W New York

  • 541 Lexington Avenue
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10022
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room and check in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 754 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hospitable Comfort Definition of HOSPITABLE 1 a : given to generous and cordial reception of guests b : promising or suggesting generous and cordial welcome c : offering a pleasant or sustaining environment W New York Hotel - (Lexington Ave) - exceeded my expectations! My first ever visit to NY, the W New York general manager promptly responded to communications prior to my visit. All of my inquiries were answered and my stay at the W felt like my comfort zone in unchartered territory. All points of contact with the hotel staff exemplified conscientious, competent results. I am grateful and I look forward to future accommodations with W New York and I encourage others looking for a place of excellence to make this their comfort zone too! June 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay in a NY hotel I've had in a long time This was by far the worst stay I've had in a hotel in NY. The staff were unwelcoming even for NY standards, no recognition of SPG Gold status, I was assigned a tiny room on the 3rd floor directly looking out on noisy construction. Made me wonder why the front desk lady was so upset with me. The room was shabby, the bathroom had peeling wallpaper and was missing basic amenities like a shower cap. Really poor value for $700 stay. I will not stay at this property again. August 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Major Disappointment! Most unsatisfactory visit to the W New York! Our room was ridiculously small. There were 3 small drawers - 1 completely taken up by a safe. Only 1 nightstand. Extremely noisy in the halls. Could hear people talking/laughing in their rooms. Wallpaper/paint peeling in bathroom. Used dental floss hanging in the shower for 2 days - not ours! Not particularly sanitary. Limited space in bathroom for toiletries. Poor draperies. Had to be completely pulled down (which left room in darkness) in the middle of day so people from other buildings could not look into our room. Thankfully, the hotel lobby/bar was nice so we had somewhere to go to get out of our inadequate room. September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great first time experience at the W It is true that the staff makes for a great hotel. I was impressed with the W Hotel, and particularly Esther who not only greeted me promptly and with a smile, but also went to great length to secure an upgrade for me. I think she is fabulous and has great customer service. The Hotel is in a great location and the workout facility is great as well. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location. Reasonable price in NYC October 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location but lacking basic comfort We were excited to stay at this W because of the location and have had great experiences in other cities. However, our room was incredibly hot and stuffy, and the air conditioning was broken. We asked them to fix it before we went to dinner, but when we got back after midnight it still was broken. We had to have another maintenance member come in the middle of the night to fix it. I was very disappointed they did not move us to another room or provide better accomodations. The location is great, but I wouldn't stay here again. December 27, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just average Perhaps I am use to a little bit more customer service when it comes to W hotels. I just expected a little bit more in the area of customer service and friendliness from security staff and front desk. For example the room wifi was down for the majority of my 10 day stay. I called to get if fix but it was not up and running by the time I left. I will say that the cleaning staff was very customer service oriented and made my stay comfortable. I also appreciated the staff at the cafe during the morning breakfast. More attention can be made at the entrance of the hotel in greeting hotel guests. To often people were talking and not paying attention who was entering the hotel. Greeting hotel guests Is being courteous but also paying attention to security matters. January 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable and clean The W always provides a clean comfortable room and the service is excellent. A couple of things with the 49th and Lexington location: The lobby needs a serious overhaul, the lounge area looks dirty. (which I can kind of understand in a snowstorm...) But what's up with no Christmas decor - no wreaths or a sprinkling of lights, or a tree? And PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD get rid of that awful techno beat soundtrack that is constantly playing - it's a horrible vibe for your hotel and it makes me want to go elsewhere. NOT GOOD. December 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location is best feature Hotel room was subpar. Hotel is modern with a very nice, trendy lobby, yet Wonderful Room leaves much to be desired. Staff was great from check-in, housekeeping and bellhop. Great location close to Central Park, restaurants, subway stations. Not a bad stay, yet have stayed in much better Starwood properties. October 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could be great Nice, stylish hotel. Rooms small but modern and clean. Bathrooms tiny but do the job I guess. Biggest issue I had this trip was that for two of the nights there seemed to be parties going on in rooms until about 3 in the morning and then people leaving, presumably from the party at 5-6 am. The result was little to no sleep as the soundproofing