W San Diego

  • 421 West B Street
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • Stati Uniti
  • Mappa

Camere e tariffe

Chiudi

Bimbi\camera

Queste informazioni ci consentiranno di individuare le camere più appropriate per il vostro soggiorno, nonché di organizzare al meglio il vostro arrivo.

Fare riferimento ai termini e dettagli della camera per informazioni sui costi per letti a scomparsa e/o ospiti aggiuntivi.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 251 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Property With Minor Flaw A lot has been made about this property not being updated. The only viable complaint that I can support from the last 20 posts is the carpet. It's clearly old and stained and undesirable. But really, that's my only complaint. Staff was fantastic and the property is an easy eight minute walk to both Little Italy and Gaslamp. Dangerous? Not necessarily. The staff alerted me to the safest walking route to get to both attractions. And a final disclaimer: I'm a hotel snob. I travel extensively. I would ABSOLUTELY stay here again, regardless of the carpet. Although new carpet sure would be nice!!! April 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My Stay at W Hotel The service at the hotel is great. Key issue is that the walls are to thin and you can hear everything that is happening in the room next door. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Careless, Sloppy and NOT up to SPG Standards - I booked two rooms under my name thru your website. I called on the day of arrival to change the name of one room under my co-worker's. After 3 or 4 complicated security questions, I was told that the name was updated and ready to check in in the case that my co-worker arrives before I do. - I ended up arriving early and when I asked to check in the 2nd reservation, the reception desk informed me that there was no 2nd room under neither mine or his name. After some confusion and research, she informed me that instead of changing the name on the reservation, the manager that had taken my call had cancelled that room. I asked why it was cancelled and if the manager that cancelled it was still there, and she informed me that he has left for the day. After a few adjustments, I was assured by front desk that the room has been checked in, and under my co-worker's name. - An hour later, while I was at a meeting, I got a call from my co-worker that they would not let him check in because the room is still under MY name. I asked him to look for Megan, and he told me that they said she has also left for the day. After a few back-and-forth with the front desk, they finally allowed him to check in. I have never had a more complicated check-in procedure and experience than this. - After the whole check-in fiasco, I put my breakfast card on my door at 10pm and went to bed for an early call-time. Needless to say, my breakfast did not arrive in time. I thought it was just being a bit delayed, so after 15-minutes curtesy wait I called down to Room Service. They directed me to front of my door to tell them that my breakfast card was NOT picked up last night. I asked why would you ask your guests to leave that at the door when you don't even bother to pick it up, and they informed me that the night staff that was responsible for it obviously didn't do it, and that they had left for the day... July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Almost a good experience I was generally ok with the hotel except for two major problems with the room. First is that there was no hot water - nothing like a lukewarm shower to get you ready for work in the morning. Second, I was woken up in the middle of the night by loud music from the room next door. I think the problem is that the radio is positioned such that it comes right through a vent. January 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by The room had a lot of problems Thought Ian Irving was extraordinarily helpful in the reservation and all the way through, professional and great in all our communications with him, the room facilities had a lot of problems. The toilet was broken and I had to reattach the handle which broke again and when I tried to call down to the lobby none of the phones worked. Really poor showing for what is billed as a top flight hotel. Next time I would consider another brand. June 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel But.. Loved our Fantastic Suite. It was in good condition, comfortable and everything was in working order. Staff was friendly and efficient for the most part. A glaring exception was the 9AM wake up call delivered at 6AM. Elevator issues also marred our stay. Two of the three elevators were out of service for hours on Sunday morning, making every arrival/departure an adventure.Fitness room has updated equipment but could use more weight machines. The pool is lovely but tiny. My last minor annoyance was the proclamation by the desk clerk that I had been "upgraded" to the room type I had booked in the first place. All in all though we will return, though I play they get those elevators back in working order. September 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by W San Diego "A big Disappointment" July 2012 stay : room carpet soiled , electrical lighting non working and room itself slightly better than a dorm room TV issues ... we were moved to an identical room type which continued to have problems such as lighting not working obviously the staff do not have a checklist to ensure basic things like the bathroom wall ligts work or a look over of the carpets etc etc.. what made it worse was the parking fee added on to the bill for parking I didnt use August 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun and Comfortable Stay! A recent UCSD graduation celebration leads me to the W San Diego. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the famed gas lamp district so you're close but not too close. Travelers should note that the hotel is somewhat smaller than one would think if just browsing pictures on the internet. The rooftop bar is a great place to hangout. The valet service is quick and reliable (parking for valet is the empty outdoor lot, diagonally across from the hotel) but because the hotel is farther from the "action", hailing a cab, even for the Valet staff can be a bit challenging. I would not recommend guests walking to or from the Gas Lamp district at night as the surrounding areas are not very well lit and in some parts, questionable. August 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff! I stayed at this hotel for my birthday and it was an amazing experience. From the moment I arrived the staff made me feel at home and was very friendly. They answered all my questions and even offered great bars and restaurants in the area. And I have to give special recognition to Sophie. She went above and beyond to make sure I had the best stay possible. She even arranged a birthday surprise with champagne and delicious assorted desserts. My room was spacious and very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego. March 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel looks great Excellent place to stay. House keeping had to be phone twice to get room made up after we had been out most of day. Other than that, enjoyed everything hotel had to offer that we tried. Might be a problem with all the construction work happening nearby. in general, the stay was a very good experience and would stay there again. Staff was excellent in every way. June 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hip W Hotel - Quiet Part of Town I stayed at this hotel in April after attending a business function at another hotel. It's in a quiet part of town (I was there Sat-Mon) but you are close enough to walk to Horton Plaza and some of the restaurants. Upon check in I was given a Cool Corner room which was large and very nice. The hotel was sold out Sat night and the lobby was very busy as it seemed to be one of the "it" places to be. The front desk staff was pleasant enough but didn't talk much. I don't know if this hotel had a club lounge and it was mentioned that my SPG number was on file. April 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just needs new beds I absolutely love the W hotels. But this one in Gaslamp San Diego needs a little improvement. Everything was excellent (staff, lobby, food, etc) but the beds in the hotel were awful. I was surprised because the W hotel in Hollywood had amazing beds that were so comfortable and indulging. But the beds at the W hotel in Gaslamp San Diego hurt my back, my boyfriends back, and 2 of our friends backs as well! Not sure if I'll return unless they get new beds. Other than the awful beds, everything else was excellent! April 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average at best Having read the reviews on the hotel prior to my stay, and combining that with the price, I had expectations of a very nice hotel. I was disappointed with what I found. I was on the 5th floor and I had mulitple police/emergency sirens every night (stayed 3 nights). The rooms are not very quiet. I could hear people talking in adjoining rooms as well. While the lobby is obviously being renovated, the rooms are old. The pool is tiny, and the execise room has just a few machines. Overall it was a very ordinary hotel, that I am not sure is worth the price. May 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close but not great Instead of a suite, we were given two adjoining rooms. Kind of strange to have a couple sharing two adjoining rooms, right? They were sold out of suites even though our reservation was for a suite. The "fresh" expensive orange juice was poured from a Trader Joes container. Huh?? Otherwise, definitely a cool place and one that tried very hard to be cool. Maybe a little too much! May 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Front desk is a major problem The front desk is a problem not enough staff as it took too long to check in but she tried her best at least.The checkout was a poor experience as I asked for my bill as I was taking my disable son to the car.She wasn't with anyone so all she had to do was print my bill but rather than handle the duty she got others and didn't do what I asked.then made me wait as she helped others.My son who is totally disabled was left by himself as I had to wait but a guest let me get my bill which wasn't printed yet ahead so I could look after my son February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay and customer service I decided to use up quite a few of my accumulated Starwood points last month while my house was being tented for termites. As this was to be my "home away from home" I contacted the W and I received spectacular service from Kehaulani Larose. I hope management can find more individuals like her. She listened to my concerns over noise and allergies and took care of every last detail and was able to upgrade me to a corner room that was very pleasant indeed. I certainly didn't expect to enjoy my visit as much as I did. When I called whatever/whenever desk, they were responsive and positive. Cleaners and staff went the extra mile and I appreciated the small amenities offered. Recommend this hotel. Do suggest you find other nearby parking options, however. November 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern Comforts Sleek, ultra-modern, and just a little bit edgy, the Hotel W in San Diego offered a great location for a 4-day stay during a conference. Location near the GasLamp District and the Convention Center was good but not adjacent, requiring cabs for some events. The hotel facilities and accommodations were excellent, the only gap was the lack of a coffee maker in the room for early morning coffee. May 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Failure to provide basic services Cute hotel but it has some bad management problems. We arrived back at the hotel tonight on the third evening of a three-night stay to find our room uncleaned, our bed unmade, and the dirty, wet towels on the floor of the shower (we left our towels on the shower floor to make sure that the hotel service staff did not think we were so green that we didn't want clean, dry towels). We called downstairs to report the problem and to ask for some clean towels, as well as the two additional blankets we had requested this morning before leaving. The desk staff asked if we wanted our room to be serviced but it was almost 10 pm and we were too tired, and didn't want to have to go and hang out at the bar while waiting for our room to be serviced. My husband thought they should comp the room and told them so, but they offered him a