W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirment Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older for room reservations.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 348 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceptional Guest Service From the moment of our arrival, the level of service was exemplary! Alex, at check-in was very attentive and genuine! Gnu, the bell man was exceptional. I had a lovely chat with the cleaning staff as well. Would highly recommend this property. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very pleased with W San Francisco Refreshing, bright corner rooms. Staff did a great job acknowledging my wife's birthday. Trace does a great job for breakfast. Lobby quite small and not as exciting as other W hotels. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, great bar. Excellent service and wonderful bar scene, great beers on tap surprisingly. The morning I left I was in a tremendous rush and the hostesses at the restaurant got me a croissant and OK in 2 minutes. Free coffee too, thank you! They need to hurry up and finish the gym, its under construction. March 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy room i was at room 3014, you can loudly hear the elevator motors March 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Up to W Hotel Standard. Over the past 5 years, I stayed at many (> 10) W Hotels over Asia and US. Sadly, W San Francisco ranked last in my book... As ambassador level SPG member, I had not been disapponited often. The entire stay experience in W San Francisco had a feel and quality of a category 3 SPG hotel. The room was very small, air in the room was stale, lobby has no character of typical W Hotel. Breakfast was uninspired... One thing is helping W is its staff: from reception to parking, most of them are excellent and helpful employees. Just the hotel itself is below average. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the city's greatest! The location, look, feel and experience at the W San Francisco is fantastic! The staff is exceptional in how they make your stay and experience all that you want and more! March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Vibe for young professionals We received excellent service from all the staff at the W Hotel. March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status lacking I wanted to try another Starwood hotel so I decided to stay at the W. When we arrived the lobby was busy and the bar had a few people in it along with a DJ. It was around 8 or 9pm. The clerk greeted me and checked me into my 2 rooms. He said that I was a Platinum member and finished checking me in. I then asked if there were any upgrades and he said that I was upgraded to a corner room with a view. It would have been nice to know that I had received an upgrade. He told me where the elevators were and we went to our rooms. He mentioned nothing else. When we got to our rooms my wife asked about our breakfast comp and the clerk had not said anything about it. So I called the front desk and the clerk said that if I would come down he would have the voucher for me. We went down to get the voucher and it was the same clerk that checked me in and he said that I had asked for the Starwood points earlier instead of the breakfast. I told him he never mentioned the choices at all and that I definitely do not need anymore points. He got us the vouchers one for each of my rooms. I was very disappointed in the the lack of recognition a Platinum member held from this encounter which was my first, aside from the valet. I became a Platinum member for elite service and your hotel doesn't seem to show any different service than another common guest. The lobby had people in it yet I was the only one checking in at the time. There was another clerk doing nothing at another station maybe they might have been better, who knows. Your hotel was nice and clean. We enjoyed the beds, very comfortable. The hotel look was trendy and had a nice atmosphere. But I am not sure if I would go there again since there are so many other choices to stay at. I hope you can improve on your customer service because that is what gets people back time and time again. thanks for your time. March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Adorable Room Small but so cute and stylish. I loved my room. Utilized the gym twice. It's small, but perfectly adequate. My only complaint is that the water pressure in the shower was not great. Also - don't drink the Smart Water by the sink. It's a trick and will cost you $6.52. March 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the W I use to know I have been a W SF client for a long time, but it's lost it's class. The clientele is riff raff and it's no longer someplace I can relax. The hallways were noisy until 4am. They now pump scent into the airways and it was so strong in our room that we couldn't sleep all night. I wouldn't return to this property again too bad because it's location and price were always an advantage. March 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No points awarded for my stay I spent 6 nights at your hotel (W San Francisco 2/23 - 3/1314) and was not awarded any points for my stay in spite of the fact that I spent just under $4k for my stay. I am huge fan of your properties and have stayed in them all over the US but do not plan to continue moving forward. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Birthday We had an awesome time at the W San Francisco. We were celebrating my birthday and Gianna hooked us up with the Extreme Wow Suite. Thank you for going above and beyond my expectations, You rock!!! The suite was amazing and the birthday cake was a nice added touch. I will definitely be back. Thanks for a great getaway. SM March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay.. Pool is gone The W San Francisco is as a great as always. In terms of service, room, quality and the excellent staff. We were treated very well and enjoyed our stay. A very important part of our stay at the W san Francisco is the incredible indoor pool. We were surprised and saddened to hear that the hotel decided to dismantle and remove the pool. This decreases the quality of the facilities at the W san francisco. The presence of the pool was a very important part of the experience at the W san Francisco. I highly recommend that the management reconsider the installation of a pool at the hotel. January 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Key Card Issues This hotel is fantastic. Comfortable and classy at the same time. It has some flaws though, namely in their key cards. I had 8 over my 4 night stay this weekend. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful, but that can't make up for the 5 min I spent trying to open up my door every evening bc the door would never register my key card. Unfortunately, a problem like that is the only thing that will stick out in my mind about the hotel :/ March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by W SF Every time I've stayed at the W SF it's been fantastic! From the moment you step in the door, you're greeted with a friendly face and a willingness to meet every need. I get really greedy when I stay at the W, making special requests (allergy free bedding, etc) and I get it all with a smile! The rooms are spacious and beautiful. The amenities are first rate (he hotel gym is currently under construction but you'd never know it by the amazing job they've done recreating it on the upper deck of the hotel! I used it two morning in a row and it was great!). I've stayed in other W Hotels around the US, this is one of my favorites. I will stay each and eery time in San Francisco. February 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not again An o.k. place to stay to sleep but if you are interested in a beautiful Lobby, rooms, great beds etc then choose another Hotel. If you are booking with a third party booking service then do not stay here. They will put you in a sub standard room and on a lower floor. December 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always Enjoy Staying Here I have to travel to SF a few times a month for work, and I always enjoy staying at this hotel. The only drawback this last time was that I could hear the construction going on within the hotel... Otherwise, the bar is always fun, the rooms and beds are comfortable, and the hotel location is prime. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Fabulous! So impressed with the outstanding service, friendly staff, superbl common areas, magnificent views, guest recognition and easy airport arrangements.. Location is excellent for getting to know the city on foot and the concierge has perfect advise for the best restaurants around. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room Key cards The hotel was excellent but was very frustrated with the room door cards not working had to get a new one each time i left the room. March 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overrated Customer Service was excellent - way above expectations. Everything else is overpriced. Food was ridiculously expensive. Parking was ridiculously expensive. The hotel rooms are small and cliche'. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service literally, on demand. I must say our stay here was exceptional. From the time we walked in and Alex took great care of us making sure that our check in was smooth and over and above expectations. No coffee in the room.. they have a maker delivered on request almost instantly, service was literally on demand. The food at Trace was decent, very clean eating. Acura ride was fun, - There was an issue of a big marathon outside, shutting down the city and really threw our whole schedule off track but the manager Jose took care of the problem and handled everything exceedingly well. I will definitely be coming back. This place clearly knows how to treat people. May 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by "W" is for Worst Weekend So many things went wrong this weekend it's almost inconceivable - we had a room with a toxic paint smell and a broken thermostat set for 80 degrees; we requested help which arrived AFTER we came back from dinner - a room full of engineers, housekeeping and still a toxic paint smell. When we insisterd that we be moved the next day we were moved into a smaller room. We didn't receive the turndown service we requested in the smaller room and our breakfast came so late that the WAITER paid for it with apologies. I have never seen a or experienced a worse hotel stay. The icing on the cake is that the manager, Hal, called before we left to apologize and asked HOW I would like to be followed up. I requested EMAIL and instead, I received a message on my home phone in Seattle