W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

  • State Road 200,
  • KM 3.2 - HC-1 Box 9368
  • Vieques Island,
  • Puerto Rico
  • 00765
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

  • Para hospedajes de más de 90 días, llame al 866-539-3446.
  • Solamente puede reservar con 550 días de anticipación.
  • Vuelva a revisar las fechas.
1 habitación 1 habitaciones , 1 adulto 1 adultos , 1 niño 0 niños
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 355 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Breathtaking views The W in Vieques has some very special features: an exquisite setting, breathtaking views, and a truly lovely set of infinity pools overlooking the ocean. The beach, while beautiful, is probably better suited to sunbathing or kayaking than to swimming, though the water is extremely clear, the walk into it is a bit rocky underfoot. (We didn't visit the adults-only "whisper beach" or venture off to explore other beaches in the area, but I understand many are wonderful.) Our room was spacious and and comfortable, with a cozy nesting chair and a conveniently large desk. However the room seemed a bit dark and the open-concept bathroom was not my favorite feature; even with the netted curtain drawn, I still felt exposed to anyone wandering past our back wall of windows/sliders. The shower also had a vaguely dank smell to it. Our private patio overlooking the ocean was thoughtfully equipped with a useful towel drying rack and the room had a visually interesting set of mismatched hooks and knobs that were awesome for hanging wet swimsuits and towels. It would have been great to have a hook or two in the bathroom as well, since there was not much room around the sink basin to place a toiletry bag or personal items. The concierge was very helpful in organizing a biobay tour (and transportation to it) for us. She sent us on our way with several tips and a pile of towels. The staff who drove us and our bags to and from the airport and who manned the airport lounge were also warmly solicitous and went out of their way to be of assistance. My family also loved the food and the service we received pool-side. The staff in Sorce, the on-site restaurant, were friendly but seemed new/not yet very knowledgeable about the menu (and also quite distracted.) The two front desk staff we interacted with could also have been more welcoming. We overheard a couple who came in to inquire about booking a room be sent off with advice to "check the internet for the best deal" and we were greeted at check-in with "Oh, another guest from Connecticut..." April 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Vieques The hotel location and access to the beach was great. As were most of the amenities. I was disappointed with attention to detail: • Upon check in light bulb not working in shower, shower hook coming off, and remote had no battery power. • Then when maintenance showed up they addressed the light bulb but had no work order for the hook … then when working on the hook left all the tools on the bathroom sink mixed in with my toiletries … not professional. • Things like the resort offered sun tan lotion for two days but couldn’t seem to find the lotion for the rest of my stay. • Had to ask twice (same day) for room cleaning … • All in all a nice stay but I expected more from a W location especially at the rates charged. April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun, memorable, relaxing We really enjoyed our 8 night stay at the W Vieques. I can't say enough about the friendly, attentive staff. Everyone went out of their way to insure we enjoyed our stay. We also really enjoyed the horses that roamed the property. They really added something different to our day and we looked forward to seeing them whenever/wherever. Great property, beaches, views. Loved the island too. Great diving and rec options. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location This property is harder than average to get to but worth it once there. Some of the F&B service is not up to US standards are far as friendliness and attitudes of the wait staff. Ricky, Timothy and Juan are employees who go above and beyond. While the property bills itself as a CAT 6 I would say it is a mid CAT 5. There are definitely areas the hotel can improve on. One night we had a reservation at Sorce and it then were told they were 30-45 min behind due to rain and power flickering off. While that wasn't really plausible in my mind, a simple phone call to our room would have been expected but not received. Some staff there strive to make your stay enjoyable. Others are aloof at best. Management should do more to make this a true CAT 6 and W property. Food and beverage could use a little more variety. I'd definitely give it another chance although many of the less than stellar reviews have some truths to them. April 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The only choice on the island Only real resort on the island. Unfortunately, some things are lacking. CONS: 1. No water bottle service for the rooms. 2. No free coffee maker - really? 