W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • Californie
  • 92101
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

  • Pour des séjours de plus de 90 jours, veuillez appeler le +(1) 866 539 3446.
  • Vous pouvez réserver un séjour uniquement jusqu'à 550 jours à l'avance.
  • Veuillez vérifier les dates.
1 chambre 1 chambres , 1 adulte 1 adultes , 1 enfant 0 enfants
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 290 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front desk is a major problem The front desk is a problem not enough staff as it took too long to check in but she tried her best at least.The checkout was a poor experience as I asked for my bill as I was taking my disable son to the car.She wasn't with anyone so all she had to do was print my bill but rather than handle the duty she got others and didn't do what I asked.then made me wait as she helped others.My son who is totally disabled was left by himself as I had to wait but a guest let me get my bill which wasn't printed yet ahead so I could look after my son February 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost a good experience I was generally ok with the hotel except for two major problems with the room. First is that there was no hot water - nothing like a lukewarm shower to get you ready for work in the morning. Second, I was woken up in the middle of the night by loud music from the room next door. I think the problem is that the radio is positioned such that it comes right through a vent. January 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful, but no hot water Great location, beautiful hotel and room. The shower did not get hot. The water was lukewarm at best. Little dissappointing for such an expensive room at The W Hotel in San Diego. MJS. January 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Stay We stayed at The W over the long MLK weekend and had a great time. Excellent location, rooms were super clean, and the staff was fantastic. A huge THANK YOU to Kyle with the 'Whatever, Whenever' service, he was crazy helpful and his service definitely made our weekend better! January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by review the sink drained slowly in the bathroom. Other than that the room was fine. the noise from the heating unit was minimal January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Was a big fan...Now Disappointed! I stayed at his hotel several years ago and was surprised how much it has declined. Carpet are dingy and dirty looking. Shower heads are awful...worst ever..with Luke warm water. And the huge disappointment of no free wifi in the rooms. Who on earth would pay $14.95 a day for wifi!!!! It's free at Starbucks. I'm done with the W!, January 27, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by W San Diego I have stayed in several W Hotels, so didn't hesitate to book this hotel when I made plans to attend a conference in San Diego. Unfortunately, I was extremely disappointed. This hotel was really run down and my room wasn't clean....carpet extremely stained, not typical of other W hotels. The staff, however was outstanding. If I hadn't prepaid my room, I would have checked out. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Hotel with Exceptional Service The W San Diego stands out as a home away from home. It feels like a small boutique hotel despite it being a 19 story high rise. From the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out, the service was exceptional. The food and beverage team, in particular, really stood out. The menu options were creative and the staff was more than willing to customize to support my healthy diet. I was here on business but will definitely return for a vacation. January 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Housekeeping left room door open and dirty bathroom Simply put, would not recommend. Location is good within walking distance to the Gaslamp area, but the hotel had several major issues. First, the room was not kept very well. Our bathroom had some brown stain on the walls and ceiling. No idea what that was, and we didn't notice it until the last night of our stay because the walls are dark colored and we didn't think to check the ceiling. That was really disgusting. The furniture in the room needed updating. Actually, the entire decor of the hotel needs updating. Rooms are a stark blue and white scheme that really did not look good - perhaps if things were new it would look better. The hotel lobby was basically a lounge, which is great if that's your thing - didn't mind it but knew what we were getting into as this is a W hotel. The restaurant (Kelvin) has the ugliest blue and orange motif I have ever seen. It was a serious eyesore and I hated even sitting there. The food was not half bad, but for some reason, the restaurant was also freezing. Security - house keeping left our door open all day while we were out (i.e. the door latch was put in place to prevent the door from closing). Seriously, this is completely unacceptable. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coolest hotel in the city... Excellent hotel, young attractive people, a live DJ in house, great food and location. January 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best 2 Thk It Over Front Desk Staff were so woeful and indept! Flew in morning from DC to LA, then drive from LA to SD. And yet, they put me a Gold Level member to a room next to elevator thinking the guest need NOT to have quiet and rest. Staff never reocgnized the Starwood status, thanked for your business, never mentioned my profile (which says high floor, quiet, etc.), while the hotel has plenty of rooms available. Checked in around 3pm so not last minute and ample rooms. January 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel was okay. The hotel was okay. For the price you pay for, staying at another hotel would be better. The beds were comfortable. The staff was not on point. I had to call a couple times