is non existent - doors slamming, ice machines, people shouting...to be honest it was awful. October 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel satisfied our needs We were attending a medical seminar at the W and thought we had reservations at the W @ Time Square where the meeing was being held. A mix up occured and we were listed at the W on Lexington Ave. We prepaid our visit and could not switch hotels. We found the hotel to be comfortable and it satisfied our needs. October 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel...small rooms I may not be "hip" enough to appreciate the guys in black tee shirts parking the cars and working the front door. It confuses me, because I'm not sure if they are guests are employees of the hotel. Once I got through this initial reaction, they actually did a pretty good job. The check in process is flawless and the staff is friendly and attentive. The rooms, while small, are comfortable and the beds are great; and let's face it....we stay in hotels to sleep. I like this hotel, but I don't love it. March 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trip to NYC Always stay there when we visit NYC. Super location but the staff is unbelievably helpful and kind. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small Room and expansive parking and internet Hi i really liked the location of the hotel; and the staff, my problem is that in 2013 free internet should be the norm, second when i make a reservation i would like to know that the parking will cost me $65.00 a day. i don't like surprises, apart from these two points the hotel is very well located in midtown new-York. the room i had was not small it was really small... the concierge and the staff was very helpful in finding good restaurant, and direction for yankee stadium. thank you July 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, small rooms I'll echo what everyone else has said about room size - the standard room is indeed tiny, but comfortable. I have had good experiences with upgrades (currently writing from my lovely Fantastic Suite) - as a Platinum, I've gotten suite upgrades on 2 of my last 4 stays, and in-room gifts from the manager both times. Service is very good, especially compared to the Le Parker Meridien and other non-SPG properties I've stayed at in the same area / price range. Overall, I would recommend this. November 28, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing as usual If it were not for the location, this hotel would be empty. Arrived at 1030 to a room with a broken AC unit. Finally by 1145, they had fixed the unit, only to have a thermostat that now was broken (figured that out after waking at 1245 in an 80 degree room). Was reassigned to a Queen closet-sized room for the balance of my two night stay. After emailing the Whereever desk, I traded a few emails with someone followed by me leaving two unreturned phone messages. While we all know this hotel exists due to its location, the rooms and systems are in serious need of upgrade. They also ran out of Wall Street Journals at 730am. This is clearly and execution issue, because our expectations are generally not up to W standards anyway. I am a lifetime Platinum and this is my least favorite Starwood property. March 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A+, highly recommend Was a little worried after reading the reviews of the small room size but I was pleasantly surprised. At check in, I asked about upgrading to a larger room. Cindy told me that I could, but she also had a handicap cozy room available. I decided to take my chance with the handicap room as it worked out perfect. Room was slightly larger and really only difference is that the light switches are a little lower and there are grab bars around the toilet and the shower. Beside that, its the same room, just a little larger. Best part was, there was no extra charge for it. Cindy was great at check in as she also offered us 2 glasses of champagne. Location of the hotel is perfect, and security was very effecient. Overall, I would definately recommend staying here to others and would definately stay here again. April 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tired Facility Staid here two nights on business. Was on top floor but still hear lots of road noise. Room had fancy electronic shades but there was gaps so was lots of light in room very early. Thin towels, low water pressure and AC that didn't really work make for a property I will not be returning to. Attempted to tell front desk employee on check out and there was no interest. On positive side did get energetic directions on places to visit. June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We love the W New York We stayed at the W New York for a long weekend. When we booked we were a little worried about the location, but after getting there we were really pleased with the location. It is within walking distance toRockefeller Center and Times Square. We were also really surprised by how nice and helpful the whole staff was. My wife as a little sick, and they did everything they could to help get her some relief. Everyone went above and beyond compared to the service we get at other hotels. January 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Absolutely dirty dirty dirty I have stayed at this W several times. This time was absolutely the worst. I was so surpirsed how quickly the W was able to turn the room over, however, much to my dismay the sheets had not been changed from the previous guest and they were blood stained. The spa is aging, the decor is aging and in a city with a lot of hotel opions I will choose to spend my time and money elsewhere. I have the pictures to prove the sheets, however, a manager has yet to get back in touch with me. May 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff needs improvement This was the worst experience I have had with Starwood. We are elite owners and stay at various Starwood properties but this hotel's staff needs ALOT of improvement! I was hassled by the front desk staff at the time of check-in and check-out. My room was the size of a postage stamp! I cannot comment on the food as I did not use the restaurant. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING STAFF During my month-long stay, the staff of the W New York went above and beyond. Always greeting me by name and asking how my stay was. Always there to satisfy any request I had. EVERYONE was great, but special thanks and kudos have to go out to Jessie, Marta and Ruffina in the housekeeping department, Carina, Isabel and Benito at the breakfast bar in the lobby, and Melvin in the gym/spa. These specific team members went ABOVE AND BEYOND in making sure I got whatever I needed. February 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Least Favorite W A great midtown location and a stunning lobby raise expectations that are immediately shattered by the long wait for check-in (or any dealings at the reception) and an I'm-too-cool-to-be-serving-you attitude. We were on a redemption stay and I was crestfallen to see the miniscule room with tired and dark decor, overlooking an air shaft. The ancient bathroom wouldn't rate 2 stars. We were expecting an urgent Fedex delivery and I advised of such upon arrival. The following morning I called Whenever/Wherever to inform the day staff and stressed the urgency. Five hours after it was confirmed delivered, the hotel still couldn't find it and claimed that the name of the person who signed for it was not even on staff! We spent an entire morning chasing this package and that was sufficient to sour me on this hotel for good. April 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Hotel Stay Ever I happened to be looking on the SPG site and out of curiosity looked at the reviews at this W since I still recall this as being the worst hotel stay I ever had and I am still unhappy about it. Great place to be part of the NY scene, but do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere. I have stayed at many NY hotels and I know rooms are small, but even by NY standards, this place was a cross between a cheap student dorm and a prison cell. Barely big enough for one person, and we were a party of two. Not even sure why they bother to have a hotel there. I would not stay there even if the room was free. I guess the staff gets this allot since they could have cared less when I asked about a better room. I have visited nearly 100 countries and have a large tolerance for hotel variations, but this place still gets me mad just thinking about it. April 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Couldn't handle the smell I've never in 18 years of weekly travelling asked to get my room changed. The smell in the room was overwhelming. They said it was their 'signature smell' and changed my room, and had the same problem. I'll deal with it tonight, I've had three windows open and it barely helps, but move on tomorrow. Additionally, they didn't recognize I was platinum or ask if I wanted my amenity. They even gave me a key holder that said to check into becoming an spg member. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Staff This is a great hotel and very close to many attractions in New York. My wife was not sure about the hotel, but once she was there she changed her mind. I was upgraded to a suite and it have a lot of space, bathroom was great. It is one of the best stays in new York. The room was keep it clean every day and the cleaning staff was very friendly. Check in was fast. I will try to book my next stay i this hotel if possible. Thanks W Hotel for a great stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met EXPECTATION !! Very Satisfied.... I stayed at the W Lexington December 2011. The staff were excellent . I arrived early before check-in time , and I was allowed early to check-in, I got a complimentary breakfast, and a larger room , for no additional charge. Room were very clean. Perfect. I would definitely stay here again. Great Service, and very clean. Did I mentioned that already., It was... Not to mention very close to all the main area , Walking distance to Times Square ETC.... February 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very friendly staff Everything was perfect until we checked out. Instead of using the express checkout we decided to go to the front desk and see the bill. We stood in line while the two desk clerks stood there looking at their computer screens for at least 10 minutes before they even acknowledged that anyone was in line to check out. As the line grew they continued to stare at their screens. Everything else was perfect but these clerks need some additional training. December 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sub-standard W experience This is a run-down and dingy W. There is little water pressure, the fixtures don't work, there are dings in the walls. It looks like a hotel where zero effort has been put into maintenance and periodic updgrades. It's also filthy. I lifted up the top sheet of the bed and there were long strands of black hair. There were napkins dropped in the hallway and a general bad odor permeated the hallway. I'd avoid this hotel if I have the chance. January 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel is okay. The cleanliness of the room was very disappointing. Hairs all over the bathroom - in the tub, in the sink, on the floor. Not what I expected of this kind of hotel. July 29, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 26 next>>