W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 487 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for travel overall a great experience. accommodations were nice, gym was clean and restaurant had good food. For the business traveler, a few suggestions: 1) Coffee/tea selection should be improved. Located in dark bar area 2) Concierge desk was often empty. or the business center needs someone on staff. For the business traveler who both had a local copy package delivered and needed a fedex package sent, it was very long and tedious process in both instances. April 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great on site staff I look forward to returning to the W for a week thanks to Nate at inside sales/reservations who was able to bridge a few sold out nights so that I can stay the week without changing hotels....Loyalty cemented! Coincidentally I will be celebrating lifetime platinum with the SF team- after 500+ stays; as happy as ever with SPG! April 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service I arrived at 2:30 hoping I might be able to get into my room a little before the 3pm check in to nap and have more time to get ready before a long evening out. I was told the room would be ready in 30-45 minutes and that I would receive a call when the room was ready. I waited 40 minutes before approaching the desk and was informed that the room would not be ready for anther 30-45 minutes. I was told I could have a room immediately if I were willing to accept a lower, construction facing view. I asked the staff member if it would be worth the wait and she intimated that I would have a much better view of the city on a higher floor. I decided to wait and stalked off into the city having already sat in the hotel bar for the better part of an hour. I didn't receive a phone call telling me my room was ready for a full hour and 20 minutes, double the quoted time. When I finally got into my room the view I had waited for was the windowless brown facade of an adjacent building. If I leaned to one side I could catch a little bit of the city reflecting off of it. Fully obstructed view. I was now running late, having waited triple the quoted time to enter my room and the better part of my afternoon was lost to the process. There was no acknowledgement of inconvenience save for a brief "sorry for the wait" from the second of three separate staff members I dealt with at check in. March 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by No attention to detail I booked a prepaid rate in February, and upon check in I learned there was a cheaper rate but was not able to take advantage of the rate. I was told the rate I prepaid was a "very good rate", and that I had been upgraded to a corner room. Okay, if the rate I paid was more expensive than the current rate on day of check in, obviously my rate is not a "very good rate", and being upgraded comes with Platinum status of upgrade rooms are available. Not quite sure how either of the hotel staff reasonings were valid. Upon check in, everyone was friendly and I had no issues with the front desk staff. Once in my room, I noticed the following which in my opinion are unacceptable and show a lack of attention to detail. No cushion or pillows on the couch, what appeared to be toothpaste smeared in the bathroom water glasses, and the flat sheet used to cover the mattress was too small for the king size bed (I am thinking a queen size flat sheet was used). I contacted the front desk and they did bring up a cushion for the couch, replaced the water glasses in the room, and placed an appropriate size flat sheet overtop the mattress. The next night, my partner and I decided to grab a sandwich and sit on the couch to eat prior to going out. We noticed what appeared to be dried vomit on the couch near the wall closer to the floor. I informed the front desk once again, and upon our return to the room I received a telephone message from the housekeeping manager letting me know he personally inspected the room and did not find any vomit on the wall by the couch. Clearly they got the placement of the vomit incorrect and if the manager truly did inspect the wall I would have hoped he would have seen the vomit on the couch too. It concerns me his attention to detail is not up to par. Lastly, there was a feather on the floor outside our room which was not there upon check in but was there after the first instance occurred. Keep in mind the housekeeping manager came to the room to inspect the vomit situation and the feather was still on the floor outside our room. I would have expected the manager of all people the notice this detail and pick up the feather. The carpeting was a dark blue I believe and the feather was white. Not hard to miss in my opinion. One thing I did not bother to inform the front desk about was the state of the window sills behind the shutters. I do not believe the sills have ever been cleaned. The amount of dust and dirt was repulsive, and I would hope this detail would not be overlooked. I would not recommend this hotel, and do not plan on staying at this property again. As a matter of fact I planned to stay at the W in Hollywood later in the week and have since cancelled that reservation because of my first W experience in San Francisco. I hope others have a better experience or find this review helpful. March 16, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel if you don't care about Gold/Platinum benefits Good location, but your status barely means anything. While checking in, I asked to get my platinum suite upgrade. The receptionist told me that there are no suits available for any night during my stay. I pulled out my phone and showed him that there were available suites online. The answer I got was: "We have special suites for upgrades and none of them are available". He wouldn't explain what's special about these suites. I got upgraded to a corner room on the 21st floor and told that it was a Fabulous room even though the website explicitly states that Fabulous rooms start from the 28th floor and above. The social media team later repeated that I was in a Fabulous room. I didn't particularly appreciate being taken for a fool. February 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad services Not qulalify for a 5 stars hotel , may be 3 stars~ February 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by plumbing This is a very old hotel with some major mechanical problems. January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location! Great staff! This was my first time staying in San Francisco and by default I stay at the W, this W though, was fantastic! Great Location! December 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff are Excellent Stayed here last April for an extended Birthday Weekend- great stay because of the help and service from front desk and insiders. This hotel can be a very busy place with a loud bar and a "scene" on the ground on weekends (this is the negative). Rooms are "W" rooms, relatively quiet. Why come back?