W New York - Downtown

  • 123 Washington Street,
  • (Entrance on Albany Street)
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 212 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff went out of their way to help! We had a great time staying at the W NY Downtown! We really enjoyed our room (The corner king), and had a fantastic view. Lauren put a lot of effort into helping with some of the finer details of the hotel. And the Acura Experience was a nice bonus - nice car too! May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect stay We decided to stay in NY Friday night, very spur of the moment. W was the perfect choice. We had a wonderful view from our room-- of the 9-11 memorial fountains. Every employee we met at the W was extremely courteous and helpful. I hope to visit again soon. January 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service I stayed at the W - Downtown and Chris went out of way when I was checking out in the morning to hail down a cab for me. he walked several blocks until he would find out. He was professional, courtesy and had a positive approach to his job. July 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best service From the moment I step through the doors of the "W" the attention from the W's staff was superb. I am not a native New Yorker and they made every thing easy. The room service was amazing and by far some of the best coffee I have ever had. January 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Is the W for Wow?! What a great experience from the moment I entered until the moment I left! Beautiful room and amazing view of the 9/11 Memorial. Very funky lobby! Helpful staff. Loved it! January 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy stay From check in to check out, everything was easy and fast. I appreciate the efficient and friendly service! Repeat stays are easy here August 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the WORST hotels I have ever stayed it!!! I have written a review before which never got posted. This is literally one of the worst hotels ever. I have been traveling to NYC for the past 11 weeks and because my company has a negotiated rate, I have stayed at this location. The negotiated rate varies between $299 - $439 per night so not cheap. This last visit the phones in my room did not work, I had to use my cell phone for calls including ordering room service. I mentioned this when I arrived and checked out on The 4th day and it still was not fixed. I have VERY low expectations for this hotel so did not bother to request another room because I am sure something else would have been wrong. Very disappointing almost every stay and the only thing that is consistent is that there will be something wrong. I don't want a free glass or bottle of wine, I just want a stay without issues. Traveling on business and being away from home is stressful enough, a hotel stay should not add to the stress!!! August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location and Great Small Touches The hotels location was great. It's right across from the Freedom Tower and 9/11 Memorial and in the center of lower Manhattan. What I noticed were the little extra touches. Fresh smell in the lobby areas, nice restaurant attached the hotel, elevtor floor matts that were changed throughout the day and depending on the time of day said Good Morning, Good Afternoon, and Good Evening. One of the days during my stay it was raining and they were quick to provide me with a complimentary umbrella to use for my meeting. Helpful concierge and reservation staff as well. Overall a great experience. I would definitely stay again on my next trip to NYC. February 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Hotel, great location Hotel has great location and great views of the WTC. Other than that, our stay was disappointing. July 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by contemporary design only one charr in the room-would have been nice with additional seating (ie. 2 chairs or sofa) March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Excellent from the time I stepped out of the taxi until they arranged a taxi for my departure December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff The staff at the W Hotel Downtown are exceptional and made the stay that much more awesome. January 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by NYC Escape A Fantastic place where you can unwind, come alive or just recouperate from a frantic day! January 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel This hotel was awesome. Great facility, great location and GREAT PEOPLE! October 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Spotty house keeping The first of my three night stay I filled up the ice bucket. The water was still in the bag when I left on the final morning. The day before I left, I came back to my room to find a dust rag on my desk and an empty pillow case on the bench by the window. The room always felt as though someone has rushed through it. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Service the staff was very attentive and the view was AMAZING!!! August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best staff around! I've stayed at the W Downtown NYC almost every week since January of this year. It is literally my home away from home. The staff are the reason why I keep coming back and remain loyal to SPG. Specifically, Javon and Andrew who work the front desk have been incredible. They are great to chat with and have gone above and beyond to make me feel welcome. I'm forever grateful for their hospitality and will continue to choose the W Downtown! August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Time Here This is my first stay at the W. Everyone was very nice and I love the Hotel, I travel a lot and try to stay in the SPG family. I had a great view of the 9/11 memorial center from my room. The only thing I could say bad is you are in New York so plan on hearing traffic as early as 7 a.m. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Downtown experience Staff always friendly and professional August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappily Surprised I normally enjoy the W Hotels, but this stay was particularly disappointing. I checked in at 2am, when my colleague and I got to the front desk there was only one employee available. The other employee was eating a meal and carrying on a loud and garish conversation. It took the one employee about 15 minutes to check me in although I was only staying for one night. When I got to my room, I noticed a suspicious smell which I then found out was cigarette smoke. After a long day of work, my rooms had to be switched. The new room was near the street which made it near impossible to sleep. I checked out at 11am. I don't think I will ever stay at this location again. April 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best, shiniest downtown hotel The W was awesome!!! Never mind that the lobby is actually on another floor; once you walk through, you will notice how lush and comfy the whole place looks with lots of pillows and mood lighting.The gentleman who checked me in was friendly and assigned me a great room and offered late check-out. Room itself was small as per the NYC standard but was very clean, had a great bed, and unbeatable wall to ceiling views of downtown. Only snag was that I was charged for a bottle of water that was supposedly offered as complimentary for SPG Gold & Plat. Try: BLT Bar & Grill downstairs, good food overall but the tuna tartar is sublime! December 10, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience I stayed at W Downtown twice in February. First stay 26th to 1st and second stay from 2nd to 3rd. I was SPG Platinum at the time, now I'm