Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 502 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel in SF W SF is the place to be. From excellent food and drinks to amazing bed and room comfort. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Weekend Getaway We enjoyed our stay at the W Hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday. The corner suite in our room worked out well for a small gathering to drink champagne and take in the city views. Football was enjoyed on the TV. The bed/pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious with a space saving sliding door. Breakfast was also very good. The hotel Is well situated for visiting several museums in the area. Highly recommended. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful View! A few days before arrival, Sara was great at informing me the events occurring at the hotel. Kevin was great at check in. He gave us several options for overnight parking. Loved the city view from our room. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Wow Although a long time Starwood user, this was my first W stay. I absolutely loved the hotel: the location, the room, the quirky approach to customer service, the obvious passion of the staff !! It is a short walk to downtown shopping and 15 minutes walk to the Caltrain station. I had a minor problem with the in-room coffee machine and it was attended to immediately and cheerfully. Will definitely return to the W next time I'm in San Francisco :) October 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service ! Intuitive and courteous service from Wheels, Welcome, and Concierge! Great location within walking distance to shopping, dining, arts and entertainment. One of the Welcome Agents overheard me asking about restaurants in Sausalito for our post-ceremony lunch - she came over afterwards and had jotted down some of her favorite local spots based on what we were looking for. It was one of the best meals I have ever had! Thanks for the Insider tip! October 19, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by ok I just feel like if I'm paying this much for a hotel, I should be completely satisfied, but I wasn't. We came in to check in, thinking we would get a King size bed, but we ended up getting 2 doubles instead. That honestly ruined the rest of our stay here. The concierge didn't really do much to apologize for the inconvenience. And at check out, I felt like they should've printed out all the charges for the room, but instead they just gave me a number for me to charge and just said 3 items on the list. When I received the email, there were a lot more charges (taxes and fees), but I would've wanted to see them in advance. September 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Concierge staff was awesome! We recently got back from a week long stay at the W San Francisco. The hotel was centrally located with easy walking access to the AT&T Park, Union Square and even the Ferry Building. The room was a little small but quite comfortable. All that was good but what made our stay absolutely wonderful was the awesome Concierge staff. Jaime and Tanielle (hope that is spelled correctly) went above and beyond to help us with EVERYTHING from booking tours to giving us tips on where to eat to making reservations and even getting us a car to take us there. Wonderful people who obviously love their jobs. Can't say enough! September 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Michael the Style Manager could learn a little respect Everything about our stay was wonderful, the only problem we encountered was with The Style department. I am 10 weeks pregnant with twins, had been out of the hotel for 7 hours, and upon returning my room had still not been serviced. I felt very insulted when I spoke with the Style Manager Michael. He said I should have informed the hotel I was pregnant in order to get priority. He proceeded to give me excuses as to why it wasn't cleaned. Ouch. I don't want excuses, I want genuine empathy. Offering me a late check out was hardly even an offer, it felt forced. Plus we were leaving early in the morning. Call me crazy, but as someone who worked in management for Starwood in the past, 7 hours on a Saturday should be plenty of time to get your room services. If you know you are fully committed, hire more people to get the job done. I shouldn't need priority just because I'm pregnant. I felt like he didn't care, especially because he didn't try to correctly pronounce my last name. I have a difficult last name to pronounce and everyone else we worked with made some attempt for respect. I realize I was staying on a discounted rate, but I felt like a task on a list that he needed to complete before the end of his work day. Positive remarks to Kenneth at the Front Desk who checked us in, Damian Rodrigues and Rocio at F&B. August 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has poor customer service We just so many issues with the staff regarding on issues and they just don't have the same level of customer service as many other starwood properties I have stayed at over the years. The first time I stayed here I had no issues 2 years ago, but after this past recent stay I would stay at another spg property nearby next time. August 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice for short stays The W is a lovely Hotel for short stays unless you are the "artsy" Musician type who loves this type of atmosphere. The staff are lovely