W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirment Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older for room reservations.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 407 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by My stay at the W I stayed here recently for one night because I like the location of the hotel. Bedroom decor was nice and peaceful and the room smelled really good. The pool and hot tub are small but are nice. I do not like however how they charge for every single thing. Parking is very expensive if you decide to do the valet option, so we decided to park in the nearby garage. The minibar inside the room is very expensive (prices were listed thonso no surprises there) but apparently they charge tax on the items. Also apparently you are charged for local calls from your room even though it's in the same city. The hotel also has many taxes making my total bill very very expensive. It's a nice hotel and convenient but don't think I'd be staying there again anytime soon. September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very pleased with W San Francisco Refreshing, bright corner rooms. Staff did a great job acknowledging my wife's birthday. Trace does a great job for breakfast. Lobby quite small and not as exciting as other W hotels. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable yet trendy and fun I have stayed in a few W Hotels in the past, but this was my first time at the W in San Francisco. Very impressed with the attentiveness and friendly nature of the staff, as well as the stylish yet comfortable room. The Bliss Spa was great (as they normally are), and very relaxing. Location was perfect so I could get to most of downtown San Francisco easily, Finally, I was very impressed with the recognition I received as a SPG Platinum member. They really made me feel appreciated and valued. I will definitely stay here again. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Birthday We had an awesome time at the W San Francisco. We were celebrating my birthday and Gianna hooked us up with the Extreme Wow Suite. Thank you for going above and beyond my expectations, You rock!!! The suite was amazing and the birthday cake was a nice added touch. I will definitely be back. Thanks for a great getaway. SM March 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Adorable Room Small but so cute and stylish. I loved my room. Utilized the gym twice. It's small, but perfectly adequate. My only complaint is that the water pressure in the shower was not great. Also - don't drink the Smart Water by the sink. It's a trick and will cost you $6.52. March 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No points awarded for my stay I spent 6 nights at your hotel (W San Francisco 2/23 - 3/1314) and was not awarded any points for my stay in spite of the fact that I spent just under $4k for my stay. I am huge fan of your properties and have stayed in them all over the US but do not plan to continue moving forward. March 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Met the W standard This hotel was nice.I was a little concerned on reading some negative reviews. The staff were OK, not overly nice as perhaps they could be for the class of hotel, but perhaps the area is not none for great service. The beds were lovely of course. We had two rooms, and they were able to get us right next to eachother, with a nice view of the bay bridge. one thing, one of the rooms was missing some of the decor elements - throw pillows for window set and color pop decorative blanket at end of bed. These were really important since the room is otherwise minimalist with little color. I recommend to the hotel that each room remains decorated as the designer intented. On a final note, the spa was great. The signature Bliss 75 massage with parafin foot treatment was spectacular. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This W puts the W in Wow I selected this W property last Fall for a January show at the convention center across the street. When I made the reservation I did not know that I would be a SPG Platinum by year's end. I was really surprised and excited to be upgraded to a Cool Corner room which is very suite like in its size and amenities. I work hard at earning and maintaining elite status in the SPG loyalty program and it is a great feeling to be rewarded for my effort. Thank you W San Francisco! January 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the city's greatest! The location, look, feel and experience at the W San Francisco is fantastic! The staff is exceptional in how they make your stay and experience all that you want and more! March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but poor management of services/collaboration on reservations, etc. When I made the reservations, I made reservations through the website, and I asked for specific things such as late check-in, late check out, putting all charges on my account instead of my guest's account. I asked that the guest not be asked for his credit card. He was asked for his credit card, and I had to speak with a manager to insure all of this was annotated on his record, and they still asked for his card. Didn't seem like the reservations and the hotel itself were in sync with each other's systems. July 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overpriced Although I knew there would be a minimal parking rates, they are extremely high and unfortunately was never given amount of parking until we arrived. When I asked what my other choices were of where to leave