Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 387 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another decent stay A solid property in NYC. We always try to get a room at the back, as the ones facing Union Square are quite noisy. Platinum suite upgrades are a hit or miss, I think I have only gotten a standard suite (fantastic suite?) once at this hotel. Note that if you book through a virtuoso agent, the virtuoso breakfast MUST be had in your room. Very strange, as the spg platinum breakfast can be had in the charming Olives. This should be dealt with. I always have to correct my bill when checking out here, this time they had wrongfully added a mini bar charge. The real gem of this hotel is Ms. Baker, the welcome agent/director. Without her I would probably stay elsewhere, as the rates here are always extremely high. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FABULOUS HOTEL W UNION SAQUARE From check-in to check-out it could not have been a better experience. Some reviews of this hotel were quite low, but I cannot understand how. I have stayed at many hotels and truly the W Union Square was an absolute delight. The staff could not have been nicer and more attentive. The room (upgraded as SPG member) was large, clean, comfortable, and decorated in a fresh, clean manner that still was in keeping with the design era of the building (for fun check out the ballroom). March 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our go-to NYC hotel We have stayed at the union square W multiple times. We have learned that there are certain rooms to ask for, that you have to check if there's a bathtub, you have to request an in-room coffee maker...that aside...once you get the room you want (sometimes takes some extra special staff (Stella, Christina, David, Nelson)...it's heavenly! We have certainly learned not to settle. We go every three months and can't wait until our next stay. Can't beat the location! The bar-lobby has been redecorated and is very cha-cha! Yeah Starwood! March 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, service, and location Really enjoyed my stay at W Union Square. Location is fantastic--convenient access to subway, shops, great restaurants/bakeries. Service at the hotel was excellent--I was able to check-in early and the doorman helped me get a cab to the airport. My room was spacious and quiet. I didn't get a chance to use the Acura car service, but it seems like a great benefit to guests. I hope to return again soon. March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My favorite hotel in New York This hotel is the best hotel in NY. It is small and elegant and easy and beautiful. From David the doorman to the smallest detail in the room itself. March 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place, front desk was snappy Great location with easy access to where we needed to go in the city. Comfortable room with spacious bathroom. No closet space to hang up coats but wasn't a problem. Doormen were great and helpful. Front desk was good except for one worker. He had short dark hair and wore glasses. We asked about the posting of charges to our account and he could have answered by saying it was just a hold. Instead he asked "what normally shows up on your account when you stay at a hotel?" in a very rude and short tempered tone. This after we explained we aren't sure what normally posts to our account: "well, that's interesting" in what couldn't be a more insulting tone. Why would we ask if we knew what was supposed to happen? Everything was great except for this interaction which really made for a frustrating morning. February 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by NYC February in NYC- close to everything happening. February 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Union Square/Manhattan Location This was the perfect location for us visiting our daughter at NYU! Rooms were very quite ... you would never know you were in the city that never sleeps. Loved the hotel and will be coming back next time. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel Not quite what I expected, but good. Room was quiet, spacious andn nice views (mega room). In-room dining was great, facilities in the hotel were excellent. Location is good, unless you want to stay at a specific area like Times Square. Union Sq station takes you anywhere in 10 mins. Only minus was room cleanliness, there were stains and trash from previous guests. The room also wasn't cleaned properly. Some of the staff didn't treate me with respect because of my young age (early 20's), but that was a problem with only a few individuals. Overall a good stay. February 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrated The Good: Staff was extremely nice. The Gentlemen in the front were courteous and nice. The building was dated but fixed up to be modern while it tried to respect it's history. Of the countless hotels I've stayed at, I can say that this W had the softest and most comfortable bed. The Bad: Room walls were thin and could hear everything. As for the Restroom, mounds of dust collected in the vent and the shower smelled moldy. The heater didn't work well and it was turned off while I was gone. It was so cold that on my last night I left for the airport at 4am for a 10:59 departure. The hot shower saved me! For the expectations set at other W's, I was sadly disappointed. I am frustrated because I know this is not the standard of a premium brand. I'll be back in New York and sadly will not give this location another chance. So if the manager of this location is reading, please don't be offended. If I didn't care about your company's reputation, I would keep my mouth quiet and just go else where. At least with this feedback you can fix what is in your powers. Of all fairness to you, this experience will stay between us. Maybe it was a bad week or there are other circumstances that I do not know of. I truly hope this was the case. I wish your Location all the best! February 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Service-Oriented The best feature of this hotel is location. The decor (even if you like the usual look of W Hotels) is unimpressive, lots of ugly primary colors in the room and overall, it's looking a bit tattered. Service throughout the hotel is poor. There is one doorman, who is excellent, the others stand there while you lug your bags in yourself. Front desk staff were unfriendly, chatted amongst themselves rather than helping guests. Restaurant was slow, tables look tattered too. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Valentine's Night Stay I checked in and was automatically upgraded. Then, the W was running a nice little promo for Valentine's Day in the lobby. We received an additional upgrade. Wow! Thanks W. February 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Housekeeping Poor I spent two nights at the hotel and did not recieve any housekeeping service until I requested it agaion from the front desk, Very poor service for a room that costs $425.00 per night February 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The hotel is a great location. The concierge needs total overall....very rude, non helpful and provided misinformation on the taxi service to the airport. Should provide maps of the areas. Coffee pots should be in the room. Calling for service such as a clean pillow took over an hour. The remote control did not work, waited another hour for service. The cleaniness of the room needs to be addressed...stayed four days sheets never changed, not given an option, the same dirty pillowcase that I left each morning at the end of the bed. The front door men were very helpful for directions, taxis, and overall experience was improved by their great attitudes. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel I had a great time in NYC. I love my SPG rewards. The taxes and fees for the stay there will make you want to slap your mama but other than that,. Really nice hotel. January 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Hotel was just OK The Hotel was just OK. I was disappointed in the fact that I reserved a room with Breakfast for two. When I went down in the morning and asked the front desk if there was anything I should present for the INCLUDED BREAKFAST " the person told me it was for in room service only. That was not what I thought- nor was it specifically stated on the reservation. I even called the resturant " Olives " and asked for the pricing for the breakfast before my stay -and if it was worth it to included wiht my reservation, and the person at Olives told me most people do it. So I was taken back when it was in room only. That's not what I wanted.And they didn't seem to motivated to help me. The website is too busy as well. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer service is beyond stellar!!! This was the first time that I stayed at this hotel. The customer service was phenomenal from the doorman to the person checking me in to the manager, etc.... There was a welcome gift in the room with a personally addressed note, a sorry you are leaving email, recommendations, and more. Very important to have this kind of attention to detail in a commodity market! Nice job. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with our choice for a weekend getaway Overall, the experience was outstanding. The hotel is located in a fantastic location, near great shopping and restaurants. We had a corner room that was very spacious with a comfortable bed. It was on an upper floor so we had little street noise. The only minor complaint was in regards to the absence of a useful closet. The closet was largely occupied with a cabinet and safe so we kept our clothing in our suitcase and jackets on a chair. Otherwise, we will return to this hotel soon. Highly recommend staying here! January 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, Solid Hotel in a Great Location One of the best W Hotels in NYC. Location is superb on Union Square, within walking distance to the Village, Chelsea, Chinatown etc. and very close to a major subway stop where many lines converge. Rooms have been updated (previous ones were nice too), and lounge/bar is a hopping place on weekend nights. Concierge very helpful in securing resturant reservations, even for very popular places. Only minor complaint is that the check-in/out desk can get overloaded, resulting in long waits - especially when you are trying to check out around 3 PM to rush off to the airport! January 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel This was a very well run hotel with helpful and friendly staff. The location is wonderful and I would stay here again. January 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel too dark The hotel was much too dark and the elevators were the darkest. What's that all about? There are ways to establish an atmosphere - dim is nice, but dark? We had difficulty finding the Lobby button because it was so dark. No breakfast was included in a $700 a night room. Not thrilled with the overall experience. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unsatisfied with my experience at the W Union Square The staff were very cold and unattentive when I first arrived (keep in mind no one on line). The acura experience took down my information and assured me they would contact me for a ride. I was super flexible with the young lady and advised her to just call when it arrived. She NEVER called me and I sat at the restaurant for a long time. She completely forgot about me. I gave her my cell phone, my room number and was so kind.. not sure whats going on with that. Just made me and my guest feel really put down. This is not the experience we normally have at a W. December 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great way to spend Christmas Checked into the W UNION SQUARE to spend holidays with daughter . Met Stella at checkin and from then on the stay was perfect. She was so helpful with the checkin and change of room.What a beautiful room she gave us with view of the park. Bag man Robert was always so helpful and friendly. Will absolutley stay again. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by xmas stay Lovely big rooms, comfortable bed, elagant decor and great location December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Night in NY Check in was rather slow and there seemed to be a lack of doorman at the hotel . Room spacious for the city but bed wasn't anything to write home about. Overall great location and perfect for one night. December 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Union Square a bit disappointing My wife and I have stayed in numerous W hotels in the U.S. and the W Santiago, Chile. We were very disappointed with the lack of care in the hotel guest room we stayed in for 6 days. Attention to detail has been a highlight of our frequent stays at this brand. Union square (prime location) is an upbeat and highly sophisticated area in Manhattan, but it seemed like this W hotel could not keep up with the pace. The room amenities were standard but the bathroom needed some plumbing work, loose handles, loose shower door, and the painters could have done a better job at not painting the glass. Housekeeping was busy but skipping the vacuum job was very obvious. Sorry, I come from a family with a housekeeping business and quality assurance is what has kept us going. We know the saying "everyone wants something" but if you pay over 400 a night for 6 days throw your customers a complimentary water more than once. This hotel should practice the turndown service like others do in the Starwood chain. You will be surprised how much so little can change in a guests' stay. I won't tell you to take this W off your list. Union square is the best location for a stay in New York. You will not have a bad experience but if you have been to other W hotels, you might see my point. December 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Music in the lobby Please please please....turn off the lobby music in the evenings when the restaurant has their music turned up loud. My husband and I stay here regularly and honestly, it is so irritating to sit in the lobby and hear competing music...can you say headache! We went up to the room because it was so annoying. We used to enjoy the lobby bar, but no longer. Play one or the other...don't care which one, just pick one - preferably the dj who is being paid to be in the building playing original sets. I bet you will have happier patrons in the lobby bar, staying for longer and drinking more December 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff! I had an nice stay at this hotel recently. The room was clean and had all the usual W amenities. The hotel "living room" was beautiful and the bar area was cool. The thing that made this stay stand out in my mind, though, was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. They extended themselves to assist and did it with a smile. That's special! December 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Detail is important I am regular at this hotel across the year. I like it and will continue to come back, but it sometimes misses the detail - a doorman opening the door while you bring in your own luggage rather than chatting away or just saying use the ramp! Ensuring the housekeeping get it right - no mat in the bathroom, for two days, then no bathmat at all, lack of the toiletries being topped up correctly. I have also asked before for the toeclips to be replaced on the bikes in gym - not happened yet. December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best W In NYC Best size rooms, Best locations, Great staff December 15, 2012
  • 2016-04-28 T09:31:23.337-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_387, tr_387
  • loc_en_US, sid_1299, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 14 next>>