system is dumb. I took some items out of the refrigerator to store some yogurt and upon check out, was charged $85 for mini bar purchases. Apparently the fridge is "weight sensitive" and you're not supposed to use fridge, but I was never told this. Based on this most recent experience, I am reluctant to return and or recommend this location to anyone. And we had a block of rooms here for our clients while attending our annual conference. Very disappointed. May 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Staff - Average Accommodations East side is not convenient for what I wanted to do at night. Room had few surface spaces to put luggage down. Staff was excellent and attentive. It was great to be near St. Bart's at Park Avenue and 51st Street which I availed myself to a few times. The hotel is fine - I just don't like being on the East side and as noted so few surface spaces - other than the bed to sort clothes, etc. I also wondered if my skin was alergic to something in the detergent used for sheets since I found myself being itchy when laying down. I liked the staff a great deal - they did things without being asked whether using their card for the elevator if they saw you to house cleaning asking in the halls if everything was ok. January 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by very slow response This is probably one of the worst experience after staying so many SPG hotels. I found staff is very slow responding to your needs. I spend the whole afternoon calling front desk to move my room (from facing avenue to the back side). Totally three calls I made and first two trials there's someone promising to call me back but never happen. Until last call I explained the situation then I had the room moved. To make the thing even worse I need to call again after 30 mins to remind sending me the helper for luggage. My wife need to talk to front desk twice in order to get a power adapter I always has good experience with W and SPG hotels. However, there's always exception in the experience May 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location. Stayed for business. Hotel is showing a little wear and tear but definitely being maintained well. Service was great and very helpful. Would recommend to others. May 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The First W - Location, Ease, and a Tight Fit I've stayed at this W many times, and would recommend it to those who are looking for a convenient, service-driven SPG affiliated hotel in East Midtown. As a W that was converted from a small-room property, rooms are not spacious by any means - yet are highly functional. The open-style main lounge, the corporate-but-sleek Whiskey Bar, and the rest of the hotel have a cool efficiency about them. As a Platinum SPG member, I've never been impressed with my upgrades here. But don't stay here for the upgrades. Stay because you want convenience, style, and service - even if space is at a premium. October 26, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by stayed here twice now and neither time was the staff helpful As a platinum guest I have a lot to benchmark hotels against. Now the second time at this hotel, I have to say if you expect to be treated like a platinum customer stay somewhere else. The front desk staff is rude and unaccommodating. During the first visit my air conditioning was broken yet there was nothing they could do. ...in August. Now, I am here again. They have assured me I could get a room with 2 beds and my girlfriend and I have no choice but to book another room because they NOW can't make that happen and are being rude about it. Needless to say I won't be staying here again. August 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expected from a W Hotel First, there was a ton of construction going on. This would have been nice to know before staying at this hotel, as I would have opted to go elsewhere, especially for the price I paid per night. Next, the room felt cramped, similar to a cell. Electrical wall sockets were loose and partially hanging out of the wall, and the bathroom felt old and in need of a major update. I've stayed at many W Hotels, both in NYC and in other cities, and this one really fell off the mark from what I've come to expect from the W Hotel brand. March 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Stay Ever I happened to be looking on the SPG site and out of curiosity looked at the reviews at this W since I still recall this as being the worst hotel stay I ever had and I am still unhappy about it. Great place to be part of the NY scene, but do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. I have stayed at many NY hotels and I know rooms are small, but even by NY standards, this place was a cross between a cheap student dorm and a prison cell. Barely big enough for one person, and we were a party of two. Not even sure why they bother to have a hotel there. I would not stay there even if the room was free. I guess the staff gets this allot since they could have cared less when I asked about a better room. I have visited nearly 100 countries and have a large tolerance for hotel variations, but this place still gets me mad just thinking about it. April 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Good Stay I booked a suite here to celebrate my fiance's 30th birthday. Overall, my stay was smooth. The staff were very accommodating and pleasant.The agents that checked me in as well as out were very responsive. I ordered eggs benedict and the hollandaise was not added. I called Room Service and they sent it up right away. My only issue with my stay was my upgrade. I was upgraded to a suite for a $200 fee. I agreed to this because I was told that if I didn't take it it would be given to a VIP. It turns out that this information was untrue. There were suites beside/ beneath us that remained empty. As a hotelier/SPG member, I am annoyed that I was charged so much for what could have have been free or cheaper. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Associates The W New York makes you feel welcomed and appreicated for staying there. Each time you walk by an associate you feel like you belong. They go out of their way to assist you. Freddy, the bellman, was exceptional. He is very genuine. The location is great too, just minutes from everywhere but not in the hustle of things if you are looking for something a little more low key. Cabs are whistled down for you to alleviate your stress. The Acura program is so easy and convenient. Our driver, Ethan, was welcoming and engaged in conversation. We would stay there again and recommend to others. February 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Double check your bill My first stay two years ago, was a dream - this stay was a nightmare – The air unit didn’t work ALLl day when it was fixed at 11pm(ish) it was so loud we turned it off - huge issue with our bill – Staff was very accommodating - Marcus and another bellhop were super pleasant. The Managers did try to accommodate us, but their actions were not realized when we received our final bill, not to mention we were charged large amounts for mini bar use and we didn’t use the mini bar, the credit card we used at check in wasn’t the card that was charged. A relaxing weekend turn into a nightmare. September 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel in a great location I enjoyed my stay with the location of this hotel suiting my needs for the weekend. Rooms are quite small but as expected in New York. My room was comfortable and had great amenities. Only downfall was that the walls are not shound insulated therefore you can hear your neighbors, so they can hear you as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. Hotel lobby and restaurants are lively with a nice interior decor. April 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel-Excellent, Spa-Disappointing My stay this past weekend at the W on Lexington was wonderful. The manager was very helpful when our first room had a layout that felt too confining, the housekeeping was on top of keeping our room clean and in order, the whatever/whenever people were extremely helpful. My only complaint was with the spa. It was my daughter's birthday and she had the 90 minute facial treatment, and the girl finished with her in 80 minutes. I didn't like that I didn't get what I paid for, and I felt like they were just taking advantage of the situation because she was young (19). I was disappointed. February 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel!! Great location in Midtown. Great Bar, Great Staff. Really treated me like a gold rewards member!! April 28, 2014
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 24 next>>