W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 263 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great as always Great hotel, it was perfect for my wedding anniversary November 30, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by great service very helpful staff, good facilities, nice toiletries. August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the hotel remodel is refreshing!!! love the new look and feel of the hotel. February 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location but service needs some improvements Hotel is very clean and upscale. Great location to all the tourist attractions. As a long time SPG member (a frequent traveler in the past), I do expect a little more from W Hotel: a) I asked for a late checkout on a Saturday (and I have 2 rooms). The service desk staff offered 12:30pm for the 1st room and 1pm for the 2nd room. How stupid can this be when I am traveling with my family. Am I supposed to send my kids home by themselves first. I declined the offer and checkout right away. b) Asked for direction for get some Asian food dinner. The service desk staff said someone from the Concierge would be more than happy to give me direction. Actually, she mentioned the concierge would have the information ready when I settled in. Went to the Concierge desk at 7:30 on a Friday night and no one was there. Waited for 20 min and no one showed up. Decided to eat at the hotel restaurant at the end. Other considerations and potential improvements: 1) Need to check the cleanliness of the hotel restaurant dinner room. I was seating by the window inside (not outside) and there were small mosquitoes or bugs flying around my red wine and food. Happened both at dinner and breakfast. 2) Hotel room is quite noisy at night. You can hear all the traffic and people screaming (is there a night club in the building) till 2-3am in the morning. August 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by mixed review On the good side, the room I had on the 15th floor was quiet for downtown San Diego and I could leave my windows open at night (and If I want I could have the air conditioning on. The staff was very nice although they would write down requests that wouldn't occur. The food was excellent although a little expensive. The room had a lot of little things wrong with it like the tv and the phone and some electircal outlets. there was only one middle light for two beds. The beds were comfortable and the sheets clean and without chemical smell. The down pillows were great! But at first I had polyester (by accident) one that had sweat stains on it.. an oversight I'm sure but gross. The manager kindly sent us some deserts and smart water, which we appreciated. The deserts were fabulous. My main complants are that the location is not that great although once you know your way around it is okay. The music was very loud at night..ear damaging loud and although they lowered it for me at breakfast and early dinner. We could not go to roof or to lobby for drinks.. W\ Also we were charged for little things although they removed charges when asked. Coffee and tea in the morning were quite good. All in all, if money isn't a big concern and you don't have to be at the convention center all day, its a nice hotel. I would probably stay there again in other circumstances than a convention center event.. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I had heard that the W hotels were quite special. Being an intrepid traveler, I decided to try the W San Diego. Unfortunately, I was quite disappointed in my stay. To begin, there was an earwig in the room, which remained there despite my calling twice to have it removed (cleanliness leaves something to be desired). The restaurant is tiny, with a very limited menu. Do not expect gourmet food. The room was categorized as wonderful. It was not. The bed was so close to the desk that the chair practically touched. There was only one accessible electric plug outlet. There were no other chairs in the room. There was a sound like wind whipping through the room all night long. There is some kind of large bench on the windowsill, but it was very uncomfortable and did not extend all the way to the end, so there was no back support. It looked like an afterthought. I saw no operational clock in the room. While the hotel has little control over this issue, the surrounding area is not pedestrian friendly, being populated with street people and undesireables. Walking is a rather precarious proposition. The concierge was not fully aware of dining opportunities and did not provide more than two suggestions, when there are actually hundreds of restaurants in the area. I was able to have the valet bring the car rather quickly. However, on a night when it rained, the car was drenched. For the fees paid, it should be in a garage. December 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay ever at a 4 star hotel The previous reviews are correct in stating this hotel has walls that are paper thin (a warning I should have listened to before booking a room here!). You can hear every single word your neighbors are saying even when they're speaking at a normal conversational volume. During the middle of the night we were woken up by our next door neighbors, who were obviously drunk, yelling and cursing profusely. I honestly don't think I've ever heard so many curse words said in such a short amount of time. We had to call