W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 783 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tremendous staff but SPG disappointments Staff throughout the hotel were personable and attentive, many addressing me by name after our first meeting. A highlight of my stay was Luis G in the cafe'. He greeted me by name each morning and made sure I had my newspaper of choice--even if he had to go track it down elsewhere in the hotel. Pool staff were also highly attentive and addressed me by name, particularly during the first half of my stay. Service and food in Steak 954 was excellent! I was very disappointed not to be upgraded given our gold SPG status. The hotel was nowhere near capacity (first week of June). The only mention of our gold status was at check-in, when I was offered points or a drink. I was also disappointed that housekeeping arrived so late in the afternoon that it always conflicted with our schedule of cleaning up for the evening. More than half our stay, we had to just grab clean towels and forgo service. Be aware there is a lack of privacy in many of the rooms. There is a door to the water closet but not to the shower area. June 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Stay I've been a SPG Platinum member for over 4 years now. I've stayed at several Starwoods properties over the past years including resorts in the Bahamas and Hilton Head, SC. My wife and I decided to spend our 15th year wedding anniversary at this hotel, W Fort Lauderdale this past weekend and we are glad we chose this property. Not only were we impressed with our suite and the various amenities offered, but the W Insider representative, Derrick Nelson went the extra mile to ensure our anniversary weekend was special. Derrick met us in the lobby when we arrived with our keys. When I told him we were celebrating our anniversary he arranged to have a bottle of champagne delivered to our room (very nice touch). Derrick also gave us a great overview of the hotel and Fort Lauderdale area to help us determine our agenda. Finally, Derrick took care of any request we had. This was by far the best hotel stay we've ever experienced with any hotel chain and the main reason is because of the exceptional customer service exhibited by Derrick. Thanks for the great stay and we look forward to our next visit. June 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service - Rooms a bit worn The only complaint I had at all had to do with the room, It was poorly cleaned, showed wear and tear with stains on couch and floors. None of the wireless handset phones worked (all speaker phone calls), the bose sound system had no instructions and would't function and there were no iPhone 5 cables for docking the radios or sharing music to the stereos/clocks. I found that to be the only draw back for our stay and because my wife and i were there celebrating our 10 year anni, I turned the other cheek so as not to spoil our time sweating over the room details. Just would have been the complete package to have had that quality. Otherwise, incredible service, care and hospitality! June 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Buyer Beware While my stay was okay - we had some issues with the room and had to be moved and the surrounding area was dark and a little sketchy. My bigger issue was with the 20% auto gratuity added to all of my bills throughout the hotel. I dined in several locations and had a pedicure - only 1 person (at the spa) explained to me that the gratuity would be taken with my payment. Poolside - when I told the waitress to charge my card for the bill and for her to take the cash as a tip, She never thought to say - "is this additional" because you will be charged 20%. She basically received a 40% tip for checking on us twice. This policy should be explained at check-in. While the service was ok - it was definitely NOT worth 40%. Very disappointed. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing stay amazing hotel with the best restaurant May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Far exceeded expectations Great accommodations with style and class. Staff was totally customer-focused especially Jeffrey at the front desk, Ali at the pool and Andres also at the pool. My wife and I were on a short getaway for our 15th wedding anniversary and were made to feel special May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than it has to be My experience with south Florida hotels is that often service is lackluster or uninterested. This is another stay at the W Fort Lauderdale where the staff routinely worked to make sure our experience was positive, greeted guests with pleasure at each encounter, and made the stay very pleasant. Good job. May 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close to Beach My friends and I were there to celebrate my 50th Birthday. We had a few bumps when we got there but they staff really made it up to us. A shout out goes to Raul of Guest Experiences, Mickey in Style Management, and Derrick. They made our stay at the W so well worth it! The Steak house was amazing and our waiter, Marco was awesome! May 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best