W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Not a Great Location, Unfriendly Staff I am a SPG Platinum for Life member and have been staying at Starwood properties every week for the past 13+ years. Although I very much like the W brand, this hotel did not leave an impression and I will not be visiting the W San Diego in the future. The front desk and concierge staff were downright rude. I can give several specific examples of this but let's just say that even my guest asked if I had any status with this brand due to the treatment received. The hotel is also very loud and is very unsafe to be outside the front doors at night due to the number of homeless people all over the place. Again, will not be re-visiting this hotel at any point in the future. I would rather deal with he homeless people versus the rude employees. February 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stylish Hotel I work for another Hotel chain and enjoy staying at the competition every now and then. The Hotel was stylish and fun. A few of the staff members I met were very professional, yet friendly. Sophie was great. Some were not so friendly. I had a do not disturb on my door to take a nap prior to an evening event, and a female associate knocked on my door and asked if she could change the pages in the Hotel Directory. March 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Highly Disappointed in W Hotel San Diego Highly Disappointed in the W San Diego My boyfriend and I stayed at the W Hotel, San Diego over the News-Eve weekend; checked in Friday, 12/30 through 1/1/12. In a nutshell, I was extremely disappointed in this W Hotel!! It did not meet the classy-upscale decor, quality and standard of the Westin properties. I'm very surprised that the hotel chain allows this location to carry the W name brand. My first thought was to give a review of pros and cons, but I don't have any pros. As you can tell, I didn't have a great experience, and will NEVER stay at this W location again. I really hope that the W management reads this post, along with all the other post regarding the lackluster quality of this hotel. I'm a Starwood Gold member and an experienced traveler, so I know quality when I see it; this was not it: I've stayed at other W Hotel properties. That said, this hotel was more on the order of a 2 maybe 3-star hotel. Overall, room decor was subpar and cheap; as others have stated, the rooms look like the designer ran out to inexpensive furntiure outlet, and purchased the furniture and assessories. The room looked like it was decorated for a teenager that included a chalkboard; go figure... The rooms are very small, and there weren't drawers for personal belongings. The room didn't have a coffee maker (to my knowledge, 1 and 2-star motels/hotels have coffee makers), and the ice machines are only located on the even-number floors (of course I was on the odd-number floor - 15th floor). One would think that a 4-star hotel would include free internect access; you guessed it - NOT!! Internet access is a whopping $15.00/day. Wait it gets better, valet parking to stay at this hotel is $36.00/day!!! Bathroom: Whoever came up with the bathroom design should be fired! The bathroom door is a sliding door, that you can see in and out of from the bedroom (if you stand next to the TV); this means you don't have complete privacy; not to mention the unspoken-- you can be heard taking care of "business" while sitting on the toilet!! The shower does not have a shower door, but rather a top/bottom clear glass that is half the length of the shower. So guess what? Water shoots all over the bathroom floor, and the shower floor towel (if you put one on the floor) gets soaked and wet!! The toilet paper holder is afixed to the wall behind the toilet, so you have to become a contortionist and twist you arm behind you to reach it, or twist you body to the side to reach it!! Really??? Customer Service: The concierge also should be fired! He was extremely rude to say the least. I asked him for a couple of recommendations for dinner that Friday evening, and his response was "There are over 200 restaurants around here!!" with an exasperated look! Mind you, I was the only guest at his counter, but he told me he was busy, had other things to do, and I could come back the following morning at 9:00am if I had more questions!!! I was so taken aback, that I smiled at him and said "sure...". Of course I didn't return the follow morning for more abuse. Management, please take heed to the feedback. There is enough consistent feedback about the cons to suggest that serious changes need to be made to bring this hotel up to the expected standard of a true W Hotel experience. January 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Declining The staff of this hotel is responsive and pleasant. Concierge (AJ) gave solid advice on restaurants. The hotel appears to be in decline physically, and financially. Restaurant appears to have "cut back" on availability (hours and offerings). For the price in San Diego, I believe we can do better in future. No conferences in evidence; but no "conference room" available for a client meeting. Staff handled this well by giving access to living room of a suite. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Located within a 3 minute cab ride to the center of the Gaslamp area this hotel is awesome. Beautiful trendy interior, lounge, and rooftop bar make this the perfect hotel. Rooms are comfortable, spotless and are the perfect size. Front desk host checked us in quickly, made dinner reservations for us at a restaurant that was already booked for the evening and then made great suggestions for nearby bars and late night hangouts. Great hotel! Fitness center can use improvement, very limited weights/machines/ etc. March 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nasty hotel The hotel looks very dirty , i had to change rooms my initial room was so nasty that i couldn't stay there . Staff was great . March 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel Love this place people are great and parking is easy March 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just too many issues I stay in W and Starwood brand hotels at least 5 times a year so when my floors were being redone I chose the W here in SD for an 8 day stay. I also recommend properties to traveling co-workers so I figured this was a good way to see the hotel. At this point it has been a comedy of errors. I have no idea if I should laugh or cry. First Issue: I put my roommate on the account from day one and yet I was woken up at 1am twice to confirm I knew him so he could get a new key. Our keys had to be rekeyed/replaced daily. This was finally resolved by day 6. While we got apologies the fact that it happened repeatedly was ridiculous. Issue 2: When I checked in I was not recognized as a gold member, not offered an upgrade nor welcomed at all until I mentioned it. The clerk then said "oh do you want internet as your gold amenity?" I said yes and she then explained how it worked and that it would be removed from my bill. She also did not offer me make a green choice. Imagine my surprise when the internet charge showed up on my bill. At this point I have asked 4 times to have it removed. I was told consistently that accounting, the night auditor and "I" would take care of it. So far 5 days and counting no resolution. Issue 3: Back to make a green choice. I really like this feature and try to take advantage of it whenever I stay with SPG. I asked about it on night 2 and was assured it was added to my account. The points never showed up despite receiving service exactly twice during my entire stay. I think the main issue here is the no one communicates with anyone else. Whoever you talk to claims they will handle a problem or pass it on to the manager or accounting but nothing ever happens. It is almost like the staff just doesn't care. I know this isn't standard at W properties but this was a lot to take on one visit, especially since I was already displaced and just wanted to relax. I was also a little shocked at the cleanliness of the room. There were fruit flies or gnats when we checked in and some spots looked like they had never been vacuumed. The bugs are still here but I have come to peace with them. At least they are consistent. September 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by bueno wonderful whenever wherever staff and friendly service in total March 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Check Your Bill!!! Very recently stayed there for my brothers wedding. Would say service (besides one bartender) was pleasant and food was above average. The problems began after I checked out. WOW!!! Try $2,000 plus charges for three consecutive days on my credit card. Everyday a different $2,000 + charge. Then try calling for assistance. "I will investigate this and get back to you" is something you really want to hear about $7,000 being charged on a $700 stay. When they got to the bottom of it they had charged me three times for the same bar bill because they claimed the Food and Beverage Manager had a verbal agreement with someone else to charge my room. The bill was signed to his room, but apparently you can just tell them to charge someone else. So they charged me three separate times for the same bar bill that was someone else's. Days later was still not resolved. I've stayed at Starwood's from California to Cairo, so I can't say this is typical of them, but it quickly became the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Makes me want to cancel my Westin stay in two weeks. September 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff isn't responsive. Staff wouldn't provide answers to the simplest of requests such as a billing invoice even though there were significant discrepancies. This was after 2 email requests, and 2 verbal conversations. Yes, need immediate assistance-- but my request goes unanswered. March 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by So disappointing Very excited to go to the W. We checked at night and there were cleaning supplies left in the room, there were no towels. Upon requesting towels, we then spent the rest of the night trying to have someone actually bring the towels to us. We were excited to hear the pool was open 24 hours until we saw the pool. pathetic to even call it a pool. more like a large tub. They surround the room with mirrors to look like the pool would be acceptable size. Im upset starwood even lets the W use their name. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wowed! I was upgraded to the WOW Suite! Great property and service is back to where it used to be. I love this place. March 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by First Time and Disappointed I attended a wonderful birthday bass and had to say from other W Hotels this one in SanDiego needs to loose the "W" brand as this hotel did not live up to the expectations of the other W Hotels's at all. 1. Food - terrible for that Price I would have gone to a 5 start restaurant. Quality is below average. 