W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Registered hotel guests must be 21 years of age or older.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 472 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by More Than Expected We booked three rooms for my daughters 23rd birthday and the staff was more than accomidating by finding all three on the same floor and very near each other ! The rooms had beautiful views and they were very clean ! The beds were wonderful ! And breakfast the next morning was so good ! Great experience ,I would recommend this fun beautiful hotel to everyone ! May 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous, funky hotel in a great location! I was in San Fran for a business meeting, but stayed behind in order to hang out and visit and old friend. I got a high room and great view of the Bay Bridge (with light show at night). The staff was nice, responsive, and cheerful. I ordered room service my first night in town by using the W mobile ap on my iPhone...the process was flawless and my meal was delivered to my room in under 20 minutes. The chef even included a special dish for me to try at no additional cost. Great experience... I would definitely stay again and recommend to others. May 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Hotel In San Francisco Room perfect the service the same good staff. May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything was perfect except one staff Your staffs and hotel are outstanding. I really enjoyed my stay. However, one of your front desk agent was rude. I wanted it to tell her upon checking out, but I just left. I don't know her name but it was an Asian girl with long hair working around 9am on Sunday 5/5. Also, she was there around 10-11am on Saturday 5/4. She didn't eye contact me and smile 'at all'. Her attitude was very rude overall. You need to train her how to deal with people. I felt so uncomfortable all the time and unfortunately it was my last impression of the hotel, so even though everything was perfect, I more likely remember this happening. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by such a great hotel love this hotel. attentive and pleasant staff. awesome property and good location. had a room with a bay bridge view and the room and amenities were all up to date. May 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleasant Place to Stay in SF Contemporary - hip. Great location. Ease of access to rooms. Great staff and service. Food terrific in Trace. May 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hip yet cozy Even with the incredibly hip vibe the hotel has from check-in to lifts to the rooms, it's also incredibly cozy with seats in the windows to enjoy the view and all the amenities you could possibly dream of. May 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location - poor service Needed a rental car, so called concierge in the afternoon. Left a message. Never heard back. Upon returning from dinner, stopped by desk and asked to speak to someone regarding a rental car. Was told concierge was on break, but I would hear shortly. Concierge called to say she would arrange call first thing in the morning and call me by 8am. Left room at 900 am with no call. April 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service I have stayed twice in this hotel... once for business and once for pleasure. Both times I received exceptional service. All of the employees I have encountered at this hotel go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that your stay is above par. I have stayed in other hotels in the city and The W is by far the best. The rooms are so comfortable, you hardly feel as if you are in a hotel at all and the Bliss bathroom amenities are awesome! Within walking distance of everything including Moscone Center, Union Square, and even a Giants game!! Love this place and can't wait to return. April 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by NO IN-ROOM COFFEE LOVE THE ROOM AND LOCATION. HATED THE TRACE RESTAURANT - FOOD CHOICES SO MINIMAL, AND THE BAR WAY TO NOISY WITH TECHNO MUSIC. NO RELAXING AFTER A LONG DAY AT ALL. I LIKE TO HAVE A COFFE MAKER IN THE ROOM April 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor customer service I Paid extra 30 dollars for a room upgrade that included Internet access, but I was charged an extra 14,95 daily for Internet use, I had to call everyday of my stay to dispute it, the front desk would remove for that day, but it would showed again on the next, so it was a hassle to deal with their poor management. Also the sound proof is very poor, as we were awaken on our second night twice as security had to come to the room carol the hall, and kept us up with their talk in the hallway. Very disappointed. April 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not that happy as a Gold Member Staying in the extreme wow suite for an off-site meeting was a disappointment. Seemed a bit run down and the butler pantry had no trash bags or cleaning supplies for the dishes April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a wonderful stay at the W! My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the W San Francisco and couldn't have had a better experience! The hotel itself was gorgeous, super clean, had all the amenities you could need, and had a nice trendy vibe. The location was perfect, walking distance of everything (BART, union square, Chinatown, etc). We used the complimentary Acura car service and were accommodated right away which was awesome and our driver was awesome! He was super friendly and helpful. The assistant manager Claudia knew we were there to celebrate our anniversary and went above and beyond to make our stay as special as possible! I had emailed her the day before check in to see if it was possible to check in early and even though the hotel was sold out not only did they accommodate us with early check in but Claudia treated us to a room upgrade with a beautiful view! Later that evening we were surprised with a room service delivery of appetizers, deserts, and free cocktails. Claudia also left us a super sweet hand written note as well wishing us a happy anniversary. Of all the hotels we have stayed at I've never had such a genuine experience with the staff like the way Claudia made us feel on this trip at the W. She made us feel truly special and we will definitely be staying here again at our next trip up to San Francisco. April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient location The W is conveniently located, easy access to all the tourist destinations. There's an Acurate car service at he hotel, with a reservation, a driver (in a brand new Acura) can drop your party off within a 3 mile distance to the hotel, they do not pick up though. I thought the room and bathroom looked a bit dated, but the service was pretty awesome! We did not care for the room service food, didn't care