W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check into a room. 

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 596 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by greater fort lauderdale great accommodations, beaches and service! August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has excellent customer service The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. Anything you need, they are there to make it happen August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay at this hotel The room was clean, with a beautiful view of Fort Lauderdale. The hotel is right on the beach, and there is a nice breeze from the balcony. The concierge gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant down the street, which was delicious. I also enjoyed the Bliss spa products and the spa-like shower and towels in the room - very relaxing! August 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected It seems that this hotel is struggling financially. Even though its employees went out of their way to help us, the hotel was not well stocked. In the morning, we had to go get coffee to the lobby because there are no coffee makers in the rooms. We were not getting the newspaper. Every time I went downstairs to ask for one, they told me they had ran out of them. The room did not have an iPod docking station. When I got one, it didn't work properly. There was no body lotion in the room. When I asked for one, they told me they were out. I did finally get lotion the following day, but by then, my experience at W was ruined. November 29, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Only Place I will stay When I am in Ft. Lauderdale - The W is the only place where I will stay. I love this hotel! August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Experience The staff and service were great. Everyone had a smile on their face and were very accommodating. Can't wait to return! August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best time ever! As soon as you walk into the hotel the staff is attentive and greets you with a smile. I stayed for 4 nights and 5 days. Our room exceeded our expectations, and room service did a great job maintaining it everyday. I even did boot camp every morning, which is complimentary, they provide waters and towels for you so all you have to do is show up. The hotel is in front of the beach so it is very convenient, and with a beautiful view. Their pool is also amazing my daughters loved it. Next time I'm in Ft.Lauderdale I will be staying at the W again!!! August 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst experience ever I arrived on February 9,2013 with a sick daughter (nine year old with flu) at 12 noon and asked for any room to check in. Staff kept us for four hours waiting in a lobby. They let viruses fly next to many guests. Telling us hour over hour that room is ready but needs manager to check it; because something is missing. At around 3:30 pm I called for a manager.He arrived with a question why our staff did not place you in one of our hospitality suits? Seriously, why they did not I asked him? Upon arrival in our room that was dirty after 5 hours of cleaning with somebodies hair in the bath I had to call cleaning lady again to start cleaning once again. Only at 6 PM my room was ready. February 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by the W Ft Lauderdale I have been a member of SPG for 10 plus years and own 3 timeshares. I stay at Starwood hotels regularly. For this vacation, I used all of my 98,000 points and was extremely disappointed with my stay. Below are some of the issues. We arrived to a room that was promised as ocean front however it was on the intercoastal. Moved room from a condo to a Ocean view suit - so no kitchen or washer and dryer but cost the same. New room was filthy - floors were dirty, bathroom had long black hairs on the floor, molding was very dirty as well as carpet, head board had something on it, no bathroom rug It was a handicapped room and the seat in the shower was falling off the wall and was moldy After asked for it to be cleaned - bathroom looked better except the shower and rest of room remained dirty Room cleaned and bathroom rug was taken again Whisky Bar was closed all week The fire pit was not turned on at all during the week The only ATM machine in the hotel was down We ate at the Steak 954, the lobster was excellent the $47 steak was ordered med-rare and came out overcooked the second one came out cold and raw - it was returned and removed from the bill With the exception of the Spa personnel the staff was very friendly. The one day of Yoga offered was very good. Bottom line, instead of feeling like I was at a high end resort and spa we felt like we were at a Holiday Inn, insult to injury we used all of our points to have that poor experience. It was not the carefree, stress free, pampered, vacation advertised. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel and Location This was my first stay at the W in Ft Lauderdale. I received an outstanding upgrade to a full suite making it the nicest hotel room of any hotel room in which I've stayed. It also had a wonderful view of the ocean. Service is consistently good at all Starwood Hotels. Between the SPG program, typical quality of their hotels and courteous service, I always try to stay in a Starwood property. I've also stayed at the Westin in Ft Lauderdale but the W is much nicer. My only objection to this hotel was that there were no easily accessible restaurants within walking distance except for hotel restaurants which tend to be pricey for expense account meals. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel, but stop charging for wi-fi We had an excellent 4 night stay at this hotel. Service was top-notch (we were given a room upgrade and free breakfast on check-in), the room was great, Steak 954 excellent. Truly a memorable experience. However, I have 2 complaints. Why does this hotel (and others like it) still charge for in-room wi-fi access, when mid-range and budget hotels give it for free, and why does this hotel charge for local calls - seriously, $1.50 a call? That's beneath a hotel of this calibre, in my opinion. February 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great setting for weekend "staycation" !! We recently reserved two, 2-bedroom suites for a family and friends "staycation". The resort was perfect for us, both in terms of service and overall fun/activities. The tone was set at check-in, when Michelle went out of her way at making us feel welcome, and continued throught our stay. The WET area at the pool was both fun and relaxing, and great service extended by John and Cara(spelling?). Will certainly return and recommend to others! August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to W hotel standards After my enjoyable stay at The W Hotel (Dec.25-Jan1,2012), I must comment on some areas that need improvement. The pool does not have enough seating to accomodate your guests. I had to get up at 7:00AM to insure that fact that I had a chair each day at the pool. I would have preferred to sleep later on my vacation. In adddition, pool food service was backed up and it took over one hour to get my food, and then I had to get a credit for a turkey wrap that had only one slice of cheese and one slice of turkey! My guest for lunch received a salad served on a dinner plate instead of a salad bowl because they ran out of salad bowls. I did not expect this at a W Hotel. Another area for improvement was housekeeping. Each day I had to request towels and soap. Many days I did not get hand towels or washcloths because they "ran out" of them. The last several days of my stay, beach towels were put in my room because they ran out of bath towels. After each request, I was accomodated, however, I feel this should not have been necessary. I was very upset that I was not allowed to use any bar in the hotel New Year's Eve. There was a party that prevented hotel guests from having a drink at any bar unless they paid a mandatory fee for the party that I did not want to attend. However, I did want to utilize the hotel's bar for a New Years drink. How do you do that to your guests that are paying top dollar to say at your hotel? Furthermore, the morning newspaper was never delivered to my room even after I notified the front desk. I have stayed at other W Hotels and have not encountered these issues. There is alot of work to be done at this property to bring it up to W Hotel standards January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was awesome!!! We never left the room... It was incredible. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel staffs service are great The hotel staffs helped me with all my needs and went above and beyond my expectation August 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service I stayed for the first time at W Ft. Lauderdale for 5 nights. I was shocked at the their poor service and continued missteps throughout my stay. Here are my complaints so far: * The hotel took 3 days to get me an in room portable refrigerator. * The hotel ran out of towels for their guest. They left only 1 towel in my room for my wife and I on one particular date. We both take multiple showers during the day and after workouts. So, we clearly need multiple towels. They promised to try and get me towels the next day but couldn't do anything for me that night. * Yes, continental breakfast is served on top of a Bar in the lobby on the 4th floor. The continental breakfast was one of the worst I have ever seen in terms of selection. They ran out of muffins, bagels, ceral, and had no juice or fruit. You were left with coffee and an empty container of creme. They only had 1 person manning the continental breakfast behind the bar and it appears he was overwhelmed. Guest were complaining about the selection and lack of juice and cold fruit. I decided to skip 5 days of continental breakfast with our package for my wife and I as they offered very few items on their menu worth eating. Forget about scramble eggs, waffles, juice, and you'll be lucky to find any fruit especially if you arrive after 9:45AM. * When I wanted to register a complaint with the on-site manager, he failed to return my call in an appropriate time. I had to call him 3 hours later and his excuse was that he was making rounds in the pool and couldn't return my call. * I called on 2 occasions to have Valet get my car and they failed to do so causing me to wait in the Valet area for an extra 10-20 minutes. * The management team and their staff did not follow up with my complaints in a resonable time. The only way complaints were eventually resolved was for me to constantly bug them and not the other way around. The provided no appology letters nor phone calls to check up on my complaints to see if they were resolved. I will never come back to the W Hotel Ft. Lauderdale nor recommend it to any of our friends vacationing in Florida. Although the poor service might be restricted to only this Hotel, it was enough to cause me to not want to stay at any Starwood hotel when it comes to my business or vacation travels. December 31, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by above and beyond very impressive, extremely friendly staff. I was in town for the loss of my best friend, so not a vacation for me. The friendly staff and impressive hotels made things a little easier for