W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check into a room. 

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 595 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great hotel for special occasions My partner and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate a special occasion and the staff completely exceeded expectations. Bianca was a total rockstar and made sure the room was decorated with flowers and a bottle of champagne upon arrival. We didn't expect this at all and it was such a nice surprise. Our room had a phenomenal view and the beds were to die for. Only comment (one that is outside of the hotel's control) was that I was surprised by the number of kids in this hotel and by the pool. I generally think of the W as more of an adults-only space, so hearing kids running around the hallway and yelling at the pool was a bit of a detractor. However, definitely not something that would deter me from staying here in the future. Thanks again for everything Bianca! August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ft. Lauderdale stay Great hotel with a nice pool! August 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel as expected Second time at this location. I tend to stay in W hotels in New York Metro area. This hotel is the best so far...looking to go again soon August 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel should not have four stars The room was comfortable and the staff friendly and responsive however: The housekeeping was below par. The room was not cleaned when we went back to the room at around 2:30 in the afternoon. The second night there were several candies left on our pillow--but only one night. The third night three water bottles were left for us--as if they forgot the other nights and wanted to make up for it. The bathroom was actually offensive. The bathroom is divided into the toilet area and the sink area. The toilet area has a see-through door so you can see the person sitting on the toilet if you are washing up by the sink. Why would you not put in a real door vs. glass? . *I had a package that included $25.00 for breakfast--once we arrived at the hotel we discovered that the W Café was a bar at night and that the "to go" breakfast consisting primarily of coffee, tea, pastries, bagels. quiche, sugared cereals and fruit . It was poorly staffed so you had to wait and out of a lot of the choices--including plain bagels. The fruit was poor quality. *On Saturday night there was a long line of cars for valet parking. I hate to think how long the wait is at the height of the season. Finally, I've never before had the experience where my check-out rate per night is different than the original email room rate invoice--the difference was only $20.00 per night . but it does not leave you with a good feeling--of course, this was corrected when we went to the front desk but there was no reason for a mistake on rates and we never would have noticed if hadn't had a few minutes to check over the invoice.. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I loved this hotel The location was perfect. Great atmosphere, and good resort facilities. But the best are the staff! Thanks especially to Gildas and Walid for their kindness, help, and friendliness. They made our stay. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service, comfy rooms, and amazing views! I stayed here recently for a corporate function for my work. When I arrived, their was some sort of mix up with my reservation. Bobby was extremely helpful and solved the problem immediatly and even upgraded my room! Bobby went above and beyond to accomodate me and make sure that I had the best possible room with an amazing view. I was very impressed with his knowledge of the hotel and his outstanding personal service! I will most defeniatly be staying here again and will be referring anyone I know who is staying in the area. Five stars!! August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was incredible! After a negative experience with the Westin, I unhappily arrived at the W. While at the W, we encountered Gildas Doucette, who immediately welcolmed us and tried to accommodate us. The hotel was overbooked, and I made other arrangements for the night. I returned to the W the following day after speaking with Jennifer Milagre. Ms. Milagre was very understanding and promised that upon my return, I would not be disappointed. She was indeed correct! We were upgraded to a suite with amazing views. When we returned to the hotel, Gildas was there again to take care of us. He is absolutely amazing! He made our entire stay at the W worth all of the previous trouble we experienced prior to arriving. Gildas is a rare gem. The W is lucky to have him. Thank you for such a wonderful experience. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway Very nice hotel. Great Location and clean! Staff was very friendly. The valet area was a bit crowded. Saturday night we had to wait in a car line up. That could have been an isolated incident. