W Washington D.C.

  • 515 15th Street NW,
  • F St. Between 14th and 15th Street
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20004
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 469 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by BEWARE! STRESS AHEAD Try this hotel if you want poor, unfriendly, insincere service. My Lifetime Platinum status meant nothing, nor did the nearly $500 a night I paid. I was stuffed into a tiny room right below the rooftop bar and could hear the music until 2 am. The staff did NOTHING to acknowledge or correct my complaint. I was so stressed out by service failures and lack of sleep I had to leave after the second night. May 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Very disappointed in the W Hotel Washington DC. The main reason we booked the hotel was for access to the rooftop. When we arrived, we were informed that the rooftop was closed for renovation. Would have been nice if we would have known this ahead of time. Ordered room service and the food was terrible. Tater tots were overcooked and a frozen pizza would have been better than the one we received. Additionally, there was no discount on parking for SPG Platinum members. Said this does not apply to this hotel - why?? Will stay elsewhere when in DC next time. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed - didn't meet expectations The good thing about this hotel is the location. Other than that, I was truly disappointed. The person at the front desk treated us as if it were a bother to check us in and issue keys. Once we did get keys, we had to keep coming back during our 4 day stay to have the keys reset. The hotel was very busy and the halls were very noisy late into the morning hours, making it hard to sleep. The elevators were constantly packed with rooftop visitors, making it hard for us to get to our rooms. A rooftop designated elevator would eliminate such problems.All in all, I did not feel like a guest at this hotel. I would not stay here again. September 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dreadful room I had an "upgrade" for my room and despite this the room was smallest room I have ever stayed in or even seen. October 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Way Over Rated Hotel staff tries, but can't do much. We were promised a bottle of wine in our room, but that NEVER showed up. Room was small, bathroom was odd, to say the least (and we stay at lots of W Hotels). Sink was in the room and there was nowhere to put anything. Restaurant is a joke. Went for breakfast. Our server was condesending....he served us cold coffee when he remembered, brought one serving of toast with the food and the second order of toast way after the meal! I got silverware and napkin after food was served and only after I asked....etc. The room was so noisy that we almost left in the middle of the night....it was just too cold outside to do so. Went to get some coffee in the lobby....NONE in their fancy pot....just looked good. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbeatable location! The hotel is very convenient located in the heart of Washington DC (I can't think of a better place). The ambience is vibrant, young and fresh (as expected in a W hotel), but welcomes also guests wanting to relax (rooms in mid-floors 4th to 6th and facing innercourt are quiet, but without a view). Rooms are small, but efficient for a short stay (4 nights). Internet is for free at the Living Room. I have great memories of all staff at the Welcome Desk! September 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roof Bar a 3 wood from the White House Great views from the Roof bar to Capital Hill and the White House! Accommodations fine, especially the bedding. Room very clean. Although on business, excellent facilities to relax and great restaurants nearby! October 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sadly, we didn't get to stay at The W in DC We had reserved 2 rooms for the Fourth of July - 10 months in advance - a kind of Bucket List Plan for celebrating Independence Day in our Nation's Capitol. One of the rooms was a very expensive suite with "panoramic views" of the mall. The 9 and 6 year olds in our group were beyond excited about staying in a hotel and watching the fireworks from their room. Upon arrival we were told, "We've upgraded you!" However, the new room, which we were later told was the same price as the original room, had no view of the National Mall. It certainly appears the decision was made to give to someone else the room with the "panoramic view" promised to us. Pretty tough lesson on fulfilling your commitments to our very disappointed youngsters. We did not stay at the W July 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not The Warmest Greeting I have to say that but for its location, I would not hurry back to the W. On my arrival, a wet, cold evening in Washington after a long cross-country plane ride, I went to check in. As I have been a Starwood gold member for years (and in some years Starwood platinum), and as these program highlight the upgrade-when-available feature, I asked the woman at the desk, "So do you have a nice room for me this evening?" Her curt response was "We're fully booked." I noted that that didn't respond to my question, and I got a very stern "You have the room you booked!" That rather set the tone for the stay, I'm afraid. December 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best W hotels I've stayed in I love the contemporary twist on a historic, beautiful building. The location can't be beat and the staff were helpful and welcoming. Wouldn't look to stay anywhere else in DC. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and SPG recognition The hotel is very close to White House and walking distance to other museums and attractions. While that is a plus the fact that you are recognized as a SPG member and courtesy extended during a family visit makes this so very nice. The staff was prompt to attend to our needs in the rooms and made us feel special. The only consideration is that the hotel (all W in fact) is not really meant for kids to have that 'extra' fun. September 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Style over Substance The hotel looks hip, but the rooms are small and impractical. The sink is in the middle of the room, and the glass wall the shower shares with the rest of the room probably seemed like a better idea on paper. They did not get around to making up our room, and or the rooms of several others in our party. The Fitness Center was adequate. The roof bar/restaurant looked like it had a great view, but the staff obviously wanted a hipper crowd than us, and all but told us to go elsewhere.. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gracious hotel staff that puts the need of the customer first What an incredible hotel, with such warm, impeccable service. Have to call out Isavella at the front desk and Jessica from the whatever/ wherever team to take care of every need. We love SPG and this experience has only solidified our loyalty to SPG. Thank you so much! August 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The "Forget it" Hotel Besides location this is the "Forget it" Hotel. Need help with your luggage on arrival? Forget it cause staff will run from you instantly. Need a calm check it? Forget it cause it takes ages to find a reservation. Need a clean room? Forget it cause you have to wait till 7 or 8 pm to have housekeeping. Need a quite breakfast? Forget it cause it will take at least 40 minutes to get some (poor) service. I am a big fan of the W Hotels concept but the one in Washington for sure has no way to reach the basics of a 1 star hotel and it is far from being close to the expectations of SPG clients. Overall an experience to forget. Nothing more than a upscale bar (POV) with some rooms for the untold visitor. FORGET IT! May 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by professional staff hotel was excellent and staff was even better. had a few questions and they could not have been more helpful. will not hesitate to stay again. August 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service and SPG Recognition From Dan at the front door to Ermias the security supervisor, the staff here exceeded our needs! Robbie at the front desk was so helpful throughout the duration of our stay. We have already booked future reservations and cannot wait to get back to this property (or the POV lounge!) October 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Steer clear if you want to sleep My wife and I were looking for a local downtown getaway as our first night away from our 4-month old. We chose the W because we love the rooftop patio and trust the value and experience that SPG offers at all of its properties. Upon checking in, I was offered a room with a view of an alley. I chose to pay to upgrade (surprisingly, as an SPG Gold member, no upgrade was offered). The employee assured me that, on the 7th floor, noise from the bar would not be an issue. Around 12pm, my wife and i were awoken to the pounding base of ridiculously loud music from the hotel's (beautiful) rooftop bar. The music did not stop until about 3am. As you know, you can't ignore base. At that point, an unending parade of shouting, screeching drunks loitered in front of our door (yep -- $40 upgrade and our room is in the elevator lobby), in one case attended by a bellhop. By morning, my wife and I had gotten about four hours of interrupted sleep between the two of us. Staycation ruined. If you value a good night's sleep (or sleep of any kind), steer clear of this property. March 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT HOTEL FOR YOUNG PROGRESSIVE GUESTS I stay at the W hotel in DC approximately 1-2 times per month and each time my stay is nothing less than exceptional. The front desk staff is always polite and assist with upgrades when available for its valued members. The rooftop bar is an added bonus. If you want a quiet stay or retreat then this hotel is not for you but if you want a young vibrant scene with great networking potential, then this hotel is for you. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Checkout At checkout at my request a charge of USD6.19 for a munchie consumption was removed because I had not consumed the product. I have now discovered that the charge was put back. The charge is being reversed and my foreign exchanges costs are being compensated. This is disappointing since I was not informed that the charge was put back. A hotel such as W which incessantly prides itself in its promotions and during my stay as a top class hotel should not make such a fundamental error in client service, that is making a change to the final client bill without informing the client or providing an explanation. I am ambivalent as to whether I could recommend this hotel. It has a good location and good facilities but overbearing self promotion is over the top! April 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible Room I was placed in a handicapped room,that could not have been used by a handicapped person. There was no room for wheelchair to navigate and shower was not handicapped accessible. The room was small, closet in bathroom, and not able to use for a business stay. Will not stay again September 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite Hotel on the East Coast The first time I ever stepped foot into the hotel was for the night life on the rooftop... recommended to me by everyone ever. Next step was to get a room on my next visit. I'm so glad that I did. I DJ all over the country and unfortunately roll from hotel to hotel more than I ever planed on. Its very very rare that you find a hotel with the quality like The W. From the second you walk into the gorgeous lobby you realize that its "like that". Its decor is incredibly edgy and elegant all in one, the view is one of a kind, the White House what, a block away? The room itself was immaculate, elegant with its own modern twist. The bathroom was beautiful and huge. Somehow I've found myself an actual fan of this hotel.. I will be a lifelong guest to this hotel and plan on returning for any reason I can find to stay. December 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Who designed this? Hotel Washington is an historic property that is apparently now supposed to be a hip place. Service is exemplary, food was outstanding - no issues there. But it's dark- one guy at our meeting said the hallways and elevators looked like burnt-out wood. Couldn't read the signs in the hallways and elevators & folks kept hitting the emergency call button. Lighting in my sleeping room was terrible; beautiful but useless. The lovely white leather lounge/banquette in my room