to get the things that should have been in the room already, such as shampoo. The shower is neat, but not functional. Water gets out all over the floor. The location is good. Close enough downtown, but not in the middle of downtown where it is overcrowded and noisy. It is also close to the train station. Some of the drinks are overpriced at the rooftop bar. A vodka tonic is the same price as a martini or margarita. Better off drinking somewhere else. January 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by T & K The staff was very nice, the location was great, the rooms just needed updating. January 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not as luxurious as I would have thought I stayed at the W Hotel in Gaslamp for New Years Eve. The hotel itself was fine and the rooms were fine, but not for the price, which I feel overcharged for. The first and main problem is that the bathroom shower sprays water all over the floor because there are no doors on the shower. I am all about modern design but FUNCTIONAL modern - not slip on the floor because the shower is stupid modern. Also they had coffee in the lobby only one day, and NO COFEE MAKER in the rooms? Hello? We need coffee. January 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by New Year's Eve stay My daughter stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve night. There were 3 problems with their stay. 1. The door to the room kept rattling about every 5 minutes. It was so loud and annoying that she had to stuff a towel underneath the door to make it stop rattling. 2. The hot water in the shower trickled out of the spout. I believe that the pipes need replacing. The water pressure was fine with the cold water, but the hot water pressure was very poor. It took 25 minutes to fill the tub for a bath. 3. My daughter was brought a complimentary dessert upon arrival, the person that delivered it forgot to bring a fork. She said she would be right back with a fork, but never returned. My daughter didn't call anyone to fix any of these issues because they were there for only one night, and figured it would take longer to get someone over to the room versus just trying to live with the situation. She was very dissappointed in the quality of the hotel. January 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Amateur Hour Given that the W Brand is all about service, you'd think people would have some idea what they were doing. I had a somewhat complicated travel arrangement -- I booked for a conference and needed to add an extra day on the front which I did online. I called the hotel in advance to make sure that this would not be a problem (ie: we wouldn't be switched from one room to another or have to check out and check back in). They told me it would be fine. Arrived at the desk and they only had me listed for a one night stay -- reception found the other reservation and told me everything was okay. Couldn't find the SPG Green option card, called down about not needing new towels the next morning. They thought we were checking out that day but said that they'd fix it. Had to do some work in the Hotel room that morning - and got continually visited by housekeeping, asked when we were checking out, and called twice by the desk. Each time they said "Oops, you're right -let me fix that". Eventually around 1pm a manager showed up -- asking us when we were leaving -- went through the same thing again exasperated. I should have spent the morning working, but instead I spent it convincing the W that I was not supposed to be checking out. Does the staff communicate to each other or pay attention to what you tell them or just care about turning over rooms even if they are the wrong ones? Still never got an apology or anything else for my trouble! Apparently being totally disorganized and bothering guests is just the way they do things here. January 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel not typical W quality Platinum member, stay in W hotels all around the country. This hotel is definitely not W quality. I love W hotels, but this property in San Diego has not been renovated in years. The front desk clerk informed me they just completed renovation in common space, but none of the rooms have been upgraded for years. The carpet in hall ways is terrible, I had throw-up stains in front of my door. The carpet in rooms is has black stains from wear all through it. The bathtub has the brown rust streak coming from faucet. Caulking around the sink and tub is black or peeling. Overall it was just terrible according to W standards. If you appreciate the W standard of quality, you won't get it here. December 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice and Quiet I booked this W hotel because there was a special promotion of book 2 nights, stay 3, so it came out to be about $124 a night... not bad for a W stay. Usual check in process and went to the room and the rooms are a bit small (had a king bed). Nice chalkboard to write messages to the housekeeping staff (they actually wrote a Thank You message back). Had an issue with the drainage in the shower/tub. The maintenance man came right away and unclogged the drain. Calling down to have more shampoo and bath products brought up was really quick. Finding the gym was a little hard. Going to the pool on the 2nd floor and seeing the pool, you would think that the closed door there would lead to the gym, but it doesn't. I had to go don and ask the desk how to get the gym. I was surprised at how often the gym is used. I worked out there 2 mornings and it was occupied with about 3 guests each time. Free coffee service in the Living Room until 10am is a nice touch along with the snacks of rice krispie treats. yummy! The rooftop lounge is a little misleading. Yes, it is on a rooftop, but it's not on the top floor, it's on the 2nd floor. It's a cool space, but not really great for seeing the city view as I expected. The staff was helpful however when I asked the concierge for directions