measly $24 discount off the room rate for the inconvenience. After two calls and a 20-minute wait, the towels and blankets were delivered. Somewhat later, when my husband had drifted off to sleep, he was awakened and I was disturbed by aggressive knocking at the door and a loud voice. We tried to ignore it, but it did not stop so I quickly dressed and went to the door. It was a maid who wanted to service the room. It was now after 10:30 p.m.! The experience this evening was bad enough but it followed a fiasco this morning when the hotel's valet parking lost track of our car because they had filed the car keys under someone else's name. Cute and hip just doesn't make up for failure to provide basic services, such as clean towels and keeping track of your car. August 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay ever at a 4 star hotel The previous reviews are correct in stating this hotel has walls that are paper thin (a warning I should have listened to before booking a room here!). You can hear every single word your neighbors are saying even when they're speaking at a normal conversational volume. During the middle of the night we were woken up by our next door neighbors, who were obviously drunk, yelling and cursing profusely. I honestly don't think I've ever heard so many curse words said in such a short amount of time. We had to call the front desk who sent security, and the neighbors became quieter, but we could still hear them cursing and speaking for a good amount of time after that. Another incident that occurred was when we were in an elevator going back up to our room, and we were stuck in the elevator with a large group of college age kids, who were also obviously drunk. There was also a hotel employee on the elevator with us. The kids were yelling and cursing pretty much nonstop, and the hotel employee felt compelled to apologize to us for the negative experience after the kids got off the elevator. I understand the W trying to have a "party" atmosphere, but there's a huge difference between keeping it classy and letting it degenerate into a frat house environment. If I wanted to hear so much profanity from other guests, I could have booked a room in a seedy motel instead of paying a lot of money to stay here at what's supposed to be a 4 star hotel. Also, the carpets in the room are once again what you'd expect in a motel, very old and stained. I didn't want to walk around my room without my shoes! I've stayed at a lot of 4 star and 5 star hotels in my life, and I can honestly say this is the worst experience I've ever had. I'm sure I'll get some generic apology from the manager for this review, although it would be better if they were actually proactive and tried to fix these problems instead of just having to constantly apologize to guests and react to these negative situations. But hopefully my review can warn others not to book a hotel at this room. If I'd listened to other people's reviews in the first place, I wouldn't have ended up in this situation. Also, just like other reviewers said, the area around the hotel can get sketchy at night and I definitely wouldn't feel comfortable walking around. Once you reach the Gaslamp Quarter, it feels okay because there's so many people, but the actual area around the hotel is definitely questionable. The only good thing I can say is about the valet service, although from what I understand, they're a separate company from the W. They're expensive, but their service is very professional and courteous. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A conference trip Decor is fresh and contemporary. Air conditioning in our room did not always work well, room was hotter than temp on thermostat. Staff was very attentive and friendly. Wi-fi speed in the room was excellent, in the lobby was only fair. The hot buttons on the room phone (to concierge, front desk) did not connect to working extensions. Only thing I really didn't like was the constant boom-chick of dance music in the lobby and elevators, no matter what time of day. April 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice stay I just came back from a one night stay. As a platinum SPG member I was upgraded to a cool corner room. I found the staff to be extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was great. I appreciated the location of the hotel being walking distance to everything but not in the heart of it all. I was in town on work, but liked it so much, that I booked an upcoming weekend so I could actually spend some time enjoying the area and facilities. I would highly recommend anyone who needs to stay in San Diego to choose this hotel. January 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great hotel - would stay again I stayed at the W Hotel in San Diego for six nights during a conference and loved it. The rooms are extremely nice with a very comfortable bed and great window seat. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooftop bar is a lovely place to hang out and eat. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by San Diego W has superb staff! My daughter and I stayed at the SD - W during the last few days of spring break - a mommy/daughter trip. I have to mention the incredible staff at the W, that made our stay fantastic. Firstly, Vanessa at the check in desk, is an asset to your organization. She was so incredibly helpful and friendly. My daughter could not wait to see her at the end of our days touring SD. Thank you Vanessa for everything. Secondly, Denyse and Jasmine in Kelvin, both of you made our breakfasts enjoyable, your service and attitudes made us smile. I only have one concern, and it was our bathroom in our room. Funny septic smell at times, as well as the fan which is connected to the lighting was not operating properly at times. Otherwise, we loved the SD W and would stay there again! April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff!! Giovanna at the front desk checked us in and was extremely helpful and personable. We were very impressed with her throughout our stay from check in where she wished us Happy Anniversary, to the next day when she personally collected our luggage to store, to the chocolate covered strawberries we were sent for it being my 10th stay with Starwood, to our check out when she personally retrieved our luggage, to the valet who was consistently