W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Registered hotel guests must be 21 years of age or older.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 471 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was fun Improve the quality and taste of the morning complimentary coffee January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Parking Challenges This hotel needs better parking options. Everything else was great, but I had to park over 2 blocks away and carry all my luggage's in the cold. January 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is starting to look a little run down and from an eating perspective, choices are too limited. We know that parking is expensive all over SF, but $60 per night to park a car just seems a bit excessive. Staff was great and we received some nice notes and gifts from hotel during stay. January 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful, modern hotel The location and accommodations here were excellent -- my daughter and I were able to watch the New Year's Eve fireworks from our large window (complete with window seat!) and we loved the stylish furniture as well as the foot massager under the desk. Other perks included the small gift given to my daughter at check-in and a bottle of champagne for New Year's. I was somewhat surprised that there wasn't a kettle in the room, although Whatever/Whenever promptly brought one upon request (I like to have hot beverages throughout the day.) I didn't expect there to be as many scuffed and scratched areas as there were (in the bathroom, on the cabinets, etc.) But my biggest disappointment was that the hotel charges $14,95 a day for basic in-room internet. That is astounding when you consider that virtually all other hotels (including budget hotels) provide free WiFi. To her credit, the guest service agent checking me out removed the charge when I questioned it, but this fee seems to be unnecessarily petty of the W. January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK place ... look at other properties, first Bliss spa was terrible !! We also had hot water issues and on one day had not hot water at all !! A comped movie doesn't make up for not being able to have a shower ! Bar staff is not consistent with drinks. Hotel feels a bit dated. January 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement The bar staff was terrible, The front desk staff was inefficient and the toilet in the bathroom was dirty when we finally checked in much later than promised. December 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly recommend this hotel! It was a special Christmas Eve night stay with my wife. It was my first time to stay at W San Francisco, and the stay exceeded my expectation! Great staff, clean and fancy room. It was all great. I hope to stay again at this hotel when I visit San Francisco again. December 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not again An o.k. place to stay to sleep but if you are interested in a beautiful Lobby, rooms, great beds etc then choose another Hotel. If you are booking with a third party booking service then do not stay here. They will put you in a sub standard room and on a lower floor. December 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Only Parking Attendant provided Customer Service I am extremely disappointed in my experience with the W Hotel San Francisco. I booked the Cirque du Soleil package that included tickets to a show, complementary parking and cocktails for one night stay. The receptionist was very cold. No kind of greeting no acknowledgement of the package nothing. I thought it strange but wrote it off as an inexperienced staff. The room was as expected, nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about. It was clean, pretty comfortable with a nice view. Since the receptionist did not mentioned anything about tickets I was expecting to find them in my room. Nothing... When I called the front desk to inquire about my show tickets I find a flabbergasted employee explaining that she will need to contact her manager and get back to me. This was the first but not last time I had to reach for the phone. The manager called back after 5 minutes asking me what day I want to go to the show. How about tonight I answer while I am staying in your hotel? He then says he will need to purchase tickets and will call me back when done. The show was for 8PM and I was on the phone from 5:00 to 6PM trying to sort out my ticket situation. The manager buys the tickets and copies me on the purchase thinking that the order receipt would be sufficient to get me in. Good thing I read the fine print and find out that the tickets need to be presented in printed format with a bar code. Meanwhile someone comes to my door to give my a hard copy of the mostly useless ticket receipt. Picked up the phone again to request a printout of the tickets prior to our booked dinner reservation which was on our way to the show. As I walk up to the desk and ask for my tickets, I get carded instead of receiving an apology for making me work for something that was supposed to be part of the package. Can they be any ruder? Unfortunately this wasn't the only mishap. The seats to the show were in the second to last row with the action bearably visible and when checking out W Hotel charged me for more than they should have and only promised to take care of it (within a week) after I pointed it out. The receptionist tried to explain (lie) to me that the overcharge was a security deposit that will be reimbursed, instead of apologizing for their mistake. Really? Do you train your people to insult your guests? Needless to say, I don't intend to stay there ever again and I'll make sure the Fortune 500 company I work for won't consider the SF location either. December 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overrated Customer Service was excellent - way above expectations. Everything else is overpriced. Food was ridiculously expensive. Parking was ridiculously expensive. The hotel rooms are small and cliche'. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is really whenever whatever This hotel offers an excellent place for your holiday or business in San Francisco, the location is near the piers and near the centre, you can walk easily. Staff is always kind and helpful. Recognition of your spg membership. December 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great View! We lucked out and got a view of the new Bay Bridge light show! December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fav hotel in SF I stay at the W whenever I can, definitely the best SPG property in SF. The staff is generally very nice, the rooms are cute, and best of all the minibar is convenient and cheap and so is the room service. Most room service hotels offer is pretty bad, but I actually really enjoy the food here. Good views too. December 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very comfortable No doubt my stay at the W was very comfortable, the rooms are clean well maintained and usually provide awesome views of the city if you are on the higher floors. Some rooms were missing a radio/bath robes which I believe should be basic. The staff are very helpful, room service is great and the lounge below is neat too ! I would highly recommend this hotel for business events and business travellers. December 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by this hotel is great I stated here for 10 days and there service was great whatever whenever is the best thing December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lost my iphone charger and didn't get it back I lost my charger along with the USB line at the hotel after I checked out. I called the hotel within 4 hours and the manager at Lost & Found Dept told me the room had been cleaned and no charger to be found when he visited. I waited for 20 hours to give a second call and still no feedback until now. I know there is no hope for me to find the lost items but I am VERY frustrated at how the thing was handled. This is not about the value of the lost items but about the integrity of the hotel. So overall, I won't recommend this hotel to anyone else and am not planning to stay for future visits. December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by fair gave me an unlcean (beds not made, trash, etc.) room. then gave me a nice room with a room light that didn't work. i asked a few times to have it fixed and it never happened. December 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Dog issues First time at a W hotel. Disappointed as there was a barking dog next door. Also when I asked for herbal tea to go with Keurig machine, we were delivered caffeinated teas and one decaf Lipton (ugh) tea bag. Probably will not return. November 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed This is our first night at the hotel, another three nights to go. We are disappointed already. This hotel is not family (ESP kids) friendly. The front desk staff is not friendly. The bed size is too small, the bath tub is not clean...... Not recommend for family holiday stay November 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay This hotel is in a great location in San Francisco. Walking distance to an amazing mall and wonderful city view. The staff was very attentive and I loved the ambiance of my room. I didn't spend time in the bar or restaurant but those that did seemed to be having a great time. The high window seat in my room was one of its best features. I was able to comfortably sit in the window, complete my paperwork, and admire the great view. I will definitely stay here again. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Rooms and Staff Very nice rooms, especially the corner rooms with a cozy corner area for having drinks, chatting or playing a board game. Staff were very friendly and helpful with everything. The South of Market location close to Union Square, MOMA and nightlife is also very convenient. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gordon/Mark: High Standard In Customer Service During breakfast on the day of departure I got the pleasure to talk with Mark. He was busy setting up for a lunch party, but took a solid 10 minutes out of his day to talk baseball. He was extremely nice and genuine. He remembered me at check out and was very friendly then as well. I checked out around 4pm, which was during tea time. The hotel offers the coolest tea bags I have ever seen. I took a seat to enjoy my tea, and not too long after a hotel guest started complaining to Gordon about every little thing possible. Ridiculous complaints. (ex. If you think the minibar is too expensive: 1. Stop by a store that's a lot less convenient. 2. Don't buy anything. If across the board hotel guests feel the prices are too high, the monthly sales report will drive the prices down) Naturally I had to fight to keep my mouth shut as this individual verbally tore down the W. I was impressed with Gordon's reaction. He handled the situation far better than I would have. He took notes on what was said, remained very professional, and the upset guest walked away with a smile. I left a previous review for how awesome the location and property is. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best W There Is The W San Francisco is the best W there is. Great staff, fun decor, great location. Whenever I travel to SF, I stay in this hotel and always leave happy. November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff/Property I don't expect doors to be opened for me because I'm an ambassador member, but it would have been nice for the valet/door guys to pay attention when I walked up with my suitcase/backpack/bags in hand. I wasn't dressed in a suit like the rest of the customer base, so I was easily overlooked. This initial indication of how I could expect to be treated was irritating, especially after traveling from outside the continent. I lowered my customer service expectations, but Ogy at the front desk turned this negative experience around. He didn't care that I was in running shoes, jeans and a hoody. He provided great customer service and is a great addition to the staff. The excellent customer service continued at breakfast with Claudio (aka Champion). He was very friendly, and a pleasure to talk to. The hotel is conveniently located just a short walk from the Montgomery BART station, which makes travel to/from the airports very cheap and easy. The Powell/Hyde street car stop is very close as well to see the downtown area. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Service This hotel was fantastic, I have stayed at other W properties before, but this was my first experience in San Francisco. From the front desk to the bar staff to the wait staff, the service was top notch and I will be staying here every time I need to come to the city. Also a very convenient location for both business and leisure. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable rooms, attentive staff made a wonderful vacation We stayed five nights at the W San Francisco while on vacation in late July 2013. This hotel is conveniently located in SOMA, about two blocks south of Market Street. Access from the airport is easy by BART to the Montgomery Street station. The W has a reputation for a busy lobby with loud music playing. This is well-deserved: the lobby was hopping most of the time we were there. It wasn���t disruptive to our stay, though: none of the music carried up to our floor (the 20th) and, in fact, the room was very quiet and we never heard sound from the hallway or the adjacent rooms. Despite being an SPG Platinum member, the hotel offered only a one-level upgrade, from a “Wonderful” to a “Spectacular” room – this was still the most basic room at this hotel, but on a higher floor. The room was very cutely decorated, with little knick-nacks all over the place, including a light-up, colour-changing Buddha. In addition to a fully stocked minibar, there was a bottle of wine and several bottles of hard alcohol placed around the desk area. On a more practical note, there was a nifty device on the desk capable of charging numerous brands of cell phones, as well as five other plugs at desk level for computers or other devices. The ‘little things’ were done nicely, like a light in the closet that turns on automatically when you open the door. There was also a cozy window seat with a nice view of the Bay Bridge. The bathroom was bright and clean. The “Bliss” bath amenities, especially the lemon-scented soap, face wash, and body butter cream, were delightful as always. The best feature of the room, however, was the bed. We had a king-size pillow-top bed with just the right combination of support and softness. We slept soundly every night of our stay. The room did not come equipped with a coffee maker, but the hotel will provide a Keurig machine at no charge upon request. However, the coffee and condiments are not refreshed daily by housekeeping; you need to call and ask. The Whatever/Whenever service is always attentive, though. Unique among Starwood hotels, the W chain has an iPhone app that, among other things, allows guests to make requests, order room service, etc., without having to pick up the phone. Unfortunately at the W San Francisco the app didn’t work properly, and produced a ‘server error’ at the very final stage of ordering. No worries, though: the “Whatever/Whenever” service always picked up the phone immediately, addressed me by name, and were happy to meet any request. Overall, we found the level of service by hotel staff to be among the best we’d ever received in a hotel. The fitness centre is located in a nice, bright area on the fourth floor. There is a shallow swimming pool and a hot tub, both located under a large skylight. The pool area is open until midnight, which is a major plus because it allows evening time in the hot tub after families and small children have gone to bed. The fitness centre itself has a good number of up-to-date cardio machines, but is really lacking in the strength department. There is really no available floor space for stretching, and has only one rack of free weights and one multi-purpose weight/pulley machine. The biggest problem, however, surrounds the cardio equipment: the ceiling is too low, and as a 6’3” person I hit my head several times while using the elliptical and treadmill. This safety concern must be remedied as soon as possible. We ate breakfast each morning in the hotel restaurant, Trace. There is no buffet but the menu offers a reasonable selection. The items were tasty with generous portion sizes. At this hotel, the SPG Platinum breakfast benefit is a $15 credit per person, which will cover about half the items on the menu. It does *not* cover the absurdly high $5.50 cost of coffee, however. In fact, the very same coffee is available for free each morning a few paces away in the bar. A unique feature of W Hotels is the “Acura Experience” car service. Despite the text in the hotel’s guest directory, the service is in fact only available afternoons. We used it to go to an out-of-the-way museum, and both the car and driver were very pleasant; the driver even suggested other destinations in the same area. There is an on-board video touting the Acura’s features, but the sales pitch was low-key and a small price to pay for this complimentary service. Overall, we were very impressed with our stay at the W San Francisco. Without exception, the staff were attentive and friendly. Even our basic room was quiet, comfortable, and restful. We will definitely stay here again. Tip: take the time to explore your room. The nooks and crannies are packed with small delights. November 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charge for wifi? Really? I mean what business hotel does that? Just build into the rate. It's annoying to be charged for wifi at a business hotel. Wake up! November 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W customer service has no equal! Exemplary customer service as is typical of the "W" brand! Everyone from the valet staff, Anna-Lynne at check-in (she wished me a happy belated birthday!), the bartenders and Ganu. Ganu helped us with our luggage upon our arrival, an excellent breakfast recommendation, and even took the time to help us plan our timeline for our return trip to the airport! All this wonderfullness and the bathroom is stocked with the absolute cheapest toilet paper on the planet. For $400+ a night I think a little better quality TP is justified. November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent stay at the W San Francisco I was recently in SF for business. The W is located within easy walking to the downtown core, seconds from the convention center and restaurants. The bars are fun, but a bit noisy for conversation. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic!! My stay at the W couldn't have been better! Caesar at the front desk is an amazing asset to the Starwood hotel and the W. He was warm and helpful each time he assisted us. The concierge were all wonderful as well, from making change to proving clear directions to places and for many other things. Fresh fruit, newspapers, hot chocolate, and my favorite, the Friday afternoon Moscow Mule shots available in the Main Lobby were great surprises that I enjoyed! The room was nice with big windows opening onto the city. The beds were very comfy. The room was outfitted with a variety of beverages, the regular, and then splits of patron, makers mark and vodkas! All in all the stay was relaxing, fun and easy!! I highly recommend a stay at the SF W hotel. November 4, 2013
  • 2015-04-16T18:37:36.154-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_471, tr_471
  • loc_en_US, sid_1153, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 17 next>>