W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Registered hotel guests must be 21 years of age or older.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 464 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Improvements Needed As an SPG Platinum I must say any recognition is minimal at best. No room upgrades, room not ready, I am not even asked about the Platinum amenity, breakfast or points at check in. Rooms are not cleaned well. Found debris all over. To call a room spectacular that looks at metal beams is absurd. Check in and check out are very very slow. August 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by My stay at the W I stayed here recently for one night because I like the location of the hotel. Bedroom decor was nice and peaceful and the room smelled really good. The pool and hot tub are small but are nice. I do not like however how they charge for every single thing. Parking is very expensive if you decide to do the valet option, so we decided to park in the nearby garage. The minibar inside the room is very expensive (prices were listed thonso no surprises there) but apparently they charge tax on the items. Also apparently you are charged for local calls from your room even though it's in the same city. The hotel also has many taxes making my total bill very very expensive. It's a nice hotel and convenient but don't think I'd be staying there again anytime soon. September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by not so bad very exciting place hot place September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable yet trendy and fun I have stayed in a few W Hotels in the past, but this was my first time at the W in San Francisco. Very impressed with the attentiveness and friendly nature of the staff, as well as the stylish yet comfortable room. The Bliss Spa was great (as they normally are), and very relaxing. Location was perfect so I could get to most of downtown San Francisco easily, Finally, I was very impressed with the recognition I received as a SPG Platinum member. They really made me feel appreciated and valued. I will definitely stay here again. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service The hotel had great service and each employee went above and beyond to make sure our trip was not only enjoyable but better than expected. My only grip was the bed was a little firm for my liking. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome staff - Clean but oldish rooms Love the vibe here. Rooms - are spacious with good views and very clean. The rooms are a little run down with chipped paint, older furniture, loose wallpaper, but still okay. Bathrooms are large and amenities rule People here are great. Awesome customer service. Special shout out to Marlene at the front desk. Professional, super kind, and really made me like this place. The pool was closed and the gym was temporary. Wished management told me this when we booked. Disappointed there. But all else would recommend. May 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of construction next door! I had a very unpleasant stay at the W recently. They are apparently doing some construction right next door. There was a note on the bed apologizing for the closed pool and gym. It was a little bit of a bummer, but fine. But no where did it say pardon the noise and not once did a staff person mention there may be noise in the morning. I had a 10:00 AM work meeting and was looking forward to sleeping in a bit since the hotel was so close to my work. But no - I was awoken to the sound of construction at 6:50 AM! It was beyond ridiculous! I was so upset and spoke with the staff at check out and they did nothing to make up for it. I would never stay there again just for that reason. I don't appreciate that kind of non-responsive customer service. What ever happened to the guest coming first?! June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great hotel and location. I always love staying at a W Hotel. Staff is wonderful, attentive, and very accommodating. My only challenge is not providing complimentary wifi in the room. In today's world you should be offering wifi throughout the entire hotel. I hate being nickel and dimed and at W prices I expect complimentary wifi. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Decor. Courteous Staff. This hotel has all the markings of a modern contemporary style. Welcome mats on the elevator for each time of day was a nice touch. Staff was friendly and courteous. The room was a little smaller than I expected but featured convenient amenities like a multi charging station for mobile devices (no Lighting connecter for newer Apple OS devices). My only complaint was the breakfast menu at Trace seemed a little pedantic. Otherwise an enjoyable stay. July 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be better I'm a big W Hotel fan and have to say the overall experience was ok. The place is stating to look run down and the staff were somewhat nice but seemed they were more worried about themselves. August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Met the W standard This hotel was nice.I was a little concerned on reading some negative reviews. The staff were OK, not overly nice as perhaps they could be for the class of hotel, but perhaps the area is not none for great service. The beds were lovely of course. We had two rooms, and they were able to get us right next to eachother, with a nice view of the bay bridge. one thing, one of the rooms was missing some of the decor elements - throw pillows for window set and color pop decorative blanket at end of bed. These were really important since the room is otherwise minimalist with little color. I recommend to the hotel that each room remains decorated as the designer intented. On a final note, the spa was great. The signature Bliss 75 massage with parafin foot treatment was spectacular. August 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay Great stay, great staff, great property... ! August 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but poor management of services/collaboration on reservations, etc. When I made the reservations, I made reservations through the