W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check into a room. 

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 663 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't go at a busy time My first review ever and I travel fairly frequently; Have been a platinum member now for years....and this was one of my worst experiences ever! 1. Checked in- had to ask for my platinum amenity, feels wierd when u have to ask and also feels cheap. 2. I asked if there were any upgrades available. Response: "you used points for the reservation so you are only gaurenteed a standard room." If they were sold out a better response would have been " I'm sorry we are sold out there are none available." Ironically shortly after I was offered a similar room on a higher floor that was handicap accessible. 3. Took a shower in accessible shower and when I was done, water was filled in the entire room...the accessible shower has no separation or door, just a curtain. And there are no drains or slant to avoid flooding out of the bathroom! Despite being careful I slipped and fell...hard and banged my head. I called to let front desk know that my room was flooded, they sent security up to do an incident report who treated me like all I was looking for was a free room. Never a sorry. And for the record I never asked for anything but to be switched to a room that did not have this problem. Regardless, Nothing was ever offered not even a room switch since they were sold out, except an ice pack for my head. Also, FYI: handicap rooms do not have any doors including None for the toilet...wish I was told this. You can imagine the awkwardness with a fairly new significant other in the room. 4. Lastly...busy times at this hotel will equate to aweful service. They just couldn't keep up. For example...and this is just one small sample- I dialed 0 and waited 10 minutes, then got hung up on! I checked out. Went to the next closest W. was like night and day. Amazing place and incredible service. January 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed again This was my third stay at the W Ft. Lauderdale and each time I walk away disappointed. Being SPG Platinum I have the opportunity to experience W Hotels at their finest and each time this one ranks at the bottom of the list of customer service. All my visits I arrive around 3 PM for check in and each time I can't ever have access to a room until after 5 PM. I was told they would call my cell phone when my room was ready, after 1.5 hours of waiting I walked to the front desk to learn it had been ready. Where was my phone call as promised? Also, I was never recognized as a Platinum guest and never offered a selection of what gift I preferred until I went and asked later on. Twice I called the front desk shortly after check in, only to be put on hold for over 10 minutes. I finally just walked down to the front desk to get what I needed. I was asked what newspapers I wanted delivered as specified in my SPG profile. Only once did I get 1 of the 3 newspapers requested, the other 3 days we received no newspapers at all. When I called the front desk they said they would deliver them, but never saw or heard anything more. After the first day the hand towels disappeared from the room. When I asked housekeeping for a few, she said they ran out. How does the W Hotel run out of hand towels for 3 days? 954 Restaurant was having issues keeping up with breakfast. I waited 15 minutes for a table when the restaurant was half full. The food took over 25 minutes to deliver after ordering and was the wrong side items. Only an apology was offered and nothing more after this long wait. The hotel is located in a perfect spot and offers some of the nicest facilities around. The staff is very attentive and anxious to please guest. However, any time I visit and they are busy, there seems to be problems meeting the W standards I have come to expect across the World. January 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel has terrible service Very understaffed. We shifted our reservation due to weather, and spoke to the person managing the room block, both live an via email, also spoke to the front desk and then arrived, and they still had our reservation canceled from the day we couldn't arrive due to a snow storm. Room service was late just about every time. No poolside service at the West pool. Housekeeping never showed by 2pm. We had to call. Will never stay at this hotel again, or recommend it. February 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but had some issues There was a few problems which was dealt with after speaking with the manager. I wasn't aware of the broken up payments along with the large amount of extra money put on hold for the room bill until a couple of days into my stay which obviously was lack of communication on somebody's part. The problem was explained to me by a manager on duty which she stated was computer generated but still did not make sense as to why a hold of $1,000 over my bill price was placed. Secondly, on Sat. we took a day trip to see Miami. On the way out in the morning, I asked the concierge about having a shirt pressed which I needed that evening and he stated he would take care of it. Once we returned, the shirt was still in the bag on the door and was never pressed not to mention our room had not been cleaned and it was going on 4 pm. I relayed this information to the manager and she did send two employees up to take care of both