W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 776 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great hotel if you don't like to go to the pool The hotel is wonderful but I wanted to go out to the pool and sit on a chair.... they are not even close to having enough capacity for the hotel. It was very frustrating. They even have another pool but there was no food and beverage service over there which made no sense to me. People were standing around everywhere watching for a chair to vacate. It was very uncomfortable. They also had the chairs practically on top of each other to fit more in. If you put your hand down you held hands with the stranger next to you. For a beach city they need to open up that back pool with the same service as the front pool. It was a real downer for my trip. The hotel room and service was very up to par though. I will say that! Just don't plan on sitting poolside unless you go out at 7am. And be prepared to get cozy with others! February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by WFTL the hotel has excellent features February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expecteda whole lot more Stained carpets in the room, poor service quality offered at checkin for Platinum guest, only plus was valet parking guys very good, but expensive - more a faded star than the icon on the beach I had expected February 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Staff The staff at this hotel are very professional. My family and I were treated like royalty at the pool thanks to Alex. He continued to make sure my family and I had everything we needed to have an enjoyable experience. It's staff like this that makes the W a fun hotel to visit. The views are nice and the beach is awesome. The pool areas are very nice and the food is very delightful. Fort Lauderdale is a beautiful city and the W is the best place to stay while there. February 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Remodel or close One word...DREADFUL! Arrogant staff, varnish peeling from furniture in room, elevator floors rotting at the edges, 1/3 of elevators not working for 3 days, incorrect bill (and after a week, can't get a corrected one), incoinsistant housekeeping, room service trays in halls for 12-18 hours, worn out bed, and on and on. Couldn't care less about my lifetime platinum status or 100 nights last year ststus. February 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by DO NOT EXPECT DIPLOMAT I have been a spg platinum since 2009; and have never stayed at this location before my, 6 night stay here in early January. At check in I was told check in time was 4pm...DO NOT EXPECT early check in...This is not the DIPLOMAT...After causing enough of a problem that they finally found us a room till our room was ready, we spent the morning by the pool...The pool food was ok but the lone girl working there was unable to get food out hot or in an expected time...This is not the DIPLOMAT. The pool side massage guy showed up late and ended early...The green option really means don't expect any fresh towels for your entire stay...and NEVER expect towels to be poolside after hours...Bring yours from your room... As a very large Corporate member as well as spg platinum, expect no recognition for either....its ashame because it is a beautiful hotel...but i will not be returning.. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. The best hotel in Ft. Lauderdale! The food is excellent. the views are fabulous, and the exceptional hotel staff is warm, friendly and love to pamper you. You will be spoiled and love it. February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff Dedicated to a great customer experience Greetings! I was at your incredible hotel January 29-February 1st with a group of friends on our annual reunion trip. Thanks to your incredible staff, we all agree that this was the best annual trip yet! I am a hotel sales manager and when we travel, I can't help but notice small things here and there that may be overlooked by other travelers...both positive and negative things. I also know that far too often guests can take time to register a complaint but often times do not take the time to sing the praises of a geat stay.... I am singing from the rooftops! The staff of the W Ft. Lauderdale was what took our stay from good to spectacular! A few I wanted to recognize individually: First, Gerardo at your front office gave us the warmest welcome and truly antcipiated our needs throughout our stay. He is a true asset to the team and made us feel like we were the only guests staying at your property. Kudos! Othere guests that stood out to us, were the pool staff, as we spend most of our hotel time relaxing at Wet East. Specifically, Brian Hogue was "all over it" ensuring that we were well taken care of and having a great time. He, along with the two servers we had - Amanda and Hillary - were amazing. Thank you to the Wet East team! Again, as a hotel person I did reach out to yoru staff prior to our arrival and wanted to give s special "Thank you" to Jessica G., Meredith L., and Lindsay M. in your sales/reservatins team for your help with our stay, as well. Although we have all returned home now, our group of friends on this trip still talk daily about the fun we had and the beauty of your facility and refreshing spirit of your staff. Thank you all for an amazing vacation! February 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyable Stay Over Presidents Day Weekend Always enjoy returning to the W Fort Lauderdale and was back this year on President's Day Weekend. The building is dramatic, the décor chic and our room had a nice ocean view. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially at the pool, where they helped find lounge chairs for us on this busy holiday weekend. The W insider reception was done very well, with nice food and wines. Only two issues during the stay was the very slow room service (for in-room breakfast delivery one day and to get an in-room coffee maker the next; each took almost an hour and a couple of calls to Whatever/Whenever - was told that the room service staff was very backed up) and that the room had not been made up when first arriving in the room (bed had been stripped of sheets and room had not been cleaned - apparently, housekeeping was very backed up too). Nonetheless, this was my fourth or fifth time at this hotel, and I will certainly be back. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST HOTEL IN FORT LAUDERDALE I took my family on vacation to the W Fort Lauderdale and had the best time. The service was amazing and the rooms were much better then expected.,and I travel alot. We will only come to this hotel when going on vacation to Florida. Raul Lopez from the staff made sure my stay was perfect. He always smiled and asked us if we need anything. He was so nice to me and my family that I would only come back to the W fort lauderdale thanks to his great smile and his amazing staff who always made us feel at home. This hotel is the place to go when going on vacation with your spouse or if you want to bring the family. Thanks W Fort Lauderdale for the best vacation we ever had. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfection I would first like to start this review by stating I am at platinum ambassador level. I travel to SPG properties every week and I have had the pleasure to log nearly 40 nights at this property throughout 2014. Their SPG recognition has proven to surpass every other property I have stayed in to date. I have had the true pleasure of enjoying the W. Ft. Lauderdale for both business and pleasure. If I invite family or business colleagues in town this is the only hotel I put them up in. I can honestly say, I have had nothing but absolutely positive experiences from the highest levels of management to the most basic members of their staff. I hope to continue staying at this property for years to come. I would also like to personally thank Mr. Michel Notten, Ms. Jody Doyle, Ms. Emily, and Mr. Brandon specifically for their continuous above and beyond... Should I say "whatever whenever" service. This hotel is a true gem. January 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but we know better W got a sensational room and clearly, it was: overlooking the Atlantic and the Beach - superb. But a Hotel in this Class needs more. Coolness, being stylish and entertainment should come together with customer orientation. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful weekend escape We spent a few days here right around Thanksgiving (in advance of leaving on a cruise from Miami), and would say that this was probably among the top 2 or 3 W Hotels we have stayed at in recent memory. The staff was highly courteous upon our arrival, acknowledged my Gold Preferred status and immediately checked to see whether there were any upgraded rooms available -- which, by chance (despite a few events going on at the hotel that weekend), there were. We were upgraded to a cool corner suite overlooking the front pool and the beach, both of which were amazing views. Over the course of our 3 days at the hotel, the staff periodically checked up on us (including one day where we just stayed in bed and watched movies all day) -- just checking to make sure we had everything we needed and if there was anything they could do to make our visit better. Really liked the thoughtfulness of that gesture. Room service was prompt and friendly, and the food was great. We had dinner at the steakhouse one night, and had a wonderful experience there, as well -- we were seated outside by a heat lamp. Food was delicious, wine was great. The facilities were in good shape. While we didn't go down to the pool, our room overlooked it and it looked great. Overall, a wonderful experience (and definitely consistent with what we've come to expect from the brand). January 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than the laast time Was back at this hotel in January, after a miserable stay here during Christmas. Did not encounter the same amount of trouble, and had a decent stay. Nice platinum upgrade (the hotel was rather empty) and Michelle at check-in was very sweet. My fifth stay here, and probably the best. The spg platinum breakfast get very boring after a few days, and some more variety in the W Café (or even better, give credit to the restaurant) would be nice. Tried to get an extra duvet for the bed, but never received one. Called four or five times, and every time they just brought the thin blanket that covers the duvet. Oh well. As long as you lower your expectations of the soft product/service, this hotel is fine. January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel This was my third stay at the W Fort Lauderdale & I can't wait to go back again. January 15, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hit or Miss This property is too large to expect prompt staff. I had had good stays here and horrible stays. My advice would be to stay away during the peak season, Nov-March. Too many snow birds come down and hotel just cant be managed properly. The times I have stayed for business mid-week have been fine. The stays over a Friday and Saturday have not been fine. Perfect example of a hotel that is right on the beach and people will continue to book rooms. If you an SPG member with Gold or Platinum you would be better off at the Westin next door. I have been upgraded to larger rooms on higher floors. January 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware Oversold Rooms and Billing Arrived on January 2 2015 to be given room grade below the one we booked (lacked a Queen Bed) - basically room had one King Bed for four people. Not told that we had been downgraded at check-in I assume that the staff just hoped we would not notice?? Returned to reception to inquire about missing bed to be told that all the Marvellous Ocean Rooms were full. Ended up in right room from January 3 to 7 but charged twice for Munchie Box used by guests who were in the room we were meant to be in on Jan 2. Charged for Rollaway Bed when T&C stated complimentary. Staff removed charges at check out then added back when we had left hotel. I know the hotel was busy but every other 4 or 5 Star Hotel we have stayed in during the last decade has managed to deliver on booked room and not tried to steal money through extra charges. Personally would avoid this hotel at all costs during high season. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff really makes this hotel exceptional Our first stay... What a great hotel. Great rooms, nice pool and movies/popcorn for the kids... What really made our stay perfect was the exceptional customer service by all staff and in particular Emily, a manager at the front desk. She made sure everything about our stay was taken care of (attention to detail). I really appreciate how the staff tries to make all the guests happy during the holiday season.. Kudos to the Emilly and the entire staff at the W Fort Lauderdale. We will be coming back for years to come. January 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the Christmas stay I had hoped for Stayed here during Christmas, and ran into too many issues for the high rate I paid. Had a booked a fantastic suite and been guaranteed a high floor – but received an accessible suite on a low floor. The noise from the pool and ventilator made the balconies almost unusable. Asked for a move, but was told that the fantastic suites no longer go higher than 12th floor. Why wasn’t I told about this change? And why did the W Insider promise me a high floor if she knew that would not be possible? The breakfast at the W Café was served in a meeting room on the second floor, and was probably the worst platinum breakfast treatment I have ever seen. No cushions for the sunbeds on the balcony. When I called about this, they said they were out of them. What? I vented my frustration with the spg twitter team, and like a Christmas miracle there were cushions out there a few hours later. Called for an extra duvet for the bed. Never got it. Called again. Still nothing. Gave up when they told me that “we have a back log due to only one elevator working”. They were fully booked, so that meant an intense battle for sunbeds. We solved this by going to the slightly quieter Wet West at 8am, but if we had wanted to sleep longer, it would have become a problem. Not too happy with Wet West being the announced the “kid pool” over the holiday, though. Isn’t this hotel supposed to be more adult-oriented? January 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly Wonderful Stay! From the moment we stepped in we knew this was no ordinary hotel. From the wonderful scent (I would like to know the name) , to the stylish decor we knew we were in for a treat. We were first greeted at front desk by Gildou, who was friendly and helpful at making our check-in a breeze. When we walked in to our room we were very pleased with the bedding , view and bliss toiletries in the bathroom. During our stay , we noticed that every staff member was friendly and helpful in every way . Then we met Dervin, he was the "icing on the cake" .He went above and beyond to make our stay ENJOYABLE! We like to thank all the staff at the W hotel for making our stay MEMORABLE! Special thank you to Dervin . We can't wait for our next stay at the W fort lauderdale! January 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff My heartfelt thanks go out to Raul Lopez of the W Fort Lauderdale. For the 4th year in a row, my family and I spent the Christmas holidays there last week and loved every second of it. Raul knew when we were arriving and greeted us with a warm welcome upon check-in. He catered to us with a smile on his face. Not only did he check with us periodically to see if there was anything we needed, he even sent us champagne for our family reunion! Throughout our stay he offered us many treats to enhance our vacation. We give thanks to Raul for making every year so special for us. The W certainly wouldn't be the same without him. He is a wonderful representative of the Starwood company. January 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did not get the unit we reserved As Starwood guests we were told to call the day before for upgrade info. We did. When we asked for description of the room we were upgraded to, staff there described the room we originally booked. Upon further inquiry she specifically said; "your upgrade is a king suite with a kitchen, dining area, living room and a separate private area, a den with a separate bath". I was satisfied with that. Upon arriving we were given the room originally booked - not the upgrade. When we made it clear this was Not the upgrade, we were given another room on a higher floor that was exactly the same as the room we had just moved from - the floor plan/space was the same. We were polite but very clear that this apparent confusion/misrepresentation was unacceptable. We were then moved to another room that again, was the same area, space and similar layout as the unit we had just left. We were clearly discouraged and very tired from traveling all day. Our dissatisfaction obvious, we were then shown another unit (the exact unit that was finally described to us when the upgrade was requested the day prior to arrival) and were then told we had to pay an additional amount per night in order to stay in that unit. Since the rooms we had moved from had stained dinette chairs, rugs, as well as other issues, we just said fine. Apparently the W needed the additional money more than we did. Poor management decisions, poor upkeep of the units we were offered. Overall an extremely disappointing experience, leaving us with a negative feeling about the W. Perhaps if I hadn't called about the upgrade the day before and gotten the specific details we may not have felt so so disappointed with the W. We never expected such a grueling check in and have never experienced anything like it before, or since. January 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unresponsive Staff Basically the staff is overwhelmed and they