North American Resort Dear Team W Fort Lauderdale, Thank you again for an amazing stay. Not only did you recognize my status as a Platinum Ambassador Level member with an appropriate upgrade and amenity you make my family feel very special. My W Insider worked closely with my Ambassador to make sure our arrival went smoothly. Bruna met me in the living room at check in to welcome me to the property. Shortly after our arrival my favorite off menu item the truffle mac and cheese along with some bubbly arrived at the room with a special note from Bruna and the W Insider team. A very special touch was the fact that the General Manager Mary Louis made it a point to introduce herself to my family and welcome us back. Ryan with in room dinning was the star of this trip for my family. Ryan made sure we had everything we needed from in room dinning and added an extra special surprise along with a special note. These personal touches make my family feel important and valued as a guest. Reina with housekeeping stopped by the room to check on our needs and provide turndown services. Reina went out of her way to provide us with extra bottles of water along with extra Bliss bath amenities. We were traveling with a 3 year old and Edgar with the style team brought us 2 different cribs to try out along with a heavenly crib mattress and bedding. He was so polite and kind in setting up our little mans sleeping accommodations. Andrew at Wet along with John coordinated with our W Insider Bruna to make sure our cabana stay was extra special and frequently checked on my family. We had Andrew running around for items, food and beverages including some complimentary refreshing fruit on such a hot day. The W Fort Lauderdale team is why we return yearly to what I consider to be one of the best SPG North American Resorts. Thank you again for treating us like superstars even though we are just working class folks. May 21, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel did not meet my expectations for a "W" hotel Although the public facilities of the hotel were quite good, the guest room was lacking and seemed as if it hadn't been serviced in some time. The ironing board & cover were cheap and left marks on my clothes, the magnifying mirror was broken, there was no coffee pot in the room and very little water pressure. The worst was the lighting which was awful. The only way the room had appropriate lighting was with the blinds fully drawn which with my view was not an option most of the time. Additionally, the staff at check-in and check-out were extremely slow and not very helpful. May 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Little Place of Heaven in Ft Lauderdale Awesome hotel! Great staff - friendly, helpful and professional. Couldn't ask for a better location on the beach. Would definitely stay there in all my future stays. May 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay! I had a great stay at the W Hotel Fort Lauderdale, FL and as usual, the Staff were very responsive to needs and special requests. You cannot beat the location! May 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by NICE W HOTEL but not for busines traveller As Platinum member I stayed for some month 1 night and was quite happy, but now the current stay with 4 nights showed some weakness. Its a W hotel good for a short vacation but not for busines.(at least not when you have experience in other Ws) The rooms to the ocean have a great view Breakfast is poor, between 6-7 you get just a coffee in the lobby, and some cake. From 7 a.m. you can visit the restaurant, but the choice is poor, the quality is excellent. I never seen any guerst for breakfast. Gym very good, In-room dining excellent. Check-in, check out service poor!! They dont know the difference Platinum/Gold status, they let you wait until 4pm for check in. When you have vist W Hotels like Bali or Hongkong dont go to this hotel you will be very dissappointed. CHRISTIAN VOLK May 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by The room had spectacular view 1. The room with full ocean view is amazing and great size balcony. 2. Bathroom needs better lighting 3. The room has too many things the hotel piles on the dressers and night tables it ends up making the rooms look messy instead of clean and sleek. 4. The bed was very comfortable 5. Love that the shower was all glass and in the middle of the room basically. A room for couples only. 6. The room needs a little TLC (painting, etc...) 7. ANDRES LOPEZ - Pool attendant was amazing and extremely hospitable. Always made sure everyone was comfortable in the pool area and had what we needed. Additions like Andres Lopez is a gem to the W because service like that was top notch. The hotel needs more of Adres Lopez. 