the front desk who sent security, and the neighbors became quieter, but we could still hear them cursing and speaking for a good amount of time after that. Another incident that occurred was when we were in an elevator going back up to our room, and we were stuck in the elevator with a large group of college age kids, who were also obviously drunk. There was also a hotel employee on the elevator with us. The kids were yelling and cursing pretty much nonstop, and the hotel employee felt compelled to apologize to us for the negative experience after the kids got off the elevator. I understand the W trying to have a "party" atmosphere, but there's a huge difference between keeping it classy and letting it degenerate into a frat house environment. If I wanted to hear so much profanity from other guests, I could have booked a room in a seedy motel instead of paying a lot of money to stay here at what's supposed to be a 4 star hotel. Also, the carpets in the room are once again what you'd expect in a motel, very old and stained. I didn't want to walk around my room without my shoes! I've stayed at a lot of 4 star and 5 star hotels in my life, and I can honestly say this is the worst experience I've ever had. I'm sure I'll get some generic apology from the manager for this review, although it would be better if they were actually proactive and tried to fix these problems instead of just having to constantly apologize to guests and react to these negative situations. But hopefully my review can warn others not to book a hotel at this room. If I'd listened to other people's reviews in the first place, I wouldn't have ended up in this situation. Also, just like other reviewers said, the area around the hotel can get sketchy at night and I definitely wouldn't feel comfortable walking around. Once you reach the Gaslamp Quarter, it feels okay because there's so many people, but the actual area around the hotel is definitely questionable. The only good thing I can say is about the valet service, although from what I understand, they're a separate company from the W. They're expensive, but their service is very professional and courteous. June 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amateur Hour Given that the W Brand is all about service, you'd think people would have some idea what they were doing. I had a somewhat complicated travel arrangement -- I booked for a conference and needed to add an extra day on the front which I did online. I called the hotel in advance to make sure that this would not be a problem (ie: we wouldn't be switched from one room to another or have to check out and check back in). They told me it would be fine. Arrived at the desk and they only had me listed for a one night stay -- reception found the other reservation and told me everything was okay. Couldn't find the SPG Green option card, called down about not needing new towels the next morning. They thought we were checking out that day but said that they'd fix it. Had to do some work in the Hotel room that morning - and got continually visited by housekeeping, asked when we were checking out, and called twice by the desk. Each time they said "Oops, you're right -let me fix that". Eventually around 1pm a manager showed up -- asking us when we were leaving -- went through the same thing again exasperated. I should have spent the morning working, but instead I spent it convincing the W that I was not supposed to be checking out. Does the staff communicate to each other or pay attention to what you tell them or just care about turning over rooms even if they are the wrong ones? Still never got an apology or anything else for my trouble! Apparently being totally disorganized and bothering guests is just the way they do things here. January 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I wish I would've known about the construction Only my second time in San Diego. Five nights for work and needed to be close-ish to the Convention Center. Firstly, the rate I was able to secure was fantastic and assuming you can get something this low, book it right away! If the rate is "W-high", then I wouldn't recommend (based on the below). Some Pros: - Staff was nice and helpful. On my second night, a suite became available and they upgraded me, even moved my stuff while I was away. - Nice views from the higher floors, though non of pure ocean/bay. - Once the renovations are done, I'm sure that the public areas this property will be spectacular. The Cons I Experienced: - Major renovation/construction occurring during my stay which I did not know at time of booking. They did the best they could to maintain "business as usual", but it wasn't enough - no lobby to use for business meetings, a 5 ft wide/50ft long hallway to pass through with luggage creating awkward situations. - The gym ("SWEAT"), which brand new, never seemed to be working. One morning, two other guys and I were there, machines wouldn't turn on, we called from our cells phones -- no one came for 25 minutes to address the issue. - Showers are those walk-ins with no door....creating a lovely river in your bathroom every morning...there's no way around it. Unintelligent design. - The interiors of the rooms verge on being kitsch. It's also apparently that they're constantly painting and repainting...which makes it feel quite cheap. To summarize, it's not quite up to the high standards of The W brand, but I'd consider staying again if the rate