W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirment Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older for room reservations.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 412 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My stay at the W. I had a wonderful experience at your hotel. My accommodations were exceptional. I would recommend your hotel to anyone. I hope to make this my new hotel when visiting San Francisco and will inquire as to getting my firm to use your hotel exclusively. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Decor. Courteous Staff. This hotel has all the markings of a modern contemporary style. Welcome mats on the elevator for each time of day was a nice touch. Staff was friendly and courteous. The room was a little smaller than I expected but featured convenient amenities like a multi charging station for mobile devices (no Lighting connecter for newer Apple OS devices). My only complaint was the breakfast menu at Trace seemed a little pedantic. Otherwise an enjoyable stay. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent business stay Air conditioning didn't work very well. I left a small red and gold jewelry pouch with costume jewelry with sentimental value (two necklaces from my deceased parents) in my room when I checked out but it apparently wasn't turned in. July 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by construction The construction next door is an eye sore, should better accommodate patrons to higher floors until construction makes some headway. Could not leave my windows open since I was within very close range with the workers (e.g., cranes). Also construction started early in the day. Noise level quite evident. July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing A building site was just outside my bedroom and builders on scaffolding able to look into my room (on the 14th floor. The noise was intolerable. Service at the bar (for food) was abysmal and necessitated a search for someone to serve us. This W hotel a major disappointment in comparison to others. In fairness the Manager did not charge for the bar food (when I chased him down) and also offered to change our room however it was all too little too late. I would stay in other Starwood hotels but not this one July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trendy yet comfortable! Great hotel. Trendier looking foyer and reception than most others but did not loose sight of making us comforable. The rooms are smallish but not unusal in San Francisco but they use the space really well. Absolutely loved the window seat! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WSF We'd Stay Forever Thanks the Vic the hotel manager my messed up reservation was handled perfectly and efficiently. Thanks to everyone who helped make our stay perfect. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is very accommodating Great location for my business meetings. Staff from front desk to room attendants were attentive and responsive. Food/Breakfast was excellent too. Jim Weaver July 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Sleep Strobing smoke alarm and a malfunctioning lamp detracted from sleep. I reported the problems to the front desk and engineering. They did not repair the problems and both continued the second night. This is unlike what I expected and my assumption is that it was an aberration. I would still recommend the W. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great as always Great hotel with a great location! July 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cool features here! I enjoyed the appearance of the hotel, aside from the construction. I'm sure when they are complete it will be even nicer! July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok This hotel is in a good location, but I expected more based on stays at other W Hotels. We were there for 3 days and our room was never cleaned- had to call and request clean towels. Other than that, the staff was nice. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel, fabulous service I've stayed at the W SF several times now, and each time has been spectacular. The facilities are modern and clean, the staff is incredibly helpful, and the food is terrific. This last time, Vik (the manager on call) was especially great and gave me a complimentary upgrade to an Extreme Wow Suite. July 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and features We really enjoyed this hotel. It is in walking distance of so many great venues in SF. We loved the amenities that were included. July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by W San Francisco - Too much construction When booking this hotel via spg site there was not an indication of the construction that was happening around the hotel or at the property. Due to this, the experience in Downtown San Francisco was very challenging. The make shift gym was in a small space covered with white tent. Condition was crammed, and very sub par to W/Starwood standards. Construction around the property while it is out of your control, it would have been better to receive notice about this. At minimum recommend it being reflected in the room rates for guest. The staff on site was very understanding to help accommodate a room change immediately. Our original room was very dark due and look directly into the construction zone. Fortunately staff helped improve our location which we appreciated very muhc. June 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location, rooms need improvement The location and staff were great/good as always, the rooms are really tired and the bathroom in the room needs some updating and cleaning. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy If you want a quiet place to sleep, this is not the hotel for you. Slamming doors and loud guests. June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the price! The hotel could definitely use some attention to detail & maintenance! I know the W hotel is meant to be modern etc. but this one is already looking a little dated, or perhaps it was cheaply done from the start. Sitting in the lounge my husband & I noticed torn pillow cases, random cords that could easily be concealed, & bits of trash & other unpleasing sites. Our room had a good amount of space & a little corner seating area which was nice. However the coffee table was all scuffed & there was extremely loud construction going on right next to our room. The amount of dust was actually disturbing! I'm not one to typically complain but I almost gagged when I saw the clumps of dust on the ipod dock. When I went to plug in my phone I again noticed so much collected dust on the cords & outlet I had to wipe it all down. The bed was comfortable & clean (from what I could tell). The spa menu & booklet w/ room service & hotel info was all wrinkled & written on from the previous guests. Walking in the hallway to the elevator from our room the exit sign was detached from the ceiling & in the elevators the doors were all scratched & dinged as if some rowdy guests were punching the metal doors. The pool was under construction during our stay as well. We chose this hotel for the last part of our honeymoon b/c of the location to restaurants we planned to visit & we were def. disappointed. Especially for $490/night! I would have had a better experience using AirBnB (which I will probably do in the future). The staff was nice & friendly which made it bearable. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W San Francisco Overall the hotel was great. The rooms/carpeting could be updated but overall a good experience. James at check in was very helpful and helped with a special request that he executed perfectly. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was very satisfied with my stay at the W and would recommend it to friends. My accommodations were excelent June 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor customer service I Paid extra 30 dollars for a room upgrade that included Internet access, but I was charged an extra 14,95 daily for Internet use, I had to call everyday of my stay to dispute it, the front desk would remove for that day, but it would showed again on the next, so it was a hassle to deal with their poor management. Also the sound proof is very poor, as we were awaken on our second night twice as security had to come to the room carol the hall, and kept us up with their talk in the hallway. Very disappointed. April 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by We liked our room, but.... We liked our room a lot, but upon further inspection we noticed some things needed to be dusted, the light for the budha figurine didn't work, and the microwave that we requested was really dirty on the inside. We felt stupid for missing out on the 20% discount dinner at Trace. I called the hotel back to see if anything could be done. I was told someone would call back within the hour. No one called back. I called again in the evening and the operator told me that a manager would call me back in the morning, again no call back. I gave my home telephone number, The following day, my husband informed me that he received a voice message at his work. March 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality home away from home I stayed at the W for 5 nights to attend a conference. The location is convenient in that it is within walking distance of Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, and the Embaracadero. The products, food, and service were very well done too. I will be back! June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service literally, on demand. I must say our stay here was exceptional. From the time we walked in and Alex took great care of us making sure that our check in was smooth and over and above expectations. No coffee in the room.. they have a maker delivered on request almost instantly, service was literally on demand. The food at Trace was decent, very clean eating. Acura ride was fun, - There was an issue of a big marathon outside, shutting down the city and really threw our whole schedule off track but the manager Jose took care of the problem and handled everything exceedingly well. I will definitely be coming back. This place clearly knows how to treat people. May 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs uprade ii'm starwood platinum and i've been staying at this hotel since it opened and i must say, i am fully over it. it has seen better days. the banquet in the room is frayed. stained, worn. looks nasty. the lobby at night is great is you like a dance club vibe and like loud EDM . . .drunken loud guests almost starting fights in lobby 2 nights in a row. a guy was so wasted he was arguing with other guests in the elevator and threatened me when i intervened. Its a mess really. but dont try to do a mtg or conversation there. time for me to switch . for $335/night i can do way better for comfort, condition, and overall quality. The W has lost its cool factor and November 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by "W" is for Worst Weekend So many things went wrong this weekend it's almost inconceivable - we had a room with a toxic paint smell and a broken thermostat set for 80 degrees; we requested help which arrived AFTER we came back from dinner - a room full of engineers, housekeeping and still a toxic paint smell. When we insisterd that we be moved the next day we were moved into a smaller room. We didn't receive the turndown service we requested in the smaller room and our breakfast came so late that the WAITER paid for it with apologies. I have never seen a or experienced a worse hotel stay. The icing on the cake is that the manager, Hal, called before we left to apologize and asked HOW I would like to be followed up. I requested EMAIL and instead, I received a message on my home phone in Seattle but could not understand the NAME of the person who called. February 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of construction next door! I had a very unpleasant stay at the W recently. They are apparently doing some construction right next door. There was a note on the bed apologizing for the closed pool and gym. It was a little bit of a bummer, but fine. But no where did it say pardon the noise and not once did a staff person mention there may be noise in the morning. I had a 10:00 AM work meeting and was looking forward to sleeping in a bit since the hotel was so close to my work. But no - I was awoken to the sound of construction at 6:50 AM! It was beyond ridiculous! I was so upset and spoke with the staff at check out and they did nothing to make up for it. I would never stay there again just for that reason. I don't appreciate that kind of non-responsive customer service. What ever happened to the guest coming first?! June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Hotel SF and Atlanta too I'm glad that SF has decided to renovate. I stayed in a new room and it was wonderful. The W in Atlanta needs to do this quickly too. The halls are dark and the room dated and weathered. Bravo to SF W - it's great. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great location, staff and amenities. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My recent stay stayed just one night. The W always meets expectations!! Fun, Lively and Young. Will definitely be back. June 16, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>