our vehicle, they said there really was none. If I would have known, flights were cheaper than parking for us; I would have flown. Water pressure for the shower was non existent; I was told they are a "green" facility. For the amount of the room I should have received water pressure and or free parking. February 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy room i was at room 3014, you can loudly hear the elevator motors March 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rude & overpriced with a side of pee This hotel did not have the exceptional customer service I've come to expect from W hotels. I'm dissapointed that I was charged $20 for a local call that didn't even go through, and that I had to argue with the conceirge about receiving my sip cards (drink cards included in my room rate). Ultimately be conceded and gave me one, although I had paid for four days at that rate. I wasn't going to argue, I just won't stay there again. Also, I appreciate minimalism but our room was stark white with no character that I've come to expect from Ws. Without any hip design, what's the point? We could have stayed in a hostel for far less. Which reminds me, the sheets weren't fitted so one light nap unraveled the sides exposing the mattress. It had pee spots all over it so I actually ended up spending the last night of our stay at my cousins house because that grossed me out. What a huge waste of money and time. I definitely will not return ever. March 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Living up up to the expectations We just spent last Friday evening at the hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. She enjoyed the spa. Her pedicure was excellent and the massage was great. We reserved a corner room and loved the view and room overall. The bed was very comfortable. Shower was not special and water pressure was not great though. The bar downstairs had good drinks and IPA beer selection. It still has a nice vibe to it and is at a great location. February 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Always Enjoy Staying Here I have to travel to SF a few times a month for work, and I always enjoy staying at this hotel. The only drawback this last time was that I could hear the construction going on within the hotel... Otherwise, the bar is always fun, the rooms and beds are comfortable, and the hotel location is prime. March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W_SANFRAN sleek hotel, trendy given nighttime crowd in lobby bar. locaton across from Museum (but closed for now), else not ideal location. extra perk from Acura giving (limited) free xport to local spots (RESERVE, else you won't get ride at time you need). front desk and bellhops very nice. concierge nice but said Acura ride didn't need advance rez...couple issues w/ 1st room were addressed immediately with energy & interest. overall, rooms nicely appointed and staff responsiveness made for a great stay. September 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Vibe for young professionals We received excellent service from all the staff at the W Hotel. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Fabulous! So impressed with the outstanding service, friendly staff, superbl common areas, magnificent views, guest recognition and easy airport arrangements.. Location is excellent for getting to know the city on foot and the concierge has perfect advise for the best restaurants around. March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Less than expected was looking forward to using the facilities which were under renovation, no one had mentioned anything during booking or check in, which was strange The ipod/iphone dock near bed is completely useless and unintuitive Phone charger station did not work, woke up with dead phone AC system does not stop blowing air - it's either heat or AC, have to turn it off manually when tired or noise and back on when needing heat - epic fail. January 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Green program needs to be better explained. My room was not cleaned or my bed done. When I called the front desk I was told when you participate in the green program they do not make your bed or clean the room. I wish I had been explained when I checked in. In other hotels green programs do not change the linen but your room is serviced. It was very embarrassing when I walked in with my staff for a brief meeting before the start of our program and found my room the way I left it in the am.!! Bed undone, bathroom not cleaned or waste papers emptied!! I was the group coordinator for a medical group and I must say this was the first time the CSM did not send even a Welcome to the hotel card upon my arrival. Other than this, the staff was great and the meeting space was great. Very convenient walk from the Moscone Convention Center, about 420 feet. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Was disappointed For an average traveler, this hotel is very nice. I travel frequently and usually stay at the St Regis, but that hotel was sold out so I reserved a block of 10 rooms and a suite for several nights which was fully paid for upfront. The manager on duty said that all rooms were only doubles and that she could not accommodate a king size room for me. After spending over $40k, I would think that the manager would have been more of service. January 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a little work on the service For this level of hotel, I expected a little more in terms of service. On check out I called for a luggage cart to help take my luggage downstairs. I waited for 15-20 min and finally grew frustrated and we hauled our luggage down ourselves. Once in the lobby and in the carport, I had to hunt down the valet to hand my ticket over. Lobby staff seemed to be in a state of disarray. Suggestions: Upon check-in I should be asked when I was expecting to check out. When calling for a luggage cart, I also expect to be asked if I needed assistance and/or how much time it would be to get a cart to my room (if it will be delayed). There should be someone dedicated to guiding guests to their transportation (Taxi, valet, etc). Great service means anticipating the needs of your guests, and delivering to meet them. July 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of Erroneous Charges Received an updated folio bill after checking out with erroneous mini-bar charges (total $75)--didn't consume a darn thing. Staff and management has thus far been unhelpful and unresponsive. Have had to take the standard route of constantly following-up to ensure the correction of charges. Thus far, I'm 4 phone calls and an e-mail to the manager into the process--still without resolution. Cautionary tale to make sure nothing is billed and to review your folio (even after checking out), as weird charges can "suddenly" appear. Can't believe I've arrived at the point where I'm that guy who says, "I need to speak to the Manager," but am at my wit's end... On an unrelated note, rooms are small and lack the design element of other W properties, but I suppose I shouldn't expect a ton from a SF property. February 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location but questionable service The location is solid, close to MOMA, Union Square, and plenty of quality restaurants and bars. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and modern. Service at the bar was pretty bad however. I would recommend sitting at the actual bar if you expect to get served. We were at a table and were pretty much ignored the entire time we were there. It only accounted for 90 minutes of our stay there, but it was annoying enough that I probably won't go back anytime soon. February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks Vic! When we arrived, everyone was so friendly and accommodating. Front desk Manager Vic did everything he could to make my weekend stay at the W San Francisco seamless. I enjoyed every minute of my stay! Bar was fun and kicked off our evening every night before heading of into the city. Great stay! March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The service is outstanding From the valet service to the bar to the housekeeping staff, the service was outstanding! All our questions were answered, a fabulous recommendation for dinner was provided (Alexander's Steakhouse) and when we checked out but left something in our room, it was not a hassle to get a key card to go back up and retrieve it. The room was cozy and quiet and the view was incredible. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful "date night". January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why this is my favorite SF hotel Let me count the ways this became my favorite San Francisco hotel: 1. I asked for Perrier in my room, and it was there when I arrived. 2. Restaurant and room service were fast and outstanding. Food much much much better than typical Starwood. 3. The beet salad and duck breast are not on the room service menu but they will make them for you -- and they are phenomenal. I ordered it two days in a row. And try the cookies! 4. Hotel provides a charging station by the bed that works for all phones! I didn't need my own charger. Great idea that should be in all rooms. 5. Staff goes out of the way to accommodate any needs. Allison in the restaurant was especially helpful. Thanks, Allison, for the treats. 6. It is convenient to the convention center (next door). This is truly one of Starwood's best properties. March 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Was not up to par with Westin Resort/Hotel In my previous experiences with W Hotels in the past, which was usually for a special occasion or anniversay, the manager/customer services have always emailed me or contacted me prior to arrival or at the very least, AT arrival, and asked if we were celebrating anything special. This W Hotel NEVER asked me a thing. I was pretty disappointed, and would have stayed at the Westin up the street had I know that there wouldnt be anything "special" added customer service at the W. September 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A bit disappointed! Cleanliness was the concern. Outside windows of room were very dirty and streaked so having views of the bridge were not all that spectacular! We found M&M candies on the floor from previous guests. The bathroom sink had long women's hair in it. The remote control for the TV was inconsistent in its functioning. We had to resort to manual controls at times. February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazingly Chic First timer at the W in San Francsco, and I'm thoroughly impressed. Not only did they go above and beyond my expectations, but they continued to greet me with a warm smile and acknowledged me anytime I made eye contact. The atmosphere is similar to that of a Virgin America flight, which makes it feel like they were gearing for a younger, more affluent market. Service was excellent. I'd definitely come back, although I didn't get a chance to try any food downstairs. June 2, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 15 next>>