were low enough. June 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT up to W Standard I would like to follow up regarding my recent stay this past weekend at the W San Diego. My family and I are gold level SPG members and I have never been more disappointed with a hotel's customer service and false advertisement. Let me start by saying that our first night was pleasant. My boyfriend and I checked in around 4/4:30 on Friday, grabbed a bite and drink at the Rooftop Happy Hour and then headed to Petco Park for the game. On our way to Rooftop we noticed the minuscule pool...correct me if I'm wrong but it didn't look possible to be "the hottest pool in San Diego" as your website describes. We decided to check it out Saturday and give it another chance. Saturday morning, we had some friends join us from LA (boyfriend and I are from Orange County) and we were SO excited to spend Saturday by the "hottest pool in San Diego" with a drink in our hand and relaxing. We were a bit surprised to see the pool very mellow and also the bar closed for a private lunch. We went down to the concierge desk and Kevin assisted us. He informed us that "no, the event was in fact not private and we were welcome to go up there" well we checked one more time and not only was there a sign indicating that it was a "Private Lunch" there were additional tables with cloths and small center pieces set...clearly not regular seating...on top of that everyone there was wearing a name tag. Clearly, this was a private event. Frustrated, we asked if Kevin's manager would be willing to comp our entry into the Hard Rock pool since that was the reason for our stay. He tried to find his manager and it was taking quite some time so he gave us complimentary drink tickets for the bar while we waited for his manager. While having our drink at the lobby bar (we were there for 45 minutes) Kevin, nor any manger came over to talk to us. I thought it was extremely rude to have not followed up with us. Even if they were unable to grant our requested comp'd tickets, the manager should have come by to personally apologize for the inconvenience. The irony is that the drinks at the bar were more expensive then entry to the Hard Rock. After our drink, we went to the check in desk to again express our frustration...they assured us they would sent something up to both our rooms (1608 and 1222). We later found out that they did try to deliver something to 1222 but they had left their "Do Not Disturb" sign up. Our room, 1608 did not have that sign up and nothing was delivered. The next day, I called down to the concierge desk and it was Kevin again who answered. I asked if there was a gift shop as I needed some feminine products. He informed me they had some at the desk and he would send them right up. An hour and a half later...still nothing. I had to ask one of the house keepers for one and she politely had one for me less than 5 minutes later. All in all, the hotel is beautiful, very trendy and cool (and your sweet potato pancakes are in incredible) but the customer service I experienced was simply not up to par from other W's that's I've stayed at. We were thoroughly disappointed with the customer service and the misleading description of your hotel's pool. "Our downtown San Diego hotel pool is the hottest place to mix and mingle or simply soak up the San Diego sun. Discover the Veranda, an indoor/outdoor space that will provide you that well-deserved respite from the sun at WET (outdoor heated pool)." I was truly disappointed that these items were handled the way we were. I really expected more, it's as simple as just following through to what you say you're going to do. As the GM I'd hope these issues would be addressed with the appropriate parties. After reading Yelp reviews last night, this seems to be a common issue regarding customer service. Thank you very much for your time. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice and Quiet I booked this W hotel because there was a special promotion of book 2 nights, stay 3, so it came out to be about $124 a night... not bad for a W stay. Usual check in process and went to the room and the rooms are a bit small (had a king bed). Nice chalkboard to write messages to the housekeeping staff (they actually wrote a Thank You message back). Had an issue with the drainage in the shower/tub. The maintenance man came right away and unclogged the drain. Calling down to have more shampoo and bath products brought up was really quick. Finding the gym was a little hard. Going to the pool on the 2nd floor and seeing the pool, you would think that the closed door there would lead to the gym, but it doesn't. I had to go don and ask the desk how to get the gym. I was surprised at how often the gym is used. I worked out there 2 mornings and it was occupied with about 3 guests each time. Free coffee service in the Living Room until 10am is a nice touch along with the snacks of rice krispie treats. yummy! The rooftop lounge is a little misleading. Yes, it is on a rooftop, but it's not on the top floor, it's on the 2nd floor. It's a cool space, but not really great for seeing the city view as I expected. The staff was helpful however when I asked the concierge for directions to the post office, he didn't give me the closest location, so I walked about 30 min to the one he said. Parking option is only Valet, which is nice because you can call down to have your car ready and they are quick