W Fort Lauderdale

  • 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard
  • Fort Lauderdale,
  • Florida
  • 33304
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve and to check into a room. 

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 631 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Staff I am a huge SPG fan and I always do my best to stay with Starwood and have stayed at this location previously with a better experience. Upon arrival the front desk greating was non-existent. Didn't get asked about my Platinum Amenity Award, I had to request and yet to see if I got it. There was no thanks for my loyalty and no room for upgrade. The room we were assigned was not ready and we were simply told it may not be ready until 4pm and we would just have to wait. Luckily it didn't take that long, but the room was a basic room...not an upgrade at all. When I later inquired to another staff member how full they were I was told they had many rooms still open. From our view I could see that there were several nicer rooms empty. January 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by If this is how they treat SPG Platinum members, I can't imagine how they treat regular guests. Upon check-in, I was asked whether I needed boarding passes printed for the following day. Given the flight time, the check-in agent, asked if that meant that I would be leaving the hotel around 1 pm. I agreed. The following day, my travel plans changed and I called the front desk to extend my stay for another night, which was granted. I was never asked about flight time or departure time. Additionally, I was never advised during check-in or when I extended the stay that my automatic 4 pm late check-out as a SPG Platinum member would not be honored by this property. Shortly after 1 pm on January 11th, the phone in my room began ringing. Since I was on a work-related conference call, I initially ignored the ringing. However, when the phone started ringing for the third time, I had to interrupt my call to answer the phone. I simply advised the caller that I was on a conference call and could not talk at that time and hung up. The phone immediately rang again and I again stated that I was on a work call and could not talk. The front desk representative on the other end immediately accused me of staying past my requested 1 pm check-out time. I replied by stating that the check-out time was for the previous day before I extended my stay and that as a SPG Platinum member I had an automatic 4 pm late check-out available to me. The representative’s response was that this particular property did not honor SPG late check-out privileges and that I needed to leave the room immediately. I advised her that I was on a call and that as soon as I finished, I would finish packing and would be leaving between 2:30 and 3:30 and that since I was never advised that the property did not honor SPG Platinum privileges, that I had no notice that I needed to check-out sooner. The representative responded by saying that I would be charged $150 an hour if I did not leave immediately. I again stressed that I could not leave until I finished the call and that if she insisted upon charging me, that I would address the situation with SPG after the stay. During the entire conversation, the representative was very rude. Approximately 10 minutes after the phone call ended, someone started knocking on my door. Since I had a Do Not Disturb Sign on the Door and I was still on the work call, I ignored the knocking, until a man opened the door, walked in and asked me when I was leaving. I again advised that I would be leaving no later than 3:30 and he left. I was also emailed an updated Guest Folio reflecting the $150.00 Late Check-out Fee. I have never had a negative experience at a W Hotel and I have been staying at the properties for at least 8 years. I am shocked at the level of disrespect I was shown – from the incessant phone calls, the rude representative and security being sent to my room. If this is how SPG Platinum members are treated, I cannot imagine the interaction with regular guests. January 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Declining Services Under New Owner/Mgmt I've been a Platinum guest at this hotel since it's inception in April 2009. Over the past 5 years the service has been top notch until recent. Now under new ownership and management the hotels focus is no longer on the customer service but rather it's bottom line. If you're a Platinum guest and you expect to be upgraded to a suite, don't expect any flexibility in moving to a higher floor or a bigger room. The new rule is to place all hotel guests regardless of status or upgrade in the same section based on room rate. Therefore if your room rate is special (i.e. Points, Cash & Points, AAA or Gov't) you will be placed on a specific lower floor in a smaller room. Bigger rooms are only reserved for guests who pay rack rate (no objections). How do I know this information? Well, as I've stated before I've been staying at this hotel since inception and have built quite a rapport with several of the remaining hotel staff who are very transparent and unhappy with what's going on under new ownership/management. Additionally, the rooms had outdated decor, broken showers, bath tubs that pour green water and if you have the luxury of staying in Tower II do not allow them to stick you in the (01, 02) rooms next to the rear Wet. You will not get any sleep on a floor lower than 10 and security will be unresponsive to your calls. Lastly, they do not honor promise points. Night manager during my stay promised 10,000 points for my suffering. I'm still waiting. Disappointed!!! September 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Way below W Standard I'm Platinum Member for years. I got 2 rooms...711 and 1827. In theory 711 