Rated 5 out of 5 by Debbie102 Beautiful, beautiful place for a peaceful vacation!
THe grounds are beautiful, the decor is modern and clean, and the views are amazing! The horses that roam that property make you feel like you are someplace far away from civilization, yet all the amenities are at your doorstep. The staff was very courteous. The food at Mix was very good, but it's not the only option on the island. We rented a car right on property and got to visit gorgeous white sand beaches around the island. The concierge arranged the Biobay kayak tour for us and we paid less than the other non-W guests who were in our tour group. The room was great, but the lighting could be improved. Also the suite did not have a full length mirror, even though the regular room does! Overall, it was a great stay and I'd definitely go back again!
December 7, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by DanTravels72 Very dissapointing
We stayed there in November and had the worst service possible.
1) We arrived at the port and called for a shuttle to pick us up. We waited over an hour (in the rain) and there attitude was it wasnt there fault, tey were just too busy.
2) We were told that there was no upgrades available for Platinum guests. when to hear the couple checking in next to us were a AMEX card holder and was told that they had an upgrade ready for them. Why lie to the guest when only to hear the other agent say there were upgrades?? They put us in a room right next to the bar on the bottom floor! Very noisy and no privacy. We asked to change rooms and wala!!! they had an upgrade!
3) the Adult only beach was nice and quiet. But NO SERVICE at all!!! We had to call and ask for towels which took over an hour!!! We finally saw a waiter that had delivered drinks to a guest who had to call for service. He left without asking any guests if they needed anything!!! One of the guests chased him down (to the top of the steps) to ask for service!!!! The steps down to the beach were destroyed and you had to jump 4-5 feet to get over a large concrete/sand hole!! very dangerous!
4) No cleaning service even after we called at 4p!!! They finally showed up at 530p with an attitude. they same thing happend the second night and we just put our trash outside and asked for extra towels so we didnt have to deal with them!! It was very interesting to see that our final day there the cleaning service was breathing down our necks at 11a!!!! What service!!!!
5) we called the concierge desk to ask about ferry times and they said 2p. We got our shuttle ride down there at around noon only to find out that the ferry was canceled until 6p!!! We had to lug our luggage across town to find a bar or restaraunt to kill 6 hours!!!!! Do you think they might want to make a simple phone call to verify if the unpredictable ferry service was leaving at 2p????????????????
Overall service was horrible!!!! But the island itself was beautiful.
December 23, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by JackinATL Average experience.
As a road warrior for the past 15 years, I have extensively stayed at other properties. This was my first W experience.
Let me start with the positives..
1. Location, Location & Location.
2. Breath taking views all round.
3. Interior Decoration was 5 stars
4. Room was clean and great views
5. All the pools were awesome
6. An intern from Mexico and the front desk staff are awesome.
Now for the negatives..
1. Staff were curt and rude at Dinner
2. No Smiles...it was as if we were "stealing" free food
3. Bar closed at 12 sharp..There were 2 wedding parties and lots of people were left unhappy. Talk about losing great margins when you close early on a weekend!
4. Had icecream near the bar and was waiting for a spoon that never arrived. The blonde girl at the bar who was our waitress came back and took the check and said sorry... The icecream had melted and was liquid....still no spoon after 45 minutes!
5. It was so sad to see majority of the guests seek out other restaurants on the island due to a limited menu.
6. Spoke to approx 10 other guests who mentioned they were surprised at the below average hospitality from the staff.
7. Cleaning crew is loud and which woke us up in the morning.
8. The bar staff forgot atleast 20 to 30% of our requests and it seemed like the first word out of their mouth was "sorry"
9. Requested additional soap, shampoo and conditioner as ours ran out...and we did get it after a day!
November 1, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Islandogg63 A great location/island
This was our second visit to the W in Vieques, we traveled last year about the same time, we had a wonderful time last year and decided to make another visit, this time with another couple. The staff was very frendly from the reception desk to the pool bartenders. The service has greatly improved from last year and it was nice to see some familiar faces from our last visit. It was a very enjoyable stay and we look forward to visiting the W in Vieques in the near future. Keep up the good work!
