W New York - Union Square

  • 201 Park Avenue South
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10003
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great NY Location Comfortable hotel in a great location. I've stayed here a few times and have found that the staff could be friendlier, they're almost too cold. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Music in the lobby Please please please....turn off the lobby music in the evenings when the restaurant has their music turned up loud. My husband and I stay here regularly and honestly, it is so irritating to sit in the lobby and hear competing music...can you say headache! We went up to the room because it was so annoying. We used to enjoy the lobby bar, but no longer. Play one or the other...don't care which one, just pick one - preferably the dj who is being paid to be in the building playing original sets. I bet you will have happier patrons in the lobby bar, staying for longer and drinking more December 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by NYC Disappointing stay @ W-Union Square. Shower was not clean and room service breakfast was below what I would expect. With so many great hotels in NYC, difficult to recommend this hotel. July 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointing I've stayed here several times and have to admit they have steadily gone down hill. I used their whatever whenever service and it was a complete failure. In fact I had asked to have Bath Salt in the room. There was jar in the bathroom and being at night and keeping the room lit dimly I pored it into the tub. Thought it was weird seeing things floating. After I completed my bath I read the label and realized they left me Lavender Salt used for Roasting and Baking... June 25, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Hotel was just OK The Hotel was just OK. I was disappointed in the fact that I reserved a room with Breakfast for two. When I went down in the morning and asked the front desk if there was anything I should present for the INCLUDED BREAKFAST " the person told me it was for in room service only. That was not what I thought- nor was it specifically stated on the reservation. I even called the resturant " Olives " and asked for the pricing for the breakfast before my stay -and if it was worth it to included wiht my reservation, and the person at Olives told me most people do it. So I was taken back when it was in room only. That's not what I wanted.And they didn't seem to motivated to help me. The website is too busy as well. January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good Features; outrageously noisy if on the 3rd floor this is the second time we stayed at this hotel in 3 months. This time we stayed 4 noites on the third floor. Friday and Saturday the disco or ballroom on the 2nd floor was so loud my bed vibrated until 2:30 am both nights. There was a constant buzz from the lamp vibrating on the desk. Our only option was to move to the 5th floor with a shower...no bath....and our expereince rom the time before is that the coke bottle tiles grout was moldy......which for me is even worse than the noise. Management was nice enough to not charge us on Saturday......but we paid the full for the other 3 nights...they gave us ear plugs. I am platinum starwood ....and this was a nightmare for even for someone without that status. December 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Another decent stay A solid property in NYC. We always try to get a room at the back, as the ones facing Union Square are quite noisy. Platinum suite upgrades are a hit or miss, I think I have only gotten a standard suite (fantastic suite?) once at this hotel. Note that if you book through a virtuoso agent, the virtuoso breakfast MUST be had in your room. Very strange, as the spg platinum breakfast can be had in the charming Olives. This should be dealt with. I always have to correct my bill when checking out here, this time they had wrongfully added a mini bar charge. The real gem of this hotel is Ms. Baker, the welcome agent/director. Without her I would probably stay elsewhere, as the rates here are always extremely high. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is the key I travel regularly on business and stay at hotels both across the country and around the world. The quality of a facility is important, but the key to an excellent guest experience is the staff. The W Hotel on Union Square has one of the best collection of staff members that I have ever seen. They are professional, friendly, high engaging and eager to be helpful in any way they can. Guests are greeted by name in most cases, staff literally stop to engage with you and they work hard to make your guest experience a great one. I make this hotel a regular stop. It is outstanding! October 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand a Old Hotel The W Union Square has that perfect blend of old New York with a modern twist. The views from the corner suites overlooking the park are wonderful. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice, Solid Hotel in a Great Location One of the best W Hotels in NYC. Location is superb on Union Square, within walking distance to the Village, Chelsea, Chinatown etc. and very close to a major subway stop where many lines converge. Rooms have been updated (previous ones were nice too), and lounge/bar is a hopping place on weekend nights. Concierge very helpful in securing resturant reservations, even for very popular places. Only minor complaint is that the check-in/out desk can get overloaded, resulting in long waits - especially when you are trying to check out around 3 PM to rush off to the airport! January 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Contemporary, clean and convenient We stayed here because it was a "wedding" hotel. It exceeded my expectations - more roomy than I expected. Comfy bed, lovely bathroom, nice storage space, safe for valuables, great towels, nice staff. Union Square has food, Metro, and lots of life. We enjoyed our quick stay and would come again. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gorgeous experience I was a guest at the Union Square for 6 months and found the experience stunning. The rooms are clean, lavishly decorated and spacious by New York standards. For the kind people who keep it running, no request is too big or too small. They are good friends. The location can't be beat with the subway within a skip and midtown or Brooklyn both 15 minutes away. As a consultant, I see a lot of hotels, but this property will always be a home away from home. June 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel Not quite what I expected, but good. Room was quiet, spacious andn nice views (mega room). In-room dining was great, facilities in the hotel were excellent. Location is good, unless you want to stay at a specific area like Times Square. Union Sq station takes you anywhere in 10 mins. Only minus was room cleanliness, there were stains and trash from previous guests. The room also wasn't cleaned properly. Some of the staff didn't treate me with respect because of my young age (early 20's), but that was a problem with only a few individuals. Overall a good stay. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Experience The Hotel really delivered on our expectations with the exception of the loud music either within or outside the facility late on Friday and Saturday night. A special mention to Tanya at front-of-house who provided us with suggested dining and drinks venues and followed up with personalised notes and an ever-present smile. What a great ambassador for the Hotel! July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed with the service When I arrived slightly after my checkin time, I was told that my room still was not ready and I would instead be given a room with no view unless i wanted to wait 30-45 minutes, which I didn't. The man at the desk did not offer any discount or other accommodation for this change. I said I should not be charged my full rate for a less nice room and was given a $20 discount, which I thought was unreasonably small. The man at the desk acted very irritated that I would even ask, which was insulting. You guys are the ones who didn't have my room ready. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Always meets expectations. Staff is helpful and friendly. Food is good. Room was great! July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay The W Union Square is a great place to stay while in NYC. The staff is just lovely and truly make you feel like a valued guest. The hotel room is lovely and clean with a comfortable bed. For New York City the rooms are big. There will be street noise, but remember that it is New York City and noise is part of being in the city. And, the location is fabulous. It is close to the subway, and to an array of stores and restaurants in easy walking distance. Plus on Union Square you can enjoy a variety of events depending on the day, for example, a farmer's market. July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not great This is a very nice W Hotel, although not as roomy as many of the other W hotels I've stayed at; it is NYC after all, and space is at a premium. My biggest complaint is that throughout my 3-day stay, at least one of the 3 elevators was always out of service. When you have 20+ floors to deal with, losing one of 3 elevators means the guests have to wait as much as 20 minutes for an elevator (no kidding). Also, the rooms themselves, while very nice, still show some of the pre-renovation signs, and they are not quite up to par compared to other W hotels. Other than that, the staff was very friendly and helpful, although frequently forgetful, and the Olives bar/restaurant served great drinks and appetizers (didn't try the entrees). August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a great stay I have stayed at this hotel several times. Since I am a gold member I've always been upgraded without even asking for it. They have renovated recently. There is nothing like those beds and pillows. I have already purchased one for my home and hope to purchase the bed in the near future. The rooms are always clean, plenty of towels and hot water and the sinkside six is an extra bonus. This area is in walking distance to so many things. Great restaurants and shopping are nearby as well as you can catch any local train a block away. Can't wait to stay again. June 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel has Great Location The W in Union Square is a good hotel very well located. The major flaw of the hotel is the maintenance of the rooms. The rooms need to be better maintained and repaired.on a regular basis. For example our bath room sliding door was broken and our toilet had dark scratch marks in the bowl. For a hotel with an SPG luxury rating we were disappointed with the room flaws. Also the mattress was uncomfortable - not sure if that was due to the age of the mattress or type of mattress. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in a great location This sleek, trendy hotel is a treat! The rooms are very comfortable and so large for NYC. Amenities vary by room, but the stay is always of the quality I expect from Starwood Hotels. The staff is friendly, helpful, and very responsive to any needs. They're so welcoming, and truly make you feel valued. The "living room" has a great vibe, and the easy access to Todd English's Olives adds a lot to the hotel. Additionally, the location is incredible right on Union Square, and it's a gorgeous landmark building! Like I said, great hotel in a great location. May 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff The property is good. Decent sized rooms, well maintained. But the staff is outstanding. Highly recommended. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHotel Union Square - NYC My wife and I stayed in a suite in this hotel in NYC for 3 nights just after Labour Day 2013. It was a well run, well kept, well serviced hotel, where all of the staff that we dealt with had positive attitudes and were helpful when approached. It was in an excellent location for our purposes, which was to play tourist and walk to most tourist locations that we wanted to see. The only less than positive comment that I'll make is about the high cost of a room in NYC, which is a significant sticker shock for those that travel --> it was $ 200-$300 more per night than in equivalent accommodations in many places that we have been to --> effectively, it decrease the length of time or numbers of times that tourists might want to vacation in NYC. February 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Details Hotel is lovely but my room had several problems: alarm clock not working, shower drain plugged, and it was very cold when I arrived. This is a problem bc when you arrive late and need to just get sleep the last thing you want to do is wait for someone to come up with a working alarm/charger. Then ask for another comforter bc the room is too cold (then they brought a light blanket instead that did nothing to help). And finally in the morning showering was disgusting because the drain was plugged. But I just dealt with it for 3 days because it didn't want to have to deal with plummers in my room. It's the little things you expect from a premium brand from W that were not met but make all the difference. Oh, and doormen never opened the door for me. February 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would definitely stay here again! Very spacious, clean and comfortable room with all amenities available. I have 100 reasons to rave, but only one criticism: it could use more light! July 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Motel with a W attached to it Just got off the plane and decided to stay in W Union Square since I've never been here. Got here pretty late and was placed in a handicap room. I've stayed in W in other places before and liked it a lot, but this one was waaaaaaaay below my expectation. The room felt nothing of luxury, nothing of fanciness, just 2 painting and 2 queen size beds. For $500 a night, I am getting a motel room with a W name attached to it. It feels "cheap" and I simply do not like that feeling. After first night I've decided to get out there and stay somewhere that's a lot more hip for the same price. If it wasn't for friendly staff, I'd definitely give this a 1 star. Maybe it's just my experience, but I would not recommend the Union Square location to anybody. December 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trying a little too hard The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are comfortable but the decor is trying too hard to achieve that NY "hip" feel. It looks a little cheap and outdated (kind of like the bathrooms). July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service - front desk/reservations The hotel is nice - well done in fantastic order. The housekeeping staff was very nice. Front desk at check in- not pleasant. I travel globally for work and stay at a lot of hotels. They just didn't try to be accommodating. I get it - it's Manhattan - but I expected more from the brand. I had tried to upgrade my room type (was part of a wedding block) and got no response from W/Starwood despite the fact that they emailed me to upgrade. The front desk man who checked me in did not try to remedy this. As part of the wedding block, the bride had "goodie bags" delivered to the rooms. We never got ours. There are too many choices in Manhattan to bother staying here again. Small things that went wrong but when there are many choices, everything matters. August 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but some room issues This hotel is in a perfect location, halfway between midtown and downtown, with a subway station across the street. The concierge and car service also deserve high marks for their level of service.Our main issue was the very strong fragrance the hotel sprays in all rooms, which is completely inappropriate for guests with allergies. Unfortunately they don't have rooms available without fragrance and some of the windows are inoperable. The hotel management did try to fix the issue, but the odor didn't diminish entirely for three days. October 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay I'm a huge fan of Starwood Hotels and the W experience. Everything is amazing from the comfy bed to the amazing Bliss products. The only problem I have with stays at the W is that I always seem to get dinged with an Honor Bar charge that I did not incur. I'm not sure if the cleaning staff is to blame or just a general error, but it's happened on the past 3 times I've stayed - 2 different hotels. It's been credited back, but it's a hassle and takes a week, which delays submitting my expense report when visiting for business. October 17, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>