swift, friendly, and helpful and even gave us waters upon departure. A+ to the staff. August 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Staff/Hotel not well maintained The staff at this hotel are all excellent. Although there were rarely enough staff at the front desk, so the lines were often long. Sadly, many carpets are stained and most of the walls need fresh paint. Great rooftop bar and their were nice amenities in the room. May 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT up to W Standard I would like to follow up regarding my recent stay this past weekend at the W San Diego. My family and I are gold level SPG members and I have never been more disappointed with a hotel's customer service and false advertisement. Let me start by saying that our first night was pleasant. My boyfriend and I checked in around 4/4:30 on Friday, grabbed a bite and drink at the Rooftop Happy Hour and then headed to Petco Park for the game. On our way to Rooftop we noticed the minuscule pool...correct me if I'm wrong but it didn't look possible to be "the hottest pool in San Diego" as your website describes. We decided to check it out Saturday and give it another chance. Saturday morning, we had some friends join us from LA (boyfriend and I are from Orange County) and we were SO excited to spend Saturday by the "hottest pool in San Diego" with a drink in our hand and relaxing. We were a bit surprised to see the pool very mellow and also the bar closed for a private lunch. We went down to the concierge desk and Kevin assisted us. He informed us that "no, the event was in fact not private and we were welcome to go up there" well we checked one more time and not only was there a sign indicating that it was a "Private Lunch" there were additional tables with cloths and small center pieces set...clearly not regular seating...on top of that everyone there was wearing a name tag. Clearly, this was a private event. Frustrated, we asked if Kevin's manager would be willing to comp our entry into the Hard Rock pool since that was the reason for our stay. He tried to find his manager and it was taking quite some time so he gave us complimentary drink tickets for the bar while we waited for his manager. While having our drink at the lobby bar (we were there for 45 minutes) Kevin, nor any manger came over to talk to us. I thought it was extremely rude to have not followed up with us. Even if they were unable to grant our requested comp'd tickets, the manager should have come by to personally apologize for the inconvenience. The irony is that the drinks at the bar were more expensive then entry to the Hard Rock. After our drink, we went to the check in desk to again express our frustration...they assured us they would sent something up to both our rooms (1608 and 1222). We later found out that they did try to deliver something to 1222 but they had left their "Do Not Disturb" sign up. Our room, 1608 did not have that sign up and nothing was delivered. The next day, I called down to the concierge desk and it was Kevin again who answered. I asked if there was a gift shop as I needed some feminine products. He informed me they had some at the desk and he would send them right up. An hour and a half later...still nothing. I had to ask one of the house keepers for one and she politely had one for me less than 5 minutes later. All in all, the hotel is beautiful, very trendy and cool (and your sweet potato pancakes are in incredible) but the customer service I experienced was simply not up to par from other W's that's I've stayed at. We were thoroughly disappointed with the customer service and the misleading description of your hotel's pool. "Our downtown San Diego hotel pool is the hottest place to mix and mingle or simply soak up the San Diego sun. Discover the Veranda, an indoor/outdoor space that will provide you that well-deserved respite from the sun at WET (outdoor heated pool)." I was truly disappointed that these items were handled the way we were. I really expected more, it's as simple as just following through to what you say you're going to do. As the GM I'd hope these issues would be addressed with the appropriate parties. After reading Yelp reviews last night, this seems to be a common issue regarding customer service. Thank you very much for your time. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by J Carroll This property seems to be declining in appearance and customer satisfaction. I'm a Platinum SPG member and travel a lot and I no what should be expected. Room had a problem with a terrible smell of sulfur water coming from the shower and lots of wear in the baseboard of the bathroom and throughout the room. Elevator to the rooms had food on the floor and smelled disgusting. As a Platinum SPG member and well traveled within SPG properties I'm disappointed in the customer service and overall appearance of this property. May 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2 night stay room assigned on the 12 th flr had stained / dirty carpet that you couldnt avoid , bathroom mirror light did not work ..after notifying front desk we were moved to 1318 which was cleaner but LCD TV failed , bathrm mirror light failed ( same as 12 th flr ) , the "Wondeful " room looks like a well used dorm room and you need a wench motor to pull the blinds.. aftercheck out an extra $70 tacked on the bill for Valet and didnt use....if you want to offer value to your customers these are items you should consider July 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the W brand I've stayed at the W in Taipei. This is nothing like it! I've got to admit this is an ok hotel for the US. But I cannot relate it to the W brand. June 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be careful with the staff at this hotel Me and my girlfriend spent 4 nights at W San Diego the weekend before Christmas we stay at room 1418. The day we check out my girlfriend forgot her coat at the room, when she notice, we went back to the hotel and ask at the front desk for it. No one could tell us were it was, the only answer we got from the staff was that if they found it they will get in contact with us, it never happen. it is a shame that in a hotel of this category happen such a thing. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone! December 26, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>