W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check into a room. 

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 624 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need to check rooms for functions When we checked in, we noticed that several lights were not working...out of 6 lights in the main area, only two bulbs were working. As my wife was calling the front desk, she also noticed that the clock was missing one of its hands. These problems should have been noticed by the staff prior to having guests check in. However, the maintenance engineer who came up to fix things was courteous, competent and professional. September 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by W Fort Lauderdale Was TERRIBLE - DO NOT STAY THERE The W Ft. Lauderdale was impressive upon arrival. When we walked up to the check-in desk there was no friendliness at all from the staff. We had 4 rooms at the hotel and when we arrived, 2 of them were not clean. The second day, our room was not cleaned at all - so after arriving back at our room at 8pm to get ready, we had to wait in the lobby while they cleaned it. When we arrived back in our room, there was hair on the floor and they "forgot" to clean the toilet. When we spoke with a manager Daniel or Darryl, he was not at all apologetic and tried to tell us we were lying. If you're looking for good service, do not stay here. I would encourage the GM of this hotel to do a better job training his staff. You could probably get cleaner rooms/bathrooms at a four points. This hotel was a BIG disappointment. November 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME property Amazing property, staff and food..I will be back soon. September 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Staff I am a huge SPG fan and I always do my best to stay with Starwood and have stayed at this location previously with a better experience. Upon arrival the front desk greating was non-existent. Didn't get asked about my Platinum Amenity Award, I had to request and yet to see if I got it. There was no thanks for my loyalty and no room for upgrade. The room we were assigned was not ready and we were simply told it may not be ready until 4pm and we would just have to wait. Luckily it didn't take that long, but the room was a basic room...not an upgrade at all. When I later inquired to another staff member how full they were I was told they had many rooms still open. From our view I could see that there were several nicer rooms empty. January 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just magnifcent Had a great experience everything I thought it would be just one issue when it came to checking out and the valet charge which I had asked twice about and was told it was in my package then at front desk was told it was not would like to bring kids down in October September 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Where's the Warm? I have stayed at W Fort Lauderdale since it first opened. This time did not feel warm or welcoming. Staff is very scripted. Few smiles. Security seemed as if the President might be staying there. Room keys to walk almost everywhere. Room key to go up the elevator. Room key to go down. Room key to pool. At the Wet drink prices, I would think day guests would be welcome. Tower 1 outside doors locked at 6pm and my room key would not allow access. So lets walked through a lobby full of party people in order to go to our room. And for the second year in a row, the IPOD dock in my room had to be fixed by maintenance. November 29, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Incorrect Room Booked Oasis Oceanfront room because wanted oceanfront. Called ahead on day of arrival and confirmed with frontdesk. Upon arrival received suite but not oceanfront. They had no other rooms. Management was VERY accommodating and appolgetic. Next day they arranged move to oceanfront suite. We made other arrangements. Hotel not on beach but across street from beach. Beach very narrow. Hotel bathroom not clean. Boogers on counter & private hair in bathtub. August 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by If this is how they treat SPG Platinum members, I can't imagine how they treat regular guests. Upon check-in, I was asked whether I needed boarding passes printed for the following day. Given the flight time, the check-in agent, asked if that meant that I would be leaving the hotel around 1 pm. I agreed. The following day, my travel plans changed and I called the front desk to extend my stay for another night, which was granted. I was never asked about flight time or departure time. Additionally, I was never advised during check-in or when I extended the stay that my automatic 4 pm late check-out as a SPG Platinum member would not be honored by this property. Shortly after 1 pm on January 11th, the phone in my room began ringing. Since I was on a work-related conference call, I initially ignored the ringing. However, when the phone started ringing for the third time, I had to interrupt my call to answer the phone. I simply advised the caller that I was on a conference call and could not talk at that time and hung up. The phone immediately rang again and I again stated that I was on a work call and could not talk. The front desk representative on the other end immediately accused me of staying past my requested 1 pm check-out time. I replied by stating that the check-out time was for the previous day before I extended my stay and that as a SPG Platinum member I had an automatic 4 pm late check-out available to me. The representative’s response was that this particular