W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check into a room. 

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 711 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware Oversold Rooms and Billing Arrived on January 2 2015 to be given room grade below the one we booked (lacked a Queen Bed) - basically room had one King Bed for four people. Not told that we had been downgraded at check-in I assume that the staff just hoped we would not notice?? Returned to reception to inquire about missing bed to be told that all the Marvellous Ocean Rooms were full. Ended up in right room from January 3 to 7 but charged twice for Munchie Box used by guests who were in the room we were meant to be in on Jan 2. Charged for Rollaway Bed when T&C stated complimentary. Staff removed charges at check out then added back when we had left hotel. I know the hotel was busy but every other 4 or 5 Star Hotel we have stayed in during the last decade has managed to deliver on booked room and not tried to steal money through extra charges. Personally would avoid this hotel at all costs during high season. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff really makes this hotel exceptional Our first stay... What a great hotel. Great rooms, nice pool and movies/popcorn for the kids... What really made our stay perfect was the exceptional customer service by all staff and in particular Emily, a manager at the front desk. She made sure everything about our stay was taken care of (attention to detail). I really appreciate how the staff tries to make all the guests happy during the holiday season.. Kudos to the Emilly and the entire staff at the W Fort Lauderdale. We will be coming back for years to come. January 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the Christmas stay I had hoped for Stayed here during Christmas, and ran into too many issues for the high rate I paid. Had a booked a fantastic suite and been guaranteed a high floor – but received an accessible suite on a low floor. The noise from the pool and ventilator made the balconies almost unusable. Asked for a move, but was told that the fantastic suites no longer go higher than 12th floor. Why wasn’t I told about this change? And why did the W Insider promise me a high floor if she knew that would not be possible? The breakfast at the W Café was served in a meeting room on the second floor, and was probably the worst platinum breakfast treatment I have ever seen. No cushions for the sunbeds on the balcony. When I called about this, they said they were out of them. What? I vented my frustration with the spg twitter team, and like a Christmas miracle there were cushions out there a few hours later. Called for an extra duvet for the bed. Never got it. Called again. Still nothing. Gave up when they told me that “we have a back log due to only one elevator working”. They were fully booked, so that meant an intense battle for sunbeds. We solved this by going to the slightly quieter Wet West at 8am, but if we had wanted to sleep longer, it would have become a problem. Not too happy with Wet West being the announced the “kid pool” over the holiday, though. Isn’t this hotel supposed to be more adult-oriented? January 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly Wonderful Stay! From the moment we stepped in we knew this was no ordinary hotel. From the wonderful scent (I would like to know the name) , to the stylish decor we knew we were in for a treat. We were first greeted at front desk by Gildou, who was friendly and helpful at making our check-in a breeze. When we walked in to our room we were very pleased with the bedding , view and bliss toiletries in the bathroom. During our stay , we noticed that every staff member was friendly and helpful in every way . Then we met Dervin, he was the "icing on the cake" .He went above and beyond to make our stay ENJOYABLE! We like to thank all the staff at the W hotel for making our stay MEMORABLE! Special thank you to Dervin . We can't wait for our next stay at the W fort lauderdale! January 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff My heartfelt thanks go out to Raul Lopez of the W Fort Lauderdale. For the 4th year in a row, my family and I spent the Christmas holidays there last week and loved every second of it. Raul knew when we were arriving and greeted us with a warm welcome upon check-in. He catered to us with a smile on his face. Not only did he check with us periodically to see if there was anything we needed, he even sent us champagne for our family reunion! Throughout our stay he offered us many treats to enhance our vacation. We give thanks to Raul for making every year so special for us. The W certainly wouldn't be the same without him. He is a wonderful representative of the Starwood company. January 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not get the unit we reserved As Starwood guests we were told to call the day before for upgrade info. We did. When we asked for description of the room we were upgraded to, staff there described the room we originally booked. Upon further inquiry she