W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 776 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was BEYOND all expectations! This place is AMAZING!!! And the customer service was impeccable!!!! They make no errors -- from the pre -arrival welcome email with a personal concierge at my service when needed, to the creative room decor, to the fabulous balcony view, the spa products in room (luv them!), the staff that ALWAYS went above and beyond with a smile on their face, yoga on the beach, all the nightlife and dining options.... I could go on and on!!! Thank you so much Dervin, you was AWESOME!!! We were visiting for my BIG 4-0 and Dervin, welcomed me prior to my arrival, when I arrived, and then sent champagne and strawberries to my room that evening with a personal birthday card to help celebrate!! We are officially spoiled from our stay at the W!!!! All I can say is Great hotel!!! Great location!!! Reasonable prices!! Best service ever!!! W was definitely beyond our expectations!!! Highly recommend this hotel!!!! August 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Staff I would like to say that our stay at the W was fantastic - A few to mention with emplyees Luis Roque near pool was friendly and informative and helpful Dervin Webb made sure all of our room needs were met and made sure to check with us all was ok, Orit was very friendly and offered us complimentary cocktail cards - so sweet and Derrick Nelson at the Bliss Spa was friendly and so attentive to our needs - checked on our room and gave us detailed info on the hotel & area -set us a thankyou card was so great - also Allyson Brutus helpful & provided great samples to try! - Ask for these employees and they will make your stay extra special~ August 29, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not relaxing The hotel has a party atmosphere and the guests were very young and loud. Lots of kids running around and not what I expected. August 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location and family friendly Been coming here for the last 4 years. My 11 year loves the pool and cabana. Staff is professional and friendly as well as very helpful. Girlfriend loved the spa of course, August 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Weekend at W Hotel is absolutely gorgeous, had a very good time, just minor discrepancies. My Spectacular Ocean view room had absolutely no sight of ocean as it was completely blocked by the building and trees on it. The swimming pool was cloudy, I'm not sure with what but didn't look clean. In-room service took more than an hour to deliver and brought chicken wings instead of crispy duck rolls that were ordered. The stuff was nice and apologetic but didn't really fix anything (may be not exactly their fault but the service system failure). However, overall experience was amazing, I would probably recommend it to most of my friends. August 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed feelings Surprisingly mixed experience. On the minus side, my son asked the concierge to recommend a restaurant for dinner for our party of four and he responded with "well, you know there's a restaurant here in the hotel" which my son thought was pretty rude and condescending. We left a note for the staff in the bathroom to have the separation curtain cleaned or replaced. That never happened over the five days we were there. Service at the bar off the living room area was slow to non-existent - granted the only table server on duty was busy writing up an incident report but we asked the bartender for table service and she told us someone would be with us shortly (shortly in this case equated to about 20+ minutes later). For a party of six, this was a very long wait for drinks and several decided not to order anything. Interestingly, a tip was applied to the bill even though I did not write one in. Our room was very nice but when I walked onto the balcony, I was amazed at the loud roar of the ocean from the distance it was across the street. Then I realized we were above the air conditioner units - so much for nature. The pool tables were great but the living room and bar on the fourth floor were pretty dark, almost to the point of being uncomfortable and difficult to navigate through at night (why they weren't better lit even a little bit was unclear). On the positive side, the fellow who was in charge of the parking squad was extremely personable and helpful over the course of our stay. Must say the bed was very comfortable, had great nights sleep. Check out was easy and the desk person helped print out our boarding passes when the kiosk didn't want to cooperate. Loved the pool especially the staircase access and the service people working there were attentive and relatively quick with service and attention. All in all, a surprisingly very uneven experience. August 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service from all employees Fantastic, efficient and friendly check-in. Special shout out to Crystal, Gabriel, and Michelle at the front desk. Great concierge (German) too! Everything was great from check in to check out. Beautiful room too. August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The PEARL of South Florida in hospitality! I was only able to spend a few nights at your property last week however I cannot express how appreciative I am for the great care that was extended to me and my Guests. Upon arriving at the property I was greeted with such a warm welcoming that extended beyond the customary "welcome." Samantha who literally embraced me with a hug and made me feel as if I were coming home after a long time on the road rather than checking into a hotel property. She brought such a smile to my face after a five hour flight, redeye flight I might mention, on Virgin America from LAX. I noticed on my profile on the SPG website that I'm approaching very close to my 1000 stay since being a platinum member in 2001. And this year alone I'm approaching 70 nights. But despite all the traveling at all the different properties there's none that makes me