2. Service - Front desk, great . . . asked for towels and they never showed up. Asked again in the morning and and it took 45 minutes. NOT COOL 3. Had a service dog and they never brought the dog bowls or dog bed even after bellman dropped our luggage off he stated he would bring them over. 4. Valet - great price out of control for $35 and if I knew my car would be outside sitting in the sun I would have parked it on the street. NEVER Going back to this hotel it was not classy at all and way too dark. Someone needs to get it together. Not even a block away there is a group of homeless people camping out under a bridge. NOT COOL. Sorry will not return nor will I recommend this hotel to anyone. I would totally strip the W brand from this building. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not warm and fuzzy My husband and I stayed at Hotel W for 2 nights. It has a cold and sterile feeling. Modular and simple decor. The bathroom door is a sliding kind and when closed there are gaps on both sides (awkward and unpleasant). No coffee in the room. The iron padding was too thin and cheap (hard to press business shirts without leaving pattern mark). The parking is $35 per day and I think they use a lot a block away? The private lots are only $15 per day (just across the street practically). The hotel cost is outrageous when compared to other hotels in the area. February 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by I might just never stay at a W again after this experience! I should have known that our stay was doomed when before we even walked into the hotel we saw a sign that said "Labor Dispute- Immigrant Labor Abuse Here" posted out front. Below is a list of the many many issues we had with this hotel: 1. We got to the hotel at 1:00 pm and our room wasn't ready. So we went to the outside bar to eat and drink to wait on the room. By 3:00 pm, the guaranteed time for room availability, we had not heard from the staff about our room. We did not get into our room until after 4:00 pm. We were not offered any compensation for the hotel's failure to have the room ready other than one drink voucher (which we declined). 2. We were forced to eventually change into our swimsuits in the public restrooms so we could at least get a few hours of sun in the very tiny pool they had on the roof (on a different level and away from the bar and lounge chairs). We had a 21 month old with us so you can imagine how difficult that was with him and huge suitcase. 3. When we were checking in, there were several other people complaining....and waiting....and waiting. 4. The hotel lost one of our bags that it had stored for us and did not get back with us regarding its whereabouts until my husband went downstairs to actually wait on the bag. 5. When we did get our room, there was no crib. I asked for a crib when I booked the reservation months prior, once again when we checked in and yet again, when I called to find out why we had not received the crib. We finally received it sometime after 5:00 pm. 6. We called valet to have our car ready and waiting for us. It was never ready and waiting for us. It was like we never even called. 7. Someone actually attempted to open our door at 11:00 pm (thank goodness I had the external door lock on it) without even attempting first to knock. When they couldn't get in, the phone rang and it was room service indicating that we had ordered something and they were attempting to put in in our room. We hadn't ordered anything and had been sleeping for at least an hour. Who just opens the door anyway??? Needless to say, we felt like we were in the twilight zone. It was clear that the staff was not communicating with each other and truly didn't care about the hotel guests. We got absolutely no recognition for our SPG Gold status nor any apology for the issues described above. As soon as we got up, we got out of that hotel. Our experience was so bad that we are considering never staying at another W again, and we've stayed at plenty. My advice to you, do not stay here. You will be highly disappointed. July 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but internet issues annoy Location is good, room was nice. I have major major issues with the internet gouging. $15 dollars on top of room price is ridiculous and insulting. To add insult to injury was the fact that the internet did not work well enough to watch netflix. Yes, I spent $15 for nothing. We didn't utilize the in room wifi after the first night obviously. Felt like a severe rip off to me. I won't be using another hotel that does not include wifi and good functioning wifi at that, W included. September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it but the rooms need some love We love the W hotels! They are always so on top of things and we love the modern vibe. W San Diego is amazing, but the rooms need some updating. If you are use to the unique vibe of W hotels that is kind of missing once you step out of the lobby and into your room. My now fiancé and I become a couple there, engaged there, but I would question getting married there. There has been some updates in the hotel, but the room just wasn't up to the W Hotels standards. October 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nickel and Dime store Nickel and dime fees. I asked about parking they say $35 per day with NO other option. I ask about internet, $15 for internet per day with no way to connect more than one device. When I went to the roof top for public wifi first I was told there was no internet on the roof top then another day was told there was but no one had the passcode. I ordered room service expecting to get