W New York - Union Square

  • 201 Park Avenue South
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10003
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 250 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by The W Union Square - Fantastic! Everything about this hotel is outstanding: the service, the location, the accomodations, the dining, the vibe. We are sure to be back next time we visit NYC. February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An awesome hotel with easy access to everywhere in New York The location in Union Square was extremely convenient and the room was great. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Ricky in the restaurant (Olives), who ensured that we had a great breakfast! February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our go-to NYC hotel We have stayed at the union square W multiple times. We have learned that there are certain rooms to ask for, that you have to check if there's a bathtub, you have to request an in-room coffee maker...that aside...once you get the room you want (sometimes takes some extra special staff (Stella, Christina, David, Nelson)...it's heavenly! We have certainly learned not to settle. We go every three months and can't wait until our next stay. Can't beat the location! The bar-lobby has been redecorated and is very cha-cha! Yeah Starwood! March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff was wonderful, but hotel could use an upgrade. The staff at the hotel was top notch. The hotel itself is wonderfully located, however, the bath in the hotel seemed to be in need of an upgrade and was not as nice/clean as in other W Hotels in which I have stayed. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, staff & location When I'm in NYC for less than 24hrs, I want things to go smoothly. Fortunately, my experience at the W Union Square did exactly that. The last time I stayed, I got a room on the 3rd floor that was very noisy due to proximity to the street. Comfortable, but noisy. I mentioned this at check-in - after acknowledging my dissatisfaction, the person at reception put me in a great room on the 18th floor. Much much better. (Without a doubt, that simple action ensured that next time I'm in NYC I'll be back) December 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHotel Union Square - NYC My wife and I stayed in a suite in this hotel in NYC for 3 nights just after Labour Day 2013. It was a well run, well kept, well serviced hotel, where all of the staff that we dealt with had positive attitudes and were helpful when approached. It was in an excellent location for our purposes, which was to play tourist and walk to most tourist locations that we wanted to see. The only less than positive comment that I'll make is about the high cost of a room in NYC, which is a significant sticker shock for those that travel --> it was $ 200-$300 more per night than in equivalent accommodations in many places that we have been to --> effectively, it decrease the length of time or numbers of times that tourists might want to vacation in NYC. February 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Service! Sebastian is the man. Got me a great room and provided me and my friends with excellent service. Highly Recommended! February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Attitude is everything Immediately upon my arrival to the hotel, I was greeted by typical NYC attitude, despite booking a room for over $400.00 a night, including giving up 20k points for a room. The staff was pretty unhelpful, and considering their attitude, I felt intimidated to ask for directions, assistance, or recommendations. The rooms are pretty decent, and the location amazing, but it would be hard for me to stay here again. Attitude is everything. September 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, location, location! W New York - Union Square is located a short walking distance to restaurants, parks, movie and live theaters and even a green market. The friendly staff at the entrance, the registration desk, in the lobby restaurant, Olives, will make your stay a great experience. February 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, BUT..... 1. Not 6 stars worthy, a 2 or 3 star property. 2. Unfriendly, unhelpful staff at front desk 3. Surfaces were mostly clean, carpets in closet DIRTY, crumbs from last guest ... 4.Tiny Rooms 5. Thin, worn out towels, threadbare, unraveling ... nothing luxurious 6. Stingy amenities 7.As an SPG member I SHOULD have had my daily paper delivered to the door, I had to call & WAIT, each day. 8. the front door staff was terrific, & helpful with taxis & friendly. August 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, location Second stay at this hotel. Had some issues the last time, and the excellent Ms. Baker (the welcome manager) made sure that everything went smooth this time. I must say that I am not very impressed by the front desk at this hotel (e.g. giving me different answers on the same questions regarding details of the virtuoso program and the spg platinum continental breakfast), but Ms. Baker saves the day. However, the hotel need to figure out if spg platinums can use their breakfast amenity in Olives or via inroom dining only. Never got a clear answer on that one. Had a nice platinum upgrade to a studio suite. Not a real suite as per se, but the great location on the 18th floor and high ceilings made this a terrific room. When it comes to noise outside, it was a huge different from the room on the 10th floor we had the last time. One big minus: The room was rather dusty. On the DVD there was a HUGE layer of dust. This was a short stay, but we will be back. July 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Treated both professionally and like one of the Family I have stayed many times and each time I'm treated better. Greeted at the front desk, acknowledged by all you see, it really feels good to walk in and feel so at home. Worked with the front desk staff to ensure a colleague had a room with a view. I needed car service to NJ (ugh) and it was easily managed by the concierge...and we returned to several drinks at the hot, wonderful bar. All in all a very successful stay and business trip. September 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed my visit My visit was over the Valentine weekend and, considering that, and the terrible weather, the W did great! Staff at front desk (Marc) took outstanding care of us. Only complaint (minor): Elevators too slow & too small. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classy and Comfortable! We have stayed at a lot of hotels in the SPG network and I have to say that the W in Union Square is top of the list! They are very friendly, accommodating and treat you like their favorite guest! Its all in the customer service, and the W in Union Square tops the list! February 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff was great From check in to check out, your staff was pleasant, accommodating, and friendly. The house keeping were especially friendly as well. February 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, comfy rooms I stayed at this hotel about 15 nights the past few months having spent many, many nights here a few years ago. The rooms have been updated with refreshed bedding and furnishings. The rooms are comfortable and fairly spacious for NYC standards. The hotel is in a great location proximate to restaurants, shopping, METRA, etc. Generally the staff are friendly and helpful. My only constructive feedback is that the fitness center is dated and limited. The treadmills are past their prime and are very loud due to loose or broken pieces. If they replaced the treadmills, I'd stay here more frequently. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff, nice hotel Great location and great hotel! I have stayed at SPG properties nearly 100 nights this year and attempted to use an upgrade award to get a suite. To make a long story short, I wasn't able to upgrade and was upset at check in. The manager Lance was able to get me a room with a view and was a pleasure to work with. SPG needs to find a better way to reward their frequent travelers when it comes to suite upgrades. Overall the stay was great, friendly helpful staff and nice (not too small) comfortable rooms. Location was perfect, close to everything but not quite as busy as some of the other areas that we visited while we were there. December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location and accomodations Location, location, location. This hotel has the location down. Room was nice, gym was large and had plenty of machines. Front end staff needs A LOT of improvement. Simple welcome greetings or even thank you when checking out could go a long way. The folks never seemed interested in even interacting with you. January 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average hotel at a premium price The room was very noisy even though it was on the 17th floor. The bed was very soft and we prefer firm. Service was very good. For the cost of a room I would have expected wireless to be included. There was no refrigerator in the room to store anything brought by the guest. We were very disappointed. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic Building in Good Location, But Don't Expect Much More I have stayed many times at this hotel over the years, and I find that my views have evolved as the top management has changed. I don't believe that the current general manager recognizes guest loyalty or -- as many other reviews have noted -- has the necessary focus on guest satisfaction. Instead, under current management, this property seems to be unduly focused on short-term revenue, but without a corresponding focus on value. The building is a beautiful historic building, in a good location in Union Square, with generally good-sized rooms for NYC. But while I am glad to see that the rooms have (finally) been renovated, I am disappointed that the new furniture all seems to be made of Formica, and the seating surfaces are all vinyl; quite uncomfortable (other than the standard W bed), and a truly "cheap" feel. In addition, as several other reviews note, the housekeeping is spotty, including for example the mildew in my shower. Maybe things will improve when the general manager changes. August 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel Everything about this hotel is great and the location couldn't be better! The staff, all of them, from the doormen to the most helpful concierge through to the management couldn't have done anything more to make our trip more enjoyable. Thank you all for making our trip so memorable. January 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing front desk staff! I have never been so pleased with an overnight stay in my life and I travel all over the world. There was no problem getting into my room early,. the room and bed were fantastic, and the price was so affordable. I will always try and stay at the W. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star Stay Our family has stayed here frequently over the years, and have not been disappointed. The staff is courteous and professional, the renovated rooms are crisp and fresh, all in a great location. We are already looking forward to our next visit. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Nothing could have made this stay better! Everything was fabulous and comfortable and I can see why people love this particular location over all others in New York, theres a special feeling, and wonderful ambiance that the people create. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I had a wonderful stay... This W hotel is one of the best places to stay in NYC. My spectacular, newly renovated 15th floor room facing the front was very pleasant, clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. May 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too expensive for what you get It's always fun to stay in a hotel in the city in which you live. That was the case here. I've always idolized this property...walking by it all of the time. When the opportunity to stay presented itself, I snatched it up. It's a beautiful property. Superb location. Historic, clean, well-kept, but the rates are way (WAY) too high for what you get. We were upgraded to a "Mega" room and it was still smaller than an average hotel room in any other city. Now I get it - it's NYC. I live here, I know. But still... If you're traveling on business and need to be comfy in your room to work for hours on end, it's unlikely you'll be comfortable here. The rooms don't have that typical, magical W feel that you'd expect. In fact, the interiors are rather generic and lack that element of style (which I think I'm paying for....). The bathrooms are old school (at least install some walk-in showers if you're going to charge this much). "Olives" in the lobby is teeny tiny and there are never, ever seats. The staff was perfectly friendly and professional. Moral of the story, it's a nice hotel -- but not at all worth the price. March 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cool, Hip W This is a nice W... with all the cool W features. The rooms here are a bit large for NYC. Todd English's Olives rest and bar located in the hotel is excellent. April 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location Because of the location I would stay here, but the staff members are snobby, even though I am a platinum member, they did not even offer to help with my bags. August 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service We have stayed at the W Union Square several times and consistently find the staff to be friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel nice property, helpful staff, great platinum recognition and exceptional location. I'm coming back in May. April 3, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>