specifically said; "your upgrade is a king suite with a kitchen, dining area, living room and a separate private area, a den with a separate bath". I was satisfied with that. Upon arriving we were given the room originally booked - not the upgrade. When we made it clear this was Not the upgrade, we were given another room on a higher floor that was exactly the same as the room we had just moved from - the floor plan/space was the same. We were polite but very clear that this apparent confusion/misrepresentation was unacceptable. We were then moved to another room that again, was the same area, space and similar layout as the unit we had just left. We were clearly discouraged and very tired from traveling all day. Our dissatisfaction obvious, we were then shown another unit (the exact unit that was finally described to us when the upgrade was requested the day prior to arrival) and were then told we had to pay an additional amount per night in order to stay in that unit. Since the rooms we had moved from had stained dinette chairs, rugs, as well as other issues, we just said fine. Apparently the W needed the additional money more than we did. Poor management decisions, poor upkeep of the units we were offered. Overall an extremely disappointing experience, leaving us with a negative feeling about the W. Perhaps if I hadn't called about the upgrade the day before and gotten the specific details we may not have felt so so disappointed with the W. We never expected such a grueling check in and have never experienced anything like it before, or since. January 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unresponsive Staff Basically the staff is overwhelmed and they make promises they cannot keep. We arrived around 2PM and were told our room would be ready within the hour - after multiple visits to the front desk - a manager finally reconciled the issues and got us our room - but wait - he takes our stored luggage tag, tell us he is getting our room keys and disappears - after 15 minutes - I find a bellmen to go in search of our luggage and room keys - another 10-15 minute and we finally get our luggage and room keys - now closing in on 5. In addition, we had to call everyday around 3:45 to get housekeeping to come up and service our room - repeatedly had to call and would get our room cleaned around 4-5:30 as we would be coming back form the beach and needing to clean up for the evening. The maids would come - not have enough towels etc... and say would have some delivered - we would get back from dinner - and have to call and ask for towels - every day - basically they would do something only when repeatedly asked and then it would be incomplete, Really a poor experience. The topper was the overall cleanliness of an expensive suite - really poor - things like hair on the walls of the shower from previous guests. Carpet and chairs stained and dirty - not vacuumed etc. January 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay only in low season Why I rated one star: Elevators - numerous times I had to skip getting on the elevator due to overcrowding. It stops almost on all floors. You need up to 10-15 minutes to reach 19 th floor. Free breakfast for SPG - served in conference room on three small tables with overall feeling of refugee camp cafeteria. This was the most disappointing thing about my stay. Jacuzzi at the pool area - too cold for a spa with rust around it. Valet - mandatory (no self parking), ignoring, not answering phone calls. Valet also gave my car to another person in front of me and then proceeded to blatantly ignore my remarks to him that it was my car and never apologised for his mistake. Check-in - we waited for rooms longer then hotel official check in time at 4 p.m.. I received keys to the second room and went to the correct door only to find that room was already occupied. I returned to front desk, duty manager apologised and offered compensation of one-night cost of 16000 Starpoints. I agreed, but did not end up receiving my Starpoints. I waited another hour till 6 p.m. for another room. Billing - both of my bills contained multiple false charges. Room - has ice bucket instead of trash can in bathroom. Bathroom entrance curtain fell on my head when I opened curtain. Water handle fell on my feet when I opened the tap (room 1923). Shower has zero privacy and unsuitable for non-couples or for shy people. I am sorry Starwood lost another good properties in this area like Atlantic, St Regis or Diplomat. I don't see good options in this wonderful area anymore. January 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff makes up for some issues My family and I stayed at the W this past week, which was our second stay at this property in the past few years. The hotel itself is very nice, with a great location. The front desk staff is very attentive and helpful, especially Brian Pitts, who went out of his way on several occasions to make sure we were happy. I also want to say thank you to Bruna for her help as well. There are a few negatives that I am sure management would like to know about. We were not very