W New York - Union Square

  • 201 Park Avenue South
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10003
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 250 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer service is beyond stellar!!! This was the first time that I stayed at this hotel. The customer service was phenomenal from the doorman to the person checking me in to the manager, etc.... There was a welcome gift in the room with a personally addressed note, a sorry you are leaving email, recommendations, and more. Very important to have this kind of attention to detail in a commodity market! Nice job. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very spacious room for NYC HI we stayed in a mini-suite and it was so spacious for NYC. It had a nice big desk with two lights, a small couch, and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also spacious and well-lit. My only criticism was there were no drawers anywhere for our clothes, only hanging space in the closet..... October 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel - Great Location I travel to New York often for business and pleasure and this was my first experience with the W Hotel in Union Square although I have stayed at the W Hotel on Lexington several times. As chance would have it, they would fully booked so I thought I would try this location and was completely wowed. Great location, great staff, great room, could not have asked for more. May 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great staff; great hoel I've read so many negative reviews regarding the staff at this property, so I was ready to experience it. Instead, I found a friendly, professional team. This includes everyone, from the doorman to the front desk to housekeeping. The room was great, as expected from a W. I did have to call (twice) for bathrobes, but that's a minor quibble. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great repeat performance I had another great stay at the W Union Sq during Labor Day Weekend and Fashion Week. The staff at the hotel continue to treat me great and make sure that I get a nice room. I had a very nice corner room on a high floor facing the park with lots of sun and no noise. This hotel is in a great location near all the places and activities I enjoy when I'm in Manhattan. September 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location This hotel had a perfect location and the rooms were awesome. The housekeeping staff was great and did a great job on our room. Our two disappointments were how difficult it was to get ice (the ice machines were being replaced and it took forever for room service to bring ice) and we did not find the front desk staff or the bellstaff to be very friendly. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Stay! I've stayed at the W Hotel three prior times. All three times my expectations were exceeded. The Union Square location is my favorite. Valet parking was a bit pricey, but I like the fact that you have 24 access to your car. The food is also amazing and moderately priced. The rooms are clean, well maintained, and nicely decorated. I truly felt as if I was at home. July 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations or reputation Room and hotel was seriously lacking. There was no where to sit in the lobby except the bar area which was always filled with people there for drink etc. Concierge was not helpful, front desk staff rude, and the room was lackluster. No ipod dock, which is standard these days even in lesser graded hotels. I would not return to this hotel under any circumstances. April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really excellent stay Overall it was an excellent experience. Staff was generally friendly, professional, and efficient. Hotel is chic and clean. It's in a spectacular location if exploring lower Manhattan is on your itinerary, or if you're looking to be close to midtown for theater/tourist attractions/etc. Two strange, potentially one-off incidences at this hotel: 1. Bathroom was VERY CLEAN but there were a lot of rust stains on the alabaster tub/wall tiles. Not terrible, just off-putting aesthetically. 2. We ended up storing our bags for the early afternoon prior to departure. The gentleman assisting with storage of bags was very rude and gruff, which was not how any other staff member was at the hotel. He even scolded a member of our party while she attempted to assist him. So jarring! Possibly he was having an off day. Just want to reiterate what a pleasant experience overall it was, and how highly I'd recommend the hotel again, for a business trip or for fun. Really enjoyable, and will hopefully have the opportunity to stay again. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff! I had an nice stay at this hotel recently. The room was clean and had all the usual W amenities. The hotel "living room" was beautiful and the bar area was cool. The thing that made this stay stand out in my mind, though, was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. They extended themselves to assist and did it with a smile. That's special! December 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location, poor service! We stayed 5 and the living room furniture was very uncomfortable, and the daily maid service was very poor. They would not replace glasses with clean glasses and left trsh in the room, daily. For $500 a night, I was very disatisfied! Our son is a freshman at Parsons School of Art and Design, so we plan many visits to NYC. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful week at the W Union Square We had an exceptional stay at the W Union Square. The location was perfect and the W Team went above and beyond with exceptional service. Specifically, Marc R provided additional help coordinating our room upgrade. We make an annual trip to New York and the W Union Square has become our go-to hotel in the future. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feeling comfortable in the big city. Great hotel offering comfort and convenience. This hotel was very pleasing in every way....clean, hospitable, up to date rooms with comfy beds & linens, great shower with Bliss toiletries. Seems like everything you need is there or you can call the "whatever" desk and they will get it for you. Will definitely stay at a W Hotel whenever I can. August 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing I have stayed at this hotel several times and was always very satisfied in the past, but this time was disappointed. There was a mistake with our room and we had to switch to the right one after one night because the hotel was booked and couldn't accommodate us with the right one. It always seems like a waste and a drag to not be able to settle into your room right away. Also, the room they put us in was not as nice of a room as we were in the first night, but we needed 2 double beds instead of a king. Worse than that, for the next 4 nights we had no hot water in our bathroom sink of the new room. I reported it to the front desk after the first night but apparently they couldn't fix it, so that was extremely frustrating. They offered to change our room , but at that point