was only good to hold a suitcase as it only faced the bed, not the TV. Common sink area in one of the public ladies rooms had nothing but a narrow sink edge to set anything like a purse on; pretty but aggravating. And whose idea was it to turn Presidents' faces into b/w silhouettes behind the front desk like a kindergarten art project? Chairs in the new rooftop restaurant are beautiful- but you can't sit back in them. Can't beat the view though! Overall, I don't know whether or not to recommend the hotel.. September 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by FANTASTIC LOCATION, BUT BAD SPG It is a location just front of the White House, so there is no other hotel, like this in DC. Rooms, facilities are super nice and clean and comfy. However, SPG recognition is ZERO, beside, instead of looking the White House got an unasked suite facing nowhere...and got charged $25 for ONE MUNCHIES withy out my authorization and with out reply for my question for this charges afterwards since. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good this hotel has lovely atmosphere and comfortable room. Staff is kind and friendly. good location. August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most Comfortable Room Ever I travel often for business (4 SPG hotels just last week) and this is by far the best one I've stayed at. The bed was so comfortable that I actually want to order the entire bed set! I loved the shower and all of the toiletries. I may need to go to Bliss and buy the full size of each! I went up to the rooftop for happy hours / appetizers as well as brunch and was pleased. The food was good, a little pricey, but overall a great experience. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by "could be my last trip ever" I was about to deploy to the desert and my wife and I were able to meet one last time in DC before I left. I checked in wearing desert pattern utilities and the staff asked if I was "coming or going." I answered "going" and the front desk gentleman told me he had a room for me. We were thrilled to get a spectacular view of the Capitol Mall and a very comfy bed. This would have made our weekend by itself but in the morning the breakfast was good with very pleasant staff and my wife had some carrot juice drink concoction that she still talks about today. We found the upstairs balcony/lounge area to be a wonderful place to just sit and drink hot chocolate (It was winter!). We spent hours there sitting and talking until we each had to leave in our own directions. I come home in a month or so and I can not wait for us to have a reunion of our awesome weekend at the W. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is located in the heart of the Capital. Staff is friendly and professional. Rooms are clean, comfortable, and have all the expected amenities. I will most definitely stay there again. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has it all. The W Hotel always meets my expectations. This one is located right in the heart of DC. The service is impeccable and the rooms provide total comfort. It is within walking distance of many of the monuments and just a short cab ride from National Airport. September 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by How is SPG not paying attention to the issues with this hotel? I checked into my hotel room and noticed immediately that it was very humid (think FL in summer). I called down to the front desk with my concern. I said, I haven't unpacked yet, maybe you could just switch my room. No, we will send up matience immediately. Matience did show up about a minute later and told me "these inside rooms have a humidity problem. I will adjust your thermostat so you can lower it down to 60. That should take care of the issue. I will be back in 20 minutes to check on you. This did not seem to help. 30 minutes later, I had to leave for dinner. I returned late that evening to find a cold and wet room. All night I fought the temp settings. I believe I got a cold from the room. The next morning I infored the desk that there is a huge humidity issue in the room. I requested a dehumidifier. They did deliver this to my room. Unfortunately, I entered later the afternoon to find not difference in my room. I called down stairs and asked for the 2nd time to switch rooms. They told me to hold on and they would call me right back. 30 minutes later, I packed my bags and went to the lobby. Explained the issue and was met with "I am sorry, we are sold out tonight." I immediately asked for a manager. The manager then took me to the room next door. Still humid. She proceeded to show me 3 additional inside rooms before I told her she needed to find me a non-humid room or move me to a different hotel. I didn't care what size my bed was or how big my room was...this was unexceptable. Finally, they found an outside room which was not clean. She checked my bag and bought me a hot tea until my room was finished being cleaned. I was very disappointed tat no one checked on their Platinum guest after that. Then at 10Am the next morning, someone knocked on my door and told me it was strange that I was still there since they showed I already checked out. I said nope, I am still here. She said she would check me back in. I then checked out about 11:30. I went down to the desk to confirm they had my starwood number since it was not on my bill. I think it is strange to ask me how my stay was...and after complaining not doing anything about it or saying you were sorry about it. I will never go back and recommend you don't go either. March 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior Customer Service Booked a room with points for a Saturday night stay as my wife and I were without our 5 and 3 year olds. Upon arrival, Eli upgraded our room without my even asking if that were possible. We then received complimentary glasses of champagne and two free drink vouchers. WOW- what treatment! My wife was very impressed and this was a much needed boost as she is still convalescing from surgery. We spent time on the roof top deck (POV) and then had a sensational late night dinner at J&G Steakhouse. A late checkout was given to us so we slept in and enjoyed brunch without having to worry about check out. We had a wonderful time thanks to the customer-focused W staff. We will be back for sure! May 2, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>