W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 272 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has incredible service On the first day of our stay, the valet discovered that our rental car had a flat tire. He went above and beyond in attempting to help contact the rental company and arrange for another car. I can't say enough about the service not only of the valet but all the staff who were very attentive and friendly. We will definitely return. July 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by needs improvement Too long of a wait to get things done. Had to ask for a crib 3 times; took one hour to get a crib to the room; room keys did not work initially and had to wait half an hour to get new keys; asked for a connecting room since I had to rooms reserved and was told not avaialable; asked for a ADA equipped room, not available; did not make a didifference to have gold status with SPG; rooms do not even have a coffee machine!!disappointed overall. July 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Almost perfect; very helpful and responsive staffs; excellent facilities; highly recommended July 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel Spent two night. Typical trendy W hotel. Staff were very friendly room was clean. Overall very happy. As a Gold member they did not upgrade my room. Other W hotels have. Ate room service. As expected food was very expensive and average at best, Organic chicken was dry. Nice location to Zoo/Park. June 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by W San Diego The hotel was under construction. The room and pool were very small. The check-in process took 20+ minutes and there was only one person in front of me. I supposed to stay 4 nights and changed to a different hotel after the first night. I was disappointed and will not stay at that property again. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service Everything was great. Just the valet parking guy wasn´t there when i arrrived. Guess you should hire one (or two) more June 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service The W Hotel has always been a favorite of mine until recently when the hotel refused to address my issue regarding incorrect charges made to my account. I was told via phone that someone at the W would contact me to rectify this situation within 48 hours of my initial contact but did not hear anything until I tried again (after the 48 hour period) and even then the representative was not helpful at all. I feel this level of guest rapport is unacceptable for a 4-5 star hotel like the W. June 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I wish I would've known about the construction Only my second time in San Diego. Five nights for work and needed to be close-ish to the Convention Center. Firstly, the rate I was able to secure was fantastic and assuming you can get something this low, book it right away! If the rate is "W-high", then I wouldn't recommend (based on the below). Some Pros: - Staff was nice and helpful. On my second night, a suite became available and they upgraded me, even moved my stuff while I was away. - Nice views from the higher floors, though non of pure ocean/bay. - Once the renovations are done, I'm sure that the public areas this property will be spectacular. The Cons I Experienced: - Major renovation/construction occurring during my stay which I did not know at time of booking. They did the best they could to maintain "business as usual", but it wasn't enough - no lobby to use for business meetings, a 5 ft wide/50ft long hallway to pass through with luggage creating awkward situations. - The gym ("SWEAT"), which brand new, never seemed to be working. One morning, two other guys and I were there, machines wouldn't turn on, we called from our cells phones -- no one came for 25 minutes to address the issue. - Showers are those walk-ins with no door....creating a lovely river in your bathroom every morning...there's no way around it. Unintelligent design. - The interiors of the rooms verge on being kitsch. It's also apparently that they're constantly painting and repainting...which makes it feel quite cheap. To summarize, it's not quite up to the high standards of The W brand, but I'd consider staying again if the rate were low enough. June 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overcharge I booked for a supposedly fabulous king size room with a bay view. I ended up with having neither. The rate was 538 USD + Tax per night !!! That was possibly three times of the actual price. Therefore it was a very bad experience. I have never been overcharged to such a degree. May 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The W was Cool! My compadre, Toot, and I stayed at The W on Weds, 5/16, the last night of an epic 8 day trek through SoCal. The Valet service for my '12 SS Camaro rag top was prompt and enthusiastic., I told the driver he could 'kick it' a little if he wanted. We were welcomed warmly and with good humor at check-in at the makeshift lobby. The Hotel is in the midst of renovations. The whole place is going for a hip laid back SoCal vibe and it works. The room had a few 'trippy' features, such as a kalidescope, a psychedelic paper weighty thing, and a blackboard fully equipped with chalk and erasers. The room had a nicely stocked mini bar and an additional box of goodies and 'personal supplies'. The beds were the most comfortable of our trip, including other hotels and resorts.The room did have a sliding door for the bathroom but you can not see through the glass. The shower was fine and our shower curtain kept the floor dry. Toot had a date, but Old School Gregg and Rosalita accompanied me back to the 2nd floor "Roof Top Bar" after a night of Margaritas in Old Town. The newly renovated bar had a cool, laid back ambiance, with