December 6, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Antonio W Vieques is a work in progress
We had a revenue stay last week. Honestly I can't say our experience lived up to expectations:
- W Shuttle took almost an hour to pick us up after calling from the ferry (we were told it would take under 20 minutes);
- We weren't offered the new SP Platinum benefits e.g. complimentary breakfast;
- Arrangements for dinner and transportation were not made as requested, adding stress to what should have been a relaxing stay.
The W is the only 5-star resort on the island, so its the only game in town and they know it. There are no real "public" taxis as the resort controls who can pick up/drop off at the resort. I don't mind paying the resort fee ($65.40 per night) IF the services are up to snuff!
March 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Travelhound Staff is great but Food service was poor and
1) The hotel should have notified guest prior to their arrival that certain areas of the hotel were going not going to be accessbile due to a 40 person wedding. the set up crew for the wedding arrived behind our room at 1230am and was up all night with noise 2) the leak in our room from the pipe above was terrible and could have damaged our belongings 3) the food and food service was horrible. A simple a hamburger could not be made properly. Many other Platinum guests were complaining about the food quality and price 4)Poor lighting at night. I saw 3 people fall down from the uneven paths 5) pool area was dirty with lots of hair on the chairs, staff was told by many but nothing was done 6) Staff members- kudos to Arelis- she should be in management, Iris, Nicole , Wade, Henry and the new F&B manager as they made things better.
December 7, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by PissedOffPlatinum Best thing was EVERYTHING BUT THE HOTEL
Poor customer service. Lack of follow thru. Lack of integrity.
I am very disappointed in this establishment. From arrival I was met with issue after issue after issue. To this very moment I am still waiting for a call from management to resolve my stay and I suppose since I am gone and my money has been taken it doesn't matter. To be more specific I am a platinum SPG member who booked a stay to celebrate a birthday and grief my father's recent passing. Upon arrival I was told that the rooms (2 poolside oasis rooms) that I had paid was NOT what they had in the system. I spent 30 minutes printing screens on cell phones and forwarding confirmation emails. After that we received a cabana that was supposedly reserved (it was not reserved or ready or power equipped), a room that was not fully turned (not properly cleaned or restored), multiple requests to fix the phone that did not work in the room (had to call the front desk from outside on a cell) and spa who simply lost our afternoon massage reservations and had nothing to say. The final straw were the finger pointing and lying to my face from the manager of housekeeping…I loved the island and the people off the resort, but the fact that I am still waiting for a call and have been gone from the resort for a week now is disheartening. I expect this from 1 star venues….NOT THE W!! PS - I tried contacting you and there seems to be ZERO interest in resolution.
October 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by DeWolf Simply Spectacular
The Staff at the hotel all performed with great care, character,consideration and dedication to ourselves as guests and the W brand as a whole. Very impressive! This resort is top flight and possibly the only resort in the world where a small pile of horse manure upon the grounds is chi chi some how. Best vacation for ourselves in recent memory. Thank-you W Vieques.
March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by JL432 Excellent Grounds Subpar Room
The grounds are a constant reminder that you are in paradise. The resort easily accommodates families and adults traveling without children. For example, there are two beaches on opposite sides of the resort one for families and the other for adults who wish to relax. However, the rooms are dark and in need of a refresh. There are very few, if any, ocean view rooms with a king sized bed.
January 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by gregorio2001 Terrible Service
The site of this hotel is beautiful, and there were a handful of staff that were kind and helpful - the positives end there. The vast majority of the staff were rude or incompetent. Lost lunch orders, double charging us for rooms and not refunding the money, serious attitude from staff when we complained about issues. Honestly, my favorite day of my stay here was when we rented a car and left the property for the entire day - so I didn't have to deal with anyone. I would NEVER recommend anyone stay here. Fancy resort prices with terrible service.
September 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by MaggieDuck Not What I expected
We love The W and have stayed many times in several different cities. This experience did not meet our expectations!
The bad: Upon arriving, we checked in (VERY NICE girl at front desk) and proceeded to make our way to the concierge to inquire about renting a car. I sat down and was not acknowledged. I finally asked how she was doing today and with much displeasure she half looked up from her book and stated "I'm VERY busy". I sat another minute or two with no additional recognition of my presence. My friend then joined me and together we sat another couple of minutes until we finally asked if we could get some information re: renting a car. She let us know they were all rented and we would have to come back tomorrow. We told her we were looking to rent one two days out from then and could she please help us. In a huff, she said she'd give us the car rental phone number and we could call. I asked her if that was something she could do for us and if we could rent from the hotel instead of Avis. As she's flipping through her book, she snapped at me and said: "I HAVE TO GET THE NUMBER!" I was done. I spoke to the manager and I'm not sure anything was followed through with.