8. Whoever manages the pool area needs to be a little bit more mindful on the water temperature of the pool. It was very cold and the water heater was not turn on. 9. Overall great Hotel, they don't bend the rules on check out time without hesitating to say "you will be charged" and that everything at the hotel will cost you extra; everything even when you're paying for a full ocean view room you don't even get complementary WiFi in the room. So you know. May 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff that made our trip..... This is a beautiful, popular and well appointed resort. Brought my daughter and her friend to the W South Beach to celebrate their birthdays! Kelyn is such an asset to this resort. Micci did a wonderful job and Stephan (I hope this is correct), was proactive in assuring comfort in the lobby while awaiting check in. (I did not have the opportunity to see him and thank him for the crackers while waiting in the lobby) Stephan is very guest service oriented. Kelyn made sure the birthdays were acknowledged, celebrated and went out of his way to send birthday celebratory cake and beverages to the room! Great service from a great guy. Thanks so much! Room service was very good and service was prompt. All in all, the W aims to please and it shows. Thanks to Matt at check in as well. April 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by March Break What an awesome vacation! From the time we checked in till the time we checked out, Mr. Notten's team were amazing. Its a perfect destination every year and one that we look forward too. The new deck furniture, upgrades to the hotel and plans for the future are great. As always pool side at a cabana is special and the deck staff are the most friendly and helpful. Gotta say Noah, Alex, Johnny and Brian made our days. The girls from the wet bar also are a pillar to our W experience. Ally, Katlin, Maha, and always Carry made everyday the best. We really felt special and at home while at the W. Don't have to be rich to have the best time there. We will come back over and over. April 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprised and Pleased Starting from our arrival at the W valet, we were well received and the staff was courteous and professional. Jeremy checked us in and we accepted an upgrade. Well worth it! Jeremy also gave detailed answers and directed my daughter and her friend to areas they would enjoy. Eduardo promptly brought up our luggage, answered all questions in a friendly and professional mannet. They offer many extra services, including picking up groceries etc, so just ask. No service is too small. They simply wish to give you the best experience. The ladies who serviced our rooms (thank you Jasmine) were friendly, efficient and did a great job in our 2 bedroom suite. Tipping is not overtly expected...do it anyway. The staff deserves it and it will be graciously received. A special thank you to Mike, who delivered our room service. He has so much personality and We were so lucky to meet him. He was a wealth of information and so much fun! The W certainly is our new favorite vacation spot! Sadly, we are departing tomorrow. We will arrive at the W South Beach tomorrow morning and hoping for a similar experience with the staff. Im looking forward to returning next year after renovations have been completed. You really are just a few steps from the beach. Enjoy! We certainly did. April 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Exceptional Employee: Andreas Lopez and Derrick Nelson We have been incredibly disappointed with the service (both concierge and poolside). However, we wanted to note that two exceptional employees really made our experience here and wanted to draw that to your attention: Andreas Lopez and Derrick Nelson. Andreas Lopez has excellent customer service and was incredibly helpful to us while at the pool. Other servers/employees ignored our requests for chairs, umbrellas, pictures to be taken, and took 20mins+ to give us the bill. Andeas, on the other hand, took down our names to help us find chairs as soon as possible and periodically checked in (using our names!) to ensure we were having a good experience. His friendly demeanor, efficient service, and strong customer service attitude really made our stay. Additionally Derrik has been great, as we voiced these concerns to Derrik and he was very receptive/helpful as well. We travel quite frequently and have not seen such poor customer service in a while, so we wanted to recognize these two employees who really made our experience. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Just got back from a 5 night stay at the W Fort Lauderdale. I was there to celebrate my daughter's 26 birthday and the hotel did everything possible to mark the special occasion! I have stayed at this property before and it is such a gorgeous hotel I was happy to go back and I am already planning to return next winter. I was lucky to have a stunning ocean view and the room was always cleaned and very comfortable. But the thing that stands out the most about this hotel is the management team. They just 'get' it. They understand what makes their guests happy and have trained the most awesome staff, and as a result the service is top notch! I have never met such a great team. April 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay The staff ensured that this trip was the best. From the moment we entered, staff Michel and Raul made every attempt on a daily basis to provide 5star treatment. The food and beverage staff, including Carlos, Dervin and Marialle were top notch. These staff members should be promoted as they are the best face of SPG. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by What a difference 3 months made. Not so great this time! In December, I received a two bedroom suite... amazing room. This time, a regular "Wonderful" room, right next to the elevators. I didn't expect that ridiculously large suite again, but this time was from one extreme to the other, and, not so good. Got to hear all the drunken fools until late. Also, gentleman at the desk asked me about a Gold Preferred "gift". I don't need points, and didn't need internet so I asked for some breakfast. He said no problem, "I could have up to $25". So even the small breakfast (it came to $23) and I was charged for it... so much for the promised credit! While I did check the box "yes" I would recommend this hotel, I would not if you're staying a quick night for a cruise or something, it's just not worth the sheer amount of points required for a nothing special room, and not even getting what was promised. They simply MUST be more consistent with their preferred recognition...it's like a roll of the dice whether you get any kind of decent upgrade, or much of anything for that matter, (as others have said below), and that's a result of poor management. I'll just stay at one of the other Starwood locations next time, get the same room with a bed, and save thousands of points too. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Staff Thank you again for an amazing time at the W Fort Lauderdale. Your kindness and hospitality are why my family and I keep returning to your hotel. The Wet staff are awesome. I hope Alex never leaves this hotel because he is so dedicated to making sure everything is perfect for our vacation. Brian, Noan, Victor, Danny, Luis, and Jonathan are all exceptional guys as well and make sure we have what we need at the pool. I also met Dervin personally as well and he was so kind and made sure everything with our room was fine. Thank you Dervin, Derrick, and Bruna for the chocolates in the room for my nieces' celebration. They were so surprised and impressed. These special things you do is what makes us want to keep coming back often to the W Fort Lauderdale. Oliver in valet is the best valet guy! He is very attentive to his work and calls me by name everytime he sees me. He has the special personality that presents a positive image for the first impressions of your hotel. Looking forwards to returning next month to see everyone. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes us feel at home The W and the SPG program are the only loyalty program in actually loyal to. I am a Platnium member now, but even at gold through my travels we've been treated excellently. My advice is to use the services of the Insiders. They are there to help and Bruna Carvalho in particular is an amazing person who went out of her way to make our mini get away memorable. We stayed in a beautiful room, had room service dinner the first night which to our surprise the Filet was amazing! We sat by the pool in a cabana, had massages and relaxed. FYI for those complaining about the pool, there is a 2nd pool on the other side that is more quiet, just no bar. This is my third time to this property and will not be our last. Amazing staff and we were recognized as SPG Platnium and greeted as such for the stay including the pool Insider as well. Thank you again! April 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top of the line Hotel My Wife and I have stayed at this W many times since its opening. We have at least two trips per year to Fort Lauderdale. We typically, choose Starwood Hotels. The Best travel program that exists. The quality of the Starwood and the W starts with the Personnel. Starting at the Management level, right through to the front desk, greeting, bell people, housekeeping, maintenance, room service etc., etc. At this W, one Manager is Mr. Lopez, he has been here since we started coming. We travel extensively, on a yearly basis, and without a doubt, we have not come across a more genuine, harder working, professional representing their organization. If you think you have a problem, this gentleman is all about solving it. Another is Mr. Harris. We have seen him move up to a Front Desk Manager since his earlier beginnings. This young man is all about Customer Service. With personnel like Mr. Harris, the W knows how to recognize and keep excellent people. With our most recent 3 night pre-cruise stay, everyone we encountered was all about Customer Service, greeting us, always, in a friendly manner. I will mention some of these excellently, skilled personnel; Jeremy, who checked us in, James, a customer greeter, David, a trainee from the Netherlands, Kristan, another Trainee, Oliver, valet parking and Brian, Front Desk reservation. All these personnel were tops with Customer Service and made and make us feel valuable clients of the W. I read some reviews and they seem to have some issues. I like to give management a chance to resolve any issue. If given a chance The W and any Starwood Program Hotel has the personnel that are willing to make your stay as good as it gets. They