3. Can't borrow umbrella for other beaches- why do i pay such a high resort fee? 4. $6 coffee is outrageous 5. Rusted bathtubs. 6. Lukewarm Jacuzzi. PROS: 1. Great location/views 2. Decent rooms. 3. Sexy lounge/lobby area. 4. In-house restaurant isn't as bad as people say it is. April 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by sanctuary / retreat. it was lovely to see this property so meticulous-ly re-branded within the W amenities and culture. being that it was a low season stay - we were fairly recognized by the staff and developed a fantastic vay-cay relationship with our livingroom bartender. she was absolutely fantastic and created a wonderful experiential quality. however - we were less than appreciated by the front desk staff. being that it was low season - we would have expected the slightest of recognition of our spg gold status and/or birthday / celebration wknd. at our property here in savannah, we try our best to go above and beyond for all of our celebratory guests... ..we were slightly disheartened that this same culture didn't seem to be in existence at this location. overall, vieques was a real gem and the property was a lovely retreat - one that we hope to return to again soon. April 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Almost! All prior reservations, CAR, MASSAGE, BIO BAY, made and confirmed twice, did not exist when i arrived! I reserved a cabana upon arrival with front desk, they wrote it on a sticky note and never confirmed! Staff did not seem to care! Thank God for WADE at the front desk and Diane at Black beard, they seemed intent on helping.. The rooms smelled of urine! However, everything about the wedding was amazing. April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful property, lovely stay My family of four had a fantastic six-night stay with SPG points for Spring Break. We were assigned an ocean-view room with two queens, just steps from the main pool. The grounds, facilities and rooms are beautiful, well-kept, and convey a unique island charm. As we had heard from other reviews, it seems that developing a strong pool of service staff is a challenge for the hotel (it is the only full-service resport on the island). Yet, while we experienced a few service-related issues, they were quickly and satisfactorily remedied by the excellent management team. Will will absolutely be back to enjoy the gorgeous views, the grazing whild horses, the balmy breezes, and the delicious passionfruit cocktails. April 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Stay Thank you very much for a great stay. It started well with an upgrade, and ended well with a late checkout, and everything in between, from the perfect level of service/attention to the resort itself, which is unlike any other Carribbean resort we've been to. Great job. April 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A relaxing time away in paradise A great place to get away and relax. A beautiful property very well kept. Very friendly staff. Spectacular views of the beach and ocean. A couple of nits. The on site food for breakfast and lunch was great. But dinner was overpriced and not that appealing. It took over 4 hours to get into our room despite arriving late afternoon. We had to call several times to check on the status (staff never informed us). I agree with another reviewer that the rooms are very dark. A simple fix would be to add reading lights. In general the phone "whatever, whenever" calling system worked well. April 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall - Great Place Hotel setting and view is truly amazing. Staff is excellent and incredibly friendly and helpful. WIFI is great for such a remote location and plenty of onsite activities. Food options are good and food is very good for a resort. My only complaint about the hotel is cleanliness. Don't get me wrong the hotel is generally very clean but it could be better. The staff just does not clean up debris quickly enough. I would walk around the grounds at 8 AM and see cups and bottles around the pools clearly from the night prior (we went to the black pool at 11 AM and small trash can was overflowing with trash from prior night). And the staff does not pick up quickly enough after serving food at the pool. Another example is the maid staff. We used in room wine glassses and they did not clean or replace the glasses. The clean job by maid staff was just ok. Also, they delivered shampoo/conditioner/etctera regardless of whether used or not. By the time we checked out we must of had 20 or so bottles piling up in the room. Rooms and views are amazing BTW. Stay here for sure. April 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelmed The hotel location was INCREIDBLE!!! However, don't call down and request anything, because you will never get it i.e. towels, room service, etc. We have a malfunctioning television that never got fixed, we were charged for bar and food which we never touched. It took them 3 weeks to credit back my credit card. Spend your time and money at other resorts April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wedding just came back from my wedding and expectations were met and exceeded. everyone especially Ross made everything seamless and stress free. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful in time of need We became stranded on Vieques due to weather, the W was the only hotel on the island with rooms. The staff were very friendly and accomidating to us, especially Arturo who helped us check in. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An overall great experience Overall, a great experience. A few items to improve. Yoga mats in exercise room need to be replaced. Equipment like paddles and snorkels are unavailable - that's what you pay the resort fee for. The adult beach is great, but you can't get umbrellas or chairs there. Food is very good. We wanted to watch the NCAA basketball games on a lobby TV, but the staff was unable to get their projection TV to work. The staff in general is very nice and helpful; Iris (sales) and Luis (security) deserve special mention. Our daughter received a bad sunburn and all were quite helpful. We will be back. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Check this place out Amazing quiet resort with great views, pools, spa, beach, etc. loved the atmosphere of the lobby and rooms. Resort not too big where you get lost. Great designed rooms. 4 nights was plenty as there was not too much to do at night on this small island. Biolumescent bay a must. Pools were nice and warm. Check out the plunge pool. Mojitos were tasty. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by day after nye this hotel is absolutely amazing! its design and location are stunning. the food is wonderful (and an excellent value compared to the quality and price i found elsewhere in pr). the staff was helpful and very attentive. the day after new years eve the rest, relaxation and pampering was everything i wanted and more. if i go back to pr i will spend as much time as possible at the w vieques. March 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I'd expect from a W... Where do I start? How about with checkin. We arrived early - 1130a - and understandably the rooms were not ready. So we waited patiently by the pool. 4pm was checkin and we didn't get our room until 545p. Not a great way to start our vacation. I have to say, the resort itself is quite nice. Horses run free on the property and in the early morning hours you can see them laying in the grass or grazing. The pool area was nice as well. Lots of seating around both pools. The service from the pool bar was attentive and quick. All the servers we had were great. Our rooms were a nice size and exactly what you'd expect from the W, spacious and well decorated. The bed was really comfortable. Now reality sets in. We're early risers and were down by the pool by 7a. Every morning the pool area was littered with trash, empty cups and bottles from the day/night before. There were no towels in the morning so you had to go to the front desk to get them. Towels didn't come out until close to 10a. How's that possible? Same with water. Bone dry until 10a. They also have 6 cabanas they charge $250 a day for. Not one person paid for any of them for the 6 days we were there. They just sat empty. Why wouldn't they just have them open? $250 a day? Unbelievable. They charge a $60 a day resort fee (actually $65.40 with tax) which includes Internet and non-motorized water sports, etc. The problem is with such a large property, you have to walk 1/2 to the other side to get paddles for kayaking, snorkel & mask for swimming in the ocean. You have to be there right when they open to ensure you get them or you'll miss out for the day because they don't have nearly enough to accommodate the number of people staying. The Internet is also included in the resort fee and its worse than a third world country. Seriously, dial up would be faster. This is unacceptable to me considering you don't have an option to use it because you're forced to pay for it. The hotspot on my iPhone worked 10 times faster. Ridiculous. Then there are the nature sounds at night they pipe in around the property. They're so loud you can hear them as if they're in your room. Frogs and crickets - two of the most annoying sounds anyone would want to hear at night. If we could have only found the plug, it would have been silent!! All in all I wouldn't return. This hotel is not what I'd expect from a W, especially for what they charge. We did have a great time only because there were 14 of us and it was the company that made the trip awesome. Proceed with caution. March 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous staff., Poorly designed rooms, Before I moved to the Financial Industry I spend 17 years in the travel industry. I truly feel the design of the rooms at the W totally ignored years of research into what make guests comfortable. I am comfortable and even applaud minimalism. However, shelving/counter space in the bathroom are a number 1 issue with woman travelers. this was sorely lacking and ergonomically uncomfortable. There was also a lack of drawer storage. Easily remedied. The lightening was inadequate and switches were in odd places. Enough