was an upgrade which I can't understand how. My request were High Floor away from Fire Exit..and I got completely the opposite. The Stairs Exit Door started slammig before 8am..so there goes my morning of rest which was the main purposes of spending my points at your hotel At the Bard..we got a waitress that had just started and had no clue what a Martini was The key for the second room for my sister in law (1827) took hours to get even though I chekced in at 4:30pm There was NO Platinum greeting, line or ammenities. Nothing at all.!! I regularly stay at W Hotels but this was the worst experience at W by far December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel is Great to Stay at. We checked in for a weekend and I must tell you it was an unforgettable weekend. The staff on every level was fantastic. The activities in the hotel were at a wide range. The food served was fantastic, even down to the Caesar Salad<<<< Great Salad with Chicken and is good for two. I can not stress enough about the staff in the Hotel. We have high raves for the service and the experience and will definitely be returning for another stay!!! Two thumbs up!!! October 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service! Upon check in I had one of the best experiences ever with Marco. He was outstanding! The service overall was great! The only disappointment was the over priced valet parking and it's the only option they give you. For SPG members there should be a discounted or complimentary parking option. September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service This was a first stay at this hotel for me, and Brian at chec-kin upgraded us to a beautiful 2-bedroom suite. The service was 100% all the way and I highly recommend this hotel. October 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Incorrect Room Booked Oasis Oceanfront room because wanted oceanfront. Called ahead on day of arrival and confirmed with frontdesk. Upon arrival received suite but not oceanfront. They had no other rooms. Management was VERY accommodating and appolgetic. Next day they arranged move to oceanfront suite. We made other arrangements. Hotel not on beach but across street from beach. Beach very narrow. Hotel bathroom not clean. Boogers on counter & private hair in bathtub. August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just magnifcent Had a great experience everything I thought it would be just one issue when it came to checking out and the valet charge which I had asked twice about and was told it was in my package then at front desk was told it was not would like to bring kids down in October September 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Loyalty Betrayed & PrePlanning Punished Totally unfair & unprofessional at Check-In ! Basically our pre-paid reservations, our loyalty to the W and Gold SPG status meant nothing ! It is both disappointing and frustrating to not have reservations honored for loyal customers not to mention the fact that the rooms were booked and prepaid in late November of 2013. It almost makes me feel punished (and discarded for pre-paying..) for having taken the necessary planning steps almost 4 months ago. The person at Check-In even mislead us in offering so-called upgraded suites which were in fact inferior to our original Cool-Corner Rooms which were allotted to other customers which I guess were so much more deserving so as to take our rooms. I had to eventually complain the next day to get credit. March 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing My expectations were very high for this hotel. I was disappointed with front desk check in. Also valet service was poor. No one helped put our bags in car when we left and valet had no idea what he was doing. I stay at a lot of 5star rating hotels, being a Travel Agent and I was very disappointed. I expected more from this property. September 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by great location but really pathetic towels. the towels need to be donated to some shelters or salvation army. definitely not for hotel guests who pay so much to come and stay in a good hotel and have good memories of the vacation. to find towels with holes and ripped at the edges everyday on our return to the room was very upsetting. even after complaining to the style supervisor 2 days in a row, nothing changed. on the 3 day, got the same torn towels. have pictures for proof. would love to post it on the web so people can be more prepared and know what to expect when they get there. January 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ron First Class as always. I dont know how much you pay Bernado, your Bell Captain, but it's not enough. I worked with dozens of hotels over the years and he is the best I've ever met! October 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Be careful with snack fees Everything about this property was excellent. The staff was nice and did a great job checking me in. The steak house was superb! Would definitely recommend the NY Steak and Chocolate Souffle. My only issue with the hotel, and to my surprise, was an updated invoice with a charge for a Munchie Box. I have left several messages with Finance with no response. The front desk is not able to assist given I had already checked out. I'm a bit upset at the fact that they lay this stuff out and then charge you for an item you did not consume. I would recommend snapping a picture to avoid the hassle of wasting your time trying to track down the correct individual who can provide a credit (the time waster is having to explain multiple times the issue). September 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by After 200 nights at this Hotel..... Sad to say this Hotel does not value it's Guests. I have spent over 200 nights at this Property over the last 3 years. That has