W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 489 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Rooms and Staff Very nice rooms, especially the corner rooms with a cozy corner area for having drinks, chatting or playing a board game. Staff were very friendly and helpful with everything. The South of Market location close to Union Square, MOMA and nightlife is also very convenient. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gordon/Mark: High Standard In Customer Service During breakfast on the day of departure I got the pleasure to talk with Mark. He was busy setting up for a lunch party, but took a solid 10 minutes out of his day to talk baseball. He was extremely nice and genuine. He remembered me at check out and was very friendly then as well. I checked out around 4pm, which was during tea time. The hotel offers the coolest tea bags I have ever seen. I took a seat to enjoy my tea, and not too long after a hotel guest started complaining to Gordon about every little thing possible. Ridiculous complaints. (ex. If you think the minibar is too expensive: 1. Stop by a store that's a lot less convenient. 2. Don't buy anything. If across the board hotel guests feel the prices are too high, the monthly sales report will drive the prices down) Naturally I had to fight to keep my mouth shut as this individual verbally tore down the W. I was impressed with Gordon's reaction. He handled the situation far better than I would have. He took notes on what was said, remained very professional, and the upset guest walked away with a smile. I left a previous review for how awesome the location and property is. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best W There Is The W San Francisco is the best W there is. Great staff, fun decor, great location. Whenever I travel to SF, I stay in this hotel and always leave happy. November 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff/Property I don't expect doors to be opened for me because I'm an ambassador member, but it would have been nice for the valet/door guys to pay attention when I walked up with my suitcase/backpack/bags in hand. I wasn't dressed in a suit like the rest of the customer base, so I was easily overlooked. This initial indication of how I could expect to be treated was irritating, especially after traveling from outside the continent. I lowered my customer service expectations, but Ogy at the front desk turned this negative experience around. He didn't care that I was in running shoes, jeans and a hoody. He provided great customer service and is a great addition to the staff. The excellent customer service continued at breakfast with Claudio (aka Champion). He was very friendly, and a pleasure to talk to. The hotel is conveniently located just a short walk from the Montgomery BART station, which makes travel to/from the airports very cheap and easy. The Powell/Hyde street car stop is very close as well to see the downtown area. November 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impeccable Service This hotel was fantastic, I have stayed at other W properties before, but this was my first experience in San Francisco. From the front desk to the bar staff to the wait staff, the service was top notch and I will be staying here every time I need to come to the city. Also a very convenient location for both business and leisure. November 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable rooms, attentive staff made a wonderful vacation We stayed five nights at the W San Francisco while on vacation in late July 2013. This hotel is conveniently located in SOMA, about two blocks south of Market Street. Access from the airport is easy by BART to the Montgomery Street station. The W has a reputation for a busy lobby with loud music playing. This is well-deserved: the lobby was hopping most of the time we were there. It wasn’t disruptive to our stay, though: none of the music carried up to our floor (the 20th) and, in fact, the room was very quiet and we never heard sound from the hallway or the adjacent rooms. Despite being an SPG Platinum member, the hotel offered only a one-level upgrade, from a “Wonderful” to a “Spectacular” room – this was still the most basic room at this hotel, but on a higher floor. The room was very cutely decorated, with little knick-nacks all over the place, including a light-up, colour-changing Buddha. In addition to a fully stocked minibar, there was a bottle of wine and several bottles of hard alcohol placed around the desk area. On a more practical note, there was a nifty device on the desk capable of charging numerous brands of cell phones, as well as five other plugs at desk level for computers or other devices. The ‘little things’ were done nicely, like a light in the closet that turns on automatically when you open the door. There was also a cozy window seat with a nice view of the Bay Bridge. The bathroom was bright and clean. The “Bliss” bath amenities, especially the lemon-scented soap, face wash, and body butter cream, were delightful as always. The best feature of the room, however, was the bed. We had a king-size pillow-top bed with just the right combination of support and softness. We slept soundly every night of our stay. The room did not come equipped with a coffee maker, but the hotel will provide a Keurig machine at no charge upon request. However, the coffee and condiments are not refreshed daily by housekeeping; you need to call and ask. The Whatever/Whenever service is always attentive, though. Unique among Starwood hotels, the W chain has an iPhone app that, among other things, allows guests