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by W Fort Lauderdale Was TERRIBLE - DO NOT STAY THERE The W Ft. Lauderdale was impressive upon arrival. When we walked up to the check-in desk there was no friendliness at all from the staff. We had 4 rooms at the hotel and when we arrived, 2 of them were not clean. The second day, our room was not cleaned at all - so after arriving back at our room at 8pm to get ready, we had to wait in the lobby while they cleaned it. When we arrived back in our room, there was hair on the floor and they "forgot" to clean the toilet. When we spoke with a manager Daniel or Darryl, he was not at all apologetic and tried to tell us we were lying. If you're looking for good service, do not stay here. I would encourage the GM of this hotel to do a better job training his staff. You could probably get cleaner rooms/bathrooms at a four points. This hotel was a BIG disappointment. November 21, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Staff I am a huge SPG fan and I always do my best to stay with Starwood and have stayed at this location previously with a better experience. Upon arrival the front desk greating was non-existent. Didn't get asked about my Platinum Amenity Award, I had to request and yet to see if I got it. There was no thanks for my loyalty and no room for upgrade. The room we were assigned was not ready and we were simply told it may not be ready until 4pm and we would just have to wait. Luckily it didn't take that long, but the room was a basic room...not an upgrade at all. When I later inquired to another staff member how full they were I was told they had many rooms still open. From our view I could see that there were several nicer rooms empty. January 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Where's the Warm? I have stayed at W Fort Lauderdale since it first opened. This time did not feel warm or welcoming. Staff is very scripted. Few smiles. Security seemed as if the President might be staying there. Room keys to walk almost everywhere. Room key to go up the elevator. Room key to go down. Room key to pool. At the Wet drink prices, I would think day guests would be welcome. Tower 1 outside doors locked at 6pm and my room key would not allow access. So lets walked through a lobby full of party people in order to go to our room. And for the second year in a row, the IPOD dock in my room had to be fixed by maintenance. November 29, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4 out of 5 The hotel is great, and facilities are always as expected. However, the only reason I would deduct a star overall is because of the folio. For the last two weeks of my stay, I have once been overcharged, and once had to call and clarify that I was being reimbursed the parking and parking tax as per my corporate rate, because the folio was not clear about the same. The inconsistency is bothersome. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great vacation Booked this hotel ,as a friend highly recommended this spot for fun and sun. Went with my daughters had an amazing time great hotel and the best service in all areas . will recommend this to everyone who asks August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff Hotel did not have my room ready for the early check in I had requested online. After 2 hours on the beach, the room still was not ready so they upgraded me to a suite. The room was lovely and the staff was helpful and courteous. The property is nice even if a bit affected and the staff is great. All the amenities food, drink, parking, Internet, beach chairs were expensive, but expected at this type of touristy hotel. August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by If this is how they treat SPG Platinum members, I can't imagine how they treat regular guests. Upon check-in, I was asked whether I needed boarding passes printed for the following day. Given the flight time, the check-in agent, asked if that meant that I would be leaving the hotel around 1 pm. I agreed. The following day, my travel plans changed and I called the front desk to extend my stay for another night, which was granted. I was never asked about flight time or departure time. Additionally, I was never advised during check-in or when I extended the stay that my automatic 4 pm late check-out as a SPG Platinum member would not be honored by this property. Shortly after 1 pm on January 11th, the phone in my room began ringing. Since I was on a work-related conference call, I initially ignored the ringing. However, when the phone started ringing for the third time, I had to interrupt my call to answer the phone. I simply advised the caller that I was on a conference call and could not talk at that time and hung up. The phone immediately rang again and I again stated that I was on a work call and could not talk. The front desk representative on the other end immediately accused me of staying past my requested 1 pm check-out time. I replied by stating that the check-out time was for the previous day before I extended my stay and that as a SPG Platinum member I had an automatic 4 pm late check-out available to me. The representative’s response was that this particular property did not honor SPG late check-out privileges and that I needed to leave the room immediately. I advised her that I