to the post office, he didn't give me the closest location, so I walked about 30 min to the one he said. Parking option is only Valet, which is nice because you can call down to have your car ready and they are quick to have it for you. A nice stay overall. It's close to little Italy and I walked to the Gaslamp areas each night, about 15 min. December 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Management 1. The valet process is ridiculous, you are allow unlimited in/out but the valet service requires you to get new valet ticket every single time! This means you have to repeat your name and room number everytime you return as well as remember new valet ticket # to call down. Obviously this makes the whole valet process very very slow. Worst valet setup I have ever seen. 2. Poor customer service through out. I had $25 discount certificate and I went to redeem when I check-out. I asked the receipt to be emailed to my account as usual. By the time I received the email, I was at the airport and instead of being given $25 SPG Award discount, I got charge with the line item indicating $25 for SPG Award!! How could any competent person not notice the difference between negative vs positive and the total obvious increased instead of decrease. What make the matter even worst is I'm at my 3rd time calling the hotel to have them make the correction. Each time they kept telling me it's all done and your receipt will be emailed to you. So far they have failed twice to make the correction!! This show poor customer service and inability for hotel to follow through with simple invoice correction change. November 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Maids - loud nights The fridge in the sitting room did not work. We received no maid service while we were there. We left the room at 12:00 noon Saturday. When we returned, about 4:00, to get ready for a fundraiser the room had not been serviced. The maid showed up at our door as we were getting ready and I told her we would be out by 5:30 and she said she would be back then. When we got home at 11:30 pm the room had still not been serviced. Both Friday night and Saturday night when we returned to the hotel for a drink at the bar, the music was intolerably loud. In fact it was so loud Saturday night we could still hear it in the elevator at the 18th floor. Thankfully the Karl Strauss around the corner was much better so we ate and drank both nights there rather then not be able to hear each other in the lobby bar. I also noticed aside from two people sitting as far from the bar as they could get, there was no one else in the bar but employees. Suggest you lose the DJ and go for a more tolerable volume of music. It’s too bad because the rest of the staff was wonderful, helpful and efficient. October 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected So Much More I've visited the San Diego area many times, and this was my first time staying at the W San Diego. Overall, the property was okay, but not what I expected from a W Hotel or Starwood property. Let me start by saying that Sergio with Room Service was great, and the rest of the staff was nice and helpful as well. The Welcome Agent informed us that the public areas had recently gone through a renovation, and the decor reflected the upgrades and was pretty cool. He also informed us that the guest rooms are going to be renovated in 2013, which they are somewhat in a need of. In the guest rooms, I found a number of issues: 1. All the countertops/surfaces were sticky, as if not cleaned. But even worse was that anything that was set on any surface, stuck to it (i.e. - the remotes to the countertops, the ice bucket to the sliding shelf it sits on, etc.#. 2. The shower in my room had a European set-up which was fine, except that it was extremely narrow and allowed an excessive amount of water to leave the shower and end up on the bathroom floor and soaking the hallway carpet #if the bathroom door is open#. Another couple in my party had the same complaint. The shower head also didn't have great pressure, and you had to turn the shower knob all the way to the end for the water to heat up. Taking a shower just shouldn't be that much work. 3.If you are a business traveler, bring an extention cord. While there were electrical outlets behind the night stands, you had to move the night stands to reach them. The only visible outlet was at the desk, which wasn't convenient for ironing unless you wanted to be in the hallway right outside the bathroom. 4. I have back issues and can't sleep on anything too soft, which includes pillows. I requested to have some firm pillows brought to my room #on the second day#, and of the 3 that were left, none of them were firm. And while I'm sure the staff tried, I simply think this propoerty doesn't have firm pillows, which left me having trouble getting comfortable and sleeping. 5. Two minor issues in the room: a. The air conditioner doesn't go below 65 degrees. On a hot day or night, this will leave you hot. b. The basic channels on the TV #ABC, NBC, CBS) were all filled with static to the point were you couldn't see what was on the screen. An engineer came to fix the problem by tightening the cables and it worked, but by the end of my stay those channels were filled with static again. Minor hotel issues: a. None of the ice machines worked, however, the staff brought buckets of ice to the room when requested. b. The gym is very minimalistic - a few cardio machines, one weight bench and one set of dumbbells is every weight. The gym had seemed to always be full, as it wasn't a large area. Good thing it was close to the harbor where there is a running path. If you are looking to be in the thick of the "scene" this is not the property for you. Try something in the Gaslamp, as this is downtown and closer to the harbor. While I don't plan to stay at this property again, I'd be interested to see what changes are made after the renovations are complete. September 