We then went to our room to find the phones didn't work, the safe needed to be reset, a light was out, and the a/c was making a non-stop humming noise. We were in a ground room floor and the sliding glass door was our only way in/out and it took my husband both hands to move the door either direction. We let the staff know of these issues. They were very responsive, however we spent the first few of hours of our stay managing room issues. The door was temporarily fixed and the last full day of our stay, they took the door off completely to replace the wheels, keeping us from our room for several hours. The a/c was never properly fixed. We simply had to get used to the noise. Finally, the lighting in the room was some of the worst I've ever experienced. I had to ask for an additional lamp which I moved around the room to do my make-up. Ladies will understand how one dull light right over the sink/mirror is not enough to apply make-up. It's the kind of lighting that makes shadows from top to bottom so you can't see anything you're doing.
The pool: FREEZING!!!! No one was in it. EVER!!
Food: Breakfast left something to be desired and they never had the buffet as stated: "not enough people staying to make it worth their time". Guess that's our sacrifice to make instead of the hotel's… Food by the pool was good. Was charged $10 for guacamole one day and the very next day was charged $15. Really don't like that!! Had dinner one evening of our stay. Was delicious!!
Friends that we traveled with: SPG Elite members!! Their room wasn't ready upon arrival. One had ordered a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as a surprise for the other in order to celebrate their 10 year anniversary. It took the hotel so long to prepare their room that they changed their clothes in our room and we went to the pool. Our friend decided to cancel the champagne and berries because there was no longer going to be a grande entrance to celebrate their anniversary. The room was taking too long. He called to cancel and instead of the hotel sending a bottle of champagne (should've been their treat for not being prepared!!), they cancelled it and sent nothing. Horrible customer service in this instance. Would've expected much more from The W!!!!
The good: Amazing grounds! Amazing view!
Beautiful beach! Clean! Super nice staff!! Especially the bartender Gabriell and the manager Ashley.
We encountered more issues than we can count. The final being we checked our credit card today (checked out 3 days ago) to find that unauthorized charges were on it and we ONLY used it to check in to The W - Vieques. The issuer let us know law enforcement had already flagged it and shut it down, so we didn't have any bigger issues, but I'm surprised The W doesn't have better securities in place in order to avoid this.
We had high expectations as this is the only resort on the island. The staff (sans concierge) was excellent, but so many other areas were well below par...
January 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by FP1955 Magical!
WOW!. I would love to keep this place a secret -- but it was so spectacular, we cant. We are well travelled -- and our expectations were guarded. The property, the staff, the "vibe", the friendly, efficient staff, .. was FAR BEYOND what we expected! We travelled with our 21-yr old daughter and a friend and had 2 oceanfront rooms. We had a jeep, but really didnt want to leave the property! we did leave the W for a few local restaurants.. but even that wasnt necessary. We cant wait to return and we will!
January 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by catzter Best vacation ever
My new favorite Starwood hotel. This resort treated my husband and I so well, we wanted to move in permanently!
Off-season was the time to go... we often had an entire beach to ourselves, and had no problem getting service. I can't say enough about the staff here, all very attentive and friendly.
We ate at the cafe or bar a lot to avoid the high restaurant prices (and save more money for the spa!) Do wish the cafe was open longer (they closed at 5 each day). All the food was surprisingly delicious, healthy (if desired) and fresh!
Think we will make this the destination of our annual fall getaway.
September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by DCMike Great Honeymoon Location
We chose the W Vieques for our honeymoon destination, and were not disappointed. It had the right level of high level resort quality we enjoyed mixed with the laid back nature of the island.
We used points for our stay, and were upgraded to an ocean view over the pool. The view was amazing. We visited the spa twice--I highly recommend the coco scrub followed by a massage.
The service was good; just understand it's island time, so the pace is slow. We always got what we needed and with a cheerful staff.
We really enjoyed the passion fruit mojitos (the best ones made by Angel, in my opinion). Sunsets were gorgeous from the beach and pool. It was a great place to relax and enjoy the rest of the island.
