W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 484 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping needs to up their game The hotel is good enough. But good enough doesn't really cut it at $400/night. Valet parking was $54/night. $54?? That's a joke. And housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. Bath products were not refreshed, coffee pods were not replenished, ironing board was put away next to the bed instead of the closet. Would not stay there again. June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful, but expensive hotel It's a beautiful hotel and has anything you could ever hope for. It just seems like everything comes at a price. Waters in the room and parking in the garage are rather expensive. WiFi isn't complimentary. But if those things don't matter to you, then this place is great. Great location as well. Every single member of the staff was cheery and helpful. June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel No complaints! I would stay there again. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Second time I have stayed. Great staff, large room. Everything you need. June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing vibe & service Had a great stay at the W San Francisco. Staff was extremely helpful and responsive to my needs. The gym unfortunately was under construction. They did offer me to use the Crunch gym near the hotel -- which was more than acceptable. The service at Trace (the restaurant) was not good -- took much longer than expected to bring out the food. June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and comfortable Enjoyed my stay during a conference. The hotel location is convenient, the lobby is comfortable, and the room was comfortable. June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great The stay was WONDERFUL!!!! We were placed by the construction - being awake at 8am because of the construction noise while on vacation was not ideal, but understood as the city was compressed. Maybe a corporate traveler would be better in the construction rooms. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First stay at W I have been a SPG Gold member and Westin Timeshare owner for years. I appreciate and understand the benefit of getting a late (4pm) check out WHEN AVAILABLE. I emphasize that because I have been in many situations where I requested a late checkout but it was not granted because of availability and I respect that. With our stay at your W, my wife made reservations for a suite months ago and we arrived at approx. 2:30 or 3 pm and were told that our room would not be available until 5:30pm because the prior guests were granted a late checkout! Unacceptable in my opinion. We had specific timed dinner plans that we had to be at and instead of relaxing in our room before my surprise birthday party we were put into another room and then had to move into our suite at approx 5:15 pm. The timing was horrible for us and all we did was rush around, change rooms and rush to get ready. It was so stressful and made for a stressful start to our evening. Maybe give the prior guest until 2pm or so but not till 4 pm knowing that you can't clean a room properly in 5 min to allow my guaranteed check in of 4 pm. Totally poor planning on your part and tainted our first ever stay at a W. June 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nickels and dimes I complained to the front desk about placing a service charge on an already exorbitant $5 bottle of water that was already in the room. Front desk offered (not at my request) to remove the whole charge. I then got a second version of my receipt emailed to me 12 hours later where the whole charge including service had been added back on the bill. I emailed the hotel manager to complain but heard nothing back. I don't want the money for the water back. I would like not to feel like every last cent was being squeezed out me when i visit this hotel. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The "W Experience" something pretty Wonderful! My Husband and I would like to say thank you to the entire W San Francisco Team! We had the pleasure of staying with you during our wedding over the Memorial Day Weekend! So many of you guys just went out of your way to welcome us and make us feel so very special during our stay! From the wonderful card and surprise at check in, to the kind thoughts and gifts in our room, to the Living Room staff, to the Trace Team who made our dinner so very special! You all are just awesome individuals who truly care about your guest! It shows in your action and attention to so many details! You guys "get it" when it comes to service and it really shows in your actions! After 20 years I got to finally marry the man I love! It was only natural that we trusted and believed in our "W Family" to help us celebrate this event! Tom and I have been long W fans and we understand and appreciate the W difference! You guys truly made our trip so much more special and we just cant thank you enough!! I would also like to give special thanks to Gordon who provided assistance with our reservation and truly welcomed us to the W San Francisco! Thank you all, May 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Decor, Comfort It was one of my best hotels that I ever stayed at and I would recommend this to everyone that I know. May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad experience Heard a lot about W hotels and how wonderful they are but I'm definitely not