W New York - Downtown

  • 123 Washington Street,
  • (Entrance on Albany Street)
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 192 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by VERY DISAPPOINTED AFTER USING MY POINTS FOR THIS HOTEL I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED. FIRST OF ALL THERE WAS NO ONE TO VALET MY CAR . I HAD TO GO TO RESIDENCE HALL TO FIND SOMEBODY TO VALET THE CAR . I HAD TO WAIT 20 MINUTES. WHEN I GOT TO THE 5TH FLOOR TO REGISTER ALL THEY HAD WAS ONE PERSON HANDLING CHECK IN .I HAD TO WAIT 30 MINUTES TO CHECK I N. THE ROOM I WEAS GIVEN WAS DIRTY DIRT AND DUST ALONG THE RUG THAT MET AGAINST THE BED . ALSO I HAD TO CALL TO CHANGEROOMS BECAUSE LIGHTS DIDNT WORK AFTER PLACING MY CARD IN LIGHT SLOT . THEY MOVED ME BUT IT WAS AGIN INCONVENIENT.THEY SAID THEY HAD 24 HR ROOM SERVICE BUT WHEN I CALLED I COULD GET NOTHING FROM THEIR ROOM SERVICE MENU EXCEPT ICE CREAM ONLY ONE FLAVOR FINALLY WHEN I CHECKED OUT I CALLED DOWN FOR MY CAR THEY SAID 20 MINUTES OK I WAITED UPSTAIRS AND THEN WHEN I GOT DOWNSTAIRS I HAD TO GIVE THEM MY CAR NUMBER AGAIN AND WAIT ADDITIONAL 20 MINUTES VERY DISAPPOINTED AS A SPG PROPERTY AND THE FACT I AM APLATINUM CARD HOLDER NEVER AGAIN THANK YOU FREDERICK DENIKE January 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff at front desk was very rude! Staff at the front desk was very rude! I walked in . Asked for room. The guy at the front desk without any hesitation said they are all booked told me to go to another hotel. I looked at couple travel sites ! All of the, showed available rooms , and cheaper price than normal! I told him I booked thru SPg site and other sites available too. He got angry ! He said he had to take rooms from other ! No clue what that meant ! I asked to use the business office! ( after checking out - around 9 am- I had to print something , another guy at the front desk was also rude! He gave me card - told me to go to biz office- however I found the card didn't work- then I went up. Made me wait 20 min just to say somebody will meet me in front of the biz office. He was chatting with some people ! Unfortunately i didn't get the names! Was very tired and wanted to relax as soon as I get to my room . I find it very unprofessional how the front desk and concierge treats guest!! August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst starwood hotel in the chain - should not be a W I was severely disappointed with this hotel. We stayed here Saturday night. To start there was no valet out front to park the car. It is a very crowded area and taxis were sitting in the loading zone because no one was monitoring it. Took at least 10 minutes for the valet to show up and take the car and that was only after I got out and chased one down. When you pay $65 to park that is inexcusable. Once we checked in we went up to the room only to find it smelling of harsh cleaning chemicals. We asked for a new room, which thankfully they accommodated us with. I have stayed at a few "W's" before and this one does not meet the expectations of what a W should be like. The room itself seemed to be slapped together and unkempt. The typical modern architecture of clean lines and contrasting colors was more like dirty walls and counters with dusty carpet. I am not sure if they are severely understaffed or if they are simply mismanaged. Hopefully it will improve. September 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and property I generally stay at other Starwood brands, and sometimes don't feel "hip enough" for Ws, but with meetings across the street, I tried the W Downtown. The staff was awesome - very laid back and friendly. Nice amenities and a comfortable room...I'd definitely recommend this property to others. April 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappily Surprised I normally enjoy the W Hotels, but this stay was particularly disappointing. I checked in at 2am, when my colleague and I got to the front desk there was only one employee available. The other employee was eating a meal and carrying on a loud and garish conversation. It took the one employee about 15 minutes to check me in although I was only staying for one night. When I got to my room, I noticed a suspicious smell which I then found out was cigarette smoke. After a long day of work, my rooms had to be switched. The new room was near the street which made it near impossible to sleep. I checked out at 11am. I don't think I will ever stay at this location again. April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff went out of their way to help! We had a great time staying at the W NY Downtown! We really enjoyed our room (The corner king), and had a fantastic view. Lauren put a lot of effort into helping with some of the finer details of the hotel. And the Acura Experience was a nice bonus - nice car too! May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect stay We decided to stay in NY Friday night, very spur of the moment. W was the perfect choice. We had a wonderful view from our room-- of the 9-11 memorial fountains. Every employee we met at the W was extremely courteous and helpful. I hope to visit again soon. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service I stayed at the W - Downtown and Chris went out of way when I was checking out in the morning to hail down a cab for me. he walked several blocks until he would find out. He was professional, courtesy and had a positive approach to his job. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best service From the moment I step through the doors of the "W" the attention from the W's staff was superb. I am not a native New Yorker and they made every thing easy. The room service was amazing and by far some of the best coffee I have ever had. January 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by MInibar Scam Have stayed at this hotel frequently - probably 5-10 times a year. For the last five or more visits, I always have erroneous minibar charges after I leave. Have to xcall up and have the bill adjusted, have a delay in expense reimbursement because the charges dont match the bill, a major headache. It has happened so freqnetly of late that I am beginning to believe its intentionally a way of hyping revenue at this property. Ready to never stay there again. Don't if this is a way og getting incremental revenue because people think its too much trouble to dispute a $15 charge. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Is the W for Wow?! What a great experience from the moment I entered until the moment I left! Beautiful room and amazing view of the 9/11 Memorial. Very funky lobby! Helpful staff. Loved it! January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy stay From check in to check out, everything was easy and fast. I appreciate the efficient and friendly service! Repeat stays are easy here August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Great Small Touches The hotels location was great. It's right across from the Freedom Tower and 9/11 Memorial and in the center of lower Manhattan. What I noticed were the little extra touches. Fresh smell in the lobby areas, nice restaurant attached the hotel, elevtor floor matts that were changed throughout the day and depending on the time of day said Good Morning, Good Afternoon, and Good Evening. One of the days during my stay it was raining and they were quick to provide me with a complimentary umbrella to use for my meeting. Helpful concierge and reservation staff as well. Overall a great experience. I would definitely stay again on my next trip to NYC. February 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Hotel, great location Hotel has great location and great views of the WTC. Other than that, our stay was disappointing. July 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by contemporary design only one charr in the room-would have been nice with additional seating (ie. 2 chairs or sofa) March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Excellent from the time I stepped out of the taxi until they arranged a taxi for my departure December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff The staff at the W Hotel Downtown are exceptional and made the stay that much more awesome. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by NYC Escape A Fantastic place where you can unwind, come alive or just recouperate from a frantic day! January 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel This hotel was awesome. Great facility, great location and GREAT PEOPLE! October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Service the staff was very attentive and the view was AMAZING!!! August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best, shiniest downtown hotel The W was awesome!!! Never mind that the lobby is actually on another floor; once you walk through, you will notice how lush and comfy the whole place looks with lots of pillows and mood lighting.The gentleman who checked me in was friendly and assigned me a great room and offered late check-out. Room itself was small as per the NYC standard but was very clean, had a great bed, and unbeatable wall to ceiling views of downtown. Only snag was that I was charged for a bottle of water that was supposedly offered as complimentary for SPG Gold & Plat. Try: BLT Bar & Grill downstairs, good food overall but the tuna tartar is sublime! December 10, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience I stayed at W Downtown twice in February. First stay 26th to 1st and second stay from 2nd to 3rd. I was SPG Platinum at the time, now I'm SPG Gold First let me explain that I am Danish and my style is very Scandinavian. Meaning that I look nothing like what americans would consider rich or wealthy. Wether o not I am wealthy is not import to me and shouldn't be to any member of the hotel staff either. The first stay was not very pleasant at all. When I checked in there were two guys on duty. Although there was no guests other than me and one woman in the lobby, the staff was almost not bothered looking my way for checking me in. The guy checking me in seemed indolent and indifferent to what he was doing. I asked if he could upgrade me to a nice room, and he mumbled a yes. When he ran my mastercard he said there was a problem with it, so I had to call my bank in Denmark and they said there was no problem and that the problem was at the hotel. Sure thing, had he only bothered to swipe the card again I wouldn't have had to call my bank in Denmark since it worked perfectly. I didn't get a room right away since the hotels was full, which is understandable as I came early. I sat in the lobby and asked if they could tell me when the room was ready. The didn't tell, so after a some time I went and asked myself, and the room was ready… I got to the room and it seemed I didn't get the upgrade so I asked and they said it was an upgraded room. As I don't know the rest of the rooms I had to accept that it was an upgraded room and maybe it is, but a tiny upgrade I must say. After being in the room for a while I remembered that no one asked me what I wanted for my amenity gift, so I called the reception. I said I would like to do the breakfast for my SPG Platinum gift which they had forgotten to ask about, but to my surprise the answer was that the hotel did not offer any amenity. I argued that it is standard in SPG Platinum, but that didn't help, there was nothing of the kind. I found out later that this was a direct lie. The second stay was a very nice experience. I was greeted by a friendly doorman and a very nice woman when I checked in who instantly upgraded me to a cool corner room, and asked what I wanted for my amenity gift. So you can imagine my surprise when I asked her if she could really offer me breakfast as amenity and she confirmed, with an "of cause"..! I had an appointment the morning after so I didn't need the breakfast and took the point, but it surely was offered to me by the nice woman. I currently bank more than 155.000 starpoints, so I would say I am a very good and loyal starwood guest. i do like the location and the decor of the W Downtown but since I feel ripped from 3*breakfast and feel that the weekday staff are attendant to what they falsely consider class, namely the visibly rich, I will be choosing friendlier hotels in the future for my increasingly frequent