W New York - Downtown

  • 123 Washington Street,
  • (Entrance on Albany Street)
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10006
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years of age or older to reserve a guest room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 184 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by N Nameri Great location, impressive design and concept, But ...very little recognition is given to SPG Platinum members. Don't expect significant room up grade and the hotel do not participate in the SPG suite night award though they market on their web site two types of suits. Hotel is poorly managed. From my personal experience do not count too much on promises given by the hotel staff ( including the hotel manager himself!). We booked a room to celebrate our anniversary. I am heavy traveller and SPG Platinum member for 13 years. I dropped a line to the hotel asking to take into account that it is our anniversary and appreciate best service etc. Got nice replies but when checked in the room was serve for one, was not cleaned properly and had smoking smell from previous guest. Was given room on a relatively low floor and no significant up grade was made. If you need to be in the area, do not have a better alternative or get yourself a room at a promotional rate you may consider staying here but otherwise go elsewhere and save yourself a lot of aggravation. For SPG elite members - there are better Starwood options around NYC which valued our loyalty and one may enjoy the full scale of benefit offered to SPG Members. June 7, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by It was a very dissapointing stay at the W Hotel Downtown First, when booking over the phone thru Starwood, I was told we would be overlooking Times Square. Most of our activities were scheduled for above 34th. No one explained there are two W Hotels and the downtown one was at the south end of NY. Despite this, we looked forward to the stay as the staff at the door were very enthusiastic and the room was very nice. Once on the 5th floor, we found the staff to be less than personable and each time we would either be going from or coming back to the hotel, the staff at the front desk would not even look at you or say hi, even though they were not busy and/or chatting... this included the concierge who seemed to be more engaged with talking with the front desk staff. For the price of the room, I also found the nickeling and diming of the guests to be low end. Having to pay for Wifi as a SPG member; no water, other than one bottle in the room when we arrived; and, having to pay for access to the internet to print a boarding pass, was quite a negative surprise. Other issues include the glasses in the bathroom and wine glasses not being changed on the Sunday morning... a dirty wine glass with a small amount left in it was still on the table after housekeeping left. When going for a drink on the outside patio on the 5th floor, we were told it would take a long time (approx. 15 minutes) to get a drink due to the number of people there. There appeared to be a fair number outside, but not many people inside. On a Friday at 5:00PM, I was surprised that only one waitress was working and it would take this long to be served. We ended up going somewhere else. All in all, it is one of the most negative stays we have had for a hotel. As this was our 35th wedding anniversary trip, it made it all the more disappointing. DB July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Downtown, this is where you want to be! Hey, I know W's, globally. Been to a lot of them. This is a good one. In fact, in my humble opinion this is the best one in NYC. Hands down. I've stayed here for an extended stay in 2011. At the time of my visit they were still renovating, so only ROOMS where available, not suites. They promised me next time I'll get the suite upgrade as a PLAT as soon as they are ready! I am holding them to this! Ok, so it's downtown, what's wrong with that? Nothing! You are a $11 cab ride away from Time Square. BUT you are paying on average 20-40% less than what you would pay for any hotel near Time Square. Also, this is a W, so when they got promo's as they often do, you'll get even better things like free parking, free booze or bonus points. So stay here, enjoy the W feel and avoid the tourist crowd, even if you are one, act like your not when you come here! This is a cool hotel, totally worth the price (for W standards) and in my opinion at a fantastic location. Right in front of Ground Zero. Oh and the food on their lobby floor bar/lounge was fantastic. This hotel meets and exceeds all category 5 and some category 6 expectations too! Hit them up, tell them the good tipper sent you! November 22, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, other aspects need improvement Hotel is in great location near Ground Zero. Very modern, chic hotel, but found it focused on a younger crowd. Public areas closed off twice while there for events (lobby & bar). One event had extremely loud music making it uncomfortable getting to room. Elevator issues while there, but staff sent letter of explanation with drink coupons. Ate breakfast three three times in BLT restaurant and while food was really good, service was terrible. Twice food was prepared wrong and getting them to come around after dropping off food to refill anything or to check on you fell short of acceptable. The front desk staff was unfriendly during check-in and check-out. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for downtown business travelers New hotel with a great vibe and great location downtown. Service is top notch. Runners will love the easy access to the beautiful waterfront trails. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Got a room with great view of WTC. The hotel is located in a very convenient location in downtown, subway station nearby, and about less than 5 minute walk to Wall Street. The room is really WOW!! I was impressed about the design elements inside the rather small space (you know you won't get a huge room in downtown NYC). Restaurant was also very nice, they got some good food there. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel is great if you're in your 20's The doorman were very nice and helpful. The staff that checked us in were not welcoming AT ALL and the concierge was not very helpful either. We checked in on a Friday night and it was very clubby. The lightening in the room wasn't that great either. Our room didn't have a room length mirror which would have been nice. Also, the Javitis center tax and tourism tax was a bit annoying. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cozy, in a good way For a NYC hotel room, this was just about right. I've stayed here twice before, this year, and even though it's often far away from where I need to be, I consider it worthwhile, as the service here is above par even on a bad day. I had an unusual amount of requests and questions during this stay, and I was lucky enough to reach Johnny at the Whatever/Whenever line almost every time I called. That experience plus the fantastic overnight staff at check-in confirmed again why I choose this hotel almost exclusively when traveling in NY. December 30, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel - typical size of a NY hotel We got upgraded to a corner deluxe king room. The windows are tall but the view is not spectacular - just because of the location of the hotel. The room is not spacious but the decor and everything are definitely a W standard. November 7, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Experience terrible, front desk rude and dismissive Horrible place- We went up to room and 1 kingsize bed only. It was myself and 2 teenage daughters and had requested 2 double beds. When I called the desk, I was told there was nothing else available. When I asked for a rollaway, I was also told "out of luck" they have none left. No alternatives or solutions given. They sent up some extra bedding, WOW! On top of everything else, a few days later, I noticed a charge on my card for $39.52, called the hotel, put on hold for a half hour and all anyone could tell me was it was supposedly something from mini bar-we never went near Mini bar! Reversed charges-but frustrating! Would never recommend this hotel! August 1, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Disappointed I live in the area and was having work done in my apartment so I had no electricity and decided to book two nights at the Downtown W. I was woken up at 5 am to a guest screaming in the hallway and banging on another door. The yelling continued as security arrived and the guest and security argued. I checked out shortly after as I was extremely uncomfortable being a woman and being alone in that situation. When I explained to the front desk why I was checking out a day early the employee said yes we had to get the police involved. No apology, no effort to offer anything for the inconvenience. To add fuel to the fire I was charged $21 for a munchie box that I did not eat. Three days later and I'm still waiting for a call back from their Finance department. January 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend get away Came to NYC with my son for a weekend and stayed and enjoyed several of the hotel features including the restaurant, and the deck and the bar. Convenient to subway system and downtown sites. Responsive and helpful staff. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by w New York Downtown has a spectacular ambiance which is in a way comforting and welcoming First impression matters and I had a very. good one which started at the entrance of the hotel: The bell boys set me at ease with their winning. and warming personalities. They exude hospitality at it's best. Check in was a breeze at the living room lounge. My only disappointment came when I entered the bathroom of my room. Housekeeping were sloppy at their task.. I hope they scrub the bathrooms top to down; and under the sinks after each guest. I really enjoyed the coffee in the living room every morning. Best brewed coffee ever: I cannot find enough words to describe the Acura experience. Well done W Hotels December 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could stand to improve... Being a loyal Starwood member, I have to pick this hotel since its the only SW property in the vicinity of my client. However, I believe the cleaning staff could do a MUCH better job at cleaning the rooms. There seemed to be a superficial cleaning job done in 2/3 of my last few stays - Take a closer look at the carpets, particularly where the carpets meet the walls - its filthy. The shower floors have scum build-up and and due to the dim lighting, a lot of the dirt is masked. I would hope that Management pays a little more attention to this. I am going to give it another chance, and then I am going to move. June 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Stay with great employees Hotel is located in a great location in the Financial District and only 1 block to the nearest subway station. The hotel is definitely showing its wear in the rooms as well as the common areas but the excellent employees more than make up for it. The room itself was a bit dirty with food stains on the carpet, mold on the shower floor and dust on all the shelving and night stands. The bed itself was comfortable and there was ample storage for all our items during our stay so we didn't feel so cramped. The views of the memorial are beautiful as well. The only downside is that the lobby bar does not open until 5pm so you cannot relax on the terrace during the afternoon with a drink without going to the ground level bar and bringing your drink back up with you. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel I have stayed in many of the Starwood Hotels and loved all of them. This one was beautiful but the room I was assigned was not fully cleaned and a big paper bag with garbage from the previous guest was left in the room just outside the bathroom. Unfortunately I had an emergency at home so I didnt get to ask for a room change because I didnt stay the night. I am sure my experence would have been as amazing as all the others but I was very surprised to walk into a room like that from the W Hotel. I will continue to stay at Starwood hotels because all my other experiences have been wonderful. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by OUTSTANDING Service! ~ Great Location! I am a frequent traveler, my preference is Starwood hotels. This is a one year old hotel with great views of the 911 memorial. Rooms were surprisingly larger than expected. The service was Outstanding! January 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by all flash; no substance considering the price of this hotel one would think there were more ameneities. The rooms have constant noice from WTC construction, They also have cheap fixtures and the bed was not comfortable. December 5, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely Poor Service Dont stay here if you plan to go anywhere. December 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My review Great hotel, loved the bar and balcony June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience, very welcoming and fun I came to the W as a displaced person in November as my apartment was affected by Sandy. Living only a few blocks away, I'm familiar with the neighborhood. While it's quiet and night (which I enjoy as a resident), and crowded with tourists during the day (9/11 Memorial site is directly across the street), the Hotel brings a hip vibe that you'd expect to find a neighbhorhood like SoHo or TriBeCa. It definitely adds to life to the otherwise quaint area. I was instantly greeted "Welcome Back" by the friendly staff outside. They led me up to the Lobby (which is on the 5th floor). I'm a detail-oriented person and instantly obsessed over the elevator carpet that gets changed throughout the day,. greeting you with "Good Morning" "Good Afternoon" and "Good Evening". The lobby is very cool, and unlike any other Hotel lobby. Again, the friendly staff welcomed me to the Hotel and checked me in effortlessly with a smile on their face. My room was rather large and very modern. The bathroom was also large and came equipped with bliss products (so good!). My view was breath-taking of the WTC. I figured as someone who was checking in for a few weeks they wouldn't pay much mind to me, seeing as I was staying at the FEMA rate due to my inhabitable apartment. It was to my surprise the excellent service I received by ALL staff. From the guys downstairs greeting at the entrance (who always ensured a cab was waiting for you), to the front desk and concierge (so sweet and helpful), to the housekeeping (12th floor woman is fantastic!) and of course (and maybe most importantly) the bartenders at the lobby bar. I ended up extending my stay, thanks to the front desk manager for allowing my extension during an otherwise crazy time of the year in NYC. Although the W is a luxe, larger-scale hotel, they truly made you feel at home. It was nice to have the staff know you on a first-name basis and really provide you with superior service. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone traveling to or within NYC. Although it is far downtown, it's in walking distance of SoHo, TriBeCa and a couple of stops on the express train to union square and midtown. Wall Street and the beauty of Downtown Mnahattan is footsteps away as well. I wouldn't hesitate to come back to this location or any other W around the world. I fully intend on making my way back to the Lobby Bar- the guys mix up delicious cocktails tailored to your liking! A++++! January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Staff Really Exceptional The hotel is very nice but the staff is great. From arrival via auto (helpful, friendly, and told me about my parking options), the same person taking my bags to check-in, and then up to my room (to often you get 1-3 different people to tip). Front desk offered me best views and availability. Acura car scheduled for my wife the next morning. Checkout fast and easy. Bag check was free and people were very helpful and responsive. Valet was fast. 1st floor Sunday night dinner was average. January 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The "W" stands for Worst at this location. This hotel came up