myself dealing with this hard time. Many serenity places there to just sit and think. Job well done ! August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by too busy to provide good customer service the hotel was very full. we had reserved a suite and ended up with a nice room in a very undesirable location. it took 1-1/2 hours just to speak with the manager about this and he was unable to improve the situation although he did provide a small room credit as an accommodation. the cleaning staff was so bogged down that our room was not cleaned until after 5 pm. on the first night, only one of the two twin beds was made up when we returned from dinner so our kids had to wait another 30 minutes to get ready for bed as we waited for housekeeping to finish preparing the room. the overall service level was low for such a nice property. December 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice views. Poor service. Another fun upgrade story. Same thing happened earlier this year. Checked in for one night on points. Basic wonderful room. I saw online there were nicer rooms for sale. Like Fabulous and marvelous. Not suites, mind you. Upon check in the usual schtick. No upgrades available. I show him my phone app selling the nicer rooms. I ask what happens if I buy one? He said then I get that room? So I called plat concierge. Politely explained situation. I watched as they called the front desk. And, magic. We were upgraded to a nicer room -- not a suite. Platinums should not have to do this. And the pool? So small. We are early risers so its fine getting a chair. But by 9am all the chairs are taken. And the area is empty until lunch. People just leave shirts and shoes on the chairs but this hotel does nothing about it and doesn't enforce this 25 min chair holding policy. It's an ok basic hotel disguised as something much nicer. Nice views, zero service. Lots of attitude. December 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the Young This was my first visit to a W, and my initial impressions were favorable. You have to valet park at an additional cost as there is no alternative but the staff were very courteous and responsive. Check in was efficient and as some previous reviews have stated the decor is a little dark. Room was clean and we were given an upgrade at no extra cost. Fortunately there was only my husband and I as the bathroom had very little privacy with a glass wall between bedroom and shower and only a frosted glass door for the toilet. The hotel was very busy consequently the pool area was very busy with load music playing constantly. I realized that most clientele were young adults and I think the hotel caters well for their needs, families with young children were probably not so happy. Having to pay additional charges for chairs and umbrellas on the beach I believe added to the pool being busy and I don't understand why the hotel has to do this. We were told that it was because it was a public beach but we have been to other hotels on public beaches where the facilities were included in the hotel amenities. At night we did have issues with very late noise in the corridors and adjacent rooms, but as the hotel seems to cater for young adults this should be expected. I believe that the hotel should make it clearer about the market that they are catering for. August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Coolest propery on the beach Loved the pool, the bars, reception. My only complaint was that you didn't get much food for the price at the pool. $9 for ONE little summer roll. On the other hand, Steak 954 made me forget all about it. Well done! August 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staycation The staff was amazing!!! The hotel facilities and room were excellent. August 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer Service very lacking! Negative experience--no phone service for 3 days--no Internet-I was there for Business. Waiters banging on doors at midnight searching for whoever had ordered room service since there was no phone service--guess the guy went downstairs and ordered. I went to front desk about telephone numerous times--they acted shocked that I had no phone--like it was the first time they heard of it. Room wasn't serviced but no way to call.They put a letter under our door with phone numbers of managers--but none of them worked. Would have been fine if I were there for vacation--in fact it would have been nice! not my favorite hotel for sure! July 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by SPG Gold Member. W FLL very unsatisfactory First I want to start off by saying we got to the hotel and was advised that there is only valet parking. The W does not advise you of this. Then when we get to the checkin floor the lines where long. We waited about 2-3 hrs before we got a room when we advised the W what was our arrival time. We were promised that we would be given one of the best rooms in the hotel, come to find out that was not the case and we were advised of this by the manager. I was not given any additional benefits being a SPG gold member and I have travelled to many properties with the SPG network and this by far was the worst. I wrote a review when they sent an email and all i got was a computer generated email saying they are sorry. How sad a big property like that would not do anything for Gold member let alone any customer. The room was dirty when you slide the door for the toilet there was hair and black dust stock on the floor that looked very disgusting. The shower had an awful smell and there was long hair inside the shower. The room was very dismal and just plane and no color to it. It was definitely a bad experience. Many times we went to the