website, and I asked for specific things such as late check-in, late check out, putting all charges on my account instead of my guest's account. I asked that the guest not be asked for his credit card. He was asked for his credit card, and I had to speak with a manager to insure all of this was annotated on his record, and they still asked for his card. Didn't seem like the reservations and the hotel itself were in sync with each other's systems. July 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced Although I knew there would be a minimal parking rates, they are extremely high and unfortunately was never given amount of parking until we arrived. When I asked what my other choices were of where to leave our vehicle, they said there really was none. If I would have known, flights were cheaper than parking for us; I would have flown. Water pressure for the shower was non existent; I was told they are a "green" facility. For the amount of the room I should have received water pressure and or free parking. February 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by August 22 Late night stay in I was looking online for a place to stay with me and my wife. Saw the place online and it looked amazing for $219. went inside and they said that they only had the $259 available. (Why was it available online then?). Booked it anyways because it was 11:30pm at night and I just wanted to sleep. They use my credit card to put the deposit. Next morning woke up to a card about my credit card not working. I figured it is a bank problem and ill just pay when check out at 12:30am. Then me and my wife left and as we were leaving a man came across rudely. We went to the elevator and as the doors were closing for us to go to check out. The same man came back inside and said could you two come with me! Very rudely and like there was a problem. I was completely upset about the disrespect for guest staying at the W. Never explained the situation at all and treated me and my wife like were trying to chip the hotel or something. Never would recommend this hotel to anyone. I'm going to make a Yelp review on this as well. I believe the security guy that was rude and disrespectful goes by the name sean I believe. I sent an order complaint to Miguel Sunday night August 24th. Hoping to get in touch with the director Jeff. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by They made our wedding perfect! We just had out wedding here over the weekend and I have to say, it was perfect! Lindsay is absolutely amazing and helped us with every last detail from the day we contacted her 15 months ago until the last hour of the wedding, all while being super fun, hilarious, and bubbly. The rest of the staff including Dave were also fantastic, and were able to make everything I wanted happen and more. The newly renovated 4th floor terrace is absolutely stunning! It's ultra modern with its edgy architecture, huge chandelier/skylight that extends the length of the room, built in up lighting on every wall, and a full length window wall that you can fully open to reveal the amazing view of the cityscape. The food was wonderful, I've never had better crab cakes, filet mignon, wedge salad, etc. anywhere else. We had the privilege of staying in one of their amazing corner suites that overlooked the entire west side of the city. Our guests were completely floored by how amazing our venue was. I still can't believe how perfect our wedding was and I can't thank Lindsay and her staff enough for pulling out all the stops and making us feel like $1MM for our day. I highly recommend the W for weddings. If you want the perfect wedding, with new, modern, unique venue, a fantastic coordinator, amazing food, and to be treated like royalty for your entire stay, you need to have it here. You will not be disappointed. August 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gracious, Professionl, Welcoming ... Cool! The staff is excellent. Every staff member wants to please and make your stay the best ever. They all succeed. The front office personnel are extraordinary. I wish I could remember all of their names: James, Ximena, Natalie, Marlene; Alex at the Concierge's Desk and the other concierges that I can't remember; the bellhops and doormen are full of vibrancy and smiles and are so willing to "make your day," and they certainly do! Extraordinary hotel with an extraordinary staff!!! Thanks!!! May 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Under Construction I was booked at this hotel for a business/stay for the weekend trip. Upon arrival, found out it was under construction. King bed room was not available, so my wife and I shared a "romantic" two queens. There was absolutely no floor space in the room, a cheesy lighted purple Buddha statue ( I can't make something this weird up) and pillows the size of marshmallows. But I guess the faux Buddha thing matched the weak faux asian decor sparsely applied to the walls of the room. Outside our window was a construction crew building a new structure, complete with jackhammers and welders. Finally, in the evening when going through the lobby, which had been reduced to a hallway, was a band playing music loud enough to wake the dead on the 6th floor (our floor). Ok, so would you book this hotel if you knew this going in? PS - who in corporate supply thinks you need a 4" thick comforter oover in a place where it's 70 degrees F? Maybe if we were at a cabin on a snowy night in the woods. But your covers choices are this intense thermal blanket cooking you to medium rare, or throw them off and have nothing. Layers? A sheet and light blanket, with the option of adding a second blanket please. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W_SANFRAN sleek hotel, trendy given nighttime crowd in lobby bar. locaton across from Museum (but closed for now), else not ideal location. extra perk from Acura giving (limited) free xport to local spots (RESERVE, else you won't get ride at time you need). front desk and bellhops very nice. concierge nice but said Acura ride didn't need advance rez...couple issues w/ 1st room were addressed immediately with energy & interest. overall, rooms nicely appointed and staff responsiveness made for a great stay. September 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient for Moscone Excellent location for Moscone convention center. Modern style rooms, bar and reception area. Only down side is trying to get a cab in the evenings. August 16, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a little work on the service For this level of hotel, I expected a little more in terms of service. On check out I called for a luggage cart to help take my luggage downstairs. I waited for 15-20 min and finally grew frustrated and we hauled our luggage down ourselves. Once in the lobby and in the carport, I had to hunt down the valet to hand my ticket over. Lobby staff seemed to be in a state of disarray. Suggestions: Upon check-in I should be asked when I was expecting to check out. When calling for a luggage cart, I also expect to be asked if I needed assistance and/or how much time it would be to get a cart to my room (if it will be delayed). There should be someone dedicated to guiding guests to their transportation (Taxi, valet, etc). Great service means anticipating the needs of your guests, and delivering to meet them. July 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location but questionable service The location is solid, close to MOMA, Union Square, and plenty of quality restaurants and bars. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and modern. Service at the bar was pretty bad however. I would recommend sitting at the actual bar if you expect to get served. We were at a table and were pretty much ignored the entire time we were there. It only accounted for 90 minutes of our stay there, but it was annoying enough that I probably won't go back anytime soon. February 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of Erroneous Charges Received an updated folio bill after checking out with erroneous mini-bar charges (total $75)--didn't consume a darn thing. Staff and management has thus far been unhelpful and unresponsive. Have had to take the standard route of constantly following-up to ensure the correction of charges. Thus far, I'm 4 phone calls and an e-mail to the manager into the process--still without resolution. Cautionary tale to make sure nothing is billed and to review your folio (even after checking out), as weird charges can "suddenly" appear. Can't believe I've arrived at the point where I'm that guy who says, "I need to speak to the Manager," but am at my wit's end... On an unrelated note, rooms are small and lack the design element of other W properties, but I suppose I shouldn't expect a ton from a SF property. February 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Green program needs to be better explained. My room was not cleaned or my bed done. When I called the front desk I was told when you participate in the green program they do not make your bed or clean the room. I wish I had been explained when I checked in. In other hotels green programs do not change the linen but your room is serviced. It was very embarrassing when I walked in with my staff for a brief meeting before the start of our program and found my room the way I left it in the am.!! Bed undone, bathroom not cleaned or waste papers emptied!! I was the group coordinator for a medical group and I must say this was the first time the CSM did not send even a Welcome to the hotel card upon my arrival. Other than this, the staff was great and the meeting space was great. Very convenient walk from the Moscone Convention Center, about 420 feet. October 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect location; very attentive staff The San Francisco W is perfectly located. The staff was exceptionally attentive -- from check-in to concierge to housekeeping. Room was beautiful. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why this is my favorite SF hotel Let me count the ways this became my favorite San Francisco hotel: 1. I asked for Perrier in my room, and it was there when I arrived. 2. Restaurant and room service were fast and outstanding. Food much much much better than typical Starwood. 3. The beet salad and duck breast are not on the room service menu but they will make them for you -- and they are phenomenal. I ordered it two days in a row. And try the cookies! 4. Hotel provides a charging station by the bed that works for all phones! I didn't need my own charger. Great idea that should be in all rooms. 5. Staff goes out of the way to accommodate any needs. Allison in the restaurant was especially helpful. Thanks, Allison, for the treats. 6. It is convenient to the convention center (next door). This is truly one of Starwood's best properties. March 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great decor and service The staff were great. rooms were comfortable and view of the city was suberb. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W - Good as always but SPG recognition needs improvment Good as always but SPG recognition needs improvment August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Was not up to par with Westin Resort/Hotel In my previous experiences with W Hotels in the past, which was usually for a special occasion or anniversay, the manager/customer services have always emailed me or contacted me prior to arrival or at the very least, AT arrival, and asked if we were celebrating anything special. This W Hotel NEVER asked me a thing. I was pretty disappointed, and would have stayed at the Westin up the street had I know that there wouldnt be anything "special" added customer service at the W. September 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This W puts the W in Wow I selected this W property last Fall for a January show at the convention center across the street. When I made the reservation I did not know that I would be a SPG Platinum by year's end. I was really surprised and excited to be upgraded to a Cool Corner room which is very suite like in its size and amenities. I work hard at earning and maintaining elite status in the SPG loyalty program and it is a great feeling to be rewarded for my effort. Thank you W San Francisco! January 23, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 17 next>>