come to an end. This Hotel has become a place that has forgotten what Hospitality means. I have asked for a Manager on 5 occasions in 3 years...never spoke to one. You would think they would value a very frequent Guest, not so. The only bright spot was the Valets...once you get on the elevator to the Lobby prepare to be treated poorly. Beautiful building and location...sad they have taken this attitude. Platinum Member for 3 Years August 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what I expected It seems that this hotel is struggling financially. Even though its employees went out of their way to help us, the hotel was not well stocked. In the morning, we had to go get coffee to the lobby because there are no coffee makers in the rooms. We were not getting the newspaper. Every time I went downstairs to ask for one, they told me they had ran out of them. The room did not have an iPod docking station. When I got one, it didn't work properly. There was no body lotion in the room. When I asked for one, they told me they were out. I did finally get lotion the following day, but by then, my experience at W was ruined. November 29, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by the W Ft Lauderdale I have been a member of SPG for 10 plus years and own 3 timeshares. I stay at Starwood hotels regularly. For this vacation, I used all of my 98,000 points and was extremely disappointed with my stay. Below are some of the issues. We arrived to a room that was promised as ocean front however it was on the intercoastal. Moved room from a condo to a Ocean view suit - so no kitchen or washer and dryer but cost the same. New room was filthy - floors were dirty, bathroom had long black hairs on the floor, molding was very dirty as well as carpet, head board had something on it, no bathroom rug It was a handicapped room and the seat in the shower was falling off the wall and was moldy After asked for it to be cleaned - bathroom looked better except the shower and rest of room remained dirty Room cleaned and bathroom rug was taken again Whisky Bar was closed all week The fire pit was not turned on at all during the week The only ATM machine in the hotel was down We ate at the Steak 954, the lobster was excellent the $47 steak was ordered med-rare and came out overcooked the second one came out cold and raw - it was returned and removed from the bill With the exception of the Spa personnel the staff was very friendly. The one day of Yoga offered was very good. Bottom line, instead of feeling like I was at a high end resort and spa we felt like we were at a Holiday Inn, insult to injury we used all of our points to have that poor experience. It was not the carefree, stress free, pampered, vacation advertised. March 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by worst experience ever I arrived on February 9,2013 with a sick daughter (nine year old with flu) at 12 noon and asked for any room to check in. Staff kept us for four hours waiting in a lobby. They let viruses fly next to many guests. Telling us hour over hour that room is ready but needs manager to check it; because something is missing. At around 3:30 pm I called for a manager.He arrived with a question why our staff did not place you in one of our hospitality suits? Seriously, why they did not I asked him? Upon arrival in our room that was dirty after 5 hours of cleaning with somebodies hair in the bath I had to call cleaning lady again to start cleaning once again. Only at 6 PM my room was ready. February 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel, but stop charging for wi-fi We had an excellent 4 night stay at this hotel. Service was top-notch (we were given a room upgrade and free breakfast on check-in), the room was great, Steak 954 excellent. Truly a memorable experience. However, I have 2 complaints. Why does this hotel (and others like it) still charge for in-room wi-fi access, when mid-range and budget hotels give it for free, and why does this hotel charge for local calls - seriously, $1.50 a call? That's beneath a hotel of this calibre, in my opinion. February 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great place to stay if sleep is not your primary concern This hotel is beautiful- inside and out. The rooms are lovely, as are the amenities the room is furnished with. Unfortunately, for those seeking sleep, the clubs/bars at the bottom of this venue attract a very different type of client. It's 2:30am as I write this review because I've been woken up beyond countless times from other guests on either side of my room "pre-partying" before heading out. Woke up again from those coming back to their rooms because the bars just closed... Screaming in the hallways, screaming from off the balcony above/near me and loud repetitive banging from the floor above. The tile floors don't help to drown out girls' high heels click-clacking back and forth either. I travel for work constantly- on the road every other week. While i realize this is a Friday night and people are letting loose, some of us would like to rest & relax, as well. I called down once to complain about the noise and it was addressed immediately which I very much appreciate. But I would never in a million years even think about staying here again if partying wasn't my main motive. Why else would guests be asked to sign an "anti-noise agreement" upon check-in...? Again, all of the staff were superb, the location can't be beat, but the type of guests this place attracts is not my cup of tea (at least on weekends). September 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not feel rm was worth the money spent For all the money I spent on the rm u would of least have a door on the bathrm. One wall in the rm had shutters which could be opened from the rm and look into the shower. Everything was over priced and they