Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 397 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service and Prime Location This was my one leisure stay of the year and I needed them to come through for me as a Platinum. They most certainly did. I received a nice upgrade and a lot of assistance from the front desk staff and the concierge team during the stay as well as from the welcome desk team in advance of the stay (thanks Mickey and Mary Kate). In addition, the housekeeping staff was stellar throughout the stay. Union Square was the choice for me due to the quieter nature of the local neighborhood and the fact that there are real conveniences nearby, such as a 24 hour CVS and a Whole Foods Market. The big orange sign for the hotel was like a welcome mat and kept me oriented during my many late night walks home. Both of my rooms were clean and well laid out with great views and plenty of quiet at night. October 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good - but please fix the platinum breakfast! All in all a decent experience. We were upgraded to a mega room on the top floor, which was okay since we asked for a quiet room. Not huge, but well above average for NYC. We have stayed at this hotel several times, and EVERY time there has been a problem with the spg platinum breakfast amenity. This time, the platinum breakfast was a mess because the old restaurant now is gone, and the hotel has no agreement (yet) with the new, privately-run restaurant. The platinum breakfast is therefore via in-room dining only, and you cannot (as per their assistant welcome manager) choose anything else than the items on the platinum card. In addition, you must spesifically ask for yogurt and/or cereal if you want something else than their "Continental breakfast/Awake" (which consists of a pastry basket, OJ & coffee - a rather unhealthy carb-filled option). On both days we got wrong items when we called for breakfast, so the whole platinum breakfast experience was very poor. Why not give some credits for free use in the restaurant and honor your most loyal customers? Also note that they are currently changing one of their service elevators. We were on a red-eye to Europe and wanted to sleep as long as possible the last day. Being on the top floor, we asked if we would be disturbed early in the morning. We were told that construction would not start until 10am. Guess what started at 830am? Marc at front desk was very nice and courtious, most rooms are spacious - and the hotel has a great location. Other than that, I am not sure if it was worth 500 dollars a night. September 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Excellent amenities and toiletries. Location is great as Union Square area has lots of dining and shopping options. It is very near the subway station to travel downtown or uptown. My only suggestion would be to improve quality and variety of breakfast, as well as service. September 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front desk staff less than accommodating The property deserves 5 stars; however, the front desk staff were less than accommodating. As a platinum member, I will be looking to stay at other W properties during my trips to the city. September 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sleep The neighbors right next to us had people knock on the door early and the door kept slamming and talking loudly. It was impossible to get sleep. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff and great experience at W Union Square Stayed 3 nights in August with the W Union Square. The rooms are very comfortable, AC worked perfectly, and the staff is super responsive. They really work to take care of your every need. My room was clean and comfortable, and the food at the on property restaurant exceeded expectations. Get the "Something chocolate" for dessert. Wow. The gym is recently renovated and attractive, but has limited weights, very limited. Everything that was there worked well, just wish there were more free weights. Will stay again. August 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel, great staff, great location. Booked a four night stay for my wife and I in a Fabulous Room. My parents decided to come with us to New York so I booked another Fabulous Room for them. We arrived around 1PM and the staff at the door and front desk were incredibly friendly ane were able to get us into one of the rooms to drop off our bags and change clothes. The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable, the shower was great. The view of Union Square was beautiful. The staff were all very helpful whenever we had any questions. Nelson, at the front desk, was always so helpful and friendly. It really made our stay. We have stayed at quite a few hotels in New York but we will definitely be coming back to this hotel on our next visit. The combination of this facility, this great staff and the fantastic location is tough to beat. August 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel too cold. Bar & restaurant weak. Hotel too cold for comfort could not sit in bar or lounge areas. Guest hallway freezing. Controls for room temperature unsatisfactory. Guest rooms not turned down in evening. BAR and restaurant not at previous level. No club open at night. Have always stayed at this this location considering a change. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel/staff We had an amazing stay at this W hotel. The staff is helpful and professional. Gerald and Tanya went out of their way to make sure that my friends and I had the best W experience. Their commitment to ensuring our incredible stay was above and beyond our expectations. We have never exeprienced such a superior service with small personal touches that we really appreciated. We had two rooms, a Spectacular and a Cool Corner Suite, and both were very comfortable. The Cool Corner is spacious and little things like ear plugs, eye masks or that extra bottle of water were great! I will definitely be coming back to this hotel next time I'm in NYC. Thank you. August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Hotel Union Square They were very accommodating to my family and especially to my son, who was recuperating from surgery. Everyone is friendly and helpful. August 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Room Service Currently staying in room 311. Arrived after midnight and ordered room service. Got the Penne Arrabiata...what shows up is basic penne with generic pasta sauce. No chillies, no olive oil, no tomatoes. Too tired to call room service and ask them to remake the order. Also, they were missing the SPG Platinum free water in the room. Wonder if the General Manager even reads these reviews. Stayed at so many wonderful W Hotels this year for business and leisure, but this is one hotel I won't be staying at again. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant stay in NYC We visited NYC with our two teenage children. The location of the W Union Square is perfectly situated between mid town attractions and the Village. The staff could not have been more pleasant and accomodating. The rooms were quiet and very comfortable with large windows and a view of the World Trade Center. August 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by a decent stay the hotel was fine...what you would expect in manhattan....but not for what you pay we are spg gold members...and were not offered extra points or wifi when we checked in (as is customary) also was told gym was closed, which was a major reason we chose the hotel we were not offered any guest passes to any near by hotel...only when we made a stink were we told we could use equinox near by.... August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by W Union Square Pro: My stay at the W Union Square was nice. Quiet lobby area. Easy access and secure access to the rooms. Nice bar area located right off of the lobby. Super close to the Subway. Con: The Fitness Center was under construction, but they offered a pass to the local Gym. Con: The water was cold around 4:30am one morning and took forever to warm up...Almost missed my flight waiting to take a warm shower. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and wonderful service I enjoy staying at the W union square. my expectations are always exceeded. The hotel has a nice mix of a classic building w modern rooms. Everyone who works at the hotel is pleasant and accomidating. I highly recommend the hotel August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE BEST W HOTEL I have stayed here for 9 years and it is still the best hotel in New York and the best W Hotel in the whole chain. The staff remember you, they give a damn and go that extra mile. Amazing location, great food and drink, great service! August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel! Great location! There is so much to like about this hotel I don't know where to begin. The location couldn't be better, in the gorgeous Union Square and Gramercy Park neighborhoods, much quieter than midtown, but plenty to do nonetheless. The proximity to the Union Square subway station, a major subway hub, is also a definite plus. My room was always spotless, the staff courteous and helpful, and a Todd English restaurant to boot. Highly recommended. August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location Great location, generous room size, great staff August 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My home away from home! This is my favorite hotel in NYC -- conveniently located with impeccable friendly service. Staff is polite and attentive -- greet guests by name and offer a most welcoming feel. Outstanding staff led by Gerald, fabulous front desk with Nelson and Fazlu. Doormen are gracious, esp Frankie. Knowledgeable and pleasant. Rooms are large and clean. most efficient housekeeping staff. The only place I'll stay with or without family in the city! August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service, good location Housekeeping was great, very friendly and nice, kept me happily stocked with my favorite bliss products. was very windy at night, that woke me up the first night. Friendly staff, even at 2am when I checked in. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A fabulous experience I am not a great traveler. I hate noise and being disrespected, so pleasing me, according to my wife anyway, is almost impossible, and has made some trips unbearable. THIS PLACE IS AWESOME. There was NOT one thing I could find to complain about. The place even smells wonderful. The staff is completely respectful and helped me in anyway possible. One example: We, that is my wife, my fifteen year old daughter, and myself, were off to a broadway play. The place on broadway where we were scheduled to eat was a complete dump. So, of course I refused to eat there. With no alternative plan and being on Broadway at 7:00 PM on Saturday night, we were thinking we would have to sit through the play hungry as everything decent was booked. YIKES! My wife called the W on Union Square for help and the consierge, Joseph, promptly got us seated, without wait, at the W hotel on Times square, just moments from where we were standing. ABSOLUTELY REMARKABLE. We had a great halibut dinner and attended Les Mis feeling satisfied. So, trust me when I tell you that "this is the place." Everything is so convenient to it. And, we are planning to spend Christmas in New York this year; there is no doubt about where we will be staying. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel...Certain staff members need refresher on hospitality I've stayed at this hotel twice now. The first time the front desk attendant had attitude and made me feel rushed. The second time I had the exact same experience with the front desk at check-in with no manager around. My main annoyance during my last stay was with my folios. Per usual I ask for a printed copy upon checkout to make sure everything was charged correctly. Three weeks after check out I see that the hotel charged me for the second night of parking they had missed. Not the day after or two days after but THREE WEEKS later. I do not mind paying but I should be notified by the hotel and they should not feel that because they have my credit card on file its an open invitation to charge me. I expect more from the W. July 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by loved the room service Nelson at front desk super pro and very helpful. July 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location; shows wear; dusty I love this area in Manhattan. I always wanted to try this hotel. The lobby is nicely done. Elevators are old, slow. Much to my surprise it seems tired, worn, dusty baseboards. AC was blasting in public areas (I guess that's better than no ventilation at all). They had all the right accessories in the room, so no complaints there. However, the bathroom tiles were cracked, some signs of mold, and the shower drain pooled... maybe no one has reported the problem, but I showered in a pool of water. The finishes were all the right finishes, but the workmanship seemed average. Needs a facelift, I think. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonder experience We stayed at the Union Square W when moving my daughter to New York for the summer. We arrived at the hotel with 8 suitcases and were greeted by the 2 front doormen. They took our luggage up to the room and had it all set for us. All of the staff were very helpful during our 5 night stay. They suggested wonder places to eat where we could buy certain items that were needed. Upon our exit they came to the room and helped us move all our luggage back out so we could take it to her apartment. All I can say is outstanding and wonderful top notch service. We will be staying here when we move her out in a couple of weeks. It is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. They truly have the best door staff we have ever experienced. Thank you! July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location; poor service Oh, the attitude! I've never been treated so rudely by FOH staff. During our 4-night stay, we had a visitor for 4 hours, who used the valet parking and charged it to the room. At check-out, we saw that they had charged us for 4 nights of parking. The clerk quickly took 3 nights off, alright, but when I commented that charging the full nightly rate ($60) seemed quite steep for 4 hours, the dismissive answer was, and I quote, "you could have parked on the street, a parking ticket would have cost you much more". Umm, huh? Did they forget to inform this front desk clerk that he is in the hospitality industry? Rudeness aside, the best thing about this hotel is the A+, 5-star location. The rooms are small, but it's a W in Manhattan, small is what you should expect. Some unpleasant cigarette smoke smell in the hallways, which if you're unlucky enough to have the "wrong" neighbors, could be an unpleasant smell in your room -- it's a "party" hotel, don't expect staff to do much about cigarette smoke smell. SPG Plat upgrade was nothing -- though the alleged premium view is better than facing a brick wall, I suppose. Stay here for the location, that's really all it's got going on. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful staff! The friendly staff began at street level as we drove to the front of the hotel. Helpful, engaging and just made sure we were on the way in the door. Front desk folks helpful without being over bearing. A perfect welcome to NYC. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great NY Location Comfortable hotel in a great location. I've stayed here a few times and have found that the staff could be friendlier, they're almost too cold. July 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NYC Disappointing stay @ W-Union Square. Shower was not clean and room service breakfast was below what I would expect. With so many great hotels in NYC, difficult to recommend this hotel. July 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand a Old Hotel The W Union Square has that perfect blend of old New York with a modern twist. The views from the corner suites overlooking the park are wonderful. July 16, 2014
  • 2016-09-29 T11:10:22.066-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_397, tr_397
  • loc_en_US, sid_1299, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>