property did not honor SPG late check-out privileges and that I needed to leave the room immediately. I advised her that I was on a call and that as soon as I finished, I would finish packing and would be leaving between 2:30 and 3:30 and that since I was never advised that the property did not honor SPG Platinum privileges, that I had no notice that I needed to check-out sooner. The representative responded by saying that I would be charged $150 an hour if I did not leave immediately. I again stressed that I could not leave until I finished the call and that if she insisted upon charging me, that I would address the situation with SPG after the stay. During the entire conversation, the representative was very rude. Approximately 10 minutes after the phone call ended, someone started knocking on my door. Since I had a Do Not Disturb Sign on the Door and I was still on the work call, I ignored the knocking, until a man opened the door, walked in and asked me when I was leaving. I again advised that I would be leaving no later than 3:30 and he left. I was also emailed an updated Guest Folio reflecting the $150.00 Late Check-out Fee. I have never had a negative experience at a W Hotel and I have been staying at the properties for at least 8 years. I am shocked at the level of disrespect I was shown – from the incessant phone calls, the rude representative and security being sent to my room. If this is how SPG Platinum members are treated, I cannot imagine the interaction with regular guests. January 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Declining Services Under New Owner/Mgmt I've been a Platinum guest at this hotel since it's inception in April 2009. Over the past 5 years the service has been top notch until recent. Now under new ownership and management the hotels focus is no longer on the customer service but rather it's bottom line. If you're a Platinum guest and you expect to be upgraded to a suite, don't expect any flexibility in moving to a higher floor or a bigger room. The new rule is to place all hotel guests regardless of status or upgrade in the same section based on room rate. Therefore if your room rate is special (i.e. Points, Cash & Points, AAA or Gov't) you will be placed on a specific lower floor in a smaller room. Bigger rooms are only reserved for guests who pay rack rate (no objections). How do I know this information? Well, as I've stated before I've been staying at this hotel since inception and have built quite a rapport with several of the remaining hotel staff who are very transparent and unhappy with what's going on under new ownership/management. Additionally, the rooms had outdated decor, broken showers, bath tubs that pour green water and if you have the luxury of staying in Tower II do not allow them to stick you in the (01, 02) rooms next to the rear Wet. You will not get any sleep on a floor lower than 10 and security will be unresponsive to your calls. Lastly, they do not honor promise points. Night manager during my stay promised 10,000 points for my suffering. I'm still waiting. Disappointed!!! September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very tired property... A little tired for a W. Was upgraded, but to a very small residential suite - could not find any samples of pictures showing this style room. All furniture and upholstery is dated and worn - with stains on most and tethered fabric on all outside furniture and scratches on most inside furniture. Poolside was a zoo, and given the money they are probably making, I understand why they would not do any upgrades. But the place was just dirty and old - broken furniture, tethered umbrellas, cabanas were grossly dirty - found two used band aids in mine. Staff all seemed exhausted and lazy. Asked for a couple of minor things and the pool staff were literally making up lies to not have to help me. "Oh, only the big cabanas get a fridge." "Then why do three of the smaller ones have one." "Oh, because they were requested." "You, in fact, less than ten minutes ago offered one of those very cabanas to me." Just pure laziness, unfriendly service. The maids cart was visible in the hallway in tower 2 for four days. No attention to service, cleanliness, just desire to rake in cash. If you like Spring Break crowds, go here. August 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing My expectations were very high for this hotel. I was disappointed with front desk check in. Also valet service was poor. No one helped put our bags in car when we left and valet had no idea what he was doing. I stay at a lot of 5star rating hotels, being a Travel Agent and I was very disappointed. I expected more from this property. September 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Way below W Standard I'm Platinum Member for years. I got 2 rooms...711 and 1827. In theory 711 was an upgrade which I can't understand how. My request were High Floor away from Fire Exit..and I got completely the opposite. The Stairs Exit Door started slammig before 8am..so there goes my morning of rest which was the main purposes of spending my points at your hotel At the Bard..we got a waitress that had just started and had no clue what a Martini was The key for the second room for my sister in law (1827) took hours to get even though I chekced in at 4:30pm There was NO Platinum greeting, line or ammenities. Nothing at all.!! I regularly stay at W Hotels but this was the worst experience at W by far December 31, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by great location but really pathetic towels. the towels need to be donated to some shelters or salvation