W New York - Union Square

  • 201 Park Avenue South
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10003
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 323 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel and staff After a hard day moving my son into college, the W Hotel at Union Square was my life safer. Their friendly, caring staff met all my needs upon my arrival, taking care of my car, my luggage and having a great room prepared. My 74 year old mother was with me and they took extreme care to make sure she didn't have to carry bags or worry about anything. The Olives restaurant was also excellent with great food and service. Thank you W Union Square on Park Ave! Shopping was great there too. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place, front desk was snappy Great location with easy access to where we needed to go in the city. Comfortable room with spacious bathroom. No closet space to hang up coats but wasn't a problem. Doormen were great and helpful. Front desk was good except for one worker. He had short dark hair and wore glasses. We asked about the posting of charges to our account and he could have answered by saying it was just a hold. Instead he asked "what normally shows up on your account when you stay at a hotel?" in a very rude and short tempered tone. This after we explained we aren't sure what normally posts to our account: "well, that's interesting" in what couldn't be a more insulting tone. Why would we ask if we knew what was supposed to happen? Everything was great except for this interaction which really made for a frustrating morning. February 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay First time at this hotel. We loved it. The room was spacious and clean. There was very little noise (especially compared to staying in Times Sq.). We had an accessible room but that was even better because it was bigger and the bathroom was huge. The only thing I'd say was to replace the bath mat in the bathroom. It was frayed and past its prime. That is the ONLY negative! The location could not be beat. We would definitely stay here again and would absolutely recommend this hotel. August 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Boutique Style I very much like this hotel and have stayed here many times. Since I am a very frequent guest they usually give me a nice upgraded room. I like a tub on a cold day which many rooms here do not have. They have a small but quaint bar in the lobby a very good staff by W standards. The location for me is great since I mostly want a neighborhood feel with convenience. Only thing I don't like is the gym - they have a small area with not very smart layout and almost no weight equipment. November 11, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by FABULOUS HOTEL W UNION SAQUARE From check-in to check-out it could not have been a better experience. Some reviews of this hotel were quite low, but I cannot understand how. I have stayed at many hotels and truly the W Union Square was an absolute delight. The staff could not have been nicer and more attentive. The room (upgraded as SPG member) was large, clean, comfortable, and decorated in a fresh, clean manner that still was in keeping with the design era of the building (for fun check out the ballroom). March 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Service-Oriented The best feature of this hotel is location. The decor (even if you like the usual look of W Hotels) is unimpressive, lots of ugly primary colors in the room and overall, it's looking a bit tattered. Service throughout the hotel is poor. There is one doorman, who is excellent, the others stand there while you lug your bags in yourself. Front desk staff were unfriendly, chatted amongst themselves rather than helping guests. Restaurant was slow, tables look tattered too. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Always Stay Here! I have been coming to NYC yearly now for the last 12 years and I have not stayed here 10 times. The location is the best for me because it is located in more of a neighborhood and on Friday and Saturday mornings there is a lovely Farmer's Market in the square that is fun to stroll through before starting your day. Keith the doorman is always a pleasure to be greeted by when my taxi brings us to the hotel. The beds are just as described...WONDERFUL AND HEAVENLY! December 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location If you prefer to spend your time in the City below 14th Street, this is the spot ! Right outside the the door is Union Square with a Farmers Market on the weekend. Across the Square is Whole Foods and a 15 minute walk to the High-Line. The room was bright, clean and very comfortable. Would have prefer free Wi-FI in the room instead of Lobby area. Staff was please and very helpful and accommodating. It's not cheap but as anything else you get what you pay for. August 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mother/Daughter weekend Great location. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially the doormen. Great bar/lounge area and restaurant. Shower drain was plugged, took two attempts to get issue resolved, but was finally resolved. Cards for room and elevator access were frustrating - had to swipe several times for them to activate. April 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great (inconsistent) service. Left disappointed. Really wanted to love this hotel but the inconsistent customer service across the board put me off after our stay. When it was good it was great. When it was bad it was terrible! When you do mention any issues they do try to fix things but when it happens lots you just give up. Having said that the hotel itself and the room we had were comfortable and bright. Certainly not the case of a grand foyer and horrible pokey rooms. Complimentary bottled water and chocolate at night (when you got it) was a nice touch. I am surprised that a hotel of this status didn't offer HBO on the TV channel. Location of hotel is brilliant for subway connections and being able to walk to other areas easily. Plenty of nice places to eat within walking distance (plenty of nasty places too so make sure you ask the concierge for tips). August 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and beyond... Was celebrating my 13th wedding anniversary and the staff knew about it. Walked in and found a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. In addition, got a room upgrade too. The staff was very courteous and was able to answer all the questions I had. In addition, the gym was well equipped. The concierge also was very helpful in getting us a reservation at a hot and trendy restaurant (although we did have to do this a few weeks in advance). September 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Staff/Great Hotel Hotel location is not in the heart of NYC, but staff and area is nice. Still have very nice restaurants around and walk to Washington Park and The Village. Very accessible to trains to get to Midtown and Uptown. Very Good Service from all staff members and very accommodating. We were celebrating kids birthday and they made them feel special! Thank you. April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb experience This is my favourite W Hotel in Manhattan and I have stayed at all of them multiple times over the years. (Including some properties which have departed the W family) It has the qualities associated with W such as energy also shared by other W Hotels but combines a feeling of being PART of the city and neighborhood. Truly a rare experience. April 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No recognition for SPG Platinum members, bad attitude front desk It is just enough to read other SPG Platinum reviews on this hotel and I should have review it myself before checking in but unfortunately I didn't... I will join the majority of the others by saying pointless to stay here. Do it only if you must and have no other alternatives. expect no almost no recognition for your SPG loyalty and status. Wrong attitude by front desk (most mentioned by others as well). Yes, location is great but that's about it. October 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trouble at the W Great location! Comfortable bed! Security called our room at 1am then opened our door and tried to enter our room. Luckily, we had flipped the extra lock. No explanation at all. We complained to desk next morning and we were send a bottle of water and a cupcake - not what I was hoping for.... Also, our fridge was broken, it was actually hot inside. Then on checkout, they had charged us again for a prepaid room! Unsure if I will stay here again..... October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely management Taken care of at every curve and turn.. they delivered. May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Stars at 5 Star Prices! The W Union Square is the only hotel for me and my wife when we are in NYC together. I may stay elsewhere for business, but the Union Square neighborhood is our go to home base in New York, and the W is our go to hotel. Great staff, excellent rooms, attentive service with no 'attitude'. If you can afford $$$+ / night rates, and pricey room service coffee, then you should check out the W Union Square. We'll be back again next fall, for sure! October 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by 10 Day Stay Have stayed here at least 3-4 times per year over the past 10 years. I have come to know the amazing front desk assistants Nelson and Stella who have always been so welcoming. Please improve front door assistance.....for the last few visits I had to carry in my own bags or leave them on the curb until I entered the hotel and asked for assistance. Even my taxi driver was amazed that there was no assistance. Also.I waited 25 mnutes for help with bags to be taken to the front upon checkout. Room service trays left on the floor outside of rooms on my floor for hours (serious rodent traps). Employees in bar/restaurant trying far to hard to be "cool"...bar/restaurant far too loud for dinner/drinks. New "elevator" security key system is a joke. Was on the elevator numerous times when random people wandered on to the elevator and punched in floor numbers after guests had "waved their keys". Very poor security. March 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has good location, not so good features The best thing about this hotel is the location. Not much to recommend about this hotel otherwise. The layout of the first floor is awkward. Has limited work-out facilities. Understand the space limitations at this location, but given that the hotel should really have some sort of arrangement with a local gym. Also, the $15/day WiFi charge is irritating (but perhaps a Starwood policy, rather than something particular to this hotel). October 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great decor, larger than expected room for Manhattan Great location at the corner of Union Sq, beautiful remodeling decor in the room with a lot of attention to detail: the lamps, the carpet, the huge mirror, all provide a great ambiance. Great service by all the staff, from reception, bell staff, bar tender, providing a great experience. The only negative was the sub-par shower enclosure (more appropriate for a second rate hotel) and so-so shower head. Overall, I warmly recommend. June 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good example of a W. Very good location as right across from a mainly subway stop with several intersecting lines. I was giving a standard room with no view. Immediately prior to my arrival I check on the iPhone app to see if what the availably of nicer rooms was- seemed to be plenty choices but receptionist wasn't very friendly and said they were all booked up when I inquired about a SPG ExecPlat upgrade. Its the worst W I have stayed in. January 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect hotel in Union Square Our room was a corner room that had wonderful views of Union Square. Nice contemporary design with a really comfortable bed! The bathroom was large and newly renovated. The restaurant called Olives is a great place to spend the evening and the food is top notch. It is near great little restaurants, shopping is everywhere, and NYU. We will stay here when we visit our son and never be disappointed. Thanks you, W Hotel! April 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Love this area of NY and this hotel location can't be beat. Close to restaurants and shopping but outstide the craziness of Times Square with still a wonderful sense of the NY life. Can't beat the market out side of the hotel to get a feel of local NY life. The service made the stay. Unfortunately my room had no view and think that it was a handicap room therefore no sofa. That was the only thing that disappointed. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hipster Hotel Staff obviously instructed in customer service "may I be helpful today?" but the rooms were not made up by 2pm and only after a call to housekeeping. The blaring hipster music in the elevator and dim lighting in the public spaces was off putting. All flash but didn't hit the basics that a hotel like this should provide. Will not return to a W Hotel. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff We unknowingly had reservations the same weekend as the First Lady so things were a little chaotic with all the Secret Service, etc. Two members of the hotel staff were especially responsive to our needs and I wished to recognize Magy of the Front Desk and Assistant Manager Micky. Both of them made our stay enjoyable and as a result, we will return to the W Union Square. Also - great location, near NYU. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, service, and location Really enjoyed my stay at W Union Square. Location is fantastic--convenient access to subway, shops, great restaurants/bakeries. Service at the hotel was excellent--I was able to check-in early and the doorman helped me get a cab to the airport. My room was spacious and quiet. I didn't get a chance to use the Acura car service, but it seems like a great benefit to guests. I hope to return again soon. March 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Property was in a great location, and would definitely stay there again! April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by people Jose at the front door - Nelson at the checkin desk and Bernardo / concierge - all made us feel at home .... and our room was lovely - great view and lots of space (super mega) for my son and I with two double beds and large bathroom. thank you April 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay!!! The W New York at Union Square is perfectly located as the name would suggest, Union Square. Steps from a subway stop and anything else you can possibly need. The staff was always helpful and the room was very large, clean and had everything we could want. My girlfriend and I travelled to NYC to get engaged and the W was more than great in making this an even more memorable moment in our lives. May 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by home away from home... I lost count of how many stays I've had at the W, and for me, there's no reason to stay anywhere else. The staff is the best in N.Y C…and as an added plus, they allow our 4 year old French Bulldog. He's been a guest since he was a pup. This is the best! April 2, 2014
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 next>>