to have it for you. A nice stay overall. It's close to little Italy and I walked to the Gaslamp areas each night, about 15 min. December 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The W was Cool! My compadre, Toot, and I stayed at The W on Weds, 5/16, the last night of an epic 8 day trek through SoCal. The Valet service for my '12 SS Camaro rag top was prompt and enthusiastic., I told the driver he could 'kick it' a little if he wanted. We were welcomed warmly and with good humor at check-in at the makeshift lobby. The Hotel is in the midst of renovations. The whole place is going for a hip laid back SoCal vibe and it works. The room had a few 'trippy' features, such as a kalidescope, a psychedelic paper weighty thing, and a blackboard fully equipped with chalk and erasers. The room had a nicely stocked mini bar and an additional box of goodies and 'personal supplies'. The beds were the most comfortable of our trip, including other hotels and resorts.The room did have a sliding door for the bathroom but you can not see through the glass. The shower was fine and our shower curtain kept the floor dry. Toot had a date, but Old School Gregg and Rosalita accompanied me back to the 2nd floor "Roof Top Bar" after a night of Margaritas in Old Town. The newly renovated bar had a cool, laid back ambiance, with couches lining one wall and other seating areas scattered about in little clusters, some in and around tent like cabanas. They were playing chill out jams and there were cool tower type heaters with flames. G and R both said they'd be coming back. Noise was not a problem, sirens are a part of life in the big city. Breakfast was overpriced, like $16 for essentially a 'continental breakfast'. I had a makeshift egg sandwich thayt cost me about 15 bucks. Check out was a breeze and the courteous staff wished us well and asked us if there was anything they could do for us even after check out. Overall a very good stay 4 1/2 stars! We'll be back next SoCal journey. . May 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by The room was nice but not service The room and the location of the hotel was very nice. The room had clean feel to it. I liked the blue theme interior. The location of the hotel was especially nice for my trip. The service though, was definitely below what I expected. I have stayed in W hotel previously and my previous stays were the reason why I booked W San Diego. When I was checking in, the guy was rude and definitely not hospitable. He didn't explain anything to me nor asked any questions. He just shortly informed that my room was not ready and tht I would have to wait until they gave me a call. Even though he said he would call me, he didn't take my phone number so I asked him if my phone number was on the file. He went to check and asked me for my number. If you said you were going to call me, check before you send me off if you have my phone number. on the file. He was just a disappointment and I honestly thought I would have a really bad stay in the hotel. Concierge was nice, Acura service was nice and the girl who called me to inform me that the room was ready was also nice. The only major problem I had was the guy who checked me in since he was the same person who handed me the keys as well. No explanation or anything again. Just gave me the keys like I would know where everything in the hotel is and especially where my room is. Yes, I can read numbers and can tell what floor the room is but it's nice to actually be informed. I had to check my bank statement to check how much the security deposit was, I had to go online and call to ask whether check out time was 11am or 12pm and ask other questions. Everything that I could of been just informed upon check in, nothing was given. He was probably the only major problem I had with this hotel. Everyone else was very nice and Andrea was especially nice in helping me book reservations for a restaurant. When I checked out, the guy seemed very confused but he was still giving me service. Everything would of been okay for me if it wasn't only for that front desk guy. If you are looking for a decent hotel and you don't really care about service, then I would recommend this one. But I would definitely not be staying in W hotels anymore after this experience. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected So Much More I've visited the San Diego area many times, and this was my first time staying at the W San Diego. Overall, the property was okay, but not what I expected from a W Hotel or Starwood property. Let me start by saying that Sergio with Room Service was great, and the rest of the staff was nice and helpful as well. The Welcome Agent informed us that the public areas had recently gone through a renovation, and the decor reflected the upgrades and was pretty cool. He also informed us that the guest rooms are going to be renovated in 2013, which they are somewhat in a need of. In the guest rooms, I found a number of issues: 1. All the countertops/surfaces were sticky, as if not cleaned. But even worse was that anything that was set on any surface, stuck to it (i.e. - the remotes to the countertops, the ice bucket to the sliding shelf it sits on, etc.#. 