W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 235 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stay at W San Diego James at the concierge desk and Patrick at the bar were exceptional and certainly drove loyalty. The receptions desk also did an amazing job. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disinterested staff I've stayed in a number of W Hotels around the world and have to say the staff here was the least responsive of any I've seen. I was quite surprised and disappointed. Being SPG was meaningless and I was given a room that was so noisy I had to request a change which I was very grudgingly given. The halls and rooms were tired and definitely in need of some TLC. The facilities and bar in the lobby were great. There is also a major construction site next door which is problematic after 7 am on weekdays. In sum, the staff could take some friendly lessons and at least pretend to be attentive (Surprising as San Diego is such a friendly place.). June 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Trip The Welcome Desk was efficient and friendly, bed very comfortable, room in excellent condition. Loved the "rain" shower, and great water pressure. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Its a MUST to experience a stay at the W!! Amazing stay. Staff was great, accommodating and the Insider was an extraordinary help!!! Loved the experience of staying at the W, its definitely a must if you haven't. Room was one of a kind, comfy and luxurious all at the same time. Overall loved my stay at the W! June 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Highly Disappointed in W Hotel San Diego Highly Disappointed in the W San Diego My boyfriend and I stayed at the W Hotel, San Diego over the News-Eve weekend; checked in Friday, 12/30 through 1/1/12. In a nutshell, I was extremely disappointed in this W Hotel!! It did not meet the classy-upscale decor, quality and standard of the Westin properties. I'm very surprised that the hotel chain allows this location to carry the W name brand. My first thought was to give a review of pros and cons, but I don't have any pros. As you can tell, I didn't have a great experience, and will NEVER stay at this W location again. I really hope that the W management reads this post, along with all the other post regarding the lackluster quality of this hotel. I'm a Starwood Gold member and an experienced traveler, so I know quality when I see it; this was not it: I've stayed at other W Hotel properties. That said, this hotel was more on the order of a 2 maybe 3-star hotel. Overall, room decor was subpar and cheap; as others have stated, the rooms look like the designer ran out to inexpensive furntiure outlet, and purchased the furniture and assessories. The room looked like it was decorated for a teenager that included a chalkboard; go figure... The rooms are very small, and there weren't drawers for personal belongings. The room didn't have a coffee maker (to my knowledge, 1 and 2-star motels/hotels have coffee makers), and the ice machines are only located on the even-number floors (of course I was on the odd-number floor - 15th floor). One would think that a 4-star hotel would include free internect access; you guessed it - NOT!! Internet access is a whopping $15.00/day. Wait it gets better, valet parking to stay at this hotel is $36.00/day!!! Bathroom: Whoever came up with the bathroom design should be fired! The bathroom door is a sliding door, that you can see in and out of from the bedroom (if you stand next to the TV); this means you don't have complete privacy; not to mention the unspoken-- you can be heard taking care of "business" while sitting on the toilet!! The shower does not have a shower door, but rather a top/bottom clear glass that is half the length of the shower. So guess what? Water shoots all over the bathroom floor, and the shower floor towel (if you put one on the floor) gets soaked and wet!! The toilet paper holder is afixed to the wall behind the toilet, so you have to become a contortionist and twist you arm behind you to reach it, or twist you body to the side to reach it!! Really??? Customer Service: The concierge also should be fired! He was extremely rude to say the least. I asked him for a couple of recommendations for dinner that Friday evening, and his response was "There are over 200 restaurants around here!!" with an exasperated look! Mind you, I was the only guest at his counter, but he told me he was busy, had other things to do, and I could come back the following morning at 9:00am if I had more questions!!! I was so taken aback, that I smiled at him and said "sure...". Of course I didn't return the follow morning for more abuse. Management, please take heed to the feedback. There is enough consistent feedback about the cons to suggest that serious changes need to be made to bring this hotel up to the expected standard of a true W Hotel experience. January 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Careless, Sloppy and NOT up to SPG Standards - I booked two rooms under my name thru your website. I called on the day of arrival to change the name of one room under my co-worker's. After 3 or 4 complicated security questions, I was told that the name was updated and ready to check in in the case that my co-worker arrives before I do. - I ended up arriving early and when I asked to check in the 2nd reservation, the reception desk informed me that there was no 2nd room under neither mine or his name. After some confusion and research, she informed me that instead of changing the name on the reservation, the manager that had taken my call had cancelled that room. I asked why it was cancelled and if the manager that cancelled it was still there, and she informed me that he has left for the day. After a few adjustments, I was assured by front desk that the room has been checked in, and under my co-worker's name. - An hour later, while I was at a meeting, I got a call from my co-worker that they would not let him check in because the room is still under MY name. I asked him to look