as are the room but the entire vibe is Thumpiddy Thumpiddy! I would not recommend this hotel to friends who are a bit more of the classic and conservative side. But having said this - it is a fun Hotel and quite stylish July 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations The W San Francisco exceeded our expectations. Modern and classy, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was outgoing, friendly and eager to assist June 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel, but take not of room issues! The hotel overall was great. Great food, drinks, music, and overall ambience. I used to stay at the W in Seattle a lot and love music and the vibe in a W. We had two big issues with our room at this hotel that went unaddressed during our 8 night stay. 1) Room 2612 is right by the hotel door that hides the service elevator and other doors. Starting at 6AM, it closed loudly continuously over and over, until we decided we should just get up. It was so loud that the first day I jumped out of bed thinking someone was coming into the room. I am a very deep sleeper so it's unusual for anything to wake me up. I talked to the front desk twice and they assured me that they were talking to everyone who uses that door to be considerate as well as to engineering to see if they could install a 'soft close'. We never heard back on this issue. On the second discussion, after four nights, they offered us another room. The issue is that we fully move into our room and that would of been a big undertaking that may or may not have been to a better room. You absolutely must solve this issue as it erodes the comfort of the room. 2) Air conditioner is set to go on / off by movement. We talked to front desk twice on this as well. The lady assured me that it would not go off when we were in the room. Well it does. So in addition to being awaken by the service door starting at 6AM, we find ourselves half awake waving our arms to get the air back on, etc. On our second conversation, the lady assured me that they set it to 'vip mode' so that it will never go off unless we turn if off. Well that didn't happen. There was no change. I understand that stuff happens, but you have to get more attentive service people working at this hotel. They did not take any real action to alleviate our concerns. Thanks! June 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer service Stayed at the W San Francisco for the second time. We like it a lot. This time I left my cell phone in the room and didn't discover it was missing until I got home in Monterey 2 hours later. I called and got hooked up with lost and found. Talked to Will and he said he'd check around for the phone. I then called the phone and Will picked it up and said" I have it!" He overnighted it to my house, charged it to my room. Happy to have the phone back, happy to pay the postage, and a shoutout to Will for taking care of business for me in a very timely manner. As we all know, losing your phone is a MAJOR problem! Thanks W, and Will. Gary May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by W San Francisco I've had the pleasure of staying at the W on several occasions. Today, was again no exception s Melanie was great at check-in the room amazing. I would like to point out the reason I routinely stay at the W however. There is a manager named Vikram who is flat out spectacular. Several months back, my admin had scheduled my arrival for another week. I was in SF on one of the busiest convention weeks of the year with no room. Vikram apologized (even though he and his amazing staff had nothing to do with the error) and then proceeded to call around and then PERSONALLY BOOK me a room at a competitor's hotel. Further, he called me once there to ensure I had arrived safe and that all is well. You just don't see that level of customer service anymore and that is why I and my entire firm only stay at the W when in SF. Thank you Vikram and amazing W staff! May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rate in the heart of San Fran Excellent location and Value, especially given how chic the hotel is. Great for couples and young ppl. Good bar scene and excellent cocktails for a hotel bar April 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for travel overall a great experience. accommodations were nice, gym was clean and restaurant had good food. For the business traveler, a few suggestions: 1) Coffee/tea selection should be improved. Located in dark bar area 2) Concierge desk was often empty. or the business center needs someone on staff. For the business traveler who both had a local copy package delivered and needed a fedex package sent, it was very long and tedious process in both instances. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great on site staff I look forward to returning to the W for a week thanks to Nate at inside sales/reservations who was able to bridge a few sold out nights so that I can stay the week without changing hotels....Loyalty cemented! Coincidentally I will be celebrating lifetime platinum with the SF team- after 500+ stays; as happy as ever with SPG! April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service I arrived at 2:30 hoping I might be able to get into my room a little before the 3pm check in to nap and have more time to get ready before a long evening out. I was told the room would be ready in 30-45 minutes and that I would receive a call when the room was ready. I waited 40 minutes before approaching the desk and was informed that the room would not be ready for anther 30-45 minutes. I was told I could have a room immediately if I were willing to accept a lower, construction facing view. I asked the staff member if it would be worth the wait and she intimated that I would have a much better view of the city on a higher floor. I decided to wait and stalked off into the city having already sat in the hotel bar for the better part of an hour. I didn't receive a phone call telling me my room was ready for a full hour and 20 minutes, double the quoted time. When I finally got into my room the view I had waited for was the windowless brown facade of an adjacent building. If I leaned to one side I could catch a little bit of the city reflecting off of it. Fully obstructed view. I was now running late, having waited triple the quoted time to enter my room and the better part of my afternoon was lost to the process. There was no acknowledgement of inconvenience save for a brief "sorry for the wait" from the second of three separate staff members I dealt with at check in. March 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by No attention to detail I booked a prepaid rate in February, and upon check in I learned there was a cheaper rate but was not able to take advantage of the rate. I was told the rate I prepaid was a "very good rate", and that I had been upgraded to a corner room. Okay, if the rate I paid was more expensive than the current rate on day of check in, obviously my rate is not a "very good rate", and being upgraded comes with Platinum status of upgrade rooms are available. Not quite sure how either of the hotel staff reasonings were valid. Upon check in, everyone was friendly and I had no issues with the front desk staff. Once in my room, I noticed the following which in my opinion are unacceptable and show a lack of attention to detail. No cushion or pillows on the couch, what appeared to be toothpaste smeared in the bathroom water glasses, and the flat sheet used to cover the mattress was too small for the king size bed (I am thinking a queen size flat sheet was used). I contacted the front desk and they did bring up a cushion for the couch, replaced the water glasses in the room, and placed an appropriate size flat sheet overtop the mattress. The next night, my partner and I decided to grab a sandwich and sit on the couch to eat prior to going out. We noticed what appeared to be dried vomit on the couch near the wall closer to the floor. I informed the front desk once again, and upon our return to the room I received a telephone message from the housekeeping manager letting me know he personally inspected the room and did not find any vomit on the wall by the couch. Clearly they got the placement of the vomit incorrect and if the manager truly did inspect the wall I would have hoped he would have seen the vomit on the couch too. It concerns me his attention to detail is not up to par. Lastly, there was a feather on the floor outside our room which was not there upon check in but was there after the first instance occurred. Keep in mind the housekeeping manager came to the room to inspect the vomit situation and the feather was still on the floor outside our room. I would have expected the manager of all people the notice this detail and pick up the feather. The carpeting was a dark blue I believe and the feather was white. Not hard to miss in my opinion. One thing I did not bother to inform the front desk about was the state of the window sills behind the shutters. I do not believe the sills have ever been cleaned. The amount of dust and dirt was repulsive, and I would hope this detail would not be overlooked. I would not recommend this hotel, and do not plan on staying at this property again. As a matter of fact I planned to stay at the W in Hollywood later in the week and have since cancelled that reservation because of my first W experience in San Francisco. I hope others have a better experience or find this review helpful. March 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel if you don't care about Gold/Platinum benefits Good location, but your status barely means anything. While checking in, I asked to get my platinum suite upgrade. The receptionist told me that there are no suits available for any night during my stay. I pulled out my phone and showed him that there were available suites online. The answer I got was: "We have special suites for upgrades and none of them are available". He wouldn't explain what's special about these suites. I got upgraded to a corner room on the 21st floor and told that it was a Fabulous room even though the website explicitly states that Fabulous rooms start from the 28th floor and above. The social media team later repeated that I was in a Fabulous room. I didn't particularly appreciate being taken for a fool. February 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad services Not qulalify for a 5 stars hotel , may be 3 stars~ February 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by plumbing This is a very old hotel with some major mechanical problems. January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location! Great staff! This was my first time staying in San Francisco and by default I stay at the W, this W though, was fantastic! Great Location! December 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff are Excellent Stayed here last April for an extended Birthday Weekend- great stay because of the help and service from front desk and insiders. This hotel can be a very busy place with a loud bar and a "scene" on the ground on weekends (this is the negative). Rooms are "W" rooms, relatively quiet. Why come back?