couches lining one wall and other seating areas scattered about in little clusters, some in and around tent like cabanas. They were playing chill out jams and there were cool tower type heaters with flames. G and R both said they'd be coming back. Noise was not a problem, sirens are a part of life in the big city. Breakfast was overpriced, like $16 for essentially a 'continental breakfast'. I had a makeshift egg sandwich thayt cost me about 15 bucks. Check out was a breeze and the courteous staff wished us well and asked us if there was anything they could do for us even after check out. Overall a very good stay 4 1/2 stars! We'll be back next SoCal journey. . May 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory First, the hotel lobby was getting remodeled and they had a make-shift lobby set up. I understand this is temporary though. But the service and room comfort should not have been compromised. The room smelled of smoke or some other stench and I called down to the front desk and they said they would send "style" right up. I waited and waited and no one came. Then on our way out we stopped by the front desk to let me know we were unsatisfied and they said they would send style right up and evaluate the room and take care of the matter or relocate us. When we returned, they said they had taken care of the matter and there was no need to relocate rooms. The room was made-up, but the smell remained. Being late we ended up just dealing with it. The bath room is one of the most poorly designed I've ever seen. There is no door and a wide opening that allows mammoth amounts of water to pour onto the tile in the bathroom. We had to use all our towels to soak up and wring out and mop up all the water. On top of that, the bath room door got stuck when it closed. My girlfriend got stuck in the bathroom 3 times and I had to pry it open. After three times, we conceded to going to the bathroom with the door half open. Completely unsatisfactory. May 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average at best Having read the reviews on the hotel prior to my stay, and combining that with the price, I had expectations of a very nice hotel. I was disappointed with what I found. I was on the 5th floor and I had mulitple police/emergency sirens every night (stayed 3 nights). The rooms are not very quiet. I could hear people talking in adjoining rooms as well. While the lobby is obviously being renovated, the rooms are old. The pool is tiny, and the execise room has just a few machines. Overall it was a very ordinary hotel, that I am not sure is worth the price. May 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW as always It still feels like home at the W. thank you. May 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel features the hotel was under renovation during our stay, but was not a big problem. Staff was very courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. May 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst shower ever Stay here if you don't mind experiencing the worst shower/bathroom design ever and don't mind **inches** of water on the bathroom/entry way carpeted room floor **everytime** you shower. What were they thinking designing their showers? A 7-inch hole in the glass side? A single-option showerhead that soaks the whole room? Water running into the hotel room entryway? I stayed for 4 nights with 5 co-workers on different floors and we ALL complained of the shower design disaster. I told one of the staff and she thanked me and begged me to tell the manager (as I was running to catch a cab to the airport), saying every other guest she's talked to has complained of the same thing! So fix it. You're probably going to have a horrible mold problem and/or a slip and fall lawsuit on your hands very soon. I wouldn't stay here again because it wasn't comfortable to come home to a still sopping wet floor every day after work. (And I feel bad for the housekeeping staff who probably know/have seen the worst of it.) April 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hip W Hotel - Quiet Part of Town I stayed at this hotel in April after attending a business function at another hotel. It's in a quiet part of town (I was there Sat-Mon) but you are close enough to walk to Horton Plaza and some of the restaurants. Upon check in I was given a Cool Corner room which was large and very nice. The hotel was sold out Sat night and the lobby was very busy as it seemed to be one of the "it" places to be. The front desk staff was pleasant enough but didn't talk much. I don't know if this hotel had a club lounge and it was mentioned that my SPG number was on file. April 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst W in the World As a Starwood Platinum member I've stayed at a lot of W's throughout the world. The W San Diego was undoubtedly the worst W I have ever seen anywhere. The furniture is cheap, chipped, broken, stained and old. The carpet in the room was threadbare and had stains all over it (when was the last time the rooms were even steam cleaned?) Simple repair work was done poorly. Walls were repainted in patches so the color of the wall didn't even match. The rooms were filthy. In addition to the carpet stains, there was hair in the sink and dirt on the walls. While the staff was nice enough, I had to go in and ask for a valet attendant to show up every time I wanted to get my car (even when I had called ahead). Never again. February 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Highly Disappointed in W Hotel San Diego Highly Disappointed in the W San Diego My boyfriend and I stayed at the W Hotel, San Diego over the News-Eve weekend; checked in Friday, 12/30 through 1/1/12. In a nutshell, I was extremely disappointed in this W Hotel!! It did not meet the classy-upscale decor, quality and standard