W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check into a room. 

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 698 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by BUT EVERYTHING IS GREAT!!, but at the pool you feel like in a siege, uncountable security at both entrances (4th and 5th floor) are checking your bags as if you were a terrorist at an airport; when you go with kids, you carry snacks that they like! Nobody was trying to get a cooler into the pool area! Honestly you shall try to be a little flexible. In front of me, a couple bought two drinks at the bar on the 4th floor and the security did not allow them to reach the pool; they were explaining to him, but I turned my back and run, I felt so bad!! July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by flfamilyvaca Our hotel stay at the "W" has raised the bar for any future hotel stay. The front desk staff was impeccable and upgraded our large family to a more comfortable room. In true "W" fashion our response to the room was "WOW". The multiple pools give you the opportunity to choose your environment, whether it was a fun atmosphere or a more private relaxing pool. We enjoyed both! The food and drink service at the pool was outstanding. The location was great and across the street from the beach with great views from your room. If you are a traveler that enjoys first class service then the "W" is the hotel for you. From the bellmen, to the valet, everyone here gives 110% to ensure that you have every need and desire met. The service was outstanding. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by "W" = WELCOME Having stayed at this hotel numerous times since it opened summer of 2009, the biggest memory I have is the incredible feeling of being welcome. The level of professionalism, attention to detail, desire to BE of service and the level of excellence in customer service they ACHIEVE here is remarkable. The amenities and features here are certainly first class. However, once the glitz and glamour fades what remains in one's mind is the feeling created by the fantastic staff. If you enjoy be impressed, you've found a new home in Fort Lauderdale. August 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shrinking Rooms This recemt trip was my 3rd stay in the last 12 months and I expect to continue coming to the W every 6 months for a golf weekend. The first time I stayed here the room was large and they lived up to the 'whatever whenever' tag line. The second time the room got smaller and the price went up .... the third time the room got even smaller and the price went up. The trend is going the wrong way! That said, it's still a very nice hotel with a very cool atmosphere ... I just wish they would recognize repeat customers and treat them accordingly. November 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Challenging Overall the staff is friendly; respond to issues quickly however there were one too many issues: 1. Assigned to a room that hasn't checked out 2. Double booked my second room 3. The Heat was turn up to 85 4. No conditioner 5. Shower handle fell off 6. Can't lock room door 7. Computer was down when check out November 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service Positive:The staff at front desk, checking in, parking, very attentive. Negative: Room was cleaned without replacing towels, or water. Service in restaurant Steak 954 was very inattentive. Food was very good, but it took three requests to get salt and pepper to the table. Floor manager was busy talking with waiters, no awareness of the floor. Waiter brought check without a pen. Had to get up to find somebody to get a pen. My wife asked the waiter if he wants a tip? waiter said yes..."Then bring me a pen". No need to rush back to this hotel March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by WOW!!! The WOW of this hotel is overshadowed by the fact that I bathroom mirror light didn't work and it wasn't addressed or corrected during our stay. Also, valet parking was $32 per day and we had to wait for our car every time we came down. Even though when you called they said your car would be ready in 8 minutes or less. Our room was great and the staff is very nice. We had great massages in Bliss. The free coffee is great and every morning I enjoyed sitting outside watching the Sun rise about the water. It was relaxing and a great location. August 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Spectacular room not so spectacular Booked an overnight stay in one of their "spectacular" rooms with ocean view as described in their website as ALL spectacular rooms having a king bed or doubles and a balcony with an oversized lounger chair and when we got to the room it was a smaller queen bed and a tiny balcony with just a small chair, no lounger. We called the reception assuming we had received a "wonderful" room by mistake and they said no, sorry, it is a spectacular room. The person was very apologetic and offered to move us to a different room which did have a lounge chair, but it had double beds and a very partial ocean view, so we kept the original room. The room is wonderful, don't get me wrong, and the staff was very nice, but the room was not as spectacular as touted!!! May 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a room! Thanks for the free upgrade and early checkin. We thoroughly enjoyed the room with a balcony with a