W New York - Union Square

  • 201 Park Avenue South
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10003
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best W in NYC I have stayed at this property dozens of times, and there is pretty much no such thing as a "bad room" here. The building is historic, the rooms are large with very high ceilings, and the windows open. The guest rooms were recently renovated, which was a needed refresh. I also perceive that the change in management has been quite a positive thing. In the past, I sometimes felt that there was an indifference to guest service, but I experienced the opposite on this stay. In particular, the front desk manager, Kat, went out of her way to look for an upgrade for me and to offer me a few different options, and her follow-up was excellent. The doorman (tall dark man with glasses -- sorry I don't know his name) is the quintiseential goodwill ambassador; he always recognizes me and greets me with a smile and handshake. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, needs maint. tho No hot water, it was just warm, the knob was falling down too. Remote control needed batteries, but they replaced it in no time. Staff is extremely friendly, Stella at the front desk deserves a big raise, when I got there (early) my suite wasn't ready, she made every effort to ensure I get my room in no time. She was friendly and knowledgeable of the hotel and it's surroundings, gave directions and was very helpful. The people at room service were great too. Overall great place, just a little unkempt by maint. dept. December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you Chris!! As a military member - its not often we have the opportunity to take leave/vacation. Like many others, our time is very limited and valuable. Chris went above and beyond to make our stay special. The hotel staff was very courteous, professional, and met all our needs. The location is awesome. The food recommendations were excellent. The hospitality was unforgettable! This was our first time staying in a W hotel. We've heard a lot of great things. Chris surpassed all expectations and made us feel so special -- Salute! February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Big rooms I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room given past experiences in NYC elsewhere. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was a bit expensive in the restaurant and hard to sleep with a rooftop party going on next door. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hairy room Just checked into this hotel that I have stayed at a few times before. Standards of this hotel have dropped dramatically and it is very disappointing to say the least. As a gold spg member I expected to be placed on a higher floor as I have always been in the past, the room is noisy, the bed coverlets are covered in hair-disgusting and I had to call into spg to get the complimentary internet that I should have been offered upon check in. I have a reservation in May that I will now rethink before I stay here again. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with our choice for a weekend getaway Overall, the experience was outstanding. The hotel is located in a fantastic location, near great shopping and restaurants. We had a corner room that was very spacious with a comfortable bed. It was on an upper floor so we had little street noise. The only minor complaint was in regards to the absence of a useful closet. The closet was largely occupied with a cabinet and safe so we kept our clothing in our suitcase and jackets on a chair. Otherwise, we will return to this hotel soon. Highly recommend staying here! January 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay, expected a little more. Our room had a nice view of Union Square and downtown. Modern style was warm and comfortable. They could have offered complimentary room Wi-Fi considering the cost of the room for one night and being an SPG Member. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff goes above and beyond From the door man to the manager and desk people, i received excellent service. it was a pleasure and I felt well taken care of. I will return for sure. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous This hotel is one of my favorites. Always a good time at a W hotel this location especially. It is convenient to many things and there are so many shops and restaurants in the area. The beds and pillows are so comfortable. The tub was spotless not a drop of mold anywhere. They also give you plenty of towels and Toiletpaper so you never need to call anyone for that. The sinkside six is also a nice touch. I've never had an issue with any W hotel and I've stayed in Many. I can't wait to stay in a W hotel again!!! November 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay... I have stayed at the W Union Square a number of times and I keep returning because the folks at the hotel treat me great. But also the hotel is in a great location. It is close to all the things I enjoy about downtown Manhattan from the farmers market at Union Square to the High Line. High floor rooms with a park views are the best. And the recent update of the rooms now makes this an even better choice for Manhattan hotels. And the improved windows keep out the street noise! Overall a great Manhattan hotel. July 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW is the word of the day for this place! Nothing but awesome things to say about this property! Great location, great vibe, wonderful rooms and attention to Platinum Members is the best thing I have to say about my stay. WOW is the word to sum up my recent visit. Maria at the front desk took ever so good care of me and I cannot begin to figure out how to say THANKS, other than writing this review of the stay. Some properties and staff really make your stay and