W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00765
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Minimum Age for Check-in

Guests must be 21 years or older with a valid photo ID to check-in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 318 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly Relaxing Had a great time at the Vieques W. It is very relaxing atmosphere. This is the right place if you want to escape with your loved one. July 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Vieques The hotel location and access to the beach was great. As were most of the amenities. I was disappointed with attention to detail: • Upon check in light bulb not working in shower, shower hook coming off, and remote had no battery power. • Then when maintenance showed up they addressed the light bulb but had no work order for the hook … then when working on the hook left all the tools on the bathroom sink mixed in with my toiletries … not professional. • Things like the resort offered sun tan lotion for two days but couldn’t seem to find the lotion for the rest of my stay. • Had to ask twice (same day) for room cleaning … • All in all a nice stay but I expected more from a W location especially at the rates charged. April 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great weekend! We had a excellent experince! The staff was responsive and super friendly. Special thanks to Edgardo Rosario and the manager on duty they went beyond to make our stay one of the best! July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Positives: - aesthetics of the hotel are great - all food and beverage staff (Arrelis and Isa in particular) were fantastic. Negatives: - Wake up call requested and never received. - Spa appointments were made, we went to check in they said they had no record of the appointment (after confirming the day before. - Rooms were not cleaned fully or timely. Manager said they were short-staffed for the amount of guests. - Concierge staff contradicted each other.. one said they would book bio bay tour for us, the next day a different concierge said they don't do that. - February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dream-like Vacation What a trip it was and it started with the fantastic news that we were upgraded to the WOW Suite!! It was just incredible and we were treated unbelievably well! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic getaway. It was phenomenal - the property, the service, the treatment we received, all of it - truly felt like a SPG Platinum member and its reasons like this that I continue to push to be in a SPG hotel wherever I go. The front desk, whatever whenever, and housekeeping (leaving chocolates on the bed!) were all extremely sweet, considerate, and responsive. The food needs improvement (a quick beans and rice place by the pool would be great) but other than that this property is fantastic and well worth the experience! April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel facilities were great. Company events were not! Overall, was a great resort. However during our trip there were 2 large corporate events on the property. The W closed the pool early one day for a company event and on another day they reserved over half of the pool area for another company....not good. The hotel management was very non-responsive to the guests when asked to accommodate everyone else. That was very disappointing given everyone has to pay the $60 per day resort fee. The restaurant was also out of dinner items (e.g. Pork) because they used all of their pork for the company buffet dinner. When I questioned the manager about it he lied. If the property is going to give special treatment to companies and ignore other guests, they should be more transparent. March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELENTE An espectacular stay, great customer service!!! July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service is excellent Personnel is excellent, they have always a smile and we feel like a queen. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The W Resort is great My experience in the Resort was of great July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Relaxing Resort This one of the most aesthically pleasing W hotels that I have seen. It was ultra modern and very relaxing. I am going to be honest the staff does need work. The restaurant definitely needs improvement. If you come to this property make sure you rent a car and rent it early. You will not want to be limited to the hotel food. The hotel menu is limited, it is extremely expensive and it is not very tasty. You will want to go out to other places on the island to eat. Vieques is a beautiful sleepy beach island with great restaurants outside of the W that I enjoyed. December 11, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel; unsatisfactory service Last November, I stayed at the W resort in Bali and had an absolutely fantastic time - the facilities were impressive and the service was friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, my experience at the WVieques fell short. The grounds and rooms are very nice and well designed, however, the service was far below what I would expect from any hotel, and importantly, far below what you would expect from a W resort. There were a series of shortcomings which contributed to this view and despite articulating our disappointment, little was done to respond to the feedback. November 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is very relaxing. I stayed with my daughter and grandson. We all had four days of relaxed vacations. Not crowded facilities, not laud noises, excellent food, restful sleeps, really calming music around all facilities, great service, pools and beach. We all loved staying at W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island. July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small, nice hotel / unsatisfactory beach The staff, the decor and ambiance of the hotel met my expectations. However, the beach in front of the hotel, though it looks great from far, has rocks at the bottom instead of sand. Because it is a small hotel all the guests congregate in the main area of it, and if you are looking for quiet peaceful time having a drink, it is difficult to find. The big plus of the hotel is that it is located in Vieques. There you can run away (in a rental jeep) to many different beaches where you will surely find the peaceful setting not found in the hotel main areas. August 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous Resort, Amazing Staff, Perfectly Relaxing We just got back from a weekend stay and we loved the W Vieques. It is the perfect place for a quick weekend getaway. The staff went above and beyond (especially Ricky and Edgardo) in all regards from booking our excursion to the bio luminescent bay. Platinum benefits were well recognized with an upgrade and breakfast. Overall, top tier service with a beautiful resort meant for a fantastic vacation. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This W is not up to standards There is very little to do other on premises. I had many problems in the room, however, once it was brought to the attention of the housekeeping supervisor, Jessica, everything was rectified. Jessica was excellent. The front desk staff is really sweet and David the concierge, is knowledgeable, funny and efficient. A different concierge never made our dinner reservation. The pool staff is nice, but insufficient . The pool food has nothing healthy available. More help needed at pool. The food in the only hotel restaurant, Sorce, isn't great, but it's expensive. There is a daily soup and Main Course special, but that is not enough. The menu needs to change daily or there should be multiple specials. Breakfast buffet is nice, but the fruit was unripened. How is that possible in Puerto Rico? No mango!. The town food isn't worth the trip, even though some of it is expensive . Beaches are beautiful. I'm glad I went, but I wouldn't go back. July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement to be a top destination Pool area too limited with chairs No hot tub Severely understaffed Turn down service often missed Had to call for them to restock minibar Spa lacks facilities to enjoy pre massage like steam room plus lacks showers post massage Beaches on other parts of island much better Music playing late into night around pool even though no one out there so you can't sleep with your door open to listen to ocean Food is good compared to rest of island Close to everything since island is smal, Nice room Generally clean grounds Safe island Fitness center modern March 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Resort was nice and staff was friendly but room wasn't as clean as it could have been when we checked in (shower and bath dirty, had to call for them to be cleaned). The room wasn't cleaned particularly well during our stay (sand on the floor, hairball in the shower, dirty glasses left in the room for several days). Also, things in the room weren't replenished (i.e. ran out of toilet paper, robes were never left and we had to call every day to have robes brought to the room after old ones taken to the laundry). Called on the last day for someone to come and help with the suitcases when we checked out. The reception desk said someone would be right over but we waited 20 mins and no one came so we carried them all over to reception ourselves. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Property I stayed at the hotel for only 2 nights, but if I knew how amazing it was I certainly would have planned for a longer trip. When I arrived, a member of the staff provided a tour of the property. The other staff members, including the bartender at pool, were surprisingly cold. The breathtaking grounds more than made up for some mediocre/poor serrvice. The room, while a bit dark, was exquisite... Rental car, tours, snorkel gear etc can all rented once arriving at the hotel...affordable, convenient and organized. It was just phenomenal experience May 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I used points to stay for free and it wasn't worth it! Beautiful beach, however, the hotel's gimmick is blending in with the impoverished island. A washtub for a bathtub, furniture that appears to be made out of mismatched scraps of driftwood, a 4-inch pencil stub instead of a pen on the nightstand, very low-to-the-ground chair and bed, etc. I deserve better! Inadequate lighting, no grab bars in the shower or the afore-mentioned washtub. It's an accident waiting to happen. We're not all 20 years old. P.S., this is a very expensive hotel. On top of room charge is a daily $65 resort fee. Too much! April 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Definite "10" From the moment you arrive to the very end of your stay, this place will exceed your expectations over and over again. The entire property is beautiful and well kept. Private Beaches and Beautiful Pools. The staff is exceptional and willing to fulfill your requests regardless of size. My husband was worried about getting to the ferry on time so he asked if we could expedite a cab; the staff did one better - they had the taxi driver get our tickets in advance for us so we didn't have to worry about a spot on the ferry. Now, that's service! October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by When will I ever learn? This hotel has saved us TWICE now! The first time we went to Vieques we rented a home that ended up having no working air conditioning which was not going to work with our 3 small children so we ran to the W hotel as fast as we could & knew we'd found a true paradise on this island! The second time we stayed just this past week I thought since it was just my husband & I that we thought we'd try to stay at another hotel that had no AC but looked cool online...wrong again! After three days with no AC, about 35 bug bites all over my body & a run in with a giant spider in the bathroom we called the W hotel at 10 PM begging for a room. They welcomed us once again with open arms, a great rate, kind service & an ocean front room for our last night on the island. The W Hotel is the best and most magical place to stay on this island & I will only stay here for all future trips...lesson FINALLY learned! The W hotel has amazing dining, great pool, fun activities, great decor & luxurious modern rooms & amenities. The staff is amazing as well! I can't think of one bad thing to say about the place! So...save your sanity, learn from my mistakes & stay here! You'll be so glad you did! July 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Vieques Beautiful, relaxing resort on the Atlantic side of Vieques. Perfect for couples. The