- Service-- simple requests before an upcoming stay handled professionally by Etsy, and insider Gordon reaches out before the stay to help plan. It's the staff that makes this place December 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Reserved the W for my birthday week. Natalie at the front desk was outstanding. The entire staff and management was very attentive and they made my birthday very special. The room was great and cozy.Yes it can use a renovation but it was very clean and had a great view of the city.Keep in mind this is a older building when you try to compare it to one of the newer W locations.The price was well worth the value. The breakfast down stairs at Trace was excellent.The gym was excellent.The beds which are the most important thing to me in a hotel were very comfortable.Check out process was a breeze.The valet and taxi service was on point. My only real complaints if any would be the overnight parking cost which was over $60 a night which cost more than the rental of the car.They also need to upgrade the Ipod dock station to fit current models. There is construction going on at the museum center next door. I didnt hear any noise from the construction. If you want a view of the city without construction then get a high floor. December 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay enjoyed our time at the W.... great location. Staff was very friendly and met all our needs. The new gym was a great way to start the day! December 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not great The bellmen were very friendly and helpful. I don't like the check in. It is 2 podiums set up in a cramped entry way. It was crowded with people. The decor was modern and nice. Our room was nice but looked like it had seen better days. The most annoying thing was that at night the entire bar/lounge area turns into some kind of club that is shut down to hotel guests. It is definitely for the 20-30 year olds. They pay a cover to get in.lThat would be fine if we were informed before we got there. We asked about being aloud to go in just to get a drink after dinner and were treated like were were trying to scam them or something. I like to stay places where the answer to any request is "it's my pleasure.' This place acted like they were doing me a favor to let me stand in their lobby. I didn't eat anything there. Had breakfast around the corner at a place called the Grove that was great. I was permitted in the bar before dinner at the blue hair hour. The bartender was really good and really nice. My friends used the gym and said it was a really nice one. November 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleasantly surprised i always stay at either Westin Market St or Westin Uniion Square when in town but this time logistics did not allow it. I usually steer clear of W's due to the frequently frenetic lobby "scene" wishing to unwind in quiet comfort. I was pleasantly surprised that this W was nicely out of the way and relatively quiet. The room terrific and incredibly comfortable, staff very responsive, and the gym was terrific - spacious, well-equipped. I will most certainly return to this property when in town. Unfortunately I did not have the time to sample the wonderful Bliss Spa November 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel; poor admin Hotel was nice albeit pricey for what was received. Admin services behind the scene were lacking. Told me I would get my receipt emailed. Now on the phone with them for a while and still have yet to receive receipt. How hard is it to email a receipt? October 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Attention to detail and service is always amazing! I recently stayed in your property during my business trip ion September and you are the only hotel i stay at while in the SF area. But this time it was beyond incredible! I have Gluten and Dairy allergy and your staff is always accommodating and makes me feel "safe" when ordering room service or going to your restaurant where i always have the pleasure of speaking to your Chef to ensure my order is perfect and they are super helpful. This time my needs were a bit more complicated as i was preparing to compete in a bodybuilding competition and needed to travel with my meals and had strict requirements when ordering from Room Service and the restaurant. Gordon Kramer reached out to me prior to my to stay and he ensure he would have a microwave and fridge in my room upon my arrival and of course it was! i wasn't "surprised", but i was so pleased that you always meet and exceed my expectations. Then upon my checkout at 4am, i arrived at the airport only to realize that i left my purse in my room by accident and of course your morning staff from front desk and bellmen i believe quickly reacted and got my purse in a cab and made it in time to the airport for me to catch my flight! The way you make your guests feel taken care of and at a "home away from home" truly needs to be recognized! So i thank you and Gordon for a Lovely stay yet again and cant wait to see you all soon! October 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the W Hotel My stay was amazing. The staff was great, the room was awesome and I can't wait to come back. I also want to acknowledge Gordon Kramer for helping to make my stay memorable and reaching out to see what my needs were before I arrived. In addition, Gun-Woo who works at the Valet station was very helpful. David October 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good business hotel for convention center W is a good business hotel -- centrally located to convention center, restaurants and shopping. Excellent staff working at the restaurants and front desk. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay attentive staff, pleasant decor, conveniently located, hip vibe September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun night in SF This is a great place for a girls getaway! The bar has dancing at night and the chocolate Martina's are spectacular! Because it offers great nightlife, it was a little noisy at night. September 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth it. I've been to other W's and very muched liked the experience, ambiance, and quality of the room. Unfortunately this W does not even come close to the other Ws. The A/C felt like it was blowing stale air all the time. The bed covers were very uncomfortable and felt like plastic. Not what I would expect out of a W for $317 / night. Overall the room and the hotel feels old and a bit run down. You can see mold between the tiles in the bathrroom. I also had the pleasure of seeing the construction of the new musuem 6ft from my window. Everymorning I could see the construction workers peering into room. September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location ,lobby for youngsters, nice food a young executives hotel music for young people the concept is modern and active not for seniors the lobby environment September 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel My travel agent made the reservation for me and my daughter. The hotel is beautiful and the room was fabulous. It would have been nice to have free, in-room internet access. We were there for a conference and needed to access the internet via a laptop but couldn't! The business center was inconvenient and didn't properly print the documents we needed. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The view from our room was spectacular. If you're looking for a hip, club-like atmosphere this is the place to be. September 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than expected The hotel is at a great location with easy access to restaurants and a Whole Foods is only 2 blocks away. The staff upgraded me to a corner room because of my Starwood membership status. That was a huge bonus! September 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room 2012 As a Platinum member of a competitor, I continue to give SPG a try when I can, but am consistently disappointed. Room 2012 has an air pressure issue with the toilet that causes it to sound like an fire alarm, so when it started making the noise at 4am, I got dressed immediately and was about to leave the room when I noticed the sound coming from my own bathroom. Front desk knew about this problem ahead of time and quickly told me how to fix the issue -- but ABSOLUTELY unwarranted for a property like the W. September 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay The room was very nice, the view even better. My stay started off shaky with the 6.0 earthquake but settled down for the rest of the week. Convenient to the conference center and other amenities. September 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by not so bad very exciting place hot place September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check out When we checked out I told the clerk we had used a bottle of water. She said "do not worry about it" and did not include it on our bill. When I got home I received an email from W San Francisco with a revised invoice with a charge of $6.52 for the bottle. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dazzled Need to start off with a huge thank you for the upgrade we received. Our stay for 2 nights was a Monday and Tuesday. Due to our request for adjoining rooms and some construction in the area we were upgraded to the big suite. It felt gluttonous how much room we had. Amazing views of the city. Beds were extremely comfortable. My only constructive criticism is that the lamps next to the beds couldn't be controlled individually or without using the light switch on the wall. Very bizarre. When one person is a night time reader, this is a must! Apart from that, it was fantastic. Checking in was a little loud, but that was the only time we thought the lobby was loud. Room service was wonderful in terms of speed and quality. Bar area, service and options were excellent. We WILL recommend this to our friends! August 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by WSanfran Arriving very late at night the reception was poor, and to be given full explanation on the green initiatives seemed inappropriate. We have stayed here a number of years ago and the rooms were fresh and quirky, the rooms are now tired and in need of refurbishment, with elements broken, doors missing from cupboards, docking station not working and an oversized TV that does not fit the designed space. Despite turning down the green initiatives the room was not fully cleaned on each day. The extensive construction work on the adjacent Moma site which wraps around the hotel has construction work commencing at 7.30am...this cannot be avoided but can be managed and at least deserves a notices / applology letter in the rooms. Overall we were disappointed with our stay. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by They made our wedding perfect! We just had out wedding here over the weekend and I have to say, it was perfect! Lindsay is absolutely amazing and helped us with every last detail from the day we contacted her 15 months ago until the last hour of the wedding, all while being super fun, hilarious, and bubbly. The rest of the staff including Dave were also fantastic, and were able to make everything I wanted happen and more. The newly renovated 4th floor terrace is absolutely stunning! It's ultra modern with its edgy architecture, huge chandelier/skylight that extends the length of the room, built in up lighting on every wall, and a full length window wall that you can fully open to reveal the amazing view of the cityscape. The food was wonderful, I've never had better crab cakes, filet mignon, wedge salad, etc. anywhere else. We had the privilege of staying in one of their amazing corner suites that overlooked the entire west side of the city. Our guests were completely floored by how amazing our venue was. I still can't believe how perfect our wedding was and I can't thank Lindsay and her staff enough for pulling out all the stops and making us feel like $1MM for our day. I highly recommend the W for weddings. If you want the perfect wedding, with new, modern, unique venue, a fantastic coordinator, amazing food, and to be treated like royalty for your entire stay, you need to have it here. You will not be disappointed. August 28, 2014
  • 2015-09-01T11:49:47.007-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_487, tr_487
  • loc_en_US, sid_1153, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>