for Megan, and he told me that they said she has also left for the day. After a few back-and-forth with the front desk, they finally allowed him to check in. I have never had a more complicated check-in procedure and experience than this. - After the whole check-in fiasco, I put my breakfast card on my door at 10pm and went to bed for an early call-time. Needless to say, my breakfast did not arrive in time. I thought it was just being a bit delayed, so after 15-minutes curtesy wait I called down to Room Service. They directed me to front of my door to tell them that my breakfast card was NOT picked up last night. I asked why would you ask your guests to leave that at the door when you don't even bother to pick it up, and they informed me that the night staff that was responsible for it obviously didn't do it, and that they had left for the day... July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful experience!! The W San Diego is a true gem. As all other W hotels, the decor is very nice and modern, the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, amenities great. What made this W hotel stand out was the staff. I was spending the weekend here with with my girlfriend for her birthday. Alfonso caught wind of it, and suffice it to say, he made sure we had an wonderful experience. I will definitely be back. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Distinctive Hotel Overall, we really like staying at the W in San Diego. We like the proximity to Little Italy, and the rooms are always clean & comfortable. However, the W could make us even happier by including WiFi in the price. Build it in, if you must, but it's annoying to have to pay for it when lesser hotels offer it "free". Also, their parking rates seem quite high. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Enjoyed our stay This is our 2nd time at this hotel and had a good experience both times. We like the location and amenities of this hotel. The rooms are a bit small and unfortunately the hotel was booked so our SPG upgrade didn't happen. They did offer a coupon for discounted food which helps. We love the rooftop bar after lounging at the pool! Concierge wasn't as helpful this time around but we made do. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one issue I was charged for an item in the room that I did not take. I called and was questioned by the adviser on phone but once I reassured them I did not drink the alcoholic beverage I was refunded. July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to W Standards So I always stay at either a W or Westin hotel when I travel. I kind of expect W's to be at the same level considering the rates they run. This W just wasnt up to par. The rooms seemed a little rundown and just not as new feeling as most other W hotels. The location is also in the middle of no where. I wont be staying here again when I travel to San Diego. Ill choose another Starwood property. June 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just too many issues I stay in W and Starwood brand hotels at least 5 times a year so when my floors were being redone I chose the W here in SD for an 8 day stay. I also recommend properties to traveling co-workers so I figured this was a good way to see the hotel. At this point it has been a comedy of errors. I have no idea if I should laugh or cry. First Issue: I put my roommate on the account from day one and yet I was woken up at 1am twice to confirm I knew him so he could get a new key. Our keys had to be rekeyed/replaced daily. This was finally resolved by day 6. While we got apologies the fact that it happened repeatedly was ridiculous. Issue 2: When I checked in I was not recognized as a gold member, not offered an upgrade nor welcomed at all until I mentioned it. The clerk then said "oh do you want internet as your gold amenity?" I said yes and she then explained how it worked and that it would be removed from my bill. She also did not offer me make a green choice. Imagine my surprise when the internet charge showed up on my bill. At this point I have asked 4 times to have it removed. I was told consistently that accounting, the night auditor and "I" would take care of it. So far 5 days and counting no resolution. Issue 3: Back to make a green choice. I really like this feature and try to take advantage of it whenever I stay with SPG. I asked about it on night 2 and was assured it was added to my account. The points never showed up despite receiving service exactly twice during my entire stay. I think the main issue here is the no one communicates with anyone else. Whoever you talk to claims they will handle a problem or pass it on to the manager or accounting but nothing ever happens. It is almost like the staff just doesn't care. I know this isn't standard at W properties but this was a lot to take on one visit, especially since I was already displaced and just wanted to relax. I was also a little shocked at the cleanliness of the room. There were fruit flies or gnats when we checked in and some spots looked like they had never been vacuumed. The bugs are still here but I have come to peace with them. At least they are consistent. September 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My Stay at W Hotel The service at the hotel is great. Key issue is that the walls are to thin and you can hear everything that is happening in the room next door. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Check Your Bill!!! Very recently stayed there for my brothers wedding. Would say service (besides one bartender) was pleasant and food was above average. The problems began after I checked out. WOW!!! Try $2,000 plus charges for three consecutive days on my credit card. Everyday a different $2,000 + charge. Then try calling for assistance. "I will investigate this and get back to you" is something you really want to hear about $7,000 being charged on a $700 stay. When they got to the bottom of it they had charged me three times for the same bar bill because they claimed the Food and Beverage Manager had a verbal agreement with someone else to charge my room. The bill was signed to his room, but apparently you can just tell them to charge someone else. So they charged me three separate times for the same bar bill that was someone else's. Days later was still not resolved. I've stayed at Starwood's from California to Cairo, so I can't say this is typical of them, but it quickly became the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Makes me want to cancel my Westin stay in two weeks. September 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A little disappointed Have been to other W hotels and was disappointed with this one by comparison Pool was too small and cold; ice maker on floor didn't work; dresser appeared to be missing glass front; had no floor mat or towel to put in front of the shower; one of the phones in the room was broken. Good location for Gaslamp. Bed was very comfy and front desk staff was very friendly. Disappointed with restaurant, but since there are so many other restaurants close it was okay. Rooftop lounge and living room were very nice June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by So disappointing Very excited to go to the W. We checked at night and there were cleaning supplies left in the room, there were no towels. Upon requesting towels, we then spent the rest of the night trying to have someone actually bring the towels to us. We were excited to hear the pool was open 24 hours until we saw the pool. pathetic to even call it a pool. more like a large tub. They surround the room with mirrors to look like the pool would be acceptable size. Im upset starwood even lets the W use their name. September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely recommend We've never stayed at a boutique hotel and were pleasantly surprised at how special the hotel and the staff made every experience. From the standard hotel expectations to the little details that make it stand out, we were very pleased with our experience and will not only recommend it, but will return. Friends are already asking us where we stayed so they can experience what we did also. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Not a Great Location, Unfriendly Staff I am a SPG Platinum for Life member and have been staying at Starwood properties every week for the past 13+ years. Although I very much like the W brand, this hotel did not leave an impression and I will not be visiting the W San Diego in the future. The front desk and concierge staff were downright rude. I can give several specific examples of this but let's just say that even my guest asked if I had any status with this brand due to the treatment received. The hotel is also very loud and is very unsafe to be outside the front doors at night due to the number of homeless people all over the place. Again, will not be re-visiting this hotel at any point in the future. I would rather deal with he homeless people versus the rude employees. February 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by First Time and Disappointed I attended a wonderful birthday bass and had to say from other W Hotels this one in SanDiego needs to loose the "W" brand as this hotel did not live up to the expectations of the other W Hotels's at all. 1. Food - terrible for that Price I would have gone to a 5 start restaurant. Quality is below average. 2. Service - Front desk, great . . . asked for towels and they never showed up. Asked again in the morning and and it took 45 minutes. NOT COOL 3. Had a service dog and they never brought the dog bowls or dog bed even after bellman dropped our luggage off he stated he would bring them over. 4. Valet - great price out of control for $35 and if I knew my car would be outside sitting in the sun I would have parked it on the street. NEVER Going back to this hotel it was not classy at all and way too dark. Someone needs to get it together. Not even a block away there is a group of homeless people camping out under a bridge. NOT COOL. Sorry will not return nor will I recommend this hotel to anyone. I would totally strip the W brand from this building. June 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not warm and fuzzy My husband and I stayed at Hotel W for 2 nights. It has a cold and sterile feeling. Modular and simple decor. The bathroom door is a sliding kind and when closed there are gaps on both sides (awkward and unpleasant). No coffee in the room. The iron padding was too thin and cheap (hard to press business shirts without leaving pattern mark). The parking is $35 per day and I think they use a lot a block away? The private lots are only $15 per day (just across the street practically). The hotel cost is outrageous when compared to other hotels in the area. February 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay ever at a 4 star hotel The previous reviews are correct in stating this hotel has walls that are paper thin (a warning I should have listened to before booking a room here!). You can hear every single word your neighbors are saying even when they're speaking at a normal conversational volume. During the middle of the night we were woken up by our next door neighbors, who were obviously drunk, yelling and cursing profusely. I honestly don't think I've ever heard so many curse words said in such a short amount of time. We had to call the front desk who sent security, and the neighbors became quieter, but we could still hear them cursing and speaking for a good amount of time after that. Another incident that occurred was when we were in an elevator going back up to our room, and we were stuck in the elevator with a large group of college age kids, who were also obviously drunk. There was also a hotel employee on the elevator with us. The kids were yelling and cursing pretty much nonstop, and the hotel employee felt compelled to apologize to us for the negative experience after the kids got off the elevator. I understand the W trying to have a "party" atmosphere, but there's a huge difference between keeping it classy and letting it degenerate into a frat house environment. If I