problems. The concierge, who obviously was told about the issued, sent us a bottle of wine and some cheese and crackers for the mistake which was much appreciated. I did not see him again prior to our checkout yesterday and I would ask you tell him Thank You from us for the gesture. Lastly, another obvious lack of communication, I was advised the rate for valet parking a vehicle was $36, not per day, just $36. I received my bill yesterday and noticed on the way to the airport I was charged per day. Once again, just a lack of communication with your employees. All in all, our stay was a good experience and I would normally stay there once again, but I have to say the computer generated hold for such a high amount over the quoted price will deter us from staying there again. Maybe we are just average people but $1000 over the quoted price is a bit much and now I have to wait 3-4 days for the money to be placed back into my account which hopefully won't be a problem. November 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel gives absolutely no respect to platinum members As an SPG Platinum member, I expected a little more recognition from this hotel. Yet, this hotel was the very first hotel I ever stayed at that gave their platinum member the same privileges as a regular non member. I was very dissatisfied with this hotel. I constantly travel and stay at different hotel very often. But the W Fort Lauderdale hotel was one of my worst places. I would definitely not recommend for a Platinum Member to book a night there. December 10, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel is old and not very clean I would never stay at this W again. I have stayed at many other w hotels in the U.S. and this was not even close to what i expected. the hotel was old and the carpet and upholstery was filthy the view was spectacular and the food was generally very good but expensive in addition I waited in the lobby for over 5 hours for them to prepare my room. yes I arrived early at noon and wasnt able to check in untilafter 4;30 PM March 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by this hotel needs to pay more attention to details We were so disappointed with the entire experience at the w fort lauderdale. I was spending my 50th there and I would never go back. poor management and things dont get done.. the pool is for spring breakers, not for 500-1000 night customers. the beachfront does not rep the w well. no service, pay for chairs, that is silly.. you pay a lot to stay and then you need to rent a chair to sit on the beach at the w?? the staff at pool is so rude and could care less if they wait on you or not. there were some excellent people like bobby, and the valet and the housekeeper, but the ability to satisfy or go the mile is not there. I just wanted no stress and everything felt tense.. they said they were busy and that the pool staff was a third party company and I should deal with them.. that was a turnoff for me. overall, I was happy to go and happy to leave. Not the experience I wanted. March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Favorite place to stay in Fort Lauderdale I have stayed at the W Fort Lauderdale many times and I'm never disappointed. The staff, rooms, pool and food are all equally amazing. It is truly a wonderful get away and you feel as though you are at a resort property. I love spending time at the pool overlooking the Ocean. Great drinks, healthy food menu and super nice bartenders.The front desk staff is very welcoming and alway helpful. The rooms are clean, comfortable and relaxing. The view from the balcony is gorgeous. Most rooms give a view of the ocean and the intercoastal. I've stayed here many times and plan to stay many times again. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Weekend From the moment we walked through the doors of the W Fort Lauderdale we were amazed by the attention to detail, the personalized assistance and the unique design elements around every corner. Great service and food each morning at Steak 954 was followed by an attentive pool staff. We rented a cabana for 2 days and would like to give a special thank you to Alex and Jeremy, as well as Meha for their exceptional service. In addition, W-Insider Ryan took the personalized service to even higher level. The spectacular views from our cool corner room 2124 were absolutely breathtaking. We are looking forward to spending many more vacations at the W, and already have and will continue to recommend it! October 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by UNSANITARY CONDITIONS "AFTER" check-in we were told water would be down between 12:30-4:30am. Water was NOT restored, could not flush toilet, no showers. We were told we could use the showers & toilets across the street at another hotel. Seriously?!?! Over $500. a night for deplorable conditions..In addition, carpet was filthy, we wouldn't take our shoes off. The GM offered 12k Starwood points for the inconvenience...not acceptable! Please refund nights stay ASAP. October 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Incorrect Room Booked Oasis Oceanfront room because wanted oceanfront. Called ahead on day of arrival and confirmed with frontdesk. Upon arrival received suite but not oceanfront. They had no other rooms. Management was VERY accommodating and appolgetic. Next day they arranged move to oceanfront suite. We made other arrangements. Hotel not on beach but across street from