happy with the housekeeping, literally the entire stay. First off the fact that we were out of the room all day on Saturday, yet housekeeping did not come to clean the room until 5:45 PM, is a big negative and when I called to complain, I received no satisfaction at all. Second, housekeeping has a tendency to clean the room and change the towels, however, they left our dirty glasses for the entire 6 days, which after the second day, almost became comical. Overall, the positives definitely outweigh the negatives and we will be back. December 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Gem by the beach! This was our first time in the W Fort Lauderdale but it won't be our last! The hotel located across the beach is beautiful, the rooms are spacious clean with balconies overlooking the beach or the inter coastal - both in our case..the staff super nice from the moment we arrived at the reception Joe was very nice , since we were traveling with our Grandchildren made sure our accommodations were comfortable for all of us..the same at the pool area Alex took really good care of us the kids had a fantastic time as well.. Overall it's a beautiful modern upbeat hotel that caters to everyone !Highly recommend it!! December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! Marvolous Suite ! - WOW ! December 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome place I wanted to try out the W instead of staying at one of the other SPG properties. I was using a reward night, and, unfortunately, only one night. I was unexpectedly given a 2 bedroom suite on the 19th floor. Absolutely amazing room! I was a bit hesitant to use the amount of points I needed just for quick "pre-cruise" night, but it was certainly worth it. I wish I was able to stay longer!! Breakfast was fine, with a nice view too. With such a short stay I really wasn't able to use any of the other facilities or interact with staff, but those I did meet were very accommodating. I'll certainly be back again! December 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday at the W Ultra modern hotel.Dimly blue lit throughout. Suite was beautiful with a great balcony and fantastic view of the ocean.The problem I had with the room was the shower, it was enclosed in glass, which was fine, but it was see thru glass facing the bedroom with no curtain or diffused glass. So whoever is in your bedroom has a full view of your bathing techniques. December 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good News - Bad News Good News - The staff was absolutely the best! Extremely friendly and helpful. The service was much appreciated. Bad News - I am a Platinum member and could not get an upgrade out of a Wonderful room. Even though I showed the staff there were rooms available on my phone. In the past, I was upgraded to the residential tower. Rumor is there is new management and that is not permitted anymore. The coffee maker in the room was not functional and overflowed. I requested a second one, which did the same thing. I was told that they are transitioning to different filters and the old ones did not fit, which is why it overflowed. I got tired of cleaning up the mess. There were two wastebaskets in my room initially. One was removed during housekeeping, so I requested another one. Actually, made the request on two seperate occations and never received it. The balcony was positioned over the roof of the unit below, which contained trash (cigarettes, plastic cups, a cigar). Is this the view the W wants their Platinum guests to see? If there is new management, I would suggest they value loyal SPG members and not stick them in the worst room possible. December 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fifth time staying, most bad, never again So many problems. I was expecting a better stay (note: when I say better, I mean up to par with the SPG brand). This is at least my fifth stay, and will be my last (I will start staying at the Westin). First, based on my last terrible experience, I heard from Gerardo Campos once, who even inquired about my next stay. I never heard from him again. Upon check-in, I had to remind staff that I should be asked about a SPG Platinum amenity. I was also not offered late check out, despite my request. My room: the bath products had been used, some where dirty with black stains on the bottle. Also, the Wifi did not work. Valet: I called down for my car 20 minutes ahead of time for my meeting. I came down after 20 minutes, and valet was standing around and said, "sorry, we forgot." Epically unacceptable, considering I was told that I would not have a dirty room again (I had one twice); would not have issues with toiletries (twice); and wild overall receive better service. December 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Crescendo Overall, the W Fort Lauderdale was Average to Good on account of a stay that crescendoed from Unsatisfactory to Good. My spouse and I arrived at the W the day before Thanksgiving and were disappointed at the service we received initially, but by the time we left the W, we were in good spirits