SPG Gold First let me explain that I am Danish and my style is very Scandinavian. Meaning that I look nothing like what americans would consider rich or wealthy. Wether o not I am wealthy is not import to me and shouldn't be to any member of the hotel staff either. The first stay was not very pleasant at all. When I checked in there were two guys on duty. Although there was no guests other than me and one woman in the lobby, the staff was almost not bothered looking my way for checking me in. The guy checking me in seemed indolent and indifferent to what he was doing. I asked if he could upgrade me to a nice room, and he mumbled a yes. When he ran my mastercard he said there was a problem with it, so I had to call my bank in Denmark and they said there was no problem and that the problem was at the hotel. Sure thing, had he only bothered to swipe the card again I wouldn't have had to call my bank in Denmark since it worked perfectly. I didn't get a room right away since the hotels was full, which is understandable as I came early. I sat in the lobby and asked if they could tell me when the room was ready. The didn't tell, so after a some time I went and asked myself, and the room was ready… I got to the room and it seemed I didn't get the upgrade so I asked and they said it was an upgraded room. As I don't know the rest of the rooms I had to accept that it was an upgraded room and maybe it is, but a tiny upgrade I must say. After being in the room for a while I remembered that no one asked me what I wanted for my amenity gift, so I called the reception. I said I would like to do the breakfast for my SPG Platinum gift which they had forgotten to ask about, but to my surprise the answer was that the hotel did not offer any amenity. I argued that it is standard in SPG Platinum, but that didn't help, there was nothing of the kind. I found out later that this was a direct lie. The second stay was a very nice experience. I was greeted by a friendly doorman and a very nice woman when I checked in who instantly upgraded me to a cool corner room, and asked what I wanted for my amenity gift. So you can imagine my surprise when I asked her if she could really offer me breakfast as amenity and she confirmed, with an "of cause"..! I had an appointment the morning after so I didn't need the breakfast and took the point, but it surely was offered to me by the nice woman. I currently bank more than 155.000 starpoints, so I would say I am a very good and loyal starwood guest. i do like the location and the decor of the W Downtown but since I feel ripped from 3*breakfast and feel that the weekday staff are attendant to what they falsely consider class, namely the visibly rich, I will be choosing friendlier hotels in the future for my increasingly frequent stays in Manhattan. If these were my staff, they would be gently told to get there noses out of the sky relatively fast. I did email the above to the GM directly before posting this review, as I feel it is always fair that people and businesses have a chance to make up for a bad experience and I wanted to give him a chance to reimburse me the 3*Breakfast I was excluded from. I received no answer yet March 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Corner room Great views, very comfortable. Loved the window seat. August 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice view, should have been better The view was nice, the lack of ubs plug was not, the less than full length closet neither held my wife's gown or my tuxedo due to the safe being jammed int the base of the closet. The office space on the 4th floor had a terminal that did not work and the blasting loud dance music seemed inappropriate for a work space. Friendly staff. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location Liked the location for my business purposes. Be aware of high tourist traffic due to 9/11 memorial across the street. Was disappointed when checking out. There was a guest in front of me and the 2 people working the front desk were in a conversation with that individual. I smiled at one of them and got acknowledged, but no service. I had to go up to her to get her attention to check out. Was surprising as this has not been the case int he past. Overall, like this W. Be foewarned the lobby is on the same floor as the bar and this is a meet for drinks type of bar. A little startling when you get off the elevator. June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel Hotel is nice and new. Lobby is a bit too dark in the evenings and access to the gym is a little awkward since you have have to change elevators and walk through the lobby - especially in the evenings when they have a DJ in the lobby... The staff is ok, most are very nice but have ran into a couple that needs work. It's a little unprofessional when the check in clerk is resting his leg on the shelf behind the desk. Also requested a paper print out of the checkout folio - was told they don't print out due to being "green" now. But yet the person next to me received one upon request. It's great you want to be green but I should still be able to get a print out if requested. January 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Fabulous!! What an awesome experience! This was our 1st time staying at a W hotel & it certainly won't be our last. This was the most accommodating hotel that my husband & I have ever stayed at. The staff was very friendly, courteous, & exceeded our expectations w/ service! Our boys (1 in college-1 senior in HS) don't want to hang with us much anymore---so my husband & I are reacquainting with each other & want to do some traveling We've been to all of our sons football games, parent teacher conferences, school "stuff", track meets-----we never missed anything!!. We will be going to Miami after football season & plan on staying at the W Hotel in Miami Beach & enjoying "our life" again!! August 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need for Coffee My stay was great and the people were very nice. The one thing I would comment on is not having coffee in the room. For me, I like to wake up and make coffee without having to get dressed and go down to the lobby. I did order a coffee maker the morning I was there because there wasn't one in the room. I usually do work before meeting and like to be comfortable while I enjoy my morningg coffee. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pleasure not business If you're traveling for pleasure, this is a good choice. Its located close to Battery Park, the statue of liberty, the 9/11 Memorial and if you're up for a walk... good shopping. If you're traveling for business, take your ear plugs!! The bar/night club (located on the 5th floor) has a great outdoor bar with good views but the sounds of loud music and club goers will keep you up (even on the 15th floor!) Not good when you have to get up early for work. The service was not the best. The staff wasn't rude, but seemed to pretty much care less if you are there. I'd go back... for a personl trip only next time. September 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort and style collide! You can never quite put your finger on what makes a hotel room comfortable for sleeping, but whatever fairy dust does the trick is evident at the W Downtown. Style is part of the W's DNA so I'm not going to spend time talking about it. It's a W, mmm-m-m-kay? I think their beds and bedding, especially top quality pillows, makes the bed ultra-comfortable for sleeping. Two thickness of shades on the windows gives you a choice of how light or dark you want the room, but that FULL ON comfort of the beds and bedding does the trick. And what's more luxurious, when you think about it, than a great night's sleep? May 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next>>