beach. Beach very narrow. Hotel bathroom not clean. Boogers on counter & private hair in bathtub. August 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The worst W Hotel I've ever stated at. Not worth it Terrible service. Called down two nights in a row to have the room cleaned and both times the request was ignored. Shocking lack of attention. Restaurant in the morning for breakfast is unbelievably slow and poorly managed. Would not stay here again. December 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by After 200 nights at this Hotel..... Sad to say this Hotel does not value it's Guests. I have spent over 200 nights at this Property over the last 3 years. That has come to an end. This Hotel has become a place that has forgotten what Hospitality means. I have asked for a Manager on 5 occasions in 3 years...never spoke to one. You would think they would value a very frequent Guest, not so. The only bright spot was the Valets...once you get on the elevator to the Lobby prepare to be treated poorly. Beautiful building and location...sad they have taken this attitude. Platinum Member for 3 Years August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great property for a weekend getaway I've been to this property twice now and they do a great job recognizing platinums with room upgrades. Room and facilities are great!! The pool is always fun to hang out at during the day. They definitely need to light up the pool area some at night though. Way too dark. Getting 4pm late checkout has been a hassle both times. The staff isn't consistent. I'll be told that 4pm isn't available but then if I ask someone else, they happily tell me it isn't a problem and immediately update my reservation. Overall, great hotel to enjoy some fun in the sun! January 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome W Stayed here 3 times, and with every stay I get a better upgrade, the latest one to a very nice suite! Pool area is fun, as is the living room. Gym is big and well equipped, and the steak restaurant is wicked as well, with great decor and outside area. Concierge (Jay) is very good as well, happy to help, and they even offer free copies of WSJ and FT at the concierge desk! Spa staff were great, and let me use the shower and sauna after I checked out. My only complaint is that housekeeping didn't seem to get around to cleaning our room until about 6pm! The hotel is also well located, 10 minutes walk from the low-end bars, and 10 minutes in the other direction to some higher end restaurants. Great value, probably the W with the best rooms ever! April 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service - not quite Hotel was nice. It wasn't very busy, but that is Okay. My problem with my stay was with the staff. At check in, the man checking us in seemed uninterested and never made eye contact. He just looked down at his computer the whole time. On our second night, we returned to the room, and our bed was not made and towels not replaced. I called to ask why, and the operator told me that I opted for the "Green Program" in the system. I said I did not opt for anything and if i did, i would not be calling. The operator did not try to appease me in any way, she just kep saying that "its in our system". Finally, she gave and admitted that maybe the chekin guy made a mistake. She then said that she would talk to the check in host and make sure he clearly explains the "Green Program". Okay, Great, i was fine with that. She even called back to tell me that she spoke to the man that checked me in and aplogized again. The next morning, I get a call at 7am! I asnwer and am greeted with "Good Morning, This is your Wake Up Call!" I respond with " I did not order a wake up call!". Then the same story for 2 minutes with the whole "It's in our system" story... Which leads me to believe that the guy who checked me in thought it would be a getting even blow to order me a wake up call at 7am. I know that this may seem like crazy talk, but it just goes to show how i felt the staff was treating me. So, in conclusion, Nice Hotel, Very modern, Nice Rooms, On the beach.... My only negative was the Staff Service. December 21, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by WOW! Complete disappointment At the conclusion of our 2 week honeymoon cruise in the Caribbean my wife and I thought it would be nice to spend a couple nights in Fort Lauderdale and celebrate New Years... We booked two nights at the W Fort Lauderdale and were excited for the amazing rooms/bedding we are accustomed to at the W hotels. What a disappointment! Upon check in, we were escorted with our luggage by the bellman to the SPG check in counted. After waiting 5 minutes someone finally came to us and advised us that we should wait in the long line to the left with the people checking out. Obviously not a great start! We were than advised that our room was not ready. Aftter having lunch we did get into the room... We got ready for the days/evening activities with the doors open enjoying the nice ocean breeze. This turned out to be a bad idea as the breeze seemed to mask the urine smell present in the room when all the windows were closed. We made the hotel staff aware of this smell (like an old lady's house w/ 17 cats) first thing in the morning as my wife did not want to repack and move at 1:00am... After calling the front desk at 8:00am, I was told that I will get a call back from the manager shortly. By 9:30am I had still not received