was on a call and that as soon as I finished, I would finish packing and would be leaving between 2:30 and 3:30 and that since I was never advised that the property did not honor SPG Platinum privileges, that I had no notice that I needed to check-out sooner. The representative responded by saying that I would be charged $150 an hour if I did not leave immediately. I again stressed that I could not leave until I finished the call and that if she insisted upon charging me, that I would address the situation with SPG after the stay. During the entire conversation, the representative was very rude. Approximately 10 minutes after the phone call ended, someone started knocking on my door. Since I had a Do Not Disturb Sign on the Door and I was still on the work call, I ignored the knocking, until a man opened the door, walked in and asked me when I was leaving. I again advised that I would be leaving no later than 3:30 and he left. I was also emailed an updated Guest Folio reflecting the $150.00 Late Check-out Fee. I have never had a negative experience at a W Hotel and I have been staying at the properties for at least 8 years. I am shocked at the level of disrespect I was shown – from the incessant phone calls, the rude representative and security being sent to my room. If this is how SPG Platinum members are treated, I cannot imagine the interaction with regular guests. January 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 5 years and counting as a guest We have been coming to this hotel 2-3 times per year for 5 years. The hotel and accommodations are unique and beautiful, there is really no bad room at the hotel. On this trip we had fantastic service from Sparkle and Bianca Pitt at the front desk. We were disappointed by some of the service and the upkeep of the room. The bedside radio and clock did not function and we called 2x but it was not fixed. There was no lamp on the desk. About 1/2 of the light bulbs in the ceiling of the apartment (tower 2) were out including the lights in the kitchen and behind the bed. Ice is always tricky in the apartments because the freezer turns it into a block of ice so you have to request ice. It is frustrating when you wait 3 hours for ice. If you do not arrive at the beach before 12pm you are out of luck with towels and have to wait at least an hour for a towel or return to the pool to get them. The valet service is always outstanding and quick. There should be more than 1 person helping in the Lounge at breakfast time or you will wait a long time for a bagel that can not be toasted. We will certainly return again because we love this property. Oh and one last thing…it makes us sad that the orange lights on the zen meditation pathway between the 2 towers has 50 lights but each time we come more and more are burnt out :( now there are only 21 that are working 29 are out we counted 3x. August 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Way below W Standard I'm Platinum Member for years. I got 2 rooms...711 and 1827. In theory 711 was an upgrade which I can't understand how. My request were High Floor away from Fire Exit..and I got completely the opposite. The Stairs Exit Door started slammig before 8am..so there goes my morning of rest which was the main purposes of spending my points at your hotel At the Bard..we got a waitress that had just started and had no clue what a Martini was The key for the second room for my sister in law (1827) took hours to get even though I chekced in at 4:30pm There was NO Platinum greeting, line or ammenities. Nothing at all.!! I regularly stay at W Hotels but this was the worst experience at W by far December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of my best stays at SPG properties I'm staying at the W for 2 months and this was one of my best stays at SPG properties. I travel a lot working and have 120+ stays year to date, but these guys really made my stay pleasant, specially Brian M. and the concierge Julio F. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great weekend stay I went on a solo vacation to Ft. Lauderdale and chose this hotel for it's proximity to the beach and style. I was largely satisfied w/my stay. I had a cool corner room and the oceanfront views were phenomenal. This hotel is very busy but service is still pretty good. I did have a bad experience at the Spa but this was remedied by the hotel quickly after I made the hotel staff aware. I would certainly stay here again and loved this place! August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Hotel Great Location This was my first time staying at the W Fort Lauderdale and the hotel met and exceeded all of my expectations. As with all W properties the mix of design and comfort is just right. The location of the W Ft. Lauderdale is perfect for access to the beach (directly across the street) and just far enough away from the bars and nightlife of the 'strip that you can choose how much or little you want to join in. If you are travelling with a group of friends or as couple and looking for a great place to stay check out the W Fort Lauderdale, it is well worth it. Try the Bliss Spa, it's a must do! August 