2. The shower in my room had a European set-up which was fine, except that it was extremely narrow and allowed an excessive amount of water to leave the shower and end up on the bathroom floor and soaking the hallway carpet #if the bathroom door is open#. Another couple in my party had the same complaint. The shower head also didn't have great pressure, and you had to turn the shower knob all the way to the end for the water to heat up. Taking a shower just shouldn't be that much work. 3.If you are a business traveler, bring an extention cord. While there were electrical outlets behind the night stands, you had to move the night stands to reach them. The only visible outlet was at the desk, which wasn't convenient for ironing unless you wanted to be in the hallway right outside the bathroom. 4. I have back issues and can't sleep on anything too soft, which includes pillows. I requested to have some firm pillows brought to my room #on the second day#, and of the 3 that were left, none of them were firm. And while I'm sure the staff tried, I simply think this propoerty doesn't have firm pillows, which left me having trouble getting comfortable and sleeping. 5. Two minor issues in the room: a. The air conditioner doesn't go below 65 degrees. On a hot day or night, this will leave you hot. b. The basic channels on the TV #ABC, NBC, CBS) were all filled with static to the point were you couldn't see what was on the screen. An engineer came to fix the problem by tightening the cables and it worked, but by the end of my stay those channels were filled with static again. Minor hotel issues: a. None of the ice machines worked, however, the staff brought buckets of ice to the room when requested. b. The gym is very minimalistic - a few cardio machines, one weight bench and one set of dumbbells is every weight. The gym had seemed to always be full, as it wasn't a large area. Good thing it was close to the harbor where there is a running path. If you are looking to be in the thick of the "scene" this is not the property for you. Try something in the Gaslamp, as this is downtown and closer to the harbor. While I don't plan to stay at this property again, I'd be interested to see what changes are made after the renovations are complete. September 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Huge Disappointment! My boyfriend and I wanted to do a getaway vacation just to relax. The W Hotel in San Diego left us quite disappointed. We arrived late Tuesday night and were quite impressed with the decor. Upon settling in our room, we discovered a stain on the lid of the toilet and that the bathroom door wasn't working. While the stain was quite small, it was still visible and made me uncomfortable with using the facilities. I called the Whatever/Whenever to ask for toothpaste and that someone come to clean the bathroom. After Adriana apologized for the bathroom and assured me it would be taken care of, a person came within minutes to deliver the toothpaste and said someone would be right up to clean the bathroom. After waiting over 40 minutes, no one showed up. I called back down to Adriana and asked if this was something we could have taken care of. She again apologized and said she spoke to the maintainence manager and will have someone up immediately. This was about 2am. At 2:45 am when no one showed up, I called Adriana to inform her no one showed up and we were too tired to wait for someone to come take care of the restroom. She was very polite and understood that it was late and informed me it would be taken care of in the morning. A manager in the morning called me to apologize about the room being dirty and offered to move us into another room or have it cleaned, whichever we preferred. He also offered to take care of lunch if we would like but Adriana had already compensated us with parking so we politely declined. I called him as we were leaving to let him know the room was ready to be cleaned. Upon coming back that afternoon, the room was tidied up and the bathroom door fixed but the stain on the lid of the toilet remained as it was found the night before. At this point I took a picture of the stain and went down to the front desk to explain how unsanitary and uncomfortable I felt using this facility. She apologized and a manager came by to look at the photo and assured me he'd have someone up immediately to fix the issue. The maintainence manager came and I showed him where the stain was. He then had a housekeeper come up and said she would be able to assist me with whatever I needed. When I showed her the stain she said "that's it" and proceeded to clean and left. I felt her comment was very snide and rude. I understand the stain was small and something simple that I could have cleaned myself. The point is I did not make the mess and my room shouldn't have had a stain in it to begin with. The manager assures me the W Hotel prides itself on "fine combing" and looking at every little detail but yet this was missed twice by the maintainence team. I felt Adriana really did go above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay when she sent me a hand written apology and a cheese plate. Even though it eventually was resolved, I felt it had become a bigger inconvenience than it needed to be and I especially didn't appreciate the housekeeper's smart remark. I am very disappointed with our experience, especially since it was our first time. As a starwood preferred guest we had a wonderful time at the Westin in LA and was really looking forward to what the W Hotel had to offer. I wished our experience would have lived up to our expectations July 13, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10