view of the ocean and inland waterway. The bed was total rest and comfort. Staff and security were always there when needed. (Security not needed, but evident) Magnificent property....that said after the luxury of a week in Rome and two weeks transatlantic on Royal Carribean right ahead of this stay. We stayed in the Westin Excelsior for 5 nights in Rome and enjoyed the sizable room, huge balcony, two baths (one a handicapped for my wife). November 26, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not as good as usual We love the W, but this time we had a few minor issues, like the room getting cleaned late and not having the shampoo, etc., replaced. But the biggest disappointment this time was that our room was apparently right next to the elevator motor! This noise bothered us all night long! In hindsight, we should have asked to change rooms. I don't think the '12' stack should even be guest rooms, unless they disclose at booking that your sleep may be disrupted by the elevator motor and charge less for those rooms! The TV reception was bad in this room also. Local stations came in intermittently, and then we decided to rent a movie (over $20!!) and the movie blinked out a couple of times. So, we're a little sad that this hotel seems to have gone downhill a bit. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service, style and amenities Thank you to the W hotel for a great vacation! We had expected the excellent amenities and great style, but we were pleasantly surprised by the fantastic, professional service we received from every employee that crossed our paths, from the bellhops to the wait staff to the cleaning staff. When we told Jordan at the front desk upon arrival that we had suffered a 3-hour flight delay, he sent us a complementary bottle of wine with a note saying "sorry about your flight - enjoy your stay". Now that's excellent service! Thank you, Jordan! May 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great hotel for special occasions My partner and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate a special occasion and the staff completely exceeded expectations. Bianca was a total rockstar and made sure the room was decorated with flowers and a bottle of champagne upon arrival. We didn't expect this at all and it was such a nice surprise. Our room had a phenomenal view and the beds were to die for. Only comment (one that is outside of the hotel's control) was that I was surprised by the number of kids in this hotel and by the pool. I generally think of the W as more of an adults-only space, so hearing kids running around the hallway and yelling at the pool was a bit of a detractor. However, definitely not something that would deter me from staying here in the future. Thanks again for everything Bianca! August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still the Best Option in Ft. Lauderdale! I've read some reviews on here from other Platinum SPG members and I just don't understand it. This hotel is hands down the best in South FLorida. Service, rooms, location,amenities, staff and the list goes on. Great recognition for Elite SPG levels. I just spent two glorious days with my family and as always it was spectacular. Special mention and thanks for Jodi D. whom never seems to forget the little things. It's clear the new GM is doing a great job continuing the tradition of W being the best product in the Starwood family. October 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service is the Key I arrived at the hotel approximately 9:30 and was told the restaurant was serving until 10:00. I arrived at the restaurant at 9:45 and they said they're "closing soon" and have stopped serving. Sounds like someone wanted to go home. Shocked? No. This is the second time this has happened. I wanted to eat and after traveling all day I don't want to eat in my room (nice room though), so I went out. Unfortunate for me it was raining cats and dogs. Hard to believe a W wants to lower its service, but they did. - Lifetime Platinum Member December 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status doesn't mean anything at this property I have been a regular guests at this property since its opening with multiple stays each year. It's very disappointing to see the gradual lack of attention and recognition to its platinum guests. Platinum status at the W Fort Lauderdale offers very limited advantages lately; no early check in, no courtesy room upgrade, limited check out extendability; Benefits seems to become fictitious, subject to availability ... and they are never available. SPG has lost the prestige that used to differentiate itself form other reward programs. December 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great features Hotel was beautiful and we loved the cleanliness. The service was lacking, had to wait in line for check out. Hotel room wasn't ready for check in when promised. The food was fantastic however the service was average. really loved the ambiance of the hotel. The location is fantastic. I believe that they need to focus a little more on speed of service and they would have recieved 5 stars from us. Wanted to let you know that we did have a noise issue in the late evening and I called down and security took care of the issue for us. January 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Living Room Bar This bar is so classy and hip ....however we were