feel as valued and loved through the great intentional care of your Director of Guest Experience, Raul. And truthfully, as much as I love your property Raul is the primary reason why I make the W Hotel Fort Lauderdale my very first choice of all Starwood properties in the Southeast to hold my corporate events, refer my VIP clients to, and plan my personal vacations. The quality of my experience and my guest experiences is always consistently exceptional and as I've been a Starwood platinum member for 15 years as well as became a lifetime platinum status about four years ago i've learned to value consistency! I'm also a platinum preferred planner and do everything that I can to promote the W brand. From the property standpoint, the place is immaculately clean and very luxurious. And I was very excited to learn as well as see some of the beautiful renditions of the massive upgrade that will be taking place this winter. Every team member has a smile and helpful attitude. In addition the room that I had was a beautiful suite upgrade overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Truly the best view in south florida of any hotel property I have ever stayed at. The amenities in the bathroom are very luxurious, I love the Bliss products that the W features. The bed was extremely comfortable and it was very hard to get out of it the next morning. We had room service and the food was incredible. Mike the In-Room Dining Supervisor was training a new team member, Orit. I have to say I would've never guessed she was a new team member, because her charismatic personality, her confidence and radiance filled the whole suite with such great energy. I know she'll go very far with Starwood and I congratulate her! It was just one of those stays where I felt more comfortable then probably coming to my own house! Everyone was so helpful so loving and so kind. Raul and I had an opportunity to spend some time together in the lobby both when I arrived and before I left. Raul is truly my friend beyond our professional relationship. He shared with me some beautiful uplifting stories. When we get together it's almost like a spiritual gathering. We share uplifting stories and experiences that we've had. And it was not ironic that when I left, I had the following experience at the Fort Lauderdale airport. Our jet blue flight to Boston was delayed by about four hours because of weather. I noticed an old Haitian woman in a wheelchair that everybody was ignoring. I went over to her and had somebody translate because she only spoke French. I asked her if she needed anything and they said yes she would like apple juice so I got an apple juice and a banana. She looked at me with such a beautiful smile and with such gratitude that it made my heart open up. It reminded me of the beautiful conversation Raul and I had the day before...that when we serve other people and we lift other people and help relieve suffering ...existence smiles upon us. I am truly humbled and truly grateful that Raul could provide this type of experience for me as a way to show his gratitude to my loyalty. He is incredible and more so because all the employees there love and respect him so much that it was a pleasure for them to honor his request to give me such great treatment. I will never forget this experience and the beautiful people that are part of the team at the W Hotel Fort Lauderdale. -Mitch K. August 9, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice facilities, terrible service I'm SPG Platinum and must say W Fort Lauderdale is where I got the worst SPG service to date. Staff in general is not welcoming. Front desk manager seems like she doesn't want to be disturbed, wouldn't smile or apologize for an error. Specifically, was offered a late check out, but in reality hotel checked me out at 11am, so room key wouldn't work, and manager insisted of me waiting for security to enter my room again. She never apologized for the error. In addition, receipt was never emailed, and when I called to ask for it, discovered they charged me for breakfast, even though I used coupon for free breakfast as my Pltinum amenity. When I asked for refund, they said it would take 3-5 business days, as if I have nothing better to do than to track my credit card charges, and chase them again. Still waiting for that correction to happen... Too bad, since hotel facility is really nice. Staff and management need urgent improvement. July 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service There was a long line to check in. Bobby, a manager, jumped in to help us. He asked if we would prefer to come back later to get a room higher up with a better view, as opposed to the room that was ready but was one floor over the pool and noisy. We did. It was a wonderful room. He went above and beyond by doing that. Everyone on the staff was super friendly and helpful, and always asking what they could do for you. It was in a convenient location, the food was great everywhere, and the rooms were very comfortable. We used the spa a few times and it was great as well. It has a nightclub feel with the lighting and is different. I would definitely recommend this hotel. July 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel is dirty and needs to be refreshed. The carpet in the rooms are old, dirty, and smell bad. The resort is in a desperate need of a refresh. I can deal with the hotel showing some wear and tear, but I can not deal with everything being dirty and smelly. July 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb W Experience, Every time Recently, I have had to travel to the Miami/Fort Lauderdale area about once every few weeks and I have picked this hotel every time I need to be close to Fort Lauderdale for many reasons. Firstly, the staff at this hotel are simply incredible. Now don't get me wrong, W staff are always amazing, but somehow the staff here blow it out of the water consistently. They are friendly, attentive, helpful and overall just a pleasure to interact with. The Concierge/W Insiders are top notch as well. But the staff member who has