need the chance to do it without being treated in a 'less than' manner. I can tell you, from experience, some people will always have a problem, and don't really want it fixed. So if you want a great vacation and stay for whatever reason in Fort Lauderdale, The W is tops for accommodation, location, services, amenities, management and whatever else goes with a 5 Star Hotel stay. Total 'thumbs up' to the W in Fort Lauderdale. April 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terribly Managed If you are well travelled, don't stay here as you will be disappointed by the lack of service. Your Starwood status wont matter. You will wait for your room, you will wait for your food, you will wait all day for your room to be serviced. You will be treated as a Spring Breaker who doesn't matter. April 1, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Platinum guest experience whilst the hotel is well situated on the beach, the rooms are good, and the food is ok. What makes a W hotel experience is lacking.. The staff customer service is none existence, and if your a platinum SPG member, get ready for the term we are a resort and that is not included. No Spg lounge. No late check out, your not offered your welcome gift on arrival, and definitely no customer service.. This hotel is not the W experience, I'm a four year platinum member and the W hotel is my chosen brand of hotel, but not the W Fort Lauderdale ... March 31, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expecting more... The staff was not very attentive. The front desk always had long lines and seemed to always need to ask a supervisor for help. The pool was packed and the staff was unable to keep up with the empty cups, trash, etc. Not sure if it's a training issue or simply the need to hire more folks. In my opinion, not worth the room rate... March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Staff The staff at this hotel make the W Fort Lauderdale the best hotel to stay in Fort Lauderdale. The Wet Staff at the pool are awesome. They go above and beyond to make sure all of your needs are taken care of and that you have a wonderful day. Be sure to say hi to Alex. The remodeled area for tables to sit under the shade and enjoy their delicious snacks and the amazing views is a plus. Every staff member at this hotel has been friendly and helpful including the valet attendants. The location is perfect if you enjoy the beach as you can rent chairs and umbrellas right across the street. March 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Facility, Not So Great Service I am a SPG Platinum member and was shocked by what I experienced here at the W Hotel. The staff was nice but they often gave conflicting information when it came to customer service. The refrigerator went out in my suite for which I was given a credit. The remaining credit if any was to be applied to my room balance. This was told to me and documented by the front desk and via text message from my personal concierge .... I received an email from someone who I assume is a manager (no email signature or introduction of his position within the company) stating that although I was promised a credit, the hotel could not grant this request. He instead offered me 6000 SPG points which equates to maybe $5-$10. Unacceptable as I have spent thousands of dollars on this brand and this is the appreciation I get... Let's move on to the Valet Service (Wheels). The 1st night I pulled into the hotel, valet did not greet me. I sat in my car with my window down as attendants moved around me. After 5 minutes an attendant was directed to tell me to pull up some. After pulling my car up I sat in the car another 5 minutes before getting out, unloaded my car, then stood behind my car another 10 minutes with my luggage. An attendant driving by parking someone else's car stopped, rolled down the window and said: You still haven't been helped? Nope! Not even with all these attendants standing around. He then held up traffic and tried to jot down my information to assist me but was then scolded by a supervisor for holding up traffic and trying to assist me. This happened to me 5 out of the 6 times I pulled up to the hotel. I sat in the car not being helped until I turned off my engine and stood there, even during their downtime. The last night I was told I had to wait because they lost someone's keys and the attendants were looking for them.... Not a good 1st impression of an establishment. Once again I was told my account would be adjusted for the $39 per night valet charge.... Did not happen. The front desk attendant said that I had already checked out and the balance could not be adjusted. Funny thing is, per my bank statement the charge for my room went through at 9am.... Check out was not until 1pm. They had no intention of refunding anything, obviously! Very poor service. March 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by NIce Night Stay I had a very nice stay I was made to feel welcome and had fun! March 26, 2015
  • 2015-11-29 T07:40:42.300-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_783, tr_783
  • loc_en_US, sid_1522, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>