the courtesy of a return phone call... At that point we were so disappointed/frustrated with our experience we decide to check out and go elsewhere. Upon checkout, I was threateend with penalties for an early checkout. I took my receipt for our stay and we left. This was definitely not the way I had hoped to conclude my honeymoon. Complete disappointment with the experience! January 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel lacks Poor first impression upon arrival. Dark entry with no staff inside. Main desk on 4th floor. Overall hotel is dark everywhere. No bright lighting. Cold feeling. Two night stay. Gone all day at business meeting. Returned at 5pm. Room not cleaned. Took nap before 7pm dinner. Maid knocked and woke me up at 6pm to clean room. Sent her away. Went to dinner and returned at 10:30pm. Room still not cleaned. No fresh towels. Bathroom open concept. Dark. Not enough light to comb your hair. Peek-a-boo window from shower to main room?? No coffee maker in room. Had to order coffee that ended up costing me almost $20 with taxes and tip. Water bottles placed around the room that I was later charged for. Mattress was very lumpy and uncomfortable. Nothing at hotel seemed convenient. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel & Great Service I want to write this review to share my wonderful experience at the W hotel. My wife and I regrettably did not stay there, the couple we were traveling with did, but we spent basically our whole vacation inside the W. I'm not kidding. We had planned to explore Ft. Lauderdale but were just having too much fun hanging at the pool, the bar at the "Living Room", and the restaurant Steak 954. Every morning we would meet our friends at the W, head to the pool, then relax and enjoy the beautiful ocean view and fun atmosphere. We would then make our way down to the "Living Room" bar where we would order lunch and try spectacular cocktails from our favorite bartender, Gabrielle. I would like to thank Gabrielle for taking such great care of us during our trip, she is one heck of a bartender. Our first day meeting her, Gabrielle took the time to discuss with my rather picky wife what flavors she likes and wanted in her drink, she made her "The Carla Colada" (wife's name). After tasting her drink, the rest of us were inspired to try something different that she recommended for us. Each day we looked forward to chatting and sharing laughs with Gabrielle (and trying her delicious cocktails of course). Her charming and genuine personality are rare indeed. Next, I would like to point out how excellent the food and service is at Steak 954. I enjoyed winding down at the end of the day eating a terrific meal surrounded by a relaxing ambiance. My wife and I did not want to leave to go back to the condo we had rented. We are definitely planning another trip, and this time will not make the mistake of staying anywhere else besides the W hotel. I will recommend this beautiful, and exciting hotel to everyone I know visiting Ft. Lauderdale. Thank you W for such a great vacation! September 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment I would firs tike to say that in general the staff at the W were absolutely amazing. They were always very friends and personable. With regards to them and the way they made me and my guests feel was great. While your staff is amazing I feel that I need to let you know about the great list of things that fell short of my expectations during my visit. While our room was spacious, that is about the only thing that was good about it. The general condition of it was bad. There were water stains on the floor around the washing mating. The furniture was beaten up and definitely showed wear and tear. The sink in the main bathroom was obviously painted and definitely needed to be repaired. The housekeeping every day managed to forget to service something correctly. One day I even ran out of toilet paper because none was replaced, while I even left the empty roll on the top of the toilet for her to see. They repeatedly took our robes and did not replace them. Having to call for new ones every day was annoying. The one night we called for turn down service because we were going to have guests over after dinner and it was not completed. I called the front desk and asked to talk to a manager and I was told that I could not speak to one because he was busy, even though I offered to wait on hold. Our fist day at the pool we waited 50 minutes for our food, our waitress wound up bringing us two rounds of drinks for free because of the wait. On our last day I waited over an hour for my burger, and was told that "the kitchen lost the ticket". One of our room service orders had a medium burger and it was literally raw in the middle. In the six days there I managed to spend a little over $6,000 yet somehow I feel that I could have gotten better service and more for my money staying a a discount hotel. I am completely dissatisfied with my visit. This W hotel falls completely short of not only my expectations but what a W hotel is supposed to offer. November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel, location and staff A fantastic hotel in everything!!! The staff was very helpful and just could´t help us enough. My son had his birthday and Ms. Bruna made his birthday very special!!! My son had the best birthday thanks to Ms Bruna!!! Bruna is a fantastic person, very friendly, always with a big smile on her lips and