really earned a 5+ Star rating in my book is Raul (whom I believe is the Director of Guest Experience?). Raul is the kind of hotel staff that should be the envy of any luxury hotel and it is obvious that his peers respect him and emulate his exceptional interpersonal skills. Raul works hard to ensure an excellent experience for all of the SPG members that visit the hotel, and makes SPG status all that much more valuable to me. The rooms are awesome, super comfortable as always. Temperature control is on point and the facilities are well maintained. The rooms seem to have superior sound-proofing as I have never heard anything from another room. My only minor complaint is that of the fitness center that has seen some of its equipment fall into disrepair over the last few months, but I'm sure that it will be brought back up to speed quickly. To summarize: Great location, great pool, great staff - Phenomenal W experience. Highly recommend July 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by The W not great for business travelers I am a business traveller and stay at many 5 star hotels across the country. While I had a beautiful room and deck at the W, I find a few things that could improve. The building and decor could use a bit of an update. Some areas looked a bit shabby. A few things that really bothered me as I was here on business was that you have to call room service for ice! When I finish a hard day at work I want ice easily accessible, especially in florida! Even if I wanted to purchase a cocktail out of their overpriced mini bar I still had to wait 30 minutes for someone to bring up ice. Very disappointing. Also the lack of coffee/tea maker in my very beautiful room was frustrating. You need to call room service for everything and when you stay somewhere for business, this is not ideal.the business center was also lacking in comparison to other hotels I have stayed at on business. For these reasons I probably wouldn't stay at another w while on business. Perhaps for leisure as the leisure activities were excellent and pools were adequate. July 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by outdated, crowded, party hotel Went for the 4th-6th. Hotel was not good at all for families. Pool area was full of drunk partiers. W gave hotel guests a bracelet, but many were openly sharing bracelets to get past the bouncers. They would get 2 bracelets, bring one buddy up, take bracelet down and get another buddy, etc. Had 3 slow elevators for hundreds of people plus staff, so typical wait time of 15-25 minutes in a tiny overcrowded elevator. listed amenities are bliss bath products, and that is basically all they offer for free (pretty sad when your short list of amenities highlight shampoo). No SPG recognition. No beach chair/umbrellas. Was first time in a W hotel and will likely be my last. Rooms outdated, stains. Housekeeping staff was nice. Front desk unhelpful. July 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel We have stayed at this hotel a few times before and it was ok but this time was the best by far. The staff were amazing and made us feel right at home. The atmosphere of the hotel was welcoming and we would love to return! July 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement overall Room Sevice issues with orders and rolling table. Pool area not cleaned up after bar closed. All 5 days I was there. July 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 4 stays in the last 12 months ! I have travelled to the W FL on 3 business trips and once with my family in the past 12 months. I stayed in the hotel wing of the hotel and with my family we stayed in the Condo side. Be warned there is a HUGE difference in the room quality. The hotel side is fair to good, maybe a little noisy, do not get a room with a adjoining door and keep well away from the lifts when you can.The rooms where clean and tidy and bright. On the Condo side the room we had was just dreadful. The carpets where dirty there where maintenance items outstanding and we paid for a ocean view room that had a glimpse at best. These rooms are 3 stars at best. For work i think its great its central on the beach and the restaurant downstairs is awesome. The staff are friendly and helpful but this place does NOT cater for families. July 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Hotel location and amenities were great! The staff was awesome and very helpful and accommodating! The only downside I would say is that there were not many mirrors in the suite given the size of the room June 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by hotel room did not enjoy open bathroom concept at all. common areas and halls too dark June 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by room details Bed was not made professionally. Bed had multiple ripples under the sheet making sleep uncomfortable. Room just felt like it was not cleaned to the fullest potential. June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful place to stay This was a gifted stay for us. We stayed in a two bedroom condo and it was gorgeous. We had views of the beach and bay. The front desk staff member when we arrived was amazing! Our only complaint, on the day of checkout, about a half hour prior, in-room dining called to ask if we would like our complentary cheese plate and bottle of wine. They should have asked that the day we got in...not a half hour before checkout. June 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel Room Needs Updating and Needs to be Cleanier The hotel overall was very nice; however the lobby and everything else other than the rooms make this hotel. The room we stayed in was the spectacular room and there was nothing spectacular about it. The room definately needs some updating and could be cleaned alot better than it was, The bathrom curtain was yellow and disgusting with a moldy smell, the frosted door to the toilet was very dirty. The bed was very uncomortable and we woke up with a stiff body every morning. The iron ruined our clothing and the ironing board cover was filthy. The