W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirment Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older for room reservations.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 411 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was amazing The customer service is one of the best I'd ever experienced, from the front desk to room service. They were all polite, courteous and so gracious. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others! Thank you W for such a wonderful stay!! February 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status lacking I wanted to try another Starwood hotel so I decided to stay at the W. When we arrived the lobby was busy and the bar had a few people in it along with a DJ. It was around 8 or 9pm. The clerk greeted me and checked me into my 2 rooms. He said that I was a Platinum member and finished checking me in. I then asked if there were any upgrades and he said that I was upgraded to a corner room with a view. It would have been nice to know that I had received an upgrade. He told me where the elevators were and we went to our rooms. He mentioned nothing else. When we got to our rooms my wife asked about our breakfast comp and the clerk had not said anything about it. So I called the front desk and the clerk said that if I would come down he would have the voucher for me. We went down to get the voucher and it was the same clerk that checked me in and he said that I had asked for the Starwood points earlier instead of the breakfast. I told him he never mentioned the choices at all and that I definitely do not need anymore points. He got us the vouchers one for each of my rooms. I was very disappointed in the the lack of recognition a Platinum member held from this encounter which was my first, aside from the valet. I became a Platinum member for elite service and your hotel doesn't seem to show any different service than another common guest. The lobby had people in it yet I was the only one checking in at the time. There was another clerk doing nothing at another station maybe they might have been better, who knows. Your hotel was nice and clean. We enjoyed the beds, very comfortable. The hotel look was trendy and had a nice atmosphere. But I am not sure if I would go there again since there are so many other choices to stay at. I hope you can improve on your customer service because that is what gets people back time and time again. thanks for your time. March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room with a View This was the best stay ever at the W. The crowds were and the staff was more available and attentive. As an SPG Golf member, I received an awesome upgrade to a corner room. It was gorgeous. I got double charged on my bill for dinner, which was rather unpleasant. The car service doesn't begin until noon and was already booked, so that could use some improvement. Overall though, this the best stay ever at the W. November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oh So Fab! Came there with my husband and two small children, we were a bit worried with the kids but the staff made us very comfortable. We slept in for the first time in ages, the beds and pillows were very comfy. The room & bathroom was exceptionally clean (I'm a clean freak). The bliss products in the bathroom were like the cherry on top. Y'all think of everything! Love the hotel and will be returning again and again. August 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by NEEDS BETTER TOWELS when i stay at a four star hotel i expect better towels than when i stay at a two and three star hotel we have stayed at this hotel before and I thought there was a microwave in the room, however there was no microwave in the room this time. Mike Jerkovich February 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Great location, clean. However, lobby bar and restaurant way too loud. Tried it once and didn't go back for four days. Also, we were put in a handicap room without being told. Bathroom and closet were handicap friendly but not friendly to us as a couple. The staff was very nice and accommodating. February 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst W Hotel Location This hotel does not measure up to other Starwood hotels. As a Platinum member I expected more from this location as I was traveling here utilizing points while on vacation. It was such a disappointment. This W hotel location is lacking in service. It's unfortunate that I utilized points for my entire 3 day stay. It was such a waste. It was so bad that I will never stay at this location ever again. July 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great for some but not me I think this hotel might be better if you are single and used to a smaller condo or apartment with IKEA furniture - furnishings looked like moderately priced IKEA items. For me it fell short of my expectations for the price. I also thought the New Years event party was sub-par, It was not very exclusive / packed. It was difficult to get drinks and the one's ordered were very poorly put together. May 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs a line/ aisle at registration No doubt the hotel is spectacular but I think one con-needs an aisle /line at registration indicating spg/ non-spg members so that registering guest will know if people in the lobby(considering the space ) are just standing/hanging out or really waiting in line..had a bad experience this weekend during the SF pride with one guest...I would have given it a 5star if that incident didn't happened.. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location & views, but expensive parking W Hotel in San Francisco offers some amazing views from the room of the Bay Bridge. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The lobby has recently been redone and is much brighter than previously. Pros: Location is great - 10 min walk to Union square, restaurants and nightlife. Great service, with friendly and attentive staff. Cons: Parking is extremely expensive (over $50 overnight) October 31, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by WORST EXPERIENCE EVER me and a close friend stayed at the hotel recently over the weekend of June 23,2012. After a long a trip from central California up to the bay area, I went up to the front desk and wanted into to check into my room. As I arrived to the front desk, a hotel associated asked me some questions. She asked me for my credit card on file. I currently have a MasterCard debit card that used to book the room. She then, swiped the card, and asked me, "how much do you have on here?" I told her, less than 50 dollars. I wasn't sure why she was asking me this. So now, all of the sudden she tells me that the hotel charges 200 dollars a NIGHT for any incidental fees. (I booked the room for two nights) I was completely blow away with that statement. I had already booked the room WELL IN ADVANCE (Back in MARCH in be precise) and i didn't have any spending extra spending money on my card. I told the hotel associate that " I was completely unaware of that, I thought that booking in advance was enough" She then NEGOTIATE some sort of "plea bargain". She stated that because I had booked the room in advance, she would only charge me 200 dollars and not 400 dollars for the incidental fees. Told her " Let me make some phone calls, and i'll come back up to the front desk." The hotel associate insisted that one of the other associates hold my bags for me. So I gave her my bags. After making some phone calls, I went back up to the front desk, and the associate that previously helped went on "break". I was persistent that I needed to speak with her again. One of the lobby attendants went outside to locate her. He came back and told me " the next associate will be happy to help you. " So I went up to the desk again, and explained my situation. as I was explaining this; the new associate looked at me will a puzzled look. She then stated " the incidental fee, is a one time set fee of 200 dollars. you don't pay that fee per night, that you stay here" so then she swiped my card, and she gave me my room key. I was so happy that I had finally got my room key, for a room that I had paid for well in ADVANCE. My friend was even calling around for other hotels just to see if anything was available; and being that it was PRIDE weekend, no other room were available. You may think this is the end of my story but it's not. I was so tired and exhausted for STRESSING about my getting room, that I had forgotten to retrieve my bags. So I went back to the front and asked for my bags. *SIGH* A lobby attendance approached me, and I told him " oh I need to get my bags" He then asked " do you have a baggage claim ticket." I told him "no, the hotel front desk insisted apon taking our bags. when i went to make that phone call that is when they took them." "oh, so you need to speak to a manager" He stated. After a few minutes he walked out with my bags. FINALLY. and then he asked "would you like me to take them to your room?" I told him "sure" I was fed up with the hotel and staff by now. So he brought the bags up to my room, and that was it. Due to the these experiences I don't suggest you stay this hotel. Along with the following reasons. 1. NO FREE WIFI IN ROOMS. only in the "living room or club area" of hotel 2. INCIDENTAL FEE OF 200 DOLLARS. This policy was not stated whatsoever on the hotel's website. If it was there, I wouldn't have stayed here. 3. LOCATION. It is nowhere near the ballpark. The reason i stayed at this hotel is because I wanted a close hotel near the ballpark for VANS WARPED TOUR 2012. June 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location But staff totally dropped the ball on a delivery. Messenger left a package I was expecting prior to my arrival. I asked for it when I checked in but was told it wasn't there. Checked again with the front desk after I return from dinner but was told nothing was logged. When I checked out after two nights, the front desk clerk handed me the package which she said had been there for two days. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and good location We go to SF for weekend getaways, and this was one of our best stays so far. We were upgraded to a higher floor, and the kids enjoyed the view very much. They spent most of the time sitting by the window. Staff was friendly, and service was great from valet, to the front desk, to room service. I like that the hotel is a walking distance to Union Square. We will definitely go back again. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel was an ideal location We enjoyed our stayed. The negatives were (1) elevator and room key. did not consistently work and (2) room was not cleaned timely. We had to call a couple of times to have it cleaned February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A weekend getaway~ Awesome as always! I love the W! March 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite SPG in San Francisco The staff has always been amazing from check-in to Whatever/Whenever requests. The rooms are spacious and always clean. Every time I come to the area I try to stay at this hotel. It's modern and classy and the bathrooms are huge. The only drawback is the gym is small and in the morning before work it is really crowded. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience in every way! The staff was friendly and warm, which is sometimes hard to come by in high end hotels. Everything was clean, comfortable and cozy. Even the bed met my fiance's standards which almost never happens! We also had an awesome view of the city from our room which was an added bonus. I would definitely recommend the W hotel to anyone who wants to have an enjoyable stay in San Francisco. February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good staff and service Booked New Year Eve and am satisfied about the hotel and service. The room is very clean and huge TV impressed me. Decoration of room is special and you will like it. The only con is that there was a party and the music in lobby was extremely loudly that you cannot even hear what the Frontdesk staff saying. January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Full disclosure. Only complaint was the matter which I was quoted the price of the room. I was told via phone it would be $289 with my federal employee discount. After the $40 "hotel fee," parking, and god knows what other misc charges, it came out to $433! I would have never agreed to get those rooms for at that rate. With that said, the hotel is beautiful and the staff are very accommodating. December 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fabulous Stay-Cation We booked a one-night stay for a local stay-cation, and extended our visit a second night. Claudia at the front desk helped us with our request, and kept me informed of the status while I was at work. We were able to stay in our fabulous corner