army. definitely not for hotel guests who pay so much to come and stay in a good hotel and have good memories of the vacation. to find towels with holes and ripped at the edges everyday on our return to the room was very upsetting. even after complaining to the style supervisor 2 days in a row, nothing changed. on the 3 day, got the same torn towels. have pictures for proof. would love to post it on the web so people can be more prepared and know what to expect when they get there. January 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by horrible room i was told we would have lounger,no lounger. room had old outdated furniture.carpet was very dirty. was told i had ocean view and it was partial. the dirty carpet was i worst part. had to walk around room in slippers August 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected It seems that this hotel is struggling financially. Even though its employees went out of their way to help us, the hotel was not well stocked. In the morning, we had to go get coffee to the lobby because there are no coffee makers in the rooms. We were not getting the newspaper. Every time I went downstairs to ask for one, they told me they had ran out of them. The room did not have an iPod docking station. When I got one, it didn't work properly. There was no body lotion in the room. When I asked for one, they told me they were out. I did finally get lotion the following day, but by then, my experience at W was ruined. November 29, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Loyalty Betrayed & PrePlanning Punished Totally unfair & unprofessional at Check-In ! Basically our pre-paid reservations, our loyalty to the W and Gold SPG status meant nothing ! It is both disappointing and frustrating to not have reservations honored for loyal customers not to mention the fact that the rooms were booked and prepaid in late November of 2013. It almost makes me feel punished (and discarded for pre-paying..) for having taken the necessary planning steps almost 4 months ago. The person at Check-In even mislead us in offering so-called upgraded suites which were in fact inferior to our original Cool-Corner Rooms which were allotted to other customers which I guess were so much more deserving so as to take our rooms. I had to eventually complain the next day to get credit. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by enjoyed our stay Loved our stay at the W. Wonderful suite, everything was great. Only complaint is that we had to ask 3 times to get our second room made up into a king bed from two sofa's. In their defense, I was given extra reward points for the inconvenience. Highly recommend, we purchase via Jetblue getaway. September 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel should not have four stars The room was comfortable and the staff friendly and responsive however: The housekeeping was below par. The room was not cleaned when we went back to the room at around 2:30 in the afternoon. The second night there were several candies left on our pillow--but only one night. The third night three water bottles were left for us--as if they forgot the other nights and wanted to make up for it. The bathroom was actually offensive. The bathroom is divided into the toilet area and the sink area. The toilet area has a see-through door so you can see the person sitting on the toilet if you are washing up by the sink. Why would you not put in a real door vs. glass? . *I had a package that included $25.00 for breakfast--once we arrived at the hotel we discovered that the W Café was a bar at night and that the "to go" breakfast consisting primarily of coffee, tea, pastries, bagels. quiche, sugared cereals and fruit . It was poorly staffed so you had to wait and out of a lot of the choices--including plain bagels. The fruit was poor quality. *On Saturday night there was a long line of cars for valet parking. I hate to think how long the wait is at the height of the season. Finally, I've never before had the experience where my check-out rate per night is different than the original email room rate invoice--the difference was only $20.00 per night . but it does not leave you with a good feeling--of course, this was corrected when we went to the front desk but there was no reason for a mistake on rates and we never would have noticed if hadn't had a few minutes to check over the invoice.. August 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst experience ever I arrived on February 9,2013 with a sick daughter (nine year old with flu) at 12 noon and asked for any room to check in. Staff kept us for four hours waiting in a lobby. They let viruses fly next to many guests. Telling us hour over hour that room is ready but needs manager to check it; because something is missing. At around 3:30 pm I called for a manager.He arrived with a question why our staff did not place you in one of our hospitality suits? Seriously, why they did not I asked him? Upon arrival in our room that was dirty after 5 hours of cleaning with somebodies hair in the bath I had to call cleaning lady again to start cleaning once again. Only at 6 PM my room was ready. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel, but stop charging for wi-fi We had an excellent 4 night stay at this hotel. Service was top-notch (we were given a room upgrade and free breakfast on check-in), the room was great, Steak 954 excellent. Truly a memorable experience. However, I have 2 complaints. Why does this hotel (and others like it) still charge for in-room wi-fi access, when mid-range and budget hotels give it for free, and why does this hotel charge for local calls - seriously, $1.50 a call? That's beneath a hotel of this calibre, in my opinion. February 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by the W Ft Lauderdale I have been a member of SPG for 10 plus years and own 3 timeshares. I stay at Starwood hotels regularly. For this vacation, I used all of my 98,000 points and was extremely disappointed with my stay. Below are some of the issues. We arrived to a room that was promised as ocean front however it was on the intercoastal. Moved room from a condo to a Ocean view suit - so no kitchen or washer and dryer but cost the same. New room was filthy - floors were dirty, bathroom had long black hairs on the floor, molding was very dirty as well as carpet, head board had something on it, no bathroom rug It was a handicapped room and the seat in the shower was falling off the wall and was moldy After asked for it to be cleaned - bathroom looked better except the shower and rest of room remained dirty Room cleaned and bathroom rug was taken again Whisky Bar was closed all week The fire pit was not turned on at all during the week The only ATM machine in the hotel was down We ate at the Steak 954, the lobster was excellent the $47 steak was ordered med-rare and came out overcooked the second one came out cold and raw - it was returned and removed from the bill With the exception of the Spa personnel the staff was very friendly. The one day of Yoga offered was very good. Bottom line, instead of feeling like I was at a high end resort and spa we felt like we were at a Holiday Inn, insult to injury we used all of our points to have that poor experience. It was not the carefree, stress free, pampered, vacation advertised. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ups and downs I stayed at the hotel becasue we held a function in the banquet space on the 2ND floor. Banquet staff was very accommodating and food was delicious. The sleeping room was lovely though seemed to not have been serviced in a while - burned out lightbulb, tub drain was broken, hair in tub, and missing/used toiletry amenities. Whatever/Whenever staff was attentive when I brought it to their attention. Room service was overwhelmed on my second night and was unable to deliver a soup and grilled asparagus in less than 1 1/2 hours so I cancelled. Morning staff was especially pleasant and thoughtful including WW and room service. Brian, at front desk checkin was very kind. August 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed Our one night stay was a first anniversary gift from a friend that wanted our experience to be a nice one. I don't believe it was what our friend had expected. 1. Difficulty putting the gift together. 2. The gift was supposed to include a welcome platter or gift upon arrival. There was not. 3. Difficulty making reservation. 4. Waited 2hrs to get into room 5. At checkout, we were charged for our room. 6. Waited to longer than was promised to get car. September 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to W hotel standards After my enjoyable stay at The W Hotel (Dec.25-Jan1,2012), I must comment on some areas that need improvement. The pool does not have enough seating to accomodate your guests. I had to get up at 7:00AM to insure that fact that I had a chair each day at the pool. I would have preferred to sleep later on my vacation. In adddition, pool food service was backed up and it took over one hour to get my food, and then I had to get a credit for a turkey wrap that had only one slice of cheese and one slice of turkey! My guest for lunch received a salad served on a dinner plate instead of a salad bowl because they ran out of salad bowls. I did not expect this at a W Hotel. Another area for improvement was housekeeping. Each day I had to request towels and soap. Many days I did not get hand towels or washcloths because they "ran out" of them. The last several days of my stay, beach towels were put in my room because they ran out of bath towels. After each request, I was accomodated, however, I feel this should not have been necessary. I was very upset that I was not allowed to use any bar in the hotel New Year's Eve. There was a party that prevented hotel guests from having a drink at any bar unless they paid a mandatory fee for the party that I did not want to attend. However, I did want to utilize the hotel's bar for a New Years drink. How do you do that to your guests that are paying top dollar to say at your hotel? Furthermore, the morning newspaper was never delivered to my room even after I notified the front desk. I have stayed at other W Hotels and have not encountered these issues. There is alot of work to be done at this property to bring it up to W Hotel standards January 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel and Location For business the rooms were perfect. I had an oceanfront room on the 17th floor which was pretty ice. Had a patio with lounge chairs where you can see the pool below and ocean. Really neat how they designed the pool so you can see from below in the living room. Very courteous staff and friendly. Internet was reliable which was important to me. Definitely geared towards either a single crowd or couples, I noticed very few families. Special thanks to Raul who stepped in at the front desk to complete my checkout when he noticed I had been waiting. Only complaints would be the room clock which didn't work and people smoking around the pool. Definitely a place to visit for the cool trendy hotel. August 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service I stayed for the first time at W Ft. Lauderdale for 5 nights. I