Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 395 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always a good stay Stayed here again overnight for business. Staff was as pleasant as usual. Thanks! December 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel, needs maint. tho No hot water, it was just warm, the knob was falling down too. Remote control needed batteries, but they replaced it in no time. Staff is extremely friendly, Stella at the front desk deserves a big raise, when I got there (early) my suite wasn't ready, she made every effort to ensure I get my room in no time. She was friendly and knowledgeable of the hotel and it's surroundings, gave directions and was very helpful. The people at room service were great too. Overall great place, just a little unkempt by maint. dept. December 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Always Stay Here! I have been coming to NYC yearly now for the last 12 years and I have not stayed here 10 times. The location is the best for me because it is located in more of a neighborhood and on Friday and Saturday mornings there is a lovely Farmer's Market in the square that is fun to stroll through before starting your day. Keith the doorman is always a pleasure to be greeted by when my taxi brings us to the hotel. The beds are just as described...WONDERFUL AND HEAVENLY! December 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good Features; outrageously noisy if on the 3rd floor this is the second time we stayed at this hotel in 3 months. This time we stayed 4 noites on the third floor. Friday and Saturday the disco or ballroom on the 2nd floor was so loud my bed vibrated until 2:30 am both nights. There was a constant buzz from the lamp vibrating on the desk. Our only option was to move to the 5th floor with a shower...no bath....and our expereince rom the time before is that the coke bottle tiles grout was moldy......which for me is even worse than the noise. Management was nice enough to not charge us on Saturday......but we paid the full for the other 3 nights...they gave us ear plugs. I am platinum starwood ....and this was a nightmare for even for someone without that status. December 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice hotel, great location Great location right in union square. I understand its a higher end hotel, but $70 for parking per day is ridiculous when you go down the street for $35 per day. Also, $6 a cup of coffee in the restaurant was insulting. Room was great, quiet and comfortable. I would stay again but would not park there. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff, nice hotel Great location and great hotel! I have stayed at SPG properties nearly 100 nights this year and attempted to use an upgrade award to get a suite. To make a long story short, I wasn't able to upgrade and was upset at check in. The manager Lance was able to get me a room with a view and was a pleasure to work with. SPG needs to find a better way to reward their frequent travelers when it comes to suite upgrades. Overall the stay was great, friendly helpful staff and nice (not too small) comfortable rooms. Location was perfect, close to everything but not quite as busy as some of the other areas that we visited while we were there. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Union Square Gem This W hotel is perfectly situated on Uninon Square...near S oho, Chelsea, and not far from the Village.... you can be anywhere in minutes from here...and i lovel the feel of he old flatiron district...Staff were extremely coureous and friendly! December 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by AVERAGE to DISAPOINTING front desk staff disappoint. average service at check-in. pre-payment autho not found. front desk staff did not seem interested in resolving the problem. manager did finally step up after an hour of confusion and disinterest December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Room was very comfortable in spite of NYC noise Visited son at NYU so location was very good. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed experience I have stayed at this hotel a few times, and am overall a major W fan and a platinum SPG member. Most experiences have been very good and the recent renovation is well done. Issues with this stay - internet service did not work, and it took a lot of troubleshooting and a reset of the hotel's network to resolve - cost me a couple of hours of productive work time. Also, window was not properly closed, which took a while to detect, but a lot of street noise came in. Clearly a previous occupant had opened it to smoke as there were cigarette butts on the outside window ledge. I alerted staff of issues at checkout. November 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by W NYC The hotel needs to improve the service, and also to recognize better the SPG guest status. November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel! Our weekend stay at your hotel was amazing! Everyone from your front desk staff to the restaurant staff was friendly and very helpful. It was also a very nice touch to have a special "Birthday" treat sent to our room for my sister! We also enjoyed the hot apple cider in the lobby!! Thank you for a very memorable and enjoyable experience! November 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lower floor way too loud Our room was on the 4th floor which didn't seem like that big of a deal...until 1am of the first night. The noise outside our window was deafening - music blasting, horns blaring and drunk people shouting. It continued for hours...both nights. One would have thought my Gold status entitled me to a quieter room than this. November 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Big disappointment We used SPG points for a weekend in New York, excited to stay at the W Union Square. A luxury hotel like this should make a guest feel special. A hotel of this caliber should anticipate needs. We found the opposite, a hotel that does as little as possible to maintain its elite status. The staff at the front desk were unfriendly. The room was so loud; we could hear every detail of the next door bathroom AND the outdoor noises from the AC units were cacophonous. The pillows were lumpy. There were no "little things" which make all the difference. No turn down service? No free coffee in the room? No nautilus machine in the gym, only a few free weights and some bikes and treadmills. No umbrellas when it rained. What a disappointment from a gold SPG member. The Aloft I stayed at in Bangkok a few weeks ago was FAR superior in every way, especially the level of attention from the staff. They genuinely wanted me to be happy; whereas in New York they could care less. What a cliche, New York. You've lived up, in every possible way, to your reputation. November 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by “GREAT STAFF, GREAT HOTEL” we decided to spend some time in Union Square. Very nice hotel, Friendly staff, Great service. had drinks at the bar and relaxed in the lobby and bar tenders and waitresses were great. I needed to print a few things out and concierge helped me with a smile without charge. My wife left our iPad in the room and didn't realize until 2 days after we checked out and contacted the W and they had it there waiting for us and we got it back the next day. Honest, friendly, fun location. Would definitely recommend. October 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by resturant I was surprised by the B rating of the Olivers. B unacceptable for a W affiliation October 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by short but sweet overwhelmingly friendly, helpful and caring hotel staff; very good quality food and drinks in restaurant/bar; excellent location October 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location