There is an Avis rental car right on property, and that's really convenient. Transfers to and from the airport are included in your resort fees. Every night at 6, they have a sunset sip, where the bartender makes a complementary drink for everyone who is at the outdoor fire pit. The concierge is very helpful booking off property events and reservations. We used them for dinner reservations and a trip to the biolumenescent bay.
We had breakfast at Mix on the Beach a few days; it's a very good meal.
The only misstep I'd say is the room service; I had a turkey club at the pool that was really good. I ordered the same sandwich at midnight one night and it was substandard.
Overall, great place! It's pricey, but it's what you'd expect for a W and a quiet island.
Oh, don't go here for nightlife, it's nonexistent. Go here to relax and be treated well.
April 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by JgVargas Awesome time!
My family stayed at this W Hotel for a couple of days in December and we had a great time. If you really want to have a nice and quiet vacation and retreat yourself from the everyday routine then, this is the place to go and stay! All the facilities were great. Everywhere you walk, you could find a place to sit, lie down and relax. We stayed at the hotel the entire time since we just wanted to relax and have no schedule to follow for once! (We did do the bio-bay tour the first night and it was an experience to remember. We did the 8PM tour and there was no moon, pitch black perfect night!! We were amazed with all the stars on the sky and the luminescent lights on the sea. Definitely 'a must do'.)
The only down side of staying in the hotel is the fact that you only have one restaurant choice and it is a little pricey. There is a 'cafe' that we used for quick bites, coffee and breakfast sandwiches. The one thing I really have to mention is the customer service. All employees were always friendly and helpful but one of them went ‘above and beyond’. After we checked out the hotel, they provided us with transportation to the ferry and inadvertently I left my camera in the jeep. I did not realize that my camera was missing until the ferry was approaching to the pier. I immediately called the hotel and the receptionist said that she would send someone to the pier with the camera. I waited on the street where I could see both the road and the ferry fast approaching to the pier and with that the possibility of not getting my camera back in time. The ferry arrived and in a matter of seconds, big traffic congestion covered the small street and was going to make the delivery of my camera a mission impossible. So, I decided to go back to the line to get inside the ferry. To my surprise, the same employee that drove us to the ferry was walking from the ferry crowded line and when he saw me, he said that he already gave the camera to my wife. I was so relieved and grateful to this person. It turned out that he parked the car several blocks from the ferry and walked to the ferry in order to return our camera and our memories just in time. I thought that was amazing!! I called the hotel and let know the receptionist that this guy went the “super extra mile for us”. I asked her to make sure to tell their supervisor about this...but just in case she didn't say anything...his name is Georgie and employees like him makes a big difference. Thanks again Georgie!!! And to all the ‘W‘staff thanks for making our stay a very nice and memorable one!!
January 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Family0621 Stay at W Vieques
Although I did enjoy my stay, I feel that the staff was sub par at best. They were not friendly, not accommodating and did not meet the W standards I have seen at most of the W hotels I have stayed at. Although I would recommend this hotel to others because of it's amazing design and the beautiful surroundings of the island of Vieques, other than the concierge, I was less than impressed with your staffing.
November 9, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unhappytraveler Average
I'm on the cusp of not recommending this hotel. I had a fairly negative experience, which I will detail below.
We arrived at the hotel at around 1 pm, and were told that our room was not ready. They asked for my cell phone number so they could call me "in a few minutes" to let me know when the room would be ready for us.
An hour later, I returned, asking what the status of our room was. It was still not ready. We were told they would call us when it was.
An hour after that (3pm), the room was still not ready and we still wren't called about how long it would take. At this point, we complained but to no avail. We were told "Everyone here is platinum this week, we're sorry but they all have late checkout and your room still isn't ready."
A half hour after that, we were told that they were preparing the wrong room for us by mistake. We had booked a room with 2 Queen beds, but they were preparing a room with 1 King, and it would be "just a little bit longer" until the room was ready.
An hour after that (3 hours after we arrived at the hotel), we were told that our room was ready. They took us to our room, opened the door, and the cleaning lady was inside working on it. It was still not ready. At this point we were extremely angry and demanded to speak to the manager. He came over, gave us the same spiel about everyone being platinum, and offered to pay for our lunch the next day as well as a massage. We accepted, but still had no room.