Maria did that for me. Of course the plate of cookies in my room was most welcome as well. It doesn't happen all the time but when it does, WOW. That will keep me coming back. The Acura service is always welcome and a great perk. It was difficult to book a time on my day of departure and I ended up using my car service instead. When available it is awesome. May 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE Recently had a reservation at that was not honored. Showed up to check in to hotel and all rooms booked at 130am. Hotel claimed to have tried to contact me which was a blatant lie since I am a SPG gold and they have all my contact information. When I arrived, they looked at me with a blank stare and told me I could go to Jersey City. Again, not okay for a Gold member. An hour and a half later, they found a room for me that was out of my way. I did not realize this is how Starwood/ W treats its loyal clients. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by “GREAT STAFF, GREAT HOTEL” we decided to spend some time in Union Square. Very nice hotel, Friendly staff, Great service. had drinks at the bar and relaxed in the lobby and bar tenders and waitresses were great. I needed to print a few things out and concierge helped me with a smile without charge. My wife left our iPad in the room and didn't realize until 2 days after we checked out and contacted the W and they had it there waiting for us and we got it back the next day. Honest, friendly, fun location. Would definitely recommend. October 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Television Like the hotel, but the worst televisions, television reception, and very limited stations. Hard to believe with so many cable stations in NYC June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic stay! The staff, the location, the quality of this hotel is exactly what I expected from the W hotel group. A wonderful experience, so much so I have already re-booked for an eight day stay next month.....can't wait! June 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ALWAYS AWESOME! I have stayed at this hotel since 2006 and the staff are always awesome, the service excellent and the offerings sensational! June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The "W"-Union Square NYC -GOOD AS GOLD The "w" Hotel Union Square NYC is a treat. The hotel is "chic", the rooms a good size, noise abatement good, location better than good = Awesome! The staff, including the door and bell personnel are friendly, courteous and willing to be of service ! We had a corner suite on the 8th floor with a great view of Union Square and the outdoor Farmer's Market area. We would return to the "W" Union Square in a heartbeat ! May 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel & Location Good, reliable experience one comes to expect from the W brand. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful Arrived and room wasn't ready. They said after we got back from lunch the room would be ready. It still wasn't. We left our bags and it took them 15 minutes to find them. Staff barely held doors open. The kicker! We had to listen to blaring house music until midnight because of a wedding a the hotel. The whole staff acted like they were all too cool for work. Worst service at a hotel ever. Would never stay there again. Oh yeah. It also took 30 minutes for room service to deliver a fork. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W (hy) not!!! or W(hat's) not to like!!! My husband and I stayed in room 816 (King).. The room was very nice and well arranged. The staff was excellent, from the young man taking our reservations, to the young woman checking us in, to the housekeeping staff, to all the wait staff in the restaurant/bar, they were all extremely sweet. Seriously, your facility gets customer service! There was also a great outdoor market in Union Square across the street so the location complimented our stay. Keep up the good work!!! March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Detail is important I am regular at this hotel across the year. I like it and will continue to come back, but it sometimes misses the detail - a doorman opening the door while you bring in your own luggage rather than chatting away or just saying use the ramp! Ensuring the housekeeping get it right - no mat in the bathroom, for two days, then no bathmat at all, lack of the toiletries being topped up correctly. I have also asked before for the toeclips to be replaced on the bikes in gym - not happened yet. December 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and staff After a hard day moving my son into college, the W Hotel at Union Square was my life safer. Their friendly, caring staff met all my needs upon my arrival, taking care of my car, my luggage and having a great room prepared. My 74 year old mother was with me and they took extreme care to make sure she didn't have to carry bags or worry about anything. The Olives restaurant was also excellent with great food and service. Thank you W Union Square on Park Ave! Shopping was great there too. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place, front desk was snappy Great location with easy access to where we needed to go in the city. Comfortable room with spacious bathroom. No closet space to hang up coats but wasn't a problem. Doormen were great and helpful. Front desk was good except for one worker. He had short dark hair and wore glasses. We asked about the posting of charges to our account and he could have answered by saying it was just a hold. Instead he asked "what normally shows up on your account when you stay at a hotel?" in a very rude and short tempered tone. This after we explained we aren't sure what normally posts to our account: "well, that's interesting" in what couldn't be a more insulting tone. Why would we ask if we knew what was supposed to happen? Everything was great except for this interaction which really made for a frustrating morning. February 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nearly Ruined My Wedding Night I stayed at the W the night before my wedding and the night of my wedding. The experience was beyond horrible. A couple of weeks before checking in, we called and spoke to a manager about having a bottle of sparkling wine placed in our room on our wedding night and then having juice brought from room service the next morning. The day we were supposed to check in, we received a voicemail from a hotel employee telling us we needed to call back to clarify our asks. When we did, we were passed among three different people, all saying with some level of rudeness or attitude that they didn't know what we were talking about. We finally spoke to a manager, who assured us that our requests would be taken care of. When I arrived at the hotel with two bags and my wedding dress, there was no one to assist me, not even one doorman to open the two heavy front doors going into the hotel. I had to wait for another guest to exit and ask for help with the doors so I didn't damage my dress. At the front desk, I was told my reservation could not be found. I said this was impossible because we had just spoken to a manager thirty minutes prior about our reservation. The manager overheard this and checked me in himself. He apologized for the confusion and said he was going to have a fridge with the juice we wanted brought to our room before we returned from our wedding, so that we didn't have to be disturbed the next morning. This was the fourth time we had discussed this request. Of course, no juice ever appeared at any point. But worst of all, by far, was the treatment when we returned to the hotel after our wedding. Our keys had stopped working, so we went to the front desk to get them reactivated. While we were there asking for help, a woman behind the desk shot us a very dirty look. I asked her why she was glaring at us, and she responded by rolling her eyes and then verbally attacking us—raising her voice and trying to start an argument. I could not believe someone was treating us this way at the end of our wedding night. I was shaking and practically in tears. We went to our room after asking her name (Tamara), and the other person from the front desk delivered two glasses of Champagne to us to apologize for Tamara's behavior. Unfortunately, they were brought to us on a dinner plate rather than a tray, and one fell and shattered glass all over our hotel room floor. I usually stay at W Hotels about five times a year. After this experience—having someone be so incredibly rude to me on my wedding night—it will be very hard for me ever to consider the W as an option in the future. A final note: Anyone considering staying here should bring earplugs. Even on the 17th floor, I could hear a lot of street noise. And I live in New York City, not far from the hotel. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent All Around! I had a remarkable stay at the W Union Square recently and felt compelled to share my experience. From the first step in the door, the entire staff made us feel like valued customers. The front desk staff was helpful, kind, efficient, and accommodating. The room service staff was excellent, and the concierge and valet staff were fantastic as well. The rooms were clean and well maintained. I will definitely stay there again. Thank you to the entire W staff for an incredible stay! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay Really nice property with a great location and super helpful staff. The room was so comfortable and was quiet! I'd stay here again without question! June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Boutique Style I very much like this hotel and have stayed here many times. Since I am a very frequent guest they usually give me a nice upgraded room. I like a tub on a cold day which many rooms here do not have. They have a small but quaint bar in the lobby a very good staff by W standards. The location for me is great since I mostly want a neighborhood feel with convenience. Only thing I don't like is the gym - they have a small area with not very smart layout and almost no weight equipment. November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay First time at this hotel. We loved it. The room was spacious and clean. There was very little noise (especially compared to staying in Times Sq.). We had an accessible room but that was even better because it was bigger and the bathroom was huge. The only thing I'd say was to replace the bath mat in the bathroom. It was frayed and past its prime. That is the ONLY negative! The location could not be beat. We would definitely stay here again and would absolutely recommend this hotel. August 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not quite as good as in the past Room was clean but a bit more worn than last visit. Surprised that there was no turndown service. TV was inadequate (almost no HD channels) for a hotel at this price point. Doormen never opened the door for us. On the plus side, the room was large, quiet, and the bed was very comfortable. Olives was disappointing. Food okay, service inadequate. May 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FABULOUS HOTEL W UNION SAQUARE From check-in to check-out it could not have been a better experience. Some reviews of this hotel were quite low, but I cannot understand how. I have stayed at many hotels and truly the W Union Square was an absolute delight. The staff could not have been nicer and more attentive. The room (upgraded as SPG member) was large, clean, comfortable, and decorated in a fresh, clean manner that still was in keeping with the design era of the building (for fun check out the ballroom). March 14, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>