coming back after our experience. Stayed for one night with my husband and child at the W hotel in San Francisco over the Memorial Day Weekend. First, the hotel's parking structure was under construction making the wait for valet parking long. When we got into our room we requested for a crib. The crib took over 30 minutes to be delivered to our room. The bed looked clean but the carpet looked dirty. The television's pictures were not clear, and we did not see any tv guide. The charger that was provided located on the desk for iPhone 5 was cut with the wires exposed. During check out it took valet 45 minutes to locate our car. The first car they brought did not belong to us. When we did get our car we were not offered any h.elp with our bags even though we were carrying 5 bags and a baby. Our car idled in the driveway for another 15 minutes waiting for cars to maneuvered out of the way by valet. We ended up being late to the Giant's Baseball game. My husband being an active Navy Sailor did not enjoy his Memorial Day Weekend. All the service that we got from your hotel sums up to the repetitious phrase "We're sorry about the long wait" May 26, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Internet charges and room facility While checking in, Priya told me Internet was paid for by the convention room block fare and then when I told the staff at checkout it should be removed, they said I was wrong. I said, please check with Priya and they refused. He also said other attendees at the convention had the same confusion. Also, why is there not a coffee maker in the room even if it was just to heat some water? (San Fran location on Mission St, across Moscone and Chevys) May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous We had a great girls weekend at The W! Thanks for an amazing stay! I want to give extra accolades to Claudia Nuta. She went above and beyond to assist me with reservations and a package that had a couple of roadblocks. She took it in stride, was incredibly helpful and worked everything out in the end. Not only did she help out with securing my package deal, she had a lovely cheese board delivered to our room on the first night. What a great surprise! Love the service at The W from everyone we encountered, but Claudia stood out! Thanks so much for an incredible weekend! May 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by N ice but wifi issues My one night stay at the W was nice and met expectations. My only challenge was I was unable to login to my internal vpn which was key because I needed to do work. Overall the staff was top notch, help me print tickets to the Giants game, were quick to get my bags and willing to help me get a cap. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Style & substance For downtown San Francisco, The W is a strong combination of comfort, functionality and style. the staff is naturally friendly and the facilities allow you to feel special. May 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by great hotel noisy downstairs bar; make sure you look upstairs May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Miss the Acura experience I got used to have access to the Acura car. I wish you would bring it back. May 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel needs improvements the bed was terrible the toilet broke the television system failed the spa was primitive May 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Things have changed... I've had the pleasure and privilege of staying in W Hotels since early in 2002. I've been to the San Francisco location three times and have spent over a dozen nights in Seattle. For whatever reason I remember my 2003 stay in SF to have been much nicer than our recent stay- May 2014. All of my visits have been in a Fabulous King Corner room. First I want to mention that I think Starwood has made a mistake pulling the small CD player from the rooms. In times past when entering the room the lighting would be set and the signature "W" CD playing. I loved it. Since sometime around 2006 that device has been pulled and one has to use the television/dvd combo to listen to the disc. Unfortunately that requires leaving the television on while listening. The light from the screen ruins the atmospheric ambience of the room as well effects the views. It's also a bit of a challenge finding the correct input setting with the remotes given. I'm fairly tech savvy, but it still took me a few minutes to complete the task. I made mention of this in Seattle. I was told to put a towel over the screen. Our last stay was in room 2202. Upon entering the room I immediately noticed as to how dirty the windows were. Pretty bad. I never remember that being the case on any of my stays past. One of the windows also had a broken seal- dirty between panes. A while later we found that housekeeping had apparently missed stocking the bathroom with bath towels. After contacting ~WW~ two towels were brought up to the room. I thought two was a little ridiculous being that almost every female I know uses two towels. After coming back from diner, I decided to grab some time on the internet. I immediately found the $14.95/$19.95 daily charge. I mean really? I can understand paying for non essential items used in the room, but internet? My first thought was this will be my last stay at a Starwood property. I had elected the "Green Service" which I thought meant that towels hanging up would stay and that the sheets wouldn't be changed. Later the next day I found that