due to the marked improvement of the service. Room Comfort - 4 Stars instead of 5 because we were unable to get the room with the FULL ocean view that we were told we would get. Also, the sign in the room pertaining to cleaning service states that the service runs from 8am-5pm. My spouse called around 6pm in order to check on the matter. The cleaning crew had forgotten to come and clean our room that day. Staff Responsiveness- 4 Stars instead of 5 on account of a bad day 1. The day we arrived, we were told that no one could get our bags for a long time, so we elected to hand carry them. We tried to use a cart, but were told that we were not allowed to use one. Room service forgot about our order on one occasion, then got our order wrong on another occasion. We were offered free alcohol, but my spouse does not drink alcohol. There was a marked improvement in service the following days thanks to two managers: Bobby (?) and Jeff Lee. They compensated our bad first day with a showering of free amenities and gifts. Thanks again you two. Quality of sleep- This would easily have been a 5 had it not been for a 4 a.m. fire alarm that woke my spouse and I and sent us down 19 flights of dirty stairwells. Allegedly, someone's cigarette lit a dumpster on fire which tripped the fire alarm. The rest of the morning was quiet other than having to answer the door for an employee conducting a restock of the bar area. Facilities met my expectations - We must give this a 3 of 5 stars based on the false persuasion that we were getting a full ocean view. 75% of our ocean view was obstructed by the curve-like structure of the southern face of the building as one looks to the west from the balcony. The view to the south comprised the Ritz Carlton and an abandoned and run-down facility directly across the street from the W. 75% of the causeway view was obstructed by the curve-like structure of the southern face of the building as one looks to the east from the balcony. We chose this Hotel for Thanksgiving, our 6th Anniversary, and for a pre-deployment vacation over a formerly Starwood-owned hotel because we believed the view was better at the W. We were either wrong due to deception, not getting the room we wanted, or a combination of the two things. Worth mentioning, but not critical to our stay was the Bliss Spa located inside the hotel. Dawn and Daniela are great massage therapists, but, for the cost, this facility left something to be desired. Steam showers and no jacuzzi or sauna does not fit the price for entry. SPG Recognition - 4 stars out of 5 for no other reason than the fact that we did not get the potential room upgrade that participating Starwood Hotels offer to Platinum level members. I believe only one or two such rooms at the W exist that contain both the spacious bathroom that we wanted and the full ocean view that we were told we would get. Otherwise, the W did an excellent job accommodating its Platinum level guests. Food and Beverage - 5 of 5 stars for uniqueness and availability. My spouse and I saw little need to look elsewhere for a satisfying meal at any time of the day. Steak 954 was even able to accommodate specific requests for items not listed on the menu. Special thanks to Cecilia, R Hanson, Marino, and Ashley for their consistency in providing exceptional service. I recommend having mixed drinks at other places besides the pool area. December 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Service There was a mix up with our room assignment and Mr. Bobby at the Front Desk was excellent and he resolved the problem. I found the service of the staff from Front Desk, Conciege, and Restaurant excellent. December 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Challenging Overall the staff is friendly; respond to issues quickly however there were one too many issues: 1. Assigned to a room that hasn't checked out 2. Double booked my second room 3. The Heat was turn up to 85 4. No conditioner 5. Shower handle fell off 6. Can't lock room door 7. Computer was down when check out November 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Getaway W Resort on Fort Lauderdale Beach is a fantastic way of taking a break from the fast pace of everyday business. The room, large balcony, beach access, pool, restaurant and the pleasant helpful staff makes this resort one of my favorites and visit as much as possible. November 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The W was fantastic - Mr. Raul Lopez Our stay at the W was fantastic and made my wife's birthday a memorable one. I thank all the staff at the W and especially Mr. Raul Lopez that exceeded all of our expectations. Thank you. November 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Front Desk The front desk of this hotel is rude and incompetent . They could not care less and is most unhelpful. November 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by one of the best w hotels from check-in to check-out, everything and everyone made our stay perfect. this is our second extended stay (2 weeks) at this property, and the 2-bedroom suite truly makes it feel