W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 263 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff isn't responsive. Staff wouldn't provide answers to the simplest of requests such as a billing invoice even though there were significant discrepancies. This was after 2 email requests, and 2 verbal conversations. Yes, need immediate assistance-- but my request goes unanswered. March 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great one day trip to San Diego the cleanliness and friendly staff were wonderful. There is a spacious gym and quality cardio machines. The Pool was a jr. pool, very small but served its purpose of lounging in the water. This W has the same quality as other W's I have stayed at but feels and is smaller. August 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Drunken guests I was anxious to send my daughter and her companion on a wonderful weekend in SD before he's deployed to Afghanistan, instead received updates from them on how small the room was and how the young people were all drunk and loud. Obviously won't be staying with you again. May 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by PROBLEM WITH RESERVATIONS My reservation was wrong & it didn't get corrected until I checked out on Monday, 07/29/13. To explain the problem would take a page. The reservation and bill were the only problem, but it was frustrating. It seemed our group had many problems with their reservation. July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel review Lupe in cleaning services was awesome. I'm not sure if she was the supervisor but she acted as one. Everyone on staff, however, were great to work with, very customer focused and worked to correct any issues that occurred. They went above and beyond policy. March 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the W brand I've stayed at the W in Taipei. This is nothing like it! I've got to admit this is an ok hotel for the US. But I cannot relate it to the W brand. June 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by good location except skid row area 1 block away I like the roof top bar but not a room above it as it is too noisy late at night and also hear the trolley. The room was way too small and do not like how the bathroom door is situated.Convenient location.it took too long at checkout. December 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not up to standard I attempted to check in at 4:15 pm. I was told the room would not be available for at least an hour. I had to take a different room then offered. The carpet in the room was dirty . This is my first bad experience with SPQ hotels. July 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Interesting place The staff greeting was pleasant but the hotel staffing is loud with joking in the lobby. Food service in the restaurant is slow and sloppy. Ther roof top bar is especially nice and cocktails while excellent are expensive. November 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Staff, Facility Lacking, Great Overall As a former employee of Starwood and the Hilton Brands I know what makes great service. The staff was awesome, especially David, Sophie, and Natalia at the front desk, James and {tallish lt brown/blonde haired girl with green eyes} of Concierge, and Matt G. and Jarrett in valet/door. I feel like the room could certainly use some sort of creative place to store more clothing. Maybe not having such a long table/desk and making a wall-mounted flat screen would provide room for more storage options instead of having to use the window bench as a suit-case/dresser. My only other real criticism would be to have some sort of multi-function weight/cable stack in the gym. Its an okay facility for what it is, but if the boxing stuff was taken out there would be plenty of room for more equipment to work the back muscles (ie lat pull-down, cable row, etc). Refrigerators w/ freezer would be nice along with free wifi but I totally get why those items are the way they are. As a whole, it was a great property in a great location and the above mentioned staff made the difference in my stay. February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recommended Very nice W in a great location. Awesome lobby if you need to get work done between meetings or simply need to get together with a colleague. Front staff was very attentive. No attitudes here which was quite nice! August 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond my Expectations The service, staff and accommodations were excellent. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The staff was genuinely happy to work and was attentive to all our needs. I would definitely stay at the W again! April 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Maids - loud nights The fridge in the sitting room did not work. We received no maid service while we were there. We left the room at 12:00 noon Saturday. When we returned, about 4:00, to get ready for a fundraiser the room had not been serviced. The maid showed up at our door as we were getting ready and I told her we would be out by 5:30 and she said she would be back then. When we got home at 11:30 pm the room had still not been serviced. Both Friday night and Saturday night when we returned to the hotel for a drink at the bar, the music was intolerably loud. In fact it was so loud Saturday night we could still hear it in the elevator at the 18th floor. Thankfully the Karl Strauss around the corner was much better so we ate and drank both nights there rather then not be able to hear each other in the lobby bar. I also noticed aside from two people sitting as far from the bar as they could get, there was no one else in the bar but employees. Suggest you lose the DJ and go for a more tolerable volume of music. It’s too bad because the rest of the staff was wonderful, helpful and efficient. October 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointed in the pool and no ice machine on our floor W hotels always have a great pool, but the San Diego pool was super small - also there wasn't a ice machine on our floor. The staff was extremely helpfully, nice and respectful price off the room was perfect September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unique features of hotel exceeded my expectations The hotel was designed with it's own unique style, which can't be compared from a regular branch hotel due to its architectures, contermpotrary, and lavish comfort. The acura service was a plus added incentive April 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff! The Hotel is located in the perfect area to walk to almost everything downtown. Shopping and Restaurants are nearby. The staff is very helpful in recommending places for lunch and dinner with easy directions. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, good hotel I chose to stay at the W San Diego, having stayed at other properties in NYC. My reservation was made over the phone through the Starwood Preferred Guest toll-free number. I was very impressed with the agent's ability to book my reservation and answer most of my questions. He was uncertain about some details for the Acura Experience and told me he would have the general manager contact me. Unfortunately, that never happened. As it turned out, the gentleman at the Acura desk in the hotel was super-friendly and went above and beyond to assist me. When I entered my room on the 17th floor, there was a musty odor, which may have been coming from the carpeting since it felt a bit wet underfoot. I was a bit disappointed in the miniature blow dryer provided by the hotel as an "amenity." The view from the room's windows was spectacular! The rooftop lounge/bar was also well appointed and had magnificent views of the sunset. While the lobby lounge was the only spot with free wi-fi, its trendy furniture and layout made using the space quite pleasant. All in all, I would return to this hotel. September 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great Location The Hotel was a great place to stay when visiting San Diego. It is very modern with clean and practical rooms. The hotel staff are some of the most friendly and helpful I have come across at any hotel. August 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific stay! Great stay. The W-San Diego does a great job of recognizing SPG Platinum members - got an incredible upgrade on this one night stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooftop bar was enjoyable. August 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Staff was great. Location next to a fire station woke us up 3 times in 1 night. It takes 5 minutes for the water in the shower to get hot. Not on our revisit list. April 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our trip We really enjoyed staying at the W in San Diego Our son lives in the Gas Light District and so the proximity was terrific Staff was amazing We look forward to coming back..... March 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Depends on what your looking for... I'm a 35 yo mom with three kids~ and I'm all about letting my hair down with my husband. Not a place for kids and looking up the hotel we noticed that~ That's why we picked the W. Loved the roof top bar on floor 2~ not the top floor. The music they played earlier in the day was good. Then they had this "DJ"- Tecno music.... Which I might have been able to ignore but it was SO loud, not enough lemon grass martinis could tame it! I actually really loved the modern look~ The standard room showers have a hole in the glass, with an open door~ which soaks your toilet and floor so order extra towels. They have cool IPod radios in the room, but my iphone G4 was too modern to work. I always love the Westin Beds!! I wanna buy their soft pillows. We had room service for breakfast several mornings~ The one breakfast that is worth the money is their cinnamon almond french toast. Your close to Gaslamp and for a relaxing lunch your close to little Italy~ All in walking distance. Overall nice place, good for a couples get-a-way. If you bring the kids especially over the weekend know its a different environment. September 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful, but no hot water Great location, beautiful hotel and room. The shower did not get hot. The water was lukewarm at best. Little dissappointing for such an expensive room at The W Hotel in San Diego. MJS. January 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice experience at this W This W lacks some of the features I am used to and have come to expect from W hotels. I missed having the option of 24 hour room service. I also wished there was a Bliss spa on site. October 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Carpet Room 1014 was very nice. The carpet had numerous spots and was clearly old and worn out. I would think that the W would change out damaged carpet before it became an eye sore. January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel features the hotel was under renovation during our stay, but was not a big problem. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. May 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by downtown san diego located downtown san diego but is not very convenient to walk. reasonable priced, they had a special going on. would recommend if booking at the special price. January 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THE W I cannot think of anything better than staying at the W! The staff was wonderful, the room perfect, the bed is Heavenly and I just love everything about it! October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by W Delivers Again Never had a bad stay here. Staff excellent, site great May 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nasty hotel The hotel looks very dirty , i had to change rooms my initial room was so nasty that i couldn't stay there . Staff was great . March 27, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>