was shocked at the their poor service and continued missteps throughout my stay. Here are my complaints so far: * The hotel took 3 days to get me an in room portable refrigerator. * The hotel ran out of towels for their guest. They left only 1 towel in my room for my wife and I on one particular date. We both take multiple showers during the day and after workouts. So, we clearly need multiple towels. They promised to try and get me towels the next day but couldn't do anything for me that night. * Yes, continental breakfast is served on top of a Bar in the lobby on the 4th floor. The continental breakfast was one of the worst I have ever seen in terms of selection. They ran out of muffins, bagels, ceral, and had no juice or fruit. You were left with coffee and an empty container of creme. They only had 1 person manning the continental breakfast behind the bar and it appears he was overwhelmed. Guest were complaining about the selection and lack of juice and cold fruit. I decided to skip 5 days of continental breakfast with our package for my wife and I as they offered very few items on their menu worth eating. Forget about scramble eggs, waffles, juice, and you'll be lucky to find any fruit especially if you arrive after 9:45AM. * When I wanted to register a complaint with the on-site manager, he failed to return my call in an appropriate time. I had to call him 3 hours later and his excuse was that he was making rounds in the pool and couldn't return my call. * I called on 2 occasions to have Valet get my car and they failed to do so causing me to wait in the Valet area for an extra 10-20 minutes. * The management team and their staff did not follow up with my complaints in a resonable time. The only way complaints were eventually resolved was for me to constantly bug them and not the other way around. The provided no appology letters nor phone calls to check up on my complaints to see if they were resolved. I will never come back to the W Hotel Ft. Lauderdale nor recommend it to any of our friends vacationing in Florida. Although the poor service might be restricted to only this Hotel, it was enough to cause me to not want to stay at any Starwood hotel when it comes to my business or vacation travels. December 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the W I love the W Fort Lauderdale because of it's great customer service. The staff goes above and beyond to meet all of your expectations. I love hanging out at Wet the atmosphere is alive and fun. My favorite part of this hotel is when you walk in the lobby the W has the best aroma, it relaxes you instantly. I recommend this hotel to all of my family and friends. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Stay at the W Ft Lauderdale I stayed at this hotel earlier this year for a girls trip and had an excellent time. It was such a great experience that I booked a trip a few months later for my husband's birthday. Jody and Ying assisted with the reservation and even offered a special rate. They were especially sweet and helpful!! Once we arrived, the staff went above and beyond for my husband's birthday. Sabrina welcomed us at the front desk and she was amazing. Our room was not ready so we were given a hospitality room to freshen up. She called every day from that point to make sure we had everything we needed. Bruna made the trip extra special by giving us a complimentary cabana, champagne, beverages and snacks. There was even a Happy Birthday banner on the bed for my hubby! It was the total red carpet treatment. We are planning to go back every year. Not only is this hotel beautiful, fun, clean and modern but the staff is absolutely wonderful. Thank you everyone for making our vacation and my husband's birthday extremely memorable! September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by too busy to provide good customer service the hotel was very full. we had reserved a suite and ended up with a nice room in a very undesirable location. it took 1-1/2 hours just to speak with the manager about this and he was unable to improve the situation although he did provide a small room credit as an accommodation. the cleaning staff was so bogged down that our room was not cleaned until after 5 pm. on the first night, only one of the two twin beds was made up when we returned from dinner so our kids had to wait another 30 minutes to get ready for bed as we waited for housekeeping to finish preparing the room. the overall service level was low for such a nice property. December 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice views. Poor service. Another fun upgrade story. Same thing happened earlier this year. Checked in for one night on points. Basic wonderful room. I saw online there were nicer rooms for sale. Like Fabulous and marvelous. Not suites, mind you. Upon check in the usual schtick. No upgrades available. I show him my phone app selling the nicer rooms. I ask what happens if I buy one? He said then I get that room? So I called plat concierge. Politely explained situation. I watched as they called the front desk. And, magic. We were upgraded to a nicer room -- not a suite. Platinums should not have to do this. And the pool? So small. We are early risers so its fine getting a chair. But by 9am all the chairs are taken. And the area is empty until lunch. People just leave shirts and shoes on the chairs but this hotel does nothing about it and doesn't enforce this 25 min chair holding policy. It's an ok basic hotel disguised as something much nicer. Nice views, zero service. Lots of attitude. December 28, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>