for the oat meal, and pancakes we ordered. April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by W style, Good Location This is a nice W, good location for sightseeing, shopping, Convention center. W style in full force, good service. Some of the rooms are small, but well appointed. April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed my stay Even though I enjoyed my stay in SF for the AKA International convention last July, I was a bit disappointed with the size of the room. The view of the city was nice and I especially appreciated the cleanliness. April 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Invasion of Privacy Within 3 hours of checking in, a hotel security member keyed into my room without knocking claiming he was looking for something for a prior guest. Thankfully I had the security bolt against the door that alerted me someone was attempting to come in. Then at 3am that evening people were banging doors, walls and screaming in the hallway. I called the front desk and they claimed they sent someone up to tell them to quiet down, however, it took quite some time for it to actually quiet down. The room is OK but not clean. I love W hotels and their products but this hotel room was not clean. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Stay was awesome The hotel is beautiful, and the staff is awesome! April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay Our stay at the W San Francisco was very comfortable. The staff was always attentive, the room clean, the beds comfortable and ours had a great view. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by people make the difference have stayed here multiple times, with kids, and despite the trendier clientele here, our family of 4 always get the red carpet treatment. We needed some swim goggles of all things so the kids could enjoy the pool, and Robert from the Bliss Spa not only tracked some down for us, he hand delivered them to us at the pool. I thought, wait am I back traveling in Asia? I haven't seen this level of service in a long while. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Exceeded Expectations The W is right in the heart of the City. Close to wonderful restaurants. Staff is the best. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well supplied. March 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement Checked in early afternoon and ordered a steak sandwich from room service. Arrive promptly, but fries were obviously OLD and COLD, also the steak was chewy, undercooked, and I suspect also left over from a previous preparation. Front desk staff was very friendly, but made check-in overly complicated by trying to upgrade me (SPG Gold). Sent me to a room that was occupied with maintenance in progress. Had to return to the front desk to change rooms. Finally, I discovered late that evening, after returning from a work engagement, that the TV signal in my room was not functioning properly. I did not want to deal with maintenance personnel, so I just did without that evening and the next morning as I prepared to depart. I usually enjoy this hotel, but do not often find rates that fit my budget here. I hope this experience isn't indicative of a new trend at the W SF. March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great atmosphere but filthy room. I love the decor and vibe and the staff were great. But my room was nasty. I assume kids stayed there before me and housekeeping just didn't notice the slime left behind. The clock radio knob had what I hope is chocolate all over the dial. Next to the bed was sticky residue from a drink. I put my iPhone in that before I noticed it. Near the light switch in the bathroom, the door frame is really sticky. Found that while feeling for the switch in the dark. And there's something on the toilet seat. I got a washcloth and tried to remove it - but it wouldn't come off after 5 minutes effort. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay Loved everything about the hotel. Lounge was great, room was great. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spacious rooms, lots of amenities The spectacular room was very spacious with great work and relaxation spaces. Terrific bathroom with good lighting and lots of room for my things. I had a 16th floor view of the Bay Bridge which has a light art exhibit for the next two years. The only thing that needs improvement is that the carpets need to be cleaned. I moved a side table and was shocked at the difference between the clean carpet under the table and the dirty carpet elsewhere. March 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by We liked our room, but.... We liked our room a lot, but upon further inspection we noticed some things needed to be dusted, the light for the budha figurine didn't work, and the microwave that we requested was really dirty on the inside. We felt stupid for missing out on the 20% discount dinner at Trace. I called the hotel back to see if anything could be done. I was told someone would call back within the hour. No one called back. I called again in the evening and the operator told me that a manager would call me back in the morning, again no call back. I gave my home telephone number, The following day, my husband informed me that he received a voice message at his work. March 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location near the convention center Great facility for business meetings, restaurant dining was enjoyable, staff was congenial March 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why this is my favorite SF hotel Let me count the ways this became my favorite San Francisco hotel: 1. I asked for Perrier in my room, and it was there when I arrived. 2. Restaurant and room service were fast and outstanding. Food much much much better than typical Starwood. 3. The beet salad and duck breast are not on the room service menu but they will make them for you -- and they are phenomenal. I ordered it two days in a row. And try the cookies! 4. Hotel provides a charging station by the bed that works for all phones! I didn't need my own charger. Great idea that should be in all rooms. 5. Staff goes out of the way to accommodate any needs. Allison in the restaurant was especially helpful. Thanks, Allison, for the treats. 6. It is convenient to the convention center (next door). This is truly one of Starwood's best properties. March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel In San Francisco This is the best hotel in San Francisco. I like everything the service and also they make you feel laike home. March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Austin Great stay!!! Enjoy the Bay of Lights!!! March 7, 2013
  • 2015-05-03T18:30:17.006-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-12, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_472, tr_472
  • loc_en_US, sid_1153, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 17 next>>