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing view everything about this hotel was great. The room was amazing with wiews of the ocean and the service was great. The restaurant Steak 954 was simply the best food I had in Florida August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Weekend great dinner at Steak 954 + great weather + fun poolside + comfortable bed awesome stay! In-room bathrooms should have had a door though when the room has more than one bed. If there is just 1 bed then obviously they guests in that room are a couple and would have no issue with an open bathroom but otherwise, I think the bathroom should have had a door for a little more privacy. August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service We booked this hotel for my birthday weekend! As a platinum member, we stay at multiple hotels. The W hotel went above and beyond to make my bday special. Special thanks to the W Insider team - Derek - he is fantastic! Gilda was very polite and courteous with check in and we loved Ray the bartender! Thank you W Hotel for such wonderful customer service! We will be back! August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, great location The W Hotel in Fort Lauderdale has a great location! I've been staying there for years. The staff has improved in quality of service, but the hotel is starting to show its age just a bit. The bathrooms are looking a bit "used". Other than that, it's a great value for being on the beach. If you're reading this and have children, please keep them in control. The W is a young adult hotel, and your children are not the guests' problem. August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by mattress running my way to spg platinum at the beach I just completed my third stay at the W in Fort Lauderdale and already have two more trips planned to return! I’m currently working on finishing up a mattress run to catapult myself to Starwood platinum, and as I still have another ten stays to complete by year end, I’m only doing one night stays at each property to make sure I reach platinum. As such, I am able to compare the W to the other Starwood properties in Fort Lauderdale because I have done one night stays at both the Sheraton and the Westin. The W is by far the nicest of the Starwood properties in Fort Lauderdale with two swimming pools, a nightclub, hair salon, steak house and another bar in the lobby, the hotel is certainly quite rich in features. The property is comprised of two towers: tower one is closer to the beach and offers standard and premium rooms; tower two has a majority of the residential suites with intercostal views. The property is adorned with stone alligators that can be used as seating and provides a very functional decorative touch outside and on the decks. This property is very good at recognizing loyal guests and guests with Gold and Platinum status; of the three stays I’ve made at the property all of which we book at the least expensive SPG Hot Escapes prepaid rate around an average of ~$200, one time I received an upgrade to an enhanced oceanfront room with a terrace, and twice I was upgraded to the property’s residential suites, which have three rooms: a full kitchen with a dining table and six chairs along with a seating area, a master bedroom/bathroom with a king sized bed Jacuzzi and washer/dryer and either a second bedroom or den area with another full bathroom; the entire three room suite is lined with a large and fully furnished terrace. Like all of the W Hotels, the W Fort Lauderdale bathrooms features Bliss products, including body butter, which is really needed with all the Florida heat. One nice touch that the rooms have is a plush alligator on each of the beds from a company called Wishpets, the alligator is all white except for the eyes and very soft—I liked it so much I bought one for myself on Amazon. I really, really appreciate that the hotel was so generous with the suite upgrades—it really made my experience stand out even more. As I mentioned, the property has two pools; the main pool has a staircase coming up from the lobby that takes you right through a glass enclosure cut out of the pool; it’s a really modern and chic feature. The pool area has a full bar that also serves food and pretty scantily clad women will gladly bring you food or drinks right to your chaise lounge (the pool is lined with them), private cabana or right to you in the pool. The CVS down the street sells large inflatable tubes for $8, I bought one each time and enjoyed cocktails as I floated around in the pool. If the Florida heat just isn’t enough for you, there is also a hot tub. The W ordered custom branded beach balls that can be seen being tossed around in the pool. The hotel hosts a big party on the pool deck every Sunday, which is open to all hotel guests free of charge and to non-guests for $10. They have a live DJ and it really makes going to the pool a very fun experience, unfortunately, it can also make it hard to find an open chaise lounge. Of note, the pool area (and other parts of the property) offer free fruit infused water and apples, which is a nice touch. The other pool is primarily occupied by kids, so is