charged for everything. Parking was expensive. I didn't think the rm was that clean. The only thing that I thought was great-was that you could not get up into the rms without a key card for the elevator. September 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to W hotel standards After my enjoyable stay at The W Hotel (Dec.25-Jan1,2012), I must comment on some areas that need improvement. The pool does not have enough seating to accomodate your guests. I had to get up at 7:00AM to insure that fact that I had a chair each day at the pool. I would have preferred to sleep later on my vacation. In adddition, pool food service was backed up and it took over one hour to get my food, and then I had to get a credit for a turkey wrap that had only one slice of cheese and one slice of turkey! My guest for lunch received a salad served on a dinner plate instead of a salad bowl because they ran out of salad bowls. I did not expect this at a W Hotel. Another area for improvement was housekeeping. Each day I had to request towels and soap. Many days I did not get hand towels or washcloths because they "ran out" of them. The last several days of my stay, beach towels were put in my room because they ran out of bath towels. After each request, I was accomodated, however, I feel this should not have been necessary. I was very upset that I was not allowed to use any bar in the hotel New Year's Eve. There was a party that prevented hotel guests from having a drink at any bar unless they paid a mandatory fee for the party that I did not want to attend. However, I did want to utilize the hotel's bar for a New Years drink. How do you do that to your guests that are paying top dollar to say at your hotel? Furthermore, the morning newspaper was never delivered to my room even after I notified the front desk. I have stayed at other W Hotels and have not encountered these issues. There is alot of work to be done at this property to bring it up to W Hotel standards January 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service I stayed for the first time at W Ft. Lauderdale for 5 nights. I was shocked at the their poor service and continued missteps throughout my stay. Here are my complaints so far: * The hotel took 3 days to get me an in room portable refrigerator. * The hotel ran out of towels for their guest. They left only 1 towel in my room for my wife and I on one particular date. We both take multiple showers during the day and after workouts. So, we clearly need multiple towels. They promised to try and get me towels the next day but couldn't do anything for me that night. * Yes, continental breakfast is served on top of a Bar in the lobby on the 4th floor. The continental breakfast was one of the worst I have ever seen in terms of selection. They ran out of muffins, bagels, ceral, and had no juice or fruit. You were left with coffee and an empty container of creme. They only had 1 person manning the continental breakfast behind the bar and it appears he was overwhelmed. Guest were complaining about the selection and lack of juice and cold fruit. I decided to skip 5 days of continental breakfast with our package for my wife and I as they offered very few items on their menu worth eating. Forget about scramble eggs, waffles, juice, and you'll be lucky to find any fruit especially if you arrive after 9:45AM. * When I wanted to register a complaint with the on-site manager, he failed to return my call in an appropriate time. I had to call him 3 hours later and his excuse was that he was making rounds in the pool and couldn't return my call. * I called on 2 occasions to have Valet get my car and they failed to do so causing me to wait in the Valet area for an extra 10-20 minutes. * The management team and their staff did not follow up with my complaints in a resonable time. The only way complaints were eventually resolved was for me to constantly bug them and not the other way around. The provided no appology letters nor phone calls to check up on my complaints to see if they were resolved. I will never come back to the W Hotel Ft. Lauderdale nor recommend it to any of our friends vacationing in Florida. Although the poor service might be restricted to only this Hotel, it was enough to cause me to not want to stay at any Starwood hotel when it comes to my business or vacation travels. December 31, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by too busy to provide good customer service the hotel was very full. we had reserved a suite and ended up with a nice room in a very undesirable location. it took 1-1/2 hours just to speak with the manager about this and he was unable to improve the situation although he did provide a small room credit as an accommodation. the cleaning staff was so bogged down that our room was not cleaned until after 5 pm. on the first night, only one of the two twin beds was made up when we returned from dinner so our kids had to wait another 30 minutes to get ready for bed as we waited for housekeeping to finish preparing the room. the overall service level was low for such a nice property. December 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice views. Poor service. Another fun upgrade story. Same thing happened earlier this year. Checked in for one night on points. Basic wonderful room. I saw online there were nicer rooms for sale. Like Fabulous and marvelous. Not suites, mind you. Upon check in the usual schtick. No upgrades available. I show him my phone app selling the nicer rooms. I ask what happens if I buy one? He said then I get that room? So I called plat concierge. Politely explained situation. I watched as they called the front desk. And, magic. We were upgraded to a nicer room -- not a suite. Platinums should not have to do this. And the pool? So small. We are early risers so its fine getting a chair. But by 9am all the chairs