W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check into a room. 

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 709 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by mattress running my way to spg platinum at the beach I just completed my third stay at the W in Fort Lauderdale and already have two more trips planned to return! I’m currently working on finishing up a mattress run to catapult myself to Starwood platinum, and as I still have another ten stays to complete by year end, I’m only doing one night stays at each property to make sure I reach platinum. As such, I am able to compare the W to the other Starwood properties in Fort Lauderdale because I have done one night stays at both the Sheraton and the Westin. The W is by far the nicest of the Starwood properties in Fort Lauderdale with two swimming pools, a nightclub, hair salon, steak house and another bar in the lobby, the hotel is certainly quite rich in features. The property is comprised of two towers: tower one is closer to the beach and offers standard and premium rooms; tower two has a majority of the residential suites with intercostal views. The property is adorned with stone alligators that can be used as seating and provides a very functional decorative touch outside and on the decks. This property is very good at recognizing loyal guests and guests with Gold and Platinum status; of the three stays I’ve made at the property all of which we book at the least expensive SPG Hot Escapes prepaid rate around an average of ~$200, one time I received an upgrade to an enhanced oceanfront room with a terrace, and twice I was upgraded to the property’s residential suites, which have three rooms: a full kitchen with a dining table and six chairs along with a seating area, a master bedroom/bathroom with a king sized bed Jacuzzi and washer/dryer and either a second bedroom or den area with another full bathroom; the entire three room suite is lined with a large and fully furnished terrace. Like all of the W Hotels, the W Fort Lauderdale bathrooms features Bliss products, including body butter, which is really needed with all the Florida heat. One nice touch that the rooms have is a plush alligator on each of the beds from a company called Wishpets, the alligator is all white except for the eyes and very soft—I liked it so much I bought one for myself on Amazon. I really, really appreciate that the hotel was so generous with the suite upgrades—it really made my experience stand out even more. As I mentioned, the property has two pools; the main pool has a staircase coming up from the lobby that takes you right through a glass enclosure cut out of the pool; it’s a really modern and chic feature. The pool area has a full bar that also serves food and pretty scantily clad women will gladly bring you food or drinks right to your chaise lounge (the pool is lined with them), private cabana or right to you in the pool. The CVS down the street sells large inflatable tubes for $8, I bought one each time and enjoyed cocktails as I floated around in the pool. If the Florida heat just isn’t enough for you, there is also a hot tub. The W ordered custom branded beach balls that can be seen being tossed around in the pool. The hotel hosts a big party on the pool deck every Sunday, which is open to all hotel guests free of charge and to non-guests for $10. They have a live DJ and it really makes going to the pool a very fun experience, unfortunately, it can also make it hard to find an open chaise lounge. Of note, the pool area (and other parts of the property) offer free fruit infused water and apples, which is a nice touch. The other pool is primarily occupied by kids, so is a less attractive option, but good later in the day when the pool is mostly shaded by the hotel, it too features a hot tub, and a limited number of chaise lounges and cabanas. While there is also a bar at this pool, it wasn’t open on any of my three visits. I ordered food and drinks at the bar in addition to room service a few times, everything was very expensive but fresh and high in quality. The tuna tacos are to die for; while I was poolside I ordered a few hard strawberry lemonades, and while I felt that they could have come in bigger cups with more vodka, they were quite delicious. While, I think that the W Fort Lauderdale not only represents the best of the Starwood properties in Fort Lauderdale (both the Sheraton and the Westin feel very outdated) and is one of the better hotels I’ve stayed at globally, I do think that there is always room for improvement at any hotel: The hotel rack rate is substantially higher than that of other Fort Lauderdale properties, and while I think that it’s probably worth an extra $50 or so over the Sheraton or Westin, remember that you can always stay at another property and pay $10 to use the pool on a Sunday. Keep in mind that in the off-season, this hotel frequently appears on SPG Hot Escapes and can be book at a bit of a discount. Other things of note are that the hotel offers iPhone docking connectors aside each bed, but unfortunately, the connectors are the quite outdated 30-pin connectors, so you’re out of luck if you want to listen to music on the included Tivoli radio from your Android device or newer iPhone. The W offers free yoga classes for guests, which is great! Unfortunately, they’re all offered very early in the morning, 8-9, which is far earlier than I would ever wake up on vacation. Welcome desk check ins can take longer than I would like; on each of the three occasions that I’ve visited the hotel I’ve waited to talk to a welcome desk agent to check in, while one or two concierge whenever/whatever representatives sat at their desks doing nothing—they really should have moved over to the welcome desk to check me in and not keep me waiting. Also, on one of my stays, they failed to properly magnetize my keys for late checkout, which the hotel only offers as a courtesy—I only got 4 PM late checkout once, late checkout is very important to me; to be fair, they did offer 2PM and 3Pm late check out on the other stays. Also the hotel does offer all day keys to enjoy the pool on your day of check-out, which is nice. One last thing that I really wanted to mention, is that one time I had a non-refundable reservation and my flight from New York was canceled due to weather problems; I called Sabrina at the Welcome desk and she was able to move my reservation to another date for me—again, this was huge for me, and showed me that the hotel is really focused on delivering a great customer experience. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was amazing!!! My first time to stay here and it was the Best in service, cleanliness and staff friendly. I will be back and will request room 1821. The best view I have ever had. I loved being recognized as a SPG owner. Thank you for a fabulous stay!!!!! July 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beautiful accommodations Hospitality poor I booked this room in advance for my friends bachelorette party. I was clear when I made the reservation that I would not be present for the party. At NO time was I asked to give a credit authorization prior to the stay. I even inquired about it and was told "all the guest will need to do is show a card for incidentals." Then, the day of the party when the bride arrived to begin what was supposed to be her night of celebration, she was left standing in the front lobby for almost one hour and was told, "there was no credit auth and so we cannot accommodate you right now" I called immediately from out of town and a manager finally helped me. My friend, Julie Weglewski, was not apologized to and the bottle of champagne I ordered never came as well! I stay quite frequently at the W and was seriously disappointed with the events surrounding my friends party. I told her it would be amazing and bought the suite for the night as a gift for her. Im embarrassed now. Thank you for your time July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by great spot on the beach but pool staff and service staff were very accommodating and very professional. problem was with checkout. had an early flight. asked the front desk in person for a 5;30 wakeup call. he wrote the info on the back of a document he had in his hand. I said to my travel companion who there was no way this guy is going to remember our wakeup call. sure enough I happened to wake up at 6:00 by chance by looking at my phone. clock radio was not functioning properly. went to check out bc there was no bill under the door. was told by the same guy who was supposed to wake us up that he could not print a bill and would have to email me. he could not even accept a cash payment. this is what separates a great hotel from a good hotel. I guess that whenever, wherever slogan is just for show. July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Customer Service From check-in to check-out it is very clear that the W Hotel is serious about their customer service. Everyone is pleasant and goes above and beyond. Bianca was excellent at receiving me and handling my check-in seamlessly. Alex (pool attendant) was pleasant, attentive, and an all around hard worker. I think the pool cushions and other outdoor furniture cushions could use a refreshing/replacing but was not a deterrent in enjoying the spaces. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great staff and great condition of hotel Staff is very attentive and seem to Genuinely care about the guests. Great check in experience. Even though the guest in front of me was taking a while, the desk agent took the time to make eye contact and give me a nod that he would be with me shortly. Room service order was lost and had to reorder, but the recoverly was so good....it was no longer an issue. My group had a absolutely great meeting there! July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern, Clean & Comfortable Rooms are modern and very clean July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by the whole family had a great time we all enjoyed our time at the hotel and wish we would have been able to stay longer. Will definitely be back July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beach in Fort Lauderdale Great location for those that like be in front o the beaches. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AMAZING FUNNNNNNN!!! The W Ft Lauderdale is the place to be for fun and sun!! The hotel staff are happy, friendly , with miles of smiles!! You can't help but feel good here!! The views are spectacular!! Steak 954 is second to NONE. Food is FABULOUS and decor is sensational as is the rest of the hotel. The pool is AMAZING!! Again the staff at the pool are all friendly, happy and could not do enough to make sure we were happy and having a good time!! EXCELLENT!! Can't wait to return!! July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is the Place!!! Outstanding hotel... great service... wonderful staff. If you are coming to Ft. Lauderdale this is the only place to stay. You can tell this hotel is run well. July 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay, personal service The W Fort Lauderdale went above and beyond to satisfy me! I must recognize several employees specifically Marylouise, Gerardo, Jody, and Nikki. The personal service they provided for us made our time here extra special. Also, I must personally thank Brian (W Insider) for his time and effort as he ensured that my stay was flawless. The customer service at this hotel is topnotch (keep in mind I have visited category 7 properties.) July 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay....Staff is Amazing... Would definitely recommend Harvey in the SPA - very detailed and explained everything which I greatly appreciated. Hotel & Banquet staff were also amazing. Crowd is more on the adult getaway fun side...not the best for kids. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service and Amenities I stayed at The W Ft. Lauderdale for 3 days. It is one of the best hotels I've ever been. The room was clean, comfortable and perfect for a short stay. The service was impeccable. The restaurant staff was very accommodating to my requests and the pool service was very responsive. The ladies at the shop were very friendly and sold me a beautiful necklace! I'd love to go back, next time for a longer stay. July 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel had outstanding service and features My stay was absolutely OUTSTANDING. The customer service, the room, food, hospitality was simply AMAZING. My husband and I felt like we were a priority and that is was truly important that we enjoyed our stay at the Ft. Lauderdale W. My commendation to the staff,..JOB WELL DONE!! Everytime we are in the Ft.Lauderdale area we will be staying at the Ft. Lauderdale W. A special recognition to Jennifer(from Arizona) whom ensured our room was phenomenal. Thank you all and keep up the GREAT WORK!!! July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great restaurants 954 was awesome steaks and service was fantastic July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic high quality hotel in great location Beautiful contemporary hotel and great service. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway Whether it is the beach or the pool we had fun in the sun. Top notch personel at all positions. A friendly smile and a " good morning" to get you where you were going..... See you soon. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by W Lauderdale problems If the comfort of your guests is really your goal, here are ways to improve: 1) Include a larger selection of snacks and beverages in your gift shop. It's ludicrous that a guest cannot go down to the lobby and purchase a Coke and a bag of chips for a reasonable price; 2) Print the restaurant menus in the "Everything you need to know book." Clearly, it does not meet the requirements of the title if you cannot find detailed information about your restaurants and their menus in the guide. 3) Have information in the room in magazine or brochure format about area sights of interest and things to do. You have a tremendous amount of information available for your spa, well, I know that is a moneymaker for you, but seriously, how often does the average male business traveller use a spa? Best, Mark July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel and Location This was my first stay at the W in Ft Lauderdale. I received an outstanding upgrade to a full suite making it the nicest hotel room of any hotel room in which I've stayed. It also had a wonderful view of the ocean. Service is consistently good at all Starwood Hotels. Between the SPG program, typical quality of their hotels and courteous service, I always try to stay in a Starwood property. I've also stayed at the Westin in Ft Lauderdale but the W is much nicer. My only objection to this hotel was that there were no easily accessible restaurants within walking distance except for hotel restaurants which tend to be pricey for expense account meals. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Time at the Beach I stayed at the W Fort Lauderdale winding down form a busy week in Miami. The hotel facility, hotel staff, restaurant and restaurant staff did not disappoint. I really did not need to leave the hotel which was exactly what I was looking for. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Hotel was interesting The hotel was gorgeous but after 3 days of consistent elevator issues it was old. One elevator was broken the whole time we were there and the remaining ones took an excessive amount of time to get to our floor. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Getaway Everything done in typical W style. Fantastic pool and lively bar. Room was soft and comfy with updated decor and very quiet. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Over priced Absolutely nothing was complimentary, which in my opinion when you pay this much for a hotel room you should at least get a bowl of cold cereal and milk for free for breakfast, wifi was only provided in the lobby which is odd because the rooms were hooked up but they wanted to charge you for it. Other than that it was a very pleasant stay. July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, but maintenance and staff service could be better The rooms are nice and have great views. However, the sliding closet doors could hardly be opened and the showerhead was really bad....you had to stand there for hours to get a decent shower!! Housekeeping service is generally poor. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by MR Modern, fantastic beachside hotell. July 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Excellent Staff- Bad prep I had booked this hotel for my 25th wedding anniversary. The staff was great, but the air conditioning was off in the room when I arrived and it never could get ahead of the heat. Needless to say that completely ruined my stay. Very thoughtless of the hotel July 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Anniversary celebration Overall good experience for an anniversary celebration but check in was a long and painful process manager wasn't attentive or helpful at all... I do recommend this hotel but honestly it wasn't what I expected for a W especially regarding the staff ... The room was nice and comfy although the bed was more on the hard side... The restaurant on the contrary was amazing we had a fabulous dinner experience at Steak 954 July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience Brittani Terry was wonderful making our reservation, Michelle was so polite and helpful at check-in. Everyone from the valet to the luggage check were overly friendly and helpful, including the poolside set ups with chairs, etc.. The only place that was lacking was the service at the pool bar. Service took a while and not the same friendliness as inside. The overall experience was great. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Birthday Ever! I came to spend my birthday weekend here and from the minute I walked in everything was perfect. The hotel gave me a beautiful fruit basket and was beyond helpful at every step of the way from the front desk to the restaurant staff to housekeeping. Anything I needed was taken care of. I will definitely be coming back to this hotel for more staycations and highly recommend it for anyone looking to enjoy a fun relaxing time. July 15, 2014
  • 2015-04-17T18:43:02.196-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_709, tr_709
  • loc_en_US, sid_1522, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 next>>