room without having to move. Bliss spa was wonderful. We intend to stay at this W again for a monthly or bi-monthly local stay-cation. January 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing room, poor quality I was celeberating me and my wife's 5-year wedding anniversary. I wanted to make it perfect, so i booked one night at the W (sf). I used my points to get the Fabulous Suite. The day-of, i was told i would upgraded to the Extreme Wow Suite, which i was highly excited for. Once i walked in the view was breathtaking. As i was setting-up the room for my wife's arrival i noticed a few of the lights weren't working. I contacted engineering and after two failed attempts of replacing mis-matched bulbs, they determined the fixtures were broken. A few of the lamps were unplugged from the walls because the switches on the lamps were broken themselves. The touch display was also broken on the radio in the main bedroom. Also when moving around a few of the chiars, i noticed several crumbs and debris that was either "swept under" or not seen to guests. There was also an espresso machine, but no capsules to use it with. Regardless, my wife and i had an amazing time enjoying the room. It was just a few details that set's the W apart from the rest that were not addressed. February 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location - poor service Needed a rental car, so called concierge in the afternoon. Left a message. Never heard back. Upon returning from dinner, stopped by desk and asked to speak to someone regarding a rental car. Was told concierge was on break, but I would hear shortly. Concierge called to say she would arrange call first thing in the morning and call me by 8am. Left room at 900 am with no call. April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Silver Anniversary We wanted a celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary locally and we had a great experience at the W. Mark ensured we felt welcomed and Lina ensured we had a wonderful celebration dinner at the Trace. The corner room with a view was nice and the location of the W was within walking distance to many great places. The service from check-in through check-out was excellent. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Service! The W San Francisco is what you would expect from the W brand....great location, great product. The service at this W however is above the "normal" expectation...from the moment I walked in the door to the time I left, I felt like a true guest! There is not one staff person who stood out, as everyone was incredibly pleasant and helpful! I definitely would return! February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by More Than Expected We booked three rooms for my daughters 23rd birthday and the staff was more than accomidating by finding all three on the same floor and very near each other ! The rooms had beautiful views and they were very clean ! The beds were wonderful ! And breakfast the next morning was so good ! Great experience ,I would recommend this fun beautiful hotel to everyone ! May 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Smells The hotel overuses the "W' scent, rather than smelling clean it just smells. I had an issue with my first room because it was SO heavily scented, I actually had trouble breathing. The gentleman at Wherever - whenever basically told me to live with it - all the rooms were like that. The evening manager however had a better attitude. He showed me another room that was not so overly scented. He also gave me fan and an ozone machine: however the hotel called me three times in the middle of the night looking for the machine and fan: 11pm, 11:30 pm and 1am. YES: 1 am, that was uncalled for. Overall the new room was comfortabel but it was not what I would call clean: the mattress cover had stains all over it. I had it removed: the houskeeping staff that came in to remake the bed were WONDERFUL and for that reason I have the hotel three stars. The location was ideal and I would give it another try. Also, the bar/restaurant were superb. March 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and Fun The hotel is very convenient to the conference center and walking distance from BART. Good location to restaurants and fun as well. Great bar with good drinks and good service February 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel Had a great weekend stay at the W San Fran. The staff was pleasant and helpful when asking for restaurant suggestions. The room was great except for this color changing Buddha in the room. Not sure if it was meant to be a night light but I couldn't figure out how to turn it off and too lazy to call and ask how to do it. I would definitely stay there again. March 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel room 2502 needs improvement To whom it may concern, I am writing this to bring to your attention of my recent experience at the San Francisco W. I stayed five nights at room 2502, thanks to an upgrade offered to me. However, there's constantly some unidentifiable noise inside the bathroom. It wasn't bothering me in the beginning of my stay, but it was progressively worsened. I was too exhausted after work to bring this matter to management and ask for a different room. Another thing that needs improvement is the card reader inside the elevator. My co-workers who stayed at W and I also experienced difficulties having our hotel cards scanned on a few occasions. I did notice other hotel guests were experiencing similar problem. Besides the two issues as aforementioned, the hotel facilities and staffs were excellent. Kevin, the associate who assisted my check-in and check-out was friendly and helpful. He was very patient and offered his sincere apologies to me as I explained my room situation during check-out. Being a SPG platinum member, I want the best experience for other travelers. But most importantly, I am hoping these issues will be addressed immediately. Regards, Tsunghin Ho February 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Service This hotel was fantastic, I have stayed at other W properties before, but this was my first experience in San Francisco. From the front desk to the bar staff to the wait staff, the service was top notch and I will be staying here every time I need to come to the city. Also a very convenient location for both business and leisure. November 19, 2013
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 15 next>>