there 3 nights in a row and the bartender Shannon was as dull as dirt ....no personality ...dropped off our drinks with her head turned and walked away.... we are buying 14$ drinks and she never made eye contact. She is NOT an assets to this hotel and bar where we would except first class service. Very disappointed with the service at this bar. again, very bummed there was no bartender at this supposedly hip living room bar that had any personality. would not recommend it...... January 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great spot on the beach Located in the middle of the Galleria and Los Olas, it's easy to walk to the hot spots without the need for a taxi. The room was very well cleaned and spacious. We had two little kids who thoroughly enjoyed the space. The staff were very kind and quick to serve. The pools, outdoor lounge and the room's ocean view are marvelous. There are two pools, one behind the hotel away from the beach where mostly just adults hang out, and another on the beach side where some kids can play in the shallow part. Overall, very comfortable and highly enjoyable. The only complaint is the small food selection for room service after 10pm and we had some room billing issues that were resolved after about four back and forth calls with management. I would go back for sure though. March 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel and location but service at beach lacking My only complaint about the hotel is the service at the beach. All the hotels on the strip provide beach towels for the guests who are staying at their prospective hotels. And all of the neighboring hotels have a staff member at the beach waiting with towels based on that service. However, the whole time we were at the hotel, there were no staff members for the W waiting at the beach. One day there were towels there without a staff member which was fine because we had towels. However one day, there were no beach towels or staff member and we even called the hotel who promised they would have towels down in 5 minutes. But we still waited for one whole hour before deciding to walk back to the hotel, going to pool area and bringing towels by ourselves to the beach. June 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Service There was a mix up with our room assignment and Mr. Bobby at the Front Desk was excellent and he resolved the problem. I found the service of the staff from Front Desk, Conciege, and Restaurant excellent. December 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great spot on the beach but pool staff and service staff were very accommodating and very professional. problem was with checkout. had an early flight. asked the front desk in person for a 5;30 wakeup call. he wrote the info on the back of a document he had in his hand. I said to my travel companion who there was no way this guy is going to remember our wakeup call. sure enough I happened to wake up at 6:00 by chance by looking at my phone. clock radio was not functioning properly. went to check out bc there was no bill under the door. was told by the same guy who was supposed to wake us up that he could not print a bill and would have to email me. he could not even accept a cash payment. this is what separates a great hotel from a good hotel. I guess that whenever, wherever slogan is just for show. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Getaway W Resort on Fort Lauderdale Beach is a fantastic way of taking a break from the fast pace of everyday business. The room, large balcony, beach access, pool, restaurant and the pleasant helpful staff makes this resort one of my favorites and visit as much as possible. November 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Definitely not up to the usual spg standard My experience has been average at best. I arrived at 3:50pm and my room was not ready and I could not get an estimate on when I would get one. After much insistence I was given a room. On the last night, I arrived at my room at 8PM and the room had not been cleaned. I contacted the operator and again I was told I would be put on a list and that all managers had left. After much arguing I finally spoke to the styling manager, Mr Yoshi and he got it done. The only reason I recommend this hotel is because it is part of spg February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything you'd want for a beach resort W Proximity to the beach: perfect Quality of in-room dining: awesome! Pool areaS: so much fun Restaurant/bar: excellent I live in the area, and I've stayed here twice in 2011 just to get away, and I intend to at least match that in 2012. December 30, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by High price tag but met needs We used points so our stay was free (technically). I would never have stayed at $400+ per night. If I'm going to pay that, I'll buck up and stay at The Ritz. The food was outlandishly expensive--2 appetizer sliders no bigger than silver dollars for $16. The room was adequately clean, but we felt sand at the bottom of the sheets before we even went to sleep. Odd. I suppose that's part of being on the beach. I was with my wife and kids. Would not recommend for a family, but would for a business traveler who has a tab. March 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was incredible! After a negative experience with the Westin, I unhappily arrived at the W. While at the