complaints! The staff was tremendous. from Leo at the front desk (who was so gracious to find me a room with a better view, but to ne avail, Yaritza - what a patient lovely Concierge. I changed my plans every two days and she was always pleasant and got me exactly what I wanted.. George showed us around the island and he was able to read us and gave us exactly what we wanted with the usual Tour Guide nonsense. Javier was just so worm and friendly.. Joseph was such a charming waiter and last but not least - Ricky. he made us feel like he was a gregarious cousin with a great sense of humor. LOVED THE STAFF. Lovely location. ADD STORAGE to the rooms and get rid of that ridiculous macramé lamp the I always het my head on going to the bathroom! I will be back. Breakfast was great Lunch was dreadfully bland. March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel facilities were great. Company events were not! Overall, was a great resort. However during our trip there were 2 large corporate events on the property. The W closed the pool early one day for a company event and on another day they reserved over half of the pool area for another company....not good. The hotel management was very non-responsive to the guests when asked to accommodate everyone else. That was very disappointing given everyone has to pay the $60 per day resort fee. The restaurant was also out of dinner items (e.g. Pork) because they used all of their pork for the company buffet dinner. When I questioned the manager about it he lied. If the property is going to give special treatment to companies and ignore other guests, they should be more transparent. March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Vieques Overall a nice property if you are looking for relaxation and want to be off the grid. March 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement to be a top destination Pool area too limited with chairs No hot tub Severely understaffed Turn down service often missed Had to call for them to restock minibar Spa lacks facilities to enjoy pre massage like steam room plus lacks showers post massage Beaches on other parts of island much better Music playing late into night around pool even though no one out there so you can't sleep with your door open to listen to ocean Food is good compared to rest of island Close to everything since island is smal, Nice room Generally clean grounds Safe island Fitness center modern March 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by visually beautiful The grounds beautiful, the rooms are a little caverness and echoie...Felt the rooms we're more about looks than function....Air vents blew directly on the bed...Showers we're "cool" but not functionable:ie rain like showerheads that trickeled an wern't useful to get sand of, also no face/hand clothes to shower with. Shower walls had long hairs and soap scum on them(obvciously not ours, we both have crewcuts)...tv unusable/ unseeable from bed.. March 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service needs improvement The rooms are very nice , but the service leaves a lot to be desired. We had to call 3 days to get our room services. The concierge services made multiple mistakes and were away from their desk many times for long periods of time. Service overall was not as expected. Truly felt like a bother with every request. Our room was upgraded free but this was after we requested a move and had to wait multiple days due to front desk error. Food was okay, nothing to brag about. March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent Stay Although I wasn't thrilled with the food (save breakfast - top notch there), everything else was absolutely stellar. Rooms were great, the staff went above and beyond all expectations and I couldn't recommend staying here more. March 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice the hotel is very nice with alot of pleasures , but no coffee pots in room , no clock, no refridge , nothing that allows you to hold up in your room. the eary riser must wait for coffee March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Resort- Could be even better The hotel is beautiful and relaxing with a wonderful staff. The airport lounge and transport to the resort is a nice touch. Within 10 minutes of getting there, we wished we had booked more than one night. But, I am in the travel business and there are definitely a few things that would have made the resort outstanding, especially for a longer stay. l, Orientation: Our ambassador did not explain all of the features of the resort to us so we did not know that the snorkel and kayak equipment could be used for free or that there were tennis courts. I saw this on line when I was writing this review. 2. Resort fee: too high: $65.40 per day with tax and not much benefit that we could see. Rooms at this price should include any services that we received during our stay. Since the hotel is isolated and the Island is small, it would be nice for the resort to offer shuttle service a few set times a day to another beach (?Blue) or into Esperanza, perhaps at dinner. Sorce was good as a dinner choice, but it would not be interesting to have every meal at the same place. Paying a taxi $40 a day to go to the beach or eat is steep. 