W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirment Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older for room reservations.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 348 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location Checked into the hotel late Friday night and I was told they upgraded my room. Got to the room and it had 2 double beds. The next day a large water glass with water and lipstick on it was left in my room. I didn't drink out of any glasses during my stay and the glass was larger than the water glasses found in the room. I never heard back from the hotel staff on why this was left in my room. The hotel staff said the Director of style would contact me and never did. Asked to have a taxi arranged to take us to the airport and it wasn't pre-arranged. Waited in the lobby after picked up bags and bellhop never returned. January 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just Okay I have stayed at several W-Hotels, as well as several other SPG properties. This hotel is supposed to be a 5 star hotel, but felt more like a 3.5 star hotel. My "fabulous corner" room was next to a noisy ice maker and guest voices echoing up and down the emergency stair well at midnight. The Trace restaurant wait staff was slow. At many times, they vanished during breakfast. The front desk staff was slow. Additional check in staff would have been beneficial. The concierge was no where to be found Sunday. The location was fine, but as a 5-star hotel, it was disappointing. I think this hotel needs some staff tuning to make the experience truly memorable, in a positive way. December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good~ Good Service, Nice hotel! January 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by hotel rooms are very small I originally booked a room and used my hotel suite upgrade due to being Platinum and no suite was confirmed nor did the staff at the hotel want to upgrade me to a bigger room since I had my mom and 2 little brothers with me. It was a very small room that I got that didn't have enough pillows or towels when I had emailed the hotel before my stay. The folio was never emailed to me and it seemed like the staff didnt seem to care about my experience and didnt try to do anything for me other than saying they were sorry and I'm platinum on spg. The hotel could have offered points or something to make up for it. August 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not an special expirience When you pay hight price for a room you want to feel special. the rooms are expensive wich is ok for location and luxury.. But then you have to pay for every single thing like wifi, water, the valet parking is very expensive. the pool was always full of kids even at night, the jacuzzi extra small (about 4-6 people). We could not use those facilities always full. The closet did not have room for folding clothes. the day after we took the green day The room was not clean and it was 4pm after not cleaning the day before. . No happy with the stay at the w san francisco. Hair in the bath when we just check in... May 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The service is outstanding From the valet service to the bar to the housekeeping staff, the service was outstanding! All our questions were answered, a fabulous recommendation for dinner was provided (Alexander's Steakhouse) and when we checked out but left something in our room, it was not a hassle to get a key card to go back up and retrieve it. The room was cozy and quiet and the view was incredible. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful "date night". January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Loved everything at this hotel! I did a last minute reservation and got a good deal online. Even though i'm an employee at another starwood property, the rate was fabulous for me! I got to check in with Alex at the front desk, and he was definitely preofessional and kept me entertained! Very polite and showed consideration! Loved the restaurant TRACE! i had the steak with spinach i believe it was served with, but it was amaziinnggggg!!!!!!!! They have two bars in the hotel and a very modern look! I can't imagine anyone saying anything negative about this hotel! it definitely met my expectations and i would love to visit again!!!! September 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Checked in and told car service was available. When we tried to use, we were told that we should have booked ahead of time as it was 4th of July. Then told there would be no problem for next day and again service was booked when we tried to use. Difficulty finding concierge on duty and had to get info on nearby cafe from luggage assistant. When asking concierge for info and assistance, we felt like we were low priority. Room was nice but walls "paper thin", had trouble sleeping. Hotel wanted $5 for bottled water in room. No coffee service in room, no soda or water machine in hotel. Called valet 20 min. early for car and had to waited another 15 though car was parked in front of us. July 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not for frequent travelers! I am a platinum SPG member, I booked this room months in advance. Upon check in, no upgrade, no late checkouts and no lounges, no free breakfast, NOTHING! Their answer was due to Oracle World we cannot help you or provide ANY Platinum benefits / perks. Room was super small, took 30 mins to check in and took forever to use the elevators as load of people would get on without a key and would ask to use my key to get them to the floor, I was not one to let non hotel guests get on!!! Not a good hotel, looks good from the outside but crammed and dingy on the inside. VERY LOUD entrance and bar area. September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your in GREAT hands When I checked in, I had larygitis from lectures at my clinic for the new year and playing santa. I am a doctor with a large practice. The woman that checked us in noticed my ailment. She was courteous and efficient. We were upgraded to a corner type suite.