make promises they cannot keep. We arrived around 2PM and were told our room would be ready within the hour - after multiple visits to the front desk - a manager finally reconciled the issues and got us our room - but wait - he takes our stored luggage tag, tell us he is getting our room keys and disappears - after 15 minutes - I find a bellmen to go in search of our luggage and room keys - another 10-15 minute and we finally get our luggage and room keys - now closing in on 5. In addition, we had to call everyday around 3:45 to get housekeeping to come up and service our room - repeatedly had to call and would get our room cleaned around 4-5:30 as we would be coming back form the beach and needing to clean up for the evening. The maids would come - not have enough towels etc... and say would have some delivered - we would get back from dinner - and have to call and ask for towels - every day - basically they would do something only when repeatedly asked and then it would be incomplete, Really a poor experience. The topper was the overall cleanliness of an expensive suite - really poor - things like hair on the walls of the shower from previous guests. Carpet and chairs stained and dirty - not vacuumed etc. January 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay only in low season Why I rated one star: Elevators - numerous times I had to skip getting on the elevator due to overcrowding. It stops almost on all floors. You need up to 10-15 minutes to reach 19 th floor. Free breakfast for SPG - served in conference room on three small tables with overall feeling of refugee camp cafeteria. This was the most disappointing thing about my stay. Jacuzzi at the pool area - too cold for a spa with rust around it. Valet - mandatory (no self parking), ignoring, not answering phone calls. Valet also gave my car to another person in front of me and then proceeded to blatantly ignore my remarks to him that it was my car and never apologised for his mistake. Check-in - we waited for rooms longer then hotel official check in time at 4 p.m.. I received keys to the second room and went to the correct door only to find that room was already occupied. I returned to front desk, duty manager apologised and offered compensation of one-night cost of 16000 Starpoints. I agreed, but did not end up receiving my Starpoints. I waited another hour till 6 p.m. for another room. Billing - both of my bills contained multiple false charges. Room - has ice bucket instead of trash can in bathroom. Bathroom entrance curtain fell on my head when I opened curtain. Water handle fell on my feet when I opened the tap (room 1923). Shower has zero privacy and unsuitable for non-couples or for shy people. I am sorry Starwood lost another good properties in this area like Atlantic, St Regis or Diplomat. I don't see good options in this wonderful area anymore. January 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff makes up for some issues My family and I stayed at the W this past week, which was our second stay at this property in the past few years. The hotel itself is very nice, with a great location. The front desk staff is very attentive and helpful, especially Brian Pitts, who went out of his way on several occasions to make sure we were happy. I also want to say thank you to Bruna for her help as well. There are a few negatives that I am sure management would like to know about. We were not very happy with the housekeeping, literally the entire stay. First off the fact that we were out of the room all day on Saturday, yet housekeeping did not come to clean the room until 5:45 PM, is a big negative and when I called to complain, I received no satisfaction at all. Second, housekeeping has a tendency to clean the room and change the towels, however, they left our dirty glasses for the entire 6 days, which after the second day, almost became comical. Overall, the positives definitely outweigh the negatives and we will be back. December 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Gem by the beach! This was our first time in the W Fort Lauderdale but it won't be our last! The hotel located across the beach is beautiful, the rooms are spacious clean with balconies overlooking the beach or the inter coastal - both in our case..the staff super nice from the moment we arrived at the reception Joe was very nice , since we were traveling with our Grandchildren made sure our accommodations were comfortable for all of us..the same at the pool area Alex took really good care of us the kids had a fantastic time as well.. Overall it's a beautiful modern upbeat hotel that caters to everyone !Highly recommend it!! December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! Marvolous Suite ! - WOW ! December 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome place I wanted to try out the W instead of staying at one of the other SPG properties. I was using a reward night, and, unfortunately, only one night. I was unexpectedly given a 2 bedroom suite on the 19th floor. Absolutely amazing room! I was a bit hesitant to use the amount of points I needed just for quick "pre-cruise" night, but it was certainly worth it. I wish I was able to stay longer!! Breakfast was fine, with a nice view too. With such a short stay I really wasn't able to use any of the other facilities or interact with staff, but those I did meet were very accommodating. I'll certainly be back again! December 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Birthday at the W Ultra modern hotel.Dimly blue lit throughout. Suite was beautiful with a great balcony and fantastic view of the ocean.The problem I had with the room was the shower, it was enclosed in glass, which was fine, but it was see thru glass facing the bedroom with no curtain or diffused glass. So whoever is in your bedroom has a full view of your bathing techniques. December 11, 2014
  • 2015-10-03T08:53:51.230-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_776, tr_776
  • loc_en_US, sid_1522, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 27 next>>