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice experience Everything at this hotel was great except the odd parking situation. The pool really needs to be remodeled, the mirrors are really tacky and it really doesn't suit the hotel. We got a great upgrade to a suite for our anniversary and that was a lovely touch. Probably wouldn't stay here again but it was a nice hotel. To much of a club vibe going on in the evenings. September 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another great stay San Diego has a lot of Starwood properties, but the W has become my favorite. Excellent, friendly and helpful front desk staff, nice rooms. Suite upgrades for Platinum members seem rare, but I got a nice cool corner room. September 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel But.. Loved our Fantastic Suite. It was in good condition, comfortable and everything was in working order. Staff was friendly and efficient for the most part. A glaring exception was the 9AM wake up call delivered at 6AM. Elevator issues also marred our stay. Two of the three elevators were out of service for hours on Sunday morning, making every arrival/departure an adventure.Fitness room has updated equipment but could use more weight machines. The pool is lovely but tiny. My last minor annoyance was the proclamation by the desk clerk that I had been "upgraded" to the room type I had booked in the first place. All in all though we will return, though I play they get those elevators back in working order. September 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Depends on what your looking for... I'm a 35 yo mom with three kids~ and I'm all about letting my hair down with my husband. Not a place for kids and looking up the hotel we noticed that~ That's why we picked the W. Loved the roof top bar on floor 2~ not the top floor. The music they played earlier in the day was good. Then they had this "DJ"- Tecno music.... Which I might have been able to ignore but it was SO loud, not enough lemon grass martinis could tame it! I actually really loved the modern look~ The standard room showers have a hole in the glass, with an open door~ which soaks your toilet and floor so order extra towels. They have cool IPod radios in the room, but my iphone G4 was too modern to work. I always love the Westin Beds!! I wanna buy their soft pillows. We had room service for breakfast several mornings~ The one breakfast that is worth the money is their cinnamon almond french toast. Your close to Gaslamp and for a relaxing lunch your close to little Italy~ All in walking distance. Overall nice place, good for a couples get-a-way. If you bring the kids especially over the weekend know its a different environment. September 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by More Aloft than W Just a poor first visit, second stay was better but still felt like poor value for money. First stay was awful but them management did listen to my complaint and they did make it good. Room are small but comfortable, good coffee maker. Breakfast is good but no bufet so can be expensive. September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, Wish the staff was nicer. I stayed at the hotel last weekend to celebrate my birthday. When we arrived it was a little difficult to find/get to the parking. Once we arrived the valet staff was very helpful and kind when we checked in and out. I did not have the same experience with the staff checking in. They were not very friendly. To be honest, the person who checked us in was a little rude. We had the same experience when we tried to go to the rooftop to purchase drinks and food. We sat for a while before anyone even came over to ask if we needed anything. So we went elsewhere. The room was nice I loved the chalkboard and the window seat. The concierge directed us to this really awesome restaurant in the Gaslamp district. We ended up walking and it was not far at all. Overall we had a nice stay. I just wish the staff was a little friendlier. September 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff! The Hotel is located in the perfect area to walk to almost everything downtown. Shopping and Restaurants are nearby. The staff is very helpful in recommending places for lunch and dinner with easy directions. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location, good hotel I chose to stay at the W San Diego, having stayed at other properties in NYC. My reservation was made over the phone through the Starwood Preferred Guest toll-free number. I was very impressed with the agent's ability to book my reservation and answer most of my questions. He was uncertain about some details for the Acura Experience and told me he would have the general manager contact me. Unfortunately, that never happened. As it turned out, the gentleman at the Acura desk in the hotel was super-friendly and went above and beyond to assist me. When I entered my room on the 17th floor, there was a musty odor, which may have been coming from the carpeting since it felt a bit wet underfoot. I was a bit disappointed in the miniature blow dryer provided by the hotel as an "amenity." The view from the room's windows was spectacular! The rooftop lounge/bar was also well appointed and had magnificent views of the sunset. While the lobby lounge was the only spot with free wi-fi, its trendy furniture and layout made using the space quite pleasant. All in all, I would return to this hotel. September 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great one day trip to San Diego the cleanliness and friendly staff were wonderful. There is a spacious gym and quality cardio machines. The Pool was a jr. pool, very small but served its purpose of lounging in the water. This W has the same quality as other W's I have stayed at but feels and is smaller. August 22, 2012
  • 2015-10-12T06:12:15.088-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_290, tr_290
  • loc_en_US, sid_1433, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 next>>