W San Francisco

  • 181 3rd Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94103
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirment Policy

Guests must be 21 years of age or older for room reservations.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 456 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor management I checked into this hotel having been forced from our hotel in Napa due to the earthquake. The person at the desk was very unhelpful and we had to wait several hours for a room...My Platinum status was not acknowledged in any way. The whole hotel was taken over by a large group who kept the bars (both) and living room area tied up so it was nearly impossible for anyone else to get a drink or a snack. The room was tiny and not remarkable in anyway....but over $600/night. No restock on the bath products. Housekeeping closet was next door...door constantly slamming shut. Overall a disappointing experience and not what I have come to expect at a W Hotel. I would not return. August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location ,lobby for youngsters, nice food a young executives hotel music for young people the concept is modern and active not for seniors the lobby environment September 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old, tired and overpriced How on earth do you have the audacity to charge almost $500 per night and squeeze your "guest" for room email access and a bottle of water? Charge for your room, which is pretty run down, but stop squeezing pennies. Also, not once but three times, housekeeping just walks into the room!!! How about a knock and an announcement of who is coming in?? (YES, 3 times). The closing insult is a $280 quote for a car to the airport. Really? A regular taxi was 80. You needed to attempt to squeeze us for another 200? The novelty of your brand has diminished, Cool vibe bar and overpriced everything only works if the quality is there. What a let-down August 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor customer service I Paid extra 30 dollars for a room upgrade that included Internet access, but I was charged an extra 14,95 daily for Internet use, I had to call everyday of my stay to dispute it, the front desk would remove for that day, but it would showed again on the next, so it was a hassle to deal with their poor management. Also the sound proof is very poor, as we were awaken on our second night twice as security had to come to the room carol the hall, and kept us up with their talk in the hallway. Very disappointed. April 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by We liked our room, but.... We liked our room a lot, but upon further inspection we noticed some things needed to be dusted, the light for the budha figurine didn't work, and the microwave that we requested was really dirty on the inside. We felt stupid for missing out on the 20% discount dinner at Trace. I called the hotel back to see if anything could be done. I was told someone would call back within the hour. No one called back. I called again in the evening and the operator told me that a manager would call me back in the morning, again no call back. I gave my home telephone number, The following day, my husband informed me that he received a voice message at his work. March 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than expected The hotel is at a great location with easy access to restaurants and a Whole Foods is only 2 blocks away. The staff upgraded me to a corner room because of my Starwood membership status. That was a huge bonus! September 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service literally, on demand. I must say our stay here was exceptional. From the time we walked in and Alex took great care of us making sure that our check in was smooth and over and above expectations. No coffee in the room.. they have a maker delivered on request almost instantly, service was literally on demand. The food at Trace was decent, very clean eating. Acura ride was fun, - There was an issue of a big marathon outside, shutting down the city and really threw our whole schedule off track but the manager Jose took care of the problem and handled everything exceedingly well. I will definitely be coming back. This place clearly knows how to treat people. May 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs uprade ii'm starwood platinum and i've been staying at this hotel since it opened and i must say, i am fully over it. it has seen better days. the banquet in the room is frayed. stained, worn. looks nasty. the lobby at night is great is you like a dance club vibe and like loud EDM . . .drunken loud guests almost starting fights in lobby 2 nights in a row. a guy was so wasted he was arguing with other guests in the elevator and threatened me when i intervened. Its a mess really. but dont try to do a mtg or conversation there. time for me to switch . for $335/night i can do way better for comfort, condition, and overall quality. The W has lost its cool factor and November 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by "W" is for Worst Weekend So many things went wrong this weekend it's almost inconceivable - we had a room with a toxic paint smell and a broken thermostat set for 80 degrees; we requested help which arrived AFTER we came back from dinner - a room full of engineers, housekeeping and still a toxic paint smell. When we insisterd that we be moved the next day we were moved into a smaller room. We didn't receive the turndown service we requested in the smaller room and our breakfast came so late that the WAITER paid for it with apologies. I have never seen a or experienced a worse hotel stay. The icing on the cake is that the manager, Hal, called before we left to apologize and asked HOW I would like to be followed up. I requested EMAIL and instead, I received a message on my home phone in Seattle but could not understand the NAME of the person who called. February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by WSanfran Arriving very late at night the reception was poor, and to be given full explanation on the green initiatives seemed inappropriate. We have stayed here a number of years ago and the rooms were fresh and quirky, the rooms are now tired and in need of refurbishment, with elements broken, doors missing from cupboards, docking station not working and an oversized TV that does not fit the designed space. Despite turning down the green initiatives the room was not fully cleaned on each day. The extensive construction work on the adjacent Moma site which wraps around the hotel has construction work commencing at 7.30am...this cannot be avoided but can be managed and at least deserves a notices / applology letter in the rooms. Overall we were disappointed with our stay. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dazzled Need to start off with a huge thank you for the upgrade we received. Our stay for 2 nights was a Monday and Tuesday. Due to our request for adjoining rooms and some construction in the area we were upgraded to the big suite. It felt gluttonous how much room we had. Amazing views of the city. Beds were extremely comfortable. My only constructive criticism is that the lamps next to the beds couldn't be controlled individually or without using the light switch on the wall. Very bizarre. When one person is a night time reader, this is a must! Apart from that, it was fantastic. Checking in was a little loud, but that was the only time we thought the lobby was loud. Room service was wonderful in terms of speed and quality. Bar area, service and options were excellent. We WILL recommend this to our friends! August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service I just returned from my trip to San Francisco and my stay at the W. What a wonderful trip made possible by the customer service provided by the staff at the W. Everyone from the check-in clerk to the concierge to the maintenance crew was most accommodating. I truly can not express how wonderful that made my stay. The location was perfect. It was in walking distance of the convention center and the heart of downtown San Fran. During my travels I have stayed at many different hotels and their customer service does not compare to that at the W. Thanks again for your assistance and I look forward to staying at the W again July 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel / Skip the Bar We have always loved this W Hotel. The hotel staff and responsiveness is outstanding. If the bar staff took some examples of their fellow staff members, this hotel would have scored a perfect. Bar staff is poorly trained, un knowledgable of their own events. We thought we'd take advantage of their 'Happy Hour' and were informed who had to go the second floor bar for that. Upon setting down in that bar we were informed that we had entered a private event. 45 minutes from when we started we received a poorly mad Moscow Mule from the 'Happy Hour'. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay The room was very nice, the view even better. My stay started off shaky with the 6.0 earthquake but settled down for the rest of the week. Convenient to the conference center and other amenities. September 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not again An o.k. place to stay to sleep but if you are interested in a beautiful Lobby, rooms, great beds etc then choose another Hotel. If you are booking with a third party booking service then do not stay here. They will put you in a sub standard room and on a lower floor. December 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Location The location is located right across from the Moscone Convention Center and about 2 blocks south of Market St. It is still convenient to BART, which is about 2-1/2 blocks away. Located within walking distance to Union Square and Powell St. Cable Car stop. June 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overrated Customer Service was excellent - way above expectations. Everything else is overpriced. Food was ridiculously expensive. Parking was ridiculously expensive. The hotel rooms are small and cliche'. December 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Facility Worn Down It seems that The W is getting worn down. Had a room in which the bathroom lights didn't work or the fan. The breakers on the outlets kept popping, which was rather annoying. The bathroom didn't even have a real door that would shut all the way, which is terrible for a room with two double beds, obviously you are not going to stay by yourself in the room. Went through the hassle of requesting a refrigerator before check in only to have the refrigerator arrive in the room a long time after we did so all of our food went bad. I can tell you that I will not be paying for the so called luxury of The W again. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior Service All the staffs are very nice and professional, special thanks to Priya, who is extremely friendly and resourceful, made us feel like home. She took extra step by sending birthday card/little chocolate cake with super nice presentation to room for my 7 years old boy. The little gesture touches our heart and we will remember it forever. We stayed many hotels in the city including St Regis, W San Francisco Hotel is by far the best hotel ever. Beside excellent service, food is also really good, very nice location, comfortable/attractive contemporary lobby, and bright/artistic room decoration with good view. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gordon/Mark: High Standard In Customer Service During breakfast on the day of departure I got the pleasure to talk with Mark. He was busy setting up for a lunch party, but took a solid 10 minutes out of his day to talk baseball. He was extremely nice and genuine. He remembered me at check out and was very friendly then as well. I checked out around 4pm, which was during tea time. The hotel offers the coolest tea bags I have ever seen. I took a seat to enjoy my tea, and not too long after a hotel guest started complaining to Gordon about every little thing possible. Ridiculous complaints. (ex. If you think the minibar is too expensive: 1. Stop by a store that's a lot less convenient. 