a less attractive option, but good later in the day when the pool is mostly shaded by the hotel, it too features a hot tub, and a limited number of chaise lounges and cabanas. While there is also a bar at this pool, it wasn’t open on any of my three visits. I ordered food and drinks at the bar in addition to room service a few times, everything was very expensive but fresh and high in quality. The tuna tacos are to die for; while I was poolside I ordered a few hard strawberry lemonades, and while I felt that they could have come in bigger cups with more vodka, they were quite delicious. While, I think that the W Fort Lauderdale not only represents the best of the Starwood properties in Fort Lauderdale (both the Sheraton and the Westin feel very outdated) and is one of the better hotels I’ve stayed at globally, I do think that there is always room for improvement at any hotel: The hotel rack rate is substantially higher than that of other Fort Lauderdale properties, and while I think that it’s probably worth an extra $50 or so over the Sheraton or Westin, remember that you can always stay at another property and pay $10 to use the pool on a Sunday. Keep in mind that in the off-season, this hotel frequently appears on SPG Hot Escapes and can be book at a bit of a discount. Other things of note are that the hotel offers iPhone docking connectors aside each bed, but unfortunately, the connectors are the quite outdated 30-pin connectors, so you’re out of luck if you want to listen to music on the included Tivoli radio from your Android device or newer iPhone. The W offers free yoga classes for guests, which is great! Unfortunately, they’re all offered very early in the morning, 8-9, which is far earlier than I would ever wake up on vacation. Welcome desk check ins can take longer than I would like; on each of the three occasions that I’ve visited the hotel I’ve waited to talk to a welcome desk agent to check in, while one or two concierge whenever/whatever representatives sat at their desks doing nothing—they really should have moved over to the welcome desk to check me in and not keep me waiting. Also, on one of my stays, they failed to properly magnetize my keys for late checkout, which the hotel only offers as a courtesy—I only got 4 PM late checkout once, late checkout is very important to me; to be fair, they did offer 2PM and 3Pm late check out on the other stays. Also the hotel does offer all day keys to enjoy the pool on your day of check-out, which is nice. One last thing that I really wanted to mention, is that one time I had a non-refundable reservation and my flight from New York was canceled due to weather problems; I called Sabrina at the Welcome desk and she was able to move my reservation to another date for me—again, this was huge for me, and showed me that the hotel is really focused on delivering a great customer experience. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff was very attentive My overall rating for the W Fort Lauderdale Hotel was somewhere in between good and excellent. What set this hotel apart for me was the attentiveness of the staff and the "whatever/whenever" perk. I want to mention specifically, Jay from the concierge desk. He made a potentially bad review and stay, into a memorable vacation for my family. Long story short, he overheard an unpleasant conversation I had with a staffer from the front desk, pulled me aside and made sure my needs were met. He also assisted my family with other needs throughout our stay. He was awesome. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE W FLL IS AN EXCELLENT HOTEL WITH ALL THE AMENTIES ONE DESIRES. FROM THE W HOTEL GROUNDS TO THE WONDERFUL STAFF AT THE BLISS SPA (TONY) TO THE FANTASTIC RECEPTION STAFF ESP. BRIAN MURRAY WITH HIS PROFESSIONAL ATTENTION AND GREAT SMILE THIS W HOTEL IS RAPIDLY BECOMING MY FAVORITE OF ALL THE W HOTELS. THE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF IS EXCELLENT AND EVEN ANTICIPATED MY ONE NEED AND HAD A LARGER REFRIGERATOR BROUGHT TO MY ROOM WHILE I WAS OUT SHOPPING! KUDOS AND THANK YOU FOR BEING THE BEST. BEST REGARDS. MR. ERIC M CARRINGTON August 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by greater fort lauderdale great accommodations, beaches and service! August 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel has excellent customer service The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. Anything you need, they are there to make it happen August 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by great location but really pathetic towels. the towels need to be donated to some shelters or salvation army. definitely not for hotel guests who pay so much to come and stay in a good hotel and have good memories of the vacation. to find towels with holes and ripped at the edges everyday on our return to the room was very upsetting. even after complaining to the style supervisor 2 days in a row, nothing changed. on the 3 day, got the same torn towels. have pictures for proof. would love to post it on the web so people can be more prepared and know what to expect when they get there. January 11, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>