to make requests, order room service, etc., without having to pick up the phone. Unfortunately at the W San Francisco the app didn’t work properly, and produced a ‘server error’ at the very final stage of ordering. No worries, though: the “Whatever/Whenever” service always picked up the phone immediately, addressed me by name, and were happy to meet any request. Overall, we found the level of service by hotel staff to be among the best we’d ever received in a hotel. The fitness centre is located in a nice, bright area on the fourth floor. There is a shallow swimming pool and a hot tub, both located under a large skylight. The pool area is open until midnight, which is a major plus because it allows evening time in the hot tub after families and small children have gone to bed. The fitness centre itself has a good number of up-to-date cardio machines, but is really lacking in the strength department. There is really no available floor space for stretching, and has only one rack of free weights and one multi-purpose weight/pulley machine. The biggest problem, however, surrounds the cardio equipment: the ceiling is too low, and as a 6’3” person I hit my head several times while using the elliptical and treadmill. This safety concern must be remedied as soon as possible. We ate breakfast each morning in the hotel restaurant, Trace. There is no buffet but the menu offers a reasonable selection. The items were tasty with generous portion sizes. At this hotel, the SPG Platinum breakfast benefit is a $15 credit per person, which will cover about half the items on the menu. It does *not* cover the absurdly high $5.50 cost of coffee, however. In fact, the very same coffee is available for free each morning a few paces away in the bar. A unique feature of W Hotels is the “Acura Experience” car service. Despite the text in the hotel’s guest directory, the service is in fact only available afternoons. We used it to go to an out-of-the-way museum, and both the car and driver were very pleasant; the driver even suggested other destinations in the same area. There is an on-board video touting the Acura’s features, but the sales pitch was low-key and a small price to pay for this complimentary service. Overall, we were very impressed with our stay at the W San Francisco. Without exception, the staff were attentive and friendly. Even our basic room was quiet, comfortable, and restful. We will definitely stay here again. Tip: take the time to explore your room. The nooks and crannies are packed with small delights. November 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charge for wifi? Really? I mean what business hotel does that? Just build into the rate. It's annoying to be charged for wifi at a business hotel. Wake up! November 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W customer service has no equal! Exemplary customer service as is typical of the "W" brand! Everyone from the valet staff, Anna-Lynne at check-in (she wished me a happy belated birthday!), the bartenders and Ganu. Ganu helped us with our luggage upon our arrival, an excellent breakfast recommendation, and even took the time to help us plan our timeline for our return trip to the airport! All this wonderfullness and the bathroom is stocked with the absolute cheapest toilet paper on the planet. For $400+ a night I think a little better quality TP is justified. November 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent stay at the W San Francisco I was recently in SF for business. The W is located within easy walking to the downtown core, seconds from the convention center and restaurants. The bars are fun, but a bit noisy for conversation. November 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic!! My stay at the W couldn't have been better! Caesar at the front desk is an amazing asset to the Starwood hotel and the W. He was warm and helpful each time he assisted us. The concierge were all wonderful as well, from making change to proving clear directions to places and for many other things. Fresh fruit, newspapers, hot chocolate, and my favorite, the Friday afternoon Moscow Mule shots available in the Main Lobby were great surprises that I enjoyed! The room was nice with big windows opening onto the city. The beds were very comfy. The room was outfitted with a variety of beverages, the regular, and then splits of patron, makers mark and vodkas! All in all the stay was relaxing, fun and easy!! I highly recommend a stay at the SF W hotel. November 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful vacation stay We were in town with some friends for a long weekend. We had booked 2 rooms, one was simply a high floor with an amazing view, although I would have appreciated a corner upgrade. The other room was upgraded to a suite, which was fantastic! The two bathrooms and showers made it so easy to get ready to go out at the same time. The only negative with this was the fact that the suite was not ready until close to 5pm, nearly 2hrs after the promised time of 3pm, and when you arrive from the airport at 1pm, that's quite a long wait. Thankfully we were able to use the other room to change, cleanup, and store our bags. I brought this up to the hotel both during check-in and checkout, but also in an email and they did not seem to care or do anything about it. My only other complaint was in regards to room service charging us for extra glasses, and then bringing the wrong ones. This however, was taken care of quite quickly. The food in the restaurant, both for breakfasts and 1 dinner was amazing, and the cocktails were to die for. Definitely choose the