wanted to hear so much profanity from other guests, I could have booked a room in a seedy motel instead of paying a lot of money to stay here at what's supposed to be a 4 star hotel. Also, the carpets in the room are once again what you'd expect in a motel, very old and stained. I didn't want to walk around my room without my shoes! I've stayed at a lot of 4 star and 5 star hotels in my life, and I can honestly say this is the worst experience I've ever had. I'm sure I'll get some generic apology from the manager for this review, although it would be better if they were actually proactive and tried to fix these problems instead of just having to constantly apologize to guests and react to these negative situations. But hopefully my review can warn others not to book a hotel at this room. If I'd listened to other people's reviews in the first place, I wouldn't have ended up in this situation. Also, just like other reviewers said, the area around the hotel can get sketchy at night and I definitely wouldn't feel comfortable walking around. Once you reach the Gaslamp Quarter, it feels okay because there's so many people, but the actual area around the hotel is definitely questionable. The only good thing I can say is about the valet service, although from what I understand, they're a separate company from the W. They're expensive, but their service is very professional and courteous. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT up to W Standard I would like to follow up regarding my recent stay this past weekend at the W San Diego. My family and I are gold level SPG members and I have never been more disappointed with a hotel's customer service and false advertisement. Let me start by saying that our first night was pleasant. My boyfriend and I checked in around 4/4:30 on Friday, grabbed a bite and drink at the Rooftop Happy Hour and then headed to Petco Park for the game. On our way to Rooftop we noticed the minuscule pool...correct me if I'm wrong but it didn't look possible to be "the hottest pool in San Diego" as your website describes. We decided to check it out Saturday and give it another chance. Saturday morning, we had some friends join us from LA (boyfriend and I are from Orange County) and we were SO excited to spend Saturday by the "hottest pool in San Diego" with a drink in our hand and relaxing. We were a bit surprised to see the pool very mellow and also the bar closed for a private lunch. We went down to the concierge desk and Kevin assisted us. He informed us that "no, the event was in fact not private and we were welcome to go up there" well we checked one more time and not only was there a sign indicating that it was a "Private Lunch" there were additional tables with cloths and small center pieces set...clearly not regular seating...on top of that everyone there was wearing a name tag. Clearly, this was a private event. Frustrated, we asked if Kevin's manager would be willing to comp our entry into the Hard Rock pool since that was the reason for our stay. He tried to find his manager and it was taking quite some time so he gave us complimentary drink tickets for the bar while we waited for his manager. While having our drink at the lobby bar (we were there for 45 minutes) Kevin, nor any manger came over to talk to us. I thought it was extremely rude to have not followed up with us. Even if they were unable to grant our requested comp'd tickets, the manager should have come by to personally apologize for the inconvenience. The irony is that the drinks at the bar were more expensive then entry to the Hard Rock. After our drink, we went to the check in desk to again express our frustration...they assured us they would sent something up to both our rooms (1608 and 1222). We later found out that they did try to deliver something to 1222 but they had left their "Do Not Disturb" sign up. Our room, 1608 did not have that sign up and nothing was delivered. The next day, I called down to the concierge desk and it was Kevin again who answered. I asked if there was a gift shop as I needed some feminine products. He informed me they had some at the desk and he would send them right up. An hour and a half later...still nothing. I had to ask one of the house keepers for one and she politely had one for me less than 5 minutes later. All in all, the hotel is beautiful, very trendy and cool (and your sweet potato pancakes are in incredible) but the customer service I experienced was simply not up to par from other W's that's I've stayed at. We were thoroughly disappointed with the customer service and the misleading description of your hotel's pool. "Our downtown San Diego hotel pool is the hottest place to mix and mingle or simply soak up the San Diego sun. Discover the Veranda, an indoor/outdoor space that will provide you that well-deserved respite from the sun at WET (outdoor heated pool)." I was truly disappointed that these items were handled the way we were. I really expected more, it's as simple as just following through to what you say you're going to do. As the GM I'd hope these issues would be addressed with the appropriate parties. After reading Yelp reviews last night, this seems to be a common issue regarding customer service. Thank you very much for your time. June 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I might just never stay at a W again after this experience! I should have known that our stay was doomed when before we even walked into the hotel we saw a sign that said "Labor Dispute- Immigrant Labor Abuse Here" posted out front. Below is a list of the many many issues we had with this hotel: 1. We got to the hotel at 1:00 pm and our room wasn't ready. So we went to the outside bar to eat and drink to wait on the room. By 3:00 pm, the guaranteed time for room availability, we had not heard from the staff about our room. We did not get into our room until after 4:00 pm. We were not offered any compensation for the hotel's failure to have the room ready other than one drink voucher (which we declined). 