(nice). Within 15 min. of check in, there was a knock on the door. Your checkin desk woman sent us up a tea tray with Earl Gray and honey for my throat. That is above and beyond. She deserves "kudos" for her kind act and all your staff. We travel a lot on the lecture circuit and my clinic and I will ALWAYS stay at the W in SFThe restaurant Trace ,your restaurant, was our Christmas dinner..superb!! Thanks again for such great service. December 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good staff and service Booked New Year Eve and am satisfied about the hotel and service. The room is very clean and huge TV impressed me. Decoration of room is special and you will like it. The only con is that there was a party and the music in lobby was extremely loudly that you cannot even hear what the Frontdesk staff saying. January 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this hotel! This is where we stay every time we travel to San Francisco--ever since it has opened. The location is excellent. Central & close to everything. It has the modern, eclectic, cool design sensibility that one finds in W hotels. The rooms are comfortable and get plenty of light. The check in staff is generally friendly, polite and efficient. The valet service is equally so--although I must mention that the valet entrance is a little tight and tricky unless you are used to it. The bar lounge area is comfortable and lively. The gym is great. It has a Bliss spa which is fabulous. And most importantly, this is a doggie friendly hotel like all W hotels. We will always stay here when in San Francisco. September 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite SPG in San Francisco The staff has always been amazing from check-in to Whatever/Whenever requests. The rooms are spacious and always clean. Every time I come to the area I try to stay at this hotel. It's modern and classy and the bathrooms are huge. The only drawback is the gym is small and in the morning before work it is really crowded. January 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great room -- great location -- less than mediocre in-room dining Overall, the room was great, and I really appreciated the towncar transportation Wednesday evening. However, the next morning I was on a fairly tight schedule, and when breakfast room service didn't arrive until 8:30 a.m. (was supposed to be there at 7:15), I was less than pleased. Furthermore, the negative experience was compounded by the fact that the food was cold and rubbery (coffee was good, however, I didn't have time to enjoy it). On the plus side, the staff was friendly and helpful, and because of that, and because of the excellent quality of the room, I would stay at the "W" again. December 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service I have stayed twice in this hotel... once for business and once for pleasure. Both times I received exceptional service. All of the employees I have encountered at this hotel go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that your stay is above par. I have stayed in other hotels in the city and The W is by far the best. The rooms are so comfortable, you hardly feel as if you are in a hotel at all and the Bliss bathroom amenities are awesome! Within walking distance of everything including Moscone Center, Union Square, and even a Giants game!! Love this place and can't wait to return. April 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Invasion of Privacy Within 3 hours of checking in, a hotel security member keyed into my room without knocking claiming he was looking for something for a prior guest. Thankfully I had the security bolt against the door that alerted me someone was attempting to come in. Then at 3am that evening people were banging doors, walls and screaming in the hallway. I called the front desk and they claimed they sent someone up to tell them to quiet down, however, it took quite some time for it to actually quiet down. The room is OK but not clean. I love W hotels and their products but this hotel room was not clean. April 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great atmosphere but filthy room. I love the decor and vibe and the staff were great. But my room was nasty. I assume kids stayed there before me and housekeeping just didn't notice the slime left behind. The clock radio knob had what I hope is chocolate all over the dial. Next to the bed was sticky residue from a drink. I put my iPhone in that before I noticed it. Near the light switch in the bathroom, the door frame is really sticky. Found that while feeling for the switch in the dark. And there's something on the toilet seat. I got a washcloth and tried to remove it - but it wouldn't come off after 5 minutes effort. March 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by October San Francisco Stay We recently utilized this facility for a 3 day Business Workshop. The hotel room, the conference rooms and service were of the high standard that I have experienced from the SPG group before. I was however very disappointed in the service in the Lobby Bar. On more than one occassion the service was slow, the staff was sluggish in movement and I didn't see the same energy and focus to customer service that I witnessed everywhere else in the facility. I am not one to complain - but felt it should be noted. I am a dedicated SPG member and look forward to my next stay. October 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A little less than I expected from The W On the whole the experience was average. Staff was friendly but seemed a little inexperienced. I called down for a pot of hot water and a tea cup. 30 minutes later I was sent an electric tea kettle that didn't work. I called down again and was transferred to in room dining. 30 minutes later I had to call again. Finally after 75 minutes I received a pot of hot water and a tea cup. And this is not specific to this particular W, but all of your hotels have *terrible* ironing board pads. They are hard and wrinkled making it virtually impossible to iron anything. When I travel I usually need to touch up a couple of items and it's incredibly frustrating to not be able to accomplish this quickly and easily. May 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Three night stay, four ladies in a two-bedroom room in San Francisco. Loved the location, could not have been much better! Staff recommended a great sushi restaurant (Sanraku) at the Metreon. In-room mini-bar, room service, and restaurant prices severely overpriced...find food elsewhere. Lobby located next to busy/loud night club, felt like a goof coming downstairs to use WiFi while the club raged on right beside me. Chose this hotel because of large discount, couldn't imagine paying what that hotel was asking as full price, although probably similar all around the Convention Centre. September 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Attention to detail staff knew what I wanted.. before I asked..nice location..1st floor restaurant (Trace) was good.. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Service This is a cool hotel with a lot of great features (e.g.. car service), but what makes this hotel stand out is the care and attention they take with their customers. I had a couple of special requests with my booking that I emailed to Kristi (the executive assistant to the general manager). Those requests did not have to be honoured...but they were. In fact, I even received a very thoughtful and generous surprise in my room...to make things even more special. Thanks, Kristi...you really made the stay at W San Francisco one of the best experiences I have had with SPG hotels. Cheers! June 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W is for Wicked, Wild, Wow and Wonderful! Way to go .... We absolutely loved our stay here. We had a corner suite on the 12th floor with a great view of the city. The room was so spacious - you could throw a party in it. The staff were incredibly helpful. We requested a late check out and our request was acceded to without any ado. The hotel also has a great chauffeur service free of charge where they take you to designated areas within the Bay Area. So whether you want to go shopping or out to dinner, you can be picked up and taken there in style and comfort. The hotel is busy and happening and there's an all round good feeling about it, not to mention its close proximity to the shopping area and the Museum of Modern Art bang next door. We can't wait to return. . September 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Experience @ W San Fran Beware of the 'complimentary' bike rentals. Bikes are not maintained and a flat tire left me stranded 4 miles from the hotel. Hotel staff did not appropriately or effectively respond to this issue. Also there is extremely noisy construction going on next to the hotel - even on Saturday and Sunday starting around 8am. Hotel will claim that they have 'no control' over the noise. While this may be true, when one is seeking a weekend relaxation getaway, being awoken my jackhammers and drills at 8am on a Saturday and Sunday is not my idea of serenity. Daily room rates should be adjusted for the inconvenience. I will not stay at the W San Francisco ever again, in fact I checked out early from what should've been a 7 night stay. October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special Birthday My daughter, girlfriend and I flew to San Francisco for a weekend to celebrate a birthday. The staff at the W helped to make this an unforgettable occasion by: 1) facilitating an upgrade to an Extreme Wow Suite -- amazing room, with amazing views (my daughter chose to sleep on the window sill to be close to the city lights)...we were extremely wowed) 2) obtaining a gift for my girlfriend from the local Paul Smith store 3) decorating the rrom with my girlfriend's favorite flowers (which aren't that common) Thanks to everyone at the W for this, especially Gordon and Cora. May 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic!! My stay at the W couldn't have been better! Caesar at the front desk is an amazing asset to the Starwood hotel and the W. He was warm and helpful each time he assisted us. The concierge were all wonderful as well, from making change to proving clear directions to places and for many other things. Fresh fruit, newspapers, hot chocolate, and my favorite, the Friday afternoon Moscow Mule shots available in the Main Lobby were great surprises that I enjoyed! The room was nice with big windows opening onto the city. The beds were very comfy. The room was outfitted with a variety of beverages, the regular, and then splits of patron, makers mark and vodkas! All in all the stay was relaxing, fun and easy!! I highly recommend a stay at the SF W hotel. November 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by My last and only stay When I had placed my reservations through spg.com I had booked two rooms and was asked for the name of the second guest not knowing that the name would be the only person to check-in. When I had checked in I had requested adjoining rooms, the person stated they would reserve the room 2nd room and did not indicate the rooms were not adjoining. The receptionist also stated that no special request was made when I had made the reservation. It was too late to cancel the second room and the only accommodation was the same floor. The room looked immaculate, but a foil wrapped food package was left from the previous guest. The fact that I was a SPG preferred guest was not recognized when I checked in was disappointing. January 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Treat Loyalty Members Like Gold Beautiful hotel however did not have rooms ready for me or another gold member. Regular guests were being checked in and we were told to wait because our room was being cleaned. Left hotel for a couple of hours and came back and our room was still not ready! After waiting longer I insisted on seeing a manager who checked my family and I into a room immediatley. As a gold member I expect to get better service from a hotel, certainly not worse! I was told by another gold member that if booked on points it it Starwood's policy to only allow members on their lower floors!!?? Why not give the best to people who routinley spend money with Starwood? Very disapointed in Starwood's attitude towards guests in their loyalty program. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hospitality I was completely won over by the staff and standards. From arrival to checkout, we were met by friendly and efficient service. Valet parking, bell hop, front desk, housekeeping, w/w line, bar, spa, restaurant: every single person was personable and professional. My room was impeccably clean and well appointed. The food in the restaurant was incredible, and in SF the standard is high. And even though my SPG account had lapsed, I was greeted like a regular. Loved my snack tray. I had avoided W hotels for the last several years as being too cold and snooty. I am back. December 3, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but not an A+ A nice funky hotel but there were a few items that detracted from our stay: - the W was the only hotel of the very many in which we stayed which actually charged for wireless access. A stranger can walk off the street and use the wireless in the living room for free, but paying customers cannot even get free wireless in their rooms. This is amazing. This type of "tight" penny-pinching behavior is the very reason many people change providers. - the shower/bath valve in the room (2604) did not work properly - the fitness centre was smelly and very poorly ventilated - the pool temperature is too low, and given the limited alternatives (e.g. no saunas and one hot tub which was always full) this area was of little/no use to us January 15, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 next>>