15 minutes after that, as we were waiting outside of our room (alone), the cleaning lady came out. She apologized because she was apparently reprimanded by the manager (although it was definitely not her fault) and told us that our room was ready. She also added that "If you guys are platinum, imagine how they treat people here who are not platinum", and then left. We finally had our room over 3 hours later.
Another issue we had was during a complimentary happy hour the hotel has every day. Everyday from 6-630 pm, everyone is entitled to one free drink. We arrived for our drink at 6:20, and were told by the bartender that we were late and she wouldn't make us a drink. Only after we and another guest who had overheard this whowed her what time it actually was, she reluctatntly bade us a drink and made a face at us. Not the great service we expected at the W, to say the least.
Other than that deebacle, the hotel was fine. The food was OK, the facilities were great, the beaches were nice, and the staff was average. Overall, the hotel is nothing to write home about. It is good for people who want to just get away and be on a very quiet and out of the way island with great beaches and great weather.
November 29, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by JMJS Very good but a few surprises
We booked three rooms for three couples. All the rooms were lovely. But two of the rooms were not made up until almost dinner time. One of the rooms had a broken safe in it. We were surprised at check-out by the $60/day resort fee. We found the food expensive.
January 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Brinks This place rocks, as of December 10, 2011 they fixed whatever you read about that was wrong
I was skeptical at first when I read the reviews about coming here, but they must have changed. Service was awesome. Everyone cared and did a fantastic job. Food was great and everyone was friendly and helpful.
And the resort is awesome. Rooms are huge, especially if you get an upgrade and the beaches are really queit and nice.
This is a great destination to hang at. We are more beach people than pool people so we stayed on the beaches the entire time and it was very quiet and relaxing.
I would highly recommend this resort. You will not be dissapointed.
December 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by EDLY35 Excellent Hotel !!! The Room... The Pool !!!
This hotel has the most beautiful, comfortable and romantic room that I have seen... It's just amazing!!
The pool is just perfect, lounge seats inside the pool, relaxing cascade between pool levels, infinity edge, excellent service in the pool bar. The beach is ok, the use of water sport accessories is free, but water is too choppy to use it. I suggest to visit beautiful beaches around the Vieques island (Red Beach is perfect). The food in the hotel is delicious, but there is NO late service; neither convenience / cafe store is open after 10:30 pm, so be ready and full before that time. Overall, i strongly recommend it !! Visit W Vieques.. !!
August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by DCguy20036 Great Resort on an undiscovered Island Gem
Vieques is one of the most beautiful places I ever visited, and my stay at the W added to that experience. I was given a nice upgrade to a poolside oasis room with a patio due to my platinum status. The room was uber cool. The staff throughout the hotel was super friendly. The pool staff kept our drinks full at the afternoon we spent at the pool in these crazy cool chairs IN the pool. They have speakers playing music UNDER water at the pool!
The one downside which has been pointed out by a number of people here is the housekeeping. Once they made up the room, it was fine, but it took me 5 calls and visits to the front desk the first day to get my room made up and it was finally made up at 7 pm. The second day it was not made up until after 5, although we were out of the room before 9 am. The stafff told me that their computer indicated that my room was already clean. Since so many people have complained about the poor housekeeping service, it is unclear to me why Starwood does not bring in a good housekeeping manager from another W hotel. This problem could be fixed in a week, if they chose to do so. Instead, they choose to read these reviews and do nothing about it.
Still, overall a fantastic experience. We did not experience anything but super friendly staff throughout our stay. Once recommendation - DEFINITELY rent a car (probably a jeep) during your stay. The best thing to do in Vieques is to explore the tiny dirt roads that lead to uninhabitted beaches, and you cant do this by cab. Book your car ahead. There is a brand new rental car place called Island Rental Car that just opened right across the street from the W. (opened on 15 Dec 2011). I heard other people complain about cars with 200,000 miles from other agencies. Island's all appear to be brand new.
December 20, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Peter332211 Need improvement
My story continue.
Yesterday, Finally, I got my dinner after 12clock which I ordered on 9:30pm. Thank you for this "wake up" service.
This morning, I went to restaurant to enjoy my breakfast buffet. (I purchase the prepaid package included breakfast buffet from W official website.There is extra charge of $60 for breakfast buffet) However, The waitress told me there is no breakfast buffet service today and I can chose two the American Breakfast Combo for $25 each. It is means I prepaid $60 to purchase a $50 food. Ridiculous.
