W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • Kalifornien
  • 92101
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Mindestalter

Um eine Reservierung vorzunehmen, müssen Gäste mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein und einen gültigen Lichtbildausweis vorlegen.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 246 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel was okay. The hotel was okay. For the price you pay for, staying at another hotel would be better. The beds were comfortable. The staff was not on point. I had to call a couple times to get the things that should have been in the room already, such as shampoo. The shower is neat, but not functional. Water gets out all over the floor. The location is good. Close enough downtown, but not in the middle of downtown where it is overcrowded and noisy. It is also close to the train station. Some of the drinks are overpriced at the rooftop bar. A vodka tonic is the same price as a martini or margarita. Better off drinking somewhere else. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern Comforts Sleek, ultra-modern, and just a little bit edgy, the Hotel W in San Diego offered a great location for a 4-day stay during a conference. Location near the GasLamp District and the Convention Center was good but not adjacent, requiring cabs for some events. The hotel facilities and accommodations were excellent, the only gap was the lack of a coffee maker in the room for early morning coffee. May 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel amenities & extraordinary staff Apart from the room, amenities and facility, people make the difference in any organization. There was an Asian woman at the front desk whose name I didn't get who was even-tempered and accommodating whatever question she was asked. I also want to highlight Blair who was equally attentive and helped my firend enroll in the SPG rewards program including points that she had in a closed account. Finally, Diana from the housekeeping staff was upbeat, cheerful always asking how she could improve my stay in any way. During my 6-day stay, she always left the room, in order, clean and fresh! I cannot say enough about your hotel and the superior quality of the staff at this location. July 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff Fabulous..Facilities not so much The staff at the W San Diego could not have been better... very customer focused and friendly. I truly appreciated how above and beyond they went on each of my requests. The facilities themselves.... not so great. The TV didn't work, wasn't able to order any sort of movies because it kept saying no signal, wireless dropped in and out all day (for $15 bucks a day that is annoying); the bathroom was very nonfunctional without any counter space, the cleaning service woke me up from naps on two different days to check the mini bar (even though I had a do not disturb sign on)... overall, not loving the facility. May 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not typical W quality Platinum member, stay in W hotels all around the country. This hotel is definitely not W quality. I love W hotels, but this property in San Diego has not been renovated in years. The front desk clerk informed me they just completed renovation in common space, but none of the rooms have been upgraded for years. The carpet in hall ways is terrible, I had throw-up stains in front of my door. The carpet in rooms is has black stains from wear all through it. The bathtub has the brown rust streak coming from faucet. Caulking around the sink and tub is black or peeling. Overall it was just terrible according to W standards. If you appreciate the W standard of quality, you won't get it here. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just needs new beds I absolutely love the W hotels. But this one in Gaslamp San Diego needs a little improvement. Everything was excellent (staff, lobby, food, etc) but the beds in the hotel were awful. I was surprised because the W hotel in Hollywood had amazing beds that were so comfortable and indulging. But the beds at the W hotel in Gaslamp San Diego hurt my back, my boyfriends back, and 2 of our friends backs as well! Not sure if I'll return unless they get new beds. Other than the awful beds, everything else was excellent! April 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Property With Minor Flaw A lot has been made about this property not being updated. The only viable complaint that I can support from the last 20 posts is the carpet. It's clearly old and stained and undesirable. But really, that's my only complaint. Staff was fantastic and the property is an easy eight minute walk to both Little Italy and Gaslamp. Dangerous? Not necessarily. The staff alerted me to the safest walking route to get to both attractions. And a final disclaimer: I'm a hotel snob. I travel extensively. I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again, regardless of the carpet. Although new carpet sure would be nice!!! April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff! I stayed at this hotel for my birthday and it was an amazing experience. From the moment I arrived the staff made me feel at home and was very friendly. They answered all my questions and even offered great bars and restaurants in the area. And I have to give special recognition to Sophie. She went above and beyond to make sure I had the best stay possible. She even arranged a birthday surprise with champagne and delicious assorted desserts. My room was spacious and very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego. March 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost a good experience I was generally ok with the hotel except for two major problems with the room. First is that there was no hot water - nothing like a lukewarm shower to get you ready for work in the morning. Second, I was woken up in the middle of the night by loud music from the room next door. I think the problem is that the radio is positioned such that it comes right through a vent. January 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A conference trip Decor is fresh and contemporary. Air conditioning in our room did not always work well, room was hotter than temp on thermostat. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Wi-fi speed in the room was excellent, in the lobby was only fair. The hot buttons on the room phone (to concierge, front desk) did not connect to working extensions. Only thing I really didn't like was the constant boom-chick of dance music in the lobby and elevators, no matter what time of day. April 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel But.. Loved our Fantastic Suite. It was in good condition, comfortable and everything was in working order. Staff was friendly and efficient for the most part. A glaring exception was the 9AM wake up call delivered at 6AM. Elevator issues also marred our stay. Two of the three elevators were out of service for hours on Sunday morning, making every arrival/departure an adventure.Fitness room has updated equipment but could use more weight machines. The pool is lovely but tiny. My last minor annoyance was the proclamation by the desk clerk that I had been "upgraded" to the room type I had booked in the first place. All in all though we will return, though I play they get those elevators back in working order. September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Delivers Again Never had a bad stay here. Staff excellent, site great May 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by W San Diego "A big Disappointment" July 2012 stay : room carpet soiled , electrical lighting non working and room itself slightly better than a dorm room TV issues ... we were moved to an identical room type which continued to have problems such as lighting not working obviously the staff do not have a checklist to ensure basic things like the bathroom wall ligts work or a look over of the carpets etc etc.. what made it worse was the parking fee added on to the bill for parking I didnt use August 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun and Comfortable Stay! A recent UCSD graduation celebration leads me to the W San Diego. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the famed gas lamp district so you're close but not too close. Travelers should note that the hotel is somewhat smaller than one would think if just browsing pictures on the internet. The rooftop bar is a great place to hangout. The valet service is quick and reliable (parking for valet is the empty outdoor lot, diagonally across from the hotel) but because the hotel is farther from the "action", hailing a cab, even for the Valet staff can be a bit challenging. I would not recommend guests walking to or from the Gas Lamp district at night as the surrounding areas are not very well lit and in some parts, questionable. August 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hip W Hotel - Quiet Part of Town I stayed at this hotel in April after attending a business function at another hotel. It's in a quiet part of town (I was there Sat-Mon) but you are close enough to walk to Horton Plaza and some of the restaurants. Upon check in I was given a Cool Corner room which was large and very nice. The hotel was sold out Sat night and the lobby was very busy as it seemed to be one of the "it" places to be. The front desk staff was pleasant enough but didn't talk much. I don't know if this hotel had a club lounge and it was mentioned that my SPG number was on file. April 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average at best Having read the reviews on the hotel prior to my stay, and combining that with the price, I had expectations of a very nice hotel. I was disappointed with what I found. I was on the 5th floor and I had mulitple police/emergency sirens every night (stayed 3 nights). The rooms are not very quiet. I could hear people talking in adjoining rooms as well. While the lobby is obviously being renovated, the rooms are old. The pool is tiny, and the execise room has just a few machines. Overall it was a very ordinary hotel, that I am not sure is worth the price. May 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay and customer service I decided to use up quite a few of my accumulated Starwood points last month while my house was being tented for termites. As this was to be my "home away from home" I contacted the W and I received spectacular service from Kehaulani Larose. I hope management can find more individuals like her. She listened to my concerns over noise and allergies and took care of every last detail and was able to upgrade me to a corner room that was very pleasant indeed. I certainly didn't expect to enjoy my visit as much as I did. When I called whatever/whenever desk, they were responsive and positive. Cleaners and staff went the extra mile and I appreciated the small amenities offered. Recommend this hotel. Do suggest you find other nearby parking options, however. November 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Declining The staff of this hotel is responsive and pleasant. Concierge (AJ) gave solid advice on restaurants. The hotel appears to be in decline physically, and financially. Restaurant appears to have "cut back" on availability (hours and offerings). For the price in San Diego, I believe we can do better in future. No conferences in evidence; but no "conference room" available for a client meeting. Staff handled this well by giving access to living room of a suite. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice stay I just came back from a one night stay. As a platinum SPG member I was upgraded to a cool corner room. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was great. I appreciated the location of the hotel being walking distance to everything but not in the heart of it all. I was in town on work, but liked it so much, that I booked an upcoming weekend so I could actually spend some time enjoying the area and facilities. I would highly recommend anyone who needs to stay in San Diego to choose this hotel. January 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front desk is a major problem The front desk is a problem not enough staff as it took too long to check in but she tried her best at least.The checkout was a poor experience as I asked for my bill as I was taking my disable son to the car.She wasn't with anyone so all she had to do was print my bill but rather than handle the duty she got others and didn't do what I asked.then made me wait as she helped others.My son who is totally disabled was left by himself as I had to wait but a guest let me get my bill which wasn't printed yet ahead so I could look after my son February 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Failure to provide basic services Cute hotel but it has some bad management problems. We arrived back at the hotel tonight on the third evening of a three-night stay to find our room uncleaned, our bed unmade, and the dirty, wet towels on the floor of the shower (we left our towels on the shower floor to make sure that the hotel service staff did not think we were so green that we didn't want clean, dry towels). We called downstairs to report the problem and to ask for some clean