2. Don't buy anything. If across the board hotel guests feel the prices are too high, the monthly sales report will drive the prices down) Naturally I had to fight to keep my mouth shut as this individual verbally tore down the W. I was impressed with Gordon's reaction. He handled the situation far better than I would have. He took notes on what was said, remained very professional, and the upset guest walked away with a smile. I left a previous review for how awesome the location and property is. November 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff and location Standards is above the typical W Hotels brand and service above and beyond. Conveniently located and an amazing bar t9 relax in. May 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel! Excellent Service Alex was a great host and helped to check me in quickly with a high level of quality customer service. thanks! June 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check out When we checked out I told the clerk we had used a bottle of water. She said "do not worry about it" and did not include it on our bill. When I got home I received an email from W San Francisco with a revised invoice with a charge of $6.52 for the bottle. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The San Francisco Treat This is a facility that breaks from the brass, oak, marble ,traditional style luxury hotel. Black granite, stainless steel, and glass abound. With the addition of fresh lillies, fireplaces and modern seating areas the hotel feels more like a club than a stuffy hotel lobby. The advant garde thread continues throughout the hotel's corridors and rooms. The room itself had an efficient eastern motif. There was a window bench, white plantation shutters, pink glowing Buddah, A stainless steel Kaliedescope and bleached wood workspace/entertainment center. Room was exeptionally clean and bed was super comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. This place matches the vibrant essensce of SF perfectly. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and fun hotel despite billing issues We came to town booking 2 rooms for 4 days to scatter the ashes of a loved one. The hotel was lively and fun, but certainly not loud or noticable in the rooms. From check-in, we were welcomed warmly. The gentleman who checked us in helped us upgrade to rooms and moved us so that we were able to check in early. I came down with a question the next day, and he even remembered my name. That is service! The restaurant and the bar were great, adn the girl who served us in the restaurant a few times at breakfast and once for dinner was very sweet and attentive. We did book a "Bliss Spa" package that included credits at the spa. Unfortunatly, the spa was so busy the only thing we were able to book between the 2 of us over the 4 days was a single manicure. That left us with a significant credit. I inquired about it before checkout, at checkout, and the hotel followed up a day later as they tried to figure out what to do. I heard from one of the managers a little over a week later appologizing as it was a new package and they had not worked out the kinks yet. Instead of offering me SPG points, he simply refunded the complete value of the unused spa credits, and gave me SPG points on top of it, which was much more than I asked for to begin with. It is clear that the staff care about their guests, and they all went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. I will be back next year when I am back in San Francisco. October 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lost my iphone charger and didn't get it back I lost my charger along with the USB line at the hotel after I checked out. I called the hotel within 4 hours and the manager at Lost & Found Dept told me the room had been cleaned and no charger to be found when he visited. I waited for 20 hours to give a second call and still no feedback until now. I know there is no hope for me to find the lost items but I am VERY frustrated at how the thing was handled. This is not about the value of the lost items but about the integrity of the hotel. So overall, I won't recommend this hotel to anyone else and am not planning to stay for future visits. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by not so bad very exciting place hot place September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay.. Pool is gone The W San Francisco is as a great as always. In terms of service, room, quality and the excellent staff. We were treated very well and enjoyed our stay. A very important part of our stay at the W san Francisco is the incredible indoor pool. We were surprised and saddened to hear that the hotel decided to dismantle and remove the pool. This decreases the quality of the facilities at the W san francisco. The presence of the pool was a very important part of the experience at the W san Francisco. I highly recommend that the management reconsider the installation of a pool at the hotel. January 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Invasion of Privacy Within 3 hours of checking in, a hotel security member keyed into my room without knocking claiming he was looking for something for a prior guest. Thankfully I had the security bolt against the door that alerted me someone was attempting to come in. Then at 3am that evening people were banging doors, walls and screaming in the hallway. I called the front desk and they claimed they sent someone up to tell them to quiet down, however, it took quite some time for it to actually quiet down. The room is OK but not clean. I love W hotels and their products but this hotel room was not clean. April 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Food Each year I experience dozens conventions that are catered. A few months ago I attended an industry event at the W Hotel in San Francisco. Everything was remarkable. I give the highest praises to the staff and hotel for my experience at the W Hotel but one thing above all others deserves a praise of excellence. The team of Chefs that catered the event was amazing. Catered food usually is not remembered or even praised but the chefs that created the menu did such a wonderful job I wish I could find a restaurant that offered the dishes they prepared. My hat is off to the catering team. July 12, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>