charged for food plus a moderate service charge. My final bill was 50% more than the food itself. The desk in front of my Window had a great view. Too bad there were NO outlets anywhere near it. I had to move the entertainment center for power. NEVER AGAIN! April 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Place stayed here several times....great for last minute resv if you need a suite as an upgrade...doesnt have tons of ameneties and the lobby restaurant is not all that great or accomidating but it could be worse... Rooms are nice and spacious....room service is fast and good...locations is definately off the beaten path so if you want to get to the bars and theatres you have a bit of a walk ahead....the lobby is also a club...VERY loud if checking in after 9pm.... so you may have a bit of a problem making yourself heard... oterwise it is a nice place to stay,,, for a W its a falls a bit short but not in a bad way...give it a shot :) November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our trip We really enjoyed staying at the W in San Diego Our son lives in the Gas Light District and so the proximity was terrific Staff was amazing We look forward to coming back..... March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has incredible service On the first day of our stay, the valet discovered that our rental car had a flat tire. He went above and beyond in attempting to help contact the rental company and arrange for another car. I can't say enough about the service not only of the valet but all the staff who were very attentive and friendly. We will definitely return. July 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by W Hotel Rooftop Bar Last night I went to the rooftop bar with two friends. We sat near the outdoor fireplace. The cocktail waitress and her supervisor utterly ignored us for over an hour. She hovered over a nearby group (about 10) people and catered to their every need, but treated us as invisible people. I had to walk to the bar twice to get drinks for our group. I don't know her name but she should be fired. She also ignored another patron who was seated nearby, treating him as an invisible man. On leaving I complained to the bartender (a male), who was kind enough to offer me a drink (I declined). This was horrid service, enough to make me want to never return again to the W rooftop bar. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I will come back... The hotel and staff met my expectations from every aspect. Superior service and attention to individual needs. The Banquet staff was beyond exceptional! I could not believe how accommodating they were to my special dietary needs beyond what are group meals were offering. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel review Lupe in cleaning services was awesome. I'm not sure if she was the supervisor but she acted as one. Everyone on staff, however, were great to work with, very customer focused and worked to correct any issues that occurred. They went above and beyond policy. March 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVELY STAY The W San Diego is a lovely property with all the positive aspects of the W hotels. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, especially Eric (Valet), David (Front Desk), and Robbie (Bell Staff). These three could not have been nicer. They made us feel like truly valued guests. The room was spacious, clean, and had all the amenities. The one thing I would suggest is a spot cleaning and shampooing of the carpet. Not that it was real dirty, but it could use a touch-up. Also, some scuff marks on the lower sections of the furniture could be removed. This is not to say the room was dirty, in fact the opposite held true, it was very clean. The suggestions are for what are minor issues. August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Garfield Campbell - Director of Sales and Marketing Excellent service from the door men to the guest service agents to the mini bar attendants. Breakfast each morning was outstanding - really appealed to my need for gluten free healthy and organic foods. Speed-bag in the FIT (Gym)needs more air and the heavy bag stand needs to be a bit more sturdy - or make the bag softer and heavier (more and filled). February 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by W San Diego I am still after 3 attempts to obtain a guest receipt.. haven't got it. I had diffiuculty getting service and when I did it was slow and problematic. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and attentive staff. Upon arrival I was checked-in by Alyssa who made my stay memorable from the upgrade to the bottle of sparkling juice awaiting me the next day. Very nice touch! I travel a lot on business and I can say the staff stood out with greetings in the lobby to room service. I would stay again! February 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by aloft at W price First off, the W San Diego has had the lobby and bars/restaurant recently renovated. The bartenders and wait staff are awesome! However, the management needs a renovation. More of a commitment to Whatever! than whatever/whenever. Why the attitude? From the front desk manager questioning the veracity of my wife's complaint, to the concierge pointing in a general direction rather than providing one of the maps sitting behind him on his desk, to the non-responsive GM Suzie Y. (left voicemail yesterday#, are proof that the San Diego, CA W's secret seven #promote a positive guest experience) remain secret! August 22, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>