towels, as well as the two additional blankets we had requested this morning before leaving. The desk staff asked if we wanted our room to be serviced but it was almost 10 pm and we were too tired, and didn't want to have to go and hang out at the bar while waiting for our room to be serviced. My husband thought they should comp the room and told them so, but they offered him a measly $24 discount off the room rate for the inconvenience. After two calls and a 20-minute wait, the towels and blankets were delivered. Somewhat later, when my husband had drifted off to sleep, he was awakened and I was disturbed by aggressive knocking at the door and a loud voice. We tried to ignore it, but it did not stop so I quickly dressed and went to the door. It was a maid who wanted to service the room. It was now after 10:30 p.m.! The experience this evening was bad enough but it followed a fiasco this morning when the hotel's valet parking lost track of our car because they had filed the car keys under someone else's name. Cute and hip just doesn't make up for failure to provide basic services, such as clean towels and keeping track of your car. August 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by San Diego W has superb staff! My daughter and I stayed at the SD - W during the last few days of spring break - a mommy/daughter trip. I have to mention the incredible staff at the W, that made our stay fantastic. Firstly, Vanessa at the check in desk, is an asset to your organization. She was so incredibly helpful and friendly. My daughter could not wait to see her at the end of our days touring SD. Thank you Vanessa for everything. Secondly, Denyse and Jasmine in Kelvin, both of you made our breakfasts enjoyable, your service and attitudes made us smile. I only have one concern, and it was our bathroom in our room. Funny septic smell at times, as well as the fan which is connected to the lighting was not operating properly at times. Otherwise, we loved the SD W and would stay there again! April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff!! Giovanna at the front desk checked us in and was extremely helpful and personable. We were very impressed with her throughout our stay from check in where she wished us Happy Anniversary, to the next day when she personally collected our luggage to store, to the chocolate covered strawberries we were sent for it being my 10th stay with Starwood, to our check out when she personally retrieved our luggage, to the valet who was consistently swift, friendly, and helpful and even gave us waters upon departure. A+ to the staff. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish Hotel I work for another Hotel chain and enjoy staying at the competition every now and then. The Hotel was stylish and fun. A few of the staff members I met were very professional, yet friendly. Sophie was great. Some were not so friendly. I had a do not disturb on my door to take a nap prior to an evening event, and a female associate knocked on my door and asked if she could change the pages in the Hotel Directory. March 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by J Carroll This property seems to be declining in appearance and customer satisfaction. I'm a Platinum SPG member and travel a lot and I no what should be expected. Room had a problem with a terrible smell of sulfur water coming from the shower and lots of wear in the baseboard of the bathroom and throughout the room. Elevator to the rooms had food on the floor and smelled disgusting. As a Platinum SPG member and well traveled within SPG properties I'm disappointed in the customer service and overall appearance of this property. May 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be careful with the staff at this hotel Me and my girlfriend spent 4 nights at W San Diego the weekend before Christmas we stay at room 1418. The day we check out my girlfriend forgot her coat at the room, when she notice, we went back to the hotel and ask at the front desk for it. No one could tell us were it was, the only answer we got from the staff was that if they found it they will get in contact with us, it never happen. it is a shame that in a hotel of this category happen such a thing. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone! December 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2 night stay room assigned on the 12 th flr had stained / dirty carpet that you couldnt avoid , bathroom mirror light did not work ..after notifying front desk we were moved to 1318 which was cleaner but LCD TV failed , bathrm mirror light failed ( same as 12 th flr ) , the "Wondeful " room looks like a well used dorm room and you need a wench motor to pull the blinds.. aftercheck out an extra $70 tacked on the bill for Valet and didnt use....if you want to offer value to your customers these are items you should consider July 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as luxurious as I would have thought I stayed at the W Hotel in Gaslamp for New Years Eve. The hotel itself was fine and the rooms were fine, but not for the price, which I feel overcharged for. The first and main problem is that the bathroom shower sprays water all over the floor because there are no doors on the shower. I am all about modern design but FUNCTIONAL modern - not slip on the floor because the shower is stupid modern. Also they had coffee in the lobby only one day, and NO COFEE MAKER in the rooms? Hello? We need coffee. January 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service from Catering! The lovely Danielle was in charge of our conference catering. The first day I was there I asked her about special options for meals, as I am allergic to the entire world including wheat, corn, nuts, melon and soy. She went above and beyond to make sure I had separate fruit dishes that hadn't been mixed with melons, on the day we had quiche I got a separate plate of scrambled eggs, the list goes on. She and your whole staff were awesome to work with and I am so grateful for the extra mile service! May 20, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service The W Hotel has always been a favorite of mine until recently when the hotel refused to address my issue regarding incorrect charges made to my account. I was told via phone that someone at the W would contact me to rectify this situation within 48 hours of my initial contact but did not hear anything until I tried again (after the 48 hour period) and even then the representative was not helpful at all. I feel this level of guest rapport is unacceptable for a 4-5 star hotel like the W. June 5, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>