2. We were forced to eventually change into our swimsuits in the public restrooms so we could at least get a few hours of sun in the very tiny pool they had on the roof (on a different level and away from the bar and lounge chairs). We had a 21 month old with us so you can imagine how difficult that was with him and huge suitcase. 3. When we were checking in, there were several other people complaining....and waiting....and waiting. 4. The hotel lost one of our bags that it had stored for us and did not get back with us regarding its whereabouts until my husband went downstairs to actually wait on the bag. 5. When we did get our room, there was no crib. I asked for a crib when I booked the reservation months prior, once again when we checked in and yet again, when I called to find out why we had not received the crib. We finally received it sometime after 5:00 pm. 6. We called valet to have our car ready and waiting for us. It was never ready and waiting for us. It was like we never even called. 7. Someone actually attempted to open our door at 11:00 pm (thank goodness I had the external door lock on it) without even attempting first to knock. When they couldn't get in, the phone rang and it was room service indicating that we had ordered something and they were attempting to put in in our room. We hadn't ordered anything and had been sleeping for at least an hour. Who just opens the door anyway??? Needless to say, we felt like we were in the twilight zone. It was clear that the staff was not communicating with each other and truly didn't care about the hotel guests. We got absolutely no recognition for our SPG Gold status nor any apology for the issues described above. As soon as we got up, we got out of that hotel. Our experience was so bad that we are considering never staying at another W again, and we've stayed at plenty. My advice to you, do not stay here. You will be highly disappointed. July 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but internet issues annoy Location is good, room was nice. I have major major issues with the internet gouging. $15 dollars on top of room price is ridiculous and insulting. To add insult to injury was the fact that the internet did not work well enough to watch netflix. Yes, I spent $15 for nothing. We didn't utilize the in room wifi after the first night obviously. Felt like a severe rip off to me. I won't be using another hotel that does not include wifi and good functioning wifi at that, W included. September 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nickel and Dime store Nickel and dime fees. I asked about parking they say $35 per day with NO other option. I ask about internet, $15 for internet per day with no way to connect more than one device. When I went to the roof top for public wifi first I was told there was no internet on the roof top then another day was told there was but no one had the passcode. I ordered room service expecting to get charged for food plus a moderate service charge. My final bill was 50% more than the food itself. The desk in front of my Window had a great view. Too bad there were NO outlets anywhere near it. I had to move the entertainment center for power. NEVER AGAIN! April 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it but the rooms need some love We love the W hotels! They are always so on top of things and we love the modern vibe. W San Diego is amazing, but the rooms need some updating. If you are use to the unique vibe of W hotels that is kind of missing once you step out of the lobby and into your room. My now fiancé and I become a couple there, engaged there, but I would question getting married there. There has been some updates in the hotel, but the room just wasn't up to the W Hotels standards. October 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Place stayed here several times....great for last minute resv if you need a suite as an upgrade...doesnt have tons of ameneties and the lobby restaurant is not all that great or accomidating but it could be worse... Rooms are nice and spacious....room service is fast and good...locations is definately off the beaten path so if you want to get to the bars and theatres you have a bit of a walk ahead....the lobby is also a club...VERY loud if checking in after 9pm.... so you may have a bit of a problem making yourself heard... oterwise it is a nice place to stay,,, for a W its a falls a bit short but not in a bad way...give it a shot :) November 17, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by The room had a lot of problems Thought Ian Irving was extraordinarily helpful in the reservation and all the way through, professional and great in all our communications with him, the room facilities had a lot of problems. The toilet was broken and I had to reattach the handle which broke again and when I tried to call down to the lobby none of the phones worked. Really poor showing for what is billed as a top flight hotel. Next time I would consider another brand. June 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has incredible service On the first day of our stay, the valet discovered that our rental car had a flat tire. He went above and beyond in attempting to help contact the rental company and arrange for another car. I can't say enough about the service not only of the valet but all the staff who were very attentive and friendly. We will definitely return. July 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expectations Exceeded I was at the W San Diego over Memorial Day Weekend celebrating my birthday. I was recognized as a Platinum member and got upgraded to Spectacular Room on a high floor. Additionally later in the day I was stunned to find that the front desk had sent a bottle of champagne with a happy birthday card. Thanks so much to Alyssa at the front desk for making it a memorable birthday. Everything about the stay was great. Good food, good drinks at the W Living Room, and even the front door staff were very helpful. My expectations were definitely far exceeded on this trip staying at the W. May 29, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>