pool was great even though we lost out on a whole day because they had to shut it down due to a child having an accident in the pool. 95% of the staff was great; however the gentlemen that checked us in was very nasty when i asked why they needed to hold 200.00 on my card, something that was not bought to our attention prior to ur stay. Thank god for the pool, Fat Tuesday and the Beach, so we stayed in our room as little as possible. June 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Still a great hotel and still on my favorite list First of all, the hotel is still on my favorite list and I would not have chosen it again if I did not have a great stay last time already before. Unfortunately, the check-in to our room got delayed, due to the previous guests (after 16:00). Although this is a no-go, the employees understood how to make me happy again. In particular, I would like to thank Michele from the front desk. I had contact with her only later but she made our stay simply amazing with a simple thing. Yes, the hotel gets slowly outworn but it is still a great hotel and I will return. And although the valet parking guys are much better then in the very beginning, I really miss a self parking at this hotel. June 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tremendous staff but SPG disappointments Staff throughout the hotel were personable and attentive, many addressing me by name after our first meeting. A highlight of my stay was Luis G in the cafe'. He greeted me by name each morning and made sure I had my newspaper of choice--even if he had to go track it down elsewhere in the hotel. Pool staff were also highly attentive and addressed me by name, particularly during the first half of my stay. Service and food in Steak 954 was excellent! I was very disappointed not to be upgraded given our gold SPG status. The hotel was nowhere near capacity (first week of June). The only mention of our gold status was at check-in, when I was offered points or a drink. I was also disappointed that housekeeping arrived so late in the afternoon that it always conflicted with our schedule of cleaning up for the evening. More than half our stay, we had to just grab clean towels and forgo service. Be aware there is a lack of privacy in many of the rooms. There is a door to the water closet but not to the shower area. June 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Stay I've been a SPG Platinum member for over 4 years now. I've stayed at several Starwoods properties over the past years including resorts in the Bahamas and Hilton Head, SC. My wife and I decided to spend our 15th year wedding anniversary at this hotel, W Fort Lauderdale this past weekend and we are glad we chose this property. Not only were we impressed with our suite and the various amenities offered, but the W Insider representative, Derrick Nelson went the extra mile to ensure our anniversary weekend was special. Derrick met us in the lobby when we arrived with our keys. When I told him we were celebrating our anniversary he arranged to have a bottle of champagne delivered to our room (very nice touch). Derrick also gave us a great overview of the hotel and Fort Lauderdale area to help us determine our agenda. Finally, Derrick took care of any request we had. This was by far the best hotel stay we've ever experienced with any hotel chain and the main reason is because of the exceptional customer service exhibited by Derrick. Thanks for the great stay and we look forward to our next visit. June 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service - Rooms a bit worn The only complaint I had at all had to do with the room, It was poorly cleaned, showed wear and tear with stains on couch and floors. None of the wireless handset phones worked (all speaker phone calls), the bose sound system had no instructions and would't function and there were no iPhone 5 cables for docking the radios or sharing music to the stereos/clocks. I found that to be the only draw back for our stay and because my wife and i were there celebrating our 10 year anni, I turned the other cheek so as not to spoil our time sweating over the room details. Just would have been the complete package to have had that quality. Otherwise, incredible service, care and hospitality! June 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Buyer Beware While my stay was okay - we had some issues with the room and had to be moved and the surrounding area was dark and a little sketchy. My bigger issue was with the 20% auto gratuity added to all of my bills throughout the hotel. I dined in several locations and had a pedicure - only 1 person (at the spa) explained to me that the gratuity would be taken with my payment. Poolside - when I told the waitress to charge my card for the bill and for her to take the cash as a tip, She never thought to say - "is this additional" because you will be charged 20%. She basically received a 40% tip for checking on us twice. This policy should be explained at check-in. While the service was ok - it was definitely NOT worth 40%. Very disappointed. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing stay amazing hotel with the best restaurant May 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Far exceeded expectations Great accommodations with style and class. Staff was totally customer-focused especially Jeffrey at the front desk, Ali at the pool and Andres also at the pool. My wife and I were on a short getaway for our 15th wedding anniversary and were made to feel special May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than it has to be My experience with south Florida hotels is that often service is lackluster or uninterested. This is another stay at the W Fort Lauderdale where the staff routinely worked to make sure our experience was positive, greeted guests with pleasure at each encounter, and made the stay very pleasant. Good job. May 26, 2015
  • 2015-10-12T06:15:28.523-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_776, tr_776
  • loc_en_US, sid_1522, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>