Then, They bring me coconut smoothie from kitchen with mosquito inside!
It is worst experience for my anniversary and hotel service needs improvement.
October 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cindy80 Best 3 Generation Girls Getaway Ever!
As a special milestone birthday gift for our Mom we decided to say "good bye cold" and hello to the warm Caribbean for a girls getaway. We were the last flight in at 9:30 PM, unfortunately one piece of luggage was missing from our party when we got off the plane. No chance of seeing it until the next day but we were happy to get on the "W" shuttle that was waiting and we quickly arrived at the hotel. We were tired, hungry and a little cranky from our long travel day and lost luggage when we walked in the door. Fortunately, from the moment we entered the hotel and checked in with Edgardo our stay was great. He was extremely courteous, friendly, efficient and made sure the missing luggage was found and then delivered promptly to our room the next day. Thank you! The restaurant service, food (many choices) was very good, morning coffee was delicious and ocean views while dining were breathtaking. Poolside facilities, lush vegetation, tropical breezes and again those ocean views made for a truly perfect & relaxing getaway for the four of us (ages 27 to 80!) The beds, pillows and linens were more comfortable than home! Overall experience for what we were looking for was a ten. We would definitely return.
January 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by bethie12 disappointing
the hotel was quite ordinary. we expected to be on the caribbean( don't think this was clear on the website) and instead the hotel was on the atlantic - we fly to the caribbean to swim and snorkel. the food prices, particularly breakfast, was outrageously high. i ordered oatmeal because it was only $9 and got a tiny portion. the next day i asked for a little more and got charged for another 1/2 portion - $13 for a very ordinary bowl of oatmeal.
December 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mav33 Hotel great overall, food is terrible
We stayed two weeks ago, rooms are great and facilities overall are fantastic, this is the only place worth staying on the island. Restaurant was absolutely terrible - completely unimpressed and food was actually inedible. Bring granola bars and buy pb/j to make sandwiches because there are extremely limited food options. Service at restaurant was fantastic, but did not make up for terrible tasting food. Bar service was not good - rude staff, overworked and not accommodating. Front desk staff were very helpful and extremely nice overall. Room service takes 1 hour 15 minutes for the two times we ordered.
Beach at the W is awesome, pool is fantastic, pick up from the airport was clutch and welcome lounge at airport is cool too.
Overall great hotel, but they need to revamp their food options. We will not be returning.
December 28, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by tabascogirly Absolute Best Place I've Ever Stayed
My husband and I traveled to Vieques for our 10 year anniversary. The W lounge at the airport was super nice with rum punch awaiting our arrival. Although our room wasn't available when we first arrived, they upgraded us to a suite at no additional charge - which was amazing! The food, drinks, service and setting could not have been nicer! Would absolutely highly recommend to anyone and would go back in a heartbeat!
August 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by dme1978 Honeymoon Disappointment
We went to the W in Viques with HUGE expectations, and we were left VERY disappointed by the W Hotel. We spent 6 nights at the hotel, and found that leaving the grounds of the hotel were more satisfactory than being around the rude staff. The maids to the room would do the bare minimum of a job cleaning the room(even though it is off season and nobody was staying at the hotel), it looked like they probably spent 10 min. in the room leaving trash everywhere, and then would take our spare room key that controlled the lights and electricity upon every visit. We complained about the service, but it took 3 complaints for them to finally stop taking our key. The electricity and water went out for the majority of one of the days we were staying, which left us trying to shower in a bathtub with gallons of water we had to go buy from the store. We were charged for things in the mini bar, to which we did not use. The Wi-Fi did not work in our room, to which I called about and never received a call in return, and then we get hit with a $65.00 a day for the use of the non-working WiFi, and the amenities that we never even thought about using on our trip. I was rather outraged when I saw $400 worth of charges on my bill for things that were never used, and I think it is ridiculous for a hotel as nice as the W to charge for these kind of things. Overall, it would be hard for me to recommend the W to anyone. I was planning on getting a room there for my wife's birthday at the Austin W, but I might have to spend a day with the accounting department trying to figure out ridiculous charges on my bill. Also, the luminescent bay is supposed to be one of the most beautiful things to see on the island, yet what they don't tell you is when there is a lot of moonlight, you really cant see much of anything. We spent $107 on a 35 min. kayak trip to mostly have our guide tell us about where to go eat on the island as we sat bored wondering why we spent so much money on a trip when they know you can't see anything on nights with a mostly full moon. All 8 people who went on the trip from the hotel were very disappointed that we were taken out on this trip and not told to go another night when you could see something. I could probably keep going, but it is just going to make me even more angry about out trip. The only positive was the bed, that was it.