are taken. And the area is empty until lunch. People just leave shirts and shoes on the chairs but this hotel does nothing about it and doesn't enforce this 25 min chair holding policy. It's an ok basic hotel disguised as something much nicer. Nice views, zero service. Lots of attitude. December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway We just finished our four day repeat stay at the W Hotel in Fort Lauderdale and cannot wait to return. The staff are simply delightful to deal with...very pleasant, courteous and super responsive. It was great hanging out at the pool an the lobby means and pools snacks are quite good. We look forward to returning real soon! September 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very tired property... A little tired for a W. Was upgraded, but to a very small residential suite - could not find any samples of pictures showing this style room. All furniture and upholstery is dated and worn - with stains on most and tethered fabric on all outside furniture and scratches on most inside furniture. Poolside was a zoo, and given the money they are probably making, I understand why they would not do any upgrades. But the place was just dirty and old - broken furniture, tethered umbrellas, cabanas were grossly dirty - found two used band aids in mine. Staff all seemed exhausted and lazy. Asked for a couple of minor things and the pool staff were literally making up lies to not have to help me. "Oh, only the big cabanas get a fridge." "Then why do three of the smaller ones have one." "Oh, because they were requested." "You, in fact, less than ten minutes ago offered one of those very cabanas to me." Just pure laziness, unfriendly service. The maids cart was visible in the hallway in tower 2 for four days. No attention to service, cleanliness, just desire to rake in cash. If you like Spring Break crowds, go here. August 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer Service very lacking! Negative experience--no phone service for 3 days--no Internet-I was there for Business. Waiters banging on doors at midnight searching for whoever had ordered room service since there was no phone service--guess the guy went downstairs and ordered. I went to front desk about telephone numerous times--they acted shocked that I had no phone--like it was the first time they heard of it. Room wasn't serviced but no way to call.They put a letter under our door with phone numbers of managers--but none of them worked. Would have been fine if I were there for vacation--in fact it would have been nice! not my favorite hotel for sure! July 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doubt I would ever return to this hotel... This hotel was a disaster from the start. At check in, which took almost 20min; they could not figure out my reservation (which was for a suite). I was then put in a handicapped accessible suite, without being told so and didnt realize i was in one until i tried to take a shower after unpacking at 9pm on a Friday night. I'm 6'3", so having to almost completely bend over to take a shower is not very ideal. On top of it, it was not the type of suite/room that I had even booked in the first place and the main reason that was the trype of suite I wanted was not even featured in the one i was placed in. The next day, after being out all day our keys did not work upon returning to the room. We not only had to go back down to the front desk one, but THREE times to finally have the keys work. Completely unacceptable! Both times that I asked if I could switch suites, I was told I could only be moved to another handicapped accessible suite on an even lower floor..... There was not even a mention of lookin to upgrade me to a different type of suite, even though I am a Platinum Member. It has now been 4 days since checking out and they double held $$ for incidentals to the room and they still have not dropped off of my credit card. NEVER AGAIN AT THIS PROPERTY! December 8, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible experience We checked into the W in Ft Lauderdale on Sat Feb 15th. We asked for an early checkin when the reservation was made. We arrived at 12:30 and waited 4 1/2 hours for our room suite. Upon entering the room, we noticed how filthy the floors were in addition to finding long black strands of hair attached to the shower door. Then we discovered large clumps of black hair surrounding the bathtub located in the master bedroom. Mgt was notified. We called and left a message for the GM and never received a call back. In addition, when arrived. the valet was no where to be found. We managed to locate a valet cart and proceeded to load all of our own luggage into the cart to proceed inside. No door man or electronic doors when entering, the main doors were filthy and full of fingerprints and more. It gets worse. The next morning we look to see where we can get coffee. We proceed to the lobby bar where there is a line of at least 30 people waiting for muffins etc... staffing is a issue at this hotel. We get our coffee and proceed outside to sit in the outdoor lounge areas, the cushions are full of dried up food from the night before and filthy. We check out after the second day as we could not see spending this amount per night for our room when the hotel and service was so lacking. We proceed to the anther local hotel which was flawless in every way! A great experience there by far. We arrive home 3 days later to find emailed invoices from the W charging us for the full 4 nights, when we personally checked out in front of mgt the am of day 2. 2 hours of calls later they finally realized the front desk person forgot to check us out... really? Is there anything at the W that seems to work well? A travesty on all counts to say the least!! February 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>