short by W standards. We arrived about an hour before check in and the front desk person told us that our room would be ready at 3:00. No problem, that was to be expected. We came back at 3:00, and our room was still not ready. After waiting 30 minutes, a supervisor came over to apologize for the wait and told me that they had just credited me $50 in their system. He said if I didn't spend it on anything at the hotel that it would be applied to my balance at check out. I didn't use it during my stay, and at check out there was no $50 credit. After check in we went up our room on the 19th floor. We put our bags in the room, then we were ready to go out and see NYC. We go out into the hallway to find out the elevators had stopped working! There is a phone by the elevators that you're supposed to use to reach someone if there are any issues within the hotel, nobody answered when we called about the elevator. So my wife, 2 small children, and I had to walk down the stairs from the 19th floor! After seeing the sights the elevators were up and running again, so we thought. We got up to our room fine, but when my wife and children tried to go back downstairs for something to eat the elevator they got on wouldn't move after the doors closed! Luckily, the doors opened back up after a minute or two so that they weren't trapped. A hotel with 30 floors can not have so many issues with its elevators. I'm glad we were only there for one night. I recommend staying somewhere else when visiting NYC. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff & Service During my stay for the TD 5 Borough Bike Tour I was constantly surprised by how smoothly everything went. From check-in, valet, bike storage, baggage storage to overall friendliness and knowledge of the staff. Other than a minor hiccup with the room (1 king vs 2 doubles), which was pleasantly resolved in minutes during check-in, I am beyond pleased with my stay. The staff was well prepared for the flurry of bikers and bikes to manage. I was always greeted with a smile and positive attitude. And most impressive was that I was always given the same answers to questions regarding logistics regardless of who or when I spoke with someone. Pleasantly pleased is actually a bit of an understatement. I was so thoroughly impressed it actually motivated me to write this review! Thank you W for the excellent service and accommodations. May 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overlooking World Trade center memorial If you need to be in lower manhattan than this is a great option. you are close to the financial district and the world trade center memorial. June 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor cleanliness and housekeeping The room was not properly cleaned (had left-overs from dinner of the last stay!). Room also was not properly stacked with water / toiletries for the first night of my stay February 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing I have stayed in this hotel before, and really enjoyed it. This time, I had requested a quite room, and got one facing the WTC site, with construction noise. The hotel held an even that night on the 5th floor, which was fine, but between 1am and 2am, people walked through the 12th floor continuously, with walkie-talkies on full volume. Last thing I was looking forward to after a 14 hour flight. August 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay for the View over WTC alone I was a bit concerned about the location - so far south of the action but, indeed, it turned out to be perfect....with Century 21 shopping a stone's throw away and Wall St./Trinity Church around the corner. The room was beautifully hip and the view over WTC both stunning and moving - especially with the cranes illuminated at night. I found the staff to be friendly and well-informed. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful service! We booked this particular hotel because we would be in town for the annual TD Five Boro Bike Tour. The customer service went above and beyond to make our stay most pleasurable. We received prompt valet service, a room that was ready early (plus an unexpected upgrade-thank you), and never encountered anyone unpleasant. Checkout was effortless, and the concierge service was impeccable! May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel! This was a very last minute booking after having to extend a day-trip to the New York area. I normally would not have chosen this location, but the hotel was wonderful. Upon checkin, I was not given any gold upgrade or ammenity, but I was told the hotel was full. The gentleman that checked us in was very nice and helpfull. The woman at the counter later with a thick accent was quite rude. Drinks on the balcony in the Living Room bar were amazing. The hour we spent there with perfectly made drinks overlooking the 9/11 memorial was a very memorable experience. I would come by for a drink even when not staying at the hotel. The rooms were small (but normal for NY standards) and things were clean. There was no soup or shampoo in the room, but it only took 10 minutes to get after a call downstairs. I was charged $5.95 for in-room internet. I never used any internet, and I didnt even have a computer or tablet with me. I thought the charges for in-room internet were higher, anyway. I tried to question this at check-out but the line was too long and we were late for a meeting. August 20, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>