like home. great for kids, too. November 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful surprise After a very long day, I was pleasantly surprised on the upgrade that the W offered me upon my arrival. It made all the difference in the world, and will continue to be one of my go to properties when I am in south florida. November 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and obliging staff I am a frequent traveler, but I have never met a staff (not one but all) as friendly and as obliging as staff at this hotel. Service is not a duty, it is a sincere reaction. Special thanks to Emily, James, Brian, Raul and Bruna for making our stay so great. November 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Accomodations We have stayed in many w hotels and this one just couldn't get it right. Booked room with expectations of an area we could put crib as representative advised there was one. Showed up had to move rooms. With baby very inconvenient. Crib never showed. We brought a pack and play we used that. Our keys deactivated every day again very inconvenient with baby. Room charges were inaccurate as my gold status was suppose to take off wifi. Had to advise that we were paying for it. The hotel amenities were great that is why we stay at w but this stay was very different as this is not the standard we are use to. We want to make this a yearly trip with our family. We hope this improves. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sleek & Sexy The hotel is located across from the beach but with its fab pool and bar areas it makes it hard to leave. The service through-out the hotel was on point. The food and service at Steak 954 was excellent! November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel, location and staff A fantastic hotel in everything!!! The staff was very helpful and just could´t help us enough. My son had his birthday and Ms. Bruna made his birthday very special!!! My son had the best birthday thanks to Ms Bruna!!! Bruna is a fantastic person, very friendly, always with a big smile on her lips and did everything to make our stay the best ever! Mr. Raul in concierge is also one of the big stars at the hotel! He helped us with so many things and always with his friendly and wonderful sense of humor. He knew yours and all the guests names and where he had his "office" was almost like a meeting point! Mr Raul and Ms Bruna made our stay even better than it could be. Mr Alex who gave us our breakfast was also a very helpful and charming person. He helped everybody with their breakfast also always with a smile and "have a nice day"! November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing hotel very friendly staffs, check in was super fast and got a free upgrade from the supervisor. the W hotel insider Derick also treated me a bottle of sparkling wine. This hotel is not like other hotel, it's very special, if you are that kind of person would like to try something new, this is the one. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Honeymoon First time staying in a W hotel and we were very impressed. Before arriving, I had been emailing Bruna (W insider) back and forth to let her know it was our honeymoon. Bruna was amazing and she always made sure we were satisfied with anything and everything. With our early arrival, our room wasn't ready yet but they held our luggage for us as we enjoyed our complimentary cabana and the gorgeous WET pool area. We ordered drinks which were fantastic. Once our room was ready they called my cell phone to let us know. Arriving to our COOL CORNER room, we were amazed because it was really "Cool". Amazing view, amazing balcony area and we loved the peek a boo shower. What made it more special is that, emailing with Bruna, she had our first song playing on the tv as we walked in and there was rose pedals in the shape of a heart on the bed. I thought that was all the surprises but one more came at the knock of our door, some sparkling wine from Bruna! I loved all the little details Bruna and the W hotel provided. Location of the hotel is great, we didn't rent a car just used UBER anywhere we went but alot was walking distance. We walked to take the water taxi (highly recommended to explore the city). Overall this is the best hotel we ever stayed at, the customer service was the best overall and we would highly recommend it to couples looking for a romantic sexy stay. Also try to get in touch with Bruna if possible, she will take care of all your needs. November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Stay Never , ever received more friendly greetings than here at the W Fort Lauderdale. It's obvious management gets it because the staff gets it. Location, quality, service---we got it all. Thanks J. Lee for the consideration and everyone we encountered during a most pleasurable stay. We won't hesitate to return and to recommend the W; you earned that. November 10, 2014
  • 2015-04-25T18:40:32.183-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_711, tr_711
  • loc_en_US, sid_1522, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>