west pool and there were no towels that we had to go to the other end to get towels. The room was not what we expected and the view could have been better. We saw not but construction and demolition going on across the street. The room was also not cleaned as it was suppose to be. August 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great spot on the beach but pool staff and service staff were very accommodating and very professional. problem was with checkout. had an early flight. asked the front desk in person for a 5;30 wakeup call. he wrote the info on the back of a document he had in his hand. I said to my travel companion who there was no way this guy is going to remember our wakeup call. sure enough I happened to wake up at 6:00 by chance by looking at my phone. clock radio was not functioning properly. went to check out bc there was no bill under the door. was told by the same guy who was supposed to wake us up that he could not print a bill and would have to email me. he could not even accept a cash payment. this is what separates a great hotel from a good hotel. I guess that whenever, wherever slogan is just for show. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by View was amazing The room we had was a corner room on the ocean and was wonderful. August 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doubt I would ever return to this hotel... This hotel was a disaster from the start. At check in, which took almost 20min; they could not figure out my reservation (which was for a suite). I was then put in a handicapped accessible suite, without being told so and didnt realize i was in one until i tried to take a shower after unpacking at 9pm on a Friday night. I'm 6'3", so having to almost completely bend over to take a shower is not very ideal. On top of it, it was not the type of suite/room that I had even booked in the first place and the main reason that was the trype of suite I wanted was not even featured in the one i was placed in. The next day, after being out all day our keys did not work upon returning to the room. We not only had to go back down to the front desk one, but THREE times to finally have the keys work. Completely unacceptable! Both times that I asked if I could switch suites, I was told I could only be moved to another handicapped accessible suite on an even lower floor..... There was not even a mention of lookin to upgrade me to a different type of suite, even though I am a Platinum Member. It has now been 4 days since checking out and they double held $$ for incidentals to the room and they still have not dropped off of my credit card. NEVER AGAIN AT THIS PROPERTY! December 8, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This hotel lacks Poor first impression upon arrival. Dark entry with no staff inside. Main desk on 4th floor. Overall hotel is dark everywhere. No bright lighting. Cold feeling. Two night stay. Gone all day at business meeting. Returned at 5pm. Room not cleaned. Took nap before 7pm dinner. Maid knocked and woke me up at 6pm to clean room. Sent her away. Went to dinner and returned at 10:30pm. Room still not cleaned. No fresh towels. Bathroom open concept. Dark. Not enough light to comb your hair. Peek-a-boo window from shower to main room?? No coffee maker in room. Had to order coffee that ended up costing me almost $20 with taxes and tip. Water bottles placed around the room that I was later charged for. Mattress was very lumpy and uncomfortable. Nothing at hotel seemed convenient. May 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience We checked into the W in Ft Lauderdale on Sat Feb 15th. We asked for an early checkin when the reservation was made. We arrived at 12:30 and waited 4 1/2 hours for our room suite. Upon entering the room, we noticed how filthy the floors were in addition to finding long black strands of hair attached to the shower door. Then we discovered large clumps of black hair surrounding the bathtub located in the master bedroom. Mgt was notified. We called and left a message for the GM and never received a call back. In addition, when arrived. the valet was no where to be found. We managed to locate a valet cart and proceeded to load all of our own luggage into the cart to proceed inside. No door man or electronic doors when entering, the main doors were filthy and full of fingerprints and more. It gets worse. The next morning we look to see where we can get coffee. We proceed to the lobby bar where there is a line of at least 30 people waiting for muffins etc... staffing is a issue at this hotel. We get our coffee and proceed outside to sit in the outdoor lounge areas, the cushions are full of dried up food from the night before and filthy. We check out after the second day as we could not see spending this amount per night for our room when the hotel and service was so lacking. We proceed to the anther local hotel which was flawless in every way! A great experience there by far. We arrive home 3 days later to find emailed invoices from the W charging us for the full 4 nights, when we personally checked out in front of mgt the am of day 2. 2 hours of calls later they finally realized the front desk person forgot to check us out... really? Is there anything at the W that seems to work well? A travesty on all counts to say the least!! February 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best business trip ever Fantastic hotel! Service was warm, friendly, and helpful. The complimentary beach workout was terrific - a great instructor, fun to get outside, a tough workout. The room was beautiful, and well appointed. The jelly fish tank in the restaurant is amazing. Wonderful! August 1, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>