I did not want to repack and switch rooms yet again, so we were unable to wash up with warm water at the end of the day. It may seem like a minor inconvenience, but it really sucked and is not what I would expect from a W Hotel. September 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was WOWED at The W Uniion Square From the 1st moment I entered the W Hotel I was made to feel welcome & special. The staff at the front desk were very friendly, helpful & accommodating. I was given a large room with a great view. The bed was extremely comfortable, I slept like a baby. The hotel is at a good location with plenty to do and see in close proximity. I walked across the street to the Market Square & there was a street fair going on nearby. I walked to shops, restaurants & the movies. The subway is just across the street at the Market Square so I was able to get to any other area of the city with no problem. I never run into celebrities in NYC but I saw 2 in the lounge & hotel lobby during the same evening! I enjoyed my visit so much that I have made reservations to stay their again in December. Since my first and last name begin with W it makes it all the more fun to say that I am staying at the W. Thanks to all at the W (Union Square) who made my stay so Wonderful! Sincerely, WW November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Stay Yet! Christophe, Lance, and all the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. We had another delightful stay here and are so appreciative of all the attention to detail. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is great---easy to go downtown or uptown and the surrounding area is wonderful. Our first choice for Manhattan! December 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great way to spend Christmas Checked into the W UNION SQUARE to spend holidays with daughter . Met Stella at checkin and from then on the stay was perfect. She was so helpful with the checkin and change of room.What a beautiful room she gave us with view of the park. Bag man Robert was always so helpful and friendly. Will absolutley stay again. December 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel too dark The hotel was much too dark and the elevators were the darkest. What's that all about? There are ways to establish an atmosphere - dim is nice, but dark? We had difficulty finding the Lobby button because it was so dark. No breakfast was included in a $700 a night room. Not thrilled with the overall experience. January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great staff!! thanks again for another nice visit. From the personal greeting from Keith upon our arrival, to Nelson's attention to our reservation and accomodations, and concierge's locating the BG Ice Cream Truck for my daughter, we had a wonderful stay. hope to see the staff at the W Union Square in the near future. August 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel, amazing location Union Square is a vibrant area, and the W fits right in. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and attractive, and the food is great. The hotel is also pet friendly, which is a plus. The only downside is the pricing, but it's not surprising considering the location and level of luxury the hotel provides. October 22, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really, Really Nice I am a ten year Starwood Preferred Platinum guest, so I've seen a lot of properties. While I recognize that the W Hotels are focused on "young and hip", I tend to like "traditional" hotels. I've stayed at a number of W Hotels over the years. This one is my favorite. They do "young and hip" without giving up the service. They are familiar, without loosing the fact that they exist to meet the needs of their guests. Service was great from the moment you approach the front door. The check in process is smooth. The rooms are sizable enough for a New York City based W Hotel and are charming. The Restaurant is superb and the location, near Union Square Park in the Flat Iron District is fantastic. It is within a short walking distance to many of New York's five star restaurants (eg. Union Square Cafe, Gramercy Tavern , Maialino, 11 Madison, etc.), to the farmer's market in Union Square or Greenwich Village. This hotel is good for a romantic weekend night or a business nigh with colleagues. March 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel has small rooms Wonderful hotel, beautiful quiet and restful lobby, feels like home. Rooms very small-good for single traveler, but modern with all the amenities. Had a hard time regulating the heat, seems like the air conditioning was on the whole time in November. I would say stay here for business travel only. November 25, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by short but sweet overwhelmingly friendly, helpful and caring hotel staff; very good quality food and drinks in restaurant/bar; excellent location October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Exellent stay at W NYC, Unions Square The Hotel was excellent. The staff was personable and professional, the rooms are well appointed, and the beds are just firm enough and comfortable. Room service was expedient. The location is convenient! I look forward to returning. September 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 Not up to expectations THe overall room could have been in better condition, it was dingy and needed a more thorough cleaning. Everything smelled like harsh chemicals. Internet access was disappointing so it was hard to work form the hotel. September 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Present Ever As part of a Valentine's Day gift, my husband and I stayed at the W Union Square. This is already located in one of my favorite neighborhoods in New York. The view of the park, the comfort of the room, and the bathtub all exceeded my expectations. I would not hesitate to return again. November 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by resturant I was surprised by the B rating of the Olivers. B unacceptable for a W affiliation October 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Union SQ This is my 4th time at the W Union Square and it will not be my last. I love the neighborhood and all the hotel offers. One note however, I used to receive a gift when I arrived, fruit or something in the room. This time I did not. Thinking cut-backs may be the culprit. April 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service and Very Comfortable This is my third stay at the W Union Square. The front desk and concierge are exceptional at making you feel welcome and well-served. The location couldn't be more convenient situated so close to the action but in a relatively quiet spot. Room is always very comfortable. October 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by All the staffs never smiles It's my first time to have these uncomfortable feeling from the hoteliers. They NEVER smiles to guests. I CAN'T find out any staffs to serve with smile. Now, I am staying at this property and I badly want to leave here immediately because of inappropriate hospitality. April 30, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 next>>