breakfast as your Platinum amenity, as it gives you a deep discount, and it just may be the best breakfast in SF. Upon checking out, I realized I had left my jacket in the suite closet. We had to check out of the suite early, as they refused us a late checkout (despite the fact that we had to check-in late). When we came back to check out of the other room and retrieve our things, they had retrieved the jacket for me, AND a phone charger we had left that I didn't even know about. That was wonderful and very good service. Thanks! I will certainly be returning to this hotel and recommending it, and I just hope that they will learn to honor check-in times and if something happens and they cant, do something and don't refuse to honor a late check out! October 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Green program needs to be better explained. My room was not cleaned or my bed done. When I called the front desk I was told when you participate in the green program they do not make your bed or clean the room. I wish I had been explained when I checked in. In other hotels green programs do not change the linen but your room is serviced. It was very embarrassing when I walked in with my staff for a brief meeting before the start of our program and found my room the way I left it in the am.!! Bed undone, bathroom not cleaned or waste papers emptied!! I was the group coordinator for a medical group and I must say this was the first time the CSM did not send even a Welcome to the hotel card upon my arrival. Other than this, the staff was great and the meeting space was great. Very convenient walk from the Moscone Convention Center, about 420 feet. October 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Treated like a rock star Everything from valet parking to check-out was handled so smoothly. The entire staff I encountered treated me like I was someone special, from the valet to room service. We were given a room on the 30th floor with a spectacular view of the Bay Bridge. Whatever Whenever truly means whatever whenever -- I needed a razor, bam! We opted for a "green" stay, but when I requested more towels, bam! The bartender did not make me feel awkward or uncomfortable when I cashed in my drink coupons that came with the parking package I signed up for. My only disappointment came with the pool/spa..I was excited about an indoor pool, hoping to do some laps, but it was freezing. As was the entire pool area. It was also freezing in the spa, and no one seemed to know how to work the amenities, such as the steam room or sauna..the only place to get warmth was if you used the blow dryer..this made me especially sad, because I treated my friend to a very expensive treatment, and she was not able to enjoy fully because of the cold. Expected more from a Bliss spa. Also didn't appreciate the pushing of products at the spa. Too "salesy" ...I loved the proximity of the hotel to all things fun-- we walked over to Metreon to see movies and grab a quick bite. Peet's Coffee was fabulous right down 3rd Street, and we cable-carred back from Fisherman's Wharf to Powell and Market, and had a short walk back to hotel. Overall, I LOVE this hotel and would stay there again. And again. October 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by October San Francisco Stay We recently utilized this facility for a 3 day Business Workshop. The hotel room, the conference rooms and service were of the high standard that I have experienced from the SPG group before. I was however very disappointed in the service in the Lobby Bar. On more than one occassion the service was slow, the staff was sluggish in movement and I didn't see the same energy and focus to customer service that I witnessed everywhere else in the facility. I am not one to complain - but felt it should be noted. I am a dedicated SPG member and look forward to my next stay. October 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my favorites This is the hotel to go to for events. There's definitely a modern, youthful atmosphere here, from the two bars, to even the old school Pac-Man table. I've spent many nights here and other Starwood properties, and will continue to do so. The staff really knows how to treat a guest regardless of SPG level. I've been coming from before joining SPG as preferred until now, as Platinum, and the level of service never waivers. The only downer is the street construction, as it obfuscates the Valet "Wheels" entrance. The other downer (not the W's fault) is SF MoMA is closed for some time. October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent as expected All features for comfort were attended to. ipod charger, desk top amenities, food and snacks. Bathroom and bedroom very well kept. Bathroom toiletries should include a shower cap though. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A pretty hotel I enjoyed my stay at the W once again. A view of the Bay Bridge, cleanliness, and great service. All wrapped up in a pretty package! October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Perfect I have stayed over 50 nights at W;s this year...and have never felt compelled to write a review till now. Most W's are good at what they do, so I don't give reviews. Today I stayed checked in at the W in SF and felt like I needed to just get on the board and say how awesome everything is. From the staff, bellhops and property everything is working like a well oiled machine here. Nothing over the top, not trying to hard...just perfect at what they do. Can't wait to return...and I haven't even checked out. October 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great SF Hotel Great location and excellent staff. The rooms are small - even the so called upgraded rooms are tight. One of the best hotel breakfast menus I have experienced all year. Restaurant staff were first rate. Lobby bar is "scene" and loud but once you get to your room silence is the only thing you will hear. October 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Experience @ W San Fran Beware of the 'complimentary' bike rentals. Bikes are not maintained and a flat tire left me stranded 4 miles from the hotel. Hotel staff did not appropriately or effectively respond to this issue. Also there is extremely noisy construction going on next to the hotel - even on Saturday and Sunday starting around 8am. Hotel will claim that they have 'no control' over the noise. While this may be true, when one is seeking a weekend relaxation getaway, being awoken my jackhammers and drills at 8am on a Saturday and Sunday is not my idea of serenity. Daily room rates should be adjusted for the inconvenience. I will not stay at the W San Francisco ever again, in fact I checked out early from what should've been a 7 night stay. October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Repeat visit to hotel and I will come back again! October 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Staff was all outstanding, attentive, and helpful. October 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer Service Needs Improvements At check in we were told that the hotel had a car to take us to any desired destination within a couple of miles of the hotel on a complimentary basis, if the car was available. I was going to a work event that evening (reason for my stay) and thought this was a wonderful offer. I asked if the driver could take me to my destination with a departure time of 4:50pm. The person who checked me in, made a call to confirm, then told me that would be fine. I came down to the lobby with two heavy boxes in tow, and checked in for my ride at 4:55pm. The woman in charge of the complimentary car, said she called my room, I didn't answer, so she gave the car away. I was in the elevator on my way down!! She told me I'd have to find a taxi. At 5PM in the Financial District?? I couldn't walk because of the boxes I had to bring to the event. I proceeded outside to find a taxi, only to find the complimentary hotel car, sitting in the front of the hotel, empty. I went back inside, asked the woman why I couldn't get the ride that was promised to me, as the car was sitting there, and it was now 4:57pm. She said she promised it to someone else when I didn't answer the phone. REALLY??? I was left on my own, trying to hail a cab, with my boxes. NOT ACCEPTABLE. No apologies, no assistance offered. At check out, the woman at the front desk had no customer service skills either. I put my keys on the counter, and told her I'd like to check out. She said she'd email my receipt, then continued typing away at her computer. How about, "How was your stay?", or, "May we help you with a taxi?", or "Have a nice day." Nothing. I will not stay at this W Hotel again. October 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was great- great rooms, great location, great staff, great food! We had a wonderful time- our room was beautiful and spacious, the hotel staff was friendly and very helpful with restaurants and local attractions- everything was just perfect! October 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service What a great property. Alex and Nicholas went above and beyond to make sure my stay was amazing. October 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cleanliness My room was not as expected for an SPG hotel. The floor had a large stain on the carpet and the shower had mildew between the tiles. Also my room was not cleaned until I returned at 5PM and asked for it to be done. The staff as always is great. October 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Leisure Stay The best hotel in San Francisco. Service incredible and also the perfect place to stay well and have a nice time. The restaurant very good. The spa perfect. Location no better location October 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good W experience with SF downtown attractions Good location, staff, bar but tiny rooms. Walking access to most downtown attractions, bars, restaurants and nighlife. Not much SPG recognition or upgrades though. September 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not for frequent travelers! I am a platinum SPG member, I booked this room months in advance. Upon check in, no upgrade, no late checkouts and no lounges, no free breakfast, NOTHING! Their answer was due to Oracle World we cannot help you or provide ANY Platinum benefits / perks. Room was super small, took 30 mins to check in and took forever to use the elevators as load of people would get on without a key and would ask to use my key to get them to the floor, I was not one to let non hotel guests get on!!! Not a good hotel, looks good from the outside but crammed and dingy on the inside. VERY LOUD entrance and bar area. September 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience This was the worst W experience for me. Bathroom was dirty, blood on the curtain and walls and sink did not drain. I called and requested the sink fixed, received a message indicating that it was corrected, however; still did not drain. September 23, 2013
  • 2015-10-05T07:28:38.139-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_489, tr_489
  • loc_en_US, sid_1153, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 18 next>>