of the Westin properties. I'm very surprised that the hotel chain allows this location to carry the W name brand. My first thought was to give a review of pros and cons, but I don't have any pros. As you can tell, I didn't have a great experience, and will NEVER stay at this W location again. I really hope that the W management reads this post, along with all the other post regarding the lackluster quality of this hotel. I'm a Starwood Gold member and an experienced traveler, so I know quality when I see it; this was not it: I've stayed at other W Hotel properties. That said, this hotel was more on the order of a 2 maybe 3-star hotel. Overall, room decor was subpar and cheap; as others have stated, the rooms look like the designer ran out to inexpensive furntiure outlet, and purchased the furniture and assessories. The room looked like it was decorated for a teenager that included a chalkboard; go figure... The rooms are very small, and there weren't drawers for personal belongings. The room didn't have a coffee maker (to my knowledge, 1 and 2-star motels/hotels have coffee makers), and the ice machines are only located on the even-number floors (of course I was on the odd-number floor - 15th floor). One would think that a 4-star hotel would include free internect access; you guessed it - NOT!! Internet access is a whopping $15.00/day. Wait it gets better, valet parking to stay at this hotel is $36.00/day!!! Bathroom: Whoever came up with the bathroom design should be fired! The bathroom door is a sliding door, that you can see in and out of from the bedroom (if you stand next to the TV); this means you don't have complete privacy; not to mention the unspoken-- you can be heard taking care of "business" while sitting on the toilet!! The shower does not have a shower door, but rather a top/bottom clear glass that is half the length of the shower. So guess what? Water shoots all over the bathroom floor, and the shower floor towel (if you put one on the floor) gets soaked and wet!! The toilet paper holder is afixed to the wall behind the toilet, so you have to become a contortionist and twist you arm behind you to reach it, or twist you body to the side to reach it!! Really??? Customer Service: The concierge also should be fired! He was extremely rude to say the least. I asked him for a couple of recommendations for dinner that Friday evening, and his response was "There are over 200 restaurants around here!!" with an exasperated look! Mind you, I was the only guest at his counter, but he told me he was busy, had other things to do, and I could come back the following morning at 9:00am if I had more questions!!! I was so taken aback, that I smiled at him and said "sure...". Of course I didn't return the follow morning for more abuse. Management, please take heed to the feedback. There is enough consistent feedback about the cons to suggest that serious changes need to be made to bring this hotel up to the expected standard of a true W Hotel experience. January 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Perfect Mini Getaway! HAD to get the heck out of OC, so we decided to book a last-minute overnighter @ the San Diego W. The BEST decision of 2011! Room was beautiful and comfy as usual; however, the room service staff EXCEEDED out expectations. My friend was sick - so when my meal was delivered and Katrina discovered he wasn't well, she didn't hesitate to offer him hot tea - gratis as a kind and caring gesture. We'll definitely be back next time we need to escape. January 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly as Expected My experience at the W was exactly as expected. We checked in Mid-Week so the lobby was busy but still comfortable. We were traveling with children and the Window Bed was ideal. The location is convenient to tourist attractions, shopping and apparently business centers as many guests seemed to be business travelers. December 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great as always Great hotel, it was perfect for my wedding anniversary November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by W-San Diego Very kind staff, great food, fun atmosphere with artificial beach. Kind of pricing but the quality backs it up. November 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Place stayed here several times....great for last minute resv if you need a suite as an upgrade...doesnt have tons of ameneties and the lobby restaurant is not all that great or accomidating but it could be worse... Rooms are nice and spacious....room service is fast and good...locations is definately off the beaten path so if you want to get to the bars and theatres you have a bit of a walk ahead....the lobby is also a club...VERY loud if checking in after 9pm.... so you may have a bit of a problem making yourself heard... oterwise it is a nice place to stay,,, for a W its a falls a bit short but not in a bad way...give it a shot :) November 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our older generation loved the hotel and the staff! Just returned from 4 nights at your W. Our reunion group (10 sorority sisters aged 60+) enjoyed everything about your property. From the helpful staff at check-in, Cosette; to the concierge staff, all of the young men; to the Acura gentleman; to Andrew at the restaurant; right down to housekeeping...all were so hospitable and caring. They helped us get the most out of our stay in the city...from info on neighborhoods, shopping, transportation, and, especially, dining. The rooms were comfortable; the restaurant wonderful; and the staff..delightful! Thank you to all for a great hotel experience! November 10, 2011
  • 2015-04-24T18:19:31.579-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_272, tr_272
  • loc_en_US, sid_1433, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10