W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 251 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible, dirty, hotel. Not a 4-star hotel. BEWARE! We stayed for 7 days and had a problem every single day. We took pictures of urine soaked mattress, unmaintained room and filthy rooms. We were moved to a supervisor inspected room and it was still dirty and had urine soaked mattress. General Manager has still not contacted us even though we were promised a call while staying there by front desk. No real compensation was given and we paid A LOT per night. Was looking forward to this vacation all year long and am still upset over this. Common areas were clean and food was great but actual rooms were horrid. Many more problems with stay. VERY UNHAPPY! July 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst W in the World As a Starwood Platinum member I've stayed at a lot of W's throughout the world. The W San Diego was undoubtedly the worst W I have ever seen anywhere. The furniture is cheap, chipped, broken, stained and old. The carpet in the room was threadbare and had stains all over it (when was the last time the rooms were even steam cleaned?) Simple repair work was done poorly. Walls were repainted in patches so the color of the wall didn't even match. The rooms were filthy. In addition to the carpet stains, there was hair in the sink and dirt on the walls. While the staff was nice enough, I had to go in and ask for a valet attendant to show up every time I wanted to get my car (even when I had called ahead). Never again. February 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hip and Clean Great facility. Location is decent, most things are walkable. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value and location! The W in San Diego is in the heart of the Gaslamp district, a very happening and restaurant filled neighborhood. Building was super clean, lobby was fresh and modern, with just the right amount of euro dance music playing in the evening. There is a fun vibe and good customer service. August 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing Staff Although there were a few inconveniences, such as thermostat was broken, and elevators were experiencing problems after a water pipe broke under the hotel. the staff did everything to make us feel great. Ricardo in maintenance went far and beyond his job to try to fix our thermostat. He relocated us in nicer room. He also helped us move rooms and sent us some champagne, which was very sweet and meant a lot to us. Ruby was amazing in housekeeping, making sure we were always happy and content. Also Maria at whatever, whenever was more then accommodating and help us get compensated for all the set backs. Your staff rocks and we thank you so much for making these few nights so grand. Excellent Stay-cation because of your employees. PROPS! August 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Highly Disappointed in W Hotel San Diego Highly Disappointed in the W San Diego My boyfriend and I stayed at the W Hotel, San Diego over the News-Eve weekend; checked in Friday, 12/30 through 1/1/12. In a nutshell, I was extremely disappointed in this W Hotel!! It did not meet the classy-upscale decor, quality and standard of the Westin properties. I'm very surprised that the hotel chain allows this location to carry the W name brand. My first thought was to give a review of pros and cons, but I don't have any pros. As you can tell, I didn't have a great experience, and will NEVER stay at this W location again. I really hope that the W management reads this post, along with all the other post regarding the lackluster quality of this hotel. I'm a Starwood Gold member and an experienced traveler, so I know quality when I see it; this was not it: I've stayed at other W Hotel properties. That said, this hotel was more on the order of a 2 maybe 3-star hotel. Overall, room decor was subpar and cheap; as others have stated, the rooms look like the designer ran out to inexpensive furntiure outlet, and purchased the furniture and assessories. The room looked like it was decorated for a teenager that included a chalkboard; go figure... The rooms are very small, and there weren't drawers for personal belongings. The room didn't have a coffee maker (to my knowledge, 1 and 2-star motels/hotels have coffee makers), and the ice machines are only located on the even-number floors (of course I was on the odd-number floor - 15th floor). One would think that a 4-star hotel would include free internect access; you guessed it - NOT!! Internet access is a whopping $15.00/day. Wait it gets better, valet parking to stay at this hotel is $36.00/day!!! Bathroom: Whoever came up with the bathroom design should be fired! The bathroom door is a sliding door, that you can see in and out of from the bedroom (if you stand next to the TV); this means you don't have complete privacy; not to mention the unspoken-- you can be heard taking care of "business" while sitting on the toilet!! The shower does not have a shower door, but rather a top/bottom clear glass that is half the length of the shower. So guess what? Water shoots all over the bathroom floor, and the shower floor towel (if you put one on the floor) gets soaked and wet!! The toilet paper holder is afixed to the wall behind the toilet, so you have to become a contortionist and twist you arm behind you to reach it, or twist you body to the side to reach it!! Really??? Customer Service: The concierge also should be fired! He was extremely rude to say the least. I asked him for a couple of recommendations for dinner that Friday evening, and his response was "There are over 200 restaurants around here!!" with an exasperated look! Mind you, I was the only guest at his counter, but he told me he was busy, had other things to do, and I could come back the following morning at 9:00am if I had more questions!!! I was so taken aback, that I smiled at him and said "sure...". Of course I didn't return the follow morning for more abuse. Management, please take heed to the feedback. There is enough consistent feedback about the cons to suggest that serious changes need to be made to bring this hotel up to the expected standard of a true W Hotel experience. January 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay at the W The W Hotel in San Diego is an excellent hotel and worthy of the W title. The only complaint was the pool is miniscue and not what I expected from a hotel in sunny SoCal. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff and Service... Close to everything I need and a great/fun place to stay! August 21, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>