but could not understand the NAME of the person who called. February 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff needs help No baggage help, poor recognition of SPG and upgrade amenities, front desk should not be trained while a customer is trying to check in February 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude & overpriced with a side of pee This hotel did not have the exceptional customer service I've come to expect from W hotels. I'm dissapointed that I was charged $20 for a local call that didn't even go through, and that I had to argue with the conceirge about receiving my sip cards (drink cards included in my room rate). Ultimately be conceded and gave me one, although I had paid for four days at that rate. I wasn't going to argue, I just won't stay there again. Also, I appreciate minimalism but our room was stark white with no character that I've come to expect from Ws. Without any hip design, what's the point? We could have stayed in a hostel for far less. Which reminds me, the sheets weren't fitted so one light nap unraveled the sides exposing the mattress. It had pee spots all over it so I actually ended up spending the last night of our stay at my cousins house because that grossed me out. What a huge waste of money and time. I definitely will not return ever. March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gordon/Mark: High Standard In Customer Service During breakfast on the day of departure I got the pleasure to talk with Mark. He was busy setting up for a lunch party, but took a solid 10 minutes out of his day to talk baseball. He was extremely nice and genuine. He remembered me at check out and was very friendly then as well. I checked out around 4pm, which was during tea time. The hotel offers the coolest tea bags I have ever seen. I took a seat to enjoy my tea, and not too long after a hotel guest started complaining to Gordon about every little thing possible. Ridiculous complaints. (ex. If you think the minibar is too expensive: 1. Stop by a store that's a lot less convenient. 2. Don't buy anything. If across the board hotel guests feel the prices are too high, the monthly sales report will drive the prices down) Naturally I had to fight to keep my mouth shut as this individual verbally tore down the W. I was impressed with Gordon's reaction. He handled the situation far better than I would have. He took notes on what was said, remained very professional, and the upset guest walked away with a smile. I left a previous review for how awesome the location and property is. November 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lost my iphone charger and didn't get it back I lost my charger along with the USB line at the hotel after I checked out. I called the hotel within 4 hours and the manager at Lost & Found Dept told me the room had been cleaned and no charger to be found when he visited. I waited for 20 hours to give a second call and still no feedback until now. I know there is no hope for me to find the lost items but I am VERY frustrated at how the thing was handled. This is not about the value of the lost items but about the integrity of the hotel. So overall, I won't recommend this hotel to anyone else and am not planning to stay for future visits. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks Vic! When we arrived, everyone was so friendly and accommodating. Front desk Manager Vic did everything he could to make my weekend stay at the W San Francisco seamless. I enjoyed every minute of my stay! Bar was fun and kicked off our evening every night before heading of into the city. Great stay! March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service I just returned from my trip to San Francisco and my stay at the W. What a wonderful trip made possible by the customer service provided by the staff at the W. Everyone from the check-in clerk to the concierge to the maintenance crew was most accommodating. I truly can not express how wonderful that made my stay. The location was perfect. It was in walking distance of the convention center and the heart of downtown San Fran. During my travels I have stayed at many different hotels and their customer service does not compare to that at the W. Thanks again for your assistance and I look forward to staying at the W again July 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Valentines My wife and i traveled to San Francisco for an early Valentines day celebration. The staff, and our ambassador worked extremely hard to help me surprise her with a heart felt welcome to start our weekend. They brought local flowers, her favorite wine, printed out pictures of us put them on the bed, and had our favorite song playing. The staff was always there to help, and the best experience was how quickly they were able to accommodate and always making sure if there was anything else they could do. I would highly recommend this hotel and starwood., i'm a loyal ambassador guest and my loyalty to the Starwood brands grow due to experiences such as this one. February 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Location The location is located right across from the Moscone Convention Center and about 2 blocks south of Market St. It is still convenient to BART, which is about 2-1/2 blocks away. Located within walking distance to Union Square and Powell St. Cable Car stop. June 19, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>