staff is warm and accommodating. Rent a jeep to explore the island, its beautiful beaches and great restaurants. Bily's in El Malecon is a must for the freshest lobster! July 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location, service needs work Great location with 2 beaches, nice pool and common areas, and spacious rooms. Hotel grounds are fairly large & airport lounge was a plus. Lacking in service, very spotty - some good, a lot bad. An issue with our room took 1 hour to resolve. Housekeeping also needs to improve - very dusty room, doesn't help that there isn't ample overhead lighting. Food and mixed drinks were good, avoid the wine. Could be a great destination however most of the staff are not trained to a standard of service that is expected at this type of hotel. November 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Service The service was very poor. The food was terrible. The hotel itself was nice, but not as nice as you would expect from a W. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional! Greg, We just got home from a five day stay at your resort! We are OVER JOYED with the overall experience at WVieques. Everything was perfect and you have an exceptional staff! We were very touched by "Danny" he is truly a valued employee with compassion! He displayed unwavering enlightened hospitality to the fullest! From the design of the hotel to the spectacular views everything was a dream come true! We can't wait to come back and do it all over again!! Your poolside staff was fantastic as well taking great care of us! Gigi, Yamil & Juan were wonderful! The manager of Away is also a complete delight! How fortunate you are to have such wonderful employees. Thank you again for all that you do to make your resort a success! All the best from two very happy guests! Alice & Carlo April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel on the Beach Overall this hotel is beautiful and staff is excellent and courteous. The breakfast offered at the W vieques is fairly diverse from the buffet vs. a la carte menu. Where I believe the W in Vieques needs to improve is their dinner menu. The dinner menu has few options, does not change day to day, few specials, and meals are fairly expensive for only mediocore food. Drinks at the W were great and varied. The beaches and pools at the W were great. I also would suggest that the W needs to offer more "free" amenities in terms of food. When I was there, they offered water by check in desk and by entrances to the beaches; coffee in the morning; and a cocktail at around 6pm. There was no fruit offered for "free" and prices at the restaurant, W cafe, and bar for food are steep. February 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost five stars, would be 4.5 if the rating allowed it First, we had some hesitance after reading some reviews before we arrived, mainly on 1) food quality at the hotel and 2) service quality/attitude at the hotel. I would say that this was, pleasantly, "mostly wrong". There were little things (a little surliness at the cafe from one employee in particular, though nothing outwardly confrontational, missed/forgotten drinks at the pool, etc.) but I say little because they were certainly not 'in the main'. In the main, the staff was very warm, friendly and eager to please. Food quality was very good; in particular the menu breakfasts (the buffet breakfast on Sunday, in all honesty, lacked, particularly given the exorbitant $28/per price). I honestly don't know what the reviewers were complaining about though regarding low food quality. Truth be told, after day 1 we ate all of our dinners off site at local restaurants (where admittedly food quality was even better), but still the food at the hotel in general was very good. We spent most of our day time on the grounds of the hotel, enjoying the pool, beach, water sports and just relaxing and reading. Days were complete pleasure end to end. My wife got a spa treatment, she said it was excellent. The island (not just the hotel but the island in general) was, surprisingly, quite pricey. I am not complaining per se, we had an excellent time and that's more important than what we paid for stuff, most particularly food, but still it was something we observed. Please understand I have mentioned absolutely everything I didn't like; which means most everything I did like. In fact, I am pretty comfortable that we'll be coming back to the W Vieques again, and maybe not too long until. We absolutely loved Vieques and overall the hotel was an excellent complement to the island. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Wonderful Place to Get Away Although this place is out of the way, it is worth the trip. The view is spectacular, the staff is friendly, and the ambience is second to none. The pool level rooms are a bit noisier, and when we checked in we requested to be moved to the second floor because there were some children in the room next to us. The room walls are thin, so noise travels easily. However, our second floor room was perfect. The bath tub was immaculate, and the bed was much more comfortable than ours at home. The staff (all) was very friendly, though on occasion we had a to wait a bit longer to get assistance, but nothing we couldn't handle. The food at Sorce was perfect, breakfast through dinner. And the pool area was stunning, though service was slow when it got busy. All-in-all, we had a wonderful time and we would highly recommend the W as the perfect island/resort getaway. Oh, last but not least, the couples massage was the best my wife and I have ever had. The technicians were responsive and highly skilled. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is excellent in the Caribbean Excellent. The services is excellent July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Retreat If you're looking for an escape from the world, the W retreat is right for you. Hidden away on Vieques island, away from any sort of significant development this resort has everything you need to let go. The only issues I had with the resort was the poor quality of the food and the attitude of the concierge. I felt for the excessive price tag of the meals that I would be getting at least 4-star level cuisine, but often I found myself wishing I was eating elsewhere. If you come to the W, eat off property. May 16, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>