did everything to make our stay the best ever! Mr. Raul in concierge is also one of the big stars at the hotel! He helped us with so many things and always with his friendly and wonderful sense of humor. He knew yours and all the guests names and where he had his "office" was almost like a meeting point! Mr Raul and Ms Bruna made our stay even better than it could be. Mr Alex who gave us our breakfast was also a very helpful and charming person. He helped everybody with their breakfast also always with a smile and "have a nice day"! November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the laid back comfort of this hotel I have stayed here a few times. It has become my preferred vacation stop in S FLA. It offers all the amenities including beach access, pool, exercise room, high end restaurant, etc.. as its high end competitors but its feels so much less frenetic than similar places like the Westin Diplomat or the W South Beach. For some, this location (and FLL in general) might be a little too laid back for the late night crowd. However if you are looking for an entertaining and relaxing luxury hotel, this W is a good choice April 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service We rented three rooms at the hotel for a group of 10 people and the entire weekend was excellent. The rooms were top of the line and every staff that we interacted with were great. We spent most of the two days that we were there at the pool area and the service was outstanding. The manager and staff answered all the questions that we had and gave us excellent recommendations. I've travelled throughout the world and this was one of, if not, the best hotel stay I've had. I will definitely come back. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Wouldn't stay at any other Hotel but the W Ft. Lauderdale I had a great birthday getaway ! It was like a personal retreat. The atmosphere in general is relaxing. You can't help but to be happy during your stay ! The staff is helpful and attentive. The views from the pool is breathtaking. I've been spending the last 3 birthday at the W-Ft. Lauderdale, and I wouldn't spend it any other place. My checkout process was so smooth. My bags were picked up from my room and placed in my car in less than 15 minutes. Thanks for an amazing Stay, Till next year ! :) September 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Satisfied I recently stayed at the W hotel in Fort Lauderdale and I had a bad experience. First of all the room service was not very efficient and when I asked for hot water (one morning) to drink (generally hotels I have stayed had a coffee maker which I used for hot water), I was told that it will be delayed by half to one hour. The second issue is that even though I paid for a spectacular room, I didn't get a room with a good view and only a very narrow side view of the ocean. The third and main issue is the huge amount I have been charged for valet parking which I didn't know was chargeable. Nobody ever told me that the valet parking is chargeable (too high!) and when I talked to the hotel representative, he rudely said nothing can be done about it. I had great expectations from such a great hotel and I have been let down badly. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel I booked two rooms while traveling down to FL for my friends' wedding. The hotel lobby was beautiful and definately a WOW! The sensory decor and even the scent was very welcoming. Everyone from the door ambassadors who opened my cab door to the Style attendant on my floor were all smiles and made me feel at home. The Fabulous Room upgrade overlooking WET and the ocean was perfect. Peek-a-boo shower was my favorite treat. Emily at Welcome, Brittany at Living Room, John at the restuarant, and especially Jody in the Executive Office were all very helpful and accomodating. Definately a must stay when coming down to Ft. Lauderdale. February 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sleek & Sexy The hotel is located across from the beach but with its fab pool and bar areas it makes it hard to leave. The service through-out the hotel was on point. The food and service at Steak 954 was excellent! November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing hotel very friendly staffs, check in was super fast and got a free upgrade from the supervisor. the W hotel insider Derick also treated me a bottle of sparkling wine. This hotel is not like other hotel, it's very special, if you are that kind of person would like to try something new, this is the one. November 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Mixed Feelings I had a quick stay at the hotel this weekend for a wedding. I spent some time at the spa & pool which I thought was great.. The only thing I have to complain about is the condition of my bathroom. when I first used the shower I found multiple hairs from a man and woman in the walls and floor of the shower. I don't expect to have to clean a shower before I use it at a hotel. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Stay Never , ever received more friendly greetings than here at the W Fort Lauderdale. It's obvious management gets it because the staff gets it. Location, quality, service---we got it all. Thanks J. Lee for the consideration and everyone we encountered during a most pleasurable stay. We won't hesitate to return and to recommend the W; you earned that. November 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>