- Service-- simple requests before an upcoming stay handled professionally by Etsy, and insider Gordon reaches out before the stay to help plan. It's the staff that makes this place December 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Reserved the W for my birthday week. Natalie at the front desk was outstanding. The entire staff and management was very attentive and they made my birthday very special. The room was great and cozy.Yes it can use a renovation but it was very clean and had a great view of the city.Keep in mind this is a older building when you try to compare it to one of the newer W locations.The price was well worth the value. The breakfast down stairs at Trace was excellent.The gym was excellent.The beds which are the most important thing to me in a hotel were very comfortable.Check out process was a breeze.The valet and taxi service was on point. My only real complaints if any would be the overnight parking cost which was over $60 a night which cost more than the rental of the car.They also need to upgrade the Ipod dock station to fit current models. There is construction going on at the museum center next door. I didnt hear any noise from the construction. If you want a view of the city without construction then get a high floor. December 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay enjoyed our time at the W.... great location. Staff was very friendly and met all our needs. The new gym was a great way to start the day! December 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not great The bellmen were very friendly and helpful. I don't like the check in. It is 2 podiums set up in a cramped entry way. It was crowded with people. The decor was modern and nice. Our room was nice but looked like it had seen better days. The most annoying thing was that at night the entire bar/lounge area turns into some kind of club that is shut down to hotel guests. It is definitely for the 20-30 year olds. They pay a cover to get in.lThat would be fine if we were informed before we got there. We asked about being aloud to go in just to get a drink after dinner and were treated like were were trying to scam them or something. I like to stay places where the answer to any request is "it's my pleasure.' This place acted like they were doing me a favor to let me stand in their lobby. I didn't eat anything there. Had breakfast around the corner at a place called the Grove that was great. I was permitted in the bar before dinner at the blue hair hour. The bartender was really good and really nice. My friends used the gym and said it was a really nice one. November 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasantly surprised i always stay at either Westin Market St or Westin Uniion Square when in town but this time logistics did not allow it. I usually steer clear of W's due to the frequently frenetic lobby "scene" wishing to unwind in quiet comfort. I was pleasantly surprised that this W was nicely out of the way and relatively quiet. The room terrific and incredibly comfortable, staff very responsive, and the gym was terrific - spacious, well-equipped. I will most certainly return to this property when in town. Unfortunately I did not have the time to sample the wonderful Bliss Spa November 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel; poor admin Hotel was nice albeit pricey for what was received. Admin services behind the scene were lacking. Told me I would get my receipt emailed. Now on the phone with them for a while and still have yet to receive receipt. How hard is it to email a receipt? October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Attention to detail and service is always amazing! I recently stayed in your property during my business trip ion September and you are the only hotel i stay at while in the SF area. But this time it was beyond incredible! I have Gluten and Dairy allergy and your staff is always accommodating and makes me feel "safe" when ordering room service or going to your restaurant where i always have the pleasure of speaking to your Chef to ensure my order is perfect and they are super helpful. This time my needs were a bit more complicated as i was preparing to compete in a bodybuilding competition and needed to travel with my meals and had strict requirements when ordering from Room Service and the restaurant. Gordon Kramer reached out to me prior to my to stay and he ensure he would have a microwave and fridge in my room upon my arrival and of course it was! i wasn't "surprised", but i was so pleased that you always meet and exceed my expectations. Then upon my checkout at 4am, i arrived at the airport only to realize that i left my purse in my room by accident and of course your morning staff from front desk and bellmen i believe quickly reacted and got my purse in a cab and made it in time to the airport for me to catch my flight! The way you make your guests feel taken care of and at a "home away from home" truly needs to be recognized! So i thank you and Gordon for a Lovely stay yet again and cant wait to see you all soon! October 20, 2014
  • 2016-05-25 T10:42:35.406-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_502, tr_502
  • loc_en_US, sid_1153, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>