by selecting it we'd lost all services to the room. Not even the coffee was replenished. I immediately changed that mistake. I will say that after having the room serviced everything with exception to the windows was clean and in the order I was accustomed to. Note: Initially the room wasn't as clean as in times past. I also noticed that the towels provided were well worn and not at all plush. On a positive note, the staff was very attentive and helpful. Back to the internet, I might suggest if you feel it's necessary to charge, allow a basic 1.5 service free and charge for high-speed. May 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome staff - Clean but oldish rooms Love the vibe here. Rooms - are spacious with good views and very clean. The rooms are a little run down with chipped paint, older furniture, loose wallpaper, but still okay. Bathrooms are large and amenities rule People here are great. Awesome customer service. Special shout out to Marlene at the front desk. Professional, super kind, and really made me like this place. The pool was closed and the gym was temporary. Wished management told me this when we booked. Disappointed there. But all else would recommend. May 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this Hotel Love staying at this hotel. The staff is excellent, and we love the food in the restaurant. May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gracious, Professionl, Welcoming ... Cool! The staff is excellent. Every staff member wants to please and make your stay the best ever. They all succeed. The front office personnel are extraordinary. I wish I could remember all of their names: James, Ximena, Natalie, Marlene; Alex at the Concierge's Desk and the other concierges that I can't remember; the bellhops and doormen are full of vibrancy and smiles and are so willing to "make your day," and they certainly do! Extraordinary hotel with an extraordinary staff!!! Thanks!!! May 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The W (for the win) Although expensive (what isn't in SF?) the hotel was in a perfect location. Staff was friendly and helpful. Trace bar was an awesome spot to relax after conference and for a late night drink... May 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by SF biz trip Another all too short visit to one of my fave cities. Hotel is in a good location. Getting a little worn around the edges. Time for a face lift which is in the works, I believe. May 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as splendid as usual I hate to write this because I am a very frequent guest at the SF W, love the people there, and have been treated royally over the years. Working in SF, it has been my home-away-from-home. As recently as a week ago, Claudia Nuta sent to my room a lovely cheese/cracker/nut tray after there had been a service mix up...greatly appreciated. But this week my stay, while fine overall, had a few bumps. First, the welcome desk computer at the W continues to list me as a Gold Starwood Preferred Member, not Platinum, which I am. A minor irritant, for sure, but I've asked to have this corrected repeatedly, without anything happening. I do prefer to be in a high-level floor with corner room to the right of the elevator, like -17 or -14 series. Not this time; I got 2803, which was fine, except I also had no tea service, as I request, the room telephone malfunctioned, and the TV remote control didn't work. I was able to get a replacement remote control so that I could operate the TV. On my 2nd day there, I ordered green tea and received it, and I did get my morning newspapers both days, per my hotel profile requests. So it was, as I noted, an okay visit overall, but this series of minor irritants made my stay somewhat less special than usual. I'm hoping it was an exception. I sincerely do hate to be a complainer because you folks have been great, but after 170 nights there +/- over the life of this hotel, I am spoiled and expect near perfection! May 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great location and good sleep This hotel has modern interior ,nice service and good location. Moscone center is 1 minuite distance. Lake merced golf club is 20-30 minuite by car. Pier 3 is 10-20 minute by taxi. Unfortunatly, pool and gym was under construction when I stayed. May 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent bar food! Great staff After checking in, my friend and I decided to wait for another friend at the bar on the main floor. While waiting, we decided to have a seared tuna salad. We both thought it was excellent and not overpriced. The staff is cheerful and accommodating and often went out of their way to assist us during our three day stay. The room also had the best electronics connections and chargers that I have ever seen at a hotel. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel for Business or Pleasure Fantastic and comfortable rooms. I had an excellent sleep and good service from the staff. The gym is under construction which isn't ideal - but overall this is my first choice of all SPG hotels in SF. April 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service Everyone at the hotel greeted us with a smile and was very accommodating. It was a pleasure to be around the hotel staff and I would definitely stay again. April 23, 2014
  • 2015-06-30T13:07:43.462-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_484, tr_484
  • loc_en_US, sid_1153, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 17 next>>