stays in Manhattan. If these were my staff, they would be gently told to get there noses out of the sky relatively fast. I did email the above to the GM directly before posting this review, as I feel it is always fair that people and businesses have a chance to make up for a bad experience and I wanted to give him a chance to reimburse me the 3*Breakfast I was excluded from. I received no answer yet March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved the new W Downtown near new One World Trade This hotel is very beautiful - very "hispterish" quality. It is dark which I usually do not like but they have really cool lighting effects throughout the common areas. I asked for a quiet room and I was very happy with one of the corner rooms. The staff was nice. I needed an early check in and even though it was Memorial Day Weekend they were able to accommodate us. The view was horrible because I was looking at an abandoned brick building and an ugy occupied bldg outside the window. However, it was quiet and that was more important to me than the view. I stayed in room 814. So if you want quiet it is a great room. If you want a view - this is not the side of the building to ask for. The cafe in the hotel had a very nice staff and the food was good and tasty. Service was excruciatingly slow and it is very overpriced - even by NY standards. I would stay here again - the price was great - less than $300.00 for Memorial Day weekend. It is literally across the street from the new 9/11Memorial. The front door is not actually on 123 Washington Street - It is on Albany so keep that in mind when you hire a driver or a taxi. June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overcharged Excellent other then the fact that I hard to call to have my bill adjusted as I never received the free internet as part of the gold member package. Then after the adjustment I was hit with extra charges with out explanation and will now have to make more calls once again. Took 24 hours after check to even see the final bill. Very frustrating to now have to make repeat calls and initial call the person argued with me that it was not the package I choose only to find it i was indeed what I had picked. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I had a nice short stay. Jean Marie (might have this name wrong) was nice and informative at the front desk. Robert Rozko is a professional concierge and gave great information in a short amount of time. He was informative for the local area and the city transportation as a whole. Great Stay. May 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location Liked the location for my business purposes. Be aware of high tourist traffic due to 9/11 memorial across the street. Was disappointed when checking out. There was a guest in front of me and the 2 people working the front desk were in a conversation with that individual. I smiled at one of them and got acknowledged, but no service. I had to go up to her to get her attention to check out. Was surprising as this has not been the case int he past. Overall, like this W. Be foewarned the lobby is on the same floor as the bar and this is a meet for drinks type of bar. A little startling when you get off the elevator. June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel Hotel is nice and new. Lobby is a bit too dark in the evenings and access to the gym is a little awkward since you have have to change elevators and walk through the lobby - especially in the evenings when they have a DJ in the lobby... The staff is ok, most are very nice but have ran into a couple that needs work. It's a little unprofessional when the check in clerk is resting his leg on the shelf behind the desk. Also requested a paper print out of the checkout folio - was told they don't print out due to being "green" now. But yet the person next to me received one upon request. It's great you want to be green but I should still be able to get a print out if requested. January 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Fabulous!! What an awesome experience! This was our 1st time staying at a W hotel & it certainly won't be our last. This was the most accommodating hotel that my husband & I have ever stayed at. The staff was very friendly, courteous, & exceeded our expectations w/ service! Our boys (1 in college-1 senior in HS) don't want to hang with us much anymore---so my husband & I are reacquainting with each other & want to do some traveling We've been to all of our sons football games, parent teacher conferences, school "stuff", track meets-----we never missed anything!!. We will be going to Miami after football season & plan on staying at the W Hotel in Miami Beach & enjoying "our life" again!! August 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pleasure not business If you're traveling for pleasure, this is a good choice. Its located close to Battery Park, the statue of liberty, the 9/11 Memorial and if you're up for a walk... good shopping. If you're traveling for business, take your ear plugs!! The bar/night club (located on the 5th floor) has a great outdoor bar with good views but the sounds of loud music and club goers will keep you up (even on the 15th floor!) Not good when you have to get up early for work. The service was not the best. The staff wasn't rude, but seemed to pretty much care less if you are there. I'd go back... for a personl trip only next time. September 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fell Short - Focus on housekeeping I stay in hotels about 70 nights per year, and this was the first time EVER that the TV remote control was not in the room! They delivered a replacement quickly, but I shouldn't have had to ask for one- housekeeping should have noticed that when they cleaned the room before I arrived. I also found a pack of gum that someone left behind in a drawer, so I believe that housekeeping needs to do a better job checking rooms before they turn them over. I wasn't going to say anything but I received an updated folio and I got charged for snacks that I did not eat, so lets hope my bill gets adjusted quickly. January 31, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>