3. The Biobay adventure with Vieques ECO tour (Eric) was fantastic. It offers a less "touristy" experience (smaller group, no wasted time with drinks etc, and use of the parachute if needed on moonlit nites). This opportunity should be presented to all clients rather than referring them all to Blackbeard tours. 4. You should offer towel service by the pool instead of just at the beach. We will return, and with the above caveats, will recommend this resort to clients. March 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable experience My overall expirence of the hotel was a good. There were plenty of positives to mention especially some of the staff (Rickie - greater/bell hop) and (Dan was his name I believe but I called him Philly as that is where he is from) It is guys like that that make the stay completely enjoyable and make you feel right at home. My largest complaint is around the number of staff or lack there of at the concierge desk. The Whenever whatever is a great idea but when they transfer you to the Conciege and no one pick up it becomes extremly frustrating. This did not happen just once but almost everlytime they transfered me. I would then get kicked back to the Whatever whenbver team. Also there was very rarely ever anyone at the desk when I walked through the lobby. This is the type of thing where 2 ppl need to be staffd there at all times and the desk should never be left unattended. Another issue was the lack of umbrellas abailable for the beach. There were about 5 and when I pay a 65 a day resport fee there should be no issue with obtaining an upbrella at the beach. I could see if there were 25 of them and all being used but I think its time to buy quite a few more. (I know I was not the only guest with this thought). Lastly was the leak that began in Villa 3 on the day I arrived and flooded the path to villa 1 and 2. The water got worse until the day we left 4 days later and I finally saw a couple of guys placing some dirt on the water. I understand that leaks happen but we had to walk through the mud daily. Someone should have been placing dirt on it daily.until it was fixed. Other than those issues it was a greate expirence. Thanks February 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unable to properly make reservations for guests. My boyfriend and I booked a 3-night trip to Vieques solely based on the fact that we were staying at a W. Being well-traveled and having stayed at numerous W properties all over the world, I have become accustomed to - and expect - a certain level of hospitality and service at any W. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, there were issues. First, our room wasn't ready until after 4PM (which is an incredibly late check-in) - and when they brought us to our room (booked as a Spectacular ocean-front room with a balcony), we had a poolside first-floor room with no view (unless you count the barbeque station as a view, which I don't). After complaining about this, we were told there were no other available rooms until Sunday. Begrudgingly, we stayed put, but had to close our curtains at all times, sacrificing any natural light and the sparse view of the blue sky. Then, we went to scheduled dinner reservation for the evening (which we booked weeks in advance) - only to find that we, in fact, had no reservation. At that point, we decided to doublecheck every other reservation we had made to see if they had actually made the reservation. Unsurprisingly, they had not booked our couples massage. In fact, the spa was so busy they couldn't fit us in at any requested time, so we had to rearrange our schedule in order to fit into their schedule. We took a trip to the Bio Bay kayaking tour - shuttled by the hotel. However, when we were finished with the tour, we had no transportation back to the hotel. We were basically stranded in a random town in downtown Vieques. And if you know Vieques, you know there are no cabs readily available. While the manager (?) did try to make up for the hotel's mistakes (a room upgrade to an unnecessarily large suite for one night that was STILL on the groundfloor; a complimentary dinner at the hotel that was way below par in terms of quality; a free massage that ended up taking double the time due to inadequate staffing), I cannot overlook the fact that were significant missteps (on seemingly easy requests) every step of the way. The inadequacies of the hotel to properly accommodate their guests the way I expected to be accommodated was way below par - and way below what I have grown to expect from W hotels. All that being said, the hotel property is gorgeous. February 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff! This was one of the best vacations ever, great staff, food, and what a spot! would do it again in a minute! February 19, 2013
  • 2015-11-29 T07:35:46.443-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_355, tr_355
  • loc_en_US, sid_3170, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13 next>>