W, we encountered Gildas Doucette, who immediately welcolmed us and tried to accommodate us. The hotel was overbooked, and I made other arrangements for the night. I returned to the W the following day after speaking with Jennifer Milagre. Ms. Milagre was very understanding and promised that upon my return, I would not be disappointed. She was indeed correct! We were upgraded to a suite with amazing views. When we returned to the hotel, Gildas was there again to take care of us. He is absolutely amazing! He made our entire stay at the W worth all of the previous trouble we experienced prior to arriving. Gildas is a rare gem. The W is lucky to have him. Thank you for such a wonderful experience. August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love W's, but... I am a huge fan of W Hotels. Have been to many. The service is always fabulous and constant. HOWEVER… this hotel need some serious TLC. Hallways, elevators, pool area, rooms…just not what they were even a year ago. No Mini bar selections (trays) in the rooms that used to be charming and convenient (and I would think that you would WANT to make money on those items!) Only other complaint I have about this hotel is it is WAY too dark in the public areas. EVERYONE (as we listen while at the resort) complains about it. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff is Fantastic I have stayed at the W in Fort Lauderdale before and the service just keeps exceeding itself. Raoul, Jay, Julio and Hermano at the concierge at the best . They make everything so easy to access dining reservations , care rental and their knowledge of the area. Makes my business trip so much more comfortable. Also the hotel staff that greeted me. Keyshwan remembered me from my stay in August 2013 and asked where the rest of my family was. Fell like coming home. Also ALex and Allie at the pool side service is phenomenal for the 4 hours of down time I had they made my staff even better. Then there is my personal concierge Victoria Freijtas at home office spg. She is the best. Does all my travel plans. Thank you Victoria. So in other words GRAET EXPIRENCE ALL AROUND!!!! John V June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The ONLY spot for a 'stay-cation' When we need a break from being new parents, we call "G'ma" to watch our son and escape here. It's our favorite place! Exquisite architecture, fantastic staff, breathtaking views.. what's not to love? Angie at the Concierge desk is an absolute delight. As a professional that deals in customer service for a living, I know great attention to detail when I see it! She's a huge reason we choose the W time and time again. The energy at this resort is so vibrant, and it helps us reconnect with our 'before-parents' side. October 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Good for Platinums This is essentially a poor man's W Miami South Beach. I concur with all the other reviews I've read online. They don't care about Platinums, barely acknowledge it, and play the upgrade games typical of spg properties not honoring the policies. A quick review: Wife and I stayed over New Year's weekend last week. Booked the standard king room. Emailed 2 weeks ahead of time to nicely ask to keep us in mind for an upgrade if available upon check-in. The hotel NEVER responded. Now, that's poor form. We show up at the hotel to check-in, first they try to give us a twin room- not the King I booked. Now, I understand it is a very busy weekend so I wasn't expecting much in terms of upgrades, but I did ask. Sure, the man at the desk says, gives me one of those BS 'you've been upgraded' key holders. We go to our room. It's probably one of the worst in the hotel. Now to be fair, it is what we booked and they are quite busy, but I find it hard to believe they can't find a Plat guest a room better than a non-view room on the 7th floor? I told the front desk I was not impressed and we could check in later if that would help -- they said, well maybe we can find something on a higher floor later tonight? -- But at that point I was done wasting my time arguing with them. If they choose not to respect this spg rule, as others have posted online, then so be it -- there are plenty of other choices in the area. The W South Beach is much, much nicer. As is the Westin Diplomat. A couple of quick hits: -This is NOT a beach property. There is a public beach across the busy street, but the hotel does not provide towels, chairs, umbrellas etc. -The pool is very nice, but be prepared to fight for prime chairs starting at 8am -The pool bar food and drinks were great-- though tough getting reliable service -The free coffee in the lobby is a nice touch -A family sitting next to us at the pool had their room broken into in the middle of the night while they were sleeping! They had a low floor with a patio and people broke in and took all of their wallets, money etc. -- and the TVs off the walls! Now, to be fair, the hotel seemed to have good security. Overall, it's a 'fine' hotel. But this is not one of the best W's. It's basically just a Westin Hotel with a trendy vibe, though I'd say the crowd here is essentially just a crowd of people who can't get into (or afford) the W South Beach. January 3, 2012
  • 2015-03-28T17:54:21.300-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_698, tr_698
  • loc_en_US, sid_1522, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 24 next>>