September 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by NewYorker12345 Beautiful Hotel, Terrible Service for the Price
I am writing to inform you of what a terrible experience I had at your hotel in Vieques. My stay was in a Garden Villa from April 5-9 w a bill of approx. $3500.
Here is a list of my complaints:
On Fri, 4/6 at 1203pm-> I took out a 24-hour rental car w the Avis on the W Hotel premises. When I returned the car, I was informed by the clothing boutique sharing the building to return the keys to the W Hotel's Reception Desk, as there was no on at the Avis counter. There was simply a sign that said "Be back in 15 minutes." When I was billed on my Amex for the rental, I was billed for two+ days bc W Hotel Reception had not returned the keys to the Avis desk until Mon, 4/8 at 1004am. I was not told to sign any paperwork just to leave the keys w this tall, white European-looking woman. After I was over billed, I called the Avis desk multiple times, but there was never an answer. To remediate this (1) I left 20+ messages with Justin at W Hotel Operations (2) left multiple voicemail messages at the Avis desk and (3) even spoke w a female Avis Rep but no action on my behalf was ever taken until I called the Avis headquarters in the US and in Puerto Rico. I understand that Avis is a separate entity from the W hotel, but the lack of assistance, in spite of your "whatever whenever" slogan was sadly remiss. Not until Fri, 4/27 did I receive a refund from Avis corporate, in spite of all my efforts to work w the local Avis desk affiliated w the W Hotel.
On Mon, 4/8-> I was stung by a bee near the main pool. I went to the Concierge Desk and a woman there did nothing but call a nurse or doctor on the phone. She gave me a bandaid and some cream. When I returned to NYC on Tues, 4/9, I had to visit my local doctor bc my right front calf was infected due to inadequate treatment. I was skeptical at the treatment delivered by your Concierge Desk but was told, "no, just a little cream and a bandaid is fine." When I checked out of the hotel, I even informed them of what had occurred and asked for additional cream and bandaids, but was told they didn't have any such cream and was given a bandaid as a parting gift. The lack of empathy was abysmal.
On Tues, 4/24-> I called the W Hotel at 915am, bc at that time, my Avis issue remained unresolved. When I asked to speak to a manager, I was told by Dave (?) in Operations, that all managers were in a meeting and I would receive a return call within 30 mins. Today is Sun, 4/29 and I have yet to receive any call or email from management.
Long story short, I will NEVER stay at any W Hotel again. As a Starwood Gold member, I cannot believe the pathetic service I received for a "luxury hotel" and cannot believe that I wasted $3500 at the W Hotel in Vieques. It is one thing to have a series of bad circumstances occur when on holiday. That can happen to anyone. The true test of a hotel's service is how they recover and assist in closing out any outstanding issues, and in my eyes, you have failed in every possible way.
I will forward this email onto the appropriate corporate Customer Service persons to ensure they have an understanding of the lack of service I received, to ensure that this doesn't happen to anyone else in the future. It is really quite awful to have spent so much money on a vacation that didn't meet my expectations.
April 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AliNYC Unforgettable
Plain and simple everything I've come to expect from the W! The staff amazing. Room and view amazing. Me and my wife had the best time. The staff especially Dave, Myra and Christian helped make my vow renewal happen even when forces of nature were fighting us. We will never forget this trip. Food was great! If u are looking to relax and enjoy beautiful pristine beaches go to W Vieques ASAP
September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by melissajoell Great property, food & bar/restaurant staff
This hotel is a fabulous property. The rooms are awesome- great beds, pillows & space. Wish there was a coffee maker in the room though. Loved the food and the bar & dining staff rocked every experience we had. The maid & amenities services left a little to be desired and were slow in responding to our needs. The spa offered excellent services at a much more reasonable price than expected.
November 30, 2011