Enjoyed our stay in Union Square. Walking distance to almost everything. October 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but some room issues This hotel is in a perfect location, halfway between midtown and downtown, with a subway station across the street. The concierge and car service also deserve high marks for their level of service.Our main issue was the very strong fragrance the hotel sprays in all rooms, which is completely inappropriate for guests with allergies. Unfortunately they don't have rooms available without fragrance and some of the windows are inoperable. The hotel management did try to fix the issue, but the odor didn't diminish entirely for three days. October 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has good location, not so good features The best thing about this hotel is the location. Not much to recommend about this hotel otherwise. The layout of the first floor is awkward. Has limited work-out facilities. Understand the space limitations at this location, but given that the hotel should really have some sort of arrangement with a local gym. Also, the $15/day WiFi charge is irritating (but perhaps a Starwood policy, rather than something particular to this hotel). October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really excellent stay Overall it was an excellent experience. Staff was generally friendly, professional, and efficient. Hotel is chic and clean. It's in a spectacular location if exploring lower Manhattan is on your itinerary, or if you're looking to be close to midtown for theater/tourist attractions/etc. Two strange, potentially one-off incidences at this hotel: 1. Bathroom was VERY CLEAN but there were a lot of rust stains on the alabaster tub/wall tiles. Not terrible, just off-putting aesthetically. 2. We ended up storing our bags for the early afternoon prior to departure. The gentleman assisting with storage of bags was very rude and gruff, which was not how any other staff member was at the hotel. He even scolded a member of our party while she attempted to assist him. So jarring! Possibly he was having an off day. Just want to reiterate what a pleasant experience overall it was, and how highly I'd recommend the hotel again, for a business trip or for fun. Really enjoyable, and will hopefully have the opportunity to stay again. October 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by W union square Great location and fine hotel. Beds were awesome. Rooms tiny. What bothers me about this hotel is that we were nickle and dimed for all the little things. Expensive wifi, charged to get on-line to access amtrak, charged to PRINT a boarding pass. When you pay for quality like a W, you expect to not then get charged as if part of steerage. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Stars at 5 Star Prices! The W Union Square is the only hotel for me and my wife when we are in NYC together. I may stay elsewhere for business, but the Union Square neighborhood is our go to home base in New York, and the W is our go to hotel. Great staff, excellent rooms, attentive service with no 'attitude'. If you can afford $$$+ / night rates, and pricey room service coffee, then you should check out the W Union Square. We'll be back again next fall, for sure! October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Always Hope this review means something to folks because due to family obligations I have been here at least 11 times a year for 10 years. If a place gives you a great visit or a bad one, it could just be a fluke. My unique perspective is very accurate because I'm there time and time again. Out of about 100 stays, one or two could have been better and even those were far from a disaster. I've frequented other properties that have come nowhere close to this. The W Union Square has a performance record of excellence that few properties can provide. It's a place of serenity and excitement all in one. The staff are amazingly bright, warm, caring, and cheerful......Always. Front Desk, Whatever/Whenever, Doormen, Room Stylists (aka housekeeping), Olives Bartenders, are all gifted individuals. Very little turnover in staff over the years indicates their dedication to this place and for most it's more than just a job. The face of the Managers there is primarily Gerald and he is (as are many there) a very intuitive and resourceful person who provides vibrant leadership to the wonderful team you encounter. And the place is a terrific building at a great location and all that but just a great location does not a W Union Square make! It's the people that work there and run it. Go there, enjoy, and check out the views facing South and East. October 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very spacious room for NYC HI we stayed in a mini-suite and it was so spacious for NYC. It had a nice big desk with two lights, a small couch, and a very comfortable king bed. The bathroom was also spacious and well-lit. My only criticism was there were no drawers anywhere for our clothes, only hanging space in the closet..... October 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is the key I travel regularly on business and stay at hotels both across the country and around the world. The quality of a facility is important, but the key to an excellent guest experience is the staff. The W Hotel on Union Square has one of the best collection of staff members that I have ever seen. They are professional, friendly, high engaging and eager to be helpful in any way they can. Guests are greeted by name in most cases, staff literally stop to engage with you and they work hard to make your guest experience a great one. I make this hotel a regular stop. It is outstanding! October 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by No recognition for SPG Platinum members, bad attitude front desk It is just enough to read other SPG Platinum reviews on this hotel and I should have review it myself before checking in but unfortunately I didn't... I will join the majority of the others by saying pointless to stay here. Do it only if you must and have no other alternatives. expect no almost no recognition for your SPG loyalty and status. Wrong attitude by front desk (most mentioned by others as well). Yes, location is great but that's about it. October 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and beyond... Was celebrating my 13th wedding anniversary and the staff knew about it. Walked in and found a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. In addition, got a room upgrade too. The staff was very courteous and was able to answer all the questions I had. In addition, the gym was well equipped. The concierge also was very helpful in getting us a reservation at a hot and trendy restaurant (although we did have to do this a few weeks in advance). September 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to expectations THe overall room could have been in better condition, it was dingy and needed a more thorough cleaning. Everything smelled like harsh chemicals. Internet access was disappointing so it was hard to work form the hotel. September 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Attitude is everything Immediately upon my arrival to the hotel, I was greeted by typical NYC attitude, despite booking a room for over $400.00 a night, including giving up 20k points for a room. The staff was pretty unhelpful, and considering their attitude, I felt intimidated to ask for directions, assistance, or recommendations. The rooms are pretty decent, and the location amazing, but it would